Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Daniel

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm -10:30pm
Friday - Saturday, 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (112)
Romantic (95)
Tasting Menu (85)
See All
Good for a Date (84)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Notable Wine List (75)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Authentic (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (16)
People Watching (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Private Room (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (7)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vegan (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
4777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined a day ago

Amazing experience - the food was exquisite and the service exceptional

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply the best in NYC without exception. A dining experience that you will remember as being one of the best you have ever had. Food is unique and delicious and service is unsurpassed

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I went there with my boyfriend and her mother. It was great experience - service was notably good, aside from wonderful food, great cocktails and nice ambience. It was more chill and relaxing than my other experience with French restaurants. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service and presentation. Pricey, but this is New York City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent service. Food was spot on for the most part. One entree was good but not up to the standard of the rest of the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We eat dinner here 3 or 4 times a year and we have never minded the price because the service was always great., Hiwever the service was so bad, the staff so inattentive that it really ruined the meal for us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It is a very elegant restaurant, best french cousine. Outstanding ambiance, food and synchronized service. Worth every cent.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. From the first amuse bouche where the flavor lingered on the tongue long after it was consumed to the firework finale with the warm mini madeleines everything was spectacular. Each course was perfectly served and described by the server. We even inquired about the flavor of a gelato on one of the deserts and although the server was unsure he went back to the kitchen and came back to describe the spice that originated from Madagascar. Its 2 Michelin stars are well deserved!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious appetizers but bland and uninteresting entree (cod); dessert sacrificed substance for fancy. For more than $250/person expected more consistent happiness.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing restaurant, will definitely return on my next visit to NYC!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My wife and I dined at Daniel to celebrate our anniversary and it was a fantastic experience. Dinner was delicious; the service was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best meal I've ever had. The servers were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the memory of that food will stay with me for a very long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing food with great service. We did have to wait for the sommelier a bit to help us decide the wine but the rest of the experience was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was one of the most delicious nights ever! Service A+++

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our second visit and it more than lived up to our great memories of the last time. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Another great dining experience at Daniel. I highly recommend the tasting menu. It is always excellent and the staff is always professional, courteous and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing food. Amazing drinks. Amazing service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Thank you for an Amazing experience in a beautiful setting, and the Most wonderful and attentitive staff.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Have been to Daniel before and I recall there were more non-French menue choices. Still it is an exclusive and memorable place to be. Little turn off at the beginning: we were running late, called and were told to hurry or we would risk to be seated elsewhere. When we arrived exhausted we noticed Daniel was running late and still had to wait for our table. Not nice treatment considering the high end price range.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

top notch in every way for a special occasion. Extremely expensive but if you can afford it is an experience

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazing Chef Daniel Boulud's flagship on UES!
Every dish on the 7-course tasting menu was great. From rabbit saddle, yellowfin tuna, white asparagus, scottish langoustine, rainbow trout, wagyu beef tenderloin to dessert. Especially the white asparagus, I was blown away by how such a simple piece of veggie can be prepared so well and tasted so good!
Having tried many Michelin Star restaurants in NYC, Per Se was really a memorable one! Now, Daniel impressed me not only by the food, also by their friendly staffs and attentive service. Bravo!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was the best place to be!
We selected Daniel's for my birthday and ended up being my birthday and engagement dinner!
I couldn't ask for a better staff and specially thanks to our server Jorge and everyone else for making it so special for us.
The day couldn't end up with a better note that at this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was exceptional, service was superb and ambience was spacious and very genteel. They continually brought little extras both before our Neal and after our dessert. They even brought a pastry to have the next morning with coffee.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Stunning, best restaurant experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Despite the slip in ratings, Daniel still offers one of the finest dining experiences in the city, and this visit was no exception. What the menu lacks in flashy technique is more than made up for by the exquisite flavours that truly complement the primary ingredients without overpowering them, which seems to be the trend at similar establishments. On top of the delectable food, the service is warm and impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous. The service, the food, the ambiance, were all out of this world. The wait staff was professional and solicitous without being stuffy and overbearing. Every morsel was delicious including the morels that accompanied the rainbow trout, and the taste of a beer soup as part of a pre-meal amuse.
My husband ordered the table side cocktails which were delicious, unusual and a delight to watch during the preparation.
In short the meal was wonderful from beginning to end.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A wonderful choice for a special occasion. Lovely food, combined with exceptional service created an unforgettable evening. The concept of 4 courses that can each be selected from a large enough list of choices according to your own preferences worked really well for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went there for our 30th wedding anniversary and were treated like gold. The food, cocktails, wine and service were perfect. Absolutely a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Xcellent!! One of the few good things still left. The stars are well deserved. It was a shame we couldn't meet the Chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of the best restaurant in NYC. Service is excellent. Staff are incredible . I will be visiting soon again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great ambience, great food but I was seated at a table where waiters passed by every 10 seconds and was driving me insane. They helped me change the tables tho

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lugar con atenciones espectaculares , como usa excelente

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

So, so amazing. Honestly exceeded my expectations as I've gotten rather weary of New York City's fine dining scene. Next to La Grenouille, Daniel is now officially my second favourite restaurant in the city. I went with my mother and we had an early reservation (5.00 PM) – they lead each party into the dining room separately, and the tables were so generously spaced, so it never felt like anyone was intruding into our conversation. In my opinion, you truly get what you pay for – from the service, to the little additions when you're having dessert, to the quality of ingredients and food preparation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Try the 2 star Michelin restaurant for the first time. Another way to celebrate my birthday as well. Service is excellent. Waiters were super helpful and patient.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fantastic gastronomical experience. Superb service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious and staff was knowledgeable, patient and accommodating. They even brought us an extra dessert for our anniversary! Had not been there in a while and now can't wait to go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Magical is the word

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Lovely food and ambiance. Exceptional service. Met all of our expectations in every way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I can't say enough good things about the experience of dining at Daniel. I have been to many 2 and 3 star restaurants and Daniel deserves its 3rd star back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

my wife can only eat fish and for the main course there were only 2 not common fish choices. She had the black bass, it's not sea bass, and it was not edible. They tried to make it right and were very good about replacing it with anything else but it did not work to go back and take another appetizer at that point. I would call it a true French restaurant and you need to understand this going in.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.