Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

TikiCatTikiCat
(91)
$$$$
Lounge | Kansas City South, Kansas City, MO
Booked 50 times today
Eddie V's - Kansas CityEddie V's - Kansas City
(382)
$$$$
Seafood | Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Booked 31 times today
Lidia's RestaurantLidia's Restaurant
(4434)
$$$$
Italian | Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard, Kansas City, MO
Booked 39 times today
The JacobsonThe Jacobson
(905)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard, Kansas City, MO
Booked 10 times today
J. Alexander's - Overland ParkJ. Alexander's - Overland Park
(189)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Overland Park, Kansas City, KS
Booked 25 times today
The OliverThe Oliver
(384)
$$$$
American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 26 times today
Extra Virgin - Kansas CityExtra Virgin - Kansas City
(888)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard, Kansas City, MO
Booked 12 times today
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas CityCooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
(1846)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Booked 56 times today
Webster HouseWebster House
(3299)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard, Kansas City, MO
Booked 23 times today
Kauffman Center Dining ExperienceKauffman Center Dining Experience
(254)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / River Market, Kansas City, MO
Booked 2 times today
Bristol Seafood Grill – Downtown KC, MoBristol Seafood Grill – Downtown KC, Mo
(3485)
$$$$
Seafood | KC Power & Light District, Kansas City, MO
Booked 47 times today
Gram & DunGram & Dun
(2202)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 50 times today
Garozzo's Ristorante - Kansas CityGarozzo's Ristorante - Kansas City
(1814)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / River Market, Kansas City, MO
Booked 22 times today
Cafe ProvenceCafe Provence
(1389)
$$$$
French American | Prairie Village, Kansas City, KS
Booked 21 times today
Café TrioCafé Trio
(3409)
$$$$
American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 15 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Collection

Collection, which can be found in Kansas City, Missouri, is a restaurant that offers a variety of shareable snacks, sandwiches, main courses and drinks to its clientele. If you choose to start the meal off with a small plate, there are several options from which to select. The Tuscan fire with parmesan aioli is one possibility at Collection or, if you need to warm up, you can go with the New England clam chowder.

Among the sandwiches available at Collection, the sausage and pepper, served on crispy flatbread, is a favorite. For an entr�e, you can try out the Spanish mac and cheese or the smoked pork ribs.

1532 Grand Blvd
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 471-7111

Website:
http://www.collectionrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Celina Tio

Sort By:
S
46 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 1, 2015

This should be something Tia closes quickly or at least disassociates from. To say the dishes were mediocre and sub standard would be a compliment. Belfry's offering was the only thing that kept us from walking out.

Highly recommended for drinks before a Sprint Center event but PLEASE avoid. Spend your $$ at least at a place that knows how to make a salad!

Making it a point to steer everyone I know to anyplace other than Collection. You could have a nice pre-event appetizer tray and cocktails at Pierpont's for less......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2015

What was formerly the Kansas City Cafe is now Collection. Chef Tio has assembled a menu featuring comfort food with the perfect updates for foodies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2015

We made a reservation for 2 at 8:30 on a Friday night. Showed up just a little before 8:30 to find no one in the restaurant. The door was open, there were candles on the tables, but no patrons, no hostess, apparently no staff. We politely left. There was one person standing by the bar, talking on the phone. Not sure if he even worked there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2015

The menu was small, but mighty! There was a wide range of choices for every palate. The chef brought out our dishes and was very friendly. The waiter gave us recommendations! Overall a great night with great cocktails to choose from!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2015

Food was average but Thursday night half price bottles of wine made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2015

Wonderful selection of beers. My stew of pork, carrots, potatoes and flavorful Ethiopian spices was absolutely fantastic. Her Mac and cheese also was a real winner. We opted to sit in the energetic bar area. We look forward to returning for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2015

The restaurant was different, modern with an artsy feel. It felt like we were having dinner in a art gallery. The only issue we had was the dinner reservation was on Valentine's Day. We had no idea that for the small five course meal we had it would cost us $80 each and that was without a drink which brought our meal up to $200.

