About Elk Ave Prime

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Pork Chops, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk and 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Maxwell's Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Tim Egelhoff

Private Party Facilities:
Maxwell's Steakhouse boasts a private dining room for up to 80 people as well as our entire establishment should your group expand past our private dining room walls.

Private Party Contact:
Curtis Higgins: (214) 437-1726

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (26)
Fireplace (19)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Romantic (10)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Our server seemed annoyed that we didn't use the i pad to order drinks-how impersonal!!! My husband's chicken was undercooked and small and tough. I thought the prices were unreasonably high for what we got!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Best restaurant in Crested Butte. Maybe a little loud, light and busy for the price point, but no real complaints. Food was fabulous. Would go every night while in CB!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

AMAZING! My boyfriend and I made reservations (which I highly recommend even for just two) as town is busy during ski season! We had a absolute wonderful time - atmosphere was nice but not too fancy; we cleaned up of course but it was still a ski weekend vacay. The menu had great food options and everything we ordered was fabulous -- cooked to perfection (Ahi Tuna & Filet Mignon) . Wine was delicious and somehow we made room for dessert. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a nicer meal out in Crested Butte and a good steakhouse!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service were fabulous. Our server, Chris, was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Steak over cooked. Had to be taken back. My son's sprite had no sugar flavor. Had to taken back twice. Very expensive. They tried to push $60 steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were looking for a nicer restaurant to celebrate a birthday. While our check was a bit more than I expected, it was worth every penny. Traditional steakhouse that did what we asked; cooked our filets perfectly. I had no problems finding gluten free options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food!! The roasted garlic was excellent. Chris, our waiter was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous night at Elk Prime! Perfect service, food and drinks! The lobster was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentines' Day. They sat us by the fire. It was very nice and cozy. The ambiance is good. It is a little pricey, but the food was well worth the cost. Their steaks are vey large, but they allowed us to split without charging extra. It is an a la cart restaurant, but I highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food! Great service! We thoroughly enjoyed our date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, service & place. Seriously the BEST STEAK & creme brûlée.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place has the best steaks. We eat here every time that we visit Created Butte. I would recommend this restaurant beyond all other in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was great! Had Elk for the first time and it was definitely worth coming back for, just melted in your mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Good food , great service... would definitely recommend

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

The bee's knees! Really love this place, the rum is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife ordered her steak medium, it came out medium rare. She sent it back and it came back well done. I ordered mine medium rare and it came out medium. The wait staff was outstanding but if your spending $60 for a steak you expect them to get it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Steaks were very good, although expensive Everything was extra, i.e.$12 for two servings of potato, $7 for small side salad. I got a $12.00 Glass of Cab, I forgot which one but it was forgettable, thin, with no nose texture or life,. My companions merlot was $18 and pretty good, so don't spend less that 18 for a glass of wine. You can spend a lot more.

The restaurant has unbaffled walls and ceiling and was just too loud. It was Saturday night.

Overall it was pretty good dinner , but at close to $200 for two , we won't be rushing back. Guess I can't afford it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I had a date weekend away from the kids and ate here on a Saturday night. We started with the Fried Brussels Sprouts. This dish was the only disappointment of the evening. We had the half dish which was basically one large Brussels sprout peeled and the leaves battered and fried. It could have been Kale for all we knew. Definitely not what we expected and we highly recommend not ordering it.

My wife had the 8oz Wagyu Flatiron Steak medium rare. It was delicious and perfectly prepared. I had the Colorado Lamb Chops medium rare which were also perfect. To go with my lamb chops, I had the asparagus. They were thick, but tender and very tasty in the Hollandaise sauce.

The service was attentive, but not overbearing. We had a romantic evening and will recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

The meat was over priced, and was tasteless. When I pay $60 for an 8 oz. cut of filet mignon, I expect a tasty morsel, not a bland cut. We saved enough scraps for a leftover lunch, but when I came back from the bathroom, they had cleared and discarded my food. One glass of wine between two of us, and it was a $150 meal, before tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for dinner. Seated by the fire. very cozy

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

What a disappointment. It was freezing in this restaurant. We had cold air blowing on us through the walls and were only a table away from the fireplace. I am not cold natured at all however had to wear our coats. The food was all disappointing as well. The wedge was just soaked in dressing. Ordered the NY Strip on the "special". It was $60, full of gristle and not at all flavorful. The risotto was a pasty mess. I've eaten here before and this was by far the worst ever when it came to the ambience and food quality. On a positive note the service was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Prime never disappoints. The food, service, wine list and atmosphere are consistently top notch. It's one of the best restaurants in Crested Butte.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had such a wonderful meal of shrimp cocktail, Brussels sprouts and Wagyu steak. It was all delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful meal! We went to celebrate a great family vacation and were thrilled with everything! Our waiter was just as fabulous as the food:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 17, 2017

