Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (35)
Fun (33)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Comfort Food (28)
Great Beer (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Authentic (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Live Music (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Live Sports (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
People Watching (7)
Spicy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

ribs were not fresh, dry and not the best tasting. have been at this restaurant on a number of occasions - always very good. disappointed this time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was good, waiter was great - overall a good place for food, fun & friends

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing. It came quick, fresh and hot. Service was stellar. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Good spot for a pre concert dinner. Good ribs, good atmosphere. Easy to get too, while still downtown.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food & great service at a fair price. Good atmosphere with live music. Highly recommend.

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Business Meals, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

A good experience. Nothing more than that. The restaurant was almost too noisy and made it difficult to have a conversation with the person right across the table. Food was average. Plate was a bit too small for size of ribs and sides. Table was tight. Had to pay $20 to park as the rear lot was full.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love Dinosaur BBQ. This is our go to spot before going to the Casino.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been to the Dinosaur BBQ in Rochester a few times and decided on trying the location in Buffalo! We loved it! If you're up for some classic pub fare, it can't get any better. Everything is super Yummy!!! We tried a tasting of many items on the menu from the wings to ribs and poutine, fried green tomatoes to baked beans and cole slaw and all were fantastic! Lots of leftovers. Ambience is laid back and roomy, you don't feel crammed in as you do in the Rochester location. We would definitely come back. The service was excellent, very attentive servers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We receieved the worst table in the restaurant. It was in the very corner right next to a large pole. Our appetizer (Bbq nachos) were good but we were only given about 10 chips for 4 people. Very skimpy. Our waitress didnt come over once to check on us during our meal to refill drinks or to see how the food was. We also did not receive the cornbread that was supposed to come with our meal. For how much we are spending, we had a bad experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

First time there. Great food and service. We will be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

It took 25 minutes for a martini to get to the table after ordering. Not saying it needed to be free but the server didn't even acknowledge it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was very tasty...... Colleen, our waitress, was very efficient & accommodating ok, as well as friendly. We had a great experience & look forward to going g back again and again !!!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Over priced. Food was very mediocre and dry. Reviews do not accurately portray experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I didn’t know they allowed dogs in the restaurant and I’m allergic. I didn’t mind the service dog of course, that’s a given but the poodle that was at the table next to us was not a service dog. The restaurant was packed and we had a big party, so I just suffered through dinner. That’s my only complaint. The food was good otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome place. Great food, better service, and tremendous price. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Live Music, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very enjoyable night and food was excellent. Waitress let us know the Mac and cheese the young girls had had a little kick to it.to me that's incredible service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Live Sports, Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food quality seems to have slipped since prior visits. Ordered a combo platter with ribs. Ribs had virtually no meat on them - very disappointing. Corn bread was bland, baked beans were so-so.
Service was very good...kept our drinks refilled and was very attentive.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was good, but the service was poor. It took a long time to get our food and to get any sort of service. The restaurant wasn't busy and it seemed like they had a lot of servers, but they were not attentive.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Dinosaur BBQ is a great place to go. The food is really good, the staff is friendly and my gluten free daughter enjoys it too. Beer choices are excellent for him but no Pinot Grigio for me. I live with the Chardonnay.
Live music with Tommy Z always a good night.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Got in fast, food was good, and my date was happy ,can't complain.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I have been a patron of Dinosaur BBQ since the opening of the original in Syracuse and have dined at all three upstate NY locations. The food was not as good as I have come to expect this time. Hope this was just a one time bad experience. Buffalo location may need another cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place is super dope. Here's another sentence to get to 50 characters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I've enjoyed several Dinosaur BBQ's around (Syracuse, Harlem, Rochester) and found this one to be slightly better than the others for a few reasons. One, it was so wonderful to be able to make a reservation - the other Dinosaur's I have been to don't take them and it causes waits to be very long especially with a larger group. Two, the service here was excellent. Our waiter was friendly, and attentive. He was also knowledgable on things like the beer selections and the portion sizes, how much food would likely match with our group size, etc. The food was really great. Melt in you mouth meats with great sauces and sides. We had ribs, chicken, pork and brisket and all were delicious. I definitely recommend!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My new go to BBQ restaurant when I cross the border and visit the Buffalo, New York area. Food was excellent, service was excellent and the prices are where they should be. Cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic BBQ. The BBQ fried rice was life changing. LOL. Brisket and ribs were great. Ice beer selection.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I made online reservations and we were seated right away. We sat at our table and no one came to our table for quite some time. Another family sat next to us 5 mins after my husband and myself were seated and a waiter came to their table right away and provided them with their drinks. That waiter then noticed we were still not waited on and very nicely tried to rectify the situation and looked into who our server was and in the mean time took our drink order and apologized. He was very nice.... Our waiter finally came by.. He was nice as well.... Team work! Food was excellent!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went to Dinosaur BBQ before The Little Mermaid at Sheas. We had to wait 25 minutes for our reserved table but our server took our order quickly and had us out in time for the show. She was very attentive and helpful. I had the ribs which were very meaty and delicious. One of the daily special sides was New England clam chowder and it was spicy and very tasty. Drinks were refilled often. The children loved it. It was VERY noisy when we arrived as it was packed! As it thinned out a bit, it was much better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were seated immediately with our reservation, and enjoyed the meal; the sides here are exceptionally good. Great place to go before or after attending Shea's events.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Even for a big party, our waitress provided excellent service and was on top of everything. The food was perfect and nothing was wrong. The BBQ was as good as Dinosaur always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and great service - glad we tried it. It is a little noisy and right now construction was near by no local parking and special event was on so we parked a couple streets over and walked.

I would not hesitate to go back - the ribs were awesome!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

First time we went. Food was great! Love that they take reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was good. Server felt a little overwhelmed but host helped. One suggestion is bigger plates.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great barbecue food! Fun place to eat and have a drink. We went before seeing a show at Shea's with kids and everyone enjoyed their food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I recently met an old friend for dinner here. I had a brisket sandwich that was pretty good. Fries were good, baked beans ok. Enjoyed a happy hour cocktail at a reduced price. A little loud for chatting... Server was helpful and knowledgeable about the food and drink menu. An enjoyable dinner overall.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food and service were good. The out doesn't look as inviting as the inside...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Dinosaur BBQ Buffalo continues the tradition of great food, beer and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had an early dinner after baseball game and really enjoyed it. Fun place with good food and our grandchildren had a good time. Will be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual, great food and atmosphere. This is our favorite place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had a good taste me my waitress was very nice it's was for my birthday we went to a concert that night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.