About Daniel

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (81)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
See All
Tasting Menu (71)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Notable Wine List (55)
Good for a Date (50)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Business Meals (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
People Watching (16)
Authentic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (11)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really slow and average food

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Really slow and average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Always an amazing experience. From the s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always an amazing experience. From the start to the very end. Not only is the food great, I also enjoy watching the well oil machine called the "staff". Compliments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all had the tasting menu and the port ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

We all had the tasting menu and the portions were microscopic. The food was nothing special and so, for the price, was very over-priced. Not a good value at all. Staff was attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Daniel lives up to his reputation as one ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Daniel lives up to his reputation as one of the leading chefs in New York. Save up and go for the four course prix fix menu. Ask for help with the wine list. It's like the Manhattan phone book.

We had a gift certificate from our daughters and still spent hundreds. But for once every couple of years, if you can afford it- Go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Even better than Michelin 3 stars.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Even better than Michelin 3 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a trip to NYC to celebrate a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We were on a trip to NYC to celebrate a significant birthday and anniversary and Daniel was recommended to us. It did not disappoint! The food, of course, was truly outstanding but more than that, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The ambience was relaxing and they made us feel special - an amazing experience. If you get the chance - go there!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What an amazing experience. I just took ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What an amazing experience. I just took my wife here for her 40th Birthday. Every moment was an experience. From the initial reservation to our departure from the restaurant. This is a must for anyone who loves fine dining. We each had the 7 course tasting menu. I had mine with the wine paring. Each person who we interacted with was so professional. Every course was so well presented. The wine chosen for each course was just perfect. Although this restaurant is very expensive you absolutely get what you pay for. We have no problem paying for such great food and world class service. I hope that we have an occasion to come back. Thank you for a very memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing overall experience, Daniel never ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing overall experience, Daniel never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A consistently disappointing restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A consistently disappointing restaurant that I return to every few years vainly hoping to experience the excellence a young Daniel Boulud uniformly delivered as chef de cuisine at Le Cirque. After an hour's wait a fill in dish arrived by way of apology as we waited for our first course. An uninspired terrine of chicken and foie gras eventually arrived. Later, one postage stamp morsel passed for 'sweetbreads'. Then a tiny medallion of wagyu beef that after two attempts was still overcooked and flavorless. When the bread is the best dish of the night you need not dwell on the rest.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The service was very formal and very wel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The service was very formal and very well informed. The lady is off gluten and as i mentioned this when I made the reso, they were careful to point out the desserts she could have, but honoured the request with out mention before that point. The wine pairings included some not obvious wines, and were all delicious. The food was outstanding..... intelligently designed, perpared and presented.

Easily our favorite meal this trip to New York!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service:)

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good food and service:)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely elegant restaurant with amazin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Extremely elegant restaurant with amazing and creative food, supported by outstanding service, close to an old world style. We have enjoyed the food several times before and this time was just as good, but the service was even better than our last visit. Everyone was so welcoming and attentive, it made you feel very much at home.

The wine list is also incredible but don't forget to bring your black card if you plan on ordering a special bottle.

Despite the higher relative price for a dinner at Daniel than many other restaurants, it is an outstanding value for what you get.

We hope to be back soon and at the same table with the same captain-Victor.

Thank you, Daniel Boulud

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, , Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing culinary adventure, wonderful fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Amazing culinary adventure, wonderful food & service, beautiful presentation, just lovely!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there for the first anniversary w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I went there for the first anniversary with my wife. I chose 4-course dinner with wine pairing. Every food was awesome. I liked their seafood and fish dishes particularly. They are worth the money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food but as with all Tast ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We enjoyed the food but as with all Tasting Menu's there will always be some courses that stimulate and others that don't.

What really impressed me was the wine pairing. Some of the wines I would not drink on thier own but with the food they were excellent. Well done!

The restaurant is pleasant and welcoming but most of all I love the noise level. No loud music to stifle conversation.

All in all a very good experience and I hope to return on my next visit to NYC.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was excellent to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service. Food was excellent too, particular the desserts. Four course pre fixe for $142 is pretty good value for a 2 Michelin star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My date and I had an amazing experience. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My date and I had an amazing experience. We will definitely be back! Amazing food and culinary art!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant will definitely go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very good restaurant will definitely go back

My wife and I loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We needed to interrogate the server to u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We needed to interrogate the server to understand what to order, my husband showed discontented with his wine and food and little was made after paying almost 500 between food and wine he just asked for the check and it was his birthday, no one tried to fix anything.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

