About Edmund's Oast

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:30 to 10:00, and Friday-Saturday 5:30-11:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 13, 2017 - Mar 5, 2017 on Mondays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Fun (31)
Modern Decor (28)
Good for a Date (25)
Casual (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Seasonal (13)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Tapas (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (3)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We don't eat out much; I find CHS restau ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We don't eat out much; I find CHS restaurants overpriced and pretentious . EO was none of these. We opted to eat at the bar because the bartender was such a nice guy. Service was great, beer was great, food was great. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything is always perfect at Edmund's ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything is always perfect at Edmund's. Never a bad dish, drink, or experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, beer and service were outstanding. ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

Food, beer and service were outstanding. The only negative is the acoustics in the dinning room. It is loud so it is difficult to hear.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I dined here on a Friday nig ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I dined here on a Friday night as a late Valentine's celebration. Our waiter provided excellent service. Very knowledgeable regarding the menu including the drinks, and provided helpful recommendations when I let him know what my general tastes were. He was happy to let my wife try out a couple of the beers before making her full order.

We ordered two appetizers, the corn bread and the giardiniera (pickled vegetables). The vegetables were excellent, but the corn bread was fairly ordinary. Not quite moist enough and no variety in texture.

For entrees, she ordered a vegetable soup (can't remember the exact name) and I had the dry aged meatball. Her soup was excellent. My matball needed something more to cut the acidity of the red sauce. I checked the side options for something I could have paired myself and found nothing suitable. I recommended to the restaurant that they add a starch such as gnocchi to balance the acid a bit.

In general, the meal was very enjoyable. The waiter paid us enough attention while not rushing us in the least. The noise level was enough that we were able to easily talk to each other and not feel like we were in a crowded bar, even though most tables were filled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My favorite place in Charleston. If I w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite place in Charleston. If I would make a resursnt i would model it after this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious but a bit slow co ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious but a bit slow coming out of the kitchen.

Parking & access for the disabled is difficult.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent as usual!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Larissa was awesome! The food was great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Larissa was awesome! The food was great and the atmosphere was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular. We ordered fla ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was spectacular. We ordered flank steak, chicken, sole and lobster salad. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the hangar steak which was delicio ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had the hangar steak which was delicious with hash browns with poached egg in the center and my husband had the special which was short ribs in pasta in a very tasty sauce. We both enjoyed our meals and the great service provided

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, attentive and knowledgable s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, attentive and knowledgable servers.Fabulous beer.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Favorite place to go in Charleston! Ind ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Favorite place to go in Charleston! Indoor or outdoor seating, both great options! Great food, friendly staff, great atmosphere! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and drink. What's n ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great service, food and drink. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would've given "service" a 5 if our fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I would've given "service" a 5 if our food wasn't so long to get to us - the server was worth a 5.

All 3 of us liked your menu & loved our meals

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Has a great rep and we with two other co ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Has a great rep and we with two other couples wanted to try it.

None of us enjoyed our meals. Undercooked cauliflower, pedestrian over salted hamburgers, very disappointed.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

This was our first visit to this restaur ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant and we were not disappointed! It is very open and can get a bit loud but not overwhelming; and we like that for casual dining anyway. We had the best server we've had at any restaurant in a long time; Larissa! My husband is the GM over two restaurants in Hilton Head Island, so we "test" other restaurant food and service a lot and we are big foodies. If we lived closer my husband would definitely tried to lure Larissa away to come serve in one of his restaurants; she was that good and that pleasant! As for the food and drinks, We LOVED everything we ordered! The Chicken Pate and the hanger steak w/ a PERFECTLY poached egg were my favorites with the pickled vegetables coming in a close 2nd! If I could think of anything to complain about it would be that everything, except the pate, was really heavy on the salt; and I love salt, so that's saying something. I'll simply ask for light salt next time AND there will be a next time!!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ordered roasted cauliflower, smoked turk ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Ordered roasted cauliflower, smoked turkey brodo, and sweet potatoes with yoghurt and mint. Everything was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excelllent food and service. Had a grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excelllent food and service. Had a great bottle of wine at 50% off and homemade meats with hearty bread and cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Bier, Food, and knowledgeable ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent Bier, Food, and knowledgeable staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the decorating and the open ta ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoyed the decorating and the open tall ceilings and high back leather chairs. I enjoyed this restaurant for drinks and cheese/ charcuterie with a friend. Nice beer drinking atmosphere! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The waiter was professional. Thinking it would be nice to have dinner with my family. I made a reservation for two weeks out. It was very loud for dinner and I didn't enjoy it as much the second time around. The wine selection was not as varied as I would have hoped. It's a great place for beer, but there is a need for a variety of less expensive items on the menu.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

