About District - Oakland

827 Washington Street
Oakland, CA 94607
View Larger Map

District is a wine & whiskey bar and restaurant located in Downtown Old Oakland. We offer an eclectic menu of small, shareable plates, house made charcuterie and pizza that pair well with our extensive list of wines and whiskeys by the glass and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Fri: 4:00pm - Close
Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 272-9110

Website:
http://www.districtoak.com/

Public Transit:
District is located at the corner of 9th and Washington and is only 3 blocks from the 12th St. Bart station.

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (7)
Tapas (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Live Sports (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good, but the restaurant wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good, but the restaurant was slammed, and so our server was overwhelmed, and didn't take our food order for over 30 minutes, then forgot a few second-round cocktails that were ordered. It wasn't her fault, but our service was lacking, and the restaurant was clearly short-handed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Went for Valentine's Day and were treate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day and were treated to Cecilia Long and Dave Bell playing/singing jazz! Relaxing and great hanger steak and stuffed figs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience for Valentines ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Had an amazing experience for Valentines day. Our waitress was fantastic and the food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought the wait staff was excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We thought the wait staff was excellent and the food and drinks delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, , Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good. Liked the ambian ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was very good. Liked the ambiance. A little loud but could hear my date clearly. Waitress was a character though. Big oversharer. Also needed one more person on the floor at peak time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I can't believe we haven't been here bef ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I can't believe we haven't been here before. We loved the decor, ambience, service, etc. Specifically, we had many of the dishes and all were wonderful - ceviche, grilled avocado, lamb meatballs, very best potato fries, bread, burrata, tuna poke, wine cocktails, mocktails, sparkling water - ALL STELLAR. Our waitperson was delightful. We eat out a lot in our neighborhood (Grand Lake), but I'm ready to go back to District every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really wish they didn't have a large T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really wish they didn't have a large TV. It sort of made it a little tacky-sports-bar-like. And the place was a little cold. Other than that I really liked it. Good ambiance, nice staff and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A group of friends wanted to experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A group of friends wanted to experience a new place for restaurant week in Oakland. The scene was vibrant and energetic - a good place to hang out and have a cocktail. Not sure if it was the food that was offered for restaurant week or that was the consistency of the food on the norm. The beets in my salad were under done - al dente beets are not a good thing. The pork loin was overdone - dry. The sauce was alright but did not make up for the dry pork loin. Pot de creme is suppose to be firm, silky and custard-like in texture - theirs was runny, almost like melted ice cream. We were not impressed. I was not turned off by anything, and might be willing to give them another chance. However, there are so many other places in Oakland to try, it might be a long time before we get around to giving District another go around. I'm on the fence for recommending this place. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great at the same time. I guess that's what restaurant week is all about - being able to try new places without breaking the bank.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We made a reservation on a Monday night ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We made a reservation on a Monday night for Oakland Restaurant week. We waited at the door for at least 5 minutes. The server appeared to be the only one on the floor, and busy, so we can't blame her. A busser came up to help us find a table. We sat for at least 10 minutes until I went to the bar to get a menu. After another 10 minutes of no attention, water, word or anything, we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome place. The servers and guy with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Awesome place. The servers and guy with beard that helped us was awesome even though he was not supposed to be working that night. We appreciated the accommodations that they gave us with such a big group. Great choices of Bourbon! Thank you :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ambiance is nice love the setting an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Ambiance is nice love the setting and the vibe I will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lounge vibe for eating drinking an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great lounge vibe for eating drinking and conversing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food every time I go there. This t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food every time I go there. This time, I discovered the bread pudding. I like bread putting, but typically I view it as another meal after the main meal, so I don't order it very often. But my friends insisted, and the portion was quite large. Amazingly, it was very light, not heavy, and extremely delicious. We ate the whole thing. And I did not feel over-stuff by it. The chefs grand charcuterie is a real delight, Great to split with friends. We loved the brussels sprouts, and the stuffed mission figs were fantastic. We did the happy hour half dozen oysters, and they were fresh, cold and delicious. You really can't beat this place. And the drinks were excellent too.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you arrive late for brunch, they may ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

If you arrive late for brunch, they may have run out of some of the food items.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is really good for bar food. We did ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food is really good for bar food. We didn't order drinks so our waitress ignored us, never once checking on us and we were out of water far before our meal was over and they just cleared our glasses without even asking if we'd like more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Light fare and vibrant bar drinks. Way t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Light fare and vibrant bar drinks. Way too pricey for the food but cool spot. I'd go back for drinks with a friend but not for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Was great food. Unfortunately service no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Was great food. Unfortunately service not so great. We had a reservation but somehow the restaurant did not know. When told them we had a reservation the host did not believe we had made one. Finally seated us at a tiny table under the TV and then asked to see our reservation on my phone. After that it seemed like they had wished we didn't have a reservation. Again the food was great price was right. They just made it awkward.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We arrived at opening time and the crew ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We arrived at opening time and the crew seemed very confused. Rain was predicted all day yet they did not seem to have a plan to seat reservations without their patio.

Once seated at a high top, which was not really comfortable, we had great service. Mimosas were fine but the food was just okay. Most items on the buffet were not hot and nothing was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Incredible food, great service, servers ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Incredible food, great service, servers are friendly and present just enough that's its not too much.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for the first time for bottoml ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Came here for the first time for bottomless mimosas (part of brunch!) -- and was not disappointed! The food was fresh, flavorful and they had a wide variety! We sat outside - weather was great -- people were very friendly!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for a light dinner and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great place to go for a light dinner and excellent truffle fries! Be sure to get a reservation for dining as seats tend to go quickly around 8:45/9 and later. Excellent menu selection and wonderful beers on tap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific atmosphere, food happy-hour oys ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Terrific atmosphere, food happy-hour oysters and a great view of a fabulous Giants victory! Definitely will return for probably the twentieth time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second consecutive Sunday brunch at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My second consecutive Sunday brunch at District did not disappoint. The food, while not a lot to choose from was very good and fresh which is more important. The bottomless mimosas were terrific with a variety of juices to choose from....and our server Madison was very attentive and accommodating. A good solid choice for brunch.....I'll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a fun, hip place with great food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Just a fun, hip place with great food and service. Ask for Madison on Wednesday nights or Sunday brunch!

