Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona

Fine Dining | 3, 4, and 6 Course Menus | Dinner Only

Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona is a fine dining, prix-fixe culinary destination in Sedona. Inspired by the nature of Northern Arizona, locally foraged and hand-selected ingredients are incorporated in delectable courses served on the banks of babbling Oak Creek. Guests are invited to indulge in one of the most exclusive, memorable and scenic dining experiences in the world.

301 L'Auberge Lane
Sedona, AZ 86336
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 89A

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(844) 517-7398

Website:
http://www.lauberge.com/cress/

Parking Details:
The resort offers free valet parking for restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
Michael O'Dowd

Private Party Facilities:
The Patio Room is a small private room, overlooking Oak Creek. It seats up to 12 guests in an intimate setting.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Rogers: (928) 204-4353

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (41)
Romantic (40)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Waterfront (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of the great atmospheres and outdoor dining experiences in the world (and we have done plenty of them). Yes, dining early can be a problem, but arriving here before sunset to enjoy the views before it all goes dark is a worthy exchange. The three-course menu never disappoints, which this evening included buffalo and ahi tartares ("earth and sea"), foie gras with lingonberries, pork cheeks, sweetbreads, and perfectly done steak and lamb chops (medium rare, of course). A good wine list and attentive staff make the evening go by easily. And the sounds of Oak Creek going by your table is a joy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is outstanding and setting is beautiful. Incredibly romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing view and ambience. Service began well but after the first course, everything seemed to take a long time. Food was amazing. Great selection of wine and cocktails. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was highly recommended for food and atmosphere, so I didn't think twice when I booked this reservation. Waited at host stand for 5 mins when finally greeted was told are table was being prepared and to have a seat by the fire side lounges & have a pre-dinner cocktail until our table was ready. Food was mediocre at best with your standard small "French" portions.

Service was incredibly slow - and the section we were in was on the far end close to where a wedding was being held so had many children and adults playing that sandbag in the hole game throughout dinner. Not ideal to say the least when expecting a quiet relaxing evening along the creek. Wouldn't recommend this especially given the very expensive prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

An exquisite meal at an exquisite location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing experience with the level of service, the location, and the food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

If you are looking for an elegant dinner in beautiful surroundings with a menu sure to please even the most discerning palate, you have arrived.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2017

夫婦の記念日などに最高です。
朝食の雰囲気もステキです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic restaurant to celebrate special occasions!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding service and food quality!! A wonderful dining experience:)

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 30, 2017

A delightful dining experience. Superior service and creative, delicious food offerings.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We enjoyed a 3 course prix fixe with wine pairings. Colby, our waiter, was very informative and accommodating for my dietary restrictions. We sat right on the creek where we were serenaded by the nighttime cicadas by candlelight.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

All of the food was very salty, so it was tough to appreciate the flavors. Onion soup wonderful. Filet was way over cooked. Ambience was wonderful though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My mother and I had a fantastic 4 course meal at Cress on Oak Creek. Each course was delicious and the perfect size, making the value of the prixe fixe menu inarguably good. The ambiance, being right on the water, and service was also fabulous, and I will definitely dine here again the next time I visit Sedona.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I would not change a thing. Maybe more lighting towards the creek. This would add to the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The only downside were our entrees. The two courses prior were outstanding, delectable. Service was fantastic, staff well trained and professional. The ambiance exceptional. The entrees were not tasty at all...one was underdone, one overdone. Since we could only get an 8:30 res we figured the chef had either lost the touch by the 9:30 time we got the last course or maybe delegated the dishes to a lesser staff member, they were that bad. We would go back, though, figuring it just had to be a fluke.

Tags: Hot Spot, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food, service and location. Very romantic to eat by the creek. Outstanding in every way.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was such a beautiful and peaceful experience dining by the cress on oak creek. The staff was amazing nice! Our anniversary dinner date was so romantic. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Worst service ever. Took 30 minutes to get a glass of wine, asked for a medium rare got a well done steak, the busboy even asked if our waiter had been by b/c he saw us waiting so long, and then to top it off the waiter was strange and very pompous then at the end of the meal shook our hands (presumably for a better tip). We've been to lots of high end dining places and this was by far the worst. The amuse bouche was a joke. The rest of the meal was forgettable. For a set menu, not worth it. Plenty of other options in Sedona... I recommend Mariposa or Tii Gavo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Awesome doesn't do justice. Unique cuisine with so many flavors on each plate. Even with the 3 course meal you will not leave leave than full and they still bring tasting and small bite plates (free) in between courses. Fine dining with excellent service yet not not excessive or snobby. Wonderful, relaxing atmosphere (by the creek). The trickling water sound drowns out any sounds from nearby tables. 4 stars isn't enough for Crews.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

One of the most romantic places you could ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Incredible space! Great service! Food was not good! Rolls were hard... seems that they were microwaved. Do you actually have a microwave in your kitchen?? ( I would hope not . Ordered coqauvin it was dry.. I asked for no potatoes and received potatoes wanted extra veggies didn't get that. My husbands meal was like warm. Good flavor but not to par. Your restaurant comes highly recommended.. epic fail on the food side of the house. Luckily the bartender makes a great martini and I got through the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This was a return visit to L/Abrege de Sedona and it's creekside restaurant. It was a bit of a surprise that it was gone a a fix prix menu ($80 for three courses) and the prices on the wine list were outrageous.. Finally found one for "only" $120. But the creekside setting is very nice and the food and service were excellent. Our seating for four was at a large round table suitable for six or more, not four. Hard to carry on a across the table conversation. It was out 60th wedding anniversary, so it was nice that the staff made several references to that fact. If we should go back, we would pick the non-crreeksise restaurant and its ala carte menu and hopefully more realistic wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I love tasting menus, but I was disappointed in this meal even though some of the dishes were outstanding and memorable. When I pay a very high price for a prix fixe meal I expect an exceptional meal, and that means each course. That was not the case here. I am also a big bread lover and the bread that was served seemed as though it came out of a beginning bread baking class -- tasteless and dry. The venue was very special, so if you could enjoy the venue without ordering a prix fixe meal, that would be the way to go.

