About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: (210) 314-4152

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for a Date (50)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Local Ingredients (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Hot Spot (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Romantic (29)
Authentic (27)
Historic (27)
Fun (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Casual (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Happy Hour (19)
People Watching (19)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great Beer (14)
Paleo Friendly (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Tapas (6)
Seasonal (6)
Organic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The Pearl is the nicest area in San Antonio and one of the best developments anywhere. It's truly world class. CURED is located in the heart of the Pearl and housed in a former bank building. It's impressive but the vibe is casual and the food is very good. I was leaning toward 5 stars. My one comment is that service seemed rushed and all the food we were sharing came out at the same time. It would have been nicer had they coursed it out so the hot dishes remained hot. The quail was outstanding as was the foie gras crepe dish. And the strawberry dessert was also a standout dish. We visited while in town last year and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food and service in probably the best area in San Antonio, The Pearl.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food, awesome service. Really, really, GOOD!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Have an open mind and palette and you will love. Charcuterie plate was amazing. Dry aged meats hanging when you walk in let's you know what your in for. Had reservations at 9:30, still packed with great energy and seated right away.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I wasn't that impressed overall. I read other rave reviews that made me really excited to try this place but the food itself wasn't as good as many other places we ate over the weekend. The poutine fries were soggy, the steaks were fine but nothing overly remarkable. The vegetables were fine but there wasn't a single person at our table who thought that their meal was "the best" anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

On Saturday, we were in San Antonio (day trip) and ate at an absolutely delightful restaurant - "Cured." Central to the Pearl area on the near north side, along the River Walk, Cured is the brainchild of Steve McHugh. I had seen a notification that Steve and his restaurant had been nominated for a James Beard Award (the "Oscars" for restaurants), for the 2nd year in a row. He is from my tiny hometown of Walworth, Wisconsin (~1500 people)!

We were very impressed with our experience. The ambiance is casual, but the food is exquisite. You can even sit at the "bar," which encircles the chefs, similar to the Culinary Institute of America experience (where Steve got his training).

Walking in, you see the meats that are the namesake of the restaurant - a large display of the cured meats for the charcuterie choices on the menu. Everything from pate's up to 12-month aged shoulder, with lamb pepperoni, aged Wagyu beef, etc.

We started with the Happy Hour appetizer of Quail legs (50 cents each), which were fabulous! We followed it up with a small charcuterie plate of Apple Jalapeno Pork Rillettes, aged Wagyu, and Vermont cheddar cheese. I could have continued to eat the charcuterie meats all night!

For our main course, my wife had the Roasted Beef Marrow, with Escargot, Pickled Shallots, Hedgehog Mushrooms. I had the Bison Tartare, with Huitlacoche Purée, Bourbon, Quail Egg, Brioche. Both dishes were fantastic! I've always been a huge fan of beef tartare, and this bison was beyond compare. I was told that they have also done a lamb tartare before. My wife is a big fan of beef bone marrow, and this was delicious, also.

While the wine list was extensive and eclectic, since it was a warm (85 degree) day, we decided on beer. They have a fantastic beer selection, and when I saw the Deschutes (Bend, OR) Fresh Squeezed IPA, I could not resist. Cured is a huge hit, and worthy of a James Beard Award. This should be a mainstay on everyone's list of restaurants in San Antonio.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Cured for Saturday brunch with our son and daughter in law. Brunch was excellent and the Bloody Mary cocktails were just as good. Our waiter was very friendly, full of historical information about the restaurant and the Pearl and made our visit very enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Cured had great option and cooked their food perfectly. My only issue was with how the portions were described on the menu. Proteins are by category with increasing price with increasing portion. Seems easy right? Nope. I got the most expensive lamb option and after my appetizer and meal was still hungry. My bf got the cheapest pork version and it was about 4 times as much food as mine. Still, the location is great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Very creative use of local ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was Amazing!! Service was very attentive and made great recommendations!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

As soon as we walked in we were greeted with happy faces and wished a happy anniversary. As we sat in our cozy 2 person table they had a chilled bottle of champagne as requested and the chef even sent out a special "taste" for us. The manager also came out twice to make sure our evening was good. We were treated so well by everyone !! We will definitely be back with friends and maybe to celebrate our 12th year anniversary. Thank you Cured for making me and my husband feel so special on our anniversary.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cured is a great venue, with amazing food and drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cured is always great--the menu, the service the ambience. It is one of the top

restaurants in San Antonio for sure. Creative and consistently good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Healthy, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent everything.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time here and it did not disappoint. Fantastic antipasto with unique offerings. The best wagyu filet that I have ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

I find it hard to think that you could go wrong with any option in the charcuterie. Everything we chose was delicious, especially the spreads. For the main course, the lamb's neck is a must. The dish is so flavorful and satisfying in every sense of the word. The husband and I plan to frequent this restaurant more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

the entire experience was fabulous. outstanding service, food and ambience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