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great whiskey, service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Awesome food, great whiskey, service was slow. Could definitely hire a few more wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Hanging out with my sister and she said ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Hanging out with my sister and she said she heard The District was a great spot, I was more than happy to go since I had been there 3 times before. It did not disappoint. Great peach mimosa; great buffet with pancakes, eggs, cheesy grits, BACON and more.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good but being told three times ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overall good but being told three times about the 90 minute brunch limit made me feel rushed. I came for brunch with girlfriends that I've known 30+ years so more time would have been nice. I understand that they want to make it clear but I would say don't come here for a leisurely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for the brunch. The buffet is decen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for the brunch. The buffet is decent, especially if you like grits. The best part though is the bottomless mimosas and the staff. The staff is very attentive for a buffet brunch service and really friendly. They made brunch a really good experience and I would go back in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and we ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we had a nice time over drinks and great food. The dishes were tasty and the service was outstanding. Our server was attentive and nice. My only comment was we were cramped sitting next to another party behind us. They needed a lot more space and we were already squeezed into our tables and it was still not enough room for them. It made for a very uncomfortable evening and sadly there weren't any other four tops that evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed at the services and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were disappointed at the services and food selection. The noise level was very high and we have to shout across the table to converse. The services were never around when needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Brunch here is the worst I've had since ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch here is the worst I've had since returning to the Bay Area over a year ago! The only positive experience was the service and atmosphere/ambiance. The food...AWFUL!The eggs, pancakes, potatoes, and meats were cold, collard greens needed seasoning and to be cooked a tad longer. Worst of all the chocolate bread pudding was mushy/soggy. The mimosas were pretty good, but how can you really mess them up?!

I'd come back for happy hour but never for brunch!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We had been to District several times an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had been to District several times and really enjoyed the experience on prior occasions; our family had considered it one of our top 5 restaurants. Tonight, however, the service was so poor that the entire meal felt like a struggle. After getting seated, we waited 15 minutes for someone to come to our table and finally flagged down the hostess to take our order. She apologized and indicated that they were experiencing a rush, although the place was only half full and no other parties had entered after us. Most of the food came very quickly, actually so fast that all of the appetizer and entree dishes arrived at once and there was no way to put them all on the table. Then it took about 20 minutes to get someone to resolve a simple issue with one of our drinks (we ordered a Sprite and instead got plain soda water), although three separate servers seemed to be working on it. Inexplicably, one of our dishes came about 40 minutes after everything else arrived. The pacing was so uncertain that we felt compelled to ask for the check as soon as we had all our main dishes, whereas in a better situation we'd have stayed for dessert. The food wasn't as good as we remembered from before, and with the service problems I really doubt we'll return. Maybe in a couple of years we'll try again if they are still there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The waiter was great, but I believe the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The waiter was great, but I believe the manager was rude and horrible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Thanks for a fantastic night out, Distri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thanks for a fantastic night out, District! We wined and dined in style. Super easy reservation and check-in process, the waitress was accommodating and gracious with our questions and requests. Good value on the wine on tap, and interesting tapas-style dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit - very satisfied. Int ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visit - very satisfied. Interesting menu and good food that really works for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seating is not great for large parties b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Seating is not great for large parties but the food was great! Chicken sausage for those who don't eat pork.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Noisy and raucus, but food and drink were nice

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had picked this place to eat and meet and get up to date on our mutual interests. Expecting a typical Friday night crowd, but with the Warriors playoff game on two big screens, it was particularly packed. Our server was pleasant, though there was some difficulty understanding her. Food was very good. Will come back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Def ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Definitely going back. Sonja, our server was great. The neighborhood has really cleaned up. Nice area and choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Definitely Your Average Birthday Dinner

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We reserved a table for our friend's birthday get-together & made a note of that when making the reservation. She's a huge foodie, owns her own pastry shop + loves a well-stocked bar. There was a Warrior's game on that night so we knew it would be busy & noisy but the fact that we were ignored for a good 5 minutes standing at the door when we walked in was a bit rude. A few members of the staff were standing around just talking to patrons (not serving or taking orders - just chatting) so we awkwardly stood waiting at the entry to see which table we could sit down at that might not be reserved. In the end they put us in the furthest darkest corner, but hey at least we had a table. We wanted to order from the Happy Hour menu since we still had about 20 minutes of time to do so when we arrived. But since we were ignored for a good 5 minutes when we walked in & then for another 5 minutes once we were seated we only had 5 minutes left to order before we knew they would cut off those offerings. We flagged down a busboy to order who told us they would grab a waitress to take our order so by the time she came we could really only put in 3/5 drink orders for our party and 2 food items (which as a FYI the HH menu bites are super tiny & usually come in pairs so order more than 1 for parties of 3 or more) with her before she promptly walked away even before we were finished ordering. Also if you as an establishment don't offer a particular option it's usually courteous to suggest a few other options you do carry at the bar instead of saying "we don't have that" & just walking away from your customers. In the end I would say the food was delicious & pricey but the poor service (except for one of the female waitresses who we flagged down on our own/mostly manning the other side of the room was absolutely helpful in our ordering choices) is just not worth coming back for. My friend enjoyed the food for her birthday meal but was noticeably disappointed in the service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Loved the wines

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved the wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.