Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About DBGB NYC

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB NYC is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Isela Velasco: ivelasco@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Fun (36)
See All
Casual (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Modern Decor (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Hot Spot (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great Beer (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
3579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was tasty, presented ok. Service was great we had a fantastic waiter.
We tried variety of sausages, calamari and Carbonara. All were good but nothing overly special, maybe the group we were with were more picky!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Second time i've eaten there. The food doesnt dissapoint. The rice that was served with the thai sausage was a little saltier than i remember. My table felt a little ignored that night even though the restaurant didnt look that busy aside from the 2 big parties. But Great company and the show stopping dessert did help calm my nerves. All in all it was a good experience and i would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Hostess, barmaid and waiters all very cordial. Food is good but not great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Visiting NYC

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Extremely disappointed by the service here. Our party was rarely attended to, despite the restaurant being fully staffed. The amount of time it took our server to come to our table after being seated was ridiculously long, as well as waiting for our actual orders. Food was nothing special with everything else in consideration. Would not recommend for a large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Slightly above average food at decent prices. Large venue allows for easy, last minute reservations. For big groups, they have "whole pig" or "whole cow" feasts that look fun!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Of course Mothersday-evening might not be the best moment to visit DBGB, but it's open and we go for it. Only 5 tables are occupied and Murphy's Law pays a visit. Slow service, no attention, raw pork sausage, and at 9.30 PM we are the only guests.After $ 240 + tip (2 pax) we leave at 9.55. There's nobody around to say goodbye or anything, we're dissapointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very decent food and very remarkable service. Just a little too noisy. We would definitely come back next time in NYC.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We've been here many times and looked forward to coming back. This visit, the service was slow and spotty and our sausage duo meal, a dish recommended to us by our waitperson, was served RAW. The inside of one of the sausage types was literally raw. Once we were able to flag down our waitperson to tell them (no one checked on our food after being served), he immediately replaced it. But it was a drag to not be able to eat together. And worse was no apology or even an offer to buy our meal, dessert or even the extra glass of wine while we waited for the food to be remade. Disappointing. Won't go back. Too many other great places to patronize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

DBGB did not fail to surprise. We were lucky enough to enjoy their recent seasonal special. Chef Amin deep-fried the soft-shelled crab (youngsters of blue crab) in which case you can chew every bit of the crab and ingest it. it tastes like.. it is out of this world. on the sides there is beautiful lushy green english pea paste, as well as polenta made of corn; the portion is just right for a lady. oysters are fresh and tasty. the fire alaskan icecream cake was a magnificent performance to watch, according to our waiter Rolando, it burns using a 50/50 alcohol (?) for the fuel. people here love their work. highly recommend dbgb for anyone wants great food, friendly ambience, and amazing aethetics.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Team dinners are always hard with my large group and catering to everyone's dietary preferences. DBGB made us feel right at home from the start. Not a single person had a bad meal and the team is begging to go back. We came on a Tuesday night, which is normally a night of the 'b' team at most restaurants. If this was the 'b' team, I can't wait to try the 'a' team. Tip: make sure and save room for the Kaya Soufflé. I had a 'where have you been all my life' moment and my team fought over equal sharing of it; I should have ordered a few.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Duck confit superb! Better than their burgers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our most recent visit to DBGB was below our expectations. Food was good, but not as good as our previous visits. Oysters had lots of shell fragments in them. Dessert and salads were the highlights of this visit. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our second time at DBGB... first time was VERY VERY loud but food was pretty good. Went back to Brunch on a Sunday and the service was terrible. Took them 15 mins to come ask for our drink order. Another 15 mins to take our food order. The food take at least 30 mins to make (we ordered omelettes) and they got the order wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I found DBGB through 'Were chefs eat', made a reservation for our trip to NY. It was fabulous. Best french toast I ever had, and that means something coming from a european :)
Can recommend this place as a must eat when visiting NY.
Nanette, the Netherlands

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

the noise as really high level especially from the music...noticed a big drop in volume when music was being re set

