Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

About Edmund's Oast

Edmund’s Oast is a restaurant like no other, because it’s so much more - a unique combination of brewery, seasonally-focused kitchen, and encyclopedic bar program. Scott Shor had the vision to bring these often-singular pursuits under one roof without sacrificing an inch of quality among them. The restaurant offers an elevated but approachable menu, providing guests a warm and exciting dining experience. Executive Chef Bob Cook’s distinctively dynamic menu includes bar snacks, house made charcuterie, small plates, heartier entrees, and classic desserts with a contemporary spin. The food is authentic without pretension, delivering an extraordinary dining experience inspired by the beverages featured on the menu.

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm;
Monday-Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Friday-Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/restaurant

Executive Chef:
Bob Cook

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Kosher, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (49)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Good for Groups (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Casual (23)
Fun (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Tapas (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our 4th time visiting Edmunds Oast and it just gets better every time which is saying something considering our first visit was outstanding. The service is top notch, the voodo economics cocktail is a must for brunch and the beef tongue hash was easily one of the best things I have eaten, maybe ever, and I have eaten everywhere. As a former Charleston resident who now lives in Charlotte, Edmonds Oast is a must do if you are visiting and one of the many reasons why my wife and I constantly say we need to move back to Charleston! Well done and keep up the amazing work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was fantastic and the ambiance was lovely. However, the food just wasn’t as good as I was expecting. We ordered the octopus and it was very fishy tasting - I normally love octopus. Also the pecan dessert was dry and had hardly any pecans. I feel like we just hit it on an off night and/or ordered the wrong things, because people rave about this place all the time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

About 5 years ago one of Charleston’s restaurant critics called Edmund’s Oast the most important restaurant opening of the year. Five years later it just keeps getting better. The selection of craft beers on tap is almost overwhelming; I always go for whatever they are offering in a cask (currently a traditional English real ale). The house made charcuterie is the best in town. Grilled octopus salad, delicious. If you like curry, Salt Chicken is your go to. And no matter what you order you have to have their perfectly cooked french fries. Yes, the place can be noisy (request a booth). The service is always exceptional. If you have never been, get there now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Sat at the chef's table and loved all the activity--dinner AND a show. Such a choreographed effort and it was seamless.

Food was great and service was superior. In fact, I sent a 12 pack to the kitchen staff (a great suggestion on the menu!).

Will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and the food was just not good this go round.
Limited menu, tortilla chips soggy, unpleasant food combinations/flavors in my bowl. I've been for dinner and it was much different and we had a great time with great food/drinks. I think they just need to step up the brunch menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Really great atmosphere and laid back. Was in town for a bachelor party but will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

In a city filled with great restaurants, Edmund's Oast is one of the best. The food, service, ambience, beers and vibe combine to create a satisfying experience. Don't miss the beautiful and original grilled octopus!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Absolutely LOVE this place. Awesome food, great drinks and beer selection and the staff is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great atmosphere and waitress! The food great but the grouper and fried chicken skins was a little spicy for me! Great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Delightful dinner! The food was excellent! It's fine dining without a corncob up its butt. Easy, tasty, classic and delicious. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 25, 2017

A huge thank you to Edmund's Oast for helping us celebrate our anniversary!

From the moment we entered it was great. The hostess was friendly and our servers were outstanding - remembering it was our anniversary and guiding us through the way the menu is set up.

Sunday is half off bottles of wine so we totally splurged on an amazing Chateau Yvonne!

We decided to do the snacks and tapas size plates - our dinner was frites, a pickled and fried dish that was so tasty; then we had the peppers and the grouper collar. Also some collards and a surprise dish of spaghetti squash. For dessert we did the peanut butter and chocolate bar which comes with a yummy ice cream and our server brought us a side dish of chocolate hazelnut ice cream that went perfectly.

