Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Dia de Campo

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:30am.

Friday: 3:00pm - 1:00am.

Saturday: Noon - 1:00am.

Sunday: Noon - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Tapas (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Fireplace (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Spicy (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice place but pricey. Food was good but expensive. Unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great option in the South Bay. Great cocktails and food with the sort of attention to detail and quality ingredients you usually don't see outside of Venice, DTLA, WeHo, etc. Atmosphere is very cool and you can hang out for drinks or stay for a great meal. Pro Tip: Don't put their napkins on your lap - they use bar towels for napkins and they get white fuzz all over you. (Just a minor hazard...)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

while this is definitely a place i like to go. they were not prepared for cinco de mayo crowds at all. we had to wait for 45 minutes for our reserved table. then they tried to sit our 5 at a 4 top. the manager made up for it by discounting our bill, but only after asked, they didnt see what they could do to accommodate us, and trust me i made my disappointment known from the start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Waitress was not very friendly from the start. We ordered a "pitcher" of margaritas for four of us only to learn that they've cut the size dramatically to a small carafe. When it didn't fill four glasses, the waitress said it was because they didn't put enough ice in the glasses.... Thankfully, the bartender stepped up to try to make it right, as opposed to her unconcerned attitude. Maybe she just didn't want to be there that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best brunch in Hermosa for having great food, a more elegant seating situation than the bars, and of course live sports for us guys that have to take the girls out but don't want to miss the game!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food and drinks were creative and fabulous tasting. If you like carnitas, I highly recommend the "Big A** Carnitas" fora small group to share. Service was inconsistent but not so bad that I wouldn't come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We like to come here for brunch and bottomless Mimosas. Great place to ride your bike to. Very close to the Hermosa bike path....handy with those bottomless mimosa! Pricing is good for the quality of food and drink...Sometimes you can find discounts on Travel Zoo. Don't expect your regular brunch food. This place has heavy, delicious Mexican/southwest dishes...you wont find eggs and bacon. Atmosphere is great...hip decor and design. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've eaten at Dia several times and it's always a great experience!! Can't wait for Summer to arrive!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dia de Campo had a good vibe and the service was good, but the food was unimaginative and VERY expensive for small Mexican portions. The Chorizo & Shrimp enchilada was just blah at $18, but the empanadas and salmon tostada were good. Dinner was $90 with a drink and tip, not a memorable meal for the price.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

SUCH BAD SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was a little slow but still an amazing experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Dia de Campo never disappoints. The food is a modern twist on Mexican, but really much more than that. You like it spicy, they got ya covered. Looking for the unique, FOR SURE. And the drinks are more than a complement, they are worth the visit alone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was very good, but the noise level is imposible.
You can not cary a conversation without having to scream. Once they get busy with big parties service starts to lack. had to wait 30 minutes for my desert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food and service was great. I was a little disappointed that I made a reservation and was sat in the bar area. I was very grossed out by the bathrooms though. They are dark with very dim lights and there was no toilet seat covers. The seats were all wet. Disgusting. Those need to be maintained. The food was great and the drinks were amazing. Despite the bathroom situation I would definitely recommend. I will return however, won't use the bathroom and will be more specific on where I would like to sit.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was excellent but service was way, way too slow... It was only thursday night but the staff seemed to be going crazy!!! I will recommend this place because the food is realy good BUT the management HAS to do something to improve service!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Terrible service. We had a reservation but were seated in a tiny table by the bar. The wait staff barely paid us any attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Fantastic...as always!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service here is pretty awful. We waited 40 minutes to be seated for our reservation and then once we were sat we waited another 20 minutes to be greeted and given water glasses - with no apologies (this was after finally saying something to the hostess) They were out of a lot of the items on the menu. Bathrooms were in bad shape.

This place is trendy and well decorated but the food is overrated and service is really bad. Needs better management.

