Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Coup D'Etat

A smart and stylish restaurant and bar. Coup D'etat is ideal for groups large and small, it offers a private dining room and throughout the restaurant there are lounge areas, tables, and booths for smaller groups. The food is approachable, modern, and contemporary. The cocktail program is equally smart with reinterpretations of classic drinks as well as new creations.

2923 Girard Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 10am-1am
Tuesday-Thursday 4pm-1am
Friday-Saturday 4pm-2am
Monday - Closed

Happy Hour:
4pm-7pm Daily

Late Night Happy Hour:
10pm-12am Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday

Sunday Brunch 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Girard and Lagoon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 354-3575

Website:
http://coupdetatmpls.com/

Parking Details:
Ramp parking is available directly below our restaurant in the Walkway Parking Ramp, as well as across the street in the Mosaic Parking Ramp. Street parking can be tricky but is also an option.

Public Transit:
Located two blocks away from the Uptown Transit Center as well as the very close to the following stops:

1 - Lagoon Ave & Fremont Ave S
Stop ID: 42036

2 - Hennepin Ave & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1323

3 - Lake St W & Girard Ave S
Stop ID: 50212

4 - Hennepin Ave S & Lagoon Ave
Stop ID: 1105

Executive Chef:
Tommy Begnaud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday Brunch - All you can eat brunch for $20.

Wednesday is Chicken Day! From 7-10pm, your $20 will get you all the fried chicken, fixings, and sides you can eat.

Craw D'etat Saturday $15 all-you-can-eat Creole Crawfish Boil & BBQ

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Coup D'etat offers a few different event space options perfect for dinner parties, corporate meetings, holiday parties or whatever your needs may be! Our Team will work with you to accommodate any special requests and event needs.

Coup D'Etat Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Fun (10)
People Watching (9)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Live Music (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The setup of the first floor is amazing. loved the the DJ.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a great atmosphere. However, the steak I had ordered was full of tendons and fat. A little disappointing. The service was a little slow too because there was a trainee tagging along. These things don't seem to be typical and should improve next time we go. The ribs were great as an appetizer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I had several good meals there in 2014/2015. I don't know what changed in the kitchen, but we were all extremely dissappointed. The halibut & the fried chicken were both almost unedible. The pizza & hambuger were truely medeocre at best. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was excellent, service wonderful. There was a DJ playing during brunch, and it was super loud in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was good and we sat at a nice big table. But the food was awful! I had the driest halibut (and super small portion) ever with just some dry frisee leaves and an inch of fatty pork belly.
Nobody at our table enjoyed what they ordered. With so few items on the menu, we figured everything would be delicious. Would not go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Chicken and brisket on the Sunday buffet were great! Fun atmosphere. They do play the music on the louder side so keep that in mind. My mom is a bit hard of hearing so it was somewhat difficult for her to keep up with conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was excellent. Our waitress was Molly. She was fun, energetic and always made sure our drinks were full and plates were cleared in a timely manner even when it got busy. The food was OK mostly because more than a few of the items were not hot, which we assumed was because the burners weren't doing their job at the buffet. But because of that I do not think I got my $20 worth out of the buffet. Lastly, the DJ and the decor added a nice touch to the brunch scene contributing to the energetic and modern vibe.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was so so slow

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service and delicious buffet. It was our group's first time here and we were so glad we came. The DJ was great and the noise level was just right. We really enjoyed our Easter brunch and will definitely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nothing overwhelming! Blaza Easter Brunch! Way over priced for everyday fare.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter Brunch. The buffet was excellent. We loved the different choices that you don't find on buffets all over town. Server was awesome. That being said, it was TOO LOUD!! I can usually tolerate high noise levels, but the DJ had the music blaring through speakers directly on top of the buffet. We could barely hold a conversation and had to ask for it to be turned down so we could actually hear our friends. The server was very accommodating, but the restaurant could stand to remember that not everyone appreciates going deaf during breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Music was too loud and i could barely hear the person in front of me. The food was good but I've noticed that the quality has deteriorated slightly over the last 2 years.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I booked a reservation at Coup D'Etat on a Saturday night for 5:30. We arrived to the restaurant on time and were seated promptly. At this time we were given menus at the table. We waited for 15 minutes and not one person came to our table to introduce themselves as our waiter/waitress. After 15 minutes of waiting without any contact from staff, we left the restaurant. Several staff walked by at this point and were waiting other tables, without coming to ours. I could possibly understand if this was a busy time for the restaurant, but it was pretty empty considering it was so early. We were seated near main bar and the bar staff was grouped, not paying attention and taking amongst themselves. Very disappointed and will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I have always loved Coup d'etat. The gnocchi is al ways amazing and it's been one of my favorite go- to places for a long time. That's why this visit was so disappointing. The service was still great- but the food was mediocre at best. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't what I've come to expect of them. Maybe that's why the place was relatively empty on a Friday night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went at brunch. Food was ok. Service was terrrrible. Waited 10 minutes before we were even talked to at our table. Then another 20 minutes for drinks. It was loud because there was a DJ playing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food, good music, wonderful service. Would recommend!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This new find is amazing! Sunday brunch is a must! Their brisket is a must try! In my book, beat in the twin cities.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Terrible service by host and server. After 40 minutes at the table without any acknowledgement we finally got an alternative server to bring us water and take our order. Once served, we have to request utensils, then plates, then napkins. I have never been treated so poorly at a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We started with the mussels and the shrimp and grits. The shrimp and grits were delicious.....the mussels, not so much as they lacked flavor. We both had a pasta dish; the shrimp/mussels with squid ink pasta and the gnocchi. Both were good, not great. We also had the smoked Manhattan which was outstanding. The service up until the entree was served was great and that's where it went off the rails. We sat and waited for over 30 minutes for our dinner plates to be cleared. Servers past numerous times and not one stopped. We finally flagged over our waiter and when I commented that we had been sitting there for over a half hour, he acted like it was no big deal. We opted to get the check as we didn't want to wait another 30 minutes. I would give it one more shot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a decent brunch, but it was so loud I would never recommend it to friends. My friend and I considered leaving before we started to eat because we couldn't hear each other. The music was obnoxious. If they got rid of the DJ I'd give it a higher rating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is the best place in town for brunch. Great buffet selections. Bottomless mimosa specials. Attentive service. And, now, they have a dj on Sundays. Great time!

