HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

East Restaurant

4.1
51 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Malaysian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (69)
  • Fit for Foodies (66)
  • Good for Groups (61)

Similar Restaurants

About

East Restaurant serves classic and contemporary Chinese cuisine with a twist of Malaysian flavors and inspiration. The interior of the restaurant is decorated beautifully with floral murals and Chinese lanterns hanging from the ceiling. Vibrant reds and greens are the dominant colors and serve to create a bright, welcoming atmosphere. East is extremely accommodating as well, offering dine-in, takeout and delivery options.

While guests will find many staples of oriental cooking on the menu like spring rolls and pad Thai, there are also many dishes unique to East. A great example of this is the Japanese fish and chips, which are panko breaded and topped with a togarashi deviled egg tartar and cucumber slaw along with some house cut fries. Another wonderful fusion entree is the hoisin chicken and Thai grilled fettuccine with chili peppers, cilantro cream sauce and brussels sprouts.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Malaysian, Chinese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 457-8833
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: 97 Street & 160 Ave
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 51 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1
  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
3.7
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
foodhunter (Edmonton)
4.0
Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice restaurant, waitress very nice & food was great ! Will go back again this time to try dinner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0
Dined on February 14, 2016

First time I've ever seen my granddaughter ask for seconds! And she had seconds of all four dishes that we ordered!!!!

Report
Helpful
vipHappymom (Edmonton)
4.0
Dined on January 27, 2016

A lovely spot for lunch - our server was delightful!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
4.0
Dined on January 26, 2016

A table of five and we ordered different dishes to share. Waitress offered suggestions and advice. Food was excellent and fresh. Quantity was more than sufficient. Waitress was great and helpful. Overall a great experience. Restaurant and washrooms were clean and tidy.

Report
Helpful
NiC4 (Edmonton)
4.0
Dined on December 22, 2015

Being a Malaysian, I was pleasantly surprised to find another Malaysian restaurant in Edmonton. I had previously thought Tropika was the only one in the city. Though it is a bit far from where I live (university), it was nice to have some quite authentic Malaysian cuisine. Going with a large group is definitely better as you can order more things to try without it being too expensive. So that said, the prices are a little expensive but good for a once in awhile thing- especially if I'm missing home.

Report
Helpful
vipMandee (Edmonton)
4.0
Dined on December 16, 2015

My first impressions of this place has mixed feelings. I stood at the door for about five minutes when the restaurant was empty, with the exception of two tables. One lady sat by herself at the corner table, who turned out to be the server. She had made eye contact with me earlier and then look back down at her iPad. It was awkward as I stood there not knowing if I shall self seat or let these other diners look at me stand there. Finally she came over and seat me after what seemed to be too long. The rest of the evening was fine and food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
KfromP (Edmonton)
4.0
Dined on October 24, 2015

This was our first visit to East and we found the food and staff to be excellent. The server was there when we needed her but let us dine in peace - just checking the right amount regarding food quality and refills for drinks, etc.

Report
Helpful
MondayLunchout (Edmonton)
5.0
Dined on September 28, 2015

It was our first time there and we found the food, service and ambiance great. There were 10 of for lunch and some of our group were not very adventurous. We were supplied with menu's as well as a "picture menu" which was very helpful. We all work with children with Autism and found the picture menu helped us to see what every thing was on the menu and what it looked like. The portion sizes were abundant and each dish had its own unique flavor. Everyone in our group found something that they liked, even the picky ones.
We would definitely go back, but if it is a lunch hour we would pre-order so as to make it back to work on time. I'm not saying that the kitchen was slow, we just took a while to order and thus we were a little late getting back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
5.0
Dined on September 12, 2015

Odd location but phenomenal food. Definitely be back again and again.

Report
Helpful
vipABsoxfan (Edmonton)
5.0
Dined on July 21, 2015

Good food, love the server, the dishes encourage sharing. I go to East several times a year for business lunches and dinners and my guests have always been very happy. I Have taken my primary school age daughter many times as well. If your child is adventurous with food this is a great place to introduce new foods.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Malaysian, Chinese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
97 Street & 160 Ave
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 457-8833
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathin Bye
Additional
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine