Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 2.40mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 2.40mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 2.40mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 2.40mi
  3. Distance: 2.65mi
  4. Distance: 2.96mi

About Donato's Restaurant

Located in Fox Chapel, Donato’s offers the finest hand cut Beef, Veal and Chops, the Freshest Seafood brought in Daily, Flavorful Pasta and Sauces and House Made Desserts. We also feature a tailored regional wine list along with a variety of scotches, ports and dessert wines. From the first course to the last, you can expect the freshest ingredients and the most delicious offerings, all served with an attentiveness that will leave you delighted.

Stop by our lounge and try one of our signature drinks before heading to your table. Or just relax and enjoy your meal in one of our lounge’s cozy booths or our comfy bar stools.

Donato’s turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

46 Fox Chapel Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bistro, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeport Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 781-3700

Website:
http://www.donatosrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering Available

Parking Details:
Limo and Taxi services available.

Executive Chef:
Donato Coluccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Donato's turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Donato's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (8)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were excellent. I have been there many times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent preparation of arugula and salmon although the accompanying tomato based vegetable medley, though very good, didn't seem to complement the seafood. Waiter's suggestions were helpful and accurate.

I thoroughly enjoyed the Venetian artwork , but was disappointed to see a door covering one of the paintings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

3 different salads were all excellent. Eggplant parmigiana and seafood dishes were delicious. Good service, reasonably priced.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The food and service was superb. We will definitely be back again! Also, we will highly recommend Donato's to our friends & family!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

THE SERVICE WAS POOR, THE SHORT RIBS WERE A LITTLE BIGGER THAN A QUARTER, THE EGG PLANT WAS MUSH AND THE SAUCE TASTED LIKE RAGU. WE WERE EIGHT WOMAN, HAVE EATEN THERE BEFORE, BUT WILL NOT GO BACK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Celebrating a friend's moving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

So good , we are going back tonight! Even asked for the same server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Che meraviglia! I went for lunch with a friend & fell in love with Donato's ,I needed to plan a anniversary dinner & I picked Donato's , best choice I could have made. Everyone tried something different , no one needed a doggie bag but me for 1/2 my cheese cake. I finished it the next day. No way my dog was getting it. Do yourself a favor and stop one time , you will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Comfortable dining experience, server was prompt and courteous and knew the menu and offered good suggestions. Not too noisy. We had a party of six and could easily carry on a conversation across the table. Meals were hot and well prepared. Veal chop, swordfish and pasta were excellent

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great service and delicious food. We really enjoy this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our second visit and we were even more impressed than the first time. Everything from the host who greeted us and took us to our table, to our amazing waiter who remembered exactly everything we ordered, to the delicious, one of a kind food and delicious cocktails. Everything was simply amazing and we cannot wait to go back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was great service was better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great menu variety and delicious food! Sometimes service is slow, but waitstaff and hostess are very friendly and professional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Danny was superb with wine selection, knowledge, conversation and professionalism!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food and service were great. Definitely will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Everything was wonderful until we ordered dessert. From the point it was ordered, with coffee, until we paid the check, was 45 minutes. Waiting too long at the end of the meal diminished the enthusiasm for an otherwise delightful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Donato's is delightful; classy restaurant without the snooty attitude. Waiter was very professional but funny and lighthearted as we engaged Him with questions during the ordering process. Very glad we decided to try Donato's; we will return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very relaxed atmosphere. Waiter was very accommodating. We went to Donato's Restaurant using an anniversary gift certificate from our children. Further, we went with the intent of ordering our meals based off of their online menu list. However, upon arrival and seating we were informed that the menu for this particular day (Sunday) was limited or reduced from the online menu. The waiter saw that I was displeased and made every effort to accommodate my specific entree choice. He did so in a very cordial and timely manner. He also informed us that the online menu would be updated to avoid this mishap again. Please Note: This young man made sure that I received what I originally anticipated to order. Outstanding manners & willingness to appease us. Will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was outstanding...Lea was a great waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

food was average to good. we were in a back room, terrible lighting. service was the worst I have had in a long time. I had to track down waiter a few times, especially to give my credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food, and very good wines. Service was a bit slow, but overall a good experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went for our daughter's graduation from Pitt and had a wonderful meal. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Thank you to Donato's for a great evening. Everything was wonderful. From the Hosts/Reception ...to the excellent service by Leah....and the food. We both enjoyed the Halibut special very much. My friend has difficulty walking the entire staff was so very helpful in helping us get in and out. I could not be more grateful. I have to say that it was one of our nicest dining experiences in several month. Thank you...again and again and again. Your kindness is appreciated more than you know.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This has been a favorite restaurant of mine. The food is always good and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Oysters on half shell were outstanding, fresh juicy. Tomato lobster bisque also terrific.

