About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Michael Ton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great Beer (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Oysters on half shell were great. Bourbo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Oysters on half shell were great. Bourbon list is extensive, with superb selections. Smoked chicken, the sampler platter and every side were all delicious. No room for dessert. Waiters kept drinks coming, and checked on us enough.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The oysters were good but small. Nothing ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

The oysters were good but small. Nothing special about food. Pricey. Ribs don't fall off none seem dry. Love the bldg. entrees should include some sides

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was expecting more I guess. They weren ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

I was expecting more I guess. They weren't bad, my food was good (pulled pork sandwich). My husband didn't like his ribs (said too dry) or the brisket( not a good texture). He even said he liked Mark's Feed Store better. BBQ is our favorite and for the price and overall taste, it wasn't good enough that we will probably try it again. It was a cute building and the service was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my first visit and I will be ba ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was my first visit and I will be back. A very comfortable atmosphere, good food, and very good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in town for one night. I'm glad I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was in town for one night. I'm glad I went here for my only dinner in town. BBQ was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

If you're a salmon fan, this is your pla ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

If you're a salmon fan, this is your place! Each time I have gone to Doc Crow's it has been perfectly prepared and the dish (as is) is incredibly well executed. Add the charm of their incredible servers and beautiful atmosphere, and you've got a winning combination!

Other items to indulge in would be: the collard greens, Oysters Rockefeller, shrimp, and brisket!

You can't make a bad choice here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I love this place! It is one of my all- ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I love this place! It is one of my all-time favorites.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from New Orleans, I was more than ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Being from New Orleans, I was more than pleased with the menu selections. All three of us enjoyed our meals and the experience, so we returned to the restaurant (that same evening) for a nightcap or two. We walked away just as pleased.

Tags: Great for Lunch, , Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been here multiple times in the past. Ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Been here multiple times in the past. Hate to say it but quality is falling off. Presentation sloppy and quality just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The service and food was great. I booked ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service and food was great. I booked the reservation for a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend, and even noted and called the hostess to make sure they knew it was a surprise. However, when we got there the hostess couldn't find our reservation and eventually ruined the surprise by telling my boyfriend and I our party was waiting for us in the back of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time visit with family and friends ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

First time visit with family and friends. Great service and ambiance. Excellent bbq offerings. Will try raw bar next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each of us thought our meals were great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Each of us thought our meals were great and we all agreed that the bread pudding is to "die for"!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little disappointing. Although it wasn' ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Little disappointing. Although it wasn't very busy when we arrived, the service was extraordinarily slow to start, but it did improve somewhat as the evening went on. The pulled pork was really fatty. In both the heapin' chips and my entree. The bill was reasonable, $158 for 6 people that included 2 glasses of wine and 2 cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Love the place.Have been know to eat the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love the place.Have been know to eat there twice in one day

Awesome for pre or post Ul games

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was horrible, service was lackluste ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was horrible, service was lackluster! Will not return back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great brisket, and I'm from Texas! Good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great brisket, and I'm from Texas! Good sides and lots of brown liquor. Give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The restaurant atmosphere and service wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere and service was great. The food not so much. Brisket was fair. Cole slaw was terrible ( no taste). Baked beans mediocre at best. Bread on po boy was good. Sweet potato fries were decent.

Side note. I'm not a picky eater. I had really looked forward to going. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My visit left alot to desire. The ribs, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My visit left alot to desire. The ribs, pulled pork and brisket were all disappointing. On a lighter note, the service was excellent. I would not give this establishment my business ever again. I have eaten smoked meats plenty of times in my life, and there are plenty of better options in Louisville.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food and service is ALWAYS on point! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food and service is ALWAYS on point! Doc Crow's NEVER disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was super ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was delicious and service was superb. Definitely will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience, service mediocre! We ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great Experience, service mediocre! We will come back to try it again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic experience, food, and server!! ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic experience, food, and server!!! We had a party of 6; we all enjoyed the entire experience!! Thank you!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful first time dining experience, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wonderful first time dining experience, it was excellent all the way through

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a business dinner. Not ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great place for a business dinner. Not too loud, great service, good food. Not to mention a great location. Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was alright. But the actual din ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was alright. But the actual dining area smelled like a urinal and the room was very hot.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We were down in the theater area for a c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were down in the theater area for a concert and wanted something close. Definitely a fun nightspot. The appetizers and drinks were great, but the brisket was really fatty and disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dining experience for a Holida ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for a Holiday get together! Service and food was great! Will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my work team here while at a con ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Brought my work team here while at a conference downtown. Quick service, friendly and we were able to have conversations without shouting. Food was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place -- it can be a little lo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love this place -- it can be a little loud, but the food and service are excellent, and the overall experience is fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit and was very pl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first visit and was very pleased with service and quality of food. We'll certainly return.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Serving staff did a great job taking car ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Serving staff did a great job taking care of our party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was way to loud , server not friendly ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

it was way to loud , server not friendly, told me I had 0.00 on my gift cards (although I knew better) I told her to get the manager to check it finally came back out and said both had money on them, food was just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

When we walked into the restaurant, the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

When we walked into the restaurant, the hostess was not very friendly or welcoming. Our server; however was great. Oysters were delicious. Sampler dinner was good, ribs just so so.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is actually pretty good. Our serv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is actually pretty good. Our server was fair. Ambience is poor. There is a front dining room with the bar, and a back dining room. Connecting these two rooms is basically a very wide hall with open viewing access to the kitchen. There are about 7 tables in this area. Two or three of these tables are directly across from the open kitchen. Despite making reservations ahead of time, we were seated at one of these tables. The noise level of clanging dishes and cooking utensils is loud and constant. It was pretty miserable. I could not wait to leave. I would not eat here again, despite food that was decent and at a fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I am a repeat customer of The smokehouse ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I am a repeat customer of The smokehouse and this visit had exceptional service. After arriving an hour earlier than the reservation, we were seated promptly with no question. The food was as expected and excellent. The service was great though the server was busy with some large tables.

I describe the restaurant as having excellent smoked meats, great cocktails, but to me, the stars of the show are the side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at Doctor Crows several time ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We've dined at Doctor Crows several times, the food is always good. The pulled pork and beef brisket are some of the best in the city. Our complaint is with the service. We feel invisible when we go. The server takes our order and we don't see them again until we ask for the check. This has happened on each of our visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

This is the second time eating at Doc Cr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is the second time eating at Doc Crows. I would have liked the seating to be more comfortable. The booths really need to be fixed and that took away from a more positive experience. Service was ok. The food came a bit rushed with apps and main course running into each other. I would have liked our wait person to have noticed that without us telling her we were not ready for our main course. Still, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the food good without pretense. That makes me happy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I arrived early for my reservation and t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I arrived early for my reservation and took a stool at the Bar. The bartender was very knowledgeable of their vast Bourbon collection. He served me 3 taste and all 3 were hits.

The Oysters Rockefeller were good but a bit small only 4. I ordered the pork chops with greens, the chops were crispy and juicy. The mashed potatoes were not seasons and the greens had a tad bit too much vinegar for my liking. overall a good dinner and service was good.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quick service, good food

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Quick service, good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic local place by the YUM center ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Fantastic local place by the YUM center and downtown activities. Oysters, beers and a wide selection of bourbons and wines. The food is comfort but with interesting twists of flavor. Appetizers to share or whole dinners and super salads. Always a place to stop in whenever in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, , Historic, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.