Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi

About Estia Taverna – Radnor

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (49)
Authentic (45)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Casual (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Business Meals (21)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
People Watching (14)
Romantic (13)
Tapas (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Outside dining was relaxed & wonderful !
Watching the sunset !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent service. Very authentic offerings. Full gluten free menu. Will definitely be back

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Though I live out of town, my family lives in the area and Estia is their go-to place for a relaxing dinner. We dined with my mom and my son on shrimp kabobs with orzo, lamb chops and mussels. The food is delicious and very generous portions. Yummy bread too. Attentive service. Only issue is that the noise level was a bit high since the room hosted a business gathering of 15.
The manager always stops by to check in. Highly recommend .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I have been to Estia many times before and if I was a positive experience is, but this was not among them. Appetizers arrived within 3 minutes of ordering. The chips were great as usual, but the Greek salad was almost completely tomatoes and had only a few pieces of cucumber and almost no red pepper. It was really a tomato salad. Drinks arrived after the main course and my friends wine glass was dirty. Main courses arrived just a moment after we received our appetizers. We asked that they send the main course back until we had completed our appetizers. They did, but then brought back the original food that must have been sitting in a warmer since they were delivered 15 to 20 minutes earlier. My tartar was warmer than it should have been and my friends muscles were so bad that she became ill. I've never seen her send food back before. When she politely told the server that they didn't taste right, he said "no problem don't worry about it" and offered something else. She said that she had to poor taste to eat anything else at this point. I would expect a restaurant at this level to, at a minimum apologize for the inconvenience, and I'll tell her that it isn't a problem. It was a problem… We went out for a nice dinner and she left sick. The check came but the ink was so poor that we couldn't tell what we are being billed for. At this point we just want to leave, so paid and departed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I have now been to Estia Taverna 3 times in the last month and LOVE it. The food is fantastic especially the appetizer selection if you want to take a group in and share. The Greek Salad is to die for....those tomatoes......Keep up the good work and I will be a frequent diner.....

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our server was poor at best. Would not go back because of the servers attitude - RUDE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent seafood and salads as well as vegetarian dishes. I had two fish dishes where were superbly prepared (and I am fussy). My wife had a wonderful Greek salad with delicious tomatoes and an excellent spinach pie. I would definitely return to this restaurant. One negative is that when the indoors are full, it can be quite noisy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The hostess Gina is wonderful
She cares about the people dining at Estia

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We brought our granddaughters for dinner after they played a field hockey game. The food was wonderful, as always, and the staff was very accomadating by changing our original reservation to 30 minutes later because the game went into overtime. The food was exceptional, as always.
St. Joe's , our team, beat Villanova 2-1. Wonderful dinner experience!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food and professional and friendly service. Low noise level and conducive to a business lunch. "Express Lunch" is a bargain for the quality and selection available for the appetizer and main course. Convenient location . Seafood dishes are particularly good. I eat there regularly and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Another amazing meal at Estia Radnor. Fantastic service and fresh food. Sat outside and it was beautiful and peaceful! Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was my fourth visit to Estia and the first for my husband. We went for Saturday lunch and we were the only people inside. There were a couple of people outside. Not sure if this is because it was a Saturday. My previous visits have been weekday lunchtime when the restaurant had been busy. I forgot how much fish was on the menu ( husband is not a fish fan). However there were a few non fish options so he had the Estia burger which he thought was OK. I had the fish of the day which was a European sea bass and it was super delicious . The service was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I was very disappointed by the manager of this restaurant who was very belligerent when I pointed out an unpleasant situation. Instead of apologizing, she fought me, disappeared and tried to placate my table with a couple of sub par desserts. She never reappeared at any point and never acknowledged my concern. If you're not a regular at this restaurant, expect a second class experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A disappointing experience. I love Greek food and was very much looking forward to having dinner at this restaurant. The service was fine but the food was not excellent: the spinach pie was tasty but greasy, the greek meatballs were in a tasteless sauce, and the lamb chops were tough. Overall, a very ungreek experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. The service was excellent and the lamb chops were prepared as ordered. The fish was also very good, usually a sure bet at a Greek restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Reunion of school friends after 33 years! We went to school together in India from nursery (age 4) through 10th grade (age 15).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always enjoy going to Estia love the food especially the fish octopus is great and of course the Estia chips never disappoint

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Well worth the 45 minute drive...
With out a doubt, we will frequent this restaurant...

