Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Coohills

With a focus on local, regional, and farm-fresh ingredients, Coohills Restaurant and Bar is reminiscent of what you might find in casual bars and restaurants in Europe. The open kitchen and uniquely modern interior, designed by award-winning architects Semple Brown, underscores Coohills' style! Located in the hip Lower Downtown (LoDo) neighborhood, we invite you to pull up to the community table, tuck in at your own intimate table for two or more, or enjoy our outdoor terrace for a spirited drink.

Coohills includes a main dining room, private dining room, community space, bar and beautiful outdoor terrace, providing a breathtaking view of the infamous Colorado sunsets.

Coohills comfortably seats up to 200 people and can host up to 400 people for a stand up reception.

We offer Happy Hour, Dinner Service and are happy to host your upcoming Private Events

1400 Wewatta
Suite 100
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Open for Private Events

Dinner: Monday - Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: Open for Private Events

Bar: Mon - Fri, 3:00pm - close; Sat, 4:00pm - close. Happy Hour: Monday-Friday, 3:00pm-6:00pm, Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm. Bar will open early on Saturday's to coincide with Pepsi Center events. Please call restaurant for exact bar hours during these days.

Cross Street:
14th & Wewatta - across from the Pepsi Center at Speer Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 623-5700

Website:
http://www.coohills.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering to businesses located in the 1400 Wewatta and Wazee building.

Parking Details:
Coohills features a temperature-controlled, secured parking garage just east of the restaurant. $6 parking after 5 pm. Metered street parking on Wynkoop St. one block south of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Coohills has 2 light rail stations nearby: Union Station and Pepsi Center Station.

The nearest bus stops are 22574 / 22572 which serve Routes 6, 10, 28, 32 and 44.

Executive Chef:
Tom Coohill, Jr.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://coohills.com/reservations/special-events

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private Dining Spaces Include: Sellout: Seated-200, Reception-400 Entire Main Dining Room: Seated-100, Reception-130 Cherry Creek Room: Seated-60, Reception-75 Wewatta Room: Seated-28, Reception-35 Wine Room: Seated-36, Reception-45

Coohills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Seasonal (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Waterfront (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Owners Diane, Tom and son Ethan made a birthday celebration even more special. The food was outstanding; we both enjoyed the Crab Cake, Salad, Filet with Baumaniere Potatoes (Perfection) and the Bread Pudding(Divine....complete with birthday greeting and candle!). Service was impeccable....professional, efficient and gracious. An excellent wine list afforded us the opportunity to select an outstanding bottle of wine to top off the celebration. Merci! Merci!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

4 stars is an averaged review for 2 experiences the same night. Came for an earlier after work business event which I would give 5 stars - great appetizers (the best I've had in Denver), attentive and friendly staff, good wine, very pleasant outdoor seating and bar area; stayed for a business dinner with my client which although good (maybe 3.5), was not up to the same level: limited number of entrees only 4 or 5 at the most with some being less than inspired (poached chicken), few salad selections, disappointing dessert, wait staff change mid-way through 7:00 dinner reservation (i.e. peak time) was awkward and not as helpful or friendly as the wait staff for the after-work event

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Date had a fly in their old fashioned. Replaced drink and comped. Very limited number of entrees on the menu. Gnocchi was good and so was the crab cake appetizer. Pork belly seemed extra fatty. Friday night over Labor Day weekend was nearly empty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Superb .. from start to finish ! First time @ Coohills / will not be the last !
Hank did a great job and the way the food was served was truly a superior method obviously attributable to a management which goes the extra mile in training and execution !
Well & Nicely Done !
Cheers,
Jim O'Toole / M:720-775-7725

