About Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - New York City

A midtown classic with sprawling views of the NYC. Located in the heart of Midtown, this steakhouse offers incredible service and great food in a beautiful three level space. Known for having one of the city's best wine lists and bar scenes, Del Frisco's is the perfect place for small groups and parties of up to 80.

1221 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West 49th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 575-5129

Website:
http://delfriscos.com/

Public Transit:
B, D, F & V trains to 47th Street/Rockefeller Center, N, R & W trains to 49th Street.

Executive Chef:
Brian Christman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00PM - 11:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Del Frisco's offers a variety of private and semi-private dining and reception spaces perfectly suited for special occasions or business gatherings. We provides our private diners with warm hospitality and custom menus featuring our finest steak and seafood, as well as personalized beverage service.

Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - New York City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (144)
Business Meals (135)
Good for a Date (104)
See All
Notable Wine List (86)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for Birthdays (85)
Pre/post Theatre (79)
Good for Groups (75)
Romantic (72)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Hot Spot (51)
Scenic View (49)
Fit for Foodies (47)
People Watching (47)
Bar Seating (42)
Fun (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Modern Decor (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Authentic (26)
Happy Hour (17)
Private Room (16)
Family Style (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Cozy (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Casual (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (0)
Sort By:
S
5225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Waiter was absolutely terrible, he dissapeared for long lengths of time, never told us any specials, hardly checked up on us, and was extremely rude. I told him the cocktail I had ordered at the bar was too sweet and he looked at me like I had ten heads and asked me, "what would you like me to do about it". Very disappointed. I expected much more from a restaurant of this quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome atmosphere. Had a great date night, food was awesome. Definitely on the expensive side.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I was pretty disappointed with my steak at Del Frisco's. I've been to high end restaurants like this before and was able to cut my meat with a butter knife, I had to use a steak knife and it was a bit overcooked. It was on par with a typical chain restaurant steak. Our waitress, although nice, was a bit much. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was over salted and there was a hair in my date's meal. Need I say more?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Del Frisco's food and service never fails. Still number 1 on my list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely my favorite steakhouse in NYC. It is always busy, so the noise level gets up there, but the food and the service are unmatched. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Only negative is too loud. Difficult to carry on a conversation but to food makes it worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Del Frisco's always delivers. Had the bone in-strip which is the closest to the ol' Double Eagle that they used to serve which is probably the best steak I've ever had. From a steak perspective, Del Frisco's is one of the best. Love some of the sides at other places better but I usually just want to focus on the steak - so this is my place. Dave, our waiter, was phenomenal - great creative recommendations to put together appetizer combos special for us. He was a great guy but also very efficient in pacing us in a way that allowed us to enjoy dinner but also get us to the train on time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Expected more. Nothing special. Steak was good. Cocktails were excellent. Service very good. I have been to many steak restaurants; this was only okay. Would probably not return as there are other, better steakhouses in NYC. Good for tourists.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This wasn't my first time here, but for some reason my food wasn't as good as usual. I order lamb chops and sauteed spinach.. Both items were extremely salty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had Caesar salad which was average, spinach, rib eye and short ribs. The spinach was sent back due to garlic and salt overload. The beef dishes were good but way too much salt. We usually like salt but it was too much. With that said, it would have been the best rib eye I ever had minus all the salt. Cheesecake was yummy. Good service .

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My girlfriend and I ate at del frisco's in NYC last Sunday. Although we had a reservation, there was still a little bit of a wait. The service was excellent, and our only complaint would be the lighting at our table. It kind of felt like we were being interrogated, but the management was quite remorseful and compensated us for our appetizer. The food was mouth watering, and juices from the steak were sizzling on our ceramic plates. If it weren't for the waiter warning us, I may have melted my hand off. So we're thankful for that.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent steakhouse. I am not a New Yorker but visit often and try to get to Del's at least once per year.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful food, Server AMY was outstanding. Steaks are fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been to this location often and the service and quality of the food has never disappointed me. Book early to make sure you can get a table. The main dining area is loud but there is an area in the back that is perfect for conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit...our wayress, Sarah, was outstanding....food was piping hot and delicious....up there with the best steak houses in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very satisfied customer here:) From appetizers to dessert...everything was delicious! We will be returning again for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wait staff was very accomodating and friendly. Made sure my wife and I had an amazing date and enjoyed ourselves. Spacious atmosphere which can be hard to find sometimes in NYC (others we have been to we feel we are on top of the table next to us). Wine list is extensive. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 is the side of mashed potatoes were a little too peppery for my wife and I, but otherwise the filets were amazing and cooked perfectly. Definitely was pricey, so would only go back for special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Way too expensive, overrated, steaks to salty and peppered. If you don't belong to the local finds, they put you somewhere in an ugly backroom. Waiters pushy and not very helpfull, trying to push you into the most expensive parts on the menu.

