Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Daniel

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm -10:30pm
Friday - Saturday, 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Reservations are accepted up to 60 days in advance.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.
Summer 2017: If joining us by car or taxi, we recommend arriving on Park Ave due to construction on 65th Street.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Jean-François Bruel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (113)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Tasting Menu (82)
See All
Romantic (81)
Fit for Foodies (77)
Notable Wine List (73)
Good for a Date (72)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (16)
Seasonal (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
4959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

This review may suffer due to the two restaurants we visited earlier in the weekend (Gabriel Kreuther and Per Se.). Service was at a level one would expect. The food was very good but we did not leave with a meal we could just not stop talking about. For example the veal tenderloin was delicious but the balance of the plate did not enhance the experience . For example the Anneli Pasta Pickled Cattail was a letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It was my husband's 40's birthday & his name is Danijel...😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and ambience. It was difficult to feel and taste the inspiration behind some of the plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Tout était incroyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent tasting menu! Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Beyond disappointed in Daniel. My husband made a resevation for my birthday for us and another couple. He very clearly called and explained it was a surprise birthday dinner for me. He told them do not call the number on our OpenTable account (it's my cell) and gave his since it was a surprise for that confirmation call we get. We drove into Manhattan and on the way I get a call on my cellphone from a man with a heavy accent saying sorry but my reservation for a party of 4 is cancelled because they are closed for the night they don't have water. I was shocked! One, I didn't know we were a table of 4 and two I now didn't have a birthday dinner. My husband took the phone and said I wasn't to be called it was a suprise dinner and that we were driving into the city for this dinner. He was extremely unhelpful and said sorry we have to close because we don't have water! Wow! The furthest thing from a 5 star meal and experience. My husband ended up calling a friend and getting us dinner at Per Se which was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We had reservations for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived the restaurant was closed due to a water main break. Of course that was beyond their control, but to make no effort to contact us to advise that they were closed was absolutely unconscionable. We traveled into the city, paid for parking and were left with having to source another establishment to celebrate our anniversary.
How does an iconic establishment with the highest standards fail so miserably regarding customer service? Michelin starred, yet an abject failure when it comes to the consideration of it’s clients. Shouldn’t something have been communicated to everyone with reservations? Besides a sign in the doorway as a “surprise” announcement?
Disappointed, disgusted and amazed at the total lack of caring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food. Boring atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It worths! No doubt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was really good although is was not memorable related to the value. Service was good from our waiter although it was not standard across the entire team. The place was not well designed and the ambience is far from designed. We were celebrating my wife's birthday, I mentioned in my booking, I mentioned again when they confirmed, they even reply saying that they would do something special and I had to mention that to the waiter for him to know. No one had mentioned to him before. At the end over promises and under delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was wonderful visiting Daniel again. The food was inventive and delicious. Service was slow and not as attentive as I have enjoyed on previous occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing meal. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Daniel is a highly-rated restaurant, which is well deserved.
The food was excellent.
Chris was very knowledgeable about Daniel as well as the NY fine dining scene.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service. Blissful dining that is neither stuffy or pretentious, but elegant and sophisticated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Service was as impeccable as ever, and the ambiance is lovely, however the food whilst beautifully presented was not of the same standard as last time we visited. Happy to pay for top quality but it wasn't quite there this time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing - from the dining room, to the service and the food. Truly a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

If your looking to be transported to gastronomic heaven, this is your bus stop! Best of the best, that never fails to deliver

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fabulous meal with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have dined here several times and always felt is was special. This time was a supreme disappointment. Service was robotic. Food ordinary for a place of this caliber. Extremely disappointed. Don't know if we will try it again. Sorry to say this. We always looked at it as a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Daniel made our evening very special with a belated birthday surprise desert for my husband. The staff was full of smiles and we had a wonderful table--all in all a very speical evening before a Broadway play.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday here.. What a treat! Food, and service were exceptional. This wasn't our first visit and highly recommend. We don't live in NYC, or we would dine here more frequently! I cannot recommend a particular dish as you can't make a wrong decision. Is one of the best restaurants in USA. Save room for the warm madeleines at the end of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

It was fabulous.
Memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent in all aspects as usual. Attentive staff and amazing food. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding food and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Daniel was one of our finest dining experiences, with a fabulous and detailed interior, attentive and well-executed service, and a varied seven (7) course tasting, the vegetarian for my spouse and the regular tasting for myself. I ordered a tableside drink to start without realizing it was made at the tableside, a bit of fun for my wife. The gorgeous interior, sedate surroundings, and the banquette seating made for an intimate experience, while the high number of staff allowed us to relax and be pampered. We will be going back...

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

とにかく雰囲気やロケーション、レストランのサービスが最高です。
数日前にピータールーガーに行きましたが、予約してあるにも関わらず東洋人はテーブルに案内されるのが最後など、とかく差別されがちなニューヨークで、そんな事を全く感じさせない接客です。
また食事前にトイレに席を立つと、今日は何か特別な食事かと聞かれ、そうではないがハネムーンだと伝えるとレストランからデザート時にサービスでお祝いのチョコレートデザート、帰りにカヌレやメニューをプレゼントされたり、とても素敵なおもてなしを受けました。
お料理は17時にしか予約がとれなかったこともありプリフィクスの4品コースにしましたが、日本人には充分かと。
どれも見た目に美しく華やかなお料理です。お味は確かに日本に無いかとう程ではありませんが、とても美味しく価格を考えたら充分ではないでしょうか。
デザートは大変素晴らしいです。
思ったよりコストパフォーマンスは良いです。
面白かったのは最後のコーヒー紅茶に抹茶を選べた事、始めて点てるとおっしゃってましたが上手に出来ていました。

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Daniel remains in a class by itself. Brilliant evening!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a party of 4 ladies and it was for a birthday celebration, we had such a great time and wonderful memory for the night, I really enjoy the service, the quality of their food and the ambiance was great! Our waiter, the staff and the manager was amazing, the chef was really friendly as well too! we had a blast for the night, I will definitely recommend it to all my friends!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was the best dining experience I have ever had. There was not one thing I would change from my whole experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was superb and the service was very kind and attencious! There was a Brazilian waiter who helped us, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Awesome dinner!!! We went here for Chinese Valentine's Day. Jorge gave us an absolutely fantastic experience. Everything was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great food and service but a bit noisy in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Enjoyed celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Increíble cena, la comida buenísima y la atención espectacular!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Most amazing service and fine dining meal to date. Being a gf grain free vegan can be challenging but the kitchen and chef were SO wonderful I felt so special with every single dish. Plus the wine pairing were on point. The service was stellar. Bet meal we've had this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Everything was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The quality and originality of each dish plated gives you a taste of what heaven must be like. Each morsel bursting with flavours that compliment each other.
The staff are wonderfully welcoming which shows how dedicated they are to making your experience memorable and enjoyable. They truly seem to take pride seeing their customers enjoy the experience that is Daniel.
I am a repeat customer, Daniel does not disappoint, and I look forward to the next special occasion to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Un gran restaurante. Realmente excepcional. Caro, muy caro, pero buenísimo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A reliably extraordinary evening, from the wonderful tastes and presentations of the classic tasting menu, to the polite, friendly and extremely knowledgeable staff, to the elegant surroundings. This is what an exceptional dining experience feels like. And it can be made even more extraordinary for wine lovers by plumbing the depths of Daniel's expansive wine offerings, either by the bottle or through the sommelier's pairings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Impeccable service
A truly gastronomical delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.