About Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co

315 10th Ave
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a playful Hellenic inspired cuisine and cask cocktail program. The menus also features many classic American dishes but with a light Greek undertone. The edgy name is a historic name and we are paying homage to the history of the neighborhood that we are growing roots in. Our establishment is intimate and features a gorgeous 2000 square foot private garden patio. We push the envelop at Death Ave by making cleverly working Hellenic flavors, ingredients and cooking techniques into new dishes and drinks. From cocktails to dessert we take great pride in providing great product and service to our patrons.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sun-Wed: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thurs-Sat: 4:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch Sat & Sun 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & 29th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 695-8080

Website:
http://www.deathave.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 7:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Death Ave provides an array of stunning event spaces for all occasions, from an intimate meeting to an extravagant outdoor reception. Our restaurant features options for indoor and outdoor events that can host up to 250 guests.

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Tapas (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The flavors of the meals mixed together ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The flavors of the meals mixed together perfectly. I was concerned that I would have trouble arranging my shopping bags while dining but we were seated at a table that was it's own nook so it was private and roomy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good and on par with other ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good and on par with other NYC restaurants. However, we found it to be way overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Love coming to Death Ave and always ask ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love coming to Death Ave and always ask to sit in Michael's section. He never steers us wrong on what to order and accomodates our special requests. Food and Drinks are always awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place so much. Great drinks an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love this place so much. Great drinks and warm atmosphere - been here a couple of times and always impressed by the nice service and delicious food. Even the pasta was awesome (unexpected!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely little spot on ugly 10th Avenue. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lovely little spot on ugly 10th Avenue. Decor is stylish and there are 2-3 enclave booths that can be curtained off for privacy. Outdoor space looks great. Food though is meh. And waaaay over priced for what it is. Brunch, for example, $18 for an egg bacon and cheese? WInes by the glass $15 - 18. No way. Burgers were fair. Fries, average. Those souvlaki tacos, fair. Salads had a very bland dressing. Wanted to love it as it is a charming space and staff is lovely but everything was just mediocre and overpriced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I had the chicken souvlaki which was pre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I had the chicken souvlaki which was prepared in a unique way and delicious. The fries were also out of this world. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Price was reasonable ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Price was reasonable and Inwould definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good find in a neighborhood with few o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A good find in a neighborhood with few options. Menu is eclectic, with lots of fun, casual versions of greek food, e.g. souvlaki taco, greek-inspired sliders. There were serious, traditional dishes as well, though we didn't try them. I doubt the cuisine would win many Michelin stars, but it was tasty, the portions were generous, and overall the atmosphere was warm and festive. The space looks thoroughly renovated and is quite handsome, yet not too slick, still warm and welcoming. A nice place for casual dining. I would definitely return when in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is amazing! A must go.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is amazing! A must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited Death Ave about a year ago fro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I visited Death Ave about a year ago from Boston and fell in love with the atmosphere, amazing food, and creative menu. I knew I wanted to come back, so I specifically planned to return! Just as excellent as I remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great space, some tables were tucked int ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great space, some tables were tucked into a alcove with velvet curtains. Nice rustic decor. The outdoor garden looked amazing with a bar, games, artistic lighting. Coming soon a brewery in the basement. Also offers a nice side room for small gathering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was friendly, but inefficien ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was friendly, but inefficient. The food was way over priced for what u got. Tapa portion for entree price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Good food and good ambiance. Came here ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Good food and good ambiance. Came here after a friend's art show opening. We had made a reservation and Death Row had our table ready for us. Because we were a few less than expected they easily moved us to one of the tables in their cubby sections just past the bar. So intimate and lovely and easy to talk closely with friends. We all had different meals and they were all delicious. My sausage tacos were especially wonderful. I love going to this restaurant!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve and the rest of the staff at Death ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Steve and the rest of the staff at Death Ave. really made our night out a special experience. The shots of house-infused banana bourbon were so smooth and flavorful! Their beer selection is good, but it will become even better once their own brews go on tap (They said some time next month!). The dip trio was an excellent appetizer; the portion size was great and the flavor was exceptional. We also had the Souvlaki "Tacos" with eggplant which were incredible! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place shouldn't be open yet. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The place shouldn't be open yet. The food was ok, service was absolutely horrible there were 3 tables in the entire restaurant and the waiter messed up our order and would never check on our table we had to get up to pay. Also they are not a brewery they don't brew their own beer yet this should be noted the place is not good at all I would never come back here to eat. Maybe in the summer when the backyard opens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food...Great drinks ...Great night ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food...Great drinks ...Great night... will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor is nice, but the food is very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The decor is nice, but the food is very over-priced for what it is. You can get much better Greek ("Hellenic") food elsewhere, with more vibrant flavors, and better craft cocktails elsewhere as well. Bottles of wine that retail for $12 were $17/glass. Not remotely worth the price.