Amazing food and great service. Couldn't have been happier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our birthdays here and had great food and even better service. This is one of our favorites in this area.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Traditional steakhouse with great steaks, awesome specials and decent cocktails. Family-sized sides are plenty for two.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food ruined by robotic uninspired service. Steakhouse should not rush service. It was clear that rushed service was ingrained in the staff which is unacceptable at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was one of the most amazing dinners I have had in a long time! Better than power house Steakhouses in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in CB!! Julie and Curtis are amazing owners. The wine list always includes some well priced surprises and is always changing. The food is fabulous, from the steaks to the cauliflower steak, always spot in.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and service... nice restaurant in a small town

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

We have been coming to this restaurant on a regular basis. We have a second home here and it is one of our favorites because they have food for every member of our family: carnivores, omnivores and vegetarians/gluten free.

Their menu is original "deconstructed tuna roll"? My husband had the elk ossobuco which he thought was a bit dry. My daughter had the deconstructed tuna as a starter and another tuna dish as an entree. Both were very good. I had the fried green tomatoes (delicious) and the cauliflower steak as my main course (loved it, I had half of it for lunch, the next day!)

The chef came to our table to introduce himself, which I thought was a nice gesture. Our server, Alex, was a lovely young lady who knew the menu well and couldn't have been more accommodating answering our questions.

There are cheaper options for dining at Crested Butte, like Secret Stash (really, really good pizza) or Slogars (delicious fried chicken), but Elk Ave Prime is know for its steaks and they do those really, really well. We'll be back!

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great night out with the family - we had some kids with us that wouldn't have finished an expensive entree, and they were very gracious to let us split dishes and just order family style sides for the table

We loved the bacon appetizer - all food was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The filet and the smoked potato AuGratin were so good we ate at Elk twice in one week while in CB over Christmas break. Nice wine list too and everyone was knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

fantastic steaks. Excellent sides and appetizers. Wine menu very good as well. Highly recommend. Pricey but worth it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

A bit overrated for the price. I think they're getting the price from ambiance more than steak quality. $12 for a basic glass of Cabernet? We'll go to the Wooden Nickel next door next time...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were there over Christmas week when CB was very crowded. We were seated right on time for our reservation though, received prompt, attentive service, including wine recommendations from the owner, had four perfectly cooked steaks and great side dishes.

It's not cheap, but it was easily the best dining experience we had in Crested Butte. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Pampered by service, blown away by the food. What a beautiful warm place.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was great, loved the atmosphere and food as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

I thought the prices were mightily high for a low key ski town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great steak and fantastic service. It was cold outside but warn inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Expensive steak place. Good wine selection, also expensive. Good steaks. Son got Elk, said it is great.

Ask for seat away from door to avoid repetitive cold blasts. They need a double door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner. Glad we were seated in the corner by the windows - felt cozier than being in the middle of the room. Steaks were expensive but delicious. Sides just okay. don't recommend the ceasar but rest of the party liked the wedge salad. Main complaint was that everything came out at different times so by the time everyone had their food the sides and a couple of entrees were not warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We drove up to CB for the holidays on Christmas day, and arranged dinner here. What a fantastic experience! The food was amazing and the service was great as well. We sure made some long lasting memories with this dinner. I highly recommend it. Even my kiddos loved it as well!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love this place. The steaks are amazing! The service and staff are attentive and gracious. The noise level is just right. You can have a conversation and yet loug enough for children. We will be coming back again and again.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

I'm a regular and have never been disappointed. Best Steakhouse and Restaurant in CB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and nice wine list. Second time this week for our family. If you are looking for a good steak with nice wine in CB this is the place to go. They are very attentive to your needs and have a varied menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was AMAZING and our waitor was exceptional. It was a little noisy but overall a great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Pricey but the food was outstanding .Probably the best lamb I've ever had and I've had a lot. Hubbs had the Texas wagyu strip and was thoroughly impressed. sides were delicious as well. Need to mention the staff as well, (above and beyond) .My son was having growing pains and they hunted down some aspirin for him ,which was much appreciated

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.