About DOC Wine Bar - Lombard

326 Yorktown Center Drive
Lombard, IL 60148
View Larger Map


Welcome to D.O.C Wine Bar - Lombard. We are elated to serve you as your neighborhood wine bar and bistro. We believe that wine is the "nectar of the gods" and should be enjoyed by all, novices and connoisseurs alike.



While we take what we do seriously, first and foremost, we believe drinking wine should be fun. It is our goal to offer a large variety of wine spanning the globe without any of the factors that may cause intimidation and hinder your enjoyment.



Established in 1963 and implemented in 1966, the Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) ("Controlled Denomination of Origin") is Italy's equivalent to France's APPELLATION D'ORIGINE CONTRÔLÉE. DOC's are defined by the geographic area of production for each wine, the varieties that can be used, the minimum alcohol content, the maximum yield, and the specifications for aging.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Daily:4:00PM - 12:00AM

Cross Street:
Highland Road & Butterfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 627-6666

Website:
http://www.docwinebarchicago.com/

Catering:
Please call and ask for Tony to discuss further details.

Executive Chef:
Steve Goellner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

DOC Wine Bar - Lombard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was horrible. It was my birthday I had a request for a quiet table when we arrived they just asked us if we wanted a booth or table..... didn't even have anything reserved. On open table I said we were celebrating two birthdays, no acknowledgement. It was as if they didn't even read the open table reservation. It took more than 15 minutes to get someone to take our initial drink order and that was after I chased after a server and asked for someone to come to the table. I only saw two servers, and it was a holiday, maybe management planned poorly.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Went here for a one on one girls night and had a nice time! Food was great and surprisingly super filling!! Would recommend and go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is one of our "go to" places when we want a quick, tasty, dining experience with very good service. We love sitting at the bar & dining on the build your own boards!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Doc Wine Bar is good for its name, it offers a wide variety of excellent wines. It is also good for craft beers. Food is average with one exception the Bruschetta is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were there for Valentine's Day but have been several times prior. The food and service is always excellent. We enjoy the menu and unique experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always great, always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I only experienced lunch but the menu is great and fun ambiance. I definitely want to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food. Service was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Wish the beer list was expanded for those of us who prefer craft/import beer. Overall great experience

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Nice wine list. Attentive service. What else can I say?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved having a flight of wine and snacking on the meat/cheese tray while catching up with a friend. Everything we ordered was tasty- especially the flatbread with grilled brussel sprouts and carmelized onion.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great service, great food, great location. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

