Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Damian's Cucina Italiana

For over 30 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Authentic (31)
Romantic (30)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Historic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed it; but disappointed that they did not acknowledge our anniversary with some act of kindness. After all, we have been dining there for 24 years now to celebrate our anniversary. Our wedding reception was at your restaurant 24 years ago. Regards

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an excellent meal and took the bus to Jones hall and back.Makes for a wonderful theater evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Very, Very Good Food. Not your neighborhood Noisy Itallian.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was the best and the Ceasar salad us scrumptious! 5 Star rating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Damian's is a great restaurant before the theatre, symphony, or opera. The food is great, well priced, and the bonus is the shuttle to the theatre district!. No worries about finding a parking place downtown. Plus, the shuttle bus is waiting for you after the performance, brings you back to your car, and off you go home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service is Stellar. Best in Houston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always a great meal and fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing as always!! Lobster bisque is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We usually love this place for Saturday dinner. But lunch for Mother's Day was not we expected! Sorry to say but for a $49 one person and few option it was not a good idea :(
Not for special event for dinner with a tight dinner list

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Thank you to everyone, chefs and staff, for making my Mother's Day very special. I appreciate each of you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Terrible food and service! Went for Mother's Day dinner on Saturday and ordered the snapper special which was sautéed snapper with crawfish, baby shrimp and mussels served over pea risotto. The fish was good until I ate one of the mussels and felt like I but into a handful of sand. Can't believe the chef did not clean the mussels. Ruined my entire meal 3 bites in. Server me e checked on us until after the meal and a Caesar for 2 is $27.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent as always. The food, the service, and the ambiance are outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful restaurant
Although around for many years, it just gets better
Very accommodating, they will honor any reasonable request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Damien's is one of the old guard restaurant. Food is good, service is good but not exceptional. It is a comfortable setting and consistent

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious food, great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My favorite restaurant anywhere in the country. I go to Damian's once a year when in town and always get the Veal Marsala which is cooked to perfection each time. Also, had the Sicilian Tomato salad for the first time and now it is a staple for me.

5 STAR Restaurant with an excellent wine list.

Really miss living in Houston and going 5 to 6 times a year.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best cute restaurant in town! Very delicious food and authentic. Love it

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Wood Oven, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Casual, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My birthday - service was terrible. Our waiter had a very large group + his regular tables. We were evidently last on his list to be taken care of.

Won't go back for another birthday - I had my choice of Damian's or Brennan's. Next time will definitely be Brennan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They went above and beyond to give us an exceptional birthday for us! Been going here since 2006.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love Damian's

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very nice place, food and service was excellent. Will even make half portions for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great ambiance, great food and great service! I am never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The restaurant has a very traditional Italian restaurant character, which is something you don't see much anymore. Another thing you don't see much anymore, is the table side Caesar salad. Well Damian's has the table side Caesar, and they really do it well. It is not too anchovy heavy, but bursts with garlic flavor. We also liked that their desserts are not the usual industrial entries like key lime pie, creme brulee and flourless chocolate torte. They have Italian cream cake, and it is really good. My wife had the branzino, which she thought was very good. I had the shrimp Damian and it was reasonably good. It was slightly translucent and was a little less firm than optimal, indicating that perhaps it had been frozen a little too long. For me, shrimp has to be milky white and firm to the bite. Nevertheless the food was very good and I recommend this restaurant highly; my wife and I will certainly go there again. Their signature cocktails were good and they had a good wine list as well.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

the food and service was great and gping to theather always easy

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely wonderful restaurant with outstanding staff and very friendly management. No to be missed.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Over the years I have always enjoyed this restaurant. Since it is one of my favorites, I wanted to have my birthday lunch there. The food and the service was great. All of the dishes that I have tried are very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Quiet and comfortable with excellent service. Everything we tried was nicely presented and delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent service. Food was also excellent, and plentiful. We were underwhelmed with the wine, but partly our fault, since we relied on the waiter for a recommendation instead of reviewing the wine list up front. Very nice ambiance. This restaurant has been in business for a long time. We first visited in 1994. It has maintained its quality. Next time we will make sure to look at the wine list first rather than relying on the server's recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Some of the good things about our experience at Damian's--the menu--the food--the service--the room. The menu is varied, maybe not totally creative, but we found several tempting items. The food was very good, well prepared and presented and the wait staff was attentive without being overbearing. And, perhaps the best, we could carry on a conversation. Maybe a bit pricey for frequent dining but, nonetheless, a value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food did not seem up to its usual standard but still good.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

One of my favorites. A go- to restaurant. A Houston icon restaurant. If you have not been here you need to try it

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

From the greeting at the door, throughout the meal and the good-bye upon leaving, everything was excellent. Wait staff was extremely attentive and accommodating of special requests, never waiting or wanting for anything. The food was hot, delicious and beautifully arranged on the plate. The bread is incredible! Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had out of town friends who wanted some good Italian while in Houston, and Damian's is always our choice. The gnocci verde was a clear hit, and our friends were delighted with the entire experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a delightful anniversary dinner. We both thought the tortellini was outstanding, and the stuffed mushroom starter was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Friends from out of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

service was not the same as with the server we've had for over 30 years who recently passed away

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Consistently excellent in all ways. A reliable favorite for entertaining guests or just for a relaxing and delicious night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

What a fantastic constant place - friendly with great quality food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.