Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 1.49mi

About Cowfish

Cowfish is a classic American bar with a country style feel in Lander, Wyoming. Cowfish guests can indulge in a variety of meat and seafood dishes made fresh to order. On the menu is a variety of items that include Oaxaca grilled chicken salad, Southwest eggrolls, ahi tuna sashimi, roasted butternut squash pasta, roasted Scottish salmon, rack of lamb, local meatloaf and baby back ribs.

To finish, try one of the handmade desserts served at Cowfish. The cr�me brulee and the molten chocolate cake are baked to order and add a sweet end to every meal. The Cowfish carrot cake and coffee nut mud pie are classic favorites as well.

148 Main St
Lander, WY 82520
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Brewery

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
1st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 332-8227

Website:
http://cowfishlander.com/

Parking Details:
We have our own private parking lot next to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chris McDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms and a private outdoor deck. We can accommodate parties from 10-60 people. Rooms must be reserved in advance and special menus are available.

Private Party Contact:
Caitlin Hereford: (307) 332-8227

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
81 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Slow service , over cooked steaks and very overpriced.
Friendly service and nice environment.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 12, 2014

....and has for 10+ years. The Cowfish is just reliable, though. It's creative, friendly, and well staffed. Lander's signature restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 5, 2014

I am in town often on military business & Cowfish is always on the agenda. Great food, beer, and wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 13, 2014

We had a delightful meal of fresh salmon (not farm raised). The wait staff was very attentive and friendly. We will definitely return when we wre next in Lander.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 4, 2014

Our 2nd time here, we were looking forward to it. We (party of 2) were there for an early dinner on a Saturday, not very busy yet. We were seated in the bar area, it was quite chilly. Waitress said there was no other area that was warmer. We ordered an appetizer to share, each ordered a side salad & entree +1 beer & 1 glass of wine. Appetizer came, was delicious (mussels). We were enjoying it in a leisurely manner when suddenly our salads arrived. We were at one of the high tables, not too much room for lots of plates. The waitress took away our mussels - we had just finished, we were about to enjoy the sauce left in the bowl. Entrees arrived , right on top of the salads. Timing poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 19, 2014

With a reservation, these guys are really accommodating to just about anything. Inside can be intimate and quite, the back room is great for groups, and the patio is great if you have kids. Food is phenomenal, and there's plenty of variety on their menu for just about anyone. The owner is also really active and supportive of the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 18, 2014

Codfish is my favorite restaurant in Lander. Dinner was great that night and we had a good time. My only complaint would be we asked for a spot that was somewhat private and quiet and we were placed in the dining room. I would have preferred a room on the alternative dinning area. Otherwise it was great as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2014

CowFish does not accept reservations made with opentable even though open table allows you to make them. Please fix that ASAP.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2014

A real gem in a small town. The food is fantastic. We have been there several times in the past two years and the menu has new dishes every time. Service has always been great,with attentive and knowledgeable staff. Great wine list and bar service. They use local ingredients when possible and great craft beer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2014

Expanded outdoor dining enhances the summer appeal of this solid restaurant. It has become a Lander favorite. Specials always add a touch of interesting and the regular menu continues to innovate. One of Wyoming's best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 15, 2014

The Cowfish is a local favorite! Great food and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2014

My wife and I only have a couple opportunities every so often to take advantage of a date night with having a small child. When we do get the opportunity, we choose Cowfish! This was only our second time visiting and just like the first time, this place delivered another amazing dinner. Enough cannot be said about the quality of the sushi, wine, staff and atmosphere of this restaurant. Our waitress took the time to investigate what kinds of wine and sushi we liked and made strong suggestions which we obliged to try. This place is just absurd... absurdly delicious! Oh, and don't ever try the parmesan cheese fries because you will never be able to stop eating them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 13, 2014

We had a party of 10, and received attentive but discrete service, great recommendations for our entree choices and tasty food! Steaks were a bit overdone, but everything else was delicious! Worth a visit to Lander, and deserving of it's great reputation!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 1, 2014

We all enjoyed our experience of dining at Cowfish very much. The food was good, the service good, and the all around experience of dining at the Cowfish was very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2014

The food was very good. The service was excellent. The beer was outstanding. I especially liked the barleywine. We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 19, 2014

Great food, great service. I love the beer and appetizer's keep up the good work and quality of food

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2014

This restaurant is trying to be a big city trendy restaurant in the small town of Lander Wyoming. It is way overpriced and the food was marginal. I ordered the sirloin steak with 3 schrimp kabob on top and garlic mashed potatoes, they call this dish something that I don't recall. The steak was a bit over cooked as I ordered it medium rare and was cold. The shrimp was way over cooked and cold. I did not receive the garlic mashed potatoes but something else, although it was tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2014

Eight of us ate dinner at the cowfish. The food was very good and the beer was very good as we'll. I was surprised by the menu options. You can eat for a reasonable price from the pub menu or pay a little more money and order from the dinner menu. Our group ordered items from both menus and everyone was very happy with the food. I would definitely recommend and go back there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2014

Found shortly after our afternoon arrival in town with large group bike ride through its vibrant yellow color and interesting name and graphic, we ate lunch at the adjacent Gannett Grill also run by the brewery and thoroughly enjoyed it and headed back with a group of 10 for dinner. They were unable to accommodate the time requested but called and suggested options. Interesting menu which includes pub food as well as more elaborate mains and appetizers. I thoroughly enjoyed my baby kale Caesar salad and crisped Brussels sprouts spaghetti carbonara which was perfectly cooked. Service was good under very busy conditions. Based in what was formerly a brick car repair shop, the interiors are modern and industrial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 9, 2014

