About Estia Taverna – Radnor

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Authentic (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Business Meals (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Fun (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Healthy (15)
People Watching (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Family Style (12)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (11)
Tapas (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Live Music (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vegan (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing fish

Oysters not as good as Nectar

Waitress little distracted

The sorbet baklava was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Very expensive for an everyday dinner. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great friends' get together. Food good though abut expensive.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were really excellent. We had the whole fish baked in salt. Desserts were also excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Estia is a very attractive restaurant and was very lively on the Saturday night in February when we visited. We shared the Estia chips to start. This seems to be a very popular dish that they continuously make, given how quickly it arrived. These thinly sliced, battered vegetable chips were nicely done and quite tasty.

My wife and I both ordered the moussaka. It was excellent -- authentically done and nicely presented as individual circular (and generous) portions. We also ordered a side of roast potatoes, which I would not recommend (they were bland and lacked the crisp exterior that roasted potatoes should have).

We also had a couple of glasses of wine. In general, I would say that the wine list is overpriced. Still, altogether, we enjoyed our meal there and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always the same, delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waitstaff was excellent. The food came out timely and was delicious. I would highly recommend the crab cake appetizer; it was a nice-sized crab cake filled with jumbo lump crabmeat. The menu had a nice selection and the food was attractively presented.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Thank you for making my moms birthday special! Everything was wonderful! I'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food as usual but the service was a little slow at the start. The table started with a Stateside vodka and stuffed olive martini that is truly one of the best crafted cocktails for vodka lovers! We shared grilled octopus and eggplant chips which were perfection. The salmon entree was lovely but the lobster linguine was a bit bland and the pasta over cooked. Pistachio and coconut desert, fabulous. Will definitely be back often!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was welcoming and responsive. They made sure we were well taken care of but didn't hover. The food was fantastic - delicious authentic Greek food. I recommend the Mediterranean spread (we had tzatziki, htipiti, and fava) for an appetizer and the moussaka was a great main dish. This was our second time visiting and it won't be our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is a great place. Lunch is a terrific value. Dinner is great for the people watching. The live music was a nice touch--I felt badly that no one was paying attention to the guitarist who were very good. I don't know where they get their tomatoes for the greek salad but they are AMAZING! They always taste garden fresh--even in the winter. Wait staff is informed and attentive. Love this place.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lousy table location. Noisy. Server was very sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, quality is amazing and recipes are just perfect for a seafood lover.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic food, great service, expensive bill but totally worth it!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was very good and good ambiance. Some of the tables are a bit close, but no major impact. Thought the dinner was a bit rushed (e.g., not a lot of time between courses), but overall very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service but our table was in a bad location. the wait staff kept running into my husbands chair and we were next to bus station. I was trying to enjoy my birthday with a bottle of wine and kept hearing the clicking of silverware being put away. I love it here and picked it for my birthday but table location was horrible

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in a very long time... The octopus is simply amazing...

We had the lamb chops... Fantastic!!

Great food, great service.. Not cheap but worth the price.... Good Greek food is under appreciated !

Opah!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was great. Food very good and generous portions. Sat at a table away from the bar early on a Saturday night, 6:30-7:45 and the noise level was well controlled. Definitely planning a return trip. Pricey but worth it. Wine by the glass a bit too much. We paid $20 for a glass of Chalk Hill chard.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous tasting, fresh food.

The octopus salad is tasty and delicious. Salads big enough for two.

The shrimp orzo meal was the perfect size as was the rigatoni with spinach

The server was knowledgable and helpful with questions on wine and dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent, but the experience was spoiled by the absolutely deafening noise level. About as bad as any I've experienced in a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was great. The seafood portions were a bit on the small side, but were perfectly executed. The service was wonderful. A pleasant surprise was that there were many children in the restaurant on a Friday night - showing that it is a family friendly dining location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Had a fun girls night out. Food was wonderful and our waiter Jimmy was fantastic. Outstanding Greek cuisine.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great quality food cooked to perfection. Wonderful place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for drinks and the menu is well balanced the Estia Chips are a nice starter. The food is very good.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The ambiance and food were sensational the service was a little slow but the taste and flavor and face that everything was so fresh was worth it. The prices are a little high for everyday dining but great for date night or a special occasion. There was a love band as we were leaving which made the bar area seem fun but it definitely carried into the restaurant making it hard to hear each other across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great ambiance, beautiful decor. Food could have been better, and was my first time here about a year ago. Service was good, but we were seated later than our very late reservation, and no reaction to food critique. Nice date locale, so we will try again sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for a special dinner. Wonderful presentation of whole fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

For my brother-in-law's birthday, my husband and I took he and his wife out for dinner (great BIL birthday idea!). It was a sparkly evening. We started with a bottle of prosecco, enjoyed great hors d'oeuvre (the octopus is delicious) and each thoroughly relished the unique and fresh entrees. My husband is a vegan and was able to select from appetizers, salads and entrees.

