About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Blue Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Daily Service:
Bar: 4:30pm - 'til
Nightly: 5:30pm - 'til

Prime Lunch on Friday
11:30am - 'til

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street. Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Grant Wallace

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: (888) 541-6554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (83)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Business Meals (59)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (45)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Historic (35)
Authentic (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Worth the Drive (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Fun (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Private Room (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (10)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were trying to get away from our hote ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We were trying to get away from our hotel because of the Mardi Gras parade down Canal. This restaurant is down Bourbon just past Acme Oyster House. Just far enough away from Canal that it was not loud and there were no people stumbling around. The food and service were fabulous for a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food quality. Servic ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed in the food quality. Service was polite but slow. I don't mind spending money for a fine meal. This restaurant was highly recimmended by a friend and simply didn't hit the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wedge salad came with numerous leaves of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wedge salad came with numerous leaves of wilted lettuce.

Steak was specifically requested to be served sliced to stop unwanted cooking once served. It came out unsliced.

Music was too loud and we had to request lowering the volume twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

I have eaten at this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten at this restaurant many times. The quality of the meal and the level of service have always been good. I have introduced numerous business associates to this restaurant as well. This is a restaurant that should be on your must do list for the French Quarter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was great. Took my there for ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

This place was great. Took my there for Valentine's Day. Food was great, service was awesome!! Very great setting also. I would highly recommend this place for anyone no matter the occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and great service with excell ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service with excellent wines. Also a very relaxing atmosphere in the dining room.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal and great service for a f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful meal and great service for a friend's birthday in new Orleans!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful ambience with a friendly and w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful ambience with a friendly and welcoming staff. We had the château Briand for two and it was cooked to perfection! It was definitely too much food for two people however. The steak was very tender and tasted fine, it just lacked a little seasoning for me. The wine was fantastic as was their crème brûlée. I loved the decor, the staff was wonderful and our food was good. I would definitely recommend and certainly go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was very helpful and knowledg ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the entire dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. My filet mignon ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent. My filet mignon was prepared as ordered and was mouth watering. Desert was also incredible. All attributes of this experience are warm and inviting...looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was amazing. Service was fantastic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Steak was amazing. Service was fantastic. Dessert were awesome. Only downside was I saw someone allowed in with a sports jersey and someone else with a ripped t-shirt . I think they should enforce a dress code.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dish I had was the BBQ Shrimp w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The best dish I had was the BBQ Shrimp while my wife had the petite filet well done (I know, but she don't like pink) it was still eatable and she enjoyed it completely. The BBQ Shrimp was not only sweet and lightly salty, but brilliant cero seasoning which made me cry for joy. Also crying were the 6 shrimp on my plate as I devoured them.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We expected a lot more from the Brennen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We expected a lot more from the Brennen name in New Orleans. The dining room is not cozy; popcorn ceiling tile and cheap ceiling fans in one big room. My food was not cooked to temperature and I had to send it back TWICE. In the meantime, my partner had finished his meal. Given that, there was no consideration from the management. I do not expect freebies at all but given the circumstance, you would think that they would offer a dessert or something. I would definitely not return. IT WAS A NEGATIVE DINING EXPERIENCE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great dining experience. The meal, servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great dining experience. The meal, service, and table were excellent. Dickie Brennans is what you'd expect and look for in a great restaurant. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal; Great service; Great evening ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great meal; Great service; Great evening. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had been a while since we had eaten her ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had been a while since we had eaten here. Everything was perfect - like we remembered. Everyone very accommodating. Will return sooner next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salads and filets were wonderful. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The salads and filets were wonderful. The service was outstanding and the wine was delicious. For dessert, try the King Cake Eclair. It was delicious. The brownie mousse was a little dry and I would not choose it again. Overall, it was a very nice evening after the theater. It is pricey, so it's definitely for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was absolutely amazing.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was absolutely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another outstanding dinner. Thank you t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another outstanding dinner. Thank you to all the staff who waited on my party.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as always .Food and service we ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Terrific as always .Food and service were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time visiting This steakh ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had a great time visiting This steakhouse. Wait staff were very pleasing, friendly and accommodating. Food ( the duck & prime rib)were exquisite as well as the creme brulee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every respect. Marlon picke ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent in every respect. Marlon picked up on an error with our order, fixed it and let us us know there would be a delay. Had he not told s we may not have realized there was a problem. All in all, all the staff were excellent and despite being at full capacity, were attentive to our every need.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on our list when we visit New Orl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always on our list when we visit New Orleans. Traditional décor, great bar and the best steaks in New Orleans. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I shared the chateau brand a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I shared the chateau brand and it was excellent. Very good traditional steakhouse.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Orleans was hoping so Dickie's was b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

