Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Elk Ave Prime

Elk Ave Prime is located in the heart of downtown Crested Butte on Elk Avenue. We feature hand carved Prime and Wagyu steaks, Colorado lamb, Elk, Buffalo, fresh Seafood, farm to restaurant garden salads and more. We also have a great kids menu.

We feature 16 beers on tap, most of which are Colorado born, as well as the largest wine selection in the valley. You can enjoy any of our drinks from our outdoor patio or cozy up next to our fireplace, great after a long day of skiing.

Elk Ave Prime is one of the largest venues in Crested Butte, ideal for large parties or wedding receptions.

226 Elk Avenue
Crested Butte, CO 81224
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Elk Avenue and 3rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 349-1221

Website:
http://www.elkaveprime.com/

Entertainment:
From time to time Elk Ave Prime invites local performers to play and entertain our guests.

Catering:
Elk Ave Prime Steakhouse catering team is capable of catering to parties up to 400 at your ranch or home. Contact us today about having us customize your special event for your group.

Public Transit:
The CB mountain shuttle drops off a half a block from our front door, so come on down.

Executive Chef:
Curtis Higgins

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Elk Ave Prime Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Authentic (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (10)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (3)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Brought out family of 6 adults and 2 children for a 40th birthday dinner. Everyone had a great time and wonderful food. Our service was outstanding and the food was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2017

One of the very best steaks I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Delicious steak and awesome atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Visiting Crested Butte with friends. Enjoyed dinner, the food was fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I have to commend the staff!! julie contacted me to confirm my reservation and she helped me coordinate a special surprise for our one year wedding anniversary! The owner came up and greeted us while dropping off appetizers and wished us a happy anniversary as well! I was delighted with the ambiance, the service was impeccable and the food was beyond satisfying!! We left, happy, full and will recommend to all of our friends!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Elk Ave Prime always delivers! Excellent food, great atmosphere, and an inexpensive bar menu. Best steaks in Crested Butte, hands down!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The waiter was very happy and helpful. He made our 43 years of marriage. Even. Very special. Thanks. John and connie Patti.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great server,Allison, it's a little pricey but all the ingredients were fresh and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our server was very professional and friendly. She was very efficient. Our meal was delicious. We had several appetizers, salads and entrees and all were very good. I can't wait until I can go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent meal, excellent service. My wife and I had a superb salad, followed by the salmon and duck. I ordered the duck there way upgrade, and was delighted by a perfectly prepared fois gras, which in my experience is a very rare treat in this country. Overall, a far better fine dining experience than I thought I could find in CB.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was amazing! The service was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Beware of the high priced entrees. My friend and I split the order of lamb chops which just about brought the cost to normally expected prices. I must say that my chop was excellent. They were training new wait staff and a bottle of beer was spilled over me. It would have been nice had some adjustment been made to the bill.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent steakhouse - our buffalo steak was cooked to perfection, and the green tomato starter was new to us and delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything here was perfect. One of the best filets I have ever had. They really know their stuff. This is the best Crested Butte has to offer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food, location and service was great.
Yes, it's probably double the price of what you would pay around here but our wagyu 32oz special was definitely worth it.
We additionally had great drinks and a overall a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful meal and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our party of 6 looked forward to our meal at the Elk Avenue Prime restaurant! They were ready for us and seated us right away. The food was delicious and accommodated a GF/DF patron plus even had a dish for our more "none meat eaters" with their cauliflower steak. Our server was fabulous and everything was brought in a timely matter plus she was very knowledgeable about all the dishes they served. I have been here several times and they always bring a first class meal with several different options. Everyone had a fabulous time and we will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Brussell sprouts, elk tenderloin and fried green tomatoes all excellent.
The bread pudding was below par.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a great meal and experience at Elk Ave Prime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I love a good ribeye and The Elk Avenue Prime didn't disappoint! The 14 oz, bone-in, ribeye tonight was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. Recommendations from our server we're on point. Atmosphere is casual, but classy. Not a party bar. I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Not sure what to expect we were surprised at the quality of the food and the taste The wine list was extensive and had many reasonable priced wines. Excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

