Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.34mi
  4. Distance: 1.65mi

About El Chorro

El Chorro’s iconic setting at the base of Camelback & Mummy Mountains offers an authentic Arizona desert setting where generations of Valley residents and visitors alike come to savor classic, seasonal cuisine; enjoy a relaxed Sunday brunch; gather with friends over happy hour; celebrate special occasions or meet with associates.



El Chorro’s culinary vision features classic cuisine favorites with a Southwestern-inspired influence. The menu offerings center on fresh, organic and locally grown ingredients – including herbs and produce from the El Chorro garden located right outside the kitchen.



The restaurant and event venues have recently been restored, renovated and enhanced to further preserve this landmark’s rustic charm. El Chorro became the first restaurant in Arizona to earn the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Environmental and Energy Design (LEED) Gold Certification.

5550 E Lincoln Dr.
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Mon. - Sun., 5 p.m. to Close
Happy Hour: Mon. - Sat., 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday Brunch: 9 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
56th Street & Lincoln Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 948-5170

Website:
http://elchorro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Charles Kassels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Special Events: Casa Paloma can accomodate 300 guests for cocktail functions; 250 guests for dining or 200 guests with a full stage and dance floor. Private Dining: Hampton Room for 40 guests. The Gallery Room for 56 guests & Landmark Room for 60 guests. Classroom Bar up to 150 guests.

El Chorro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (163)
Special Occasion (130)
Scenic View (107)
See All
Good for a Date (97)
Romantic (87)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Fireplace (73)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Great for Brunch (66)
Worth the Drive (65)
Historic (65)
Authentic (54)
Casual (50)
Good for Groups (49)
Bar Seating (49)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Business Meals (46)
Happy Hour (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Cozy (33)
People Watching (30)
Fun (29)
Comfort Food (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Seasonal (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Private Room (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Healthy (11)
Kid-friendly (8)
Family Style (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

There for Restaurant Week: Patio table and great atmosphere, wine & margarita, then terrific dishes and sticky buns, great dessert. Tom from El Chorro managed our table beautifully.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was exceptional. Food and ambiance was excellent as well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We asked to sit outside at our 8pm reservation. There were probably only 7 tables occupied when we were seated. There was though a large group just inside the restaurant and they were pretty loud, but they left soon. Our server was very knowledgeable about the food & wine menus and he was very attentive. The food was cooked exactly to our liking. We really enjoyed our meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We visited for Restaurant Week and I was disappointed--for the first time there I felt like we were treated as second-class guests. I think it made a difference which table we were given and the service was not nearly as good as we have experienced in the past. It also seemed as though you were understaffed. No water re-fills, waitress was absent for long periods, took a long time to get drinks. Love the location and the food, though, and we are hoping this was just a one-time marginal experience. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We will not be going back, From the 3 hostesses telling us we were 15 min. early and go have a drink at the bar we will come and get you, they didn't, we had to get them. Having a server who didn't seem real happy to be there, ordering a $55.00 rib eye that was well done BOTH times for a reason the steak was too thin to be rare as they told us with a frown on their face when they bought out the third try and it was medium rare. They might have remodeled, but they lost the charm of the people of El Chorro, we might as well been at a place that knows it is going to close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

El Chorro is our favorite place to stop and celebrate after my son's piano concerts. What a lovely patio outside and calm, cool, inside. The brunch was lovely and their AZ restaurant week menu is typically amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent all-around experience! We put in a special request which was met and exceeded. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We decided to try El Chorro for a first time Sunday Brunch, it Is only a couple of minutes drive away so decided to give it a go, it was wonderful, myself, hubby and 2.5 year old had a lovely shady table outside, the service was great and food delicious, portion sizes were very generous, we really enjoyed it and without doubt will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome experience as always. Delicious food in a pleasing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful location and great service, the menu was traditional and tasty

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Our group always enjoys coming to El Chorro. The food, the service and the cocktails are always just what we want.
Thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Jeri Lyn was an energetic, enthusiastic waitress. She checked on us frequently to make sure we were all happy with our meals and had everything we needed. Another memorable evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic dinner and a great value for restaurant week 2017 . Absolutely top-notch from start to finish. Can't wait to return absolutely loved it and will recommend