the food is fanatic! Everyone in my party enjoyed the food

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've had better service than

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fabulous Wine flights again! Best dessert s around, A really comfortable night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. We spent a lot of time chatting and therefore didn't look at the menu right away and our server was thoughtful and friendly, never rushed us. He made great recommendations and made our visit more enjoyable. Wine choices were plenty and the food was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The make your own cheese trays are a perfect start for any meal. The wine was a perfect blend with the cheese tray. My husband loved the lemon drop martini.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious food and wine and a cozy atmosphere. But even with a reservation, we had to wait almost 30 minutes for a table. We were not the only ones. It seems that they overbooked to the point that they had to turn away at least 10 people during our wait. It also seems like they were short-staffed because the server taking care of us also seemed to be bartending? Unfortunately, these issues took away from our experience at DOC. We'll try again, maybe not during peak hours.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was good, but I wish there were some more moderately priced wines on the list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a wonderful experience at DOC Wine Bar. Met my sister and niece there for dinner and loved every moment, and bite. Thanks DOC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fun, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The restaurant is very cold in winter. It would be nice if they could find a way to do something with the windows to reduce the chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I go here all the time and really like their bartender, Garrett. He keeps me coming back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our go to restaurant for all occasions. Great staff, great wine list, & excellent food. Always made to feel welcome when we dine there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have now been to D.O.C a number of times and I have never had a bad experience. I have planned a small (10-15 people) bachelorette/shower lunch for an out of town friend, met a few girl friends for dinner, and just recently my husband and I met a few other couples for dinner for New Years Eve . The food, the service, and the atmosphere have never disappointed no matter what the occasion. It wouldn't be a trip to D.O.C. without the Butcher's plate to start and one of their wine flights. Our servers have always been friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable enough to answer any of the questions we may have had about any of the menu items and make recommendations for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The service was outstanding! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was good, our table of six ordered a variety of different things and everyone enjoyed their meal. We also got a butchers' board which was nice. The service was pretty terrible in comparison to the food. Would I go back? Definitely. If the service were that bad again though, I may try another spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Restaurant doesn't open til 11:30a but manager was great and let us in at 11a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Chenin Blanc was boring. Crab cakes and remoulade were good . Waitress was less than attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great place!! Way to expensive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Overall our meal and wine were great! We had the charcuterie board, cauliflower appetizer and a salad. Service was good but we've experienced better. This is one of our favorite places that meets my chef of a husband's standards for a good meal with consistency on the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Finally a real wine bar that does not try to be something else. The wine selection is great. Artisan cheeses and meets are excellent but don't expect a giant plate of food - that is not what this place is about.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love this place. God food, nice decor, not too busy for lunch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great wine. Good food. The butcher block is always a favorite. The deserts are lacking though. Service was inattentive at times, but otherwise good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was always available to suggest pairings and food. I had a great time with friends and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I love this place. It is definitely worth the drive and not what you would expect from a mall location. The brussel sprouts and cauliflower are amazing and the perfect starter. The Butcher's Plate is my favorite item on the menu. The Sainte Andre, Smoked Duck Breast, and Romesco, Leeks, Bacon bruschetta are my three musts on every visit. The wine list is long enough but I wish it was a little more diverse. I will say the service seems to have been going down on my last couple of visits. Our waiter was rude and made us feel rushed when he came to the table to order. So much so that when asking about offerings from the Butcher's Plate he quipped "So do you have a question? I'm not going to stand here all night" The tone he said it in was meant to be funny... but it wasn't. We weren't amused and he could tell. Thankfully he adjusted his attitude and provided decent service the rest of our stay. I will give them another try because I love the food, but if the service continues to decline I won't be coming back as regularly as I do.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had a business lunch here and frankly I would not recommend this location for business. There was only one person working the host stand, bar, server, busing tables, answering the phone, etc. It was strange, but clearly they were not busy enough to have staff for each of these roles. There were three tables of guests while we there and we were sat right next to another group who were quite loud and it was difficult to carry on a conversation. The food was very good, so I would recommend based on the food, but not the ambiance or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Kind of like the Seinfeld Episode - evidently they can TAKE the reservation, but have a big problem HOLDING the reservation. Arrived on time for reservation, but were informed would probably have to wait 30-45 minutes. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food options from Butcher Boards (cheese, meats and bruschetta) to salads, comfort food, and meat. Great wine list, service was great. Definitely make reservations! Arrived at 5:45 pm on a Thursday and only two tables open!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

One of my favorite places to meet friends in the area. I love the wine choices, butcher block items and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I LOVE DOC Winebar, one of my favorite places to eat. The butcher plate (small) is enough food for a whole meal, might add the Brussels sprout salad to share. It had good wine, great service, and the butcher plate is the BEST!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Spicy, Fun, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The only bad thing was our waiter seemed put out by us. Always hurrying off and not at all friendly. Other than that , loved the place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent food. Half off bottles of wine. Great wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat. I live in Southern Indiana so we make the trip 3-4 times a year and it's always on our list of places to eat. Wish it was closer!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had a great girls' night out. Waiter was low key in letting us catch up but checking in enough to attend to our needs. Great place for hanging. We ordered the large butcher block and a flatbread. All were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wine D.O.C. has a great menu with plenty of options and an extensive wine list. Our server, Garret was AMAZING and made our night even more fun.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Exceeded all our expectations. Great food, fun environment, good prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This place was great. Great food, server was knowledgeable, great ambienc, . I had the half roasted chicken it was made just right not too dry potatoes seasoned correctly the baked chocolate cookies for dessert with ice cream was mere perfection!!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My experience at D.O.C. was generally pretty good, our server was pretty attentive for the most part, the food was good and the ambiance was good as well. The flatbread pizzas were worth going back for and the bacon wrapped dates were excellent. My only knock on this place was the price of beers. The food was reasonably priced and good quality but I shouldn't be paying $9 for a bottled beer that anywhere else would be maybe $6 at the most. I think it was $8 for a lagunitas bottle and $9 for an allagash saison and was shocked when the bill came.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Monday nights are a great deal with 50% of bottles of wine. The meat and cheese plate is always delicious and the flatbreads crispy and full of flavor. The only downside is the service. It's a wine bar, so I don't want to sit nursing a glass of water for fifteen minutes while my server is behind the bar talking to another server and/or serving bar patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.