Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Blue Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
Bar - 4:00pm - til
Dinner - 5:30pm - til

Friday and Saturday
Bar - 3:00pm - til
Dinner - 5:30pm - til

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Catering:
For more information regarding our Catering options, please contact Sales at 504-274-1816.

Parking Details:
Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Grant Wallace

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: (888) 541-6554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Let us do the cooking!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Romantic (45)
Business Meals (40)
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Comfort Food (10)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Live Music (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a top notch place. Our waiters (Otis and Gene) were great. Those guys work as a great team and they really knew the menu and the restaurant they work at. I will come back and eat at the location again. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. A great menu with a good selection of items. I loved that gumbo!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Another perfect meal at Dickie Brennan's. Service and quality was fantastic. Brennan's always makes you feel very special. Amazing steaks, and awesome desserts. If you are visiting New Orlean, you should make a reservation at Dickie Brennan's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

3 of the best steaks we have ever had. Awesome waiter older Spanish gentleman, great!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was excellent. Dress code should be enforced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated our tenth anniversary. We got married in New Orleans and had our celebratory dinner here. Excellent food & service. One of our favorite restaurants in the United States. Good value for quality of the food. Menu is not huge but what they have is prepared to your satisfaction. Don’t hesitate to go
there whenever you are visiting New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Family was here from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall pretty good. Steaks were not what I am used to being from Chicago (they are a pretty thin cut) but they were seasoned well. Sides were disappointing. Small and bland. Great wedge salad. Creole cheesecake was the highlight. A solid 3 stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The steak I ordered did not have much flavor and was a little tough, my wife's steak was overcooked. the potatoes in the Au Gratin were not cooked long enough and were crunchy. the biggest problem was 3 men going around to each table singing some type of songs like street musicians and then would not leave your table until they were tipped. I am not sure why they were there but they were very irritating and interrupted many peoples meal. I don't know fi this is every evening or just weekends??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Best steak in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

This restaurant is so good, we flew into New Orleans just to eat here. First time eating here was the best meal of my life, without a doubt. AMAZING steak and wine combo. Second time and this instance, 15 year anniversary. My wife and I scheduled our entire anniversary vacation trip around eating here. I had since my first time dining here developed a minor wine allergy. I told the staff and they, along with the wine expert, were very helpful in picking a wine that would have a reduced chance of having the allergic reaction. Crazy as it sounds, I was willing to risk getting sick to try to recreate the meal I had here. It worked too with a small amount of the right wine.

I hope you'll give this place a try because a trip to New Orleans for us wasn't about Bourbon street, or even the French Quarter, but a trip to Dickie Brennan's. They are that kind of special.

If the wait staff, chef's, cooks, wine expert, or management team see's this review, Thank you for the excellence in all you provided the two nights we've had the pleasure to dine with you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

I was very impressed with the service, food & professionalism of the servers! Thavk you you made my birthday a memorable experience!!!❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Service was fantastic. Best I’ve ever had. They had three different people serving us; but it never felt overwhelming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic ribeye and cold water lobster tail. Both cooked to perfection. Delectable desserts too. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We consider this "our spot" for celebrations in New Orleans. Everything is always great. Steaks are superb!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was great as usual. We arrived when they opened you always get good service at that time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious. The Sweet Potato Doberge Cake is a must try! Otis and Gene took very good care of us during our visit. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We were very disappointed in the food. We ordered prime rib it was very tough. Server tried to make it right and was very friendly but food was terrible. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Brilliant service. Excellent steaks. We had a great time. Speculation thanks to Susie and Leann

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great food and service. The staff went out of their way to make our meals special. You get what you pay for....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A New Orleans landmark, every aspect of the meal was 5star...Prime rib was flavorful and delicious. ..Turtle soup the absolute best in the French Quarter, sides were delicious and great for sharing...loved the wait staff...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food but the service felt rushed and the bar managed to deliver two drinks that were not made as I requested. A good option if you’re looking for classic steakhouse food but didn’t seem to have the polish of a really great steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Everything from start to finish was exceptional! I would highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

For a high-end restaurant it should have a dress code and adhere to it. Not let people dress however they want

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always: delicious food, attentive service and a festive atmosphere. Dickie Brennan’s is the Steakhouses Steakhouses!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great food and waiter expertise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The food and service were excellent. We enjoyed our dinner and would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a lovely, relaxing, elegant night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Service was friendly but extremely disorganized. It took well 40 minutes to give an initial drink order and 1 hour 30 min to place our initial food order. We were close to 3 hours to have our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The atmosphere was great. Outstanding service from everyone. But the steaks are not USDA prime. Was here a few years ago and the steaks were out of this world. But not now. If the restaurant charges prime prices the meals should be excellent. So sorry to have to write this review. But I am being very truthful.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Usually a very good experience. Ate at the lounge area for the first time. Drinks were very slow to come out and the waters often forgot things. They also did not clear our area quickly. If you’re going to go, make sure you don’t eat in the lounge area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

I was visiting New Orleans with friends, one of which strongly recommended this restaurant. The steak I had was really wonderful. Overall, the food was great. What I didn't appreciate, however, was the waitress ignoring my request to bypass a birthday recognition. A well-meaning friend told the waitress it was my birthday and I don't think I could have been clearer about not wanting any type of acknowledgement. The waitress brought a dessert that I truly did not want and I was terribly embarrassed.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Our meal was first rate. The chef started us off with some complimentary fried oysters and they were delicious. The quality of the food was only out done by the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Whenever we are in New Orleans we make at least one (if not several) stops at Dickie Brennans. It is our absolute go to for the best steak dinner near Bourbon Street. The bar is our favorite place to eat and of course drink!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent all around. Everything was perfect. Food was great as was the service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Typical steakhouse .... we waited 1-1/2 hours to get our food after the soup. Very disappointed. They kept bringing bread and water ....maybe an appetizer to hold us over would have been nice. No offer was made. We were told the kitchen was backed up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Made reservation in advance. Arrived at appointed time and was kept waiting for 20 minutes for our table. Not what we were looking for . Check in procedure chaotic with three people all duplicating efforts with no one apparently in charge. Though food was excellent, chef being let down by front of house staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere at the bar. Really well done all-around, definitely not a FQ tourist trap!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.