About Dia de Campo

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:30am.

Friday: 3:00pm - 1:00am.

Saturday: Noon - 1:00am.

Sunday: Noon - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Bar Seating (15)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (12)
Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Spicy (11)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Romantic (8)
Tapas (8)
Fireplace (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

There were some interesting food choices. I liked my meal, but there was nothing exceptional about it. The decor is nice and upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely brunch menu. Great ice and tasty dishes. Great decor. Friendly staff. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

your servers were extremely attentive, kind, and welcoming! the food was incredible. we wish we had pace for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Love this place. Had a bad service night which is atypical. Think they were understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a Travelzoo voucher for brunch. The food was excellent - portions just right and I especially love the bottomless mimosas when they just put the bottles of champagne and oj on the table for self service. Even though it was busy the waitress was very pleasant and attentive. We were waited on and received our order in a very reasonable amount of time and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Due to the high ceilings, the noise level gets pretty high but otherwise, it was a great brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I were here for Vday dinner. and 3 tacos each... We had a conversation that include our next 3 years together because that's how long it took for our food to arrive!! Waitress was really nice and they gave us a discount and a free dessert at the end, tacos were really good and the churros tasted awesome!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was creative and the wait staff was great... Cadillac Margaritas were yummy!

BUT.. The female seater ( definately not a maitre d') was snippy. When I asked for an open table in tha back, away from the door she said no.. Another larger party has reserved it.

About halfway through dinner another couple was seated at the table we had requested.. NOT a larger party. When I asked her about it she barely said I'm sorry before she jetted away!

Really spoiled a nice night because of her insincere attitude.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food and service. Recommend cauliflower and empanada, but i had better hamachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was so loud! We got the burrito of the day which ended up feeling like leftovers put in a tortilla. It had no brightness other than the gleam from the tin foil it was served in. It really made us question why we thought we liked this place on previous visits. I made a reservation, we still had to wait 15 minutes to be seated, and we only saw our waitress when we ordered and when we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I ordered the shrimp enchiladas and they were tasty. My companion ordered the flank steak fajitas. The meat was very tough and not easy to eat in a taco. The octopus appetizer was stingy on the octopus. For the price of the appetizer we thought there should be at least 2 pieces not one.

I also found the music to be too loud to have a conversation without having to raise your voice.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great! awesome, refreshing cucumber vodka drink. Food was FANTASTIC! veggie and chicken (yellow mole?) tacos - delish. the mole had an interesting blend of flavors. loved everything - though i wouldn't order the oysters again (may as well get the tacos for same price. one oyster was the size of a dime.) i'll be back w/ a bigger group. can't wait to try more things including the fish!! Chef does a great job! Healthy and bursting w/ yummy flavors!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food would have received a 5 star rating however both my girlfriend's eggs were very over cooked.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome had a blast will be back very very very very soon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

While the food was fantastic our service was marginal. We waited 15 minutes at our table before a server waited on us. Then another 15 minutes until our drinks were delivered.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and food . Staff was friendly and their bottomless mimosas were great

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

sadly, we just could not get service. it was slow to non-existant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Awesome. Great and creative food. Cocktails were really good. Will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fun, local spot - despite having a reservation we ended up eating at the bar since we had good seats, great company and delicious food and drinks

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Enjoy a meal here but especially during Happy Hour (no reservations & bar or lounge only) especially $1 Oysters. Fireplace is nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Cozy, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was for a birthday celebration. They will not do anything for any occasions. Hostess stated we can order churros and they will put a candle on it and stated she would advise the waitress regarding the occasion. We have eaten here before. The portion size has shrunk. Both the steak fajita and the pork chili verde had very few meat. Fajita was filled with bell peppers and onions. Pork chili verde was filled with chili verde with very little small pieces of pork. The waitress never acknowledge the occasion. I don' think the hostess mentioned it to the waitress. They do have good margaritas. The food was too expensive for what we got.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When this place first opened they had a really unique menu. But now they seem to focus on street tacos only and the other items seem bland or strange. Too bad, as I really liked this place in the beginning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The beans and rice have no flavor what so ever! Margaritas we're good. They have a large menu of different tequilas. I like the ambiance. The lobster was delicious but small. Definitely not for 2-3 people as advertised. Jessy was a great server!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great if u just wanna go somewhere and eat not really for private dinners tho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful food! Excellent service from Amara. You can't beat the bottomless mimosas at this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had the queso fundido , the steak fajitas , chorizo and shrimp enchiladas and a house salad. Everything was really good only negative was that the beans and rice were really bland but other than that everything was great. Definitely will be back. Cocktail was good to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I visited Dia del Campo with my parents. It felt like a special occasion. Nice ambience and lighting. The food was delicious. Highly recommend the octopus and the fajitas were delicious. Do yourself a favor and get there during Happy Hour to order the pitcher of margaritas. Just be sure to call an Uber, because you will be tipsy!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Casual, Fireplace, Authentic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a party of 6 and ordered almost every appetizer on the menu. LOVED all the food. Unfortunately, when it came to Entrees they did not come out together and were very spaced out. Everyone at the table was done eating when the last entree showed up. It ruined the whole happy feel of the evening. We eat out a lot and usually love Dia De Campo but will think twice before bringing a bigger party....

