About Donato's Restaurant

46 Fox Chapel Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
View Larger Map

Located in Fox Chapel, Donato’s offers the finest hand cut Piedmontese Beef, Veal and Chops, the Freshest Seafood brought in Daily, Flavorful Pasta and Sauces and House Made Desserts. We also feature a tailored regional wine list along with a variety of scotches, ports and dessert wines. From the first course to the last, you can expect the freshest ingredients and the most delicious offerings, all served with an attentiveness that will leave you delighted.

Stop by our lounge and try one of our signature drinks before heading to your table. Or just relax and enjoy your meal in one of our lounge’s cozy booths or our comfy bar stools.

Donato’s turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeport Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 781-3700

Website:
http://www.donatosrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering Available

Parking Details:
Limo and Taxi services available.

Executive Chef:
Donato Coluccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Donato's turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Donato's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Donato's Restaurant really lives up to i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Donato's Restaurant really lives up to it's reviews.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here several times and never ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

We've been here several times and never leave disappointed. Great food and service!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was Valentine's Day and the whole eve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

It was Valentine's Day and the whole evening was wonderful, the food the service, everything was spot on

My only issue would be that they had a limited menu due to Valentine's Day but other than that it was a very special dinner

We WILL return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Donato's for Va ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went to Donato's for Valentines Day and had a wonderful time. Great service, great cocktails, great menu with a good combination of creative items and old favorites. Appetizers: Ahi avocado tartare was great, scallops wrapped in bacon to die for and the Caesar salad was authentic (a rare thing). I chose Elk for my entrée mostly for novelty of it and because the sides (scalloped potatoes and asparagus) are my favorite and was blown away - Elk was like filet mignon with more flavor. Excellent! My husband had salmon wrapped in prosciutto which was a great concept but too much prosciutto overwhelmed the fish and it was dry - suggest ordering rare. The only other negative was a handful of parties who came dressed extremely casually (jeans and sweatshirts and baseball caps). I don't expect suit and tie but would have liked to see people dress more in line with the quality of the food. Maybe a dress code? Overall - outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went for Valentine's Day Dinner. My wif ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day Dinner. My wife and I enjoyed our steaks and the service was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were smart and had made reservations ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were smart and had made reservations for a Saturday evening seating as the place is always busy on the weekends. The service was very attentive and the food extremely good. We never felt rushed. Portions are large and took half of mine home for a scrumptious lunch the next day.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All but one of our party thought the mea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All but one of our party thought the meal was good, but not spectacular. My elderly mother was unhappy with the quality of her filet. I thought that it was good, but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A biz colleague and I decided to enjoy a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

A biz colleague and I decided to enjoy a fine dinner at the last minute, and Donato's was just the place. We had choice seats in oversized booth (need ladder to gain access - almost) in the lounge/bar area. Matt was an excellent server & mixologist. He was attentive w/o hovering. My colleague's filet was outstanding, my NY Strip was good (not over the top). The stuffed banana peppers were very tasty, yet have a little zing to them, so careful for delicate palates. we shall return!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, drinks, atmosphere, and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food, drinks, atmosphere, and service. We prefer sitting in the bar area. Live music Friday nights. Frequently we have special requests regarding preparation or even some items not on the menu...they do all they can for us. Favorite items are the steaks, salmon, salads and shrimp appetizers.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding here. I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food is always outstanding here. I would go more if it wasn't so expensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great! Love the Crab Cakes! Would come ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great! Love the Crab Cakes! Would come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meal was delicious... filet, lobster tai ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Meal was delicious... filet, lobster tail stuffed with crab meat. Crab was very meaty, lobster tail was small for price, filet was very good. Due to it being New Years Eve, I expected an increase in price. I didn't expect $69. It was an added special so the pricing was not on the menu. Waitress was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual! We went for New Ye ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding as usual! We went for New Year's Eve and it was amazing! Great food, great and quick service, was a very enjoyable time!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaraunt and very friendly s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very nice restaraunt and very friendly staff. The service was very good, as well. The food was average. Being from out of town and dining out quite often, the evening was just not worth the final bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A great place for good food in a comfort ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A great place for good food in a comfortable setting. Staff is always attentive and accommodating. They are great at recommending wines and menu items. Well done.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fresh, flavorful. The serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was fresh, flavorful. The service was attentive but not too intrusive. Great location to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had friend in from out of town for the h ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had friend in from out of town for the holiday weekend and enjoyed the new menu for the winter season. Service and presentation was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary recently a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary recently and enjoyed a delicious dinner. Our server, Mike, is excellent. He is very attentive and personable. The menu prices have gone up a bit, but the value is still there. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. We always make a poin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience. We always make a point to go to Donato's when we come to town. It is one of our favorite restaurant's and the food is and has always been amazing. The service and staff are first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great choice for food and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a great choice for food and service! We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately, Donato's is quite incons ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Unfortunately, Donato's is quite inconsistent regarding food and service. This time the service was extraordinarily slow -- cocktails in particular -- and the place wasn't even busy. My husband and I had guests we were very embarrassed. There was no "sense of urgency" with the server. She took her time and with no apologies. When he and I ate there two or three weeks ago, the service was very attentive and the food excellent. Prior to that time the service was great, and prior to that, we experienced poor service and just okay food. We won't be returning for a long while if at all. We dine out often, and choose to patronize an eatery where we can expect quality service and food every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Strip steak was undercooked and very tou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Strip steak was undercooked and very tough. Had trouble even cutting it.

