Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Phil Robinson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Comfort Food (26)
Fun (18)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great Beer (10)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Historic (5)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Waterfront (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great beer and bourbon selection and outstanding po-boys. Food came out hot and fries were crispy. They have an extensive menu. Will be back to work our way through it. Great location.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food. Oysters, fresh and plump. Mussels soaked in a delicious butter, wine, spices sauce. Barbecue meats lean, well smoked, not dry. Shrimp and grist with sausage in a spicy tomato based sauce--excellent. Worth a dinner. Go here to enjoy great food, lively and casual restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food! As you walk through the shotgun style restaurant you are greeted with a few different types of seating. First is the bar area, then you move beyond that to a small cramped seating area, from there you come upon two dimmed rows of romantic booth style seating. The last section was the largest of all; the main dining area. Well lit and full of interesting original and repurposed features. There was a lot of room for several large parties!

The food was all delicious!!! We ate oysters, barbecue, porkchops, mashed potatoes, fried okra, baked potato, and topped it all off with some comfy cow ice cream!

I would highly recommend the pulled pork sandwich and fried okra! The pulled pork was topped with coleslaw (Tennessee style) and tobacco onions (onion straws) and the Okra was breaded and seasoned with some seasoned salt! So tasty!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was delicious and the restaurant has a great vibe. FYI, the sides and main dishes are a la carte. They are still very reasonably priced.

I had two small children with me and got the impression that they were a nuisance to the waitress even though they were pretty quiet. Other than the cold shoulder from our waitress we really liked the place and loved the food. I'd come back again but maybe with just adults so I can order an adult beverage (never asked for my drink order).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The service was great and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Awesome service. Food was excellent and arrived at our table in timely matter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good food, great service. Raw oysters were delicious, as was the peel and eat shrimp. I had the tilapia and it was okay. The BBQ is average, nothing outstanding. The drinks were very good but would like to see some pre-selected tasting flights of bourbons on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We enjoyed oysters (all 3 varieties available on the date we visitsed) and they were fresh and tasty. I had the BBQ brisket which was good and my wife had a Burger.... which she enjoyed greatly! Our waiter guided me to a local beer to try bas ed upon my likes / dislikes. The atmosphere was lively and fun.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my husband's 31st birthday at Doc Crow's while visiting Kentucky. Our waitress was great, the food was awesome, and the vibe was casual. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went for a pre concert dinner. Time slot I wanted not available. So we went at 3pm. We didn't try the raw bar but the oysters Rockefeller looked divine. We had a burger (meh) and shrimp and grits. (Very good). Eclectic crowd. Friendly place. Enjoyed it very much

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our server's name was Adam! He was wonderful! My boss took me out for Administrative Assistant Day, and Adam was so friendly and sweet! Gave me a dessert for free for my special day! I KNOW I will come back, and ask for Adam. I am telling everyone I can about Doc Crows!! I will be back!! Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Cool place. Good location. Food was average at best. Wife's came out cold(got the stuffed potato), were not able to get a replacement before we left. Service was good. Didn't try any raw bar options. Overall very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Smoked wings were outstanding. Lunch was great too... had a salad with salmon that was delicious, my colleagues had barbecue and really enjoyed it. Doc's service is a little slow though, that's my only complaint. Every time I go there I always find myself waiting and waiting for the food to come out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I selected this restaurant based on recommendations from a couple of colleagues. The food was outstanding. One thing we didn't like was that they sat us right in front of the kitchen. The traffic and noise made conversations a little difficult and the people with their backs facing the aisle felt uncomfortable. I do plan to go back again and would recommend it to others.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had a great evening catching up with friends. We share the Heap 'n Chips as well as a yummy dessert. The pulled pork on the chips and on my tacos was great! No complaints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

On vacation absolutely loved the food last year and wanted to come back. The food was good this time but not as fabulous as before.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Busy on a Thursday but we had reservations so our table was ready. Some people were leaving because the wait at 7:30 was 45 minutes. Food was a little dry and not as hot as I would like. I still would recommend due to location and ambiance. We had a great time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

What a treat it was to dine tonight! Great service and AWESOME food!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Doc's is always busy and always good. It's a sure thing. Never had a bad meal. Never had lousy service. Never seen it without a critical mass of customers. It has a great downtown location and fabulous design. Had the smoked chicken this time, and it was great. Good whiskey list, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Doc Crows is a MUST when in Louisville! The Mint Julep Lemonade was a surprise and their twist on Nachos was amazing. Ask Joey for the "special old fashioned". Our bartender Joey was a recommendation from Matt Haymarket and did not disappoint!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Sat across from the kitchen - we all sweat the entire time. Service was super slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I never have a bad experience here. Never. My fave is the healing chips mixed with brisket and pork. So yum.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was delicious and service was great! I will be back and totally recommend to anyone spending time in Louisville!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter was awesome. We had a very good time and the service was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Was in town for biz and was recommended to me, BBQ food was great, good beer and whiskey selection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great time!! First time for our friends and they loved it! Food was excellent as usual. Recommend splitting The Bubba!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wanted a good meal downtown and Doc Crow's delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Thanks to the waiter I tried okra for the first time! I really enjoyed it and he was very helpful with questions of the area. We enjoyed our night there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was a very nice evening. We were celebrating a birthday, party of 4. Great variety in the menu and attentive customer service without pressure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Normally really enjoy going to Doc Crows and recommend it to everyone also this past week went and the food was lack luster at best. Heap'n chips were covered in brisket which was almost exclusively fat along with my baked potato. Fish poboy was also poorly fried with the breading falling off almost immediately making it incredibly hard to eat. Overall it was a very negative experience which is unlike my normal experience there but still not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always amazing food! Great service and great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food came fast even when they were very busy. Kids loved this place that they wanted to go back the next day. Same great food and service. Staff was wonderful. Next trip to Louisville definitely recommend going to Doc Crow's.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

In town on business and wanted BBQ

Major construction blocking the entrance to Doc Crow's - but I finally managed to find my way in

Decor is neighborhood bar - at least in the front section which was all that was open when I was there

Ordered sampler platter, fried ocra and onion rings

Food was brought out "piping hot" which I really appreciate - however, service overall was SLOW

The brisket was good, the pulled pork average (at best), the St. Louis half rack of ribs was very good - and the fried ocra was excellent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Ribs and smoked wings were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food, staff, and service. Enjoyed everything and nice selection of bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We wanted to try Doc Crow's after seeing the reviews. We were both disappointed and left feeling we at least had the experience of eating at a restaurant on Whiskey Row. It was impossible to hear to try to talk to each other, or to even be heard when trying to get the waiter's attention. We had reservations and we're seated in the area at the far back, so perhaps it was due to the high ceilings.
While my husband enjoyed his meal, I suspect they took the dry rub ribs and just added bbq sauce to them to serve as Louisville style. I strongly dislike dry rub, and finally gave up on my dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service was great! Our server made great recommendations, he told us what menu items to avoid, how refreshing to hear instead of "everything is excellent." Food was great, drinks were top notch!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The wait for our food was insane. It took so long by the time the food came we were not even hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Amazing food!!! Great Service. Every year during the Mid America Trucking Show I take our group here once or twice.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Went before UL home game. Quick & great service. Server gave good suggestions but I wanted to try gumbo. It was ok-needed some spice! To be fair-I used to live in New Orleans so I can be pretty picky on the gumbo! Roux tasted like brown gravy mix. Hubs got the park chops-good & juicy. Will try again but won't get the gumbo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.