Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About El Techo

El Techo is the heated and covered open-air rooftop restaurant above Lolinda. Offering sweeping city views, pan-Latin American casual cuisine, and crafty classic cocktails, we are the perfect venue for your celebration or as a compliment to your dinner at the Mission's finest steakhouse. Fun food, festive cocktails "del Sol" and the best rooftop skyline in SF.

2518 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-1:00am
Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
21st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 550-6970

Website:
http://www.eltechosf.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available, parking garages nearby, valet service offered

Public Transit:
Lines 14 and 49 stop at Mission & 21st. BART stops at Mission & 16th or Mission & 24th

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Morgan

Private Party Facilities:
Our El Techo rooftop can accommodate large groups for special events and parties. We also have space for up to 150 guests in our downstairs restaurant, Lolinda.

Private Party Contact:
Ana Ligi: (415) 550-6970 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For event inquiry, please contact our Events Coordinator Ana Ligi: aligi@lolindasf.com or visit our website: http://eltechosf.com/special-events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

El Techo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (20)
Scenic View (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Fun (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I don't know the name of the guy downstairs checking people in downstairs but I also don't know what role he plays there. He is of no use whatsoever. We approached him and he did not even ask what we wanted since he was too busy letting a friend know what flavor he wanted for a popsicle. After that, he still did not acknowledge us until I just went in since I had reservations and that is the only tome he turned to my friend and said, "Please tell him to come back". He thinks he has so much power there overseeing the line...so PATHETIC!

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food. Overall a good experience. Long wait so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my family here for Saturday brunch while they were visiting, and they loved being able to see the city view while dining. Great food and good service. Definitely want to comeback again for brunch with friends!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The view really is outstanding and worth the wait in line for the tiny elevator! Menu is relatively simple, with some standard and totally decent brunch options. They were very cool about accommodating our small stroller so baby could tag along. Service was friendly and efficient. We'll definitely be going back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Super fun place. Good food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

So glad we made reservations at this place, because it was crowded!
Food was excellent, thought portions are on the smaller side. The rooftop atmosphere was very nice, can see why it's a popular spot. Staff provided top notch service, despite being very busy. Only disappointing thing was that some of the menu items were extremely overpriced. Side of plantains for $8 for literally 4 small plantain pieces? That's just absurd.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was below average unfortunately. Would recommend El Techo more for drinks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of my favorite spots for brunch on a nice day. Pork dishes are phenomenal. Watch out for windy/cold days as it can get chilly. Wear sunglasses!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We lucked out on weather, so our larger party got the side round table and it was perfect! So happy that they take brunch reservations! Just a heads up though, drinks aren't very strong when ordering pitchers. That's the one downside

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love El Techo! The view from the top is unbeatable. Although we came on a gloomy day in March, still a great atmosphere. Ive been in cold and warmth, so highly recommend a visit on a warm sunny day. They do have heaters to keep you warm during the cold months though. The food is tasty, specifically the ceviche and Benedict. Do note, the tables are very close together if you are a party of 2 and are sat at a high top. Not the most comfortable, but if you don't mind, then this place works out just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch spot with a view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a nightmare. A group of 15 of us reserves using two separate parties, but arrived all together. I called ahead of time and was told by arash that it would be possible to seat us all. When we got there they were told they never got the message (rudely), but were able to get us together pretty close by splitting us into 10 and 5. The group of 5 received their drinks and food before the group of 10 were able to put in their order (after I had to glad down our waiter that we were ready.) He apologized and said how about we start you guys with some chips and walk. He made it seem like it was complimentary, but when we got the receipt we realized they weren't. Our waiter had blonde tips and I would say his name, but he never said his name. He also suggested we pay using one card and just pay each other later to make things easier so we did. However, when we checked the receipt at home we were charged for a bottle of mimosa we never drank.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Expensive but food and views were great! Drinks were strong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The brunch menu was amazing! From the food to the drinks to the service. Everything was great and my friends enjoyed it as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Comfort Food, Casual, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a fun "Galentine's Day" brunch with a couple friends. We shared a few of the starters and salads and had our own entrees (I got the huarache, friends both got the benedict). Everything was delicious! We were fortunate to be there on a beautiful day, the view was really nice. Would definitely come back for a date or another friends' catch-up. Reservations highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was delicious and Service was nice and prompt. View was great as well.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my second time here and it doesn't disappoint. The service was great, the food was delicious, and the food came out super quick. And even though it was cloudy and raining it was still warm and we enjoyed the view.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

