Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover

Located in the Colonnade of Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, Dave Magrogan developed these classic 1900′s Oyster Houses as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, the ocean’s little aphrodisiacs. No expense was spared to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun & merriment in a local watering hole.

It is Doc’s joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Fresh Starts Here

1131 North Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:45am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday- Saturday: 3:00pm- 1:00am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Northbound side of US 13 (North DuPont Hwy)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 857-3223

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment and Trivia!

Catering:
Doc Magrogan’s can handle your gathering of up to 100 people. Enjoy Doc’s warm atmosphere, pleasant hospitality, and fresh dishes- sure to please your friends, co-workers, or family. We offer a variety of options for you and your party to enjoy. If you have specific requests, we will be happy to accommodate any of your needs! All of our menus are fully customizable.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet provided with lunch or dinner service.

Public Transit:
DART First State is the Statewide Public Bus Transportation system. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino is serviced by routes 109, 112 & 113. Visit dartfirststate.com for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
*All special events require a ticket purchase. These may be bought from the location itself or from eventbrite.com as the event date approaches. Please check our Facebook page for all event updates and further info.

More events are being planned! Like us on Facebook or check back for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

55% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Happy Hour (4)
See All
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It's was good.the manager was really helpful!
I went there had a gift card, the one in phila closed. This one in Dover staff was nice smiled. Not in phila docs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Definitely below average. Perhaps, because casino location is a captive audience, they really don't try hard.
Fried fish was overlooked, salmon was tasteless and the portions small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was over cooked...shrimp was chewy, mashed potatoes and crab imperial were both dry. My $10 orange crush tasted watered down. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have been many times before But this time it was awful. The waitress was horrible and the food was burnt and dried out!! We will never go back there. Even their school selection was horrible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The oysters were good. The seafood platters tasted frozen and mass produced.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was cold. Mashed Potatoes were cold and hard like a ball. Portions were small and crab filled shrimp was mostly filler and green beans had no flavor. Server seemed preoccupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The glasses in the restaurant has water spots on them. At least the tables in my view. A bug flew in my plate prior to receving any food. I changed plates. The food was good, not a large serving but filling enough with drinking beverage. The oysters were good, a little expensive. I would maybe go back. It wouldn't be my first choice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Had a fantastic time. Totally enjoyed the dueling piano players. Hope they return again. Food was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was good, food was terrible. Crab cakes fell apart, beans practically raw. Soup was good. The food was not worth the price they charged. A group of 12 adults came in with 13 kids and they decided to make a "kid's" table. Needless to say, that was not fun and it was certainly not right to place those kids right smack in the middle of the dining area. I will not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Not sure what was worse. Food. Ambiance. Or Service.

The restaurant is in a casino. Had no idea but it was late and we were hungry.

Definitely service. Extra settings and napkins left when we sat down. No knowledge of beer or wine list. All dirty plates left. No refilling of drinks. Mahi tacos come out ice cold..."I'll inform the kitchen."


I left a 10% tip because I am decent, but cringed as I did it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a great meal at Doc's.
Especially love the oysters and crab soup. Calimari is good as is the crab cakes. We always sit out on the patio which is in the Dover Downs Casino so a little noisier there but we like sitting there, I imagine that you can sit inside for a quieter experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2017

A+++ Service. Overall food, beer, and service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent service and the food was prepared and served very well. Very nice atmosphere and you don't feel rushed.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Flat beer, less than mediocre food..been many times just this time just not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Although food was good, how can you go wrong with buck a shuck?(oysters delish), service was lacking in that they brought out my main course with my oysters. I send it back and it came out 15 minutes later dried out from the heat lamp. It was scallops over risotto. Should have been remade. Overall, others at the table enjoyed their meals. Crab cakes very good