Tried it on a Saturday night after a performance. Reservations absolutely necessary!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had the ribeye off the bone , was cooked to perfection. Worth the money . Onion rings are huge and delicious. Server was very friendly and knowledge about the menu .

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First off, the food was amazing!!!!! My waiter was extremely attentive to my wife and I. We came for the Tomahawk steak. Our waiter notified us that they were out and was very apologetic and did all that he could to make up for the minor hiccup. There was female waiter as well. They worked seamlessly together as a team.

My wife and I usually eat here once a month and by far, this was the best experience we have had at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The bartenders were very quick and friendly. Good wines by the glass. Unfortunately, even though we had a reservation, we were seating at an extra table outside of the wine celler in the basement of the restaurant. It didnt feel like the staff planned well for our reservation. We noticed people on the regular walk in waitlist get better seats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food. Our service person was fantastic. Ask for Donna to be your server.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant but with a warning ! Their steaks are season and salt with a heavy hand. If you have issues with salt intake. This place isn't for you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

If you have your last meal in your entire life somewhere, this should be the place. Bottom line; best restaurant you'll ever eat at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Dave Fletcher worked with us and was very friendly. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome in every way!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great Amazing service , dinner was wonderful definitely worth the drive and money spent

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My #1 steakhouse in a city full of amazing options. I've been patronizing DF midtown for 16 years and the experience gets better every time. Service, menu options, bar scene, ambiance, and steaks are all 2nd to none.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing experience every time we go to Del Frisco's. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The crab cake is wonderful. Lettuce wedge with blue cheese good. Bacon very good. The porterhouse was good but I have had better. Lobster mac and cheese so good. Creamed spinach good not great. They had a special mashed sweet potato which was really good. Creme Brûlée not good. The house Cabernet was also good. Is it my favorite steakhouse in NYC? No. Would I go back if invited? Sure and I wouldn't be upset about it. Would I choose it on my own? Also, no. It's very loud but there are two quieter rooms if you'd prefer, just ask when making your reservation. Enjoy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is our second visit to Del Frisco's and it will be a go to every visit to NYC! We also visited another fine dining steak restaurant and the food, drinks nor experience was anything compated to Del Frisco's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As usual an exceptional meal. Steak cooked to perfection and very friendly and helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Been to Del Fresco before , this time it suck real bad . For 1 our waiter was to concern with the larger party that was also dinging at the same time. So i feel we lost the personal touch i received the first time. Also the food wasnt how it was last time. When my burger came out the fires were cold just ate it , The porterhouse steak we order was dry and it was over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food. Expensive, but the quality is consistent with the price. Good service. Restaurant was a bit loud but not to the point that it disturbed us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amy our server provided excellent service. Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Chic et sobre ,belle vue sur le quartier a l'etage,cuisine raffinée...excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It's always great experience at Del Frisco

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm just saying that it used to be a whole lot better! Great flavorful steaks and real martinis!

Embarrassing Caesar salad and presentation of the shrimp cocktail...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best steaks in New York and it keeps me coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Carson was the best server and the food couldn't have been better! The crab cakes were the best I have ever had! Incredible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place was very nice but for having a reservation we still had to wait 45minutes until we were seated. It was overcrowded but we waited at the bar until we got seated. The food was excellent and our waitress Abigail was a sweetheart and was on top of everything. The wait was worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience ! My second time here and already my favorite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Came for a birthday celebration with the fiancé. We ordered the prime ribeye and the bone-in filet mignon and two sides (brussels sprouts and potatoes au gratin). The steaks were perfectly cooked, seasoned and my ribeye had a nice char on the outside; overall a wonderful experience. The sides, however, were nothing to rave about. The brussels sprouts were too salty and the potatoes au gratin were good, but nothing spectacular. Would definitely come back, but explore different side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was meant to be a special occasion. We had a reservation and had to wait in line for 30 minutes to reach the host after which there was an additional 30 minute wait in a very congested area between tables.

We were finally escorted into a dinghy inner room with cheap halogen lights that were uncomfortable esp if you were seated facing the light.

Our waitress - Abigail - was excellent. The food was standard steak house rather overpriced.

Certainly NOT a special occasion. We left without ordering desert, cookies at home seemed a better option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely amazing food in an incredibly noisy atmosphere. You have to yell for the person who is 2 feet away to hear you. Worth it all though!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were there Saturday night before Valentine's Day. We picked it because it's close to the theaters. The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere was lacking. The main dining area is large and was very crowded, almost cafeteria-like. It lacked intimacy. We were seated downstairs in the wine cellar, which seemed a little weird at first, but we were glad to be out of the crowd upstairs.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steakhouse in NYC. We ate there before seeing a Broadway play. The wonderful dining experience and play made for a special evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.