Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Domaine Hudson

Described as “one of Delaware's premier destinations for truly appreciating and understanding the dynamics of upscale food and wine” by The News Journal food critic, Domaine Hudson was awarded 3.5 stars (of 4) and recognized as "Closer to Perfection", and has consistently been providing a place for great wine and food since November 2005. Delaware’s first true wine bar, they offer almost 40 wines to taste in 1½, 3 & 5-oz pours. The award winning wines by the bottle list features a broad array of about 450 old and new world wines & 90+ craft beers. Frequently changing menu items allow the chefs to be creative and focus on quality ingredients. Small plate options, provide a perfect opportunity for wine pairing, or guests can simply choose from full size entrees. Whether you are an experienced oenophile or just want to enjoy some great wine/beer, the servers, who all have a knowledge of what they are pouring, can guide you through a memorable dining experience in an inviting atmosphere.

1314 N Washington Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Tuesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Wednesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Thursday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Friday: 5:00 11:00 pm
Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00 pm
Sunday: CLOSED - Available Private Event

Cross Street:
Between 13th & 14th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 655-9463

Website:
http://www.domainehudson.com/

Catering:
Domaine Hudson will cater intimate home dinners, weddings, parties, business dinners and fundraisers for up to 100 guests off site.

Parking Details:
Metered parking in front of the restaurant. Free off-street parking is available after 5 pm in the Christiana Care Annex private parking lot 1/2 block from restaurant. To access the lot, the entrance is at 14th & Washington, immediately before the Washington St. Bridge. From the lot, walk south on Washington Street (toward downtown) about 1/2 block; restaurant is on the left. View a map and directions on our website at http://domainehudson.com/parking.html

Public Transit:
2, 11, 12, 35

Executive Chef:
Dwain Kalup

Private Party Facilities:
Domaine Hudson is the premiere choice for private dining in Wilmington, Delaware. We work with you to custom-tailor a flawless experience for your party, anniversary, wedding celebration, wine tasting, networking event, or business meeting. Your guests will thoroughly enjoy the seasonal cuisine of our culinary team and selections from our award-winning wine list, which OpenTable named one of the top 50 in the U.S.
Our newly renovated dining rooms accommodate private parties from 7 to 70 people, and our state-of-the-art sound system ensures your guests won’t miss a word (or a beat).

Please call or send an email message (bethross@domainehudson.com) to discuss your event and book your room at the best Wilmington, Delaware restaurant.

Catering:
Alternatively, let Domaine Hudson come to you. From gallery openings, social gatherings, and galas to corporate lunches, dinners, and events, Domaine Hudson ensures an effortless, impressive affair.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Ross: (302) 655-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Information on monthly wine dinners and tastings can be found at www.domainehudson.com.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Make a Father's Day memory. Bring dad for dinner. We will offer our regular menu plus Father's Day specials. Open Sunday 4p-8p.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Domaine Hudson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Business Meals (11)
Private Room (11)
Seasonal (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 5 days ago

We love this restaurant. The food is excellent, great wine selection, and the service is very attentive without being obtrusive. Nothing better in Wilmington. One caveat. The menu is small and we would go more often if there was more variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a great experience and amazing food! Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for the Mother's Day brunch since Domaine Hudson is my wife's favorite restaurant. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Iberica Chorizo omelette I had was wonderful and was well matched with a glass of the tempranillo. My wife really enjoyed the Croque Madame, and my daughter's Swill Chard and Tomato quiche was also very good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner was unbelievable. Everything was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding and creative food prepared with care. Top notch service where you are made to feel special. Never rushed but never forgotten either. Hats off to both the kitchen staff and the front of house. Javier is a gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on May 11, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good service. Worst menu for any restaurant ever. Four entrees-bronzino in a misto broth, barramundi with celery, duck breast and a $58 sirloin. No sides included or available! A very poor wine list. No upscale chards. The bronzino we four ordered was excellent. Bill with one bottle of wi e and one drink was $400 plus tip. The issue with this restaurant was the extremely limited, too cutesy, too expensive menu! Well not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on May 9, 2017

