About DOC Wine Bar - Lombard


Welcome to D.O.C Wine Bar - Lombard. We are elated to serve you as your neighborhood wine bar and bistro. We believe that wine is the "nectar of the gods" and should be enjoyed by all, novices and connoisseurs alike.



While we take what we do seriously, first and foremost, we believe drinking wine should be fun. It is our goal to offer a large variety of wine spanning the globe without any of the factors that may cause intimidation and hinder your enjoyment.



Established in 1963 and implemented in 1966, the Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) ("Controlled Denomination of Origin") is Italy's equivalent to France's APPELLATION D'ORIGINE CONTRÔLÉE. DOC's are defined by the geographic area of production for each wine, the varieties that can be used, the minimum alcohol content, the maximum yield, and the specifications for aging.

326 Yorktown Center Drive
Lombard, IL 60148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Daily:4:00PM - 12:00AM

Cross Street:
Highland Road & Butterfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 627-6666

Website:
http://www.docwinebarchicago.com/

Catering:
Please call and ask for Tony to discuss further details.

Executive Chef:
Steve Goellner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

DOC Wine Bar - Lombard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (27)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Tapas (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Sunday 50% OFF Wine Flights. Enjoyed the list and food with a friend! Great menu options for sharing! LOVE the Wrightwood Salad! :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The server we had was so grumpy and unfriendly. My friend ordered a bitters and sofa mixed drink and he rolled his eyes at her request. I ordered a salad and asked what proteins were available and he said, "uh, chicken." I waited for him to continue and when he didn't I said chicken would be fine. Then he said "well I was going to mention more , but okay." Totally obnoxious and I have dined here often with this being the first bad experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The flatbread and butcher's block was excellent. The best I have had from anywhere. Very large wine selection. Food coming out for other tables looked very good.
Only issues were someone coming in for work changed his shirt and shoes in the dining area, very strange. He kept touching his face, hair and elsewhere and then serving food. When cleaning off the table he tipped the butchers block up and let all the crumbs fall all over the table and left it that way. Very sloppy for the type of place and price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really like menu something for everyone nice wine list, appetizers. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The cheese and meat selctions for the cheese board were outstanding. Flatbread pizza was awesome. It was a rainy night so it was quiet inside the restaurant which was ok. Wine was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were sat immediately as we had a reservation. Our server was really nice and attentive. We ordered several appetizers and the server asked if she could take our menus. We should have realized then that you either order apps or a meal. We had let her know we had not been there before so we would have appreciated a heads up on that note. Food was very good, came to the table hot. We were celebrating a birthday and ordered desserts, they were not good (donuts, banana beignets) were cold, hard and left a film in your mouth. The manager came over, apologized and removed them from the bill as we didn't eat them. We appreciated his response to the situation very much. Overall, a very good experience.

We all agreed that it was extremely difficult to distinguish the staff from the customers. The stafff all wear street clothes. The hostesses were nice but we didn't think they were dressed appropriately at all! Skin tight yoga pants and a t-shirt is no way to greet customers as they enter your restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Wrightwood salad is my all-time favorite. Wine selection is varied...something for every taste.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food excellent, but overall very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic even helped with my special request. Server was all by himself but still treated us great. Showgirls flute was great but the DUCK was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always good food. Fresh, tasty. Good mixture flavors, textures. Great staff. Friendly. Extensive wine list, wine flights.. can't go wrong choosing anything on this menu. Stop in. You'll love it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good food at a fair price. I'd return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great variety on the menu. Service was excellent. Waitress was attentive but not overbearing.
Had the fish tacos that were tasty. Ordered a small plate off the butchers plate menu that was a great way to taste a few different starters.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Repeat date ASAP

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Butcher's Plate is a great option to snack on and have catch up conversations with friends

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our first time here. Went for a friend's birthday. Shared several things and had wine flights. All very good, service was good and atmosphere very nice. The perfect spot for what we were looking for. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service. Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

we both had the Apollo wine flight(White)great!! Very impressed by the
Large Butchers Plate. Everything on it was fresh,different,& delicious!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

So tasty and unique. Try a dessert, too! This was the 2nd time I've been there. Would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food and service are excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have been here many times and the food is always good, wine list is top notch, staff knowledgeable about wine, and service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

1/2 price bottles of wine in Mondays and 1/2 off appetizers 3pm to 6pm Monday to Friday, why not be here everyday that ends in y!

