Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Elk Ave Prime

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Pork Chops, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk and 3rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Maxwell's Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Tim Egelhoff

Private Party Facilities:
Maxwell's Steakhouse boasts a private dining room for up to 80 people as well as our entire establishment should your group expand past our private dining room walls.

Private Party Contact:
Curtis Higgins: (214) 437-1726

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Fireplace (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was a little pricey, but still really delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The Chef's onion soup may be the best we have ever had. Great wine list. Very friendly staff and good service. The Chef delivered food to our table & had a nice conversation with us. Will definitely recommend to our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went to celebrate my nephew's college graduation. We had reservations at 7 and arrived about 15 minutes early. We were seated promptly and Elliott, our waiter arrived soon after we were seated to make recommendations and take our orders. Appetizer came quickly. 45 minutes after placing our order Elliott came by to apologize for the delay. 15 more minutes passed with no dinner and another apology. Our food finally arrived 1 hr 15 minutes after placing the order. The food was delicious except for the mushroom risotto which was gooey with no taste. Highlight was the bacon appetizer which was to die for! Filet was melt in your mouth and mashed potatoes were to die for! Salmon was excellent as well. Crab cake was just so so. Elliott did comp 3 desserts for our party of 5 which was a very nice touch. Unfortunately an hour and 15 minutes to wait for our dinner with a 7 pm arrival before the restaurant even got busy with a high priced menu didn't leave me with a great first impression.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Allegedly one of the nicest restaurants in Crested Butte, but was a distant 3rd out of 3 for our visit to town. We went pretty early and there was only one other table occupied, but they still sat us right next to the other table (who were odd ducks). My entrée was unbelievably good (Elk Tenderloin), but was also the most expensive item on the menu by far at $65. Other adult meal was just average and all the kids steaks (ordered 'Medium') came badly charred on the outside. I thought kids might just be whining, but I tasted them all and their steaks were like sucking on burned coffee grounds. I really enjoyed my food, but when wife & kids are not happy, it's hard to enjoy the meal or recommend that others stump up the $$$$ to suffer a similar fate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

First time dinner at Elk Ave Prime. We had a party of 6, reserved for 7:00 pm. Seated immediately, served in a very timely manner. Deviled eggs, fried Brussels, fried green tomatoes were all great appetizers. Steaks were perfect, creamed corn, mashed potatoes, mushrooms were ideal sides. Creme Brûlée topped it off. Wine selection was very nice. Excellent dining experience. We will return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Needed a break from eating bar food on the mountain and couldn't have been happier. The steaks were absolutely excellent, as were the sides, drinks, etc. Will definitely be back

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

outstanding wait staff. delicious appetizers and deserts. we had filets and salmon and all were excellent. brownie with ice cream for desert was devoured by the entire table. excellent wine and drink menu. if in crested butte elk ave prime is a must destination

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We received terrific service from the owner himself. Quite concerned that we got just what we wanted and enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great steak - great place - huge wine menu. Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Probably the best steak in CB along with very generous sides and an array of additions...all high quality with attentive service. Super drink selection along with local specialties. It's a visitors must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of our absolute favorites in Crested Butte! The food is divine, amazing wine menu, best dirty martinis with blue cheese stuffed olives, and the atmosphere is an outstanding Mt feel! Can't brag enough about the impecable service and willingness to make your dinner over the top! We will be visiting again and again!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went to Elk Ave Prime twice during our short trip to Crested Butte. We had gone last year and remembered it being good. And it did not disappoint. It was delicious both times, though a little harder to get into than I remember. But visitors to CB were also up this year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This is the one dining experience in Crested Butte you don't want to miss. Owners, Julie and Curtis know how to operate an upscale restaurant. They are visible on the floor either checking in guest or making sure service and the food is up to your expectation. The waitstaff is friendly, knowledgeable and eager to serve. They take pride in their craft. The steaks and seafood as on par with any Dallas steakhouse. This is a must each visit during ski season and summer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great steak and wine options. Bar is great. Atmosphere is boisterous and festive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent dining experience. The food is outstanding. Thanks Curtis and Julie.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food and atmosphere was really great. The steaks our party had were very memorable and I highly recommend the bacon appetizer.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2017

One of the best steaks I have ever eaten. The sides were also the best. Cant wait to go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing food and service. Julie worked with us as our reservation grew in number. They accomodated us even through they were incredibly busy already.
All of the food was incredible. We had a selection of appetizers, the bacon and the deviled eggs were standouts. My husband had the Elk tenderloin with lamb chops and added scallops to it. He said it was the best meal he has had in a long time. My short ribs with potatoes and vegetables was amazing.