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

good fish, but all servings weren't hot. funky, in that we bought one big fish for the 4 of us. if we hadn't all agreed on that type of fish, some of the interesting options are not available as they are sized for 2/3 or 4 or more people. pricy in general. excellent service by Joe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great restaurant- wait staff is excellent and the food was great especially the seafood selections we had. A little pricey but doesn't disappoint- been here several times and will go back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Went for dinner with my friend and ordered a variety of appetizers and sides and it was one of the best dinners I've had all summer. The Greek salad and grilled octopus were perfect! Had the Greek white wine from Santorini, which made it even better! The food was perfect in every detail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food lacked flavor. My gluten free husband ordered off the gluten free menu, but ended up getting a plate full of pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had made the reservation for 7 o'clock and our plan was to arrive about 6:30 for drinks on the front porch if weather allowed. All went according to plan except we didn't know about George, our immediate introduction to Estia as our drinks waiter. He made that part of the program so comfortable fetching our drinks for the two of us who arrived almost simultaneously. Within 5 minutes after that our third came on the scene and George was there posthaste. Once again he was gracious, smiling, and helpful. It was a pleasant surprise when he became our table waiter as well. The food was great as well as the ambiance. Being a Friday evening it wasn't quiet but nothing obtrusive. All three of us loved our evening at Estia!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I have been here several times & have always enjoyed the food.... fish & seafood their specialty. We were early on a Friday Evening but by 7 there was no way to have a conversation...guess you would call it energetic but would choose a quieter time during the week. All 3 of us had a fish platter which is always fresh and prepared to order.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Had the lunch special. Great value. Added octopus for $5 extra. Worth the cost. Delicious and filling. Didn't need dinner! Everything was fresh and well made. Will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We ate outside for a birthday lunch. The food is excellent and we enjoyed our lunch tremendously.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Amazing food and attentive service. Perfect date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The grilled Dorado was very flavorful and delicious! I have had this fish in Europe, but rarely see it in the U.S. My friend had a wonderful shrimp dish with orzo.

Great meal and attentive service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

You can't beat a 1 1/2 lb poached lobster, perfectly cooked I might add, for $15.00!!

Yes, you read that correctly. A friend and I lucked into the 4-6pm happy hour steal.

White Pinot Grigio $6 special wine was ok. Skip the red Pinot noir $6 special- not a lot of body or taste.

Can't go wrong with the pleasant decor, wonderful patio, fresh Horta (delicious sautéed greens).

They have lots of gluten and dairy free options to boot!

Go go go - even outside of the happy hour window!

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was excellent as usual, but the amount of money we paid for the small piece of fish we got was outrageous in my opinion. Either the weight was wrong from the beginning or the people who are preparing the fish waste a lot of flesh that does not end up in customers plate. Next time, I'll ask to prepare the fish myself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Was better the first time we went. I probably ordered the wrong thing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was very disappointing. We felt the waiter was "selling" us on a fish special that ended up being more than he originally said. The fish was very dry. The meal was extremely expensive and we will not be returning there, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was amazing. I have been to the one in center city and both places are amazing, cant wait to go back!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Disabled Access, Fun, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The prices were very high for what you received, the spinach pie appetizer was not tasty. Overall, decent food at high prices.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Mediocre certainly not like Estia center city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server was terrific the Cocktails delicious the food interesting and tasty. The ambience was nice with not too much noise and facilitates conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Estia Radnor never ceases to amaze me. They have the freshest seafood of any restaurant in the area. The jumbo prawns are the most delicious shellfish I have ever eaten!! The octopus is incredibly tender and the lamb chops are always seasoned so perfectly. The service matches the quality of the food and the staff does not miss a beat. Great Greek wines as well. Well worth the price. Will continue to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is my third visit to Estia and each time he food has been superb. Can't fault anything.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.