Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.10mi
  2. Distance: 3.11mi
  3. Distance: 3.59mi
  4. Distance: 3.60mi
  1. Distance: 3.10mi
  2. Distance: 3.11mi
  3. Distance: 3.59mi
  4. Distance: 3.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.10mi
  2. Distance: 3.11mi
  3. Distance: 3.59mi
  4. Distance: 3.60mi
  1. Distance: 3.10mi
  2. Distance: 3.11mi
  3. Distance: 3.59mi
  4. Distance: 3.60mi

About Dark Roux

Our team at Dark Roux. led by Chef Ryan Trahan, General Manager Aaron Brinkman, and Mixologist Paige Tait strives to provide its patrons with creative, simple southern foods and beverages that are carefully crafted and thoughtfully presented in a modern Acadian style setting. We draw inspiration from classic European/French traditions and refinement, Southern culture, American ingenuity, and the vast bounty that Louisiana has to offer. Our menus are inspired by the seasons and dictated by mother nature; as well as our family farmers and small batch artisans. As they change so will our menu. Our team understands the cultural importance and culinary value of supporting small family farms and producers. Through these practices we are dedicated to responsibly sourcing the best quality ingredients in the South. Our plates and glasses will highlight the bounty of each season, showcasing the freshness of our cuisine , and outlining our story of Louisiana foods.

3524 Kaliste Saloom Road Suite 101
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5pm to 10pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 9am - 2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday 5pm-6pm

Cross Street:
East Broussard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 504-2346

Website:
http://www.darkrouxla.com/

Catering:
Private personalized catering available... Just make an appointment with our chefs and we can create a menu for any occasion!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Trahan & Cory Bourgeois

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We Host numerous special events and pop-up restaurants throughout the year! Check us out at www.darkrouxla.com for more event information

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dark Roux Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Romantic (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was excellent and the staff does an outstanding job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great! Plan to go go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant! The food is always outstanding. Creative meals that always leaving you feeling satisfied. Service is always great. Definitely a must for anyone wanting to experience a farm to table type of restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Creative menu with local seasonal ingredients, expertly prepared. Very friendly staff. My favorite place to eat in Lafayette!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The chicken & sausage gumbo was outstanding. Definitely lives up to the restaurant name. The restaurant is a little bit out of town on Kaliste Saloom Rd, in a strip mall but the food makes up for the location and setting (although you can't complain about parking). The chefs are innovative and make local food with an epicurean twist. The selections are limited and they were out of a few things when we were there but still enough of a varied menu for even picky eaters to find something.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Initially I was disappointed in the special menu but my disappointment was misplaced-everything was wonderful.

One of the best meals we've had anywhere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This restaurant is incredible! The food is so well cooked, the ambience is great, and everything is just completely delicious. I want here on an anniversary date and it was the perfect place to go. I've been here a few times actually and I want to keep coming back. I really wish that this restaurant was located where I live. I would go there all the time if I could.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. Crawfish corn dogs are amazing. Braised short ribs very tender and full of flavor. Crawfish fried rice very well done. Cheese burger did not disappoint. Heater on the patio, so outside seating was comfortable. Acoustic guitar player and singer rounded out the experience. Server was pleasant and helpful. Very good local beer selection!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great Service helped me enjoy the time with a friend.
I am disappointed they Dark Roux no longer has the music with brunch.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I saw this restaurant on open table and booked a reservation. The menu looked well-thought out. When we arrived I found out they just changed the menu. Didn't matter. The food was excellent. The gumbo was rich in flavor and didn't disappoint on the meat in it. I ordered the short ribs and you didn't need a knife! Fork went right through. My wife had the crawfish risotto and it was delicious. Finished with some chocolate chip cookies. Fresh and hot out of the oven. We will definitely be making the drive back from New Orleans to go to this restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wife loves the food. I'm pickier and have trouble finding things that I like.

The bar has lots to choose from and the service is always good

I do not like having give a credit card number to make a reservation

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice atmosphere with new adaptions to old favorites like the wedge salad. Staff was nice and helpful with menu. Space is tight so smaller groups will work best. Really enjoyed it!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have eaten here before, but this night it was off. I had shrimp and grits. It was cold and lacked flavor. My husband liked his fish , my girlfriend got ossa bucco and liked it, her husband did not like his entree of shrimp and grits, he said it was cold . I picked the restaurant and no one left feeling good about their dining experience, so I felt totally responsible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This place is 2/2 and by far our favorite place in Lafayette. I had the dry aged steak and my wife had the quail. Both were outstanding. My wife said she believes the char grilled oysters appetizer with gruyere cheese were the best grilled oysters she's had. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Dark Roux, shut up and take my money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Really good food and service. The cocktails were strong and the food cooked very well. We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Perfect. Great drink specials, focused menu, waiter was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another fantastic experience at Dark Roux. In general, the new menu seemed to be less experimental and "safer" than in the past-- but we couldn't have been happier with the meals, cocktails and service. We'll be back as soon as possible.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was a second visit to Dark Roux, approximately a year after my first visit. It more than lived up to what I remembered as a memorable dining experience. First, the cocktail menu is wonderfully creative. Secondly, the food is admirably farm to table and laced with more creative touches than can be imagined. Thirdly, the service is consistently good, low-key, and friendly. I love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