great atmosphere, enjoyed the outside ba ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

great atmosphere, enjoyed the outside bar with heaters.

Drink prices seemed a little high. Food was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We came because of a friend's recommenda ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We came because of a friend's recommendation.

Our visit exceeded our expectations! The food was amazing, atmosphere was fun. Great environment inside and out. Love the in-house charcuterie! But, the absolute best part of our visit was the service! Who says that?! From the hostess, who asked if we had been there before, to the server who got that message ( I think Jessica - could kick myself for not being sure!). Our server absolutely made our visit!! Described and recommended perfectly! A personality one would want all our employees to have.

Fabulous experience! Thank y'all!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here a few times and really ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been here a few times and really think the food is just average. And the meal wasn't inexpensive and I feel there are better options in charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten here several times. The fo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We have eaten here several times. The food has always been creative and delicious. Tonight was no exception. However, our experience was marred by the noise level. We had difficulty hearing our waiter and conversation was almost impossible. There was a large group of people standing behind us drinking beer. They may have been waiting for a table. They were quite loud. At one point, one man started leaning on the back of my husband's chair. We will return for the food, but will make sure to ask to be seated in a booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

One of the most exceptional meals I have ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of the most exceptional meals I have ever had! We sat at the chef's counter and it was such a treat! One dish was better than the next!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I went to Edmund's Oast for ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A friend and I went to Edmund's Oast for brunch. We loved the cheddar bisquit -- plenty big enough for 2 or 3 people. The blueberry roll would have been much better if it was warm. Beet salad was very good. The croquette was huge and delicious, definitely enough for 2. Lots of wine and beer choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tasting menu

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great tasting menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here many times but were d ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have dined here many times but were disappointed in the new menu. Gone are the small plate offerings that we used to love for their variety and great tastes. Entrees are good but horribly over priced. $26 for one small piece of fish and a plate full of fries is ridiculous. Drinks are likewise overpriced. Beer glasses are not fully filled and $12 for a tiny cocktail is not something we would chose to return for. Bottom line, if you want good, overpriced food and drinks, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent food. A bit loud. Server quit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent food. A bit loud. Server quite knowledgeable. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent service, good ambiance, very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent service, good ambiance, very good food--would definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful menu and great beer choices. T ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wonderful menu and great beer choices. The worst was finding it. Not well marked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great table/booth for a large party. Ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great table/booth for a large party. Outstanding service for 6 adults during brunch, team like delivery/bussing led to quick and great brunch. Smaller menu than most brunch locations and small portions led to only 4 stars for food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I had a great date night! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I had a great date night! Service was fantastic! Definitely save room for dessert!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The beer selection is great and their ch ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The beer selection is great and their cheese and meat trays were fantastic. Great service too.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and ambience are what I go out for. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Good and ambience are what I go out for. Both were wonderful. We ate outside on January 18,2017. The only thing I would suggest is some

Sort of a sound barrier between the dining area and the road. The road noise was loud.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Snapper was fabulous. Loved the space.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Snapper was fabulous. Loved the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to go to Edmund's Oa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It's always a treat to go to Edmund's Oast. The beer recommendations by the server were great. The food was delicious. Our only disappointment was that the cornbread wasn't available at Sunday brunch. We do love it, so were sorry to have missed it. We understand it is on the dinner menu.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite special event places ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of our favorite special event places. Birthday brunch and the food/service met expectations. Waitress (Caroline) offered to by us dessert for my wife's birthday. We didn't take it but the fact that she did shows the character of the restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The hanger steak was out of this world!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The hanger steak was out of this world!!! Highly recommend it! And our server was very knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.