Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona

Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona is a fine dining, prix-fixe culinary destination in Sedona. Inspired by the nature of Northern Arizona, locally foraged and hand-selected ingredients are incorporated in delectable courses served on the banks of babbling Oak Creek. Guests are invited to indulge in one of the most exclusive, memorable and scenic dining experiences in the world.

301 L'Auberge Lane
Sedona, AZ 86336
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 89A

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(844) 517-7398

Website:
http://www.lauberge.com/cress/

Parking Details:
The resort offers free valet parking for restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
Michael O'Dowd

Private Party Facilities:
The Patio Room is a small private room, overlooking Oak Creek. It seats up to 12 guests in an intimate setting.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Rogers: (928) 204-4353

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (75)
Romantic (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Waterfront (57)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Worth the Drive (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Fireplace (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 14 hours ago

Cress is fantastic.
The setting, the meal, the service was outstanding by every measure. We had the most wonderful time and it was a delicious dinner we will never forget. The sound of Oak Creek, the smell of night jasmine and pine.- heavenly! Romantic, Warm and inviting Cress is an exciting dining experience. We give it our highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere is fantastic!! The food was great and the wait staff is wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Without a doubt, one of the best dining experiences we have had in recent history. Perfect sized portions of innovative food and a great wine list. Superb service by Michael. One of the first dinners where every glass of wine was poured by our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined 3 days ago

Amaizing food and atmosphere
Service excellent
Gave the idea that you are in a secret place with river outside as your musician

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We opted for the wine addition to our three course meal. We were disappointed to see one of the selections was a "Katherine Goldschmdt" Cabernet. The wine was good, but hardly a special occasion or hard to find wine. The Goldschmidt Cabs offer an excellent value and I buy them on often, usually at my local Safeway for $25-$30. When paying $65.00 for three pours of about 4 -5 OZ, I expect the wine to meet the occasion and price.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had high expectations for this restaurant and were disappointed in the kitchen's delivery of courses. We were a party of 4 for a four course dinner. The first 2 courses arrived in a leisurely manner as anticipated. The third course arrived 90 minutes later for two of us; the 3rd course still had not arrived after 2 hours of waiting for the remainder of our party. The cocktails and courses we did experience were great; innovative fresh ingredient combinations and great presentation. The food and ambience is great; the restaurant needs better organization in getting courses out in a timely manner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Sedona 6 times and discovered Cress on Oak Creek on our second trip. It was so delightful that we now make a tradition of dining there on our last night to celebrate and put an exclamation point on our wonderful week in Sedona. It is always the culinary highlight of our trip, and frequently the overall highlight!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous ambiance, superb service, excellent wine list, and the food was delectable! A perfect setting for a romantic dinner, creekside, with gas heaters and blankets to ward off the cool breezes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

We nearly cancelled our reservation because of the negative reviews we'd read about slow service and overpriced food, but we're so glad we went anyway. Our experience was wonderful. Perhaps management has read the reviews and made some changes, because timing between courses was perfect, service was outstanding , the food was very good and the price seemed to match the quality of what we were served. It was one of the highlights of our trip, and we would definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The Staff, ambience, view and food were AMAZING. not much else to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

To be fair, it was supposed to rain so they put us inside. There is little ambiance inside. The service was wonderful but the food was a little bland. It was definitely not the anniversary dinner I has hoped for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We loved this cosy spot! Although we had hoped to dine outside on the waterside, the weather didn't allow so we had a cosy table indoors. The food was good- some courses were better than others. Our personal favorites were the Sea Bass and Apple Galette dessert- amazing!! The onion soup and pappardelle fell short of our expectations. Overall, we had a lovely experience here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The restaurant is located in an absolute beautiful setting. The host staff was very nice and sat us early. Unfortunately once we sat down we didn't see our waiter for a very long time. The bus boy was trying to help but he couldn't provide the service our waiter should have. The waiter was friendly when he was around but we barely saw him. The food came out and it was average at best (with the exception of the Rabbit, it was amazing). We ordered dessert, had to yell after our waiter that we wanted coffee. Dessert was ok, never received our coffee (until we complained and they gave it to us as we were leaving in to go cups). A nice spot but not worth the money for the ok food and poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was very good - although not worth the price paid ($90/person)
Venue/ambiance is awesome being right on the creek. Very good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wow! We really expected a great Mother's Day brunch and we're extremely disappointed. With the great new chef they hired, Michael O'Dowd, we expected better than the food that was offered. For $100 per person the amount of food, the presentation and the quality of food was very poor. The setting of this restaurant with the creek side tables is the best in Sedona if not all of Arizona. We can only hope the new chef can improve the product. We had the opportunity to enjoy the food prepared by the German chef that was at the helm for several years. He produced many incredible brunches. Hopefully the chef and kitchen will improve.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely Mother's Day dinner. Amazing food, service and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow. Waited too long for cocktails, had to ask for the wine menu, waited too long to order, entree took too long after second dish was taken away. Otherwise waiter was knowledgeable and atmosphere incredible along the creek.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been eating here for years, it's always special... Never a bad meal, service is always perfect and oh the view from outside : )

