About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (40)
Comfort Food (32)
Fun (32)
See All
Great Beer (22)
Kid-friendly (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Family Style (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Authentic (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Live Music (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Live Sports (8)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Spicy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed a very tasty lunch on Valenti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a very tasty lunch on Valentine's Day. Food and service were both excellent. Our server's bubbly personality certainly enhanced the dining experience. Everything we ate was delicious but the fried green tomatoes and smoked chicken wings were outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food & service was great. their homemad ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

food & service was great. their homemade french fries were fantastic! i definitely would go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, , Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm glad I made the table reservation at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I'm glad I made the table reservation at that time because by the time we sat down in 10 minutes people were waiting for a seat. We got our food in 15 minutes had to be the fast time ever. We had dinosaur Bar-B-Que at the New York State fair.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From ordering to being served our food w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

From ordering to being served our food was very fast. Service was ok. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Service was quick, food was good, waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was quick, food was good, waiter was friendly nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very good. The restaurant is nic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food is very good. The restaurant is nice and clean. There is something for everyone to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always good The brisket is out ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food is always good The brisket is outstanding !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to the Dinosaur BBQ restaura ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been to the Dinosaur BBQ restaurants in both Rochester and Syracuse so I felt my experience would be equal, I was wrong. We were celebrating our friends birthday so I thought this would be a fun place to go. The overall atmosphere was the same with the exception of the music, it was too loud. The food was awful, overdone, dry and sparse. We ordered poutine, it was French fries sparsely covered in gravy with very little cheese. I ordered a combo platter, the meat was dry and tough. The macaroni and cheese was hard and dry. The beans and cornbread were really good. My guests had never been to Dinosaur BBQ and after our experience I'm sure they won't return. Our Waitress was wonderful, she was full of personality and knowledge.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and our waitress was fabulous ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and our waitress was fabulous ! The hostess was a bit of a ditz - never marked our reservation that we showed up and sat us in a corner, felt like I was in a time out. When asked if we could move, she said there wasnt anything available.... there were plenty of seats, it was only 430pm and they did not get really start getting busier till 530. Our waitress was a a real gem and very helpful. Good food for the price! I would not take younger kids there however as their bartenders(females) and one waitress in particular (not ours) barely had their "top half" covered and it was like a free show.... not professional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fun, excellent relaxed service, te ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great fun, excellent relaxed service, terrific food!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Family Style, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food has been and again was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service and food has been and again was wonderful, for a place that is so busy, you expect things to go wrong but they don't. We have been here before and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the food. Very delicious and filli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved the food. Very delicious and filling. Nice variety of different beers. I liked that they explained the flavors. My only complaint would be that it can get very loud so it makes it hard to hear when conversing so you have to lean in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit. Although our wai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was our first visit. Although our waitress was a litle peculiar, and a tad bit unprofessional, and we had an issue with one of our dishes, the manager quickly and efficiently rectified the situation. He was very accommodating and did everything to make the situation right which showed excellent customer service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was by far the worst experience I h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was by far the worst experience I have ever had. This was for a special occasion and it was absolutely horrible. The service was rude and out of line. Then to top it off the food was less then par. Its way over priced for portion size then it was cold and dried up almost as if it was pre made on the plate way before it was actually ordered. Needless to say don't waste the time or money, I know I never will again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Unlike some places that just slap the sa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Unlike some places that just slap the same sauce on a bunch of different meats, Dinosaur's dishes are all unique and 'hand-crafted'. Great place, excellent service, we go there all the time before the theater.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time at the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was the first time at the restaurant and we enjoyed it very much. The server was so nice and friendly along with being very helpful with the menu. She was a joy to have as our server.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Jimmy, was amazing! They gav ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our server, Jimmy, was amazing! They gave us anow allergy plate and made sure that our daughter had 0 exposure to peanuts. We had an amazing meal!

