Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Cunningham's

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Jay Rohlfing

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Albritton: (410) 215-2205

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Local Ingredients (50)
See All
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Modern Decor (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Open Kitchen (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Business Meals (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Casual (25)
Seasonal (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (19)
Authentic (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Healthy (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Organic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Wood Oven (8)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service is great and the food was ok. I like the restaurant for its look and atmosphere. Drinks are worth the visit. Try the Sangria.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed very much our dinner and will be back.Food was very good

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Special evening of goodies began with wonderful crab gazpacho followed by hard shelled crab, among other sumptuous delights and all presented by a very dedicated Kevin, our waiter.

So good that we came the following evening...

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was wonderful no complaints! I had the enormous, very tasty Rib Eye Steak and my hubby had the short ribs. Great wine and beer selection. The dessert was excellent, we had the trio of homemade ice scoops.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Service was nice a bit slow but they had musicians playing and we were seated right near them very very very loud had trouble having conversation. Server was very polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

While the first night of two consecutive ones proved to be the better, the second left, unfortunately, some -- you'll pardon the pun -- bad tastes in our mouths. While crab gazpacho equaled the first evening, the lumped crab cake was somewhat disappointing.

Add to this that frozen daiquiri was unavailable and the cappuccino tasted funny but was replaced by only a quarter cup refill, we felt the second evening was unlike the first.

Perhaps without the Thursday night jazz group playing, we sensed something would be off.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It was not great this time. Steaks were cooked to order, but not the best cuts. Truffle Parmesan fries were great. Nothing else impressed me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They always do a pretty darn good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was wonderful as ALWAYS. Our waiter Andy provided exceptional service. AS ALWAYS!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visited this place many times, it is always outstanding. We love it for a date night or a brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Some service issues here, but the food was good. The atmosphere made our Mother's Day brunch feel special to my mom.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'd been to Cunningham's for Mother's Day last year at 10:30am, and everything about the experience was very good. This year we had a reservation for 11:30am. The noise level was not 'energetic' but excessive. I had to lean over the table and yell to be heard. The salmon was excellent but the omelet was poor: bland, boring, essentially tasteless. I've had better at low-end diners. I know Cunningham's has to work with the parking situation presented by its building, but the process was stressful. I don't plan to return and I won't recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My family went for Mother's Day dinner. Food was yummy and our waitress was fabulous! If you have not been here- please go. Get the cheeseburger- yum!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

very different combinations of food. pleasant suroundings. good sound level!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always, Cunninghams was a hit for our special occasion meal. Every time we go, I find the staff to be more and more friendly and knowledgeable. Food was delicious. Love the seasonal risotto and meat selections.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was outstanding. The service was very friendly but otherwise average, at best. The prix fixe menu is a good value. We went on a Monday, so they may have had the 'B' Team serving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Cunningham's never fails to impress. One of my go to places for business entertaining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

For appetizers we had the beet salad and the fried oysters. Beet salad ($10) was OK, but nothing to rave about. The oysters ($12). although small, had a delicious sauce and were very good. Then my wife had he papardelle and asparagus special. The pasta was house made so "al dente" is not possible. It could have used more cheese, but otherwise pretty good. Priced a bit high at $22. I had the scallop and mushroom risotto ($28). I was surprised at how "fishy" the scallops smelled. Otherwise good. The best parts of our meal were the desserts. I had the Praline Kit Kat ($8). This would be greatly improved if they used real ice cream instead of the icy milk sorbet. My wife had the ice cream sundae ($7) - EXCELLENT. That was the "best buy" of the evening.
As for service, Marissa was FANTASTIC! Great personality and quite clever. We laughed a lot.
Overall, the food is "fancy" in preparation and appearance, and the prices, which are relatively high, are based more on that rather than the quantity one gets. Nice place but not worth the $99 bill plus tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Found this place while traveling and I was very surprised because I don't spend much time dining outside of major metropolitan areas. The space young and modern but it has a very warm inviting vibe. Great food especially the salads, appetizers and deserts. Do not miss the fresh baked bread, our favorite was the lemon rosemary. You can buy more in the bakery/cafe which we headed back to the next day. They have a house red that is exclusively made in France for the restaurant and it was amazing. Our waiter was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable about food and wine. Ask for Ronnie, he will treat you right.

