Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Domaine Hudson

Described as “one of Delaware's premier destinations for truly appreciating and understanding the dynamics of upscale food and wine” by The News Journal food critic, Domaine Hudson was awarded 3.5 stars (of 4) and recognized as "Closer to Perfection", and has consistently been providing a place for great wine and food since November 2005. Delaware’s first true wine bar, they offer almost 40 wines to taste in 1½, 3 & 5-oz pours. The award winning wines by the bottle list features a broad array of about 450 old and new world wines & 90+ craft beers. Frequently changing menu items allow the chefs to be creative and focus on quality ingredients. Small plate options, provide a perfect opportunity for wine pairing, or guests can simply choose from full size entrees. Whether you are an experienced oenophile or just want to enjoy some great wine/beer, the servers, who all have a knowledge of what they are pouring, can guide you through a memorable dining experience in an inviting atmosphere.

1314 N Washington Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Tuesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Wednesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Thursday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Friday: 5:00 11:00 pm
Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00 pm
Sunday: CLOSED - Available Private Event

Cross Street:
Between 13th & 14th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 655-9463

Website:
http://www.domainehudson.com/

Catering:
Domaine Hudson will cater intimate home dinners, weddings, parties, business dinners and fundraisers for up to 100 guests off site.

Parking Details:
Metered parking in front of the restaurant. Free off-street parking is available after 5 pm in the Christiana Care Annex private parking lot 1/2 block from restaurant. To access the lot, the entrance is at 14th & Washington, immediately before the Washington St. Bridge. From the lot, walk south on Washington Street (toward downtown) about 1/2 block; restaurant is on the left. View a map and directions on our website at http://domainehudson.com/parking.html

Public Transit:
2, 11, 12, 35

Executive Chef:
Dwain Kalup

Private Party Facilities:
Domaine Hudson is the premiere choice for private dining in Wilmington, Delaware. We work with you to custom-tailor a flawless experience for your party, anniversary, wedding celebration, wine tasting, networking event, or business meeting. Your guests will thoroughly enjoy the seasonal cuisine of our culinary team and selections from our award-winning wine list, which OpenTable named one of the top 50 in the U.S.
Our newly renovated dining rooms accommodate private parties from 7 to 70 people, and our state-of-the-art sound system ensures your guests won’t miss a word (or a beat).

Please call or send an email message (bethross@domainehudson.com) to discuss your event and book your room at the best Wilmington, Delaware restaurant.

Catering:
Alternatively, let Domaine Hudson come to you. From gallery openings, social gatherings, and galas to corporate lunches, dinners, and events, Domaine Hudson ensures an effortless, impressive affair.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Ross: (302) 655-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Information on monthly wine dinners and tastings can be found at www.domainehudson.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Domaine Hudson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Domaine Hudson never disappoints. I went for an anniversary dinner and was immediately seated at a quiet corner table. The food was excellent, and the chef split our portions so we could share. The wine was, of course, amazing. Very excited to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and service! We have been here several times and it has always been an enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent three(3) course meal during Brandywine Restaurant Week; Javier was superb in describing selections and attentive to our table. Taste(s) and presentations were great and finding a wine offering of sparkling rose' was an extra treat. DM is one of the best restaurant in the greater PHL/WIL area.....hands down!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have been to the restaurant many times, but we're disappointed this visit. The food was fine, but not up to Domaine Hudson standards. Our server was terrible- also atypical for this restaurant. We haven't will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent service, wine recommendations for pairing of food and just overall great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was restaurant week so the place was busy but service was attentive without being intrusive. Food was excellent. Our party tried each of the main courses and all were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Creative cuisine, masterfully prepared, with handcrafted cocktails and the finest wine list this side of New York. The service is attentive and professional, but never overbearing. And the atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed, yet upscale. Domaine Hudson offers a complete dining experience. My wife and I took our daughter here for her 17th birthday and she was treated like the princess she is. We could not have been happier. You will love every minute at this "Best of Delaware" restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Went with a friend for restaurant week. You won't get a better deal but well worth the regular menu prices. The food was delicious and service attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a lovely dinner for four. All starters and entrees were excellent and the service was just right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful evening with great food and service. Definitely worth the trip.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food but menu choices are limited, especially for a frequent diner. There were no specials mentioned and I have dined at this restaurant often with the same menu options. Service was impeccable, and environment is cozy. Wine choices are excellent but the restaurant is more like a good wine bar than a good restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Attentive service, excellent food, and great ambiance helped make an outstanding evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent food (presentation and taste). Service was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Would have been better if the ambiance was a little quieter. It wasn't noisy but quieter to give it a more intimate feel. Other than that we loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The best restaurant in Delaware. Good small plates and fish out the day. Outstanding wine list by the glass.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service was subpar took long time between service , food was good owner did finally notice and comp a free drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food and service was great
Great wine and cocktail list