Overall, it was just perfect. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Steaks were not the quality I expected. Service and appetizers were better. Enjoyed evening but would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Dinner was excellent and the service outstanding. The prime steaks were perfectly cooked and the sides were delicious. I would definitely recommend The Elk Prime and we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was our first time in Crested Butte and Elk Avenue Prime was recommended as a great steak place for my husband's birthday. The food was absolutely amazing and the service was impeccable. We will definitely look forward to another dinner there on our next visit and will recommend to anyone we know going to Crested Butte.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice table by fireplace which I had asked for. Server was friendly and helpful and prompt. We had the flat iron steak, ahi tuna with bistro salad & filet with wedge salad. All were cooked perfectly and delicious. I will continue to come back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We won't return. We had two positives: Our server, Alex, who was great, and the fried Brussels Sprouts - they were delicious! We were disappointed that we had a reservation and requested a table in the front of the house, where there appeared to be three tables available, and were denied and placed in the back. One of the tables was still available when we left. The bread was disappointing; the buffalo ravioli was dry; the rib-eye, while well-cooked, was fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was excellent and our server was quite attentive. Expensive but well worth it

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent food, good service, noisy, not good for conversation

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Made reservations for my birthday and I couldn't have been more pleased! My filet was outstanding, super tender and flavorful. My husband's scallops were huge and flavorful! The server was very attentive but not overly. I would highly recommend this restaurant while in Crested Butte.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A nice touch was the owner/chef coming to our table to inquire about our experience. The waiter, David, was very professional and attentive. The Elk Tenderloin and Buffalo Ravioli were terrific and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server seemed annoyed that we didn't use the i pad to order drinks-how impersonal!!! My husband's chicken was undercooked and small and tough. I thought the prices were unreasonably high for what we got!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Best restaurant in Crested Butte. Maybe a little loud, light and busy for the price point, but no real complaints. Food was fabulous. Would go every night while in CB!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

AMAZING! My boyfriend and I made reservations (which I highly recommend even for just two) as town is busy during ski season! We had a absolute wonderful time - atmosphere was nice but not too fancy; we cleaned up of course but it was still a ski weekend vacay. The menu had great food options and everything we ordered was fabulous -- cooked to perfection (Ahi Tuna & Filet Mignon) . Wine was delicious and somehow we made room for dessert. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a nicer meal out in Crested Butte and a good steakhouse!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service were fabulous. Our server, Chris, was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Steak over cooked. Had to be taken back. My son's sprite had no sugar flavor. Had to taken back twice. Very expensive. They tried to push $60 steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were looking for a nicer restaurant to celebrate a birthday. While our check was a bit more than I expected, it was worth every penny. Traditional steakhouse that did what we asked; cooked our filets perfectly. I had no problems finding gluten free options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food!! The roasted garlic was excellent. Chris, our waiter was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous night at Elk Prime! Perfect service, food and drinks! The lobster was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentines' Day. They sat us by the fire. It was very nice and cozy. The ambiance is good. It is a little pricey, but the food was well worth the cost. Their steaks are vey large, but they allowed us to split without charging extra. It is an a la cart restaurant, but I highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food! Great service! We thoroughly enjoyed our date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, service & place. Seriously the BEST STEAK & creme brûlée.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place has the best steaks. We eat here every time that we visit Created Butte. I would recommend this restaurant beyond all other in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was great! Had Elk for the first time and it was definitely worth coming back for, just melted in your mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.