About Domenica

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Creative Cuisine (81)
See All
Special Occasion (74)
Modern Decor (63)
Pre/post Theatre (63)
Fun (60)
Casual (55)
Great for Lunch (52)
Happy Hour (52)
Good for Groups (50)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Wood Oven (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Business Meals (43)
Hot Spot (43)
Authentic (43)
People Watching (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Comfort Food (34)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Cozy (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Tapas (17)
Family Style (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (10)
Historic (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Scenic View (6)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very mediocre experience. The hostess wa ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Very mediocre experience. The hostess was bordering on rude, told us to wait though restaurant was three quarters empty (9:30 pm). The other hostess stepped in and got us a table. The waitress was snickering at our questions and demonstratively looked shocked when she assumed we did not know how famous and much-awarded the restaurant was. (We knew). The pizza was barely edible, with a soggy crust. The cauliflower was very good, but just that (at $18). All and all, much hype and a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Waited around 30 minutes to be served af ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Waited around 30 minutes to be served after being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Over rated, over priced, and over/under ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Over rated, over priced, and over/under cooked food. Waiter was distracted and inattentive. Took 20 minutes for our cocktails to arrive. Pizza dough was raw in center. Whole fish was over cooked and dry. Expected much better since Shaya the day before was one of the best meals we ever had. Too many great places in NOLA to waste your time here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Domenica lived up to my expectations. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Domenica lived up to my expectations.

We split everything and ate - lamb meatballs, burrata toast, arancini and a roasted head of cauliflower that we had to cut with a knife, and a fried tuscan kale which was amazing and light and crispy and citrusy. We were amazed.

We were enjoying all of the appetizers so much, we almost forgot we had pasta entrees coming.

We shared the squid ink tagliolini with crab, spaghetti with the pistachio pesto and the bucatini with shrimp and fried oysters which was quickly our favorite.

Dessert was the Gianduja Budino- a chocolate pot de creme with delightful hazelnuts on top. We were greeted with some chocolate espresso cookies before leaving which were dense, dark and delicious.

I will absolutely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting and very different selection ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting and very different selection of food items on menu-mostly on healthy side. Was disappointed and wondered what the hype about the restaurant was. Not one of my special Nola dining experiences.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food is always good. Very loud, so s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always good. Very loud, so sometimes very hard to talk. Service is good, but food comes out very slow. sometimes you are no longer hungry by the time you finally get your main course. Takes at least 2 hours....

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday dinner for my wife. Food was gr ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

Birthday dinner for my wife. Food was great and service was incredible. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Intended to eat and then watch Krewe De ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Intended to eat and then watch Krewe De Vieux after dinner. Seated at 8:30pm and the parade was there within minutes(I timed it wrong). Luckily we had a window table and was able to eat and watch the parade at the same time. The night turned out better than we had hoped for. Food and staff was great as well.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high expectations for my visit. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had high expectations for my visit. The food was fine, but not outstanding. My greater concern was the lackluster service....seemed rushed, and distracted. Didn't make much effort to check back with us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took forever. The waiter was not at all ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Took forever. The waiter was not at all attentive. Ordered food early because we were going to a concert. Table wasn't ready despite reservations, too. Slow with drinks. Forgot our coffee. Had to ask other servers for our waiter. Food was awesome as always.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

What a delightful find! Fantastic menu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

What a delightful find! Fantastic menu with a good selection of pizza, handmade pasta, and other unique Italian dishes.

We enjoyed our meals and the friendly service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had pizza, lamb meatballs & polenta, ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had pizza, lamb meatballs & polenta, and the risotto. Phenomenal!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was well done. Excellent serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Everything was well done. Excellent service, excellent food. Tables spaced where no one was on top of one another. Beautiful decor. Time was given between courses. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is good, attached to the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The atmosphere is good, attached to the gorgeous Roosevelt Hotel, - make sure you walk around before or after. We were not starving - so we got a starter (some kind of pasta and sausage- good but not great) and pizza - VERY good- large enough for the hubby to east most of it, and to share 2 pieces. Wine is a little expensive - 1 glass of wine was almost the cost of the pizza . The pizza is the star here - good and a great price - everything else is expensive .

