Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About District - Oakland

District is a wine & whiskey bar and restaurant located in Downtown Old Oakland. We offer an eclectic menu of small, shareable plates, house made charcuterie and pizza that pair well with our extensive list of wines and whiskeys by the glass and craft beers.

827 Washington Street
Oakland, CA 94607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Fri: 4:00pm - Close
Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 272-9110

Website:
http://www.districtoak.com/

Public Transit:
District is located at the corner of 9th and Washington and is only 3 blocks from the 12th St. Bart station.

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tapas (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sorry, I was not happy with the food. Wanted something more than lettuce for a salad. I felt it was over priced for what was served.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

i WENT WITH FAMILY AND MY 90 YEAR OLD MOTHER FOR DINNER, IT WAS NOT FOR US, WITHOUT HER AND JUST FAMILY AND FRIENDS HANGING OUT EXCELLENT. Sorry did not know about the place and its atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

Hm ended up being fairly expensive; even w happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We came here in the late afternoon after a local concert and were blown away by the delicious dishes. Everything was tasty and inventive. We like small dishes. Among the ones we got were fennel salad, Brussels sprouts, beef sliders, lamb meat balls.

We ordered the house wine (1 white and 1 red) but were good.

We came in around 6pm on a Saturday evening and the place was mellow. It's a good space and I imagine that it's jumping later in the evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Happy hour menu- oysters extremely tiny with no flavor. Honesty they were a thin membrane. Prosciutto fig app- gross. Champagne served cold.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Wonderful, lively, eclectically diverse restaurant with a gorgeous bar, a FABULOUS wine/cocktail/beer selection, amazingly varied and comfortable seating, and delicious food. We were there during brunch, so it was a bit over-the-top regarding noise levels (LOTS of very happy people!), but the loud environment wouldn't deter us from going back for more delicious food & drink...see you again soon, District!!!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food and drinks were really good. The amosphere was really cool also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary in Oakland! A good friend of ours recommend this restaurant...She knows how picky I am and was so on point! We loved the food, service, drinks and venue so much!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food section, really good drinks but the service was a little slow and the music come 9pm was just obnoxiously loud.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

District was great as always. It is our go to restaurant before the warriors games. They have a big screen tv for the nights that the Dubs are on the road. The craft cocktails are always good but the bar can get busy so order two when you first get there so you don't have to wait for your second drink! All the food is consistent, but the pizza is the Best. The crust can't be beat. My wife is a pizza afficianado and this is her favorite pizza place-note: we have had pizza all over the bay area and this pizza is the Best. Sliders are delicious. This is a fun place if you go with a group and like to share food. Go enjoy, love the atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was okay, wish we would have researched more. The food is VERY small bites and so-so. I prob will not go back unless I'm just getting a drink with friends before going out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

There seemed to be some conflict with whether District is a bar with a restaurant or a restaurant with a bar. There was no dining room, the 2 top that we were at was wobbly and we were surrounded by bar patrons. There was a extremely long wait for drinks, the food was mediocre at best and we left after 2 small plates.

