About Domenica

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Casual (42)
Special Occasion (42)
Fun (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Business Meals (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Hot Spot (33)
Happy Hour (31)
Comfort Food (31)
Authentic (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
People Watching (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Quick Bite (11)
Cozy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tapas (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

Great happy hour. The pizza is amazing. We liked both that we tried.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Got the meat and cheese platter; not as good expected, nor was the pizza. Not that both were not good -- just for a place of this caliber and reputation, I expected more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as always! Start with the meat and cheese plate, follow with fried Kale and cauliflower, split a pasta.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very average. We went pre show at Orpheuum theatre due to location. There are many other Italian restaurants nearby with better food and a more creative menu.
Underwhelmed

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Domenica has one of the best happy hours in NOLA. We always enjoy the handcrafted, thin crust pizzas and delicious adult beverages to pair with the pizzas. As usual, the service was top notch. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter never told us the specials until after we studied the menu and ordered, we all changed our order! The fish was delicious, a whole bronzino, but nothing else on the plate! Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

We prdered the scorched cauliflowr as a starter. Werent warned this would feed 4 so it was an expensive mistake. Pur pastas were stodgy, probably left too long before serving so congealed. All in all expensive for the offering

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was loud but that worked out great since we had 1,5,9,& 12 year olds in our group. It would be hard to talk otherwise. Great food and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Better than expected Quite surprised and highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

The food at Domenica was great, lots of gluten free options. Drinks were really good as well. Very quiet place.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Good ideas badly implemented by the chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This was the first stop on our self-guided happy hour crawl. It was, by far, the best food and the best value.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Must have the lasagna. Voted the best restaurant meal in America by Travel and Leisure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Calabrese pizza was very good but left in the oven about 45 seconds too long or possibly they forgot to rotate it during cooking. One area of crust was burnt black but only about 1 slice worth of crust was inedible. It was otherwise a perfect pie. Fried Kale appetizer was delicious. Server was attentive and courteous. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Service was very good but the food was just ok. It may have been a better experience if our table wasn't just a few feet from the door to the street.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were here for a pre-wedding family dinner. The restaurant was very accommodating with our seating needs, friendly and didn’t rush us through the meal. We shared appetizers and entrees-all were delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2017

They place was busy, mostly with our party but he staff and kitchen did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2017

As a patron for the past 7 years, I am thrilled that the complimentary bread and oil are back!!! I was disappointed when it became no longer "a thing." Good move! Having that warm, fresh bread to munch on while I sipped my wine waiting for pizza was part of the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is one of John Besh's restaurants but not one of his better ones - strictly Italian. We both had pasta for lunch - mine with rabbit and mushrooms in a creamy tomato sauce and my husband had a pesto dish. Rather small portions and teeny tiny pieces of rabbit I had to hunt and peck to find. The size would make sense if you were having a main entrée after but we don't eat that much and that would have added up to a very expensive lunch. This was definitely not an "August" experience like we had the evening before. Maybe the pizzas might have been a better choice for lunch. It seems to be in a nether world part way between down home Italian and upscale authentic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I love this restaurant. In the historic Roosevelt Hotel. Great Italian offerings, fantastic pizza, good wine and our waiter handled our table of 10 with prompt service, good recommendations and attention to detail. Good for a table of two or a larger group.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Delightful. Everything the reviews promised. Attentive service.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I should have known better to eat italian in new orleans. The pasta was bad the cheese an plate was not authentic. Will not return enjoy all the other besh restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I’m from Chicago and admittedly picky about Italian food. But this was not good. The pizza had hardly any cheese. I know it’s wood fired but still!!
The service was slow and uninformed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere. Clean and welcoming. Food was outstanding, and the service was attentive. Fine dining experience for my husband and I. You will definitely enjoy!

