About Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona

301 L'Auberge Lane
Sedona, AZ 86336
View Larger Map

Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona is a fine dining, prix-fixe culinary destination in Sedona. Inspired by the nature of Northern Arizona, locally foraged and hand-selected ingredients are incorporated in delectable courses served on the banks of babbling Oak Creek. Guests are invited to indulge in one of the most exclusive, memorable and scenic dining experiences in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 89A

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(844) 517-7398

Website:
http://www.lauberge.com/cress/

Parking Details:
The resort offers free valet parking for restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
Michael O'Dowd

Private Party Facilities:
The Patio Room is a small private room, overlooking Oak Creek. It seats up to 12 guests in an intimate setting.

Private Party Contact:
Jordan Rogers: (928) 204-4353

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cress on Oak Creek at L'Auberge de Sedona Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (21)
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Waterfront (18)
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 12 hours ago

Great dinner. Wait staff was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

I have stayed at this resort before, and everything about it is truly 5-star. This trip to Sedona, I took my husband here for their famous Sunday Brunch. It was amazing. We requested a table by the window overlooking the creek. It's beautiful! If the weather is nice, you can dine creekside. The service is above and beyond. The food is fabulous. It's a gorgeous resort. In this restaurant and resort, you get a totally different view of Sedona, and it's worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow the best brunch menu I have ever seen and everything was so tasty. Expensive but worth treating yourself for a special occasion. Excellent service also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We were quite disappointed. We have been to many fine dining restaurants all over the country and are experienced foodies. We had a hard time finding acceptable choices from the three options on the prix fix menu. I ended up with two salads, lacking anything else of interest; the menu is just plain weird! The pasta was way out of line pricewise and not good. Extraordinarily expensive for what it was worth. The food at Etch was very good except for the hamburger which was inedible due to too much salt; no offer was made to bring something else. We ended up canceling the brunch reservation for Sunday and going elsewhere. The facility and staffing however were absolutely stellar and the accommodations superb. We would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great setting and service. Pricey. Food creative. Support staff attentive

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

They were constructing a new patio with noisy chain saw and big pieces of flagstone. Patio was closed and deck outside was next to the 5 construction workers. Ate inside but still the noise ruined the experience. Waiter failed to ask us if we wanted a drink with our food. Had the price fixed lunch which was fine. The cheese plate desert was super. The soup course was bland. We had big recommendations and this was disappointing on several levels.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was ok, but it was heavy and not as good as it should have been for the price. Good service and aesthetics and wine, but the food was not special. The portions were large, in my opinion, but quality was lacking.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were staying at the Orchard Inn which is owned by the same people as the restaurant (though we did not know it when we booked). Asked at the Hotel how to get there and they said just follow the trail/stairs just beside the hotel office all the way down the hill to the restaurant. We did as instructed and it was a mini adventure in the dark - although the stairs are illuminated and it is a pretty walk. From the pictures online I could see the restaurant was on Oak Creek and I was hoping that they had the creek illuminated at night as well, but - not so. In warmer weather they have tables set up along the creek which must be really pretty. We were a bit surprised that there was no ala carte menu. Instead 3 course $80 and 4 course $95. So, it is not an in expensive place. The wine was also pricey but not obscenely so. The choices on the three course menu are not extensive but they are sufficient and I have to say the service was good and the food was extraordinary - so, we got our money's worth. The place was pretty crowded on a Sunday night in January so, I suspect that "in season" you would be wise to book well in advance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, incredible service, stunning views! Very impressive experience and we were treated so well! Weather was a bit chilly for outdoor eating unfortunately but When the patio is finished with its update, and the temps warm up a bit, I cannot imagine a more beautiful experience. The staff are all superior....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Anniversary dinner! Great food! Our server was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had high expectations of Cress on Oak Creek which, overall, were not met. Some of the food was quite good: the foie gras and veal cheek were absolutely superb. But the rack of lamb and steak tartare were just alright; ditto for the sea bass, which was a little dry and whose chimichurri was barely evident. The coq au vin itself was tough with nothing especially interesting about the flavoring and sauce. Mostly, however, the problem was the ambience. We dined there in January, i.e., indoors, seated in the same space that is used for breakfast -- nothing special about it. The service was fine -- and we liked the staff -- but was not what one would expect from a meal costing $350 for two people. During warm weather, when outdoor dining by the lovely, rushing Oak Creek is the norm, our reaction would likely have been more positive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

You cannot beat the ambience - exquisite.

Super upscale picturesque environment.

The lunch menu is pricey but worth every penny. Delicious interesting choices from unique to basic comfort food with a twist.

Our server was excellent. Plus he had the most unusual green eyes that matched his server attire (green shirt the same shade as his eyes). We had a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food, creative, tasteful, very well executed. Service is impeccable and the dining room ambiance completely in-line with the level of the kitchen. Definitely worthy of a Michelin star in my mind.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Lovely ambience and excellent service. I found the menu limiting and expensive. Overall a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Every morsel of food was divine! Worth the price tag. Decor is upscale, yet cozy. Option for inside or creekside seating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Organic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing food, wonderful view. The staff provides superior service. The interior decor and ambiance is worthy of the view outside and the prices inside. I felt well taken care of and plan on returning next month.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My main complain is that atmosphere was bright and tacky with god awful pop music playing. Totally what I was not expecting. Not romantic at all. Food was good and cocktails were amazing. Service was good as well but very underwhelming experience that certainly was not worth 400$ dinner for 2

