Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Cured

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: (210) 314-4152

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Authentic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Business Meals (19)
Fun (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Romantic (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Tapas (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (13)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (7)
Scenic View (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Date with the hubby. Great food and atmosphere- just a teeny expensive for us. But very, very tasty and fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but the portion sizes were tiny. I ordered the vegetarian option and while it was really good, I was still hungry and the plate was $20. My husband ordered a $40 plate and also didn’t get enough to eat. It was disappointing. Way overpriced. We won’t be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service and food made the father-son dinner even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Enjoyed the different plates that we ordered. Not your typical burger, steak place and will definitely go back. Love the variety of unique items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This place was just OK. The charcuterie spread was tasty, but the redfish entree was dry and tasteless, the steak was undercooked, and the poutine was very watery. The cocktails were interesting, but we only finished 1 of the 5 different ones we ordered. Even during happy hour, I would consider this place a mediocre value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

This restaurant understands marketing. They put a lot of energy into the concept. And it seems that a lot of oeople were buying it when I was there.
But I would never go back. The centerpiece of what they're selling is their in-house cured meats, which they sell as cold cuts - very expensive cold cuts. And while the server is quite good at describing them in tempting ways, in the final analysis you've got cold cuts that, though more exclusive in their preparation than what you can buy in any upscale grocery store, are are no better - trust me on that.
I sampled a number of their cured meats. They were all good. None were superlative. Perhaps the problem is that is as good as it gets. Or perhaps the problem was that the serving sizes for each meat were too tiny to properly savor each.
I also tried the roasted bone marrow - something I have always liked since my mother used to give it to me as a treat when she was cooking in the kitchen. However, in this case it was merely ok. They have their own idea about preparation that doesnot align with my taste. Had it been as good as I had hoped I would not have begrudged the $20 for a couple tablespoons. The sauce that came with it was good.
On a positive note the vinegar pie desert was quite good.
The best part of the evening was the walk back to the hotel on the river-walk.
Summary: Cured has an attractive marketing pitch. They are much better at marketing than in delivering a dining experience in line with the size of the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We went for brunch and enjoyed it. The mountain mary was good. The Miller high life michelada was darling in its tiny bottle. The chicken and doughnuts was not at all what I expected but such a hearty serving that I couldn't finish it (but really wanted to). My friend had the French toast and practically licked the plate. We were there on the early side (10:30 am) so it was pretty quiet and service was very attentive. The sunshine was so bright through the uncovered windows that I ended up putting on a wide brimmed hat during the meal. Some window shades would have improved the meal, but overall it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was good but very small portions, surprisingly so. Also, we were rushed by our server and ended up having coffee and dessert elsewhere because of it. I think it's overrated and that there are better places to eat in the area, especially for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food and service were exemplary. Server guided us to incredible charcuterie choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Cute place! Service is excellent. Food is pricey but good. If you want something different with a great happy hour, this spot is for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent food and service each of the several times I've been there.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had an excellent waitress was able to explain all the dishes and find answers to our questions. The meets were very tasty and good portion size on the platter. Food was amazing with great plating. Definitely a cute spot for a date or small celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The menu has changed to primarily tapas style options. Portions are extremely small as well. Not what we were looking forward to based on a prior meal. Great service and bar options still, the menu is lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Excellent wait service by Mark. Love this place. Thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great atmosphere, service, and food. Will for sure be back, I want to try the whole menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Saw the restaurant featured in a Tangy Patton cable show and decided to give it a try on a planned visit to San Antonio. Made a reservation online, simple. A table was waiting for us upon arrival and we were greeted and seated quickly. It was immediately obvious the staff was very friendly and treated us well. We had a few crafted cocktails that were excellent. The menu has some very enticing items. We tried several different foods including the Quail Legs, aged meat/cheese platter and marrow dish. Everything came out quickly, was tasty and unique. We took a piece a pie to go and enjoyed it latter. Our waiter treated us very well. Very good experience! Look forward to returning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The host was extremely helpful with my special requests for my five year anniversary. We had an amazing time and I would highly recommend this place to anyone for all occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our waitress was exceptional. The food was great. Mangers checked in a couple of times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was good but not as good as it should be for what they are charging for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 21, 2017

So delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Beautiful decor. Unique menu. Great service. Good food. Nice little part of town. Highly recommended

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

In S.A. on business and happened to find info on The Pearl Brewery as an option to the obvious River Walk. So glad we explored - what a Gem!! CURED was a highlight! Sat at the kitchen bar & our server Joe was the best. He recommended charcuterie options which were fantastic - we tried the 6 options and each was fantastic - Duck Ham! We probably could have stopped there but the menu looked so good! Ordered Bison Tartar - wow! and the chefs behind the bar recommended the Filet which was on the special "Corn" menu, but we could order it separately. Steak perfection, but can't even begin to say how much we loved the Creamed Corn it was served on! Everyone provided friendly service and the vibe & architecture just added to the great experience. Go explore the Brewery grounds and buildings - super cool!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had an amazing chef picked charcuterie tray, wonderful drinks and truly amazing service from Katie. The next time we are back in SA we will be visiting Cured again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

An outstanding restaurant in a great San Antonio location at The Pearl. We were there for Saturday brunch. Delicious food, great service, uplifting atmosphere (music was a little loud). This was not our first experience here and it definitely won't be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everything was exceptional! I always have a Wonderful experience at Cured! Joey was Amazing!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Definitely not a good experience. The food was pretentious and not so tasty! The server was aloof and not interested in explaining the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food was amazing. The beef and bacon burger was very good and the grapefruit marmalade was Delish!! this is a must stop any time we are in San Antonio.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Loved the charcuterie options.. I loved the pork butter,not something that I would suggest eating every day, but definitely addictive! We chose the smoked duck ham lamb terrine and pork rillettes.And the beer options were delicious too. Thank you for pouring my Devil's Night and my friend's Devils Envy! We thoroughly enjoyed our small plates, too, especially the chicken fried chicken livers.
Thank you for a fun evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Cured's food is awesome. Very creative small dishes. The bone marrow is a "must". The blending of flavors in each dish is amazing. Very unique experience for meat lovers. The service is also excellent. The place is a bit noisy if you are looking for a quiet romantic dinner; however, it has character and is the perfect setting for dining with friends. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Cured is perfect for a business meal in San Antonio. Great food, excellent attention from the staff, and efficient pacing of the meal. My guests were sufficiently impressed, we had a great lunch, and a terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had an amazing time at Cured. The service was fantastic and the charcuterie is interesting and delicious. The only downside was the bison tartare which had a bizarre acrid taste. Everything else was incredible; in particular the happy hour specials and the vinegar pie.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wife ordered the fried oysters, returned them due to being tough and chewy. We were there during "happy hour". Server did not advise us that there was a happy hour menu and only presented us the dinner menu. Wife ordered on the server recommended cocktails that she returned as well. I had the flat iron steak that was at best mediocre. Managers did come to table to apologize for the oysters and cocktail. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always a great experience. We always feel like we are the most important people there. Today we ate outside and they even took care of our dog!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Unique food & some of the best service we've ever received!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I Enjoy lunch there more than dinner. Food was good, just not what I hoped it would be.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our server made several really good recommendations and the food was brilliant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Truly remarkable experience! The knowledge of the bartender and servers made the experience a taste sensation that left us looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We loved the corn soup, pickle salad, french fries and the delightful ambiance. Service was prompt and friendly. It was altogether a great experience. Pretty expensive but worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our waitress was incredible in her professionalism and her knowledge

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful as Always! Joey is a Gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.