Our advice is to let the dinners know the price ahead of time so the cost won't be such a shocker!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Very pricey, but good service even on Valentine's day and good food, I enjoyed the appearance of the restaurant

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2015

Unfortunately the appetizers were the only redeeming part of the meal. They were like little balls of deep fried sheppards pie. The shrimp were overlooked and the grits lacked seasoning. The chocolate cake dessert was hard enough to repel attempts to cut into it. Thankfully we had a good bottle of wine and drinks afterward at Belfry to numb our pain.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2015

The food was amazing!!!! But the ambiance/decor felt a little like I was in a cafeteria. The chairs were very uncomfortable and the decor was a little bleak, but the food and service more than made up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Collection is sleek and clean inside. Hard plastic chairs not conducive to lingering over a long meal. Food was tasty--good but not great. Half price bottles of wine on Thursdays was a nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Food was great. Service was great. Decor was a bit bland. Enjoyed lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 8, 2014

The ambiance was mediocre & the food was quite lacking. I had nachos, which looked & tasted like cheap, bagged tortilla chips. The "house made chorizo" tasted & looked like bland hamburger meat. My husband had ribs/fries which tasted OK but were served on kitschy checked paper so when eating the ribs w/ knife/fork, he got paper in every bite. Maybe it should have been b/t the bowl & plate as a liner? Or maybe he should have eaten w/ his hands, but we were dressed up for a night out. The fries were fine, not special. The food pricing was inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. The drink list extensive, our service outstanding. We will likely go to the Belfry for drinks, not food. We did expect much more from a Celina Tio establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2014

Loved everything about the place. Will definitely be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2014

Empty restaurant and I can see why. Food was passable but that's all. Service was ok, but it should be when there's no one else in the restaurant. Decor was the worst I've ever seen. It looks like they spent $30 on the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2014

food with flavor not found any other place, wines that pair with your dish, and all amid downtown art, sport, and entertainment venues ... good bar to night cap it all off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 31, 2014

This is a great restaurant in downtown. The fool was great, service wonderful. Celine Tio was there at the restaurant and made a point to come over to ask how everything was (always nice to see her, and talk to the chef/owner).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2014

Unfortunately, Collection was a dud for us. From the ambiance to the food, everything was mediocre at best. We were the only diners in the restaurant on a Saturday night. The food was just okay and there were several items that were not available but still listed on the menu. It was just kind of depressing because it felt like we were in a restaurant that was going under.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2014

Our server was great, and I hate to say that the food was only mediocre. I don't think I would go back unfortunately.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 2, 2014

The food, as expected, was delicious. However, the service was horrible. I asked about the First Friday happy hour specials, as posted on Facebook by Chef Tio, our waiter told us there weren't any specials. I didn't correct the waiter as no one at the table decided to get any of the specials. When we got our checks, the waiter over charged my credit card by $25 and my friend was over charged $90. It took him and 3 other employees 30 minutes to fix the issue. I would go back for the food, but we probably will just go to Julian instead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2014

I enjoyed the $5 Happy Hour Deals when I went to visit Collection. The orange beets with whipped goat cheese and pistachios was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2014

We arrived at 7:30 on a Friday night and were one of two couples eating at the restaurant. The host wasn't at the door, so an employee who was leaving after his shift seated us. The waiter was very professional when addressing us, but took a very long time between checking on us before we placed our orders. When asked, his two suggestions were the two most expensive items on the menu. The beer list was great as they use the Belfry bar beer selection next door. The food came out quickly and the rigatoni was very good, but the burger was disappointing due to an error by the cook.

With only 2 tables full at the restaurant, we expected faster service and not to have any issues with the food preparation.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2014

We had lunch on a Friday and were the only two people there. Despite that, it took over 45 minutes for two entrees to arrive. We were offered a rather lame explanation about the pasta not being quite right when first prepared, but if so, it would have been nice to be informed about that as it happened. Still, great food can trump a mediocre dining experience. Unfortunately, this was not great food. The mac and cheese was pleasant, though not exceptional, and the seafood pasta (of the unfortunate cooking experience) was very chewy spaghetti with six shrimp and some miniscule scraps of clam (which incidentally cost $23 for a lunch portion). We expect better of such a fine chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2014

Upon arrival, I introduced my colleague to Celina Tio who was wecloming and very gracious. We went to the Belfry and the bar tenders were attentive and helpful. we loved the selection of beers and I am now a fan of Petrus! Dinner in Collection's dining area has the feel of dining an a temporary setting. It seems just too sterile and make shift. Our food is up to Chef Tio's standard but the setting and noise is a distraction.