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Cozy divine dining. The creativity of the chef is superbly balanced in texture and taste....with a fabulous "wow" factor....a little yummy surprise smoked mussel nestled in the soup...a roasted chick pea tucked in a hummus puree....or a delightful pickled onion. The staff (especially Joel) could not have been more personal yet professional. The perfect combination for a most memorable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Generally a very positive experience. A couple of things need attention. First of all it was a chilly night so we had heavy coats but no one offered to take them or hang fhem. Consequently they were draped on the back of the chair dragging on the ground. Secondly in the main dining room there is no option for a la carte dining -a set menu only with 4 choices for each course. And you choose either 4 or 5 courses. A 3 course option would have been ideal. The food was delicious but for smaller appetites 3courses would be a better alternative. The wine list while extensive is geared to thick wallets, and for the wines I was.familiar with the mark-up was very high. Finally I am very fond of foie gras - the dish here while very well prepared was not very generous - too many accompaniments not enough liver!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Loved.... Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was not great. (Especially the pasta was terrible.) The staff are nice but the level of the service was low. They forgot to bring the breads, didn't clear the table at the right timing, and messed up with the order. I will not visit there again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Hi,the menu was limited and High priced ,no a la carte bad surprise so complicate to find what you want

Excellent service

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing. Food. Ambience. Service. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious! The Price Fixed menu was perfect! Our waitress was awesome!

Great Birthday & Anniversary Celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great view when the patio is open and you can eat by the creek. No as good of an ambiance inside. Staff are great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was a great experience , service was amazing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food, well presented with well trained wait staff

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The setting is unparalleled and therefore outdoor dining would likely be superior to the indoor portion of the establishment. Time of year naturally figures into that. The menu on the occasion we dined was rather limited and uninspired. We found the staff to be outstanding, attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our first time back since the remodel. This restaurant was amazing when we first tried it about 6 years ago.

Sadly, this visit was very disappointing. The restaurant remodel is very beautiful but it was lacking any kind of life! We weren't blown away by anything we ate, service was ok, $300 bill after tip for 2. Usually not a big deal if it's a good experience.

I asked for my steak MW a little pink. It came out super duper well done. We normally don't complain but a restaurant if this standard should not make this mistake. We were offered free dessert. No thank you.

A couple of our friends were here recently and had a very similar experience. So many better places to choose from in Sedona! Lots of new great places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful meal. Technical execution was outstanding as were flavored and originality. Can't wait to return on next trip to Sedona.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

If a guest asks for a glass if wine for the waiter to choose, the waiter should tell the guest it's $60

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing experience. Scenery was beautiful, service top notch and food some of the best I've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, wonderful service with gorgeous environment/views. A+

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outdoor dining under kerosene lamps in November does not work it's hard to enjoy the experience when it's windy and cold despite the heat lamps. The creek is noisy and dark, and the first three courses were not sufficiently warm to be enjoyable. The fixed price menu for Thanksgiving was a poor value. The wait staff was very attentive, but the service staff was not particularly well trained. I was extremely disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Had 3 meals there. All excellent. Sunday brunch-don't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is magical! Celebrated our anniversary here and they made everything so special . Service was amazing.. this is a must go!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service. Only drawback, if there is one, is that it is VERY expensive. Still, you get what you pay for. We couldn't afford to eat here every month, definitely a great place for that special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Seating is romantic; but it is cold..food is reasonably good, but not exceptional

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

EACH COURSE AT DINNER PROVED TO BE A CULINARY DELIGHT AND A SURPRISE FOR THE TONGUE. MY FAVORITE WAS THE VEAL CHEEKS. IT WAS A DELICIOUS, SUCCULENT PIECE OF MEAT. MY FRIEND RAVED ABOUT THE LAPIN AND THE VENSION. THE SPICY PEAR DESSERT WAS OUT FAVORITE. DESPITE THE BLUSTERY NOVEMBER WIND, GREAT CARE WAS TAKEN TO MAKE US AS TOASTY AS POSSIBLE . THANK YOU.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

If you've never been to Cress, the La Auberge restaurant on Oak Creek in Sedona you are missing one of the great restaurants in Arizona with one of the best settings in the country. Dining right next to Oak Creek flowing by is such an experience of nature.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Maybe a place for a drink but food was cold and overpriced. Many buffet selections not available and then cold when replenished. Disappointing.

Also buffet line was awkward and didn't flow well so customers nearly knocked each other's trays over. View is spectacular, waiters great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing location with food and service to match! The dining experience while sitting near the creek is second to none. The menu is full of innovative flavors and pairings that simply have to be tried to be fully appreciated. Don't hesitate - trust the chef's genius and you won't be disappointed! Drink menu and the wine list are both fantastic. We visited in November and the evenings can be a bit chilly but please know there are plenty of space heaters available to keep all guests very comfortable. A bit on the expensive side, but this is a very unique dining experience and one to savor on those specialty occasions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We got to celebrate our five year anniversary at Cress with a beautiful creek-side table. The food was amazing (the trout with the gnocchi was stellar) and the service was lovely.

Thank you for helping us celebrate it such a beautiful way.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The ambiance at Cress was amazing. The heaters spread across the dining area made for a comfortable experience despite the November weather. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful in suggesting meal choices. We couldn't have asked for a better setting to celebrate our anniversary together.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent in every way. Tanya was our waitress and was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Marlo our server was excellent. Attentive yet allowed us to have a relaxed evening. Food was exquisite and the ambiance by the river is better than you would likely imagine. Worth the time and money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here, impeccable service and exotic fare. Delightful experience as we hoped for. Great full moon and creek sounds to compliment all.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Beautiful ambience. Great service only surpassed by the food

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.