Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.84mi

About Estia Taverna – Radnor

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (39)
Authentic (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Business Meals (23)
Fun (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Casual (17)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
People Watching (15)
Healthy (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Family Style (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Estia for our first anniversary dinner. (We honeymooned in Greece and wanted to celebrate with Greek food.) It was delicious and authentic. Honestly, it was better than some of the food we had in Greece! Our server was knowledgeable, helpful, and nice. We have no complaints!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Very pretty restaurant. It was very noisy. The good was good, but, expensive

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The lamb chops and the eggplant were absolutely fantastic.

The service was very good and the prices were as expected for the area.

If you have any question about dining there, just take a good look at the menu and I am sure you will want to go. We can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and excellent food as always!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food and service. Not quiet. Tough to hear across the table.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants. THe place is beautiful. Lots of menu options. Appetizers are all delicious and portions are large enough to share. Pita with dips and estia chips are definitely highlights.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great meal. Celebrated my wife's birthday. Matt the server was awesome. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service. Tough seating as it was Mothers Day and having 2 massive parties on either side made it close quarters. But the food was fantastic and service was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took some friends to the radnor location and it was scrumptious! The lamb was succulent and tender and delicious. My husband had the Dover sole and it was cooked to perfection. A really enjoyable and satisfying meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding! We have dined at Estia Taverna twice in three weeks! The restaurant is beautiful and feels like dining in Greece. The food is excellent. Order apps for or with dinner and the fish is as fresh as you can order and superb!

Service on both occasions was stellar.

I can't say enough about this restaurant. Go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome food, great service.. Alcohol was very pricey.. But the food was authentic, fresh, and delicious

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wonderful customer service. They helped me surprise my parents for their anniversary, and also provided them an anniversary dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent Mediterranean -style and diverse menu. Friendly service. Large seating capacity. Not a huge wine list, but a good variety of decent wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

They took the reservation weeks before our birthday celebration dinner but soon after called to ask us to move to an outside table as they booked two parties inside - problem was it was 48 degrees and raining at the time we were to eat - so they moved us to the bar which killed the specialness of the meal... They did not even come over to apologize... nothing - they could have cared less for us - the food is very expensive and I felt overall it was VERY poorly handled - I was disappointed - what made it strange was a few other folks came in and they had to eat at the bar too even though there were a few tables in the bar not being utilized by the two parties they had booked for later - just a bad experience and in my humble opinion someone there needs to go back to customer service 101 - seriously you saw the forecast "outside table" with 48 degrees, wind and rain? How about you sit out there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food fun atmosphere
Always consistent good service

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fish is way over priced and the wait staff does not explain how they charge for it by the pound. After being spoken to by the manager about it we got nowhere just a rude run around. Not accommodating at all. Overpriced for hardly any fish on the plates. We will never come back. And we do not mind spending money on meals, but we don't like being taken advantage of. The restaurant is lucky to have a younger crowd that likes a scene!! And it's very noisy and not at all relaxing,the wait staff keeps walking by and hitting your chairs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Exceptional service. Fresh and delicious food. Perfect atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was good. space was very cramped. Servers routinely bumped my chair. Another server's back end was in my personal space on many occasions as he was waiting on adjacent table . Another server dropped cream and spilled it on my friends foot. It was frightening to later see the same server delivering a flaming dish through the crowded dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfectly prepared food...our favorites were the Estia Chips and gelato. Wonderful drinks...excellent cappuccino and delicious Dionysus cocktail. Completely attentive and kind staff. Great ambience. Made for a wonderful birthday dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is one of dozens of times we have been there. The last time we went with friends, total party of 6, it was kind of noisy and we couldn't hear each other talk that well. This time, we were seated to the left of the entrance, all the way to the side, where there is a booth, and relatively quiet. It is really the best location for a group. The service was excellent, with our fine, friendly Elias from Albania! The fish choices were outstanding. I was with friends who grew up on the Mediterranean Ocean, and the choices were right up their alley. The appetizers were excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food; great atmosphere; our waitress was very good!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Birthday dinner. Food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent by all measures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The atmosphere was business casual, light and airy. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

One of my favorite brunch spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great ambiance, service was good waited a little long for the main course but once the food arrived it was worth the wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great meal and great way to entertain business colleague. Has become one of my go to places for showing guests a very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent seafood and service. Pricy bit worth it. Give it a try.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant is in a good location and has outdoor as well as indoor space. Unfortunately it seems they stopped serving brunch early which is what we came to eat, so we had to pick from the main menu. If you are looking at getting a great deal on a dime, this may not be the right place as the price of the plates are a bit high for an afternoon brunch, so best to check what time their brunch menu ends as you will be stuck with the main menu. Nonetheless we all ordered some appetizers and salad dishes. Overall the food was great and we had a good time on a wonderful Sunday afternoon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great server. Very friendly environment. Delicious appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our first time at the Radnor location after having many meals at the Center City restaurant. Food was well prepared. Fried eggplant and zucchini appetizer was excellent. We had fish (European Sea Bass and Dover Sole) which was delicious. My only cautionary comment is that portions are small. Be careful if ordering fish by the pound to get an idea of the portion size they will be serving to avoid potential "sticker shock". Side dishes (Greek Fried Potatoes and Spinach Rice) were very good. We finished with Baklava that was very good as well. Service was EXCELLENT. Attentive and engaged and with a warm personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lived in the area for years, just discovered this location. Great seafood, fresh and artfully prepared. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My son and I got very ill after a dinner there. He had his own entree but did share some of mine. I had to contact the restaurant twice to get a response from them and frankly expected a higher level of customer service response. More importantly, given how they responded to me they missed an opportunity to build an advocate and loyal customer of the restaurant and instead, lost one for good. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Love this restaurant. The Greek salad barely had any cucumbers or peppers on it. Running short from Easter brunch?
The hummus a is ridiculously small portion please fill the dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Beautiful food, knowledgeable waiter, great overall

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We really enjoyed our lunch at Estia. I had the Chicken Souvlaki platter, my husband the Branzino....both very delicious. The tomatoes in my Greek salad were outstanding and so tasty. We've dined here before and will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Everything was fabulous! Our server was desira. She was so sweet. We had oysters, fried cheese, spread platter to start. The medditeranian sea bass for enters was out of this world. THE DESSERT WAS THE BEST PART! the Greek yogurt cheese cake with pistachio crumbles, fig jam and honey was to die for! We brought visitors from out of the country and were very pleased on this lovely lunch! Thank you estia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We've been here many times, and the reason is for the good food, ambience, and location. The ONLY issue this time which prevented me from giving excellent rating was that it took to long to be served our main course.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent and we were made to feel welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a great time at Estia. Food was unique and delicious and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu. We'll definitely be back to try a few more options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.