Come for the margaritas and go somewhere else for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

There were some interesting food choices. I liked my meal, but there was nothing exceptional about it. The decor is nice and upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely brunch menu. Great ice and tasty dishes. Great decor. Friendly staff. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

your servers were extremely attentive, kind, and welcoming! the food was incredible. we wish we had pace for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service at a restaurant really can make or break an experience. The food's gotta be good, and it was. But we had the worst service I had experienced in a long while. Like downright rude while we were being very kind to the waitress. We never tip low for poor service. They have to support a family, too. It's non-negotiable. This woman was either angry about a previous table or was just having a bad day. We had waited about 20 minutes between the appetizers and the main meal and we just asked, nicely, if it's coming. She zipped by the table, went to the kitchen, brought the food out and - I'm not exaggerating - threw the plate which slid from one end of the table to the other. She didn't stop, didn't fix it, just kept walking. I can't say that I've had an experience like that anytime in recent memory. Left a bad taste in our mouth. The food is good but there are plenty of other good food in the South Bay. I will avoid that restaurant at any cost not to ever be served by that woman again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Love this place. Had a bad service night which is atypical. Think they were understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a Travelzoo voucher for brunch. The food was excellent - portions just right and I especially love the bottomless mimosas when they just put the bottles of champagne and oj on the table for self service. Even though it was busy the waitress was very pleasant and attentive. We were waited on and received our order in a very reasonable amount of time and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Due to the high ceilings, the noise level gets pretty high but otherwise, it was a great brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I were here for Vday dinner. and 3 tacos each... We had a conversation that include our next 3 years together because that's how long it took for our food to arrive!! Waitress was really nice and they gave us a discount and a free dessert at the end, tacos were really good and the churros tasted awesome!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was creative and the wait staff was great... Cadillac Margaritas were yummy!
BUT.. The female seater ( definately not a maitre d') was snippy. When I asked for an open table in tha back, away from the door she said no.. Another larger party has reserved it.
About halfway through dinner another couple was seated at the table we had requested.. NOT a larger party. When I asked her about it she barely said I'm sorry before she jetted away!
Really spoiled a nice night because of her insincere attitude.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food and service. Recommend cauliflower and empanada, but i had better hamachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was so loud! We got the burrito of the day which ended up feeling like leftovers put in a tortilla. It had no brightness other than the gleam from the tin foil it was served in. It really made us question why we thought we liked this place on previous visits. I made a reservation, we still had to wait 15 minutes to be seated, and we only saw our waitress when we ordered and when we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I ordered the shrimp enchiladas and they were tasty. My companion ordered the flank steak fajitas. The meat was very tough and not easy to eat in a taco. The octopus appetizer was stingy on the octopus. For the price of the appetizer we thought there should be at least 2 pieces not one.
I also found the music to be too loud to have a conversation without having to raise your voice.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great! awesome, refreshing cucumber vodka drink. Food was FANTASTIC! veggie and chicken (yellow mole?) tacos - delish. the mole had an interesting blend of flavors. loved everything - though i wouldn't order the oysters again (may as well get the tacos for same price. one oyster was the size of a dime.) i'll be back w/ a bigger group. can't wait to try more things including the fish!! Chef does a great job! Healthy and bursting w/ yummy flavors!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food would have received a 5 star rating however both my girlfriend's eggs were very over cooked.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome had a blast will be back very very very very soon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

While the food was fantastic our service was marginal. We waited 15 minutes at our table before a server waited on us. Then another 15 minutes until our drinks were delivered.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and food . Staff was friendly and their bottomless mimosas were great

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

sadly, we just could not get service. it was slow to non-existant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Awesome. Great and creative food. Cocktails were really good. Will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fun, local spot - despite having a reservation we ended up eating at the bar since we had good seats, great company and delicious food and drinks

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Enjoy a meal here but especially during Happy Hour (no reservations & bar or lounge only) especially $1 Oysters. Fireplace is nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Cozy, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was for a birthday celebration. They will not do anything for any occasions. Hostess stated we can order churros and they will put a candle on it and stated she would advise the waitress regarding the occasion. We have eaten here before. The portion size has shrunk. Both the steak fajita and the pork chili verde had very few meat. Fajita was filled with bell peppers and onions. Pork chili verde was filled with chili verde with very little small pieces of pork. The waitress never acknowledge the occasion. I don' think the hostess mentioned it to the waitress. They do have good margaritas. The food was too expensive for what we got.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When this place first opened they had a really unique menu. But now they seem to focus on street tacos only and the other items seem bland or strange. Too bad, as I really liked this place in the beginning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.