This has promise but needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 21, 2014

Her restaurant in Brookside is great, so we were very excited to try this place. We arrived at 6pm on a Friday night. There were maybe 4 other people in the restaurant. During our entire dinner, there were maybe 10 other diners. Occupancy aside, the food was very good. We could have existed on appetizers and cocktails alone. We moved-on to dinner and desserts and were disappointed. I hope more people find out about this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 14, 2014

... tasty food, large selection of wines/beer ... close to Sprint, Kaufman, other down town venues

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2014

What a fantastic experience! Went with a large group of people and everyone told me later they loved their food (chicken, scallops, shepherd's pie). They were even telling me days later how much they really enjoyed the restaurant and how they wanted to go back again soon. The energy was fun and the table set-up was great. My scallops were excellent. Some ordered up apps, trying the goat cheese and beets. The others ate Farm to Market bread with apple butter and thought it was great. I'd go back in a heartbeat. Service was 4 because the waitress at times wasn't the kindest person in the world. There was a moment where she was a little tense with one of my friends but we got it resolved. Otherwise, I'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2014

4 course meal for two. All but one entree (duck) were excellent. The broth seasoning for the duck wasn't simmered in enough. The entrance needs some draft protection in the winter months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2014

It sure could be. Grab some tables and chairs and throw a menu together??? Over-priced for a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Their menu was a great selection of all sorts of food options. All the dishes that the two of us had were extremely tasty and a great price for four courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2014

The ambiance is shaby-chic cafeteria, too bright for evening, but okay if you know what to expect. Overall the food was disapointing in presentation and lacked reasonable amounts of key ingredients. The salad with crab had MINIMAL crab and not much flavor, a complaint of more than one table. The pate' 3,slices of crustini with a THIN layer of pate' and 2 -3 huckleberries, was anemic. 2 pieces with twice the pate' and a berry drizzle on the plate would have been a huge improvement. On the upside, the oyster Rokafeller soup was nice. The loup de mer and beef entree were flavorful, if without interesting presentation. Our server was excellent and our wine complimentary, but I we'd rather have paid and enjoyed. Disappointing overall..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2014

We went to dinner at Collection for Valentine's Day. The fixed menu choices were varied. We tried different items and all were good. Overall our experience was positive. The desserts were definitely the highlight. Enjoyed our craft beers at the Belfry beforehand as much or more than the dinner. It's a little barren inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Categorically awful...below average food at extraordinary prices in what feels like a bad lobby space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2014

Great location.
Great food.
Great beer/drinks.
Chef Celina Tio has a way of bringing it all together. Do yourself a favor and book your reservation today.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 1, 2014

We have been to Collection twice now for dinner, and while the food overall is quite good, there were some glitches that dampened our enthusiasm for going back in the near future. We had lukewarm soup and cold bread pudding on our first visit, and two significant errors on both sandwich orders the second visit. We were pressed for time so didn't bother reordering but made do with what we were served. Decor is stark, tablecloths would really help. Front door is a single door allowing a draft to waft in every time it is opened. Choose a table farther away if you can. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and the service was reasonably good but some tweaks are needed to make this a real destination restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 31, 2014

This place had great food, and a great atmosphere. Simplistic, and sleek, yet stylish.

The Macaroni and cheese was a must try, and my hamburger was excellent as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2014

If you just HAVE to eat here to see for yourself, ask yourself this: "What dish of the meal I've just been served showed the skills of a master chef?" Certainly not the knife acuity displayed in the inconsistent cuts of their signature carrots with Harissa or the Beets with Goat Cheese. The thicker carrots were raw. Although the beet dish was my favorite regarding taste, did it take a culinary-trained talent to 'griddle' fry bread to burnt & serve it in a space that felt like an elementary school cafeteria with their latest art projects hung on the wall? What dish resonated with a champion's signature? I wonder if this is just some tongue-in-cheek private joke, and we dinner patrons are the punchline!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 25, 2014

Starting with the drink menu and the list of bourbons available, the experience at Collection is very, very positive. The food is outstanding. Prepared perfectly, in the right quantity and with perfect taste. Even on the cold night (outside) that we were there, it came from the kitchen hot. The service was good - just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2014

I was expecting James Beard award winning food and was sorely disappointed. There was nothing special at all about our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 25, 2014

I have few positive things to say about this restaurant. The décor is bleak to almost non existent. We sat in the equivalent of cafeteria chairs. The bathrooms are painted black and patrons are encouraged to write on the walls with colored chalk; looks cheap not sheik.

My chicken sandwich might have had two ounces of chicken on it. The shepherd's pie was a pile of potatoes with strips of lamb piled on top. It was a good size portion but had zero pizazz. The person who ordered the scallops, a five foot female, said they were good but was served such a tiny portion that she stopped and got something to eat on the way home. Our coffee never arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.