I brought my friend from Rhode Island for a mid week dinner and the meal was just excellent. She was so thrilled with the ambience, the service and the food and presentation was outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

Visiting Wilmington for baseball tournament. Made it a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 3, 2017

My go-to favorite. Menu is a little limited but always pleases

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on April 26, 2017

Amazing wine selection in great variety of sizes so you get to experiment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on April 20, 2017

Not as great as our last visit but still good. The time between courses was so long you forgot what you were waiting for! The waiter even messed up on our appetizer ☹️. The soup was great but mine was much hotter than my partner's. The gnudi was amazing, a must try. The barrimundi was over cooked and dark. Not what we expected based on previous experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
·Dined on April 16, 2017

What a wonderful and amazing dining experience. Great wine selections!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

We dine at Domaine Hudson at least once a month and are never disappointed. They offer a consistently create and delicious menu and superb service.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 11, 2017

We were celebrating a retirement and everyone who we came into contact with were so nice, from our hostess, person who turned down the AC and our informative, attentive, funny and non intrusive server.
We had the 4 course price fix meal and everything we selected was outstanding and our waiter made excellent wine suggestions.
Thank you all for make it such a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 9, 2017

Easily the best restaurant in Wilmington in terms of food and drinks. The chef makes absolutely spectacular dishes. Of particular note was my entree, the duck breast, and my partners starter, the carrot top gnocchi. The former was expertly cooked and melt-in-your-mouth - complete with crispy skin and just the right amount of fat. The curry sauce served with the latter is one of the best things I've tasted in recent memory. It took all of my self control not to lick the plate!

I would highly recommend Domaine Hudson for any special occasion. It was a little too noisy the night we were there, but I think that was a fluke - we were between two larger groups who were rather inconsiderate in the level of noise they were creating. We will definitely be back the next time we desire a high-quality meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Third time we've eaten here and have never been disappointed. Excellent wait staff makes the creative offerings even better.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was delicious! Unique menu and great service. Definitely plan on returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 7, 2017

Enjoyed dinner during Wilmington's restaurant week. Service at the bar and at our table were superior. Special menu well thought out and executed...perfect for sharing. Outstanding selection of wines, available in 3 portions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 7, 2017

I had been looking forward to making a visit to Domaine Hudson and I wasn't disappointed. I started. My friend had the bib salad and said it was very good. I had broccoline. I'm not certain how it was prepared but it was cooked to perfection, bright green with a light coating of something that really enhanced the taste. For an entre, I had loin of cod. It was not a large piece of fish but firm and tasty. The presentation was very elegant. I'd go back for my next special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 6, 2017

We dine at Domaine Hudson frequently after living in Delaware for just over 3 years and exploring dining options form north to south Domaine Hudson is the best experience across the board in the state. Definitely worth a drive to have a wonderful meal with great service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 6, 2017

Superb dining experience. $$$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and amazing wine list. Small area so reservation is a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 5, 2017

One of my friends and I always put you on our calendars as soon as either of us hears of the net restaurant week -- we only wish you served lunch on a regular basis!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 4, 2017

We like to try new to us restaurants during restaurant week. Sometimes it's great and sometimes not so much. Domaine Hudson was a great find and will become a regular stop for us. The fare was interesting, very tasty and beautifully presented. Service was fabulous. Even though the restaurant was nearly full the servers never seemed stressed or hurried, and were happy to discuss ingredients, wine list or anything else. Very enjoyable experience all around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 4, 2017

