About DBGB NYC

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB NYC is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Isela Velasco: ivelasco@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Casual (27)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fun (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great Beer (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The beer list is amazing and we had the ...

 
 (Surrey)·Dined 3 days ago

The beer list is amazing and we had the best waiter. I am really sorry I didn't catch his name but he made the experience for us!

The frenchie burger and the sprouts were delicious! Really good. The DBGB hotdog was disappointing compared to the others.

Go for the beer list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were here for Valentine's Day. We we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were here for Valentine's Day. We were seated at a lousy table right away. All others were seated in bankettes and booths. So we were not happy but remained where we were. Our waiter took a drink order that we had to ask twice for. The menu was prix fix but the veal would be $15 extra per person. All that being said the food was excellent, the wine and beer menu impressive and the service improved over time. Would love to go back when it's not a packed and busy night to this sophisticated East Village spot.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I'm a fan of all the DB restaurants. Thi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I'm a fan of all the DB restaurants. This was just as spectacular as the others but more casual, even on Valentine day. The cocktails looked interesting and the one I tried was spectacular (white manhattan with a house amaro). Dishes were beautifully prepared; menu/style similar to Bar Boulud and DBbistro. The staff were super friendly and relaxed—maybe even more so than the other DB spots.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out server Ariel was great. We did the r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Out server Ariel was great. We did the restaurant week menu, everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us went for lunch during restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Four of us went for lunch during restaurant week. Everything was great but not spectacular. I would go again if I was in the neighborhood.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved everything!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved everything!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dinner and felt in the mood ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We went for dinner and felt in the mood for burgers. Big, juicy and delicious. GF bun for me, which was the best I've had in NYC. Even the fries are GF--not cooked in the same oil as anything else. Very interesting cocktails too. I'm going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Restaurant Week and overall ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week and overall the food was wonderful and the service was fair plus.

I was early for our reservation and had a glass of wine at the bar. Padraig is wonderful-friendly and professional.

My husband said the steak tartare is one of the best he has had in the city. The duck rillettes appetizer was perfectly seasoned but I thought the marmalade had a bitter aftertaste. We ordered the petite plateau raw platter (not on the Restaurant Week menu) but this was the most disappointing because the shellfish was not shucked well with tiny pieces of shell broken off into the meat of the clams and oysters or the meat was not properly separated from the shell; the menu lists tuna tartare which was missing and instead there was a small dish of plain shelled crab (I'm guessing this was the crab salad). My Long Island Crescent duck had a supplemental charge but it was well worth it. I would order it again. My husband had the DBGB dog and Beaujolais sausage and he loved everything, including the lentils.

The pear and chestnut sundae seemed to be missing the dacquoise and was a giant blob of whipped cream. It was not a good presentation since it was just looked like white whipped cream in a bowl. But, when you scooped underneath all the whipped cream, the chestnut ice cream and pear sorbet were delicious.

The server was very friendly and great at taking our order but off with service, especially with water replenishment. She was walking around a lot and not paying attention to the smaller details (refilling water glass, folding napkin when person leaves the table, clearing empty plates promptly, cleaning off the table surface after the plates were cleared, etc.) that takes a restaurant to the next level. The manager folded my husband's napkin after she stopped at the table but neglected to do it.

We will be back to try the baked Alaska - we decided it was too much for just the two of us so will probably come with a couple more people to try it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Fantastic!!! The food was delicious and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Fantastic!!! The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. I had linguine carbonara, calamari appetizer, and sticky toffee pudding. My date had steak, duck confit, and the sticky pudding. Everything was simply mouth watering. Our waiter was attentive and all of the staff was friendly and on top of things.

Fantastic meal and for restaurant week you can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sausages were delicious! I got the V ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The sausages were delicious! I got the Vermont and the Beaujolais - both were juicy and flavorful. The calamari was also very tasty - had a nice crispness. And the butternut squash soup was very velvety. Tasted the steak and it was cooked very well. And the carbonara was delightful - rich and creamy. Our server was a bit curt but ambiance was nice. Overall a positive experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

All in all a good experience. Three per ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

All in all a good experience. Three person brunch with no cocktails at $100 is pretty steep.