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Live Music, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I don't usually take much time to write an opinion but Cunninghams provided an awesome dining experience. First, the parking attendants were very efficient and polite when we dropped off and picked up the car. More importantly, our server, Taryn, was wonderful: she was friendly, engaging but not overbearing and quite knowledgable about the food and wine. Taryn's suggestion of the Fizzy Rose was an choice; we loved it! Taryn also had a good sense of timing so we were never tapping our fingers wondering if our server would come by. She was just great! And the food was a "wow": the cornmeal fried oysters and dumplings were stellar! The crab ziti was very good and the cheddar waffles and fried chicken were unbelievably good: my husband and I kept taking another bite of the chicken to confirm to ourselves that, yes, indeed, it was deliciously crisp on the outside but amazingly moist inside! Had the waffles been a little hotter, I'd say they were out of this world! Oh! I forgot: the 3 breads ---all fantastic and thinly sliced: a lemon Rosemary, a cheddary, bacony mix and a simple but wonderful third. Oh! The huge onion rings: terrific! My only regret is we were too full to have dessert, which based on everything else, I'm sure is great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

There for friends birthday food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed our first visit to Cunninghams. The valet was super friendly and helpful getting us to the restaurant. The hostess staff was welcoming. We loved the décor of the restaurant - kind of wished that some of the clientele was less raggedy in their dress - did not seem to fit the upscale vibe of the restaurant. Anyway, the menu selections were varied and our food was outstanding - I had the scallop/mushroom risotto - my husband had the pork chop. Our server made some very good food recommendations but she didn't serve us any bread (saw her taking other tables bread) and she had the tendency to get lost but eventually she would show up again. Overall, a very good visit and we will definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have a great experience. Went with friends and spent more than three hours together. Restaurant is large, so we weren't ushered out even on a Friday evening. Food was fabulous. Server was attentive but not overbearing. It really was a perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great spring pea salad to start. We split the Honey BBQ flatbread and shrimp & grits. Delicious! Dessert menu continues to be a disappointment especially given all the goodies in the cafe. The menu on Open Table is rarely current so don't base your visit on a menu item you see on there before you go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We love Cunningham's and were not disappointed. The oysters, always delicious, were the plumpest and best ever, the pea salad better than I remembered from last year, and my husband loved the beets. He had the fried chicken over the best waffle he can remember, and I had shrimp and grits with 5 enormous shrimp. The fixed price menu was a real bargain. We will be back at least every couple of months, as the menu modifications for each season keep it interesting and fresh. Has become our go-to place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a family get together and a special occasion too. The restaurant is really beautiful and our waitress was especially nice and very attentive to make sure we were happy (Tommi?). The food was excellent though a couple items could be improved upon ( I did not care for the heavy seasoning of both the tuna and bronzini; that said, others in our party loved them). Even the valet person (Branford?) was a delight to talk with. We would definitely return. Made for a fun evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The the beat salad was good but my main dish lacked flavor and presentation. Others at my table ordered it and agreed. It was bland and centainly not worth the price tag. The server was visibly irritated at times. I've served tables for many years, trust me we were not a demanding group. At one point I was talking to our table and she imteruppted me in order to discuss desserts - her agenda instead of the table's. The gold star goes to the valet who upon both entry and exit had the best customer service were the friendliest group by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service and food were very good, and the 3 course menu for $39 was excellent. My crab cake in particular was among the best I've ever had. The only issue was when I got home to double-check my bill (which I should have done in the restaurant), I discovered that I was charged full price for the bottle of wine we ordered, even though it was half price Tuesday for wine. When I called I was told by the manager Phil that we were entitled to a free bottle of wine the next time we came there.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Truly enjoyable. Best fried oysters ever and filet mignon to melt in your mouth. The fixed price Easter tasting brunch was a value at $28.00 per person. The complimentary valet parking was an extra value added attraction in the heart of always "parking challenged" Towson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Excellent as usual with the exception o's a terrible waitress! Disappointing.....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service great. Excellent food options. Had a great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food--very fresh and presented beautifully! WE had 8 people and had a time limit. They accommodated us in every way and were very efficient.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It had been a little while since a visit to Cunningham's as honestly the last time I felt the service was so compromised as to make the experience only fair. Things appear to be much better now. Food was excellent and innovative (had their take on chicken & waffles) and service was perfect. Glad to see it is back on top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It was our first time at Cunningham's. The service was fantastic. Our server was warm and funny. The food options were different which we loved. We had the salmon salad and beef dishes, plus truffel fries, and the homemade breads - all delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing. Just amazing. We haven't had a meal this delicious in a long time. Loved the farm-to-table concept, gorgeous food and high-level service. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have eaten at Cunningham's many times and enjoyed the food, the service, and the ambiance. This time I did not care for the new menu, but the restaurant is still wonderful in my book.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Party of 7 celebrating a retirement. Unfortunately the retiree's steak was raw, not returned to the table until everyone else was done eating (despite several follow ups.) Won't be returning and shame on them for the terrible service.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a great meal there with 5 of us. Everyone was really happy especially with the appetizers and dessert. The KitKat bar dessert was really great and rich enough to split three ways. We went on a Sunday and they have 20% wine and comfort food which was a bonus.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our dinners took a little longer to be served than usual and we had early reservations; other than that it was very much enjoyed!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great farm to table experience in Towson! The menu changes with the seasons and features fresh farm-raised beef, chicken, lamb in addition to the seasonal vegetables. We always love their burrata, oysters and this time enjoyed an Asian duck salad and Italian sausage and peppers. Delicious food, knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff, and a great atmosphere. You will love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.