Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Dia de Campo

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm.

Friday: 4:00pm - 12:00am.

Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am.

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
See All
Happy Hour (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Tapas (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Spicy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The ambiance is very nice. The food was ok. The best thing I tasted was the Elote. When my dessert came out, i started to eat and there was a piece of wax paper in between there. I pulled it out of the dessert. I informed the waitress and she brought me another dessert. I was shocked that with a mistake like that, my dessert wasn't comped. Customer Service wasn't a priority!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I enjoy Dia Del Campo for the great flavor combinations in their plates and atmosphere. The portion size of meals vs the cost is poorly paired, meaning small sizes for high dollar amounts, but the presentation and service, as well as taste are amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Spicy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

My first time here, on a Wednesday night, and we found metered parking withing a few blocks. The restaurant was beautiful and our server was present and helpful. The menu is creative modern Mexican. I prefer vegetarian or seafood, cooked and without egg, and I did not find many choices. An adventurous carnivore would find lots to choose from. We didn't try the cocktails or dessert, but they sounded appealing.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went here for brunch for the first time and found the restaurant quite nice. The food we ordered; Pork Chili Verde and Chicken and Churros were amazing. There Churros are so good; crispy on the outside and soft in the inside, we ordered it as a dessert after brunch. The endless mimosa's that came with our brunch was a nice treat. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Extremely bad service! food took forever, the food was not worth it! Don't waste your time and money at Dia de Campo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Celebrated my friend's 40th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We come here once a week on average. Love it! Jessie is our favorite server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to Dia de Campo for my daughter's birthday. The decor is Mexican / rustic with really cool art work on the walls and around the room. My wife and I had the margaritas and they great. Very unique taste but reminiscent of traditional style drinks. The black salsa and Guac was awesome! I had the lamb chimichanga and enjoyed it immensely. Again a very different twist on a Mexican restaurant staple. The atmosphere was a bit noisy but it was a fun loving crowd that was relaxing in a cool place. Defenitely a fun place for a date! Will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Awesome as always, they haven't lost a step over the years like so many restaurants do. The menu is always being slightly refined with great dishes and our go to favorites are on there. Great cocktails and excellent service as well.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food is excellent, but the prices are out of control. $21 for two small enchiladas in absurd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Portions are small but the food is delicious! Our waitress was great. The hostesses however aren't very welcoming/friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place is great! Great margaritas and food. Good location

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a reservation for two on a Saturday night at 8, and when we arrived the hostess tried to seat us at a table in the busy bar area, a low-top 2-person table of the bar-side of the divider between the bar and the restaurant area, where the butts of bar patrons would be in our face as we ate.

We asked the hostess for another table, as the restaurant side was less than half full, and she refused; we asked to talk with her manager and she again refused. As we were standing there, talking with the hostess, another table in the bar area (there are two tables in the bar!) was served their food -- a bar patron bumped into the server and knocked the couples' food on to the floor at their feet! Needless to say, it instantly validated our hesitation about the seating.

I'm not a picky diner, and am generally fine with communal seating or other non-standard seatings at restaurants, but this was really a non-starter for any normal person. I'd caution anyone making reservations there, and after the poor customer service in response to the situation, certainly won't be going back myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food, drinks and atmosphere was good. It is just SUPER expensive for what you get.
I would not return for a full meal, do not think the price was worth it, but wouldn't be opposed to going for maybe a drink and an appetizer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was very good, but we were surprised that we were celebrating our daughters birthday and we had to pay for their birthday desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The menu is very small. We ordered the chips and salsa. The salsa did not look appealing as it was almost black and had a course texture like the vegetables were too charred. The waitress did bring us pico which was much better. I ordered carnitas and grilled fish tacos. They had too much cabbage. My partner ordered the chorizo enchiladas and they were very good. The water was lukewarm, but the margarita was stiff! Overall, I wouldn't try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Awesome happy hour sppetizers. Fish tacos were delicious and the torte amazing! We will return!