New Orleans was hoping so Dickie's was busy. The place was busting at the seams and the experience suffered for it. It was so loud we could barely hear each other, and the service was rushed and not personal. Not what I expect for a $600 tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The experience of the restaurant was lik ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The experience of the restaurant was like no other! We were celebrating my husband's birthday. We arrived to balloons and champagne. The food was superb. We had the shrimp and grits to start and I had a petite filet and my husband had the ribeye. His complimentary desert was like no other. Excellent from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience! Special thank ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great dining experience! Special thank you to Chef Grant for his kindness! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's good days and bad....this just h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

There's good days and bad....this just happened to be the bad one. I've frequented this place often when in New Orleans and it always is great. This time, unfortunately while with a large group of associates, this experience wasn't all to write about. Challenges with service and food temperature plaqued our table. Even when ordering dessert, promised warm pecan pie with ice cream and out came cold pie with no add. Typical of the evening. However with all being said, I'd return for vindication. This place is a great place, just had a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Lunch special is a great value. Turtle ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Lunch special is a great value. Turtle soup and gumbo are both outstanding, which is expected from a Brennan's restaurant. Staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Celebrated hubby's 57th birthday. Marquis was one of our waitstaff who made a particular impression with his attentiveness and kindness along with his wonderful sense of humor. We are native New Orleanians and this was our first visit! We had a wonderful afternoon enjoying the delicious food and the company and service that the staff provided.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. Have been to many of the B ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Disappointed. Have been to many of the Brennan's restaurants, and was surprised to find this wasn't up to par. Perhaps we hit it on a bad night, but not sure we will be back. From a crummy table (in aisle next to kitchen) to cold side dishes and over cooked steaks--an all around poor dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely fantastic food and service. I ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food and service. I would highly recommend, save room for the bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

These people treat you like royalty and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

These people treat you like royalty and family all at the same time. They call themselves a team and that's what they are. Jeffery and Lou couldn't be more hospitable. The porterhouse was cooked to perfection and the Oscar style sauce was awesome. In a town that specializes in drinks, this was the first place with very cold beer, real nice bartender as well. All in all,just a great place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best filet in a long time! Good service. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best filet in a long time! Good service. Noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great steak good drinks wonderful servic ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great steak good drinks wonderful service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dickie Brennan's is one of our favorite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dickie Brennan's is one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans, and Monday night didn't disappoint! We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Thanks.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have recommended 3 times since our last ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Have recommended 3 times since our last visit and

All 3 friends went and had a terrible experience. Said food and service wasn't that great...

We passed Ruth Chris specifically for crab cakes and they came out Luke warm and taste wasn't very good. Everyone ordered steaks all came cooked corrected just like warm... wife had to asked for hers to be heated up.. this is unacceptable for a restaurant of the caliber especially a sat night at 7:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit. The steaks wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first visit. The steaks were the best we have ever eaten. Desserts were to die for !!! Wonderful romantic atmosphere. Great wait staff. We will definitely eat there again on our next visit to New Orleans !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining "Captain" was inattentive, and di ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dining "Captain" was inattentive, and disconnected. He asked how everything was, and when my wife said she was not happy with the entree, he walked off. I assumed he was going to get or speak with management. Ten minutes later he returned and asked if we would like to pack up the entree to go. I explained that would not necessary. I explained that my wife did not like the entree and seemed like it sat in the kitchen for a extended time before being served. I also stated that I had earlier said that my wife did not like it, and when he left the table I thought it was to seek out management. He said" Oh, I I was not listening".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent food and their desserts are to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and their desserts are to die for! I had the bread pudding and my wife had the cheesecake and both were amazing!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.