Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a playful Hellenic inspired cuisine and cask cocktail program. The menus also features many classic American dishes but with a light Greek undertone. The edgy name is a historic name and we are paying homage to the history of the neighborhood that we are growing roots in. Our establishment is intimate and features a gorgeous 2000 square foot private garden patio. We push the envelop at Death Ave by making cleverly working Hellenic flavors, ingredients and cooking techniques into new dishes and drinks. From cocktails to dessert we take great pride in providing great product and service to our patrons.

315 10th Ave
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sun-Wed: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thurs-Sat: 4:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch Sat & Sun 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & 29th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 695-8080

Website:
http://www.deathave.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Death Ave provides an array of stunning event spaces for all occasions, from an intimate meeting to an extravagant outdoor reception. Our restaurant features options for indoor and outdoor events that can host up to 250 guests.

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
See All
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great Beer (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Live Sports (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Reluctant to leave a review cause I don't want this hidden gem to get too much attention. Soo Death Ave is kind of that answer to the 'I want to do something chill and fun, not too expensive and that's different' ..Which is a daily challenge in NYC.. So this is pretty much everything you're looking for.. If you want a low key dinner it's perfect.. if you want a fun bar scene of quality people that's not full of loud amateurs, this is the spot.. if you want a casual nice glass of wine and a quick app it's perfect.. a group of friends, it's amazing.. the outdoor garden after work is always my spot and the tap room next door is my new go to for after drinks now that's cooling down and for weekend football obviously..While I'm not a big beer drinker they have a great selection of cocktails and wines and my friends always love their beers. Just a solid, low key spot that's good anytime. Very much recommended unless it starts getting too packed then don't come cause I kind of want it all to myself!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Really cute place for drinks. Food..not so much. Calamari was burnt and pasta was cold. Pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience here. We saw coverage of this restaurant by a notable reviewer on cable TV. The dishes looked tasty and the ambiance look incredible. As a result, my boyfriend and I decided to try it the next night. We came in an hour before closing and the service was still on point. The owner/management came by our table himself to see how everything was going to and to confirm we had everything we needed. I highly recommend the tacos and the sliders. Although I'm no a beer drinker, one could definitely appreciate the setup and selection. On f thither things that stood out to me were the thin cut fries, which I find are rare in Mediterranean inspired restaurants, and also a deal maker:-). I love the cut and the taste of the fries, along with our experience altogether. Definitely give this place a try! We will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Live Music, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Sunday funday! Soo... a small group of us were headed to Death Ave for brunch and to have a little fun in their outdoor garden before meeting up with others at a sports bar for Sunday football. What we didn't realize was Death Ave opened a sports bar/brewpub next door and it's f'n awesome! We spent all afternoon there eating their pizza's and trying their beers and forced the other group to leave their spot and come meet us! We had a large area right in the front all to ourselves and took in the games. The manager was super nice and put on a couple different games so everyone could watch their team! Service was super friendly and the crowd was a good mix of tourists from The Highline and locals. We ended up meeting a lot of people and I think my gf might have met her future husband but it might have just been the beer talking!
Amazing Sunday, we'll be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Quality hidden gem with a unique historic charm that is long lost with most places in the city.
Was very impressed with the feta burger which was super juicy and flavorful and paired with their own IPA it's pretty hard to beat. Despite being pretty busy the service was very attentive and friendly and they knew exactly when to come over for a refill on our beers.
Always great to find a new solid spot you know will never disappoint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Don't let the name put you off. We came here for brunch with kids, they were able to hang out in the backyard area while the food was being prepared. Scrumptious, inventive dishes meant for sharing (we had sliders, breakfast toast, and tacos). Excellent cocktail list. Friendly, attentive service - we had the whole rear section to ourselves on a Sunday, even though nearby similar restaurants were booked out - can't figure out why, as the food exceeded our expectations! Definitely will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We arrived 30 minutes early for our reservation and were still accomodated

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Chocolate flavored beer wasn't impressive for $11.00 and cocktail taste like soap .
Fresh cod fish should not smell fish
But smell so fish and over cooked and
Sauce was not really goes with cod at all.
Fried pickle was the only thing we can bite but pickle slice was so thick so make it too salty.
I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

On a recommendation from a colleague I stopped in for lunch with a couple friends.
We decided to try out the new Tap Room and try out their flatbread pizza's and house made beers. I ordered Greek Salad pizza and absolutely devoured the entire thing which is a pretty big portion. The others ordered the margarita pizza which I'm guessing is amazing because he refused to share and a spinach pie pizza which I tried and loved as well. We sampled a few of their beers, all were easy to drink and really well made. The stout for me was particularly impressive. We did have a round of Jalapeno tequila's to complete our highly enjoyable experience. Very comfortable, casual space, service is super friendly... my only regret is living on the East side because I will be crossing town very very often to visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food and drink were excellent. Interesting choices, so we shared a few options and were happy with all our choices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great place , staff and food. Perfect for lunch , happy hour and dinner

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Although the food is good - the brunch menu is overpriced and the ambiance is lacking.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were sat in a very private booth built into the wall, perfect for a first date- service was exceptionally friendly, creative and well executed cocktails and food menu. Had the octopus, sausage, moussaka, and sautéed spinach- all were terrific.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

really fun menu, great ambiance, cool spot to visit

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Needed a spot close to work & hotel, and this place exceeded all expectations. The menu had a variety of food, the price was reasonable, and the quality (food & ambiance) was great.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Consistently wonderful meals, service and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My yelp review (one star):

Don't go here. I thought it sounded like a great option for me and a few of my friends to go for drinks and dinner. The building itself was incredibly hot, humid and uncomfortable. The service wasn't impressive - it was slow and each person seemed like they were new and unaccountable. In fact, a server came over with drinks and and provides 4/5 of the drinks on his tray and said "and someone else had something else?" It was mine and I asked if he knew what it was before putting it in front of me. He said no, took a minute, sniffed it in front of us and put it down saying, "this must be it."