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is one of our favs to walk to in the south bay. The whole fish is a special treat and has been consistently prepared with great flavor. The scene is local , beach casual, and it can get "energetic," but the volume is worth the meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was not my first visit to DdC. but I always welcome a chance to go there! Every dish I've had has been delicious and inventive, comfort Mexican-style but with a modern twist. This time I got to enjoy one of their desserts - a goat cheesecake wrapped in shredded 'something' with a fantastic sauce, blackberries and nuts. (Wish I remembered the name!) It was amazing!! Have never tasted anything like it before, but would def get it again. Go there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ok, hosts were rude, food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Reservations at 8:30, didn't sit until 9

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have enjoyed many meals there on the past but something has definitely changed. This was our second visit in one month and we were disappointed with the food both times. On this visit, they were out of avocados. We were stunned to find a Mexican restaurant unable to serve guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were in town for a wedding and met our friends for dinner. Their menu options were excellent and I love Mezcal so this was an easy choice. My girlfriend and i shared the whole roasted fish which had excellent flavors and was enough for 3 people. our husbands had the pork and they thought the preparation was perfect. We started with the ahi ceviche recommended by our server and she was right, delicious! We will be back again when we are in the neighborhood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Not a pleasant experience. Restaurant and menu is overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

How can a Mexican restaurant boycott avocados?? Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrible hostess services. Was told to wait as we asked for another table. Never saw hostess again. Had to go back to hostess stand and ask for a status. Was sat 25 minutes after our reservation and it took another 15 minutes for a server to approach our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have to say this is my second time going and I was very disappointed. Myself and 3 of my girlfriends met there at 8pm with reservations. The hostess was not very friendly at all we waited 15min to get seated. To make a long story short. we waited for our food 2 hours just to find out that it was never sent to the kitchen. The ticket was lost. Manager came over and took our order again, we were hesitant on weather to even stay but at that point anywhere we went we would have to wait. We got our food all 4 at different times. waited for second round of drinks for 20 min also. The entire night was a disaster. And at the end had to pay 100 dollars for drinks. Yes food was on the house but that's the least they could of done. all of us combined had over 2o years in the food service/management industry. I have to say this was the worst service and attempt at redemption I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Birthday celebration.

Cold reception on arrival despite reservation while others without reservation were seated first.

Slow service, appeared to be short staffed.

Food was good, small portions.

Dark and active, loud dining room.

More of a hangout place then intimate dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The service was dismal.....the food was good. It was loud which was fine - but food to table was slow - food doesn't come out at the same time. Drinks were excellent. One stall in the bathroom wasn't working.

It was just OKAY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food and service were both great! The tacos mashismo style are delicious!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Amazing service, great food, and great decor. Happy all the way around!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great for Sunday brunch and bottom less mimosas! Service is always very friendly and their in house hot sauce is amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Every margarita I tried was amazing! The Chile Verde was phenom. Great scene, a bit loud but I'm old. Service was spot on. We'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Spicy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had the grilled lobster and it was excellent! Also the drinks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Went with a group of 5 - All food was exceptional but we had 2 desserts and neither were impressive. Skip the dessert. The spicy vodka drink (passion over function) is amazing. I did have more than my share of this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This place is like a gem... I discovered the place by accident and loved it. I took my friends to the restaurant on a Friday night... TheClaremont (cocktail) is my new favorite. The food tastes and looks healthy and delicious. I cant wait to go and get my cucumber infused vodka drink....

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I went there with my girlfriend for our anniversary. We were seated in a booth section to begin but shortly after, were asked to get up and move to the bar area so our table went from being cozy and comfortable to being placed right behind the bar seating. We understand this happens so thought nothing of it. Our server (Brianne) came and took drink orders. We ordered two margaritas and ceviche to start. The margaritas took 30 mins to get to us. We finished our ceviche and then placed our order for tacos. We received our tacos and THEN finally got our margaritas. Our margaritas were WAYYYY too strong. I consider myself a drinker and usually like strong tequila-based beverages but these margs were literally unpleasant to drink. My girlfriend sent hers back and the bartender tried to fix it by (we assume) diluting it. She refused the new drink because we were already done with our meal at that point. We were going to try to order desert but our server rarely checked on us and at this point we just wanted to pay and leave. Our server was extremely awkward during basic interactions and never made eye contact with us even while taking our orders. We hope it was her first day because that's what it felt like. We've been here once before (we are Manhattan Beach residents) and had a wonderful experience so choosing this for our special occasion seemed appropriate. It was close to the worst dining experience we've ever had and unfortunately it turned us off to dining there again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a party of four which we all thought was together. The restaurant apparently thought we were four strangers sitting at one table and brought our food out one entrée at a time over the course of about 40 minutes. My wife and I got our food first but about 10 minutes apart and the other couple we were with ordered two chimichangas (which, in fairness they said were very good) but they came out separated by about 20 minutes. We delayed eating our meal waiting for the chimichangas but after about 20 minutes the other couple urged us to go ahead and eat. Of course, by that time, our food already cold. The manager said they had two trainees in the kitchen. But this still sounds like very inadequate kitchen supervision. It was, without a doubt, the worst service I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Homemade chips and guacamole were amazing. Actually all of the food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

These guys have just gotten it right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.