Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover

Located in the Colonnade of Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, Dave Magrogan developed these classic 1900′s Oyster Houses as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, the ocean’s little aphrodisiacs. No expense was spared to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun & merriment in a local watering hole.

It is Doc’s joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Fresh Starts Here

1131 North Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:45am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday- Saturday: 3:00pm- 1:00am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Northbound side of US 13 (North DuPont Hwy)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 857-3223

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment and Trivia!

Catering:
Doc Magrogan’s can handle your gathering of up to 100 people. Enjoy Doc’s warm atmosphere, pleasant hospitality, and fresh dishes- sure to please your friends, co-workers, or family. We offer a variety of options for you and your party to enjoy. If you have specific requests, we will be happy to accommodate any of your needs! All of our menus are fully customizable.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet provided with lunch or dinner service.

Public Transit:
DART First State is the Statewide Public Bus Transportation system. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino is serviced by routes 109, 112 & 113. Visit dartfirststate.com for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
*All special events require a ticket purchase. These may be bought from the location itself or from eventbrite.com as the event date approaches. Please check our Facebook page for all event updates and further info.

More events are being planned! Like us on Facebook or check back for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to Doc's probably over 100 times. This was by far one of our poorest experiences. Food was mediocre at best. Server never cleared the table between courses. Very disappointing, especially for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Oysters will good, hamburgers were good, but lobster roll lacked lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The event I planned was sat in the dining room but I requested bar area for happy hour...they said no problem we could stay were we were and still get the happy hour specials.... very accommodating . It was my husband's 60th surprise party and everything was wonderful.....thank you

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Raw bar was excellent. Since it's located inside the casino I don't recommend that patio seating unless you want to watch the casino floor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I got the Doc's grilled combo and the asparagus was not as tasty, the salmon tasted like oil and burntness, my wine had a shell in it and my crab dip app. , Was just a bunch of mayo, but my shrimp and scallops was good. The vibe of the restaurant was great if you're hanging with your girl friends. I think for the price I was extremely unhappy.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great meal, great service, and consistently good value for the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was too salty!! Individuals with hypertension would definitely have a problem.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had dinner here before seeing a show. Dress was a bit upscale, which was refreshing. I had fillet and lobster tail and the food was out of this world. A little pricey but fair. Service was good. Only thing lacking was a good red blend wine to go with the fillet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious the waitress was very nice and the atmosphere was fun!!!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is bland, served cold and tasted fresh out of the frozen section from your local grocery store, also poor presentation, and over priced...Please save yourself some $$$ and time definitely was a waste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We drove up from Chesapeake Virginia to celebrate my birthday with an outstanding meal and an over night stay. Delicious fried shrimp and tasty clams on the half shell! Service was outstanding and atmosphere very relaxing and enjoyable!
Thank you for a great meal!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Restaurant seemed overwhelmed by business this evening. Popular concert in Dover Downs same night. Minor adjustments had to be made to order, special meal offer no question of wellness done of filet mignon. Filet Mignon not cooked properly to request. Bussing attendants not in any hurry to clear or make tables available. Waitress and Manager extremely nice. Management spoke to us and offered apologies and treated us very well. Would suggest more experienced and sense of urgency staff on concert evenings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Servers (many of them!) were all friendly. Food was delicious, although I had Maryland crab soup that was a little too spicy for my taste and didn't find any crab in it. Nice atmosphere. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The occasion was my 59th birthday and we had tickets to a concert at Dover Downs. First of all I recommend reservations on a Saturday night. The line was pretty long but I went right to the desk and they said that my open table reservations were good and they had my table ready. Sweet
The oyster selection is exceptional. I chose 1/2 dozen from Virginia and man. I could have eaten them all night. My main course was a Maryland combo with scallops oysters shrimp crab cake and fries. Stuffed! Service was perfect and we sat on a sort of patio open to the casino . The noise level was moderate but my wife and I still didn't have to tell to have a conversation. All in all we had a great time and surely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've been coming to Doc's for a while. They are best known and recognized for their large variety of raw oysters, which never disappoint and did not disappoint the day I dined in either. The only thing is: the prices are higher and I don't know if what I ordered was worth $15. For lunch I ordered the oyster po'boy. They were cooked wonderfully but the fried oysters were quite tasteless. Then again, I'm used to po'boys from Louisiana so maybe I'm just being a sandwich snob. But because of the blandness I had to give the food a 4 out of 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food is always more expensive than it should be, but everything else was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My soup was cold, salmon undercooked, the other persons food was also cold. Staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was excellent and service was great. Enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our third trip and it was terrific again! The foodwas outstanding and my husband says that the oysters are the best! Thank you, Christine R

