About Domenica

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (115)
Good for a Date (108)
Creative Cuisine (97)
See All
Special Occasion (77)
Casual (73)
Pre/post Theatre (67)
Modern Decor (65)
Good for Groups (65)
Wood Oven (63)
Fun (59)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Hot Spot (56)
Business Meals (54)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Happy Hour (51)
Great for Lunch (48)
People Watching (48)
Authentic (41)
Romantic (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Family Style (20)
Quick Bite (17)
Healthy (17)
Cozy (17)
Great Beer (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Tapas (13)
Seasonal (12)
Historic (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Scenic View (7)
Spicy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Domenicas has squid ink pasta with crab, which is the reason we dined there. It was delicious. Service was terrific. We also tried the veal meatball appetizers and they were likewise delicious. The only thing that would have made it better is the price. The pasta had a fairly scanty portion of crab and there were 3 meatballs for 16$. That was a bit much. Overall, I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time at Domenica! The food was fantastic and not too pricey. We had reservations for a group of 9 a large group, but ended up expanding to 12 at the last minute. The waitresses accommodated us without skipping a beat.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our final dinner of a 5 day trip to NOLA. The food and service were outstanding.
It was a great way to wrap up our trip. The clam pizza is the best we've ever had and we've had many at several of the nation's renown pizza kitchens. OUr waiter was awesome and as so accommodating with our small children.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

We went during happy hour, so the beers were $2-$3 which was awesome.

The ambience was nice and quiet around 2 o'clock. We were sat by the front door. The blonde hostess would sigh when a guest entering would ask to sit in a certain area (I noticed because we were sat so close). Our waitress was attentive and she kept our drinks both beers and water filled.

The only bad thing was the margheritta pizza. The sigh used is airy and tasty. However, what little topping there was on the pizza was lack luster at best. The lite drizzle of sauce that did exist on the pizza tasted similar to canned spaghetti O's sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

The antipasto and pizza was incredible. Antipasto had a large diversity of meat, cheese, and accompaniments. The pizza is a simple, but a masterfully executed woodfire oven pizza- good crunch and soft thin dough. The hazelnut pudding was also outstanding and portioned just right for a light after dinner treat.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service! Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excelent! Try the Burrata and for dessert the chocolate pudding is delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

We dined atr Domenica before going to hear the LPO at the Orpheum. Once we explained our plan, the service was great - despite the fact that the restaurant was very busy, the waiter made sure our food arrived promptly. It was delicious, and the perfect meal before the concert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

We tried a lot of things on the menu. The arincini, the cauliflower, the bread. My 14yr old loved the Squid Ink pasta and made all of us try it. It was delicious. Do not be afraid! We also had the whole fish and was just as outstanding. The lasagna was average. Could have used more sauce as it was on the dry side. Service was great and quick. 4 different desserts and all excellent. Look forward to going back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

BEST HAPPY HOUR IN NEW ORLEANS. Half off Pizza and Half off Wine!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Great afternoon happy hour. Pizza, beer, and glasses of wine are half off.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service was a very poor, although appeared to be just our waiter that clearly did not want to be at work that day as the other tables around us seemed to have great service. The food was good, but nothing to brag about. Would have expected more from a James Beard award winner. The bread small plate tastes burnt on the crust. Was also disapppinted when I was asked if I wanted a refill on my club soda and was charged for 2. Not a "refill" by definition.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We stayed at The Roosevelt while in New Orleans Dominica was highly recommended by the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals . . . my companion loved her pizza and I had a roasted sea trout which was well prepared and very good.
The waiter seemed as if he didn't really want to be there that night, but he did a fair job of taking care of us.
I would recommend it especially for the pizza

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Did not disappoint !!! Our daughter's Tulane graduation and Had pre celebration dinner. Our server Christine was awesome!! Food delicious!!! Loved the roasted cauliflower , kale was amazing ...pastas delicious!!!! Would return in a heartbeat! Set in the Roosevelt Hotel which is just lovely!! It was on our Nola bucket list and only wish is that we had tried it sooner and more often !!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was amazing and the staff was even better. Not suprising considering the owner and the chef.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

One of our favorites although this time our server was not good at all. Very impersonal and unfriendly

