Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Phil Robinson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Waterfront (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always love the oysters and unique menu options. We love having special date nights like anniversaries here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I've been here a few times, and it's always been great. I took my boyfriend for the first time, for his birthday and he really liked it. He had the fried pork chops and said they were awesome. I had the pulled pork sandwich, and it was just ok. I'd had it before and loved it. This time it was really wimpy. There was hardly any pulled pork on it and a bunch of it was fat and cartilage, that not only looked really gross, but was inedible, leaving even less meat. Luckily I didn't eat the bun and just ate the pork, slaw and fried onions off of the sandwich, so I didn't bite into the weird meat parts. I had beans and okra for my sides, which were an up-charge for one and an additional cost for the other... they were both good. And my cocktail was fantastic. Overall I do like this place and will go back. I will just more cautious of what I order.

Downside to the place is how sides aren't included with a lot of entrees so adding a few sides can really rack up the cost of the meal. Wish they would add more sides to meals, most other local, similar, places do. I mean if I got two sides included with a meal, I would be more apt to buy an additional cocktail or dessert. Just something to consider.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Dinner this last week at Doc Crow's for the first time. The food was excellent. I will be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

A great barbecue and raw bar! The food, especially the pulled pork, was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Was a enjoyable experience other than the server she seem to be in her own little world I would have second thoughts if she were my server again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent Shrimps and Grits! Pleasant staff as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Drinks and food good where able to take our group of 36 and provide good food and service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 6, 2017

It was a really nice atmosphere with amazing food and large portion sizes! We could not finish our food. Fast and great service.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I absolutely love Doc Crows!!! I went there to celebrate my 24th birthday, and my 15 guests and I had a great time. The food is GREAT, service was awesome, and they really went the extra mile to ensure that my guest and I were accomidated. Doc Crows is a great place to eat and dine with friends. Enjoy!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fun, Late-night Find, Authentic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Doc Crow's is a favorite of mine and always on my list of possibilities! Check it out when you are in the area or when you are looking for a place you've never been! You will be pleased with everything from the staff to the ambiance to the food! ENJOY!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a great meal at Doc Crow's last night! My wife and I came to Kentucky this weekend to explore the bourbon trail and Doc Crow's did not disappoint with its selection. They have a great southern style BBQ menu and big enough portions to share. Classic sides and southern desserts were a highlight. The ambiance was great, with exposed brick, high ceilings and a classic roadside diner feel with high end finishing. The oyster bar was a welcome treat. The only knock was that my wife's chicken sandwich was a bit chewy. Probably just one of those random menu items that just isn't great. I had the roasted BBQ chicken meal and it was great. I'd go back just for the baked beans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We enjoyed our meal of baby back ribs very much. The crab cake appetizer was delicious but seemed a bit $ for two small crab cakes - ($14). Also the menu item pricing is like a steakhouse - all the sides are extra. Didn't expect that.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ribs and cornbread are outstanding! Service is slow but friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Hubby love the baby backs ribs

Blacken tilapia and green beans just okay did not have the flavor I was expecting but am glad we tried something different

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Friendly Professional Service. Met our time line when we told her we had a ticket for a play.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Enjoyed the food...mac and cheese was the best ever.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was great. Atmosphere is fun. Our waiter was wonderful, but the hostess was pretty cranky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Large open dining area and plenty of space to accommodate groups. Certainly not over-priced and the food was excellent. Menu options were aplenty but we went with Freddy's recommendations and were not disappointed. If this gets to Freddy .... thanks for a great evening! Enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food. Fabulous service. Yummy oysters! My sister was in town from Nashville and they wanted a place with oysters. My brother-in-law raved over the food and service. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

There were seven of us and we had good food, good service, and good drinks. A great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 31, 2017

First Class! Made a great impression for business travelers coming to Louisville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great food and service. I had the fried oysters po boy. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We stopped for a quick lunch on a Sunday. Very quick service and friendly staff. The BBQ had good flavor and everyone left satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food was overdone. Ribs were dry and so was the overdone baked potato.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great place to sit and have a meal on Main Street. Convienet if you are going to an event at the Yum Center. The reserved table was ready when we arrived and the service was good. We have been there several times and they haven't disappointed in any way. Definitely recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great beer and bourbon selection and outstanding po-boys. Food came out hot and fries were crispy. They have an extensive menu. Will be back to work our way through it. Great location.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food. Oysters, fresh and plump. Mussels soaked in a delicious butter, wine, spices sauce. Barbecue meats lean, well smoked, not dry. Shrimp and grist with sausage in a spicy tomato based sauce--excellent. Worth a dinner. Go here to enjoy great food, lively and casual restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food! As you walk through the shotgun style restaurant you are greeted with a few different types of seating. First is the bar area, then you move beyond that to a small cramped seating area, from there you come upon two dimmed rows of romantic booth style seating. The last section was the largest of all; the main dining area. Well lit and full of interesting original and repurposed features. There was a lot of room for several large parties!

The food was all delicious!!! We ate oysters, barbecue, porkchops, mashed potatoes, fried okra, baked potato, and topped it all off with some comfy cow ice cream!

I would highly recommend the pulled pork sandwich and fried okra! The pulled pork was topped with coleslaw (Tennessee style) and tobacco onions (onion straws) and the Okra was breaded and seasoned with some seasoned salt! So tasty!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was delicious and the restaurant has a great vibe. FYI, the sides and main dishes are a la carte. They are still very reasonably priced.

I had two small children with me and got the impression that they were a nuisance to the waitress even though they were pretty quiet. Other than the cold shoulder from our waitress we really liked the place and loved the food. I'd come back again but maybe with just adults so I can order an adult beverage (never asked for my drink order).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The service was great and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Awesome service. Food was excellent and arrived at our table in timely matter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good food, great service. Raw oysters were delicious, as was the peel and eat shrimp. I had the tilapia and it was okay. The BBQ is average, nothing outstanding. The drinks were very good but would like to see some pre-selected tasting flights of bourbons on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We enjoyed oysters (all 3 varieties available on the date we visitsed) and they were fresh and tasty. I had the BBQ brisket which was good and my wife had a Burger.... which she enjoyed greatly! Our waiter guided me to a local beer to try bas ed upon my likes / dislikes. The atmosphere was lively and fun.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my husband's 31st birthday at Doc Crow's while visiting Kentucky. Our waitress was great, the food was awesome, and the vibe was casual. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went for a pre concert dinner. Time slot I wanted not available. So we went at 3pm. We didn't try the raw bar but the oysters Rockefeller looked divine. We had a burger (meh) and shrimp and grits. (Very good). Eclectic crowd. Friendly place. Enjoyed it very much

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our server's name was Adam! He was wonderful! My boss took me out for Administrative Assistant Day, and Adam was so friendly and sweet! Gave me a dessert for free for my special day! I KNOW I will come back, and ask for Adam. I am telling everyone I can about Doc Crows!! I will be back!! Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Cool place. Good location. Food was average at best. Wife's came out cold(got the stuffed potato), were not able to get a replacement before we left. Service was good. Didn't try any raw bar options. Overall very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Smoked wings were outstanding. Lunch was great too... had a salad with salmon that was delicious, my colleagues had barbecue and really enjoyed it. Doc's service is a little slow though, that's my only complaint. Every time I go there I always find myself waiting and waiting for the food to come out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I selected this restaurant based on recommendations from a couple of colleagues. The food was outstanding. One thing we didn't like was that they sat us right in front of the kitchen. The traffic and noise made conversations a little difficult and the people with their backs facing the aisle felt uncomfortable. I do plan to go back again and would recommend it to others.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.