HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Collection

3.4
46 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (37)
  • Neighborhood Gem (26)
  • Good for Groups (20)

Similar Restaurants

About

Collection, which can be found in Kansas City, Missouri, is a restaurant that offers a variety of shareable snacks, sandwiches, main courses and drinks to its clientele. If you choose to start the meal off with a small plate, there are several options from which to select. The Tuscan fire with parmesan aioli is one possibility at Collection or, if you need to warm up, you can go with the New England clam chowder.

Among the sandwiches available at Collection, the sausage and pepper, served on crispy flatbread, is a favorite. For an entr�e, you can try out the Spanish mac and cheese or the smoked pork ribs.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 471-7111
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 46 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.4
  based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
3.0
ambience
Noise · Moderate
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
1.0
Dined on May 1, 2015

This should be something Tia closes quickly or at least disassociates from. To say the dishes were mediocre and sub standard would be a compliment. Belfry's offering was the only thing that kept us from walking out.

Highly recommended for drinks before a Sprint Center event but PLEASE avoid. Spend your $ at least at a place that knows how to make a salad!

Making it a point to steer everyone I know to anyplace other than Collection. You could have a nice pre-event appetizer tray and cocktails at Pierpont's for less......

Report
Helpful
vipSiobhan (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on April 23, 2015

What was formerly the Kansas City Cafe is now Collection. Chef Tio has assembled a menu featuring comfort food with the perfect updates for foodies!

Report
Helpful
Sean (St. Louis)
1.0
Dined on April 17, 2015

We made a reservation for 2 at 8:30 on a Friday night. Showed up just a little before 8:30 to find no one in the restaurant. The door was open, there were candles on the tables, but no patrons, no hostess, apparently no staff. We politely left. There was one person standing by the bar, talking on the phone. Not sure if he even worked there.

Report
Helpful
vipJCall (Kansas City)
5.0
Dined on March 7, 2015

The menu was small, but mighty! There was a wide range of choices for every palate. The chef brought out our dishes and was very friendly. The waiter gave us recommendations! Overall a great night with great cocktails to choose from!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
3.0
Dined on February 26, 2015

Food was average but Thursday night half price bottles of wine made for a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on February 21, 2015

Wonderful selection of beers. My stew of pork, carrots, potatoes and flavorful Ethiopian spices was absolutely fantastic. Her Mac and cheese also was a real winner. We opted to sit in the energetic bar area. We look forward to returning for breakfast.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on February 14, 2015

Very pricey, but good service even on Valentine's day and good food, I enjoyed the appearance of the restaurant

Report
Helpful
XLVang (Kansas City)
3.0
Dined on February 14, 2015

The restaurant was different, modern with an artsy feel. It felt like we were having dinner in a art gallery. The only issue we had was the dinner reservation was on Valentine's Day. We had no idea that for the small five course meal we had it would cost us $80 each and that was without a drink which brought our meal up to $200.

Our advice is to let the dinners know the price ahead of time so the cost won't be such a shocker!

Report
Helpful
FoieGras (Kansas City)
2.0
Dined on January 23, 2015

Unfortunately the appetizers were the only redeeming part of the meal. They were like little balls of deep fried sheppards pie. The shrimp were overlooked and the grits lacked seasoning. The chocolate cake dessert was hard enough to repel attempts to cut into it. Thankfully we had a good bottle of wine and drinks afterward at Belfry to numb our pain.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on January 22, 2015

The food was amazing!!!! But the ambiance/decor felt a little like I was in a cafeteria. The chairs were very uncomfortable and the decor was a little bleak, but the food and service more than made up for it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 471-7111
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Celina Tio