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a reservation for 11:30 but were seated at 11:45 though it appeared quite open- but we understand that doesn't always mean there are servers available. The table was beautiful!!!! Right next to the creek. We were served drinks immediately and placed our order. Unfortunately, this is where the lovely lunch story ends. Just after 1, we were still waiting on food that wasn't even started in the kitchen. Our waiter was very kind and apologized, but we had to leave since we had to be in Flagstaff for a graduation. We came all the way from Las Vegas to Sedona just to eat here because it was AMAZING last time. Very very disappointed the kitchen was unable to get food out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing creekside patio! We had breakfast and the beignets are to die for! Very friendly staff and beautiful setting!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is for people willing to pay for good food and great ambience, but if you are willing to pay 150 per person for a meal, it won't disappoint. Our waiter was very special, created drinks for us, based on our taste preference.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Beautiful setting, excellent service and amazing food. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was good but not great. Creekside is awesome and truly memorable. Would love to return for breakfast. Service at the Inn was wonderful: from valet service to wait service. Would also love to go back with friends and family to enjoy the unforgettable creekside ambiance, inside or outside.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Historic, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were prepared for what we found because we had been there for lunch before and also read the reviews. The setting is absolutely stunning the service was exceptional our three-course meal was definitely substantial enough and quite delicious. We had an early dinner reservation and we're not hurried at all...i believe we were there for more than 2 hours..never feeling that we were waiting too long..a totally immersive dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This restaurant is one of my favorite in Sedona , always excellent overall

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Beautiful setting and good service, but far too expensive for what was served. $450 for three people. Five glasses of the cheaper wines (total) and three courses. I was expecting more of a food experience for this price.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent. I would recommend this place to all of my friends. Be warned it is pricey.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Cress outdoor dining is a truly great experience. Tables are within feet of Oak Creek and the sound of the flowing water, trees, ducks make it all really a nice dining experience. Service is impeccable. Maybe the only surprising thing was the variation in the size of the salad portions for the two different salad entrees we ordered. One was the salad in a bottle - truly enough for two. The other - chicken caesar - was much smaller and about the same price as the salad in a bottle. But, the chicken caesar portion size was adequate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Exquisitely unique atmosphere and cuisine. A must when in Sedona.
Casual but sophisticated gourmet dining in the woods.

Tags: People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The 3 course dinner was poor at best and very disappointing. Course 1, steak tartar was tasteless with mismatched bland accompanying sauce.
Course 2, rabbit was OK but served with a fried dough ball, seriously?
Cause 3, Rack? of lamb was a single large chop. At least half was unedited fat. The mint based sauce was unimaginative. The brocillini was overcooked and limp.

Overall for an $80 meal the food missed the ball on all 3 swings. In my book they are out.

Excellent service, world class ambiance was not enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Overall, extremely disappointing. The first course took over a hour before it arrived, the second another 30 minutes. For both, the quality of the food itself was sub-par and had clearly been under heat lamps for an extended period of time. Given the poor food quality and that two hours had passed since our reservation started, we canceled the dinner order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This was one of the most spectacular meals I've ever had, in one of the most picturesque settings imaginable. The lamb was touted, but really the winners here were the tartare, veal cheek and sea bass. The cocktails were impeccably balanced and delightful. Also: you may think you want to eat later but really you want to go well before sunset so you can enjoy all of the river's magic in the dimming desert light.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Fabulous, innovative food, service in Cress is great. The view, ambience is incredible. Service from hotel staff lets it down as its cold, mediocre and a little shabby.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our party of four came for Sunday Brunch at 1:00pm-The property and outdoor dining on the terrace beside Oak Creek are beautiful.

Our waiter greeted us, took our drink orders and we went up to the buffet. To my surprise, the offerings were really picked over-There was nothing left on the seafood table, the leftover salads were messy and pretty much gone. I opened three of the hot entrees and they were MIA-
They didn't even have the proper serving utensils and people were using them for anything and everything.

I returned to our table and told the waiter that the food needed to be replenished and to please tell the kitchen. At that point, the manager swooped in and said that the buffet was being refreshed. He apologized but didn't offer to comp anything-I was really annoyed that it became my job to tell the staff that their $75 per person (with champagne) buffet was a nasty mess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great for
Anniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always Cress is a very special experience. Creekside dining has been taken to a new level with this lovely restaurant. It was a very cool evening, but each table had it's own heater, which believe it or not, added a lovely ambience to the scene. The staff provided faux fur blankets for anyone who was still a bit chilly. The staff is attentive without being intrusive, and seemed to know just when to make an appearance. The menu is prix fixe, either three or four courses, but there were plenty of options. My seafood entry was excellent, and my husband's lamb chops were silky and prepared perfectly on the rare side (as he prefers). Cress is a wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion. We will be talking about our time for quite a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Terrific dining experience! We really enjoyed our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is a very special setting. Beautiful. Peaceful listening to the sound of the brook!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It's the inattention to small details--only five wine lists for the entire restaurant; requests made of the waiter that were not addressed; having the maitre forget we were waiting to be seated; etc. Given the price, not acceptable.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.