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

My sister and I were in Denver to explore the foodie scene... They were aware of this, including that we were on day 4 and in a walking foodie coma, and they did everything to make our dining experience amazing! We did a seven course tasting, with some custom twists we appreciated, and the only thing that slowed us down was getting too full (which they handled great as well, packing up the main wagyu beef and giving us sorbet before we had to make room for chocolate - and yes... the perfectly textured beef was phenomenal cold, right out of the fridge for breakfast the next morning!) The snails were my favorite, though. I had a moment...there might have been a little tear...it was creamy perfection! I was even very pleasantly surprised that the sommelier took me outside of my comfort zone, with some varietals I don't trend towards, but loved every pairing! Well done everyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Impeccable. Our server (I don't recall her name but we were sitting on the patio on friday the 11th of august at the very beginning of dinner service) who got our prosecco, which we didn't even realize till after dinner that it was out 6 month anniversary! The food exceeded all expectations. Props to the chef! Thank you for the wonderful first experience! We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food is very good. However, our waitress left much to be desired. We were continually waiting for her to come around. We found it very difficult to obtain adult beverages as well as water. Other tables near us received drinks and bread before us, yet we were seated first! Still, I will return to the restaurant because it has good bones - great atmosphere, great food. The chicken is simply amazing! Also note they serve large portions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I had the sea bass, which was very good, but besides the fish and the tomato/cucumber relish it sat on, there was nothing on the plate. It would have been nice if there was a potato or two, or a few spears of asparagus, some kind of accompaniment, especially for the price of the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service were great. However, there was a large party there that was so loud it made conversation at our table difficult.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a great experience here! I was looking for good food near the Pepsi Center and I have found it! Yes, it was a bit expensive but you get what you pay for. The house white wine was fantastic. Also loved the music!!(alternative).
The food was delicious,seasonal and all made from scratch with French roots. The bread(baguettes!) and butter (truffles) was fantastic.
We really enjoyed our dining experience so much that we were a bit late for the concert. The staff was knowledgeable and took good care of us.
We shall return to Coohills!!

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I've been to Coolhills twice before. Service and quality were excellent.
However the reservation system is a TRAIN WRECK.
We made reservation through Coohill's which directed us to Open Table.
I knew from past experience they sometimes close around the 4th July, so I noted this in comments and ask them to reconfirm if they were closed on July 3.
I confirmed with Gretchen (hostess) 5 days prior to our reservation and replied to an online request to confirm one day prior. We show up for a birthday dinner and the restaurant in closed.
I'll not return because this has happened more than once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Coohill's. Chef Ben prepared a 5-course tasting menu for us, and we really felt like we were treated like royalty. Ben served us each course, explained what it was and how it was prepared, and enterained us with interesting stories about how he became a chef. Our server was attentive without being obtrusive. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I was treated like a queen- was in town for a funeral and made me feel very taken care of- I have heard the expression melt in your mouth but never experienced it until now- My God! How is it possible for even spinach and mushrooms to melt in your mouth. Food was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great dinner. A special thank you to Julie Whalstrand for making our evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The best Mother's Day brunch in Denver!! We all loved the creative and delicious assortment and can't wait to come back! Thank you for the equally matched service! Bravo! Stephanie Riggs

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We brought our family to Coohill's for Mother's Day brunch and the food, atmosphere, and service were incredible. We can't wait to reserve a table for 2018!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great discovery with easy access off of I 25. The food is exceptional with reasonably priced wine. The service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Menu was new American cuisine, no complaints about the options. Restaurant was not busy at all, service was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great Beer, Romantic, Live Sports, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The location of this restaurant before an event at the Pepsi Center is the best aspect of Coohills. The food is very mediocre and expensive. I would look for other options in this growing neighborhood prior to booking a reservation here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our table was not available when we arrived at 5:15pm, told to wait in the bar. The restaurant was basically empty.

The wait staff was unorganized and unable to deliver what we ordered either timely or accurately.

The food was good but not as good as touted or expected.

All in all it was not an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing gnochi. Delectable deserts. I highly recommend eating at Coohills.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our first visit to Coohill's. Our first image was of its location which is unique and somewhat quirky. We were greeted like family. The restaurant is laid out in a way that makes its several sections smaller and more intimate than a regular floor plan. We opted for a quiet booth near the bar and proceeded to enjoy a superb evening of food and drink. The crab cakes are the best we have ever had, being entirely made of luscious chunks of crab. We have hunted this delicacy from the eastern shore of Maryland to Portland, Oregon, and finally found it here.