Seriously, it was one of the best meals we've had. I will go back when we are in Charleston again and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

The best meal we had in Charleston! An amazing selection of beer and the best food in town. We had a great time sitting outside in the open atmosphere, enjoying the tastes and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 24, 2017

In a city full of great restaurants, Edmunds Oast really stands out. Great outdoor seating and very cool bar inside. Their craft beer selection, including their own home brewed beers, is outstanding. The fish and grits was a very generous portion and delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch, great food and service. Will do dinner next time soon.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was great, service was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

YOUR OPTIONS RE NOISE ARE SKEWED: ENERGETIC DOES NOT DESCRIBE ONE OF THE NOISIEST RESTAURANTS I'VE EVER BEEN IN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Food was a bit salty for my tastes. A little overpriced given the sizes of things. Especially the desserts. I wished they were carrying my Local Choice SPirits brands and I would bring people there more often. I love the atmosphere as I own distilleries. 843-814-8347

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was the last time that we will dine at this restaurant. Charleston has too many really good restaurants to choose from. Our food was overly salty and very pricey for the quantity served. My husband and I both ordered steak and eggs but his meal arrived 8-10 minutes ahead of mine. The only difference between our orders was the temperature of my eggs. This could not have held my breakfast up for that length of time. Our waiter walked by our table several times and did not ask why I did not have my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Inventive dishes presented in new ways, but execution missed the mark. Main gripe is food was extremely salty and some dishes were unexpectedly spicy. Wish servers would more proactively tell diners about that. Still worth going to try the dishes for yourself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Highly recommend Edmund's Oast! Picked this option for Date Night and couldn't have been happier. The venue was comfortable, parking was easy, service was excellent and the food delicious. We picked out several apps to try before moving to the main course and couldn't have been happier.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything about the experience was top notch. Flavors we're off the chart in every dish. Wine list was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Interesting beer selection. Their in-house brews go beyond the BJCP styles and are excellent. Food selection, especially the charcuterie appetizers, small plates, and deserts are excellent too. Overall not inexpensive, but well worth it for ambience, food & drink, and service. In a city with lots of excellent choices, a place to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food
Fun
Good selection of brews
Good service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I really like Edmund's Oast. Great atmosphere, great service, cool beer, wine and cocktail list. I've just never fallen in love with the menu, but the food is always well-prepared. Great, original place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

interesting food choices; not usual stuff. Good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Pickled shrimp was delicious, service great but I was a bit disappointed in the meals, just not that good, esp what i ordered. Pork loin with cheddar sauce on a brioche bun served with chips? Just an odd combo in my opinion- my fault for ordering it I suppose. Myhusband ordered the vegie egg bowl which he enjoyed, our friends the Monte Crisco + chiquales..they seemed to enjoy.
It is very very loud in the restaurant as the ceilings are so high, nice to look at but very difficult to carry on a conversation.
Think next time will just sit outside and have a drink:) Had to give it a try!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Best burger and beer in Charleston!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food and service are always outstanding! We absolutely loved the milk chocolate cake and the white chocolate coconut cheesecake. It was amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I have eaten here several times now and don't even live in Charleston! Love the atmosphere, food, beer and drinks. Always one of my top picks when visiting the city!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Amazing food and drink selection. Unique dishes and our server was great at explaining them all and provided great service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love love love!!! The food was exceptional. The beer selection was varied, trending and outstanding. The service was world class service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Incredible restaurant. Definitely our favorite in Charleston.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Brunch at Edmunds Oast is fantastic! Though I've had great meals here at lunch & dinner, brunch is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The beer selection is awesome! I thought the burger was too salty and didn't much care for the strong butter flavor in the chicken liver, but the charcuterie plate is a must. Very cool place overall

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very expensive; do NOT order meat/cheese plate - $16 for cheese plate literally 3 small pieces of cheese. Very noisy . Food was good quality but even entrees more of a small plate size.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We ordered several plates to share including the tilefish, peppers, heirloom tomatoes and the salt chicken. Great food and great service all around. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Edmund's can always be counted on for a delightful evening. The standout on this visit was a dish of grilled and pickled okra with peaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Charleston. Somehow still underrated.
Great food Great service Fun atmosphere Late Night Chef's Counter and more

(Don't forget to buy the kitchen beer)

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.