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Good wine list. Booth was semi-private, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good wine list. Booth was semi-private, and service was prompt, but not rushed. We shared the dishes. Food was all very fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to share food and drinks wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great place to share food and drinks with friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

poor service for a large group, and they ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

poor service for a large group, and they were rude about their difficulty meeting our needs. we discussed access to outdoor space at the time we made a reservation but the outdoor area was closed for renovation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome food, drinks and service.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Awesome food, drinks and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to leave before ordering more than d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had to leave before ordering more than drinks and snacks because the noise level was off the charts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Loved everything about it except for the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved everything about it except for the noise. But there was a party going on so we forgave it! We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Everything!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience. Everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great space and interesting menu. The f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great space and interesting menu. The food was very good. Service was slow due to a large party ahead of us. Waiter was attentive and apologetic for the wait. Would go again - lots of different seating areas with private booths and an outdoor central patio. Very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Superb food and service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Superb food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Decent food and nice decor

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Decent food and nice decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was fast, servers were polite. O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was fast, servers were polite. Ordered a small appetiser, one small side (that I was talked into because the appetiser portion size was so small), and a small desert that somehow all cost fifty dollars. I will probably not return because the prices are absurd for the very modest portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent service excellent food selecti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service excellent food selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine except the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fine except the food was a little cold.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I made reservations based on the reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I made reservations based on the reviews and menu. I had high expectations and they were exceeded in every way. Open table offered the option of having flowers sent to the table, they were there when we arrived. I noted it was an anniversary dinner, they set us in one of their curtained, private alcoves which was surprisingly quiet give the busy bar. The drinks with infused spirits set the tone for a classy, fun evening. The food was outstanding, I had the Hellenic BBQ with steak and B had the souvlaki tacos.. You must try! They finished off our evening with a suppose dessert with a candle (unplanned by me) and two glasses of champagne. The staff was very attentive, they didn't seem to mind whose table was whose.. They all kept a discreet eye in case you needed anything. They are all knowledgable about the menu and cocktail items.

I could not have asked for a more wonderful evening. Please.. Please try this place. The bar crowd was hopping, restaurant is low key dress code and it can be as fancy or as casual as you want it to be. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow and inattentive service. A bit over ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Slow and inattentive service. A bit overpriced.

Ordered drinks and ended up leaving before ordering food.

In Death Ave's defense, it still seems as though they're trying to get the restaurant/brewery operational, whilst still trying to serve customers. Not sure that approach is working all that well at the moment.

We may try again in a few months, once the restaurant has gotten into more of a rhythm.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The owner and service were super friendl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner and service were super friendly and attentive. The garden area is very nicely done. We ate brunch and found the food to be overly spiced, in particular too much salt and pepper.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better restaurants we've been ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the better restaurants we've been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious at Death Ave, but ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was delicious at Death Ave, but the service was slow and they forgot our last two dishes - we had to remind them. We attended for Movie Monday and we loved the outdoor seating and ambiance. The food was way too expensive for what it was, but would go back for Movie Monday/ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was fair, the 8 hrs octopus wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was fair, the 8 hrs octopus wasn't as tender as I expected it to be. The service was good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very friendly and efficient service, lov ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very friendly and efficient service, lovely and quiet courtyard and great food. The 8-hour octopus is amazing. Go there !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The cheese plate! Especially the manour ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The cheese plate! Especially the manouri. Also, souvlaki tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for a dinner with 4 co-workers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went here for a dinner with 4 co-workers, all of whom have discerning taste. Death Ave did not disappoint - our dinner was phenomenal. Whereas I had eaten here before, it was everyone else's first time and definitely not their last!

Our dinners included the tacos, the cod, grilled chicken and sliders. Fried pickles for the table and fig ice cream for dessert! Great selection of wines.

The only complaint or critique I would have concerned the burger. I ordered it sans bun or fries and what remained was not as listed on the menu. When I questioned this, the waitress replied that the menu wasn't printed correctly. While accommodating, this should have been mentioned in advance. This is the reason I gave the "service" a score less than perfect.

We sat in the backroom, off the back patio. Sometimes backrooms can feel like a left over or an after thought; instead, this felt like the main event, comparable to the front bar area. Next time we will request to sit out back, as the courtyard looked so charming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I've eaten there before and always had a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I've eaten there before and always had a good meal with a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.