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Fun, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The best part of our night was the service. Our server visited us no more than necessary, and she perfectly anticipated when we needed her help. The mussel appetizer was delicious and more filling than expected. Dinner was very good, but I think we enjoyed our wine and cocktails more. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food , but served a bit out of sequence. That being said check immediately adjusted to reflect their error without asking.

Good eclectic mix of food. I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went on St. Patrick's day with a group of 7. I was really surprised how quiet and empty it was for 7pm. I guess everybody was over in St. Paul. We were seated immediately. One couple arrived early and was seated and we joined them. The place was so empty except for the bar. Our server was so slow and more interested in hanging out at the bar then checking in on us and taking our order. I had the chicken and my wife had the pappardelle, they were both really good and my left over chicken was just as good the next day. Sorry to give this place 3 stars but service is the name of the game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sunday brunch is absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The Coup D'Etat special was three pieces and two sides for $20. It was perfect for us to meet a nephew and catch-up on the family news. It was the first time for the three of us and we thought all the hype was well deserved. The best part of the meal was the sides - collard greens and mac & cheese. Service was great.

Parking is an underground garage in the middle of the block. Entrances are on both Lake and Laguna. They are tight. Require a card to enter and then the same card to leave.

Meal was well worth the money even at a higher price.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The chef's Louisiana roots/influence shine through in the food at this restaurant. And we are Louisiana food lovers. The cheddar grits with blackened shrimp and a twist of etouffee sauce is an appetizer that can easily be an entree and at $12 is a bargain. While the roux in the gumbo was a little lighter and tamer than we are used to, we loved the gumbo for its nod to all the traditional ingredients including spicy andouille, chicken and vegetables. It too, could be an entree. Our service was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Spicy, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We ordered a salad to start, but all the food came at once. Normally I wouldn't care, but we were sitting at a tiny table for 2! The waiter and bar back types kept asking if we were done. The restaurant was far from busy so I'm not sure what the rush was.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

really good food, always good overtime we eat here, good beet salad, wonderful pastas

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fried chicken over done and hard. Too hard to eat.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Drinks were very good but expensive. The food was mediocre at best and way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi! My boyfriend and I came here for Valentine's Day. We were seated in a giant booth for just two people. We had terrible service starting with the waiter not being familiar with the menu . My boyfriends wine glass was cracked. I was served steak with a butter knife and our water glasses were never refilled. The food was tasty but unfortunately the service ruined the experience. It was also quite loud at the restaurant which I know is out of your control, but it didn't make for a very romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very good spot. It hits the mark, for an uptown restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Both of us enjoyed our meals but prices seemed high. The noise level sometimes made it hard to hear. Probably won't be back, though it was very convenient being directly across the street from The Lagoon Cinema.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the pork chop meal and service was efficient. We were trying to get to a movie so we were concerned about time. Not a worry about that and we were there on a Saturday night! Would definitely return another time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My husband and I took my brother and his wife out to dinner and were seriously disappointed in this place.
Service was mediocre and ALL of the food was WAY to salty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was nothing to write home about. Tried too hard to be creative but fell short. Small portions that are not worth the price.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We love New Orleans so this is a good fit. The cocktails are the best from the Vieux Carre to the Sazerac. The Gumbo was outstanding but the rest of the meal of was just okay. Nothing bad but nothing outstanding. Our server was attentive but had no personality. It was almost like he wished he were somewhere else. Still, we will go back. Oh, I think the chicken wings are the best!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We visited for brunch and the food did not disappoint. One of the best tasting spreads I've had in a long time! Great selection too! The reason I give a lower review is the service. It was brunch so you don't have to do much but the server only refilled water and coffee if asked and didn't clear our plates until they piled up. He was very nervous and awkward and didn't explain anything. Had I walked in from the street I would have been totally confused since he gave us no details on what was going on. I would go back based solely on the food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very slow service today, cold food and not the usual great brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.