DOC is definitely one of my favorite places to eat and drink. Try to make it in during their half price appetizer hours to order up one of everything for a tapas style feast with a few friends.

Wine list overwhelming? Don't worry, order up a wine flight for $16 for a tasting of 3 whites or reds from different regions of the world. Their servers also have extensive knowledge to inquire on what your palettes curiosity.

Pinot noir your type, try a bottle of "Cristom" on Monday nights half price bottles under $100.

They also have an extensive menu of specialty drinks, scotch, bourbon and other libations.

Still hungry? Order up a 4 or 8 selection cheese and meat tray. The wait staff can also help you make a selection to sure put a smile on your champers. A few of my favorites are the honey pistachio spread, prosciutto, Brie and goat cheese.

Dessert anyone? Try the pineapple upside down cake paired with coconut gelato. A sure fire way to have you dreaming of Hawaii. Aloha. Mahalo.

I did minus a star, as at 10pm, they actually flickered the lights to express closing time! Really? What are we 12 years old with a bedtime?!? I guess, I'll just head over to Ra Sushi next door for their late night happy hour! Sayonara...

#docwinebar #lombard #wine #appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. I loved the block serving of the appetizers and selection to choose from. This could be a meal on it's own along with a glass (or two) of wine. The service was prompt, very courteous and accommodating.

The menu may be small but at my table we order different entrees and each one was delicious. The cream brûlée for desert is a must!! A return outing is already on the calendar!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I love this restaurant. It is nice a quiet. You can actually have a nice conversation. Good service and competitively priced.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

almost deafeningly noisy; weird waitress; food was good but not outstanding; chocolate cookie with ice cream dessert is beyond excellent; go on a weekday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food just 'ok'. Seemed a bit overpriced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always such a great atmosphere. Plenty to choose from on the menu, and plenty of great drink selections! I loved the salmon, potatoes and asparagus. All cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The baja fish tacos were some of the best I have ever had. The banana beignets were so good, my wife wanted to switch desserts. And I loved her chocolate tart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is my "go to" place for date night! My husband and I love the charcuterie, wine and crab cakes. Service has always been great. Atmosphere is nice too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Right off the bat, we weren't sure this place was going to be worth it as we had to wait for a table even with a reservation. Once we sat down, however, we were impressed by the creative cuisine & impressive wine list. The waiter did provide us with the specials but then failed to return for quite a bit of time to take our appetizer & dinner order. The polenta fries & filet sliders were delicious, though my fiancee wasn't as impressed with the fish tacos. Overall, we found this to be a great spot for a date or even a girls' night out.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Service was horrible. It was my birthday I had a request for a quiet table when we arrived they just asked us if we wanted a booth or table..... didn't even have anything reserved. On open table I said we were celebrating two birthdays, no acknowledgement. It was as if they didn't even read the open table reservation. It took more than 15 minutes to get someone to take our initial drink order and that was after I chased after a server and asked for someone to come to the table. I only saw two servers, and it was a holiday, maybe management planned poorly.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went here for a one on one girls night and had a nice time! Food was great and surprisingly super filling!! Would recommend and go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is one of our "go to" places when we want a quick, tasty, dining experience with very good service. We love sitting at the bar & dining on the build your own boards!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Doc Wine Bar is good for its name, it offers a wide variety of excellent wines. It is also good for craft beers. Food is average with one exception the Bruschetta is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were there for Valentine's Day but have been several times prior. The food and service is always excellent. We enjoy the menu and unique experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always great, always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I only experienced lunch but the menu is great and fun ambiance. I definitely want to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food. Service was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Wish the beer list was expanded for those of us who prefer craft/import beer. Overall great experience

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Nice wine list. Attentive service. What else can I say?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved having a flight of wine and snacking on the meat/cheese tray while catching up with a friend. Everything we ordered was tasty- especially the flatbread with grilled brussel sprouts and carmelized onion.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.