Tags: Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Estia is a Greek-American restaurant in Radnor. They have moderately-priced lunch specials. The service was prompt and not too obtrusive. The food is fresh and prepared as per the menu. avgolemono soup is very good as is the seafood. The noise level is generally moderate

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I was so disappointed with the recent evening at Estia. It is due to the fact that the restaurant prints one price on the menu and charges another on the bill. The price difference was not substantial but I found it very annoying. I asked to mention it to a manger and no one could come and speak with me-they were busy in the kitchen. This of course further annoyed me

But we had a great server and a nice dinner. But Estia is by no means a cheap restaurant. They also have multiple locations and should be a professional enterprise. So why they increase the prices in their computer system without updating their menu is a mystery to me but I find it distasteful. The item where I noticed this was their popular estia chips- not a fish where it was some price per pound argument

So good food but questionable business practices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a good meal. I prefer ordering a bunch of the small plates and everyone sharing! Shrimp saganaki, Greek salad, octopus, hummus trio, grape leaves... everything delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was slow and the food was cold. Not a good combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first time at Estia and it was great. Everything was prepared well and the service was excellent. The tomato sauce is remarkable.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really good food and good crowd. On the pricey side.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Estia provides a great meal with Mediterranean flavors. The server went above and beyond by providing a free dessert treat as he had overheard that we were celebrating. All service was very good. Only imperfection is the acoustically challenged spaces. There is little to absorb sound and it can be quite noisy. Worth that for the food and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I am recently back in the area and this is my second visit to Estia. Our server was enthusiastic and knowledgeable with great recommendations . The Stateside martini with stuffed olives was perfect, the grilled octopus had a wonderfully smoky flavor and the tuna appetizer very well done. My friend and I were so satisfied that we skipped right to desert. I can't say enough about the pistachio gelato and coconut pistachio confection we shared. Estia will definitely be our new place to meet!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was amazing!! Service was average. Prices fair. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Outstanding cuisine ! Great ambiance and service ! Highly recommend this excellent

restaurant !

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, People Watching, Business Meals, Vegan, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Outstanding service. Food was good. The Lamb chops were substantial and delicious. The hummus was fresh and had a surprising kick. The homemade phyllo dough on the spanakopita was not as flaky as I would have liked but the spinach and feta filling was outstanding and the portion was huge. I was not a fan of the walnut cake. It reminded me of fruit cake. Atmosphere was welcoming. They are known for their fish so next time we will try that but on this first visit we chose to try some of our favorite foods for a comparison. Overall it was good and we will go again.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Simply amazing. We love this place. Great food. The appetizers are the best. You won't want to miss this one.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had a wonderfully memorable first experience at Estia. We had a little but of trouble finding the restaurant but once we got there we were so impressed. Impeccable service from our waiter Rick. Everything he suggested (especially the octopus, the best I have ever had) was to die for. Great wine suggestion (Pinot Noir) from the manager who was warm and friendly. And the end of the meal she brought us a special Greek "dessert wine" which was such a nice touch as we didn't mention it was our anniversary. Neither of us had ever had "dessert wine" so it was such a treat. When we were leaving, we asked her how she knew it was a special occasion and she said she overheard us talking and wanted to do something special. It was very thoughtful and was the perfect way to end our meal. Trully an absolutely unforgettable evening from start to finish. My wife and I cant wait to return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Family Style, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was excellent. Best Lobster Roll I have ever had even ones eaten in Maine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Way too loud. Very difficult to have a conversation. Waiter was too attentive, if possible. Kept interrupting to ask if everything was okay. I found it quite annoying. Food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We go to this restaurant often. It has excellent Greek food, with good service, and a very robust choice of wines and drinks. It is upscale, and is a bit pricey. But I think it is worth it now and then.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love the sea bass here. It's grilled and light. The kale salad is also a winner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best seafood restaurant on the main line. Fresh, tasty, the ingredients are top notch, the recipes are perfectly executed! The service is incredible and we feel so welcomed every time. They take the time and make sure you have everything. Either you come as a family or for an anniversary, it's always perfect. R is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good but overpriced. I have had similar dishes that were superior for less.

Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent. Neil is the best!! Great service excellent experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, as always. However, two items we wanted, the daily special and an appetizer, were no longer available even though it was eArly in the evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We absolutely love this place.Always have a great meal.Took out of town guests who loved it also.

My only negative is it could be quieter,especially at the front.No one likes to shout at the table to be heard.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.