Food was good. Service friendly but a little slow.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Always excellent. This time tried the sa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always excellent. This time tried the sausage duo. Beaujolaise and Vermont. Both super good. Next time will do the sausage again. Great restaurant worth a visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our mussels were some cold and some warm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our mussels were some cold and some

warm, none hot. And none fabulous. The food was just good, not great. Service was wonderful, our waiter was great, drinks were great!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was really bad. We had to ask ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was really bad. We had to ask our waiter (and runners, when the waiter could not be found) for simple things multiple times. They didn't bring a bowl for my friend's mussel shells. They brought her ketchup but not the mayo I asked for. It took 25 minutes to get a second cocktail. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We went for restaurant week and ordered ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week and ordered from the RW menu. The food was tasty and the service was mostly good except towards the end, they seemed quite in a hurry to get us out. We weren't planning on ordering anything else or hanging around for ages so didn't really mind too much when they gave us the bill without asking. But we were just putting our cutlery down after finishing our dessert and they were literally already grabbing our plates from under us. It wasn't a huge deal but I prefer not to feel rushed when eating, even if I am finishing up my plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Bad food We will not be back

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bad food

We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Very good hamburguers. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good hamburguers.

The service was incredibly fast and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Haven't been to DBGB's in years. Still v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Haven't been to DBGB's in years. Still very relevant. The food was well prepared and executed. Service was friendly and efficient. Cocktails, spirits, beer and wine all on point. So often power restaurant groups are food/wine/cocktail centric but overlook the beer program. Not the case at BDGB's. Thank you, Ian. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food. Husband had the paleron ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious food. Husband had the paleron and I had hake; both were done perfectly. The service staffers were pros. We plan to make this a regular place for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the sausages, and I say that as some ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Get the sausages, and I say that as someone who never orders sausage. This is sophisticated sausage with well thought out accompaniments. Don't get the mussels. Server was great & son loved the steak frites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food. I've been twice, ordered ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic food. I've been twice, ordered something different every time, and can't wait to go back! By the way, get the duck. Or the sausages. Or the mussels. You know what...just go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't even sleep with him

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I didn't even sleep with him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Attentive staff, good food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Attentive staff, good food.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great bistro! Everything we had w ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

What a great bistro! Everything we had was perfection, from the duck rillettes to the cremant. My wife had the Hake, which was baked to perfection. Especially enjoyed checking out the copper donated by other chefs. If we lived in the area this would definitely be a regular hang out for us, as it is, we'd make the effort to return next time we're in the city. The service was attentive and friendly without being overbearing, and the staff were able to answer our questions knowledgeably.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here with a group of 10 for a birth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Came here with a group of 10 for a birthday celebration. Staff was pleasant and friendly, and were patient with us as our group assembled. Food, while not overwhelming, was tasty and well-prepared. Service was good, and our large table was handled well. Good place for a noisy celebration or just for a solid steak frites.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place, food was amazing. Very busy ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place, food was amazing. Very busy, the staff was moving at fast pace and attentive service was less than perfect. Burgers are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved this place. Very friendly wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We loved this place. Very friendly wait staff. Food came quickly and was quite delicious. The bar area is sectioned off from the main dining area - great place to meet a friend for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Prix fixe meal is a real ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food. Prix fixe meal is a real value and great food. The Baked Alaska was to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, , Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the food and scene. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and scene. The one downside was the time in between courses and the service. Our waitress was rather aloof and service was horribly slow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was great. Waiter helped make m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was great. Waiter helped make my dinner choice and it was great. The sausage was amazing. Will definitely head back

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great setting and great serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, great setting and great service. Would love to go back and try everything on the menu. Especially loved the selection of sausages. Extensive beer menu and helpful staff to help with your selections.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband, who has a "cast iron stomach ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband, who has a "cast iron stomach," never any problems, developed severe food poisoning after eating a black truffle pasta at this restaurant. Other diners in the party were fine, but did not have the same dish. We would not recommend the restaurant, no matter how good the food, because it presents a level of risk that is not worth it for the clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My friend and I enjoyed the Big Bowery B ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed the Big Bowery Brunch. Definitely a lot of food to share between 2 people; we both left the restaurant feeling beyond satisfied. The service was very attentive as well, which I appreciated. Overall this was an excellent experience, and I'll be sure to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! Great service. The brunch me ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicious! Great service.

The brunch menu for two with various options is great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Just back to NYC after a couple years in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just back to NYC after a couple years in Europe. I love this place. Really feels like the East Village and the food is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food. The service was a little sl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

great food. The service was a little slow. We told them we were there for a pre-theater dinner because we had a 7pm curtain. We were served quickly; but it took a while to find our waiter and get the check.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We have eaten here 3 times while visitin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have eaten here 3 times while visiting NYC! Each time has been 5 stars! Highly recommend this classy place! Great food and very friendly wait staff. Beautiful atmos, also! Try it! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would have been perfect. But the "box ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It would have been perfect. But the "boxes" are terrible for a party of 5. If someone need to see the restroom it was quite uncomfortable. More for romance dinner of a couple.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was a nice brunch, but considering th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a nice brunch, but considering the date (Jan 1st) and the name behind, my overall experience was only OK. Food was good and perfectly edible, but missed the WOW factor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was great. Knew about all their b ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Server was great. Knew about all their beers and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.