A beautiful setting, excellent food, service friendly but slow. Excellent meat dishes and so is breakfast. Worth a visit when in the Pearl Brewery complex.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

I can't say enough good things about this place. The food is amazing. The thought and attention to detail that they put into their menu is incredible. This is the best food I have eaten in San Antonio since moving here. Can't wait to go back!!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Some of the best food we have had. We have eaten all over the country and this is easily a top 5 experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this place! Great food and drinks. I wish they would rotate the brunch menu, otherwise perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pre nuptial brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

4th time here, still a charm! The quail with the butternut squash was everything!! So different from what we imagined (less fried bird and bones and more sausage like meat). Also recommend the beet salad. Drinks to die for too. Summary: can't go wrong with most any options on the entire menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waiter sucked but the manager is great. He was clearly wanting to go home and refused to serve us more drinks even though we were clearly still sober. Never going back which is unfortunate because it is a very good reataurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything we ever have here is excellent. The appetizer we always do chefs choice and are never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Yummy!! Had a really great birthday dinner with wife and friends. Not cheap but also a unique dining experience. Helpful food and drink suggestions.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

The manager had great table side touch. They notices I was by myself so they made a point to have small conversations with me which I appriciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing! I love this place. One of our favorites. Mark was a great waiter. Can't wait to go again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm always wowed when I dine here. The service is the best I've received in San Antonio, and more importantly, they consistently deliver on service and quality each and every time.

Also, kudos to the kitchen. The execute at an extremely high level. Even during high volume, I've never had to send something back because it was cooked properly... nor have I ever been disappointed with anything that's touched my table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Vicki, our waitress, was absolutely outstanding! The different cured meats were interesting and quite tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

My party of four had an incredible meal at Cured a year ago and decided to go back for the same occasion this year. I am not sure I have ever had two consecutive meals of such quality at any establishment. Last year's fabulous meal was completely eclipsed by the combination of perfectly executed food and our server Mark, who put on a virtuoso performance between recommendations and paying attention to what our table needed as diners. He was available but never intrusive and every single attempt to help on his part was a smashing success. Menu and drink recommendations could not have been more spot on. Go big on the charcuterie board if you hit this place, it's why you are there to some extent after all and trust the staff who know how to deliver a terrific experience. Be adventurous with your ordering; everything we touched at this last meal was gold (chicken fried chicken livers probably take top spot). San Antonio's restaurant scene continues to flourish, but don't ever sleep on this place, they are pros' pros.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Please, for the sake of authenticity and taste, serve the rillettes with real bread and small (unsweet) pickles.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

My daughter and I both loved the beauty both inside and out, the kind helpful staff, anf the amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server/bartender was amazingly knowledgeable about all of the charcuterie and the entree choices. She was also extremely knowledgeable and helping a select a cocktail and the appropriate wine for our dinner everything on the menu that we ordered was outstanding and the excellent service made it even better

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

We took a chance on this local dining and loved it. We love the Pearl area but have not found a favorite dining spot yet until we tried Cured. Loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had the charcuterie plate: the chicken liver mousse and the pork, apple, jalapeno rillettes were amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Awesome place! Loved the food, waiter, drinks... everything. The best food and experience we have ever had. We will be coming back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always professional treatment here. Plus...such a fun and friendly place whether at a table for two, or seated at the Bar/Chef table. I am a local and love it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great charcuterie with meat that is cured onsite (as the name implies), cocktails and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

What a delightful evening with attentive waitstaff and manager. The wine lists provided a nice selection of interesting reds and whites by the glass. The cured meat board was substantial and tasty (served with mustards and jams). The crawfish two ways was served with the most delicious fish stock based sauce. Finally, dessert was delicious and though provoking. Recommended for fellow foodies!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 17, 2017

Original takes on classic foods. All interesting and deliscious. A super wine list accompanies the menu. The servers are knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 17, 2017

Amazing food, awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Visiting from Houston. Cure was amazing in everyway. The burger was fantastic but I'd get a double patty if you are hungry since it's slightly small. The charcuterie was phenomenal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The whole place seems so alive. The staff seem to genuinely enjoy what they do and believe in what they are doing there. The food is incredible, from the charcuterie to the poutine. One of the most memorable dining experiences we've had. Highly, highly recommend this one-of-a-kind place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food, server, and ambiance was amazing! The only problem was that it was rather loud. My dinner date and I could barely hear each other.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Awsome dinner very informative staff gave great suggestions as to dinning selections the lamb was tender fall off the bone and delicious also great cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

I went with 4 girlfriends and we all enjoyed everything about this unique dining experience. The wine was suggested by our server and completely delicious. We tried a little of everything and enjoyed it all. My hubby is a chef in Nashville and lived vicariously through us as he would have loved everything about this restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Cured is consistently fine dining--the menu, the service and the ease of reserving through

Open Table are all valued by me. Thank you, Cured!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.