About El Chorro

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.



El Chorro’s culinary vision features classic cuisine favorites with a Southwestern-inspired influence. The menu offerings center on fresh, organic and locally grown ingredients – including herbs and produce from the El Chorro garden located right outside the kitchen.



The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Sun., 5 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Mon. - Sat., 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Charles Kassels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
Special Occasion (72)
Fireplace (64)
See All
Scenic View (59)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Romantic (52)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Historic (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Brunch (32)
Authentic (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Cozy (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Casual (22)
Fun (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I went here for our 10th ann ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I went here for our 10th anniversary and we had an awesome experience. Excellent food,service, ambiance, view. It had it all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great location and the servi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great location and the service is great. Recommend the filet mignon

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day spot!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Valentine's Day spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best atmosphere ever. Wait staff , fron ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Best atmosphere ever. Wait staff , front desk staff all engaging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diner at El Chorro on Valenti ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

First time diner at El Chorro on Valentine's Day. Limited menu that evening. Choice from two appetizers, three entrees and two desserts. Had the crab salad, beef tenderloin and cheesecake lolllipops. All the food was well prepared and very tasty. Set menu price of $140 per couple was a little steep, but it was Valentine's Day. Don't recall seeing the limited menu when I booked on open table. Was made aware of it when we I received a confirmation call a few days in advance. When the bill came a 20% gratuity was already included. Was surprised by that since it was just two of us. I usually tip 20% anyway so not a huge deal, just a little presumptuous in my opinion. Would go back to try the full menu next time. Sticky buns were also very good and are apparently a signature item there. Valet parking for $6 is annoying and should be dropped. Overall, cool location with indoor and outdoor seating, service was very good and the food was above average.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful setting for this time of year. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting for this time of year....the salmon was excellent as well

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food , Service, Ambience, was amazing. V ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Food , Service, Ambience, was amazing. Very memorable experience. Definitely on my list of "must go" the next time I'm in Scottsdale. Sticky Buns are addictive!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last two dining experiences we've ha ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

The last two dining experiences we've had at El Chorro were disappointing. The service was lacking. The food was served warm, not hot. The only reason we would return now would be if our guests wanted to enjoy the beautiful view of Camelback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

El Chorro is a charming place to dine ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

El Chorro is a charming place to dine outside and enjoy the stunning views of Camelback Mountain.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great restaurant with great food service ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great restaurant with great food service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to El Chorro a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second visit to El Chorro and it was every bit as amazing as the first time and better. Chose the option to dine on the patio. Sat next to the fire place. Dinner was fantastic. Our server, Vicky, recommended the spicy shrimp bowl appetizer and it was excellent, not too spicy, but great flavor. Salmon was done to perfection as was the short rib dinner my wife had. Highly recommend this restaurant for a special night out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. However, this time was a disappointment. The food was fine but service not as we have experienced in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Sunday brunch at El Chorro is very speci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sunday brunch at El Chorro is very special. I love a brunch in which you order off the menu. Our party of six enjoyed a beautiful table and very professional service. We excitedly dived in to the two baskets of delicious pastry and caramel rolls which arrived before our drinks. Which the waiter, Christopher, kindly made suggestions to satisfy each of our desires. We ordered the trout, the eggs Benedict, Cobb salad, avocado bacon croissant, and seared tuna caesar. Our entrees arrived perfectly prepared. The trout was simply amazing that I sampled from my husbands plate. After our entrees we enjoyed an amazing cherry pie with ice cream. What a fabulous brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time and came recomme ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first time and came recommended by a local. We had an excellent meal. The lamb chops were to die for! Sticky buns were an unexpected treat. We will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite. It's the best. Only wish ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our favorite. It's the best. Only wish the menu would change sometimes

