About DOC Wine Bar - Lombard


Welcome to D.O.C Wine Bar - Lombard. We are elated to serve you as your neighborhood wine bar and bistro. We believe that wine is the "nectar of the gods" and should be enjoyed by all, novices and connoisseurs alike.



While we take what we do seriously, first and foremost, we believe drinking wine should be fun. It is our goal to offer a large variety of wine spanning the globe without any of the factors that may cause intimidation and hinder your enjoyment.



Established in 1963 and implemented in 1966, the Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) ("Controlled Denomination of Origin") is Italy's equivalent to France's APPELLATION D'ORIGINE CONTRÔLÉE. DOC's are defined by the geographic area of production for each wine, the varieties that can be used, the minimum alcohol content, the maximum yield, and the specifications for aging.

326 Yorktown Center Drive
Lombard, IL 60148
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Monday through Thursday: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday: 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Saturday: Noon - 11:00 PM

Sunday: Noon - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
Highland Road & Butterfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 627-6666

Website:
http://www.docwinebarchicago.com/

Catering:
Please call and ask for Tony to discuss further details.

Executive Chef:
Steve Goellner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

DOC Wine Bar - Lombard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (18)
Fun (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Tapas (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Special Occasion (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Delightful! DOC wine bar was a pleasant surprise. We picked the place based on location when I met a friend there on a Friday evening. We enjoyed a wine flight and cheese board to start, then had mini-sliders and split the brussel sprouts salad. The ambiance was conversation friendly, the service was top notch. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great experience! Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always excellent food. Service wonderful. My only complaint is that every time I go there, it is freezing inside. They did make it a tad more comfortable when we asked. Always bring a sweater or light jacket if you get cold, like I do. Haven't been there in winter yet. I will save room for desert next time, as the selections look delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Kudos to Zach - a great addition to the staff at DOC

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great wine selection and food choices. Good for a light lunch or heavy appetizers. Very reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Was the perfect place to take my brother visiting from London! Was a perfect place for a night away from his kids. Excellent wine and cheese/meat plate selection. What a great night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always great. Great wine list. Meat and cheese plate is fun. Great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Nice wine selection, good food and an enjoyable patio. I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have frequented DOC many times and this was the first time that we've been disappointed. The bacon wrapped dates had been a favorite but they seem to have changed the sauce they're served in. Pretty bland. The Baja tacos were also lacking any distinct flavor. The fish was underwhelming and the crema pretty uninspiring.

The service for the first time also seemed to miss the mark. Seemed pretty unenthusiastic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Friends birthday get together. We got there early and sat outside and were there for a couple hours catching up. They were great at keeping up with our needs and not rushing us out. Food and wine was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always worth the trip for the charcuterie board and half price bottles of wines (Mondays).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have always had great experiences here, and love the Butcher's board!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always have a great experience at DOC! I should go more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great food and service. The location was excellent and next to shopping.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Usually love this place, but the food was not as good as it has been in the past.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were early for our reservation and directed to the stand up bar. They brought us stools and soon we were able to go to our table. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great Sunday 50% OFF Wine Flights. Enjoyed the list and food with a friend! Great menu options for sharing! LOVE the Wrightwood Salad! :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The server we had was so grumpy and unfriendly. My friend ordered a bitters and sofa mixed drink and he rolled his eyes at her request. I ordered a salad and asked what proteins were available and he said, "uh, chicken." I waited for him to continue and when he didn't I said chicken would be fine. Then he said "well I was going to mention more , but okay." Totally obnoxious and I have dined here often with this being the first bad experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was the perfect place for my Mother's Day dinner. Service and food were great, free mimosas for mom what more could you ask for. Oh the Lincoln Park chocolate chip cookie was to die for. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Make sure to ask for Ally the bartender she's quite personable and we had a very nice time with her. She made it very enjoyable. Food was excellent but she helped make it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The flatbread and butcher's block was excellent. The best I have had from anywhere. Very large wine selection. Food coming out for other tables looked very good.
Only issues were someone coming in for work changed his shirt and shoes in the dining area, very strange. He kept touching his face, hair and elsewhere and then serving food. When cleaning off the table he tipped the butchers block up and let all the crumbs fall all over the table and left it that way. Very sloppy for the type of place and price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really like menu something for everyone nice wine list, appetizers. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The cheese and meat selctions for the cheese board were outstanding. Flatbread pizza was awesome. It was a rainy night so it was quiet inside the restaurant which was ok. Wine was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were sat immediately as we had a reservation. Our server was really nice and attentive. We ordered several appetizers and the server asked if she could take our menus. We should have realized then that you either order apps or a meal. We had let her know we had not been there before so we would have appreciated a heads up on that note. Food was very good, came to the table hot. We were celebrating a birthday and ordered desserts, they were not good (donuts, banana beignets) were cold, hard and left a film in your mouth. The manager came over, apologized and removed them from the bill as we didn't eat them. We appreciated his response to the situation very much. Overall, a very good experience.

We all agreed that it was extremely difficult to distinguish the staff from the customers. The stafff all wear street clothes. The hostesses were nice but we didn't think they were dressed appropriately at all! Skin tight yoga pants and a t-shirt is no way to greet customers as they enter your restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Wrightwood salad is my all-time favorite. Wine selection is varied...something for every taste.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food excellent, but overall very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic even helped with my special request. Server was all by himself but still treated us great. Showgirls flute was great but the DUCK was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always good food. Fresh, tasty. Good mixture flavors, textures. Great staff. Friendly. Extensive wine list, wine flights.. can't go wrong choosing anything on this menu. Stop in. You'll love it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good food at a fair price. I'd return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great variety on the menu. Service was excellent. Waitress was attentive but not overbearing.
Had the fish tacos that were tasty. Ordered a small plate off the butchers plate menu that was a great way to taste a few different starters.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Repeat date ASAP

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Butcher's Plate is a great option to snack on and have catch up conversations with friends

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our first time here. Went for a friend's birthday. Shared several things and had wine flights. All very good, service was good and atmosphere very nice. The perfect spot for what we were looking for. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and service. Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

we both had the Apollo wine flight(White)great!! Very impressed by the
Large Butchers Plate. Everything on it was fresh,different,& delicious!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

So tasty and unique. Try a dessert, too! This was the 2nd time I've been there. Would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food and service are excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have been here many times and the food is always good, wine list is top notch, staff knowledgeable about wine, and service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.