The liver pate is exquisite but don't order it unless you're prepared to eat a ton of their homemade bread with it. OMG the bread itself is worth the visit. It's to overdose on, as we segued after dinner to their extraordinary bread pudding, another specialty of the chef.

We were easily able to pair wines from their list with our selections. And the bill for the evening did not cause sticker shock, a plus in itself.

Coohill's is at the top of our list for our next visit to Denver.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were seated at a very undesirable table which affected my ability to enjoy my dinner. Constant traffic to restroom behind me and a straight-on view of the wait station for my husband. I looked around and there are quite a few undesirable tables! Several mistakes made from food expeditors. Great food, but disappointing service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We brought some friends here for restaurant week and was very disappointed in the small amount of food. We all left hungry.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food and service were spectacular. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We were excited to dine here with some friends to celebrate their anniversary. Fun atmosphere and the service was great. The food not so much. Mahi mahi was bland, short ribs were dry and the crab cakes were just average. Nothing to write home about. French onion soup was good. The served a sausage appetizer that they said was supposed to be served semi-raw. They should have served it cooked. Great atmosphere and I'd be willing to give it another shot because of the space but they better kill it with the food next time!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. The food was good but a bit too salty. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I wish 5280 was still $52.80 per couple... The food was good. The shrimp were overcooked. But all was made fun by our cool waiter. Had a great night. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I was very surprised at how small the servings were for the restaurant week menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

GREAT crab cakes! Charred shrimp was a bit too charred, however, and all I could taste was the burned bits.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our second visit. Great service. The "BEST crabcake my husband has ever had" - and he is picky. We were there for Restaurant Week. Nice menu and add on options. Enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went to Coohills for Denver Restaurant week. It did not disappoint. Great menu. Great service. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server was absolutely fantastic. The food was amazing, and every last detail was taken care of - as one at our table described it, "as if fairies just magically appeared and made everything happen"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We came for restaurant week because we had heard such wonderful things and were not overly impressed. Everything was nice enough, lovely atmosphere and beautiful location, good dinner but inconsistent. Example: three of us ordered the same first course (vegetables) but our presentation was entirely different. One person received only broccoli, another only root veggies, one person had lots of cheese and one had barely any. This was not a deal breaker, just surprising... we go out for restaurant week to sample what restaurants have to offer. We felt as though the food presentation was haphazard at best. Everything tasted nice but nothing was over-the-top amazing.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Coohills was very disappointing. Three course meal and none of the courses had any flavor or excitement to them. How can the chief mess up bass? But they did. It was very dry. Had to eat bread to wash down the bass. The French Onion soup was beef soup. Who puts beef in French onion soup...only at Coohills. The appetizer had no taste either. It was like they opened up a can of gazpacho and threw bread crumbs on it. Really??? There wasn't even salt on the table to help add any flavor to the entrée. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome date night dinner before heading to the Pepsi Center! Old Fashioned tasted very very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was just okay, the pâté was terrific, the soup came out Luke warm and the entree came out 2 minutes after the soup. Service was good but we felt we were being rushed out the door. It was Valentine's Day so was hoping for a better experience. They have a nice patio that I bet is great for happy hour in the summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It is a great combination of neighborhood eatery, authentic French food, wonderful people and charming ambience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal on Valentine's Day. Sadly, I am cursed. I succumbed to the stomach virus my son had the previous week. We enjoyed our dinner though, so at least we had a couple of hours before the evening was ruined.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband got the market fish of day, which was Tuna. It was not cooked consistently. Half cold half warm. The food was heavy on salt. It wasn't that bad, but not the best for the price. Service was great....greeted at door and seated quickly. Server was very good. I'd recommend it for quick bite and a nice glass of wine, but wouldn't go back for dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.