We enjoyed a wonderful Birthday celebrat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Birthday celebration at Daniel. The tasting menu was incredible and delicious even though the courses came a bit too fast for my taste. The wine pairing was very well done, even though once again a bit too fast to fully enjoy. We had a seat at a table with a lovely view of the whole dining room, which made us feel special. The atmosphere is quite calm and relaxing. The staff was very attentive, although once in a while stumped when I asked about a specific ingredient or more information. Everyone was very polite and considerate, but could have been more warm and less clinical when addressing us at the table. It is definitely a place for a special occasion unless your pockets are lined with cash, but it was well worth it. The lovely touch of receiving a printout of our menu and a delicious canellé to take home made it extra special. We ate it the next day and it reminded us of all the delicious things we had the night before.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are looking for an amazing food e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

If you are looking for an amazing food experience & the best customer service, this is definitely the place to go. I Did not love one of my plates & they wanted to make me a different one but I was just too full. Mynor and his team made this dinner one to remember! We look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Great food, g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a great experience. Great food, great/classy but not too much service. There are many great restaurants and chefs in NYC but Daniel is unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bottom line the food was terrible. We al ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Bottom line the food was terrible. We all had the 4 course tasting. The scallops were disgusting and the tenderloin was worse. The best thing I had was a little bundt cake they gave us as parting gifts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Upscale French restaurant with impeccabl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Upscale French restaurant with impeccable service and high quality food

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Daniel exceeded my expectations. The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Daniel exceeded my expectations. The food and service were outstanding. The homard first course, the escargot for the second course and the lapin for the third course were all excellent. The cheese course was memorable and the wine pairings were all extremely good. Although we have dined at a number of Daniel Boulud's other restaurants, Daniel is in a class by itself and will now be one of our favorite restaurants throughout the U.S. and Europe.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening at Daniel, as always ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A wonderful evening at Daniel, as always. It was a superb meal. The desserts were sublime and memorable.

Thank you!

Tiffany

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary was made that much more ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our anniversary was made that much more special by the treatment and the amazing food. Daniel is a gem.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just an excellent experience from the mo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Just an excellent experience from the moment I walked in the door until the moment I left the restaurant. The service, the ambience, and of course, the food all were top notch. Restaurant Daniel deserves all the accolades it has garnered, and based upon this experience, will continue to excel in the years ahead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is exceptional and there were a ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Service is exceptional and there were a few personal touches as they knew it was our anniversary and made us feel special (thank you). Also accommodated for pregnancy diet which was really appreciated.

Courses are larger than expected for a fine dining establishment so try to leave room for the phenomenal desserts. Restaurant is stiff, but to be expected. Would recommend a drink in the bar beforehand. Great mocktails.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food, service and ambiance was excel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was excellent. Definitely worth going back and recommending Daniel to friends and family.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply wonderful!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience so far and a nigh ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best dining experience so far and a night I will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If there were six stars for Food and Ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

If there were six stars for Food and Service, Daniel would qualify.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Daniel altho ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our first visit to Daniel although we have been aware of its wonderful reputation and ratings for years.

My first impression upon entering was that of dignified elegance.

The staff made us feel as if we were honored guests. They efficiently and professionally served us but were never intrusive. They seemed to sense our needs even before we were aware of them! The level of service was the most impressive that we have ever experienced in a New York City restaurant!

Overall the food was excellent, although the first courses were a bit too subtle for our palates.

Naturally, this was not an inexpensive evening. However, it was wonderful and memorable.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiancé and I had the most beautiful e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My fiancé and I had the most beautiful experience at Daniel recently. There's absolutely nothing I would change.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, , Modern Decor, Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Realy great! Amazing Service and excelen ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Realy great!

Amazing Service and excelent food!

I want come Back soon!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food for each course was prepared pe ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food for each course was prepared perfectly, with exceptional finesse and a lot of creativity. The service was impeccable. The wine pairings were sensational. The only detraction from our experience was the perceived need to go overboard with each course - e.g. utilizing obscure ingredients or the perception that adding caviar or black truffles makes the dish. We truly appreciate the opportunity to select dishes and individual foods that are outside of our "comfort zone" and are items we likely would not order normally; however, preparing something that is simple, but doing it exceptionally well, is also highly-enjoyable, perhaps more so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely excellent meal. We go to Dan ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely excellent meal. We go to Daniel's each year to celebrate my wife's birthday. In the many years we have dined at Daniel, we have never been disappointed. Wonderful tasting menu, great wine pairings and fantastic service. If you plan to visit NYC or have the opportunity to try Daniel's, it is one experience to nit miss.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous from beginning to end. A pleasu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Fabulous from beginning to end. A pleasure to eat and be served there. Each bite a delight. Best restaurant in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service, Servers proud and d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Outstanding service, Servers proud and delighted to work there, Strong leadership is felt,

Heavenly food.

Top 5 in quality in my life

Victor was an intelligent and dedicated team captian, and all those who worked with him did so with a genuine smile

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.