About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For over 30 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Authentic (38)
Business Meals (36)
Romantic (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Groups (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Historic (15)
Cozy (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Family Style (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best Italian food in Houston. Great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The best Italian food in Houston. Great service and menu. Quick delivery of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The chicken parmesa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time. The chicken parmesan was the best I've ever had and my girlfriend raved over her fillet. Also, I can vouch for the Italian cream cake.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant for a romantic dinner o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant for a romantic dinner or a business engagement

Tags: , Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not worth the price. Our me ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was not worth the price. Our meal was below average. My fish was over salted in some areas and under salted in some. The waiters don't even smile at you. Not a very good place for Valentine's Day.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Valentines menu was superb. Service was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines menu was superb. Service was more than outstanding. Had a slight problem with climate control it was a little cold, they would adjust the temp and before you know it the AC came back on. Only a minor distraction to a wounderful dining experience.

Can't wait to return.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, , Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's dinner. Cozy and romantic b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's dinner. Cozy and romantic bar area. Dining room crowded, but tables set nicely, so conversation levels moderate. Set menu, but nice selections. Delicious filet and an oh-so-yummy bread pudding!! Friendly wait staff. First time diners, but will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a bad experience. I sent this ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a bad experience.

I sent this note to Damian's and received no response.

"Dear Damian’s,

While waiting for my table in your bar area last night, I failed to pay my bar tab for a Tito’s and tonic and a house Chardonnay. I tipped the bartender $3.00 as he informed me that I could pay my tab at my table.

Well, even though I had a reservation at 7:00 P.M. and waited for 30 minutes, I failed to secure a table for dinner.

Please send me an invoice so that I may pay my bar tab."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent.... it was excellent

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent.... it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Valentine's menu was superb! The fil ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The Valentine's menu was superb! The filet minon was cooked to perfection! Thank you Joseph(Buba) for the most romantic evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Damian's is good. Their food is usually ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Damian's is good. Their food is usually really good. However, the experience we had on Valentine's Day was very sub-par. I'm not bashing the restaurant, I just would really not recommend going here on Valentine's Day. Come another time. The Prix Fixe menu was so-so and over priced for what were essentially massed produced meals. The servers seemed intent on having us dine and leave as quickly as possible by continually refilling our wine to empty the bottle and asking us if we were done while we still had plenty of food on our plate. I know from eating here other times that it is not normally like that, so I'm just recommending that people avoid this place on Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

My girlfriend and I came here for a Vale ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

My girlfriend and I came here for a Valentine's Day dinner and were very pleased with everything. This was our first time coming and the experience was amazing. The service and food were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. The food was good e ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointing. The food was good enough but the service was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I have been eating at Damian's for about ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been eating at Damian's for about 30 years. Never had a negative experience. This is Italian food as it is meant to be. I've eaten there for business luncheons and personal meals and it is great. I love the soft lighting and "old-world" feel of the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it! The food we ordered was deli ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I loved it! The food we ordered was delicious!

The place is nice and cozy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian wine list! Atmosphere is b ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Italian wine list! Atmosphere is business casual, and we saw some mix of cocktail.

We had the caprese salad, and I has broccoli spaghetti (V) and my husband had the grouper. They were able to change his side dish with no problem. The food came out at a good pace, and we enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter brought out the wrong year on ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waiter brought out the wrong year on the wine we ordered and when I brought it to his attention he said it was close and should be the same ha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Still a very reliable go to restaurant a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Still a very reliable go to restaurant after all these years. Keep it up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent in location and food. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was excellent in location and food. I took my work team for a celebration and they were impressed. The food was excellent and the staff was attentive but not overbearing. Its location is great and easy to get to.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We always have a memorable experience at ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We always have a memorable experience at Damian's - our favorite restaurant. There were five of us and we all had the best dinner ever. We usually are also using their very convenient shuttle to the Museum District which is a fabulous way to complete an evening. However, tonight we were celebrating our daughter's and her husband's wedding anniversary so we actually were the last customers to leave. Our server along with the General Manager, John Mandola were most gracious as always. Will be back again SOON!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm fortunate to be able to experience g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I'm fortunate to be able to experience great dining around the USA (business & pleasure). This place is amazing. 5 stars across the board.

I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service,ambience, and free shuttle to Jo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service,ambience, and free shuttle to Jones hall were pluses. The mussels in garlic wine sauce was a good portion but the sauce was buttery and creamy rather than a strictly olive oil, wine and garlic sauce. The linguine with clam was also a good portion size but the sauce was too buttery and salty. The bread was warm and soft. We prefer a more crusty bread. The Italian cream cake was the best we ever had.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fish entrees never fail to impress. Com ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fish entrees never fail to impress.

Comfortable atmosphere.

Professional but friendly service.

Love that shuttle to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took 8 colleagues for dinner and every ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I took 8 colleagues for dinner and everyone loved it. The food was very good and the server took care of a large group with just the right amount of attention. I have never had a bad meal or experience at Damians!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service............... ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, great service...........................................................................................................\\.\

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The six if us chose this Friday night fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The six if us chose this Friday night for our Valentine dinner with our wives as well as our tickets for the Alley Theater. The restaurant was as anticipated, authentic food, great wine list , seasoned staff and service made the evening enjoyable. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and consistently outst ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent service and consistently outstanding food! One of our favorite Houston restaurants!! Definitely our favorite for Italian food. Waiters are superb, very service oriented. Great place to dine.

Tags: Family Style,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here! I don't eat Italian ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We love coming here! I don't eat Italian much but I do love it! We come here when we go to the Theater because of the service and the shuttle they provide. The service is GREAT!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food & prompt/ attentive servi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Delicious food & prompt/ attentive service. The theatre shuttle was a nice bonus!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster bisque bowl is the signature ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The lobster bisque bowl is the signature dish. It comes in a bread bowl...worth the calories and the overall flavor has a kick...well worth it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Service impeccable. Staff ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is great. Service impeccable. Staff very friendly and always attentive/. Very consistent through the years.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish special. Lobster bisque alwa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great fish special. Lobster bisque always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great "old school" Italian cuisine! Eve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great "old school" Italian cuisine! Even though our better was excellent, we prefer Jose! Food was excellent as always. I love this place!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I hadn't been there in years ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My wife and I hadn't been there in years but it was well worth the wait. The menu was great and it was perfect before going to the theatre. We will definitely be back ad won't wait for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great overall experience! Great food, g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great overall experience! Great food, great service, great ambiance. Highly recommended for a classic Italian experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and awesome food ! Will g ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and awesome food ! Will go back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a fan for many years....the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been a fan for many years....the quality has lasted all that time..Bravo for food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and the food were as spectac ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service and the food were as spectacular as always. It's so nice to be able to count on a great experience with each trip to Damian's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damien's was an excellent choice for din ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Damien's was an excellent choice for dinner prior to attending a musical at the Hobby Center. We ordered the tortellini and the sea bass special. Both were excellent dishes and would order them again. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked to print out tickets that we had forgotten. The shuttle to the Hobby Center was a delight. We didn't have to worry about parking at the event and they were prompt in picking us back up. Will definitely dine in again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Damian's prior to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been going to Damian's prior to go to the theatre and always had a wonderful dinner. We like that they have a shuttle going to the theatre. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damian's never disappoints. Great option ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Damian's never disappoints. Great option for dinner before a show downtown with a free shuttle.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.