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We came here for restaurant week and were very happy we drove from Cave Creek. Food, service, and atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice atmosphere.. when starting meal very noisy from wedding party. Soon quieted down when they left for private room. Service and food excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

On vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We always enjoy our dinner at El Chorro. We were there for Restaurant Week. From the price fix menu, one of us had soup and the other salad for our first course - delicious! We both chose the seafood for our main selection - it was wonderful. Both deserts were very good and the service was wonderful - thank you Richard! We will be back again soon:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

El Chorro remains one of the few authentic early Phoenix dinning experiences. The sticky buns aren't as good as they use to be (but still good) and there isn't shad roe anymore, but it still is a delightful place for a meal on any occasion. We enjoy the dinner but love the weekend brunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful as always. Every little thing is just impeccable!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

On vacation did a google search for restaurants with a sunset view. Atmosphere was great, server Ryan wonderful and attentive, appetizer of Mussels was delish and shareable, lobster & corn bisque cup large and flavorful. Our main course was served after a nice reprieve, the shrimp with risotto and asparagus, my husband cleaned the plate, my short ribs which were a "house favorite" was good, but nothing special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were here for Mother's Day and although it was very pricey, we had a great time and the food was awesome. Literally the best prime rib I have ever had. And of course the sticky buns were spectacular. Great time!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family and I went for mother's day brunch. It is a vey pretty and relaxing place. The service was very good. It was a buffet, and the food was good but much of it wasn't very hot and although the pans were full it tasted like it had been sitting for awhile. With how much the buffet costs I expect much better. I wouldn't go back for their buffet but I would go back to try their everyday menu and sit on their patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our party of five went to the Mother's Day brunch last Sunday. Everything about the experience was extraordinary. We thought we might be rushed through the brunch because of the crowd but that was not the case. The food selections were great and our service was great also.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was not the best of experiences. Considering the price, quality of food should have been better; good but not outstanding. Servers were understaffed, thus service was too slow. Finally charging extra for Mimosas was unnecessary.

We love this place on normal Sundays, but never again for Mother's Day Brunch!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my wife, my mother and my 3 month old son for Mother's Day brunch. The place was excellent. The food was phenomenal. My family was very pleased. The service was exceptional. The ambiance seemed appropriate for multiple situations whether it be a romantic date or a family get together.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Normally I'm not a big g fan of overpriced brunch buffets but this was on point!!! They didn't miss! Every item was bang on and I couldn't poke holes in anything served! Expensive, yes! $329 for 4. Worth it though for a special occasion.(Mother's Day)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent but very disappointed where we sat despite making a reservation close to a month before Mother's Day & specifically asking to be seated in shade & near music. This was our 4th year in a row attending Mother's Day brunch but probably was worst experience due to location seated.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was impeccable. Mothers Day Brunch. It was crowded but staff moved with efficiency & coutesy even if they were not part of your wait staff. Love this place. Look forward to dining here again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mothers day brunch. Fabulous service as always. Great ambiance and food top notch

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a totally delightful experience. Setting, service, food, were all top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

One our favorites in the Valley never disappoints AAA+++

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Beautiful view. The appetizers were particularly good (mussels and truffle fries), so good for happy hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beautiful indoor and outdoor setting. Good food and lovely presentation. We ate outdoors under heat lamps and we were very comfortable. Craft cocktails were fun and tasty. Dinner paced very nicely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fantastic food. Perfect service. Beautiful ambiance. Trout almondine was the best fish I have ever tasted. Will return as often as possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

First time visitor after living in the valley for many years. I'm sorry I haven't gone until now. Wonderful birthday dinner with our daughter. Outdoor seating next to the fireplace with a great view of Camelback Mtn. Service was spot on.....very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was our second dinner date and our first visit was awesome, excellent service which I feel always adds to the enjoyment of your meal, and the food was great. This visit, complete opposite, it was a Monday night and our waitress "Leah" was a nice lady but a horrible server as she paid no attention to our table, however one bright spot were the water boys and they were fantastic. We tipped them far more than Leah as they were on it. We order off the appetizer menu the Lobster dish.....$52 dollars for 6 pieces and they were so greasy that we couldn't eat the dish, the rest of the food was OK, but nothing like our first visit. Extremely disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My grown sons had never been here and they loved everything about it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Always an great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.