They also brought out my entree 10-15 minutes before anyone else's. I ordered the octopus and despite being very optimistic m, it was a disappointing dish overwhelmed by the flavor of the beans it was served with.

The beers, despite being labeled a "brewery," took extremely long (15-20 min) to bring out and they offered nothing other than their own 4-5 personal brews. In fact, our waitress suggested we order something other than beer since they "take a while to bring out."

The prices were about average for the location (NoMad) but were not in line with the quality or service we expected.

I don't expect this place to be around very long. And even if it is, I won't be visiting. They have a lot of potential, but have not even close to being a decent restaurant, bar or brewery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Love Death Ave. The team is amazing, food is fantastic, never to disappoint. A must try in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The lunch time staff were VERY slow and did not come to check on us. It took over 20 minutes to get them to take our order. The food is good with some unique ingredients. It took another 20 minutes to get them to bring the check. If you sit in one of the private booths don't expect them to see you.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Service was excellent and we enjoyed a private meal before going to Sleep no More around the corner. Byzantine sausage, steak skewers, and truffle fries were very good. Baby lamb chops were over cooked and sub par. Our server was knowledgeable and professional. I was impressed with his demeanor and explanation of the menu.
Here's the problem. The manager? Owner? Head jerk? Bearded fool occupying either the far table facing the front door or standing behind the bar ignoring customers and berating staff. You'll know him when you see him.
Some of the finest restaurants in the world are run with an iron fist, but the patrons should only see the velvet glove. Your bad day and poor attitude should never dull your customers experience. This boorish fool is a blight on a beautiful restaurant, an impressive staff, and what should be a relaxing meal.

I recommend this establishment only for the staff and above average food. Value is lost when this man is present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. It could def have used some air conditioning on this balmy 80 degree night. We were inside and it was very warm making it hard to enjoy the meal. All of the food was delicious. The sangria was refreshing and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

What a great find aroung Hudson Yards, and so close to the Highline. Garden dining not open at the time of this brunch. But we had a great cozy table for 4, almost like our own little cabana. Definitely would go back to this place in the near future.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was ok, nothing out standing. I had an octopus dish and my husband had sausage tacos. The server was not as friendly. The host was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

So fun!! Amazing service, great taste, and fun atmosphere. 10/10 would recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Tapas, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Could use a few more options for people with allergies but we managed to get some things and they were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Death Avenue is 2 for 2. Took my boyfriend then srnt worth my best friend. Always impressed with the food, paintings/decor & outdoor garden.
Rib sandwich, chicken tacos, pork sliders, cod fish sliders AND THOSE TASTY TRUFFLE FRIES!!
Must try this place.😋😉

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place is super fun. Where else can you get a black martini made with squid ink?! The service is extremely warm and friendly but totally professional. The drinks are fabulous, the food is delicious and prepared with love. This visit was only my second, a couple years apart, and I'd forgotten what a delightful find it is. I'll make an effort to get back more often. Really great. Moussaka interpretation I found supremely fantastic. And the privacy of the booths is so rare and just what I love in a restaurant when you want to focus on your friends and the conversation. So respectful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Amazing food and good food choices for various tastes. They have little booths for privacy and the noise level is very acceptable for an NYC restaurant. The decor is really beautiful with brick and reclaimed wood and iron.
Service was reasonably fast.
It's a bit pricey for what it is, but it's NYC, so to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Place is amazing. Great food and beautiful ambient. Michael was a great host. Very quick service given that was Saturday evening. Highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Brought some friends from England here for dinner. They loved it! Great cocktails, meal and atmosphere. Attentive service. Everyone is always welcoming and friendly when I go.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The flavors of the meals mixed together perfectly. I was concerned that I would have trouble arranging my shopping bags while dining but we were seated at a table that was it's own nook so it was private and roomy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was good and on par with other NYC restaurants. However, we found it to be way overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Love coming to Death Ave and always ask to sit in Michael's section. He never steers us wrong on what to order and accomodates our special requests. Food and Drinks are always awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place so much. Great drinks and warm atmosphere - been here a couple of times and always impressed by the nice service and delicious food. Even the pasta was awesome (unexpected!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lovely little spot on ugly 10th Avenue. Decor is stylish and there are 2-3 enclave booths that can be curtained off for privacy. Outdoor space looks great. Food though is meh. And waaaay over priced for what it is. Brunch, for example, $18 for an egg bacon and cheese? WInes by the glass $15 - 18. No way. Burgers were fair. Fries, average. Those souvlaki tacos, fair. Salads had a very bland dressing. Wanted to love it as it is a charming space and staff is lovely but everything was just mediocre and overpriced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I had the chicken souvlaki which was prepared in a unique way and delicious. The fries were also out of this world. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was excellent. Price was reasonable and Inwould definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A good find in a neighborhood with few options. Menu is eclectic, with lots of fun, casual versions of greek food, e.g. souvlaki taco, greek-inspired sliders. There were serious, traditional dishes as well, though we didn't try them. I doubt the cuisine would win many Michelin stars, but it was tasty, the portions were generous, and overall the atmosphere was warm and festive. The space looks thoroughly renovated and is quite handsome, yet not too slick, still warm and welcoming. A nice place for casual dining. I would definitely return when in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is amazing! A must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.