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised to find the date night menu which was $95 per couple for a 3 course meal including a bottle of wine. Cheese platter for two was excellent, as was the steak with superbly cooked baby vegetables.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We had a delightful meal while discussing business in a very nice setting. There was a wine tasting event in the next room but it did not impact us in any way. The food was amazing! So glad we chose to dine here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food wasn't amazingly good. Cocktails perfectly mixed and dessert was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our waiter who has been there a while is a gem. Service is always fantastic as is the food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were looking for a place half way between NJ and Baltimore. Got lucky to find this place. Outstanding food in a very unlikely place. Across the street from a hospital in a very quiet part of downtown on a Saturday night.
Service was terrific. The food was as good as any restaurant I have ever been to.
Would highly recommend and plan to go back in the future

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Domaine Hudson is worth a trip into Wilmington. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. This was my second visit, and I'll look forward to a third.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual, Domaine Hudson is one of our favorite restaurants in the area. It was very quiet this past Saturday night which made it nice to have quiet conversation with our friends. Our server, Javier, was outstanding and made a great wine suggestion.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

One of Delaware's finest restaurants. Reservations a must.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We have been here a handful of times and always enjoy it . Food is excellent, drinks are good and wine list is extensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cheese plate was a great starter. Wine flights are awesome. Loved the summer sipper whites. Service is impeccable. One of our favorite spots!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall good experience. Selection of wines by the glass is very good, diverse and not overly expensive. We tried a flight of three whites and also had a glass of excellent Pinot Noir, most expensive on the by the glass list but well worth it. Smoked salmon appetizer and green salad were excellent. Duck was also excellent, but the fish - sea bass- was disappointing. Not a great cut, too dry ( grilled too long). Next time we will try some wines and an appetizer at the bar.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We enjoyed a nice meal at Domaine Hudson. Lots of "hype" in their ad and Yelp.

The Good -
Very interesting menu and preparations. Food was excellent across the board. I travel for work and entertain at restaurants virtually every week so I know skilled cooking.

Not so good -
With only about 3 or 4 tables seated on a Friday night, something is up. Maybe the service? Our waitress was pretty knowledgeable but a bit cold. She promised to bring back two different items and never did. I am pretty sure we were her only table so no excuse. I also mentioned in the comments of my OpenTable reservation that we were celebrating our 27th anniversary. For a place of this caliber, I expected at least a mention.
Wine - this is supposed to be a wine afficianado's paradise. We are not wine experts but when our waitress had no suggestions, she sent someone when ended up recommending a Malbec which was actually decent but $39 for something listed for $8 online and 2 star rating shouldn't be on the menu. Speaking of the menu, the website showed wine pairings but the menu does not nor were any pairings offered.
Beer - advertised "wonderful craft beer selection". Don't brag about the beer when it's all bottled and especially when the selection of craft beer is 5 choices.

All in all, it's a good place to do once, maybe not multiple times leading to why the place was empty on a Friday night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food was very good. Very different tasting plates. Server was good. Enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What great food. We has a salad for starters than a small plate of outstanding pasta. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a large family gathering. DOmaine Hudson was very accommodating and knew just how to handle a large group. They have good size portions and were able to split a dish. The food was very sophisticated and delicious. The best I have had in Wilimington!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fantastic meals - gem lettuce salad was delicious and the striped bass was sublime. My husband liked his bronzino very much. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was delicious. I loved the sea bass.
Service was attentive and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Have dined here numerous times. This is first time table service was not up to par. However, waiter and general manager each offered sincere apology and comped the side dish waiter forgot to enter with entree order.
This less than perfect experience will not deter me from returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great restaurant and fantastic wine choices!!! Food is always cooked perfectly. Cheese board is fantastic!

Really appreciate that they have good choices of fresh fish!

Menu has a limited number of entrees and the specials are almost always the same, so you can only go so often.

Waitress was extremely pushy! We ordered 3oz wines and she kept pushing larger fills. I really like the smaller pour option so I can try a few wines. She also kept trying to get us to buy larger portions than we wanted.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This place was awesome!!! My wife and I went here for our anniversary and we could not ask for anymore. The staff, food and drinks were out of this world!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always, a great meal was served! Highly recommend the charcuterie and cheese board! Let Javier pick out a few wines by the glass to make tasting your way through each morsel even better!

Our only distraction was the large party seated behind us that was a bit loud. Can't really fault the restaurant, just bad luck.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We just had a lovely dinner with friends, excellent food, knowledgeable staff, excellent bartender and extensive wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Another great meal at Domaine Hudson. We love this restaurant probably one of the best if not the best in Delaware. Excellent wine list lots of choices by the bottle at less than $50.

If you haven't been here try it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing service and great food.. Def not your typical restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.