Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a playful Hellenic inspired cuisine and cask cocktail program. The menus also features many classic American dishes but with a light Greek undertone. The edgy name is a historic name and we are paying homage to the history of the neighborhood that we are growing roots in. Our establishment is intimate and features a gorgeous 2000 square foot private garden patio. We push the envelop at Death Ave by making cleverly working Hellenic flavors, ingredients and cooking techniques into new dishes and drinks. From cocktails to dessert we take great pride in providing great product and service to our patrons.

315 10th Ave
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sun-Wed: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thurs-Sat: 4:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch Sat & Sun 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & 29th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 695-8080

Website:
http://www.deathave.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Death Ave provides an array of stunning event spaces for all occasions, from an intimate meeting to an extravagant outdoor reception. Our restaurant features options for indoor and outdoor events that can host up to 250 guests.

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
See All
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Could use a few more options for people with allergies but we managed to get some things and they were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Death Avenue is 2 for 2. Took my boyfriend then srnt worth my best friend. Always impressed with the food, paintings/decor & outdoor garden.
Rib sandwich, chicken tacos, pork sliders, cod fish sliders AND THOSE TASTY TRUFFLE FRIES!!
Must try this place.😋😉

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This place is super fun. Where else can you get a black martini made with squid ink?! The service is extremely warm and friendly but totally professional. The drinks are fabulous, the food is delicious and prepared with love. This visit was only my second, a couple years apart, and I'd forgotten what a delightful find it is. I'll make an effort to get back more often. Really great. Moussaka interpretation I found supremely fantastic. And the privacy of the booths is so rare and just what I love in a restaurant when you want to focus on your friends and the conversation. So respectful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Family Style, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Amazing food and good food choices for various tastes. They have little booths for privacy and the noise level is very acceptable for an NYC restaurant. The decor is really beautiful with brick and reclaimed wood and iron.
Service was reasonably fast.
It's a bit pricey for what it is, but it's NYC, so to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Place is amazing. Great food and beautiful ambient. Michael was a great host. Very quick service given that was Saturday evening. Highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Brought some friends from England here for dinner. They loved it! Great cocktails, meal and atmosphere. Attentive service. Everyone is always welcoming and friendly when I go.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The flavors of the meals mixed together perfectly. I was concerned that I would have trouble arranging my shopping bags while dining but we were seated at a table that was it's own nook so it was private and roomy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good and on par with other NYC restaurants. However, we found it to be way overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love coming to Death Ave and always ask to sit in Michael's section. He never steers us wrong on what to order and accomodates our special requests. Food and Drinks are always awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love this place so much. Great drinks and warm atmosphere - been here a couple of times and always impressed by the nice service and delicious food. Even the pasta was awesome (unexpected!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lovely little spot on ugly 10th Avenue. Decor is stylish and there are 2-3 enclave booths that can be curtained off for privacy. Outdoor space looks great. Food though is meh. And waaaay over priced for what it is. Brunch, for example, $18 for an egg bacon and cheese? WInes by the glass $15 - 18. No way. Burgers were fair. Fries, average. Those souvlaki tacos, fair. Salads had a very bland dressing. Wanted to love it as it is a charming space and staff is lovely but everything was just mediocre and overpriced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I had the chicken souvlaki which was prepared in a unique way and delicious. The fries were also out of this world. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Price was reasonable and Inwould definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A good find in a neighborhood with few options. Menu is eclectic, with lots of fun, casual versions of greek food, e.g. souvlaki taco, greek-inspired sliders. There were serious, traditional dishes as well, though we didn't try them. I doubt the cuisine would win many Michelin stars, but it was tasty, the portions were generous, and overall the atmosphere was warm and festive. The space looks thoroughly renovated and is quite handsome, yet not too slick, still warm and welcoming. A nice place for casual dining. I would definitely return when in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is amazing! A must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I visited Death Ave about a year ago from Boston and fell in love with the atmosphere, amazing food, and creative menu. I knew I wanted to come back, so I specifically planned to return! Just as excellent as I remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great space, some tables were tucked into a alcove with velvet curtains. Nice rustic decor. The outdoor garden looked amazing with a bar, games, artistic lighting. Coming soon a brewery in the basement. Also offers a nice side room for small gathering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was friendly, but inefficient. The food was way over priced for what u got. Tapa portion for entree price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Good food and good ambiance. Came here after a friend's art show opening. We had made a reservation and Death Row had our table ready for us. Because we were a few less than expected they easily moved us to one of the tables in their cubby sections just past the bar. So intimate and lovely and easy to talk closely with friends. We all had different meals and they were all delicious. My sausage tacos were especially wonderful. I love going to this restaurant!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Steve and the rest of the staff at Death Ave. really made our night out a special experience. The shots of house-infused banana bourbon were so smooth and flavorful! Their beer selection is good, but it will become even better once their own brews go on tap (They said some time next month!). The dip trio was an excellent appetizer; the portion size was great and the flavor was exceptional. We also had the Souvlaki "Tacos" with eggplant which were incredible! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The place shouldn't be open yet. The food was ok, service was absolutely horrible there were 3 tables in the entire restaurant and the waiter messed up our order and would never check on our table we had to get up to pay. Also they are not a brewery they don't brew their own beer yet this should be noted the place is not good at all I would never come back here to eat. Maybe in the summer when the backyard opens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food...Great drinks ...Great night... will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The decor is nice, but the food is very over-priced for what it is. You can get much better Greek ("Hellenic") food elsewhere, with more vibrant flavors, and better craft cocktails elsewhere as well. Bottles of wine that retail for $12 were $17/glass. Not remotely worth the price.