Tags: Tapas, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Service was poor, the restraint was not busy...food was not good (Grilled Romain salad was drowning in dressing)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant always delivers good, albeit expensive, food and drinks. My biggest dislike is the menu. The section "LA TAQUERIA" - which translates to "restaurant that serves Mexican food" - is basically the section for "Tacos" I have heard multiple people ask what it means and wonder how many just skip this section because they have no idea and won't attempt to pronounce it - to ask. The "Taco's" are small but come on hand made corn tortillas. Order more than one if this is your main course - or you're not sharing with someone intimate. The Para la Mesa section - "for the table" - has great items and should be promoted as full entrees (maybe a new section?). The "for the table" sounds too much like appetizer or tapas (which translates to "appetizer, or snack") and probably discourages people from ordering - or even going here for a full dinner. Drinks are expensive but delicious and service is excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Sea bass was delicious however our waiter was terrible. Doubtful that we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Waiter had to split time between attending and our table. Food was brought out at different times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great ! Loved our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our server took 30 min to get us our first drink after we sat down. Never checked on us, never asked us about the food. Overall was absent from the meal and we decided to leave instead of continuing our night there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The tacos and street corn are always delicious and I love the large plates but the prices have gotten very high. $10 for some guacamole? More than $13 for some dates? We may be going down the street to Palmilla in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Five of us went on a Friday night and although the restaurant was not fully-packed, the noise level was so high, you could only speak to the person next to you comfortably. Food was decent but I remember it as much better. Drinks were creative. We had two appetizers & entrees and our tab came up to $240, a bit pricey for what we ate, I think!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Every bite was full of flavor. Highly recommend the mushroom quesadillas and the shrimp tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great spot. Good service. Had brunch with friends. Wasn't busy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We go fairly often to Dia de Campo, but I rarely review anything. Each time we've gone, we've had great service, a fun time, and the food is seriously amazing. This is elevated Mexican food to be sure. They craft some amazing dishes and they're always fresh and served hot. They make their own chips, the guacamole is insane, and even the salsa is ridiculous. You'd be hard pressed to find a better version of their gourmet tacos anywhere in L.A. This place is great! The only downside is the place can get loud. If you're with a group though, and everyone is enjoying their hand crafted margaritas, then the noise isn't that bad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The service was awesome, and the Bandito Happy Hour food was fantastic, anda great value (veggie toastada and drowned torta HIGHLY recommended).

I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice place but pricey. Food was good and unique. Kool place near beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a great option in the South Bay. Great cocktails and food with the sort of attention to detail and quality ingredients you usually don't see outside of Venice, DTLA, WeHo, etc. Atmosphere is very cool and you can hang out for drinks or stay for a great meal. Pro Tip: Don't put their napkins on your lap - they use bar towels for napkins and they get white fuzz all over you. (Just a minor hazard...)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

while this is definitely a place i like to go. they were not prepared for cinco de mayo crowds at all. we had to wait for 45 minutes for our reserved table. then they tried to sit our 5 at a 4 top. the manager made up for it by discounting our bill, but only after asked, they didnt see what they could do to accommodate us, and trust me i made my disappointment known from the start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Waitress was not very friendly from the start. We ordered a "pitcher" of margaritas for four of us only to learn that they've cut the size dramatically to a small carafe. When it didn't fill four glasses, the waitress said it was because they didn't put enough ice in the glasses.... Thankfully, the bartender stepped up to try to make it right, as opposed to her unconcerned attitude. Maybe she just didn't want to be there that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best brunch in Hermosa for having great food, a more elegant seating situation than the bars, and of course live sports for us guys that have to take the girls out but don't want to miss the game!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food and drinks were creative and fabulous tasting. If you like carnitas, I highly recommend the "Big A** Carnitas" fora small group to share. Service was inconsistent but not so bad that I wouldn't come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We like to come here for brunch and bottomless Mimosas. Great place to ride your bike to. Very close to the Hermosa bike path....handy with those bottomless mimosa! Pricing is good for the quality of food and drink...Sometimes you can find discounts on Travel Zoo. Don't expect your regular brunch food. This place has heavy, delicious Mexican/southwest dishes...you wont find eggs and bacon. Atmosphere is great...hip decor and design. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've eaten at Dia several times and it's always a great experience!! Can't wait for Summer to arrive!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Dia de Campo had a good vibe and the service was good, but the food was unimaginative and VERY expensive for small Mexican portions. The Chorizo & Shrimp enchilada was just blah at $18, but the empanadas and salmon tostada were good. Dinner was $90 with a drink and tip, not a memorable meal for the price.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.