Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (76)
Comfort Food (65)
Fun (50)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (44)
Great Beer (41)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Family Style (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Authentic (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Kid-friendly (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Quick Bite (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Spicy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Live Sports (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Live Music (12)
Business Meals (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Historic (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
 (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Canadians here for a Buffalo weekend. Really good food at Dinosaur, delicious wings, chicken, pulled brisket. Fast seating. Service was a bit slow, but we were well attended to by our server and never felt "abondonded." Overall enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great family dinner. Something for every age group. Fun environment. No worries about having children here. Server was fantastic!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant. Service very good. Menu has great barbeque & variety of sides.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food. Good service. Wait staff pleasant. Service quick

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome food! I've been to the Dinosaur several times and have always had an amazing meal! Everything on the menu has its own unique "old school" barbecue favor! And have always found their staff to be extremely accomadating. Also was very impressed with how quickly our food arrived.,even though the joint was packed!
J.Manger

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent ambiance and service. Make sure you like your meat SMOKEY before eating here. Tasty and tender, but very smoked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Server, Eric was outstanding! Ribs were excellent. We did not care for the macaroni and cheese. Overall s great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good. Hot and good size portion of meat. I had beef brisket dinner and girlfriend had 1/2 rack of ribs. Waitress forgot our drinks, but also removed charge for my sweet tea without us asking her too. She didn't have to, but thanks. Overall, would love to go back when live music is playing. Two forks up to the Dinosaur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The ribs were out of this world, service could've been better.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our first time at Din. BBQ and we loved it. Great server, great food and prices, food came quickly, and the desserts are homemade and excellent. We had a really nice time, before going to Shea's. We'll go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Over the top portions, stellar ribs and pulled pork. Be prepared to share for best experience

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It is a great place for friends and family, deep in the heart of buffalo.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious. It was hard to choose one dish. So we shared several!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Dinosaur wins again! You need a BBQ fix in Buffalo, this is the place. Ribs were outstanding tonight. Try the BBQ fried rice, it is so good! Fast service, great food, free parks no behind the restaurant, what's not to love folks....

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love the fact that there is one here in Buffalo now. We used to go to Rochester 2 or 3 times a year, and now we can go more often. I especially like the fact that they put black beans and rice on the menu. The food is sooooo good, and cannot beat the prices for what you get. You can dress down, or dress up, and always feel welcome. The ribs are to die for. Love the combo menu, so you can get more than one item for a low price. Thank you Dinasaur Bar B Q.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I had dinner with another couple after a show at Shea's. Because it was later on a Friday there was live music, which made the place rather loud, but the atmosphere was fun. Sides could use some revamping. Greens had a sweet almost pickled taste. NOT TYPICAL SOUTHERN, COMFORT style. BRING BACK THE BLACK-EYED GREENS. Meat was excellent, as always. Eric was very attentive, checking on us frequently and keeping our drinks full. Overall, VERY enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

There was a live trivia event and it was very loud and a bit annoying to talk above. Our server was just ok. Seemed to be rushed as the place was pretty busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

As always, a great experience at Dino. We love the food. We just wish there were more large sharing/sampler plates. We had the fried green tomatoes this time - they were delicious! Very crispy, and the aioli sauce that came with them was so yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great. The food could have been served at a hotter temperature

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Best deviled eggs ever! Catfish was delicious. My son loved the ribs. It was very busy when we went but the service did not skip the beat. Great experience all around.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was delicious!!! We ordered the family BBQ and it fed my family with left overs! The applesauce tasted home made and the salt potatoes were yummy!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, great price, great service. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have been to the Dinasour in Rochester many times and this place is better! The food was very good. My ribs were the best I have ever had. Not so much the macaroni and cheese. Too heavy for me but good. The waitress was wonderful. She was very pleasant and right on point when waiting on us. Would absolutely go back there

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very quick service. Food was good. A chain restaurant feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The tables are old and need to be refinished, making them sticky. Our waiter seemed to be in a hurry. It was a theater night and we prefer to take our time. We didn't stay because we felt rushed to finish. The food is excellent! We like the sweetheart special of ribs, great deal for two!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husbands birthday! His favorite is barbecue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and great service.... was quite loud so it was difficult to have a conversation...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Never disappoints best damn BBQ in the land! Tried the cold smoked then grilled NY strip steak & it was phenomenal as only Dino can do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food at the Dinosaur was absolutely amazing. If you like BBQ, this is the place for you. As a side note, I am Gluten Free. I made my reservation through Open Table and noted that there would be a Gluten Free diner. I was greeted with a Gluten Free menu, immediately upon being seated!! The BBQ sauce is gluten free, so I was able to enjoy the BBQ. However, 2 small changes that I would recommend. First- please keep gluten free rolls in your freezer. I will pay EXTRA to be able to have a sandwich!!! Second- corn bread is traditionally GLUTEN FREE. Please make it in a way so that someone with a dietary restriction can enjoy it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love Dinosaur BBQ food but our reservation was lost, wee bit embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Really enjoyed their food. They add a unique flare to their bbq options, unlike other places. The cajun corn was sooo good! And their ribs. Will be back. Great atmosphere, family friendly, not too pricey!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We used to go all the way to Rochester for the food. NOW, just minutes away from us. We love the barbque, food is so tasty. Also glad to find out that you now serve black beans and rice. I always had that at the other restuarant, now I am happy. Also EVERY YEAR, my wife takes me there for my Birthday, as I insist. The food is so tasty, and lots to choose from.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious food! Live music got pretty loud, but that is to be expected with good blues music. Meats have gotten much better since last I was there. Sweet tea is cloyingly sweet, but half sweet half unsweet is perfection. Overall an very good meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent. This is real southern pit barbecue and some of the best in the Northeast. Portions are. Good sized so bring your appetite. Good value for the money. Service very good. The hostess was very personable and took a real interest in that we were satisfied. Highly recommend this place for Barbecue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This restaurant was a highlight of our weekend visit to Buffalo.
Had a great meal with friends and would definitely go back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Family Style, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Solid food as always. Fried Green Tomatoes are our favorite!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Made a reservation for 8 for a Friday night at 9:00 before a show at Shea's. We were sat right at 9:00 and our service was impeccable. Our waitress was fantastic and the food was great. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and beer for a pre concert meal!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was an ok experience. Was our first time going. The booths were cramped and uncomfortable. The food was average. Our waiter was the only positive part of our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I love the atmosphere of the Dinosaur bbq. Staff is always helpful and friendly. Food is always great and served quick. Worth the drive from Canada!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Casual, Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.