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Bread arrived when meal was almost finished. Wife's scallops were under cooked mine were over cooked. Only two tables occupied and hardly ever saw the staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Disappointed !! We were celebrating our anniversary and thought we would enjoy a dinner at Docmagrogans as we've been there several times before. We started with the oysters each of us ordering 6 and they were served all together and we were not given the names of the oysters. Then we order a house special, Docs grilled seafood platter featuring salmon, shrimp and scallops. We each ordered the same platter. The salmon was over cooked and very dry, not edible vegetables were very chewy obviously under cooked and the garlic mashed potatoes were made the day before as they had no flavor. The waitress should have been trained on how to serve and to know the items on the menu. We will not be going back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We've been to Doc's probably over 100 times. This was by far one of our poorest experiences. Food was mediocre at best. Server never cleared the table between courses. Very disappointing, especially for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Oysters will good, hamburgers were good, but lobster roll lacked lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The event I planned was sat in the dining room but I requested bar area for happy hour...they said no problem we could stay were we were and still get the happy hour specials.... very accommodating . It was my husband's 60th surprise party and everything was wonderful.....thank you

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Raw bar was excellent. Since it's located inside the casino I don't recommend that patio seating unless you want to watch the casino floor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I got the Doc's grilled combo and the asparagus was not as tasty, the salmon tasted like oil and burntness, my wine had a shell in it and my crab dip app. , Was just a bunch of mayo, but my shrimp and scallops was good. The vibe of the restaurant was great if you're hanging with your girl friends. I think for the price I was extremely unhappy.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great meal, great service, and consistently good value for the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was too salty!! Individuals with hypertension would definitely have a problem.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had dinner here before seeing a show. Dress was a bit upscale, which was refreshing. I had fillet and lobster tail and the food was out of this world. A little pricey but fair. Service was good. Only thing lacking was a good red blend wine to go with the fillet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious the waitress was very nice and the atmosphere was fun!!!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is bland, served cold and tasted fresh out of the frozen section from your local grocery store, also poor presentation, and over priced...Please save yourself some $$$ and time definitely was a waste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We drove up from Chesapeake Virginia to celebrate my birthday with an outstanding meal and an over night stay. Delicious fried shrimp and tasty clams on the half shell! Service was outstanding and atmosphere very relaxing and enjoyable!
Thank you for a great meal!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Restaurant seemed overwhelmed by business this evening. Popular concert in Dover Downs same night. Minor adjustments had to be made to order, special meal offer no question of wellness done of filet mignon. Filet Mignon not cooked properly to request. Bussing attendants not in any hurry to clear or make tables available. Waitress and Manager extremely nice. Management spoke to us and offered apologies and treated us very well. Would suggest more experienced and sense of urgency staff on concert evenings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The occasion was my 59th birthday and we had tickets to a concert at Dover Downs. First of all I recommend reservations on a Saturday night. The line was pretty long but I went right to the desk and they said that my open table reservations were good and they had my table ready. Sweet
The oyster selection is exceptional. I chose 1/2 dozen from Virginia and man. I could have eaten them all night. My main course was a Maryland combo with scallops oysters shrimp crab cake and fries. Stuffed! Service was perfect and we sat on a sort of patio open to the casino . The noise level was moderate but my wife and I still didn't have to tell to have a conversation. All in all we had a great time and surely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Servers (many of them!) were all friendly. Food was delicious, although I had Maryland crab soup that was a little too spicy for my taste and didn't find any crab in it. Nice atmosphere. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've been coming to Doc's for a while. They are best known and recognized for their large variety of raw oysters, which never disappoint and did not disappoint the day I dined in either. The only thing is: the prices are higher and I don't know if what I ordered was worth $15. For lunch I ordered the oyster po'boy. They were cooked wonderfully but the fried oysters were quite tasteless. Then again, I'm used to po'boys from Louisiana so maybe I'm just being a sandwich snob. But because of the blandness I had to give the food a 4 out of 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food is always more expensive than it should be, but everything else was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My soup was cold, salmon undercooked, the other persons food was also cold. Staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good oysters and fish

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was excellent and service was great. Enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our third trip and it was terrific again! The foodwas outstanding and my husband says that the oysters are the best! Thank you, Christine R

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good choice of seafood dishes. Sides are extra like salads. No dinner rolls served like they used too, I guess they are cutting back. Cocktails on the pricey side, but overall good choice to eat at casino

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was horrible. Waitress we saw three times the whole meal, appetizer brought out AFTER dinner and dinner was delivered to wrong table first, no water, no bread NOTHING. NOT asked if we were ok, if we wanted anything else, we had to ask where was our appetizer? We did not even get a drink refill. She did take the appetizer off the bill, but an apology would have been nice. Definitely not a relaxing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.