Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Don Chido

Don Chido, an authentic, stylish Mexican eatery in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter. Our restaurant features a live action tortilleria, Santa Maria grill and over 100 tequilas!

527 5th Ave.
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11am - 4pm
Happy Hour: Monday Through Friday 4pm - 7pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - Close
Taco Tuesday: Tuesdays from 4pm - Close

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-8226

Website:
http://www.donchido.com/

Entertainment:
Everything from DJs spinning upbeat latin music to contemporary instrumental sets.

Parking Details:
*** Please note new updates to weekend parking on 5th Avenue ***
Parking is prohibited at all meters on 5th Avenue from L Street to Broadway from 8pm - 3am on Friday & Saturday nights.


Closest parking garage is "Park It On Market" located on 6th Avenue and Market Street. Horton Plaza also offers garage parking for the Gaslamp.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus stops

Executive Chef:
Andre Alto

Private Party Facilities:
We have the capacity to host many different types of events! Please give us a call or send an email for more information. info@donchido.com

Private Party Contact:
Emily Goldman: (619) 457-6521

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We frequently host special events, please inquire within! 619-232-8226

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Don Chido Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good fresh Mexican food. We really enjoyed ourselves. Just what everyone was craving for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was a really poor experience, service super slow and place had really expensive dishes and drinks that wasn't anywhere near worth their prices. We left $75 of margaritas that tasted too insanely sweet to drink, just bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great. Nothing better than a street taco. I would recommend the salsa sampler and the margarita flight. Delicious! It is a cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my second visit the Don Chido's although the first time was more a night time stop in for cocktails. Returning for a graduation ceremony for my fiance, we arrived as a pretty fun group of about 7 people. We immediately ordered guacamole before even ordering drinks as we arrived pretty hungry from the ceremony. The guacamole arrived quickly as did 2 orders of chips and salsa (please note chips and salsa is not complimentary here however a low price of $4 was well worth it to us). While our server was incredibly nice, we did find service to be quite slow. It took a while to get drinks to the table, for pre-bussing to occur and the time waiting to order new drinks was so long most of us just ordered one and drank elsewhere afterwards. Our meals arrived in decent time (once finally ordered) and they were very good. I love the option to order the tacos "green" - meaning they are served without tortillas, and come with lettuce cups and black beans. Since my diet is mostly protein and veggies (which the obvious chips and salsa occasional cheat) this was perfect. Don Chido's take on carne asada was interesting, large chunks of meat as opposed to the smaller chopped up meat at other taco bars. However it was well marinated and tender so I throughly enjoyed it.

Overall, everyone enjoyed our experience and I would recommend this as a neat little upscale taco bar experience in Gaslamp. Oh yeah...and the decor is very cool.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I was in town visiting friends and this was a great place to grab a bite to eat before the game at Petco! Good drinks and good food, and I was pleased with the service also. Happy hour is great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The waitress was rarely around. We had to ask multiple times for her. The food was decent, but the drinks were underwhelming. Won't be visiting again unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My husband ordered Fajitas with onions only and black. They were barely cooked when they arrived. He asked for no sides other than sour cream and cheese. He got rice that he did not want and was charged additional for the tiny cup of cheese. What a rip-off!

I ordered nachos with chicken and guacamole. My teeny cup of guacamole was on my husband's plate - not on my nachos. When we were about to leave I saw another order of nachos going to another table with a huge mound of guacamole on top. That's what I expected but did not get.

Very disappointed in the food and our server didn't even pretend to care. Won't recommend it and won't return!

We are not complainers but I felt you should know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The queso dip was delicious! We all had the taco plates, the pork shoulder special was the best, but the carne asada and veggie were a close second. Everyone loved churros! Very authentic Mexican food !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Lots of tequila options. Food very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Good service and unique Mexican food. Interesting drinks from the bar – and ambiance was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Good was good.
Service was marginal at best.
No up selling and no offer for after dinner drinks or dessert. Server just brought the check and walked away.
Costing you money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service and great tasting, reasonably priced food.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good Mexican fare, the guacamole was amazing, the tacos were as expected, great happy hour deals for both food & drink, its very casual dining so service ok, but for the location and food quality would recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service, loved every minute of our visit.
Authentic Mexican food at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good Mexican food. The atmosphere was very nice for groups celebrating or having a margarita before the game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food, spectacular service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great energy .. loved the food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

