Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Coohills

With a focus on local, regional, and farm-fresh ingredients, Coohills Restaurant and Bar is reminiscent of what you might find in casual bars and restaurants in Europe. The open kitchen and uniquely modern interior, designed by award-winning architects Semple Brown, underscores Coohills' style! Located in the hip Lower Downtown (LoDo) neighborhood, we invite you to pull up to the community table, tuck in at your own intimate table for two or more, or enjoy our outdoor terrace for a spirited drink.

Coohills includes a main dining room, private dining room, community space, bar and beautiful outdoor terrace, providing a breathtaking view of the infamous Colorado sunsets.

Coohills comfortably seats up to 200 people and can host up to 400 people for a stand up reception.

We offer Happy Hour, Dinner Service and are happy to host your upcoming Private Events

1400 Wewatta
Suite 100
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Open for Private Events

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Open for Private Events

Bar: Mon - Fri, 3:00pm - close; Sat, 4:00pm - close. Happy Hour: Monday-Friday, 3:00pm-6:00pm, Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm. Bar will open early on Saturday's to coincide with Pepsi Center events. Please call restaurant for exact bar hours during these days.

Cross Street:
14th & Wewatta - across from the Pepsi Center at Speer Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 623-5700

Website:
http://www.coohills.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering to businesses located in the 1400 Wewatta and Wazee building.

Parking Details:
Coohills features a temperature-controlled, secured parking garage just east of the restaurant. $5 parking after 5 pm. Metered street parking on Wynkoop St. one block south of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Coohills has 2 light rail stations nearby: Union Station and Pepsi Center Station.

The nearest bus stops are 22574 / 22572 which serve Routes 6, 10, 28, 32 and 44.

Executive Chef:
Tom Coohill, Jr.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://coohills.com/reservations/special-events

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private Dining Spaces Include: Sellout: Seated-200, Reception-400 Entire Main Dining Room: Seated-100, Reception-130 Cherry Creek Room: Seated-60, Reception-75 Wewatta Room: Seated-28, Reception-35 Wine Room: Seated-36, Reception-45

Coohills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Scenic View (8)
Romantic (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Waterfront (4)
Authentic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The best Mother's Day brunch in Denver!! We all loved the creative and delicious assortment and can't wait to come back! Thank you for the equally matched service! Bravo! Stephanie Riggs

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We brought our family to Coohill's for Mother's Day brunch and the food, atmosphere, and service were incredible. We can't wait to reserve a table for 2018!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great discovery with easy access off of I 25. The food is exceptional with reasonably priced wine. The service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Menu was new American cuisine, no complaints about the options. Restaurant was not busy at all, service was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Romantic, Live Sports, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The location of this restaurant before an event at the Pepsi Center is the best aspect of Coohills. The food is very mediocre and expensive. I would look for other options in this growing neighborhood prior to booking a reservation here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our table was not available when we arrived at 5:15pm, told to wait in the bar. The restaurant was basically empty.

The wait staff was unorganized and unable to deliver what we ordered either timely or accurately.

The food was good but not as good as touted or expected.

All in all it was not an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing gnochi. Delectable deserts. I highly recommend eating at Coohills.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our first visit to Coohill's. Our first image was of its location which is unique and somewhat quirky. We were greeted like family. The restaurant is laid out in a way that makes its several sections smaller and more intimate than a regular floor plan. We opted for a quiet booth near the bar and proceeded to enjoy a superb evening of food and drink. The crab cakes are the best we have ever had, being entirely made of luscious chunks of crab. We have hunted this delicacy from the eastern shore of Maryland to Portland, Oregon, and finally found it here.

The liver pate is exquisite but don't order it unless you're prepared to eat a ton of their homemade bread with it. OMG the bread itself is worth the visit. It's to overdose on, as we segued after dinner to their extraordinary bread pudding, another specialty of the chef.

We were easily able to pair wines from their list with our selections. And the bill for the evening did not cause sticker shock, a plus in itself.

Coohill's is at the top of our list for our next visit to Denver.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated at a very undesirable table which affected my ability to enjoy my dinner. Constant traffic to restroom behind me and a straight-on view of the wait station for my husband. I looked around and there are quite a few undesirable tables! Several mistakes made from food expeditors. Great food, but disappointing service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We brought some friends here for restaurant week and was very disappointed in the small amount of food. We all left hungry.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and service were spectacular. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were excited to dine here with some friends to celebrate their anniversary. Fun atmosphere and the service was great. The food not so much. Mahi mahi was bland, short ribs were dry and the crab cakes were just average. Nothing to write home about. French onion soup was good. The served a sausage appetizer that they said was supposed to be served semi-raw. They should have served it cooked. Great atmosphere and I'd be willing to give it another shot because of the space but they better kill it with the food next time!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. The food was good but a bit too salty. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I wish 5280 was still $52.80 per couple... The food was good. The shrimp were overcooked. But all was made fun by our cool waiter. Had a great night. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I was very surprised at how small the servings were for the restaurant week menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