I was truly disappointed even though 3 of the 6 courses were "to die for".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and outstanding service. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary there and felt very special. We will certainly return

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 2, 2017

A memorable meal in lovely surroundings. Sadly we had to eat inside as it had been raining. We were looking forward to the 'magical setting' outside be the creek. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Ambience is almost as important as the food to me. I rate this 10 out of 10. Our waiter Joel was outstanding. When we come back in the fall, we'll ask for him. Joel gets a 10 as well. Presentation and food quality exceptional. Expensive yes but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food, reasonably priced. Nice wine list. Michael was excellent

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very disappointed in their lack of ability to accommodate a request for any special diet considerations, we told them of our needs at the time of the booking, again when we checked in to be seated and was continually assured that our needs would be taken care of, but no substitutions were available, all food came out as is - no adjustments were actually made, all food came out as the prefix menu is made in the kitchen. They really need to work to offer gluten free, vegan and vegetarian diners more options that taste good for what they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food. Great service! Little pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cress restaurant at L'Auberge Hotel and Spa is unique. From the special attention to the cocktail listings to the creative food offerings and expansive and well stocked wine cellars, this is a very special place in a very special place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

FABULOUS +++
Our reservations were to sit next to the creek. Unfortunately, it was raining. They moved us inside, however the windows were open, rain had subsided, and the weather was perfect. Our waiter, Colby, visited our table and was knowledgeable about each entree. I have many food allergies and was concerned about some of the items. He checked on each dish I selected and the Chief was willing to accommodate any request I had. We ordered the New York Steak. Our dinners were cooked to perfection and the potato and brussel sprout hash was wonderful. The service through the evening was perfect and we have vowed to make this our anniversary tradition. Thanks to all of you for exceeding all expectations.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were so excited for our dinner at this beautiful restaurant. Our expectations were not met with the service, although our server tried as best he could. He was frequently apologizing for the wait, the food or the inability to make it all come together. Of my 4 courses, only 2 were outstanding. The other 2 were just so, so. I had the wine pairing and the wines did not come with the food and some of the wines that he wanted to pair with the food were not available. Our side of the restaurant was somewhat disorganized. Their were people a few tables away, who were sat after we were, had food before we did and were done with their meal and left before we had our dessert. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. We have dined all over Sedona and this was our best experience. Wait staff was very knowledgeable about the menu and fun to interact with. The food was phenomenal - make sure to get the 4th course (dessert). We can't wait to return on our next Sedona trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Cress on Oak Creek for our 30th anniversary. We had eaten at L'Auberge de Sedona at least twice previously and enjoyed it. The new prix-fixe menu provided sufficient choices so that both of us were able to find one or more inviting items among the four courses, though it was a bit challenging for my wife who is lactose intolerant. Especially delicious were the rabbit porcetta and the creekstone beef tartare. The presentation of each course was so beautiful we almost hated to eat them.

The service provided by Michael was exceptional, and his knowledge of the wine list was as thorough as his ability to describe each menu item. He's the kind of experienced waiter who ably walks the fine line of being friendly and attentive without being overwhelming.

The atmosphere is opulent but tasteful, and while a monsoon prevented our planned outdoor seating, our table was by an opened window overlooking a roaring Oak Creek. We had dinner on a Tuesday night, and the dining room was half empty. The restrooms were small but beautiful and clean.

Our only disappointment was that none of the valet parking attendants (there were at least three) accompanied us for the short walk to the building with umbrella in hand to cover us and open the door. They were not especially busy, so that would have been a nice touch. None of them were over 21 years of age I'd guess, so perhaps that's to be expected, but then again young people can be trained. In addition, the woman at the desk as we walked into the lobby area was too busy on a telephone conversation to greet us and provide us with direction initially. After about five minutes, she finally was able to apologize and tell us where to go. For an establishment as pricey as L'Auberge de Sedona, you expect a bit more attention to detail and personal consideration. To be fair, I should note that the young man who greeted us as we walked into the restaurant immediately offered to hang up my well-soaked suit jacket.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was terrible. Couldn't eat the filet. Very disappointed. Menu was seriously lacking. Potions were minuscule for a $200. Meal wth no drinks. Would never visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The staff were outstanding and helpful. Our waiter in particular, Cody, was knowledgeable without being snooty. The food was straight up FANTASTIC. The ambiance the same. I have read other reviews that state the food and personnel are pretentious. This is fiction! This is my second time here and it will not be my last! Thank you Cress!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A delightful adventure in dining. The creekside setting was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Dining experience!

Great ambiance/ great service!

Nouvelle cuisine! Delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Used to be a cool place. Now it's faux, self-important and phony. Food is pretty good, creek setting is awesome. Greeter, followed by bar staff, followed by waiter were all annoyingly smug. Obviously coached and part of the culture. Not for me though. They can keep it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.