Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Don Chido

Don Chido, an authentic, stylish Mexican eatery in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter. Our restaurant features a live action tortilleria, Santa Maria grill and over 100 tequilas!

527 5th Ave.
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11am - 4pm
Happy Hour: Monday Through Friday 4pm - 7pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - Close
Taco Tuesday: Tuesdays from 4pm - Close

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-8226

Website:
http://www.donchido.com/

Entertainment:
Everything from DJs spinning upbeat latin music to contemporary instrumental sets.

Parking Details:
*** Please note new updates to weekend parking on 5th Avenue ***
Parking is prohibited at all meters on 5th Avenue from L Street to Broadway from 8pm - 3am on Friday & Saturday nights.


Closest parking garage is "Park It On Market" located on 6th Avenue and Market Street. Horton Plaza also offers garage parking for the Gaslamp.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus stops

Executive Chef:
Andre Alto

Private Party Facilities:
We have the capacity to host many different types of events! Please give us a call or send an email for more information. info@donchido.com

Private Party Contact:
Emily Goldman: (619) 457-6521

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We frequently host special events, please inquire within! 619-232-8226

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Don Chido Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (5)
See All
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome view, great for people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Had a great time here. They were able to accommodate 10 people well. Friendly staff, great food and awesome margaritas. Would definitely recommend and go again!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Went to Don Chido while on vacation in San Diego. Was looking for authentic mexican in the Gaslamp District and made a reservation in advance. I don't have any particular complaints, the experience was just nothing above the ordinary. Food was fine but nothing exceptional. I imagine there are better mexican restaurants in San Diego, and therefore would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Waitress shamelessly upselled our table telling us to order way too many appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Allowed our chocolate lab on the outside patio!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(exclamation points due to minimum character length bs)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Horrible, the only eatable thing was the guacamole and chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Staff were amazing; very friendly and informative, I learned more about tequila in one dinner than ever before. They are passionate about Mexican culture and deliver huge portions of fabulous Mexican options!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tapas, People Watching, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I made a reservation at Don Chido's for 8 people after trying to go another restaurant with a long wait. There weren't a lot of people in the restaurant so we sat right away. The drink menu was decent; the margaritas were large and inexpensive (and tasted good). The food was cheap especially considering the location of the restaurant (in the Gaslamp district). The tacos were good but make sure you like spicy food. The tacos, rice, beans, and guacamole were all spicy. Overall good restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food is good and staff is friendly. Service is incredibly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Best shrimp tostado ! Awesome fajitas! Got to go. Staff was very helpful and great to deal with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service, food and drinks were all fantastic! I mean, really really great service!!

The only question if you are the owner/manager: do you want to be know as the place where young ladies come to do a shot off the bartender's bare stomach, while he's lying on the bar? (At least he wiped it off after.)

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Found this restaurant on Open Table based on availability for my group of 12. Many restaurants could not offer such a large reservation even though it was two weeks prior. So glad I found it though! Food was soooo good, great service, food came out quick!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good food not great. I have had the same meal at any number of Mexican restaurants. Service was a little slow but he was busy. Good place for casual Amerexican food. If you want authentic Mexican I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Delicious and fun meal! We had the street tacos (steak, carnitas, and chicken) and the fajitas (both steak and chicken) and they were all delicious! The fajitas were our favorite. We sat on the outside patio and it is a great location for people watching.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My favorite Mexican in San Diego! Such a good environment and absolutely AMAZING food

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Nice service, however the food was not good at all. It was very basic and very touristic, did not taste good if I compare to other Mexican dinners during this vacation in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I don't usually leave food reviews, but this place earned one!

Hands down the best chicken enchiladas I've ever had. I'm no stranger to authentic Mexican food either. The fajitas were very flavorful, as they should be.

The margaritas are amazing. Go with a flavored one first, then try an original. They aren't light on the pours so be careful!

Service was very good. They brought the food out fast, so if you're trying to relax a bit, then make sure you tell them before ordering.

One would have to be a fool not to check this place out.
Bravo Don Chido's!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Unfortunately was late for reservation but found seats at Bar and never took table - great bar, terrific margaritas, outstanding food - will head back and shoot for table outdoors next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very good food. Great location...close to Horton Grande.