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I really liked Domenica. Great food and drink and friendly service. My only complaint is that the pizza arrived lukewarm instead of piping hot. But otherwise I had a good experience there. Reservations highly recommended for dinner-the place was full by 6 pm the night I went.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My husband and I saw Domenica on Food Network and were pleased to find it was in walking distance from our hotel. Out meal was great, you could tell the ingredients were fresh. The only complaint we have was the size of the dessert. For $10, we expected more.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My wife and I dined there on our last night of our mini vacation in New Orleans. If you are going to stay at the Roosevelt Hotel, then you owe it to yourself to dine at Domenica. My wife had a bowl of the Mushroom soup which featured several types plus black truffles and the roasted broccoli. I enjoyed the Gulf Snapper cooked in salt cured olives, tomatoes and chilies. We shared a lemon cheesecake for dessert that was wonderful as well. Service was very good and If you like Italian cuisine, then you may want to go there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Spectacular!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for a late lunch on Mother's Day. Happy Hour is a great deal! Food and service were great!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

2 words.....roasted cauliflower. If you don't get it, you are missing out. Took wife for Mother's Day and will definitely be back. Food was excellent and atmosphere and service were even better. Heard about how good the pizza was, but couldn't order pizza on a first visit, absolutely will next time after seeing and smelling it. We enjoyed the short ribs and snapper and will keep going back until I finish the dessert menu. The banana dish topped it all off and was the perfect ending to the perfect meal. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Quick service, get you going. Laid back atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been going to Domenica since its opening. Two years ago we moved to the Gulf Coast so we do not get there as often as when we lived in New Orleans. The food and service is excellent. Our server, Solina, was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Our go-to appetizer is the roasted cauliflower and our dessert of choice is the Tiramisu. We try other entrees to go with our meal. The restaurant is immaculate and was filled with a wide variety of customers of all ages, including young children, families, couples and groups of friends. You just feel good while dining and ever better afterwards. Domenica just has a good feeling about it with exceptional food. Congratulations to Chef Alon, Chef Ann and the entire staff!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was good except waiter appeared to not be very happy to be at work. Poor attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Saturday lunch before matinee performance at theater. Very Good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great pizza! The c

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely incredible asparagus pizza and the roasted cauliflower was an entire head. I'm not sure how they did it but it was amazing.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Wood Oven, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food is always great and service is quick and efficient. The salumi and formaggi plate was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great friendly service Food was amazing

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Beautiful ambience and amazing food! Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Super chic and welcoming all at once. You have to try the kale chips-- unreal!! My husband and I ate at Shaya the previous night before Domenica-- both MUSTS if you are traveling to New Orleans and care about food/ art. Prepare to have your mind blown! This chef duo is possibly the most formidable in the world!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I ordered the Gulf Shrimp Pasta and it was so very greasy there was so much oil on the pasta and in the bottom. My wife ordered the Lasagna and the oil/grease were puddled on top and all throughout. She asked the waiter if the Lasagna was normally this oiling and he stated yes. The food was so disappointing. I will not be returning nor recommend to my friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Another great pre theater meal and drinks in an inviting atmosphere. Look forward to next play to be back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I loved this place so much that I enjoyed two meals while in NOLA on a three-day vacation. In a city known for great food, this place is a standout. We sampled eight different items over the course of the two meals, each one could not have been improved upon. This is a must for anyone visiting New Orleans.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Modern Decor, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had the margarita pizza and it was delicious. Also had bread and butter that was ok. The sourdough bread was nice but it was baked a little too much. The pizza was amazing though. The service was ok. He boxed my pizza but never gave it to me :(. Also did not fill my drinks during lunch hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good overall. Squid ink pasta with crab was excellent. Clam pizza was good but perhaps not the best option (had tastier pizza's locally in Charleston at Obstinate Daughter.) Tiramisu dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My work as a travel writer and foodie podcaster has taken me to many amazing places. I consider Domenica's John Besh's mushroom soup to be second only to Osteria di Passignano's soup in Tuscany, Italy. I wish I could both in LA, but, Alas! Only when I travel. See you next Jazz Fest, Domenica!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

THIS PLACE IS AMAZING TEN THUMBS UP

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing from start to finish!! The food is outstanding. The service was spot on. Loved the cauliflower, pasta, and drinks.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Amazing and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.