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good choice of seafood dishes. Sides are extra like salads. No dinner rolls served like they used too, I guess they are cutting back. Cocktails on the pricey side, but overall good choice to eat at casino

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was horrible. Waitress we saw three times the whole meal, appetizer brought out AFTER dinner and dinner was delivered to wrong table first, no water, no bread NOTHING. NOT asked if we were ok, if we wanted anything else, we had to ask where was our appetizer? We did not even get a drink refill. She did take the appetizer off the bill, but an apology would have been nice. Definitely not a relaxing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've eaten there on multiple occasions and the food and service are consistently top notch.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were terribly disappointed with our dining experience. We ordered Calamari for an appetizer and it was mostly pepper rings, very little seafood. For a main course I had the scallops on butternut squash risotto, it was very dry, the risotto was not cooked well at all and there was very little if any squash in the risotto. Our server was hard to find and when we asked for a manager to discuss the meal, it took forever to get any results.

We will not be dining again at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server was excellent and made recommendations. Food is excellent and there is a wide variety of items on the menu even for non seafood lovers.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Orange sesame shrimp appetizer was absolutely wonderful. Cant wait to get it again

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The server was attentive but the food was not worth going back. Overcooked shrimp and undercooked vegetables. The dessert was advertised on a placard on the table. It looked delicious on the picture, but when we ordered it, we were very disappointed. Noise level was a little loud and difficult to hear conversations at the table. If you are looking for a great place for seafood, this is not it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff is always great! It's the reason we go to Dover!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I really enjoyed the dinner there with my mate. I have alway enjoyed the kinds of foods serviced there for I am a seafoods person. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was awful, reservations were not honored, service was bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve ,maybe that was the reason we were seated over 30min after our reservation time. The food was ok . I had the stuffed shrimp. The shrimp were just a tiny bit larger than salad shrimp, I still think I was served an appetizer instead of an entree. This was our second time here but the first was for lunch. I doubt that we will go back for dinner again but maybe for lunch since the portions are so small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible food. No taste. Forgot side items. Gave us a dirty table to sit at. Had to move. Can't see going back there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Oysters always good. Smallest crab cake I'd ever eaten. Ate it in one bite. Bring your kitchen people over to my house and since I was born on the Chesapeake bay, I'll show them the size and taste of real crab cakes. The servers were very up beat, smiling, and friendly. I live in Dover and have been over to Docs a few times since it opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined with docs for the New Years.
Everything was just wonderful. The wait staff was very kind and professional.

Thank you for a wonderful memory

Shaun

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was very good. The service was slow but to the restaurants credit it was New Year's eve and they were extremely busy. Our waitress was very nice and accommodating and gave us the best service she could given the circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

service was very slow, salad never came before main course even thou i asked for it, appetizer was also long time coming, order steak it was very, very chewy, talk to manager, not sure he really cared. Was there tonight, service again was very slow with a slow crowd but food was good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have eaten here several times, but I was a little disappointed this time. My lobster tail was undercook (but not raw), and the meal was very bland tasting. We always have the same meal so I know how it usually taste. So we were disappointed that for new years eve our food was not up to the excellence it usually is. Our waitress however was excellent, very attentive and checked on us often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The first thing was someone there cancelled our Open Table reservation instead of confirming the fact that we had arrived. Fortunately, I received an email that my reservation had been cancelled be fore we were able to order food. They had me make a reservation for later that night and they confirmed that and I received my 100 points.

The fish in my wife's fish and chips was overcooked and like mush.

My carrots and string beans were under cooked and hard as rocks.

My salmon was fine (at least someone in the kitchen knew how to cook).

It was a Friday evening and the dining room was almost empty.

There were many loud people in the bar.

I will never go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Maryland crab soup is fantastic! Crab dip and homemade crackers are yummy. Shrimp is always good. Cioppiano was great!!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Okay but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was my 2nd visit with my family within the past 30 days. The food was excellent and so was the service that we received by the staff. I would recommend to all my fiends or anybody that ask while I'm at Dover.

Thanks,

Robert

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.