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good wine list. Booth was semi-private, and service was prompt, but not rushed. We shared the dishes. Food was all very fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great place to share food and drinks with friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

poor service for a large group, and they were rude about their difficulty meeting our needs. we discussed access to outdoor space at the time we made a reservation but the outdoor area was closed for renovation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Awesome food, drinks and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had to leave before ordering more than drinks and snacks because the noise level was off the charts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved everything about it except for the noise. But there was a party going on so we forgave it! We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience. Everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great space and interesting menu. The food was very good. Service was slow due to a large party ahead of us. Waiter was attentive and apologetic for the wait. Would go again - lots of different seating areas with private booths and an outdoor central patio. Very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Superb food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Decent food and nice decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was fast, servers were polite. Ordered a small appetiser, one small side (that I was talked into because the appetiser portion size was so small), and a small desert that somehow all cost fifty dollars. I will probably not return because the prices are absurd for the very modest portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service excellent food selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fine except the food was a little cold.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I made reservations based on the reviews and menu. I had high expectations and they were exceeded in every way. Open table offered the option of having flowers sent to the table, they were there when we arrived. I noted it was an anniversary dinner, they set us in one of their curtained, private alcoves which was surprisingly quiet give the busy bar. The drinks with infused spirits set the tone for a classy, fun evening. The food was outstanding, I had the Hellenic BBQ with steak and B had the souvlaki tacos.. You must try! They finished off our evening with a suppose dessert with a candle (unplanned by me) and two glasses of champagne. The staff was very attentive, they didn't seem to mind whose table was whose.. They all kept a discreet eye in case you needed anything. They are all knowledgable about the menu and cocktail items.
I could not have asked for a more wonderful evening. Please.. Please try this place. The bar crowd was hopping, restaurant is low key dress code and it can be as fancy or as casual as you want it to be. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Slow and inattentive service. A bit overpriced.

Ordered drinks and ended up leaving before ordering food.

In Death Ave's defense, it still seems as though they're trying to get the restaurant/brewery operational, whilst still trying to serve customers. Not sure that approach is working all that well at the moment.

We may try again in a few months, once the restaurant has gotten into more of a rhythm.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner and service were super friendly and attentive. The garden area is very nicely done. We ate brunch and found the food to be overly spiced, in particular too much salt and pepper.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the better restaurants we've been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.