GREAT crab cakes! Charred shrimp was a bit too charred, however, and all I could taste was the burned bits.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our second visit. Great service. The "BEST crabcake my husband has ever had" - and he is picky. We were there for Restaurant Week. Nice menu and add on options. Enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went to Coohills for Denver Restaurant week. It did not disappoint. Great menu. Great service. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was absolutely fantastic. The food was amazing, and every last detail was taken care of - as one at our table described it, "as if fairies just magically appeared and made everything happen"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Coohills was very disappointing. Three course meal and none of the courses had any flavor or excitement to them. How can the chief mess up bass? But they did. It was very dry. Had to eat bread to wash down the bass. The French Onion soup was beef soup. Who puts beef in French onion soup...only at Coohills. The appetizer had no taste either. It was like they opened up a can of gazpacho and threw bread crumbs on it. Really??? There wasn't even salt on the table to help add any flavor to the entrée. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We came for restaurant week because we had heard such wonderful things and were not overly impressed. Everything was nice enough, lovely atmosphere and beautiful location, good dinner but inconsistent. Example: three of us ordered the same first course (vegetables) but our presentation was entirely different. One person received only broccoli, another only root veggies, one person had lots of cheese and one had barely any. This was not a deal breaker, just surprising... we go out for restaurant week to sample what restaurants have to offer. We felt as though the food presentation was haphazard at best. Everything tasted nice but nothing was over-the-top amazing.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Awesome date night dinner before heading to the Pepsi Center! Old Fashioned tasted very very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was just okay, the pâté was terrific, the soup came out Luke warm and the entree came out 2 minutes after the soup. Service was good but we felt we were being rushed out the door. It was Valentine's Day so was hoping for a better experience. They have a nice patio that I bet is great for happy hour in the summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal on Valentine's Day. Sadly, I am cursed. I succumbed to the stomach virus my son had the previous week. We enjoyed our dinner though, so at least we had a couple of hours before the evening was ruined.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It is a great combination of neighborhood eatery, authentic French food, wonderful people and charming ambience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband got the market fish of day, which was Tuna. It was not cooked consistently. Half cold half warm. The food was heavy on salt. It wasn't that bad, but not the best for the price. Service was great....greeted at door and seated quickly. Server was very good. I'd recommend it for quick bite and a nice glass of wine, but wouldn't go back for dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful evening; food and service. We chose the Valentine special, multiple course dinner. Wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fun, Modern Decor, Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Not the same experience I had in Spring of 2015. Menu changes monthly and at our table of 8, all but two people were disappointed with their food (short ribs, hanger steak, and cavatelli). Appetizers were good though.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A truly exceptional experience. The 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing was simultaneously memorable and casual. Maybe the best tasting menu experience in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I am so very disappointed with our dining experience. Service provided by Ryan improved the experience, but he can't serve and cook the food, too. The tomahawk pork was served rare, still cold inside. Second round cooking, of the same piece of meat, still rare. By the time the rare pork returned, my "special occasion" guest completed his meal (why let it go cold?), and I called it a night by munching on the 3-4 crispy bacon bits served with the pork, and duck fries.

I am not sure what's happened to Coohills. My last experience in June 2016 was exceptional.

Nevertheless, I can recommend the bread-pudding dessert. Ryan suggested a nice cordial pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They had too many big parties. One of them was so big there wasn't room for all of them so they kept knocking over the partition that the staff tried to set up.
Our waitor had limited knowledge of the menu and the menu was not reflective of what is on their website.
Overall we might try again when the weather is warmer.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Owners are amazing. Locally owned and operated. Fabulous food and service. Delicious wines and drinks. Love it so much we are renting the entire place for my sons rehearsal dinner!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Live Sports, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There are way better restaurants for the money in Denver. We found the food to be rather uninspired. Our server was very friendly and accommodating, but the pace of the meal was very slow (our entrees took an hour to get to the table when the restaurant wasn't crowded). I hadn't been here for a while so I wanted to give it a shot but I don't think I'll be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have now dined at Coohills twice. Both nights were absolutely splendid. From the impeccable service, to the literal best food either of us have ever had, to the beautiful interior and location Coohills is our chosen destination for any special event. Both times we were there, the wait staff were so helpful, kind, and attentive that we still talk about our experience. We tried several of their mixed cocktails and were blown away. They were so complex and creative. The wine pairing suggested by our waiter both times have been spot on. I recommend Coohills to anyone who is looking for a wonderful place for a date or other special occasion. The menu is pricey but I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Delicious food and amazing service! Super close to Pepsi Center which is awesome if you're going to a game or concert. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

It's always a favorite and they absolutely take care of you at Coohills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great spot! Outstanding food and cocktails. I knew Coohills was great for events, but wanted to stop in for dinner. Excellent food - be sure to have the crab cake, and the barrel aged old fashioned.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My out of town guests and I enjoyed the food, the service and the ambiance. Knew I could expect a great evening that would compare favorably to the big city the were from.
Had a meal we would remember.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We did a wine pairing meal that was sponsored by a distributor. The owners are friendly and pay close attention to detail. Beautiful setting. Good for a couple or a large group. Fun atmosphere and good, interesting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service was not great. No one to help us with wine selection and long delays. They were out of two items (including their specialty Crab Cakes) at 8:00 on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.