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waiter was terrific; very friendly a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

our waiter was terrific; very friendly and pleasant

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the ribs! Never pass on the peanut ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love the ribs! Never pass on the peanut butter pie!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Table, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Table, was a little sticky but other than that the food was good and so was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was outstanding the waitress wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

the food was outstanding the waitress was great and the manger was very freindly this was a number 1 experiance

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Dinosaur BBQ. The food i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We always love Dinosaur BBQ. The food is great, the atmosphere is fun and the tap beer selection is great. The service is good and the food comes to the table fast, hot and good. The servings are plentiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

For New Year's Eve, we dined at the Dino ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Year's Eve, we dined at the Dinosaur Bar-B-Q in Columbus. It was a great place to take our two teenagers, and with a fun staff, inviting atmosphere and excellent food - we were very happy with our choice! We walked from our hotel (Embassy Suites) so the restaurant is very "within walking distance" of downtown Buffalo. Highly recommend a great value, for some excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for great food! Very frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A great place for great food! Very friendly staff! The atmosphere was casual with a feel of a down home barbecue! I will be a repeat customer for sure!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Business Meals, , Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun dining experience. Friendly staff s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun dining experience. Friendly staff snd nice overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Really relaxing and delicious BBQ. Our ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really relaxing and delicious BBQ. Our server was very personable and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great dinner. Great venue. Cool place!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great dinner. Great venue. Cool place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I liked the quick seating, friendly and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I liked the quick seating, friendly and informative waitresses. The food was outstanding. You cannot beat the quick service. We ordered and were served in less than 15 minutes.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinosaur BBQ is my favorite BBQ restaura ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Dinosaur BBQ is my favorite BBQ restaurant starting in Syracuse and now trying to visit the other locations. First time here in Buffalo location and as always love it! Especially enjoy the Wango Tango Wings and Tres Ninas! Service great and food cannot be beat! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food good service always go to Dino ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

good food good service always go to Dino efore sabres games

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinosaur was referenced as a great place ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinosaur was referenced as a great place to eat by a friend. We agree with that recommendation and enjoyed the food and staff. Would have given the food a 5 star but the New England clam chowder was overly salty and the cajun brussel sprouts lacked any definitive flavour. Otherwise the ribs, corn bread and other sides were exceptional.

We will be back!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!! I would travel from Eri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delicious food!! I would travel from Erie Pennsylvania just to eat there. A friend was able to eat and enjoy gluten-free wings for the first time in over 10 years!! A great place to eat!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The place was packed but we were seated ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The place was packed but we were seated on time for our reservations. Waitress was exceptional: helpful and friendly, stopped by several times at each of her tables even though her area was full. Food was awesome, as always and was delivered in a timely fashion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ribs were good not great. The corn-roas ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Ribs were good not great. The corn-roasted zucchini dish was interesting but overly spicy. Cheesecake was delicious and generous enough to share. Our waiter, Eric, was fun and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great ambience at reasonable price. If ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great ambience at reasonable price. If you like semi-bland food, this is not the place. The food here is oozing with flavours. I ordered the pork and it is succulent and flavourful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here before but I took my bo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I have been here before but I took my boyfriend here for his birthday dinner since he loves BBQ. He has never been and absolutely loved it.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, , Great Beer, Live Music, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among my favorite restaurants. Always i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Among my favorite restaurants. Always incredible food and friendly service. Best BBQ I have had.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

server was very busy with large groups b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

server was very busy with large groups but still managed to serve us well, Our food came out hot and very timely since we had a show to attend near by time was important. The ribs and pulled pork were very satisfying and the creole deviled eggs as an appetizer I would recommend.

we would return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived a few minutes early for our r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early for our reservation... dinner before the Joe Bonamassa concert a Shea's Buffalo. The restaurant is very convenient for a night out at Shea's! The hostess seated us right away- party of five at a perfect table! All had a beer from the great beer list- had a couple of Jameson's too. Food came quickly and was fantastic- nobody does Q like The Dinosaur. The waitress was friendly and attentive- great experience! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, , Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs are not as meaty as they used t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The ribs are not as meaty as they used to be and tend to be dry instead of juicy

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.