FABULOUS! We go to upscale restaurants on a regular basis and decided to try something new. The food was absolutely the best we have had in a long, long time. There were menu items that we have only been able to get in New Orleans, so this was a real treat!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent. One of the freshest, inventive and delicious entrees I have had in a while. Try the homemade Kombucha tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We drove 1 hour to this restaurant from Baton Rouge. It was excellent and will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good experience. I would like to see more menu options. I thought the beverages were a little expensive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dark Roux's boudin Benedict was amazing! The service there was par for the course. The only negative thing O have to say about it was that there's not a lot of dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

After driving the freeway, then off onto state highways and lastly onto surface streets, we finally arrived at Dark Roux. It doesn’t jump out at you. It looked like a neighborhood family style restaurant. What a pleasant surprise! Inventive craft cocktails, delicious soft shell crab, incredibly rich herbed gnocchi, and a sublime duck egg creme brûlée, dinner was a real treat. I never thought a butter lettuce salad could be so tasty! Here’s to hydroponics! We were guided through it all by Dominique, who was very on top of the menu and her suggestions were spot on. All in all a wonderful dining experience. Dark Roux should be on everyone’s dinner list when visiting the Lafayette area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Alawesome service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best gumbo I've ever had in a restaurant. Period. Not a big menu but the dishes we tried were traditional with a fresh twist. Service was good. Atmosphere cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We live in Baton Rouge and planned a Lafayette day trip specifically around a visit to Dark Roux-- which exceeded all expectations. Creative dishes with equally-clever presentations, plus an unusual cocktail menu-- and fantastic service to boot. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2016

A very quiet nite at a dark Roux. We had been to sat brunch in the past and it was very lively! We went on $8 cocktail
Nite but you have to careful which ones you order or its regular price which is not cheap but very good! We had crawfish dogs, ravioli, crab salad small plates and short rib risotto large plate and three of us shared! Small plates are pretty small but we had plenty after a few cocktails that are also excellent! Bartender is really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dinning at Dark Roux was an experience my wife and I will not soon forget. The menu is limited, which is a good thing, it allows each dish to be prepared to perfection. The fish dishes we had were great and compared and perhaps even better than the #1 seafood Resturant in New Orleans. Dark Roux also has a good hand crafted cocktail and limited but excellent wine offerings.
The staff is young and seems to really care that you dinning in their Resturant , which means you get excellent service.
If you are in the Lafayette, La area please give Dark Roux a try. The Resturant is small, indoor seating for about 30, so use your Open Table App to be sure you get a table.
*be sure to try cornbread pudding for desert*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The entire staff is sincerely trying to make this a unique dining experience. If you go in with an open mind and palate you will be pleasantly surprised. This is not the kind of place for people who are squeamish about different types of food. The mixed cocktails are fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was so fantastic! I wish we could've ordered everything on the menu; the hardest thing was choosing just 1! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to Dark Roux for Sunday Brunch. The wine selection was very good and the menu was varied and interesting. The corn dog appetizers are a must and I enjoyed the red eye gravy and ham. We will return because there are many other things on the menu I want to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience! Our drinks were very good. We ordered a charcuterie plate, two small plates and a large plate. All of the food was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing food! Each time I go is some of the most delicious meals I have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great experience, awesome service, and delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We went for the recent Ramen Pop-Up but frequent Dark Roux for brunch and love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Conceptually, this restaurant has always been ambitious and progressive...however, they don't usually deliver. This was the second time I attended one of their pop-up nights (first one was dim sum night) and both times I was disappointed. Service is excellent, space is great, concept is exciting -- but they somehow don't deliver on flavors and value (and by value I mean I paid $9 for a cucumber and tomato salad).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was delicious,but the service was less than stellar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made our first trip to the restaurant for Mothers Day. The food and atmosphere were excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to Dark Roux before and found the portion sizes to be a little small. Decided to take a chance on brunch. It was incredible!!! Do yourself a favor and hit them up for brunch and bottomless sangria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.