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

the whole experience was amazing, we will be back to try other items on the menu!.. Food was sooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I had been to Domenica before for a work dinner while I was in town for aconference and it was outstanding. However , I recently got married in New Orleans and was looking for to going to Domenica with my new husband to enjoy one last meal in the city. The ambiance and food were wonderful, however the service was not. We got our appetizers (2) fairly quickly but did not see our entrees until an hr and 1/2 later. We only saw our server 3 times the whole 2 hours we were there, he seemed very unenthusiastic about the restaurant and reluctant to even provide us with recommendations.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had made reservations for Domenica for a pre-concert dinner on Sunday. The Orpheum is right across the street and this is the most convenient location for parking, grabbing something to eat, and then go to the concert. We enjoyed the Prosciutto pizza, a great salad, and the roasted cauliflower was fantastic. Handcrafted cocktails and wine made for a perfect pre-show meal. Then we crossed the street and listened to The TajMo (Taj Mahal & Keb Mo) Band. What a fantastic night!

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We asked for a suggested menu with wines paired and it was outstanding. Thank you Justin for your knowledge and attentive service and the entire staff for making us so welcome. Val you rock!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Overrated
I am from the NY metro area
Food was simply pedestrian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Convenient location. Always good service. The other roasted cauliflower is my favorite and consistently good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Another amazing Besh restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2017

A great place for pizza & a fun place to be at. A great vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 19, 2017

One of our favorite Happy Hour places when we are in New Orleans. Great pizza, drinks and atmosphere. This time our waiter, Christian, went out of his way to help us with a pair of pliers for credit card stuck in a parking meter! 👍👍

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 18, 2017

My partner and I love August and it is THE place we are going to be booking any time we go to NOLA. On this trip we got it into our heads to try some other Besh properties to see if they are all as magical as August. Sadly, they are not. Don't get me wrong, Domenica is above average. If it was near our home it might become a regular haunt, it is only in comparison to August that it suffers. We tried the zucca pizza, roasted cauliflower, fried Tuscan kale, crespelle, and corn agnolotti. The crespelle were a nearly complete failure, from the overwhelming taste of smoke to being the wrong temperature. Both the agnolotti and cauliflower were well prepared and perfectly acceptable. As white pizzas go, the zucca is hard to beat, crust to balanced flavors, this is a winner and highly recommended. But the fried Tuscan kale? SO moreish that I am craving it as I am writing this. Truly, if I am in the area again and it is still on the menu, that is the one thing I can promise you I will eat again.
Probably the best time to visit is between 1400-1700 (happy hour) on a Tuesday (the day their deliveries occur) as this will let you drink and have a superb pizza at perfectly reasonable prices.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2017

There were several vegetarian options. All the food we got was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Enjoyedi our meal. Waistress was especially helpful with our vegan choices. A little load but still enjoyable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Waitress was not very friendly. Every time we asked for something she seemed put out, and all we asked for was bread and Parmesan for our dishes. The meal itself was ok, but not great. The service really turned us off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

When a food runner brought our food to the table, half of the pizza slid off the plate and onto the table. The food runner used his hands to slide the slices back onto the plate and asked if it was okay after he had done so. That's not a question I expect to be asked. The rest of our food (especially the rigatoni and eggplant contorni) was very oily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Arrived at 7:05 for a 7:15 reservation nicely dressed as we always do when going to a nice place. We waited at the standing room only crowded bar. At 7:25 we are told our table is ready. Followed the hostess to the table only to find it was not set and still had dirty dishes on it. We just smiled, going with the flow. As the hostess stood there looking confused, I could not help but notice that right there next to it was another table that was already set and ready. I said to the hostess that maybe it was supposed to be that table as I pointed to the table that was already set. Her reply was to laugh and say "oh no that table is reserved for VIPs" and proceeded to lead us back to the front of the restaurant to wait again for our table to be ready. Okay, I get it, you have VIP's and we are not them. But you don't TELL that to the customers. A simple, "I'm sorry, that table is reserved already" would have sufficed and been FAR more appropriate. It never ceases to amaze me that some hostesses and maitre d's who make only a small percentage of what we make can sometimes take on an air of superiority. It's almost comical. We had pizza. It was good. Very authentic similar to what we ate in Italy. Unfortunate that we couldn't enjoy it as much as we might have had we not been made to feel like uninvited guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.