So ovely in the storm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very accommodating and wonderful staff. We had a great time!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A nice spot for a sunny afternoon on New Years Day. My only complaint was that they gave us a pitcher of water that tasted very strongly of tequila. I'd suggest keeping the pitchers separate or making sure they are washed a lot better. Otherwise it was pretty good, don't know if I'd make a special trip again but I'd consider it if I went to a movie next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place is dangerous. The food was really good, the view is amazing, the waiter we had was awesome and fun, and the drinks were delicious. Word of warning to those that can't handle spicy foods, some of the items on the menu have a little kick to them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

El Techo is a wonderful experience for brunch. The food was really good and authentic yet interesting at the same time. I had never had Gallo Pinto outside Nicaragua! really good. And the Bloody Maria with pickled veggies was spot on. Jalapeño cornbread was amazing too. The fam went crazy for the beignets with dulce de leche!
Such a fun friendly atmosphere and comfortable on the roof even though it was cold outside.

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Carnitas made me sick to my stomach. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

El Techo, a hidden gem in the mission district. Amazing service and fabulous food!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here for brunch. The sun was out, the margaritas flowed, the food was good (especially the donuts). Really enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went for brunch on a rainy Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooftop was covered and comfortably heated. We ordered the carnitas and benedictos--the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Perfect for a sunny day brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We came here for brunch and it was one of those rare sunny days in the city. The view was an outline of the buildings from the downtown area and the noise level was not too high. They seem to change their menu according to the season, there were things on yelp not on the menu. However, everything on their menu was great. They offered a watermelon mimosa which was more champagne than it was watermelon but I love alcohol so this worked in my favor.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My first brunch experience at El Techo was deliciously amazing! From the fresh cocktail, zesty mango, jicama, and cucumber app to the perfectly prepared eggs Benedict and toasty moist jalapeño cornbread with light chili hollandaise --- I was having a personal fiesta in my mouth! Muchas Gracias for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great scenery, hard to a hear a conversation during brunch hours but with a sangria in hand, who cares!! Great eggs Benedict, amazing beignets!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The rooftop patio is great on a sunny day! The food and drinks were excellent. Service was friendly and speedy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Horrible service. When our food came they brought everyone's food to the table except for one persons. After 5 minutes of waiting we asked for the one plate of food while all of our food sat there getting cold. We had to ask for our drinks we had ordered and the server was complaining they were short staffed. Frustrating!! We were celebrating a Sunday birthday brunch party of 6 to the tune of $300. Hire more reliable staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great "hidden gem" in the Mission - what seems like an unassuming exterior leads up to an outstanding 360 view of the city. Food was solid (although my eggs benedictos were served a bit cold), and cocktails were well-crafted. The ambience is absolutely wonderful on a sunny day, and the chatter surrounding us wasn't too loud and didn't disrupt our conversations. Service was quite attentive despite the always-packed area. I'll certainly make a reservation to be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

THe brunch / lunch options here are very mediocre.

Drinks adn happy hour is much better here.

Service is very blase .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The staff are very friendly. We were late for Saturday brunch and we were still seated. We watched the table to the right of us be seated with guests three times, that did not like the location. They were seated at another table with no problems. The tables are very close to each other and the eating space is small. The view is beautiful and the patio is well decorated. The drinks are over priced. $11.00 for 1 drink is expensive, even in San Francisco. Not very many choices for food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best brunch-with-a-view in all of SF. And the cocktails are as memorable as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went here for a date with my boyfriend for brunch, and was a little disappointed. The view was pretty, but was hard to see depending on where you were sitting. The rooftop is small (as expected) so your best bet is to make a reservation in advance. It was a little noisy when we were there, and it was only 11 am (their opening time)!
The food wasn't mind blowing, and the menu was limited. Portions were also small for the entrees, and I got hungry about an hour after leaving. I didn't have their drinks, but they sounded pretty good.
Service was great, and we were in and out very quickly. But consequentially, the service was not as personal and seemed more like they wanted us to leave rather than us being their guest. But we didn't complain, we were on a time crunch anyways.
Overall, I had a good time but would not come here again for a date. Maybe for a catch-up drinks/appetizers day with a friend, since the view is nice and the atmosphere is casual.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great rooftop dining. The views & atmosphere were amazing. Food was incredible and promptly served. Suggested for a weekend trip stop and it did not disappoint. The one draw back - tables for 2 are very small, it was hard to fit everything on one surface. Other than that I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful brunch on Saturday! Food great and creative. My husband had a Benedict using corn bread, chorizo and spinach. Service exceptional, especially Andy the hostess, and Aldo our server. A gem. Reserve and go early on the weekend, we parked right in front! (11 a.m. We were first in line at 10:45. Got best seats (view) Wear a hat if in the sun. Absolutely loved it and will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.