Entrees, one salmon one beef, were good but not fabulous. Salmon dry; beef fatty. Very nice dessert. Wine menu very good and very pricey; glass of wine no longer brought out in 187.5 ml container to show it was really a full glass.

After dinner drinks included $10 choices in brandy and port, but most were very expensive. Service OK but slow getting the bill to us. Nice and nicely maintained men's and ladies rooms.

Would have preferred to have no music on the loudspeakers, noise detracted from ambience -- would not have objected to really good soft dining music, but it wasn't.

Overall, a very nice dinner but at nearly $200 should have been better. We'll probably go again, but only as a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This restaurant provides a lovely dining experience with very good food. The menu has changed for the better, with a variety of offerings. I miss the pizza bread, though!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was wonderful. Food was fantastic and the service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have always liked the look and feel of the place. It is a pleasant environment to enjoy what is consistently good food and wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Reviews where good. So we thought we would give it a try. Did not wish to go down town.

When we arrived. We where seated immediately. Good sign I thought.
Then our waiter came over. Very happy and enthusiastic person. Good sign #2, or so we thought.

The waiter forgot several things we ordered. Then when we asked another waitress to please help us. She told our waiter and I saw the look of who cares on his face. After a few minutes he did bring over our friends extra dressing. This happened with several other thing's through out the evening.

The appetizers where good. The main courses where also good. Notice I said good and not great. Definitely not the level of Capital grill or other places down town.

They where out of that nights special desert. (They where not packed so not sure how that happened.) So we got the chocolate cake and cheese cake. Very bland and tasted like a freezer.

First time in a long time we left only a 15 percent tip. It was earned I assure you.

In closing. There are much better places to eat. They will cost you a few more dollars. But you will leave much happier. So very disappointed with this place. We will not be back and will definitely will not recommend any one else to waste time and money coming here.
Go to Ruby Tuesday, the quality of food is about the same. This is a high end restaurant in name only these days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Stopped here for a business dinner. The food and drinks were excellent. The service was outstanding. I would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Calamari and salad, awesome. Lasagna, good. Gnocchi, average. Meatball, no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great meal! We were celebrating a birthday and we were made to feel special! The table was festive- decorated with confetti before we got there! The food was delicious and our server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Another great meal. This time the lasagna and eggplant parmigiana were not to disappoint. Michael, our usual server, was top notch as always. The only negative was there was a singer/guitarist playing music in the bar that carried out into the restaurant. They should try and keep that contained to the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I have been to Donato's many times. The food is great particularly since we are both vegetarian [nice choices] but would like to see more "specialty choices". Pasta gets old quickly and we can go anywhere for pasta.
I planned this last outing for his birthday and the staff could not have been any more accommodating.
We were a bit disappointed this last time, that we did not get the house appetizer or the olives and bread that is usually included.
But I know we will return, we love the atmosphere and the generosity of the wait staff.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Donato's Restaurant really lives up to it's reviews.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've been here several times and never leave disappointed. Great food and service!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I visited Donato's for the first time this Saturday on a whim. It was amazing. She had the seafood risotto, which was overflowing with lobster and shrimp. I had a 45-day dry-aged steak with truffle oil - it was one of the best steaks I've ever had. The atmosphere was great. We were seated at a high-back booth in the bar area. We were the only people in the bar when we go there (5:15pm) but by the time we left at 6:30 it was filling up fast. Noise level was fine - we were able to talk and not have to raise our voices. Special thanks to our waiter Chris, who also doubled as the bartender. He was friendly and very helpful with wine selections.

We will be back to try the rest of the menu for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was Valentine's Day and the whole evening was wonderful, the food the service, everything was spot on
My only issue would be that they had a limited menu due to Valentine's Day but other than that it was a very special dinner
We WILL return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went to Donato's for Valentines Day and had a wonderful time. Great service, great cocktails, great menu with a good combination of creative items and old favorites. Appetizers: Ahi avocado tartare was great, scallops wrapped in bacon to die for and the Caesar salad was authentic (a rare thing). I chose Elk for my entrée mostly for novelty of it and because the sides (scalloped potatoes and asparagus) are my favorite and was blown away - Elk was like filet mignon with more flavor. Excellent! My husband had salmon wrapped in prosciutto which was a great concept but too much prosciutto overwhelmed the fish and it was dry - suggest ordering rare. The only other negative was a handful of parties who came dressed extremely casually (jeans and sweatshirts and baseball caps). I don't expect suit and tie but would have liked to see people dress more in line with the quality of the food. Maybe a dress code? Overall - outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.