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Very good fresh Mexican food. We really enjoyed ourselves. Just what everyone was craving for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was a really poor experience, service super slow and place had really expensive dishes and drinks that wasn't anywhere near worth their prices. We left $75 of margaritas that tasted too insanely sweet to drink, just bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was great. Nothing better than a street taco. I would recommend the salsa sampler and the margarita flight. Delicious! It is a cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my second visit the Don Chido's although the first time was more a night time stop in for cocktails. Returning for a graduation ceremony for my fiance, we arrived as a pretty fun group of about 7 people. We immediately ordered guacamole before even ordering drinks as we arrived pretty hungry from the ceremony. The guacamole arrived quickly as did 2 orders of chips and salsa (please note chips and salsa is not complimentary here however a low price of $4 was well worth it to us). While our server was incredibly nice, we did find service to be quite slow. It took a while to get drinks to the table, for pre-bussing to occur and the time waiting to order new drinks was so long most of us just ordered one and drank elsewhere afterwards. Our meals arrived in decent time (once finally ordered) and they were very good. I love the option to order the tacos "green" - meaning they are served without tortillas, and come with lettuce cups and black beans. Since my diet is mostly protein and veggies (which the obvious chips and salsa occasional cheat) this was perfect. Don Chido's take on carne asada was interesting, large chunks of meat as opposed to the smaller chopped up meat at other taco bars. However it was well marinated and tender so I throughly enjoyed it.

Overall, everyone enjoyed our experience and I would recommend this as a neat little upscale taco bar experience in Gaslamp. Oh yeah...and the decor is very cool.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I was in town visiting friends and this was a great place to grab a bite to eat before the game at Petco! Good drinks and good food, and I was pleased with the service also. Happy hour is great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The waitress was rarely around. We had to ask multiple times for her. The food was decent, but the drinks were underwhelming. Won't be visiting again unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband ordered Fajitas with onions only and black. They were barely cooked when they arrived. He asked for no sides other than sour cream and cheese. He got rice that he did not want and was charged additional for the tiny cup of cheese. What a rip-off!

I ordered nachos with chicken and guacamole. My teeny cup of guacamole was on my husband's plate - not on my nachos. When we were about to leave I saw another order of nachos going to another table with a huge mound of guacamole on top. That's what I expected but did not get.

Very disappointed in the food and our server didn't even pretend to care. Won't recommend it and won't return!

We are not complainers but I felt you should know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The queso dip was delicious! We all had the taco plates, the pork shoulder special was the best, but the carne asada and veggie were a close second. Everyone loved churros! Very authentic Mexican food !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Lots of tequila options. Food very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good service and unique Mexican food. Interesting drinks from the bar – and ambiance was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good was good.
Service was marginal at best.
No up selling and no offer for after dinner drinks or dessert. Server just brought the check and walked away.
Costing you money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent service and great tasting, reasonably priced food.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good Mexican fare, the guacamole was amazing, the tacos were as expected, great happy hour deals for both food & drink, its very casual dining so service ok, but for the location and food quality would recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service, loved every minute of our visit.
Authentic Mexican food at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good Mexican food. The atmosphere was very nice for groups celebrating or having a margarita before the game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing food, spectacular service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great energy .. loved the food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

we live a few blocks away and enjoy stopping by for some great Mexican style food. The chicken bowl was excellent, chock full of chicken which is usually non existence! The salsa samples were varied, from mild to hot. The accompanying chips were fresh,crispy and light. We sampled the tacos and they were adequate but there are many more places in San Diego to try for street tacos. Great vibes and really fun for Cinco de Mayo!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Don Chido had great Mexican food and Margaritas! Conveniently located in Gaslamp Quarter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had read some very good reviews of this place in the Gaslamp District. We were expecting more of an authentic Mexican restaurant. Although the food was very good, the steak fajitas were dripping in oil ... very nicely spiced, but very high fat. My concern was the level of the music. Although young people seem fine with loud music with an even louder bass line, the bass for those of us of a certain age really destroys any ambience. All in all, we enjoyed the food, the waitstaff was attentive and gave good advice, but the music level was not for the above 50 set.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Tacos were great, margaritas were excellent! Best margaritas in town! Music was very loud, but an interesting playlist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.