It was our first visit there and we were delighted with the quality of the steaks. The 8 oz. fillet was one of the best I've ever had. It is definitely a high priced menu but typical of most fine steakhouses.
The place was packed! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Elk Avenue Prime is the best restaurant in Crested Butte, and that is saying something, because there are several wonderful restaurants in CB.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great steaks. Very pricey. Two of us had the ribeye and were very pleased. The mushrooms were great as well. Overall great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Empty nest trip for husband and myself to Crested Butte and chose this restaurant due to reviews and the fact that all beef is fully sourced, range fed, etc. Greeted cordially on arrival. Server appeared promptly and advised of specials. She provided very good service, without hovering. Food arrived timely and was outstanding. My husband's rib eye was just slightly over-cooked, but very flavorable. My filet was perfectly cooked to medium rare and had outstanding flavor. The mushroom risotto had wonderful flavor and texture. Very diverse wine list. We intend to return to Crested Butte in September and will most definitely return to Elk Ave Prime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Elk Prime was packed the night I took my family but, as always, the service and food were excellent. Noise level was between quiet and moderate, and we could all hear each other easily.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We set outside on a beautiful evening. The service was excellent! My husband and I both had the tenderloin and the cheese and goat cheese salad! Both were exceptionally good! All was pricey but well worth the money!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Outstanding steak!!! Sides were great. Great wine. It's now one of our favorites in crested butte. Our group was from Tulsa , Dallas and Columbus ks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Another fabulous meal spent at Elk on Prime! The food, staff and service is over the top! We are always looking forward to our next visit! Many THANKS for a fantastic evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Service A+, Food A++, Atmosphere A+. I hope the town of Crested Butte never changes. Unfortunately it has been discovered.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We went for a milestone anniversary and were told that there'd be plenty of gluten and dairy free options. ...There are SOME options for either but almost nothing for both.

Our reservation was later in the evening because we wanted a quiet place to enjoy each other's company and the table we were given would have been perfect, except that the restaurant is not geared for quiet. Open seating with tall ceilings makes for a loud restaurant, even when not busy. (Which it really wasn't for us and still too loud to carry on a pleasant conversation.)

For the price, one would expect excellence...this didn't even come close. We've eaten at exceptional restaurants around the world and this was a disappointment on every level. Don't get me wrong, they make a good steak. Everything else was just average or worse. (Vegetarians don't even bother...)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat anywhere! We always enjoy eating on the deck and watching all the activity on Elk Ave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

This was our first time at Elk Ave Prime. It was actually a delayed Birthday/anniversary from February that we couldn't make then---better later than never---and with Elk St Prime, we wish it was sooner! The hostess Hazie seated us at a nice table towards the fireplace. Our waitperson Alex was awesome and her willingness to please was refreshing. We had the Filet Mignon with baked potato and roasted veggies. Most was very tasty--only issue we had was my wife's medium steak came out pretty bloody the first time (rare-medium rare). Sent it back 2 times and it ended up a bit charred/well done by the end. I had my filet butterflies as I eat it medium well and it was perfect. She will have hers butterflied also the next time we visit, as a thick filet is tough to get medium/medium well without over cooking the outsides. Creme brûlée to finish and else were well satisfied.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Really a top notch steak house. We had a salad, two excellent steaks, Brussels sprouts and a side of the best bacon ever. Would do it exactly the same next time. Excellent wine list as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Steaks were perfectly tender from their aging process. Lobster was the biggest I've ever seen and so sweet! Bread pudding dessert deserves a standing ovation! Owner came and spoke to us twice and couldn't have been nicer! Fantastic experience overall!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were quickly accommodated even though we added an 8th guest. One of my guests is a professional chef in Denver about to open a new restaurant in Illinois. We all enjoyed the food with the only criticism being insufficient sugar caramelization on the creme brûlée. Two guests had duck. One serving done right, the other under cooked. The cost was $1200 including gratuity for 8. No bottles of wine were ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Oysters and deviled eggs were awesome. Bone in bison was awesome. Great wine list. And they have Pappie's bourbon. Elliot did a great job as our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with a great selection of dishes. Very pricey, but quality made it worthwhile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. Drinks reasonable priced. He ordered the lamb and said it was a bit crispy on the outside and said risotto was a bit too mushy. I ordered wrong but did enjoy my mashed potatoes. Desert was nothing special. We had the warm brownie to split. Caesar salad was really nice. But nothing else really stood out for me to say, I have to go back. The table next to us got bread and that looked yummy, I should of asked for some but we were already on dessert. Plus I am used to it being offered. Service was good, but not great and not really his fault, he had a big table that looked like arrived moments before us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food here is always excellent with a nice variety of meat, seafood and poultry plus a vegetarian offering. Service is great - good pace with appetizer, salad and entrees. The buffalo sausage ravioli is a treat for an appetizer. Also love the cocktail options!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.