Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi

About El Chorro

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.


The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Mon- Sat 5:30 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Tues - Sat 4:30 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Christophe Mihy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Let's give Thanks together! Bring your family & friends and celebrate your Thanksgiving at El Chorro! We require a credit card number to secure a reservation. Cancellation policy: 25.00 per lost guest within 48 hours of reservation.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Tis' the season!! Come and celebrate the holiday with us at El Chorro!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Tis' the season!! Come and celebrate the holiday with us at El Chorro!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Special Occasion (45)
Scenic View (43)
See All
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (17)
Fun (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (10)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. The server had a great sense of humor and let us take our time with ordering.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

A perfect place for celebrating a special occasion. The staff was attentive, knowledgable, and very helpful. I am gluten intolerant and I had no trouble finding dishes that were great tasting, but also met my needs. We were called the day before the reservation to confirm that we would be there, check to see if we were celebrating something special and to see if anyone in our party had special dietary needs! Wow! I have never experienced that level of service before. When our server arrived at our table he had already been informed of our special circumstances.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Healthy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Despite having been around for 80 years, I found El Chorro to be up to date and fresh-looking. The patio dining has to be among the best, given the time of year. We didn't make the bar scene but it looked inviting. I appreciated the calmness of the establishment, lending itself to conversation, unlike many venues today. I am definitely going back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Outstanding service from the minute the hostess greeted us at the door until we were saying good night. We had a perfect table in the dining room which opened up to the outdoors and provided an outstanding view of Camelback Mountain.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2017

An absolute wonderful evening. We have been there before and it just keeps getting better. We highly recommend it for an evening of great food, ambience, and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Everything was fabulous. Quick service, great seating, outstanding food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

While on a group trip we decided to come here for a group brunch. Everyone's meal was phenomenal! We devoured the mini sticky buns in the pastry basket and ordered a dozen to go!

The views from the patio were beyond beautiful.

The service was excellent too.

I look forward to my next visit so I can come back for brunch and dinner!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our server was fabulous...sorry can't think of his name right now

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our waiter Ryan , was fantastic , wonderful outside patio area !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, upscale but not pretentious. Great views and comfortable. Food was good but really not special or that creative for the prices. Overall a good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food, good atmosphere, great for dates, family dinners, and bar. Bring your wallet, but it’s PV, no surprise there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Servers we're not nearly as professional as one would expect for this caliber of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The chef knows how to prepare fish perfectly--great staff. They called the next day to ask how we enjoyed the experience! The customer is always #1 at El Chorro!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Outstanding as usual. I recommend the Beef Stroganoff and the Chateaubriand for Two. We drop by whenever we're in Phoenix.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

El Chorro has always been a favorite, especially for Sunday breakfast/brunch. Delicious pastries await! The views are spectacular. Even in the dining room you feel as though you are outdoors. Great place to take friends visiting from out of town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Fabulous as ever! Our family has been frequenting El Chorro since the early 1960's. It is one of our favorites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

It is always a delight to dine here. We love the ambience, food, and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was terrible, however the drinks were pretty good. The service was fair. The atmosphere was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Andrea our waitress was amazing. She made it extra special, the smile, the service & was a beautiful sight to see along with view of my man. El Chorro delivered once again an outstanding meal.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

El Chorro has become perhaps our favorite restaurant in the valley. This was our 3rd time to the restaurant and the food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. The outside seating has great ambience. We started with the Shrimp Pepper Pot appetizer served with crusty bread, sooooo yummy. Their signature dish of Trout Armandine was one of the best trout entrees we've ever had. Of course, the sticky buns...... ymmmm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a lovely dinner outside under the stars. All our food was excellent and the wine list had reasonably priced wines! Service was excellent and I highly recommend El Chorro!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great place, will be back, yet to have a bad meal there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Love El Charro, the patio is amazing and staff is really attentive. Seems a bit high priced and limited menu but worth the patio and view every once in while. Like it a lot but not a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The overall experience was amazing. The food was delicious and the service was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Perfect ambiance is what El Chorro has to offer in addition to great food and fabulous service. We dined there for restaurant week and had a fabulous dinner. Our waiter Brandon was funny and engaging and by the end of our meal, Tracy the manager came over to chat. We had a table by the fireplace and it was a perfect evening all the way around. The steak and mashed potato special for restaurant week was the best steak we have had in the Valley so far. We have lived here for a year, and this is a place we always come back to because it is so comfortable and of course the view is fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We chose this restaurant for an anniversary dinner. It was moderately crowded when we arrived but as our reservation was for outside the noise level was quite acceptable. The service was mediocre at best for the menu prices. The food was truly disappointing. We ordered a caesar salad which had little to no taste. I ordered one of their specialties, beef stroganoff . The Meat was tough and dry. My husband ordered another specialty, their beef short ribs which was also very dry. They served us a complimentary dessert which was again mediocre in taste. The prices are quite high and we expected much better quality and preparation for what we paid. I have since asked friends about their experience at El Chorro and they have concurred that it has changed and no longer has the reputation from prior years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always a great meal.
Love the sticky buns.
Old favorite of ours been going there since I was a child on vacation
Whenever we're back in Az it's a MUST go to for dinner

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our meal, the table location, the food, and the service were all first rate. The evening was perfect, thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fantastic! Joseph was our server, he was awesome and the manager Ryan was wonderful ❤️

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Took advantage of restaurant week to visit El Chorro. The

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Lovely evening to eat out of doors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

They put out way too many dinners. It's like a bus stop. You can't put out a quality product at that volume. It's more like banquet food. Lon's & A Different Point Of View's settings, views and food are far superior.
Plus, they add a 20% gratuity for a party of 2. We generally leave that, however, we feel it is up to us to decide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was very good and service as well. Love the views, the ambiance. Never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was my third visit to Scottsdale and to El Chorro. I have sampled many restaurants in the area, but El Chorro is my favorite. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Celebrating my 80th birthday at my favorite brunch spot! Thanks to the chef for fixing my special request -- Eggs and salmon Benedict, so delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We have wanted to try this restaurant since we moved here in February. We decided to go for our anniversary. They gave us a perfect table, lovely view of the Camelback Mountain. Absolutely love the patio, the ambience, and all staff was extremely kind and helpful. Our server Preslee was delightful, gave great recommendations and made our evening extra special. They brought out a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. Every item on the menu sounded delicious. We went with the flash fried lobster tail, prawns, and steak. We will be back. Can't wait to try brunch here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

CELEBRATING OUR ANNIVERSARY. IT COULDN'T HAVE BEEN BETTER. THE FOOD WAS A FABULOUS, THE SERVICE WAS EXEMPLARY AND THE AMBIANCE/LOCATION IS A MUST DO. REALLY CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT HOW MUCH WE ENJOYED THIS EVENING.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great spot to take friends when in town. Beautiful patio with stunning view of Camelback Mountain. Good food, but not fit for foodies. Pleasant experience, attentive service. Nice old Arizona ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

El Chorro has always been a special place for us since we came to the Valley in 1969...way back to the original owners then on to Evie and Joe and now to the new owners. We have had many wonderful times with great food and atmosphere. Thank you for all the memories.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.