we live a few blocks away and enjoy stopping by for some great Mexican style food. The chicken bowl was excellent, chock full of chicken which is usually non existence! The salsa samples were varied, from mild to hot. The accompanying chips were fresh,crispy and light. We sampled the tacos and they were adequate but there are many more places in San Diego to try for street tacos. Great vibes and really fun for Cinco de Mayo!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Don Chido had great Mexican food and Margaritas! Conveniently located in Gaslamp Quarter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had read some very good reviews of this place in the Gaslamp District. We were expecting more of an authentic Mexican restaurant. Although the food was very good, the steak fajitas were dripping in oil ... very nicely spiced, but very high fat. My concern was the level of the music. Although young people seem fine with loud music with an even louder bass line, the bass for those of us of a certain age really destroys any ambience. All in all, we enjoyed the food, the waitstaff was attentive and gave good advice, but the music level was not for the above 50 set.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Tacos were great, margaritas were excellent! Best margaritas in town! Music was very loud, but an interesting playlist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We booked a table for 12 on Halloween weekend and they did a great job trying to accommodate us. Although, you cannot sit a party of more than 4 at a patio table (which they don't tell you on their website or on Open Table). Something about the fire marshal regulations. And if you put in any special requests during the reservation process, they only get the request the day before your reservation, and they cannot guarantee anything. The food was good. Nothing special really. And pretty pricey. I just got chicken fajitas, with no sides, tortillas or anything and it was $17 ! Great location though, right in the middle of the Gaslamp which is fabulous on a busy holiday weekend.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I've definately had better mexican food, but the service was great, drinks were also awesome. There was zero music which is a pretty big reason to dine mexican , it was pretty quiet we had to make our own atmosphere, but still enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were seated and then forgotten. Parties who arrived after us were seated and served and we had not even had someone stop by the table. I had to stand up and flag down a waiter. He apologized, and promised everything else would make up for it. Since we had plenty of time to look at the meanie, we knew what we wanted, but we wanted to enjoy our drinks and chips first. He said that was no problem..he would take the order and hold it until we were ready. So our dinner arrived 5 minutes after we got the chips and our drinks. Food was OK. He did take 50% off the first round..,of course this was during happy hour. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Go to place for Mexican food when I'm in San Diego. Authentic variety of Mexican food in gas lamp. Service is great as is food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our waiter David was curtious, attentive and informative. He made it enjoyable . Will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place, great service and great food. we enjoyed the meal very much and the service was outstanding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I love this place. I was a little bummed out that it took us so long to get our drinks ordered. Then once we did get started, everything felt rushed. Maybe it was a just fluke. The food is always amazing, wasn't able to have the churros... :(

Overall, I will keep going here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We live downtown and found the food to be almost in edible. What a poor excuse for Mexican food. Salsa tasted like Ketchup and chips tasted like cardboard, the fajitas we ordered consisted mainly of bell peppers and onions with very little Carne Asada. The Cadillac margaritas were a joke. We dine out often and have never given any other downtown restaurants such a scathing review. I guess they are catering only to the tourists who don't know any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bland food very touristy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this place! You have to try the carnitas tacos and the churros! The churros literally melt... it's amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good Mexican flavors but with a modern feel. We tried specialty margaritas made with cucumber and peach, which were excellent. Our server was attentive and polite. No fuss, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices, lively, but not excessively loud. I would visit Don Chido again and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Appetisers were very good although dinner was kind of disappointing. Would return for happy hour or appetisers, but probably not for dinner. Service was adequate but not attentive. The place is in gas lamp but was only 60% full on a Friday night during a Padre game....guess others have had the same experience as we did.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is decent....definitely not the place to go if you want real Mexican food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great Mecican food. Great Margaritas. Very good service. Excellent location and vibe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Mexican food at a good price point. Kids weren't too impressed with the chicken strips and fries (they didn't want Mexican). My Carnitas plate was good, and the drinks were good as well. But nothing leaps out as better than good. Tourist crowd mostly, and also a good watering hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was just ok. Not great. Drinks were very good. Waiter was attentive and friendly. He was a bit overloaded. Would go there again just order something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2016

While visiting San Diego on vacation we tried Don Chido for the first time and absolutely loved it. Being a native So Cal girl living on the East Coast, I miss good Mexican food and this place hit the spot! I went with my husband and 11 year old son. Everyone loved what they ordered and the salsa sampler was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first time here after hearing so many great things from my friends. I had a large margarita and the street tacos. We sat in a cute booth and were served by a really bubbly and friendly waitress. There was live music...they were good! Overall I enjoyed my date night and would love to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.