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous dining experience as always. Lo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fabulous dining experience as always. Love to eat here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried lobster every anniversary for the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fried lobster every anniversary for the last 20 years and this was our 49th. Love this place and great service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance as always. C ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance as always. Can't think of a better location for s beautiful evening meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening at historic El Ch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always a great evening at historic El Charro. Very special for out of town guests.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the venue for the restaurant. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Loved the venue for the restaurant. The service was impeccable and quick. The waiter was very knowledgeable. He provided with the history of the El Chorro and also made some really great recommendations for dinner selections from all areas of the menu. The menu was very organized and provided a very broad selection of Meat, poultry and Fish as well as starters. The Flash Fried Lobster tail was awesome. Large portion of Lobster meat. The Lobster Bisque as well as very flavorful. The Lamb chops were truly tasteful and very well seasoned. I also want to add they were very accommodating to food allergies. The Chef was able to make changes to my selection of the Pork Tenderloin and was able to develop a sauce accommodating my food allergies.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great value. A bit warm i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service. Great value. A bit warm in the sun, but we did request outdoor table. Overall, lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It sure has changed over the years but d ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It sure has changed over the years but did not lose it's ambiance. Beautiful inside and out...and the sticky buns are still yummy!!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and ambiance for brunc ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful service and ambiance for brunch. Staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

I'm sure that most people have wonderful ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'm sure that most people have wonderful experiences at El Chorro. Unfortunately, we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

I have been going here for many years ho ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been going here for many years however i have been remiss for about 3 years. I wanted to take my wife and her twin out for a special birthday meal and drove by and remembered all the great meals here. They were very happy with the meal, service, ambiance, and the great sticky buns each table receives. Have to remember to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy El Chorro for the excellent ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always enjoy El Chorro for the excellent food, fun waiters or waitress. The only complaint is when you eat inside, the noise level is so high you have to almost yell for the person across the table to hear you. That is the reason when weather permits we chose to eat out side.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Chorro is a wonderful historic Arizon ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

El Chorro is a wonderful historic Arizona restaurant located among the resorts along Scottsdale's Lincoln Drive. It is affiliated with a lot of local Arizona history and is an excellent place to host a wide range of dinners from business to romantic dates. Although we typically like to sit outside on the patio viewing the north side of Camelback Mountain, the weather did not cooperate with us on a rare rainy day so we were seated in the lovely indoor dining room. The food was excellent with three of our four members choosing seafood dishes. The fourth member of our party selected the beef stroganoff which, although warned off as being a heavy dish, turned out to be extremely tasty with the cream on the side so that it could be added to taste. The wine list is heavily oriented toward Napa Valley and we found a nice bottle each of a red and a white for dinner. The noise level was moderate which made it good for casual conversation. Our experience at El Chorro proved very enjoyable. I highly recommend it as a mainstay to impress your guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great consistent place with great cinnam ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great consistent place with great cinnamon rolls with your meal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent... Outstanding...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was excellent... Outstanding...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

You were out of sticky buns so we didn't ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 21, 2017

You were out of sticky buns so we didn't get try them. Everything else great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The sticky buns as always and for me, bu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The sticky buns as always and for me, but not everybody, chicken livers and onions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

One of my all time favorites. Every time ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of my all time favorites. Every time I can get to El Chorro I go.

Sticky buns are fabulous!! Patio is the best in the valley.

Service and food have have alwAys been best in class.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant. This night the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We love this restaurant. This night the special , Sea Bass, was very dry. Needs at least a sauce on the side if needed. Crab Cakes, Braise Rib & Shrimp were great dishes

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost pleasant and positive dining expe ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Almost pleasant and positive dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The server was outstanding. The ambiance ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The server was outstanding. The ambiance was great.The brunch quality was substandard. Have had dinners and our annual mothers day brunch is simply wonderful. AVOID the daily nonholiday brunch. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Always consistent. Outdoor seating is gr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always consistent. Outdoor seating is great for atmosphere and views. Service is very attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic food and atmosphere; one of ou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fantastic food and atmosphere; one of our favorites.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience was very go ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The entire dining experience was very good. The atmosphere was excellent and it's a great place to go to relax.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another perfect evening at El Chorro, ev ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Another perfect evening at El Chorro, even though Mother Nature prevented us from sitting on the patio. We've eaten here for 7 years and this was our first meal indoors there. Thanks to Bonnie and Lily, we had a round table for our party of 6, just as requested, and it was a delightful evening for us and our guests!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.