Only ate a third of it.

Wifes meal and appetizers were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food - Great service- went early on ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good food - Great service- went early on a Saturday evening for a business dinner. Was not very busy at 5 pm, so it was easy to talk and interact with each other Waitress was attentive. Food served hot. Can not complain about anything.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Entertained business clients in from Sou ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Entertained business clients in from South American and they had an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service - but not a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Good food, excellent service - but not as "special" as I had hoped. Ambience is not commensurate with the level of pricing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

very nice atmosphere for a casual busine ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

very nice atmosphere for a casual business dinner. able to have good conversation and good meal. the server Leah was impeccable, anticipating our every need.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've dined here on business many times. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I've dined here on business many times. In town for the Steelers game so I brought my wife, Daughter and her family. They loved this place as much as I do. Daughter has severe food allergies and they worked around them to please her. Will always make it a stop when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donato's is a wonderful restaurant with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Donato's is a wonderful restaurant with amazing food. You should all try it as I am sure you will love it. The wait staff is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was alright. Waiting times we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 28, 2016

everything was alright. Waiting times were long for: taking/receiving order, dessert menu, getting bill. WHole dinner took 3 hours because of all the waiting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service great food no wait comfort ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great service great food no wait comfortable booth everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the opportunity to dine twice in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had the opportunity to dine twice in the same week at Donato's. The service is slower than necessary, and the consistency of the food preparation is uneven. Several dishes were ordered, with the mussels overcooked, the risotto too undercooked, the house salads hastily prepared and served. The filet mignon's however were perfectly prepared, and the wine selections were properly served. All in all, both occasion's were satisfactory, but needed improvement for this restaurant to regain its former status of consistency which matches the prices paid by the customer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We've been going to Donato's to celebrat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We've been going to Donato's to celebrate our anniversary for the last4 years.

The food is consistently good, and the wait staff very friendly.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anniversary dinner was fantastic....my h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2016

anniversary dinner was fantastic....my husband and I were very pleased....from cocktails to dessert.....service impeccable...

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent friendly service. Was pleased ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent friendly service. Was pleased that I could order a reduced number of clams since I was the only one eating them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb Filet Mignon and outstanding shri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Superb Filet Mignon and outstanding shrimp wrapped in prosciutto appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, and outstanding food as a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great service, and outstanding food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We(5) arrived at 12:20 pm for lunch. Sea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We(5) arrived at 12:20 pm for lunch. Seated immediately . Table decorated for birthday. Lovely.

Order not taken for 45 min. Never served until approximately 1:45. Food very good. Long time for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Four women came to Donatos to celebrate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Four women came to Donatos to celebrate a friend's birthday. We had a noon reservation. There were three other occupied tables in the restaurant and at 1:00 we still were not served our salads.

I asked the hostess if there was a problem and voila, our salads appeared. Mine had bacon and had to be sent back to the kitchen. My plate reappeared when my friends were nearly finished eating!

I live nearby and was most disappointed in the service. This is not an inexpensive restaurant and we will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

One of the best meals I've had. Can't wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best meals I've had. Can't wait to go back. We were seated in the bar area and enjoyed the atmosphere there. I had one of the spaghetti dishes and really enjoyed it. My wife had a chicken dish and it was remarkable also. A gem of a restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit here, and absolutely loved i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

First visit here, and absolutely loved it. We came thinking it would be a simple Italian restaurant, but found out it's an excellent steakhouse also! The NY Strip was fantastic and perfectly prepared. Very nicely decorated and very nice waitstaff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.