this is a bar not a restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was extremely slow. I won't be back. We waited for water, drinks, refills, and everything in between. Servers were nice but just didn't have it down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was fab, huge variety of choices from avocado tempura to gorgonzola stuffed figs. Even though it was our last shared dish, the maple bacon flatbread is not to be missed. Also loved our server's wine suggestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Brunch was fun although they should've pre-planned for a larger than usual Sunday brunch crowd given it was the day before a holiday. Brunch is served buffet style and there was never a time when all of the food was available at one time (with over 1 hour prior to the end of brunch). WHO RUNS OUT OF BACON???? Uggggh. Both times that I went for a plate, I was left scraping for the left overs. The food is really good by the way. What made it tolerable is that the host doesn't mind pitching in and he made sure our table had plenty of mimosas (which always makes everything alright), and he does it with a smile. Our actual server....not so much. She was probably overwhelmed, but after seating us, she only stopped by our table to say that brunch was almost over (last call), and to drop off/pick up the check. All in all though, it's a fun spot and I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was good, but the restaurant was slammed, and so our server was overwhelmed, and didn't take our food order for over 30 minutes, then forgot a few second-round cocktails that were ordered. It wasn't her fault, but our service was lacking, and the restaurant was clearly short-handed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day and were treated to Cecilia Long and Dave Bell playing/singing jazz! Relaxing and great hanger steak and stuffed figs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had an amazing experience for Valentines day. Our waitress was fantastic and the food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We thought the wait staff was excellent and the food and drinks delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was very good. Liked the ambiance. A little loud but could hear my date clearly. Waitress was a character though. Big oversharer. Also needed one more person on the floor at peak time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I can't believe we haven't been here before. We loved the decor, ambience, service, etc. Specifically, we had many of the dishes and all were wonderful - ceviche, grilled avocado, lamb meatballs, very best potato fries, bread, burrata, tuna poke, wine cocktails, mocktails, sparkling water - ALL STELLAR. Our waitperson was delightful. We eat out a lot in our neighborhood (Grand Lake), but I'm ready to go back to District every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really wish they didn't have a large TV. It sort of made it a little tacky-sports-bar-like. And the place was a little cold. Other than that I really liked it. Good ambiance, nice staff and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A group of friends wanted to experience a new place for restaurant week in Oakland. The scene was vibrant and energetic - a good place to hang out and have a cocktail. Not sure if it was the food that was offered for restaurant week or that was the consistency of the food on the norm. The beets in my salad were under done - al dente beets are not a good thing. The pork loin was overdone - dry. The sauce was alright but did not make up for the dry pork loin. Pot de creme is suppose to be firm, silky and custard-like in texture - theirs was runny, almost like melted ice cream. We were not impressed. I was not turned off by anything, and might be willing to give them another chance. However, there are so many other places in Oakland to try, it might be a long time before we get around to giving District another go around. I'm on the fence for recommending this place. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great at the same time. I guess that's what restaurant week is all about - being able to try new places without breaking the bank.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We made a reservation on a Monday night for Oakland Restaurant week. We waited at the door for at least 5 minutes. The server appeared to be the only one on the floor, and busy, so we can't blame her. A busser came up to help us find a table. We sat for at least 10 minutes until I went to the bar to get a menu. After another 10 minutes of no attention, water, word or anything, we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Awesome place. The servers and guy with beard that helped us was awesome even though he was not supposed to be working that night. We appreciated the accommodations that they gave us with such a big group. Great choices of Bourbon! Thank you :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Ambiance is nice love the setting and the vibe I will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great lounge vibe for eating drinking and conversing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food every time I go there. This time, I discovered the bread pudding. I like bread putting, but typically I view it as another meal after the main meal, so I don't order it very often. But my friends insisted, and the portion was quite large. Amazingly, it was very light, not heavy, and extremely delicious. We ate the whole thing. And I did not feel over-stuff by it. The chefs grand charcuterie is a real delight, Great to split with friends. We loved the brussels sprouts, and the stuffed mission figs were fantastic. We did the happy hour half dozen oysters, and they were fresh, cold and delicious. You really can't beat this place. And the drinks were excellent too.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

If you arrive late for brunch, they may have run out of some of the food items.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food is really good for bar food. We didn't order drinks so our waitress ignored us, never once checking on us and we were out of water far before our meal was over and they just cleared our glasses without even asking if we'd like more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Light fare and vibrant bar drinks. Way too pricey for the food but cool spot. I'd go back for drinks with a friend but not for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Was great food. Unfortunately service not so great. We had a reservation but somehow the restaurant did not know. When told them we had a reservation the host did not believe we had made one. Finally seated us at a tiny table under the TV and then asked to see our reservation on my phone. After that it seemed like they had wished we didn't have a reservation. Again the food was great price was right. They just made it awkward.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We arrived at opening time and the crew seemed very confused. Rain was predicted all day yet they did not seem to have a plan to seat reservations without their patio.
Once seated at a high top, which was not really comfortable, we had great service. Mimosas were fine but the food was just okay. Most items on the buffet were not hot and nothing was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Incredible food, great service, servers are friendly and present just enough that's its not too much.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Came here for the first time for bottomless mimosas (part of brunch!) -- and was not disappointed! The food was fresh, flavorful and they had a wide variety! We sat outside - weather was great -- people were very friendly!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great place to go for a light dinner and excellent truffle fries! Be sure to get a reservation for dining as seats tend to go quickly around 8:45/9 and later. Excellent menu selection and wonderful beers on tap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Terrific atmosphere, food happy-hour oysters and a great view of a fabulous Giants victory! Definitely will return for probably the twentieth time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My second consecutive Sunday brunch at District did not disappoint. The food, while not a lot to choose from was very good and fresh which is more important. The bottomless mimosas were terrific with a variety of juices to choose from....and our server Madison was very attentive and accommodating. A good solid choice for brunch.....I'll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Just a fun, hip place with great food and service. Ask for Madison on Wednesday nights or Sunday brunch!

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Awesome food, great whiskey, service was slow. Could definitely hire a few more wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.