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediocre for higher end Italian. Service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Mediocre for higher end Italian. Service and service recovery exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food at this visit but not to their ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food at this visit but not to their previous level. Did not meet my expectations from previous visits

Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved it, again. Domenica is wonderf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved it, again. Domenica is wonderful. Inventive and tasty pizza. Great appetizers and great beer options. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food with homemade pasta and c ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fantastic food with homemade pasta and cured meats. Truly very much like eating in Italia! In fact, there was an Italian family eating behind us who loved it as well! Service was friendly and attentive. Parking was pretty easy with free meters on street nearby after 7pm on a weekday evening. Would be more challenging I'm sure on weekend or busy tourist time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best lasagna I've ever had in my entire ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Best lasagna I've ever had in my entire life. Cocktails were fresh and fun. Service was incredible. Definitely a go-to spot in the city for any occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb pizza; creative dishes, adventuro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Superb pizza; creative dishes, adventurous wine list

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the fried kale, Service was great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Loved the fried kale, Service was great. Second time I've been dined there in the past two weeks; May go again next week.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Kitchen was very slow. Wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was good. Kitchen was very slow. Was surprised to see this at a high end place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Using an Opentable gift card should not ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Using an Opentable gift card should not be so difficult. It took over 30 minutes!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first time at Domenica (won't be our ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our first time at Domenica (won't be our last). Although our dining time was about two hours, our waiter was attentive and good with suggestions. Evidently, we were behind a large group order, so we visited - no worries. The best food of the evening was the Lasagne - fantastic taste, enormous portions. definitely a must try. The Berkshire pork chop is really well seasoned and presented. Wine choices were good. Arancini was good but a surprise filled with cheese. And finally the Squid Ink Tagliolini was interesting, but nothing could have beat the Lasagne.

All in all a wonderful evening in NOLA.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The price of bottle wine is way over pri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The price of bottle wine is way over priced based on a $15.00 pizza. The cheapest bottle is over $60.. They need to provide a couple in the $30.00 range.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My favorite meal while visiting New Orle ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My favorite meal while visiting New Orleans! The best lasagna ever! It's a must!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our time at Domenica, but I w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed our time at Domenica, but I would not return for three reasons.

1 - There were not enough vegan options.

2 - The ambiance was nice, but not what I want when visiting NOLA.

3 - The prices were overrated for the size of the food (except the pizza, which was a good value).

Our waitress was fantastic though!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Delicious food, quick service, great dri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious food, quick service, great drinks. 5 stars, no doubt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a great meal. Our waiter told ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wow! What a great meal. Our waiter told us the lasagna was ranked as the number one lasagna in the country. I haven't had the number two lasagna but the lasagna at Domenica certainty tasted like the number one in the country. It was incredible. We also had their bread and fried kale apps. Also very good. Our water Todd was great he helped in app, wine and meal selections. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that asks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent from the moment we ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door. Portions large. Food very tasty. Various menu items for all price ranges.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great drink called a spritz! Loved the c ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great drink called a spritz! Loved the cauliflower appetizer with whipped feta! Excellent squid ink pasta with lump crap meat and to end this wonderful dining experience affogato for dessert! Mic drop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service...a gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service...a great find !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Domenica does not disappoint! My friend ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Domenica does not disappoint! My friend visited last year and we enjoyed Domenica and our server Christine so much that we returned when she came back into town again. We were lucky enough to have Christine as our server again, and she is fabulous! Thank you for another memorable dining experience at the Roosevelt! :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lasagna I've ever had in my entire ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best lasagna I've ever had in my entire life. It was a little loud, but it was also located in a beautiful hotel that I recommend walking through.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We wanted a great alternative to traditi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We wanted a great alternative to traditional New Orleans food and we found it at Domenica. We love Italian food and were very satisfied with our choices at Domenica. Great food and Selena took very good care of us. We would definitely return to Domenica on our next visit to New Orleans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were in New Orleans for 8 days, and a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We were in New Orleans for 8 days, and ate at Domenica 3 times...Twice for dinner and once for dessert. 5 times if you count leftovers. The lasagna is wonderful, and our favorite is the Fried Kale, and Beet Salad.

Yum! I will go back to NOLA, for this restaurant alone.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner with my daughter before Lion ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had dinner with my daughter before Lion King. Food was delicious - had the Carne pizza . So yummy. King Cake for dessert - not traditional king cake but delicious. Our waiter was attentive enough but not very impressive. Didn't offer any specials or point out any apps (overheard a waitress telling her table about some delicious sounding cauliflower app). The menu is pretty much in italian so if you don't know what you are looking for, you may miss it. Would still go back, would still recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Meh. Used to be so much better,& a place ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Meh. Used to be so much better,& a place we dined at every few months at least. In the past couple of years,menu has been scaled way down,bread service vanished altogether. Nothing special,& there are many places better to dine for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.