Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.39mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

About Edmund's Oast

Why Edmund's Oast?

The “Edmund” in the name comes from Edmund Egan, who began producing beer in Charleston after emigrating from England in the 1760s. "Oast” is a kiln used in the drying of hops.

1081 Morrison Drive
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm;
Monday-Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Friday-Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1145

Website:
http://edmundsoast.com/

Executive Chef:
Reid Henninger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Kosher, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Edmund's Oast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (69)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Fit for Foodies (55)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Good for Groups (42)
Good for a Date (42)
Casual (41)
Fun (40)
Bar Seating (40)
Special Occasion (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Open Kitchen (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Hot Spot (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Happy Hour (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Authentic (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Seasonal (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Business Meals (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Romantic (12)
Cozy (11)
Tapas (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Family Style (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Organic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We sat at the chef's table and It was a great experience Service was excellent the food fresh and well presented.
Would happily return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome as usual. One of our favorite cool stops in charleston. Good is great. Service is always top-notch. Beer and drinks are superb

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot for drinks, small plates of a meal. Huge selection beer brewed on-site.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We sat at the chefs bar which was fun to watch things come out of the kitchen. I may have been a little adventursom in my food order, so I did not care for my appetizer, though I can't say it wasn't good - perhaps just a bad choice on my part. Found the food over salted and my husbands dinner greaser than he'd have liked... All in all a little disappointed food wise, but the atmosphere is 'happening' and the style of the place is wonderful... It was a Monday night and the joint was hoppin' which was fun for us as visitors. We don't drink a major part of their offerings, so we were happy to find hand crafted unusual soda's like strawberry- jalepeno!
Service was attentive especially during the ordering... I'd go again and try other items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have eaten here several times.The beer selection is awesome. The food is delicious and expertly prepares. The charcuterie is the best! When I have special friends and family in town, it is our go to place. Wait staff is very knowledgeable, courteous, and helpful. Will be back soon...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Went to Sunday Brunch and was very happy with the selections on the Brunch Menu plus all the wines by the bottle were half price. They have an impressive selection of craft beers. We elected to split the large charcuterie plate. Since they butcher and cure all their own meats, the selections were very fresh and quite good. We plan to return on a weekday so we can try out the regular menu and some of the beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved the beer selection. Perfect place for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The power went out as we arrived and did not come back on so not fair to really review. They did the best possible considering the circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Best restaurant in Charleston. Everything is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food and service were outstanding!! Everything from start to finish was just great!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it! The food was fantastic. Everything was a bit unusual but cooked to perfection. We had a small charcuterie plate, the grouper, and the hangar steak. All of the dishes were superb! You can't go wrong here. Great atmosphere and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and a good value. I enjoy the causal yet upscale nature of the place and the food. I'm not a huge beer fan but it looked like they had plenty of options. I can tell you that they make a great old fashion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We did not stay to dine. Even though the room had many open tables, we were jammed in at a bar with chairs impossible to move. The noise was outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food; excellent service. Staff was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service - nice and interesting menu. Fun location - low key - look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great overall experience. Service warm, personal and attentive. Food tastes as good as it looks. Highly recommend the swordfish lox. Enjoyed watching the kitchen staff at work. Organized and consistent. Too bad we like be in Arizona or would be back ASAP.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Hard to hear the waitress as she spoke very softly and it was loud inside. Overall great food and great service ! The atmosphere and beer selection was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were very disappointed. The maitre d was rude and very irritated at having to seat us. Later, during the meal, the waitress just disappeared so I asked the maitre d for help ordering. She seemed very put off by this, said she would get to it and then just kept doing what she was doing and ignoring our request. SHE does not belong in a service industry position. Was rude and pouty. The cheese plate was pretty good as were the drinks but the entrees were just very average. Great atmosphere and outdoors was pretty nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved sitting on the outside patio. Fun to share all our food selections. Beer choices were great.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We loved the hangar steak entree and salted caramel chocolate dessert! Ambiance was rather energetic with a few bachelor/bachelorette parties, as well as the long banquet style tables in and outdoors. I expected it to be much more calm. You can reserve a seat at the bar in front of the kitchen to get a great view of all that goes on inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Noisy, very. Sat in the patio, attacked by mosquitoes. Finally a waiter got us some mosquito repellent. One of the salads had the greens sitting on a paper towel. It was quickly replaced. Food was excellent otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This restaurant redefined outstanding service for me. Our server was extremely attentive all evening and made excellent suggestions for food choices. When she noted we were not enthusiastic about first dessert choice, it was replaced and the general manager came by to discuss as well. It's a fun place. They have an excellent Sazerac BTW--best we've found in Charleston and my husband's favorite. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food and beverage.
However, the service was so poor that it was a distraction from our overall dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious food. The beer list is out of sight! 48 beers on tap. I had the The Queen's English to start and then the Viridi Deus. Both fantastic! The first was only 4.1% alcohol and the second was 13%. The Deus had a winey nose and you could almost swear it was a wine if you closed your eyes. Both of these were also the Oast's brewed beers.
The charcuterie sampler was amazing and a lot of food for 4 people to share.
The Hanger Steak was sous vide and delicious as were the french fries.
I'd go back in a flash!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

FANTASTIC! Service was extremely professional and smooth. Food was incredibly delicious. Beer was great. Can't wait to go back. Definitely try the charcuterie tray with cheeses - you will not be disappointed. Meats smoked in-house. Cheese from a local place. Snapper and flank steak entrees were wonderful. Highly recommend Edmunds Oast!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Best food in charleston! And that is coming from two chefs who traveled all the way down. Service was incredible super friendly and knowledgeable. Pickled shrimp, tartare & broccoli were some of the best plates of food I had. Everything was perfectly seasoned and balanced. They did everything absolutely right even the small details how every single hazelnut was perfectly cut in half for the chocolate bombe which was incredible. Can't wait to come back and visit again for a phenomenal meal. Hats off to edmunds oast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is outstanding! Great beer list, inventive delicious cocktails, great ambience, and good service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was excellent. Dessert was perfection. Service was excellent and the menu is creative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Awesome - will definitely be back!!
The waiter & hostess were very attentive and our bartender explained our beer questions.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great and creative apps and entrees. pricey family event, but well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always awesome. Woody is a gem always love seeing him.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was a little slow for Sunday brunch but there were a lot of parties going on, and the server gave us complimentary coffee (without us requesting) to apologize for the delay. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was excellent, service was good after they corrected our order. Beer was delicious and my wife loved her Bloody Mary.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always such a treat. Food delicious service excellent drinks to die for

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely great food. Beautiful decor. Overall very excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

So incredible! It was our wedding anniversary and we had our 4 year old daughter with us and they got us a celebration glass of wine and offered options for our daughter! But she eats everything so it was not necessary but so sweet! Everything was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The flounder entree was fantastic! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Not to be missed - with all of the fabulous fine dining options available in Charleston, this is a THE BEST place for a more casual, but no less please gastronomically pleasing, evening. No need to do more than the charcuterie plate with cheese and a glass of one of fifty craft beers, including a bunch brewed on site. A little out of town if you're staying in the heritage district but well worth the trip.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Incredible service and food. Terrible acoustics. Not that crowded but too loud to have a conversation. Everybody had to yell.
Food was probably the best I've had in Charleston

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We sat at the bar, which was our choice. There is nothing here to complain about. The food is fantastic!
There were three of us. We shared small plates of beef tartare, picked Shrimp, roasted green beans a charcuterie board and a bomber dessert with honey miso ice cream! Yum! The beer is great, to say the least. They also, have a great wine list. The staff is very knowledgeable and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.