Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Damian's Cucina Italiana

For over 30 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Mussels were so good, and so was the Veal Parmesian

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were excellent. It was the first time our friends had eaten here and they loved it. The spaghetti and meatballs, shrimp and veal dishes were all well-prepared and delicious. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The best pasta carbonara that I've ever eaten. Went to Italy and Europe this summer in search for better and couldn't find it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Whenever we go, we have a spectacular meal. Old-school Italian, like it should be. Delicious food - lots of great choices - pasta, fish, meat. Gnocchi appetizer highly recommended. Don’t forget the Caesar salad (off-menu) that they make tableside. Service professional and friendly. Quiet restaurant - great for romantic date. Just fantastic

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great for dinner or lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Houston. Our friends raved about it. Total successful lunch. Great food and outstanding waiter. Always try to come there when coming from The Woodlands to Houston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. The service was superb!
Very authentic food and excellent drinks. Definitely will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

What a great find for us coming in from out of town for a big Birthday celebration. We were seated immediately and never felt neglected. The menu was very diverse with delicious options for us all. One of the best wine lists I have seen in a while. The bread and the bread pudding are worth mentioning as fantastic. Food was impeccable and staff was very professional. We enjoyed our time and will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I have been going to Damian's for over 20 years. It is a special destination with consistently great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

First visit and it was a great experience. Waiter and staff very friendly and courteous; great service. Food and drinks tasted great. Loved the table side Caesar salad. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Perfect as always. A great place for a date or business lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service. An old favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Food was awesome. Attentive service. Finished off with the salted Carmel martini for dessert. To die for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Eating at Damian's is always a good experience. The food, service and atmosphere is top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We love Damian's Cucina. One of the few Italian places in town with amarone and borolo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A wonderful place to dine. Terrific food and excellent service and staff. Charming in every way and guests are treated like family. A neighborhood gem not to be missed.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

One of my friends flew in from England and joined the three of us here in Houston. We wanted a nice place with great food where we could talk and have excellent service. Damian's delivered on everything. Food was outstanding restaurant was nice and serene but also energetic. Service was excellent . We always start out with a bloody Mary when we meet, and the waiter took extra care to make certain that they were nice and very tasty. I was the only person who had been to Damiens before. My other three friends all agreed that they would definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Love the food. It is always excellent. The atmosphere is always romantic. The service is almost always exceptional.

Will keep coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The food was amazing as well as the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We had our girls group of six and loved this place. It was quiet enough to enjoy our visit but not so quiet we couldn't enjoy ourselves, you know? Great, great food, fast service, friendly waitstaff - everything you could imagine to make for a great meal experience. Would definitely recommend Damian's to all my other friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The overall dining experience was great. However, the server Fred was horrible. Before I arrived my guests that were already seated said he had a nasty attitude. Once it was time to pay our bills, he had everyone check wrong. It took him about 6 times of back and forth to finally get it correct. I plan to frequent Damian's again but he CANNOT service our table.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Damian's is my go to place when we want GOOD Italian. The portions are large and the service is AMAZING!!! Always order the Caesar Salad, as they make it fresh in front of you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Damian's for his birthday on the recommendation of a friend and it was absolutely wonderful! We were able to take part in the extended restaurant week deal which was absolutely delicious and they brought out a lemon tart with a candle as a small birthday wish which was very sweet. Very romantic and delicious food and I would recommend Damian's to anyone for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very tasty food and good attentive service. My third time there and it never disappoints. I'd say it is worth a try if you've never been.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Damians is more than a meal, it's a whole experience. Food is delicious, service is awsome, all the time they surprise us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent as we remember in years past. Old world atmosphere excellent service and food

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Special occasion venue for Italian with excellent service and high quality ingredients. Fresh made pasta and sauces are on the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great place for date night. It can be quite noisy but still nice enough to talk to your date. Food was excellent. Staff is very courteous and helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Enjoyed our recent visit during Houston Restaurant week (excellent menu). We dine here a few times a year. Service is always wonderful. One of the best places in Houston.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always great service! The Houston Restaurant Week special was wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food is delicious - my husband had the veal - tender and moist - he loved it - and he is picky. I had lasagna that was light and tasty - sauce was excellent - light rather than a thick, heavy dish. We both will order the same dishes again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Absolutely wonderful in every way. Excellent food and service from a staff that really cares h

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious! My friend and I are still raving about the food. The lobster bisque was to die for, loved it served in a bread bowl. Will definitely be going back there again

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Constant Gem! The food is fantastic. The service perfect. Always a great meal with a smile.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Damian's was fantastic! The food was not only good, but had very generous portions. We went before going to The Hobby Center for a show and they provide a free shuttle to and from along with complementary valet, that can't be beat! So great food, amazing service AND free transportation to the theater as long as you reserve it beforehand. HIGHLY reccomend

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was great and service was exceptional. We used their theater shuttle that dropped us off at the door and was waiting to pick us up when the performance was over.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Damien's (Houston) is my restaurant of choice. Every aspect of this establishment is 5 STAR. The ambiance, the food and the service are all outstanding. We have been patrons of Damien's many, many times. One of the best services they offer is a shuttle to and from the Theater District. This service is a real asset and appears to be well received. I highly recommend Damien's as your first choice in dining. I also recommend signing up with Open Table for all your dining reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Fabulous restaurant week specials. Delicious three course meals for just $35.00.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Delicious food on Restarant week menu! Shuttle took us to Hobby Center for our play and picked us up! Awesome service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.