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Jose served us and was a gem. Lewis the manager took great care of us, and Padraic the head bartender sorted us out. Couldn't recommend enough. Will definitely be returning. Thanks again guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My husband and I went here for our 2 year anniversary. The food was wonderful but we were drawn by the beer list, which was amazing. They have a ton of choices on draft and we were both able to find new exciting things to try.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We had an off night. It was a quiet Monday and the staff was overly attentive, probably since there wasn't much to do. Unfortunately for us, that meant hovering staff that was eager to pull things away before we even finished eating. We were one of five tables there and yet we were feeling rushed away. Shame, because I've always loved this place. My potato leek soup was also pure salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and service were great. The cocktails while delicious were kind of small especially considering the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing dinner! We went for our anniversary and it could not have been better.....they treated us to a nice glass of champagne for both of us - the calamari was the best I have ever had and the steak frites were melt in your mouth fantastic. My wife had the Piggie burger which was like heaven in your mouth. Great soufflé to finish up one of the greatest dining experiences of my life!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Oh. My. Goddddd. Uh-mazing!! The roasted chicken meal was absolutely phenomenal. Having never tried lamb, a co-worker made me try his and I'm so glad I don't have a stereotype of it any more. Everything was to die for and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

While the menu is somewhat limited, there are enough choices to please most people. We had the duck breast and the steak frites, both of which were very good, if overly salted. While the cocktails and glass wine choices were good, they were a somewhat expensive even for Manahttan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My only complaint is I made a 5:00 reservation because I had an early show. The place was empty, yet they didn't seat me 'till 5:30 because they were still setting up. They rent the place during the day for business space, and the business hadn't cleared out early enough.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service and ambiance very good. Laid back atmosphere and good dining area.
Took the Grand Plateau. Oysters (especially), clams and mussels were very good. Shellfish (lobster and prawns) a bit watery and tasteless as after deep frozen. Good wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been meaning to try DBGB for years, and I finally made it happen for Easter brunch. I went with my husband and a good friend, and we had a great experience overall. I had the Frenchie burger, my husband had the Piggy, and our friend had the ham special with sweet potato salad and scallion cornbread. The burgers were perfectly cooked and well seasoned. I thought that the pork belly on the Frenchie and the pulled pork on the Piggie could have been more prominent (they were barely detectable), but the burgers were flavorful and juicy. My only other complaint about my burger was that the bun was supposed to be a cheese bun, but it ended up being a plain brioche bun, and the bun was so soft and porous that the juices soaked through the bottom of the bun after the first bite. I ended up eating it open-faced, which was fine. The price point for the food was definitely reasonable; however, we were looking forward to either a bottomless brunch cocktail deal or at least some sort of combo. Apparently they usually have one but not on holidays, so we ended up paying $13-$15 for each cocktail. Not cheap! Our server was very friendly and attentive, which was a plus. I would definitely give it another try for brunch or dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal...Steak tartare/crudo followed by the piggie burger and moules frites. Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Beautiful spot. Great flavors. We started with the calamari and then had the duck and the Yankee burger. The fries tasted odd, like the type you make at home from a freezer bag, to be honest - very un-French!

And our starting waiter left and a new guy stepped in at some point without telling us. We found out after noticing not seeing him any more while waiting for help! I've never had that happen anywhere else before, including diners! It was especially odd since each waiter was very helpful and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great ambience, good food but small portions. Great choice of craft beers. Server was a little 'too eager' but that's better than the opposite! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food and a great beer list make this gastropub on the Bowery a reliable value. Our group had a string of uncharacteristic service hiccups that were surprising for a Daniel Boulud restaurant. That and a couple undercooked items kept this from more stars in our opinion, but definitely worth a look if you're in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good place for a big group or a last minute friends get-together. Some nice, reasonably priced bites at the bar if you're just looking for something casual. Also been there with a big group, and their space is large enough to accommodate a pretty big table.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Awesome! Great food and wonderful service :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was great, the service was very friendly and competent. But the music was too loud for us and therefore talking, unfortunately, became quite strenuous. Our ears rang after leaving the place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is a professional staff and on their game. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

However good and fresh, the "GRAND PLATEAU" is rather small. It says 3-4 people but its more personal sized.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, wonderful ambience.

With a Singaporean Executive chef, DBGB NYC not only serves delicious meals with beautiful presentation; it is also full of Singaporean pride. Will be there again when I visit NYC next time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Didn't like the food and service overpriced not worth it all.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fun spot for a date. Recommend a booth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hostess was unhelpful and server was less than perfunctory

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.