Our server was so attentive to our needs and the food as a so tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 14, 2014

We had a reservation for 8 pm. I checked in at the host stand at 7:55 pm and then watched several groups of people get seated before us. I finally intervened with the host at 8:15 pm as he was about to seat 2 more people in front of us. I told him we had a reservation and he sat us down right away and offered us a free cocktail. I'm pretty sure the host was one of the owners so it was disappointing that the owner didn't acknowledge our reservation, especially after I checked in with him before our reservation time. But that aside, the food was outstanding and so was the free mojito. It was the best mojito I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 11, 2014

Our reserved table was waiting. The service was prompt (but not rushed) and cordial. The entrées met our expectations. We sat in the dining room which was only partially occupied during our visit but the noise level was still more than desired.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 10, 2014

It's always a pleasure to eat here; the menu offers a deep variety and the specials are special. This time we sampled the Brussels Sprouts appetizer and were quite taken by their crisp deliciousness. Staff are helpful, friendly and informative. It's a great choice for locals to take their out-of-towners as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 23, 2014

The food is always amazing at Cowfish. The place is a family favorite when we are craving a great night out. The service is touch and go but won't prevent a future visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 10, 2014

We live in Farson and every time we have to go through Lander we will eat here and sometimes even make a special trip for the good food. This is the nicest restaurant we have found in Wyoming. Service is always pleasant and food is great. I even saw the bartender check the glasses before she sat them back on the rack to reuse, today it's hard to find a place to eat that cares about serving clean glassware!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 3, 2014

I eat here once or twice a month with friends. I usually order steak or shrimp because this is not what I cook at home. Both dishes are always so good. Staff is always pleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 26, 2014

We are never disappointed in this this restaurant and will always return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2014

It looks cool and the food is great! I was surprised by the price. It was lower than I expected!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 12, 2014

Loved our dinner!!! The food is amazing and so was our waiter Jeff!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 25, 2014

Cowfish has become a very popular place in our little town and it can be difficult to even eat there unless you have reservations. The food was delicious and exquisite, everything was sanitary, and our waitress Heather was friendly and accomodating. However, they have jam-packed as many people as can humanly fit into the restaurant and you can barely walk to your seat. I could hear everything the people around us were saying as they were all about 3 feet away, which didn't lend itself to a romantic, private dinner. A heavy-set person would have a hard time just squeezing through the chairs to get to a seat. I would love to see Cowfish expand their space so they can fit more people and so that it is more comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 25, 2014

Went for our 30th anniversary. It's been very good and previous experiences. We both got rib eye steaks which turned out to be so tough and stringy we couldn't eat much. We ended up leaving most of it on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 24, 2014

Our family of 4 adult eaters came away extraordinarily satisfied with each of our meals. A salmon, 2 steaks and a meatloaf all prepared to perfection, with ample quantity and excellent quality. The Cowfish didn't disappoint in the least. Steaks cooked MR just right, salmon flavorful and moist with unique but yummy polenta and grilled asparagus. You don't get meatloaf in a fine-dining restaurant everyday, but this was tasty, moist with enough to save as tomorrow's lunch. It's spendy but worth it if you're going to take the plunge. March Madness 2 for 1 entrees helps.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2014

It's hard to find good food in a rural area, but Cowfish makes it possible. They have great specials and deals, like BOGO for the month of March. The calamari was a odd blend of flavors, but props for originality. The entrees and dessert were fantastic. I had the salmon, while my fiance had the ribs, both were cooked perfectly. We both greatly enjoyed dinner with very generous portions and decided to try dessert. We had the chocolate cake, we were warned by our waitress that it is cooked to order and takes 15 minutes. We had the time and are very thankful we waited. Delicious! Food, service and ambience were great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2014

This restaurant runs a special on entrees through out March. Gives us an opportunity to try some new dishes. The staff is very friendly and accommodates as best they can those without reservations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 14, 2014

tasted great enjoyed ourselves thanks

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 8, 2014

Made reservations for my anniversary. Under special remarks, I put down, restaurant only, do NOT want the bar/lounge. They stuck us in the bar again. (My wife encourgaged me not to make a scene and just eat in there).
Server was great, she was really busy but still did a good job and always had a smile.
Ordered a steak medium. It came out medium rare. I have a policy, never to send food back to the kitchen. So I had it med rare.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves. However, this is the second time I have requested not to sit in the bar and they seat me there. Not sure if I will eat there again since I detest being in bars.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 8, 2014

Be aware that all offerings, soup or salad? will add $$ to the ticket. A wedge salad $9 becomes $10 if split in the kitchen. It's as if each offer has a cost attached. Once you catch on...it's manageable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 8, 2014

Yesterday was the first time I dined out at your restaurant. The interior was great. Food was outstanding! However our service was lacking. We never got the bread we ordered. Our steak was served first, followed by the salads 2 minutes after, and our appetizer another 5 minutes later. As you can imagine our table was overcrowded with plates, not to mention we did not appreciate getting our food out of order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 8, 2014

My husband and I went out on a date and enjoyed our time very much. We appreciated the discount with March Madness! Food was yummy, although I wish there were veges served with main dishes. Ambiance great, and enjoyed that kids were in the restaurant and not shunned. Casual feel, but you can dress up a bit and enjoy that, too. Our waitress was super nice and friendly. One of the best we have ever had. She works as a teacher, but is working at the Cowfish for now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 1, 2014

I have been to the Cowfish multiple times and have never had a bad experience. Always a friendly wait staff and know the products and services Cowfish offers. I would say to make a reservation becuase this place is the place to be!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.