Surpassed high expectations

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was very good 👍👍
However Service was poor. Sat for 10 mins waiting for our server to show. Then another 10 mins waiting for water. Then another long wait for the wine.
It happens for a variety of reasons but there was no communication in the interim. Front of house is definitely letting the kitchen down badly.
Seating is way to close together for a restaurant of this caliber and price. You expect it in a crowded breakfast or lunch spot but not in an upscale restaurant.
The noise level with the low ceiling was so loud it was hard to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is a perennial favorite. This occasion was pre-concert for 8 people and, as usual, DH hit the ball out of the park. The staff, with appropriate advance notice of our requirements, were ready, willing and able. Both the cuisine and the service were spot-on and unfazed by our compressed schedule. "We'll be back!"--Schwarzenegger

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was exceptional, service wonderful, but it was much, MUCH too noisy. Especially for a Thursday night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was great, our server was out standing, It was a great experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 29, 2017

I was very disappointed with our dinner at DH. I had been there twice before and enjoyed it. I don't recall the prices shocking me before but they did this time. $16 for ONE Scottish quail egg???? Two of us got the rabbit and both of us thought the portions were incredibly small.....basically 2 nuggets and a small leg with a one inch by one inch under cooked sweet potato cube. We were both expecting the flavor to be exciting but instead we got bland. All for $34. The 3 other guests got the whole fish which was described to us bursting with flavor and boneless. It was neither.
Needless to say, even on expense account, I would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
·Dined on March 25, 2017

Got my parents a reservation for my Dad's birthday dinner and the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful setting it up. And they didn't disappoint in the delivery either - my parents gave rave reviews for their respective meals! Thanks.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on March 21, 2017

We went there for my birthday, 7 of us. My husband ordered 3 bottles of wine, one was brought out that was not the vintage listed but that's okay. We all ordered the tasting menu. The waiter got my entree wrong but quickly corrected it. My friend ordered steak medium well, telling waiter seriously medium well and it came out pink. The duck entrees came out lukewarm. The coffee was burnt. After telling waiter about coffee, they took off one bottle of wine.
I really Domaine Hudson, and will go back but they fell short this time.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great service, great food, great wine and ample parking. I definitely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 19, 2017

As always the food was outstanding and their attention to our concerns genuine. However, Saturday was not a good evening as it was too crowded and very noisy. Table was not ready yet no place at the bar to even stand and get a drink as vacant seats at the bar had "reserved" signs on them. The manager on duty or the owner, whichever he was, did his best to assist in seating us and moving us once. All of our experiences at Domaine Hudson have been very positive but, we realize now, they were never on a Saturday evening. We will go back for the food and wine - but will attempt to avoid Saturday evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

A wonderful place to get together with friends and have an outstanding meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

The 17th was a high energy night at DH, so the noise volume in their tight quarters was high. Our server was great and they easily accomodated a requested seating move. We are going to try reserving seats at the bar next time we visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Brought friends from the Main Line area down to experience Domain Hudson for their first visit. Needless to say, two more fans were generated on the other side of the state line. DH was simply "the finest dining they had enjoyed all year." All four of us selected the tasting menu with four courses and the flexibility to order from across the menu. Three of us opted for the fresh fish (two orders of the pan seared barramundi, and one whole fish special (the branzino). While our fourth guest enjoyed the game (Roasted Rabbit Saddle). Had their been no bones with the Rabbit, all four plates would have been returned spotless! Everyone loved their meal and my guests enjoyed the massive wine list choices and we settled on two dynamite bottles from the infamous DH cellar. Add sparkling service from host, wait, kitchen and bar teams and you have the finest dining in Delaware that rivals any/all big city dining experience anywhere. If you haven't been, go. If you have been - the new menu and the talented chef Dwain Kalup are plenty of reasons to return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Disappointing - food is expensive, and the chef spends more time on the artistry of the plating than flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

A wonderful evening as always. Domaine Hudson is my favorite place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything you would want in a gastronomic restaurant. Innovative menu, nice wine list, knowledgeable and attentive service, casually elegant interior. We started with the cheese board, which included fig compote and a type of honey - along with grilled bread and rice crackers...awesome flavors. I had duck, the bride went with the sea bass - both were beautifully presented, and absolutely wonderful. Will be back next time in Wilmington for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.