About Clay Pit

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events such as Valentine's Day, New Year's Eve, and others, we require a credit card to confirm your booking.
In the event that you cancel within 24 hours of your reservation time, or do not show up for your reservation, we will charge your card in the amount of $50.00, and issue a Clay Pit gift card in that amount to you.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (37)
Spicy (36)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Vegan (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (15)
Romantic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined a day ago

Food is excellent. Service is poor: from check-in through the check. Even with a reservation, a long wait and poor welcome. Then, a VERY impatient waiter, if not with guests, I would have left based upon the wait staff interaction. I was happy we left and had dessert elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great as always. My only problem was we had two coupons each for two people and they wouldn't let us use them if we sat at the same table which I thought was exceptionally stupid. But it's a great place, it was very noisy but the food is just fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always outstanding. I discovered their Vodka infused with Mango and Ginger, out of this world.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was okay, not as good as I had hoped from the reviews.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The vibe was buzzing and the food was fantastic but the server did not refill our drink automatically, otherwise dinner was great.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Vegan, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The best Indian restaurant in Austin, in a terrific historical building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food , very tasty and well presented. Room we were in was a little noisy because it was smaller. Enjoyed the meal nonetheless

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food and a fun atmosphere. Staff were very helpful with the menu and made excellent recommendations.

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The Clay Pit is my go-to place for in-town dining. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time here and not impressed. Service was slow and management was unprofessional .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Clay Pit continues to provide amazing Indian cuisine in Austin! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

If I want a friend/family member to experience good Indian food for the first time, or I want to provide a solid slightly-above-casual dining experience, the Clay Pit is my go-to restaurant. Lively atmosphere in a really lovely stone building downtown. Good bar, interesting house drinks, good food, and terrific service.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always get a tasty meal with good service. Korma is very nice.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was outstanding as always. I tried a new dish with a spinach puree/chicken and vegetables and it was out of this world. We sat in the back room off the bar and it was nice and quiet and cozy. A must restaurant if you like Indian food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Team event. Everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was a solid restaurant. The food was good, more or less what you'd expect. Nothing was mind blowing or incredible. However, we only ordered goat saag, chicken tiki masala, garlic naan, and vegetable pakora.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It's gotten too Americanized. Ordered the "desi" (very hot) spicing and it barely made medium. My bland-loving table-mate ate it and thought it was pretty boring.

I understand keeping tables cleared, but we were pretty much chased out by aggressive table clearing. Not pleasant, and left feeling they'd gotten my money and it was time for us to move on.

I've eaten here several times of the years. I think this was the last time. Better food with better ambience can be had in innumerable other Indian restaurants around town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Always great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

New restaurants draw the crowds by this stalwart presence in our town. Great food, knowledgeable servers, inobtrusive drink service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Clay Pit is an excellent restaurant. We tried a variety of dishes and liked them all. Our favorites were Lamb Vindaloo and Chicken Tikka Masala. Their tandoori dishes are very good and are not the of traditional preparation. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. Our server, Dez, was great. He is friendly, knowledgeable and added to our positive experience. If you like Indian cuisine, you must try this restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was delicious and service was decent.
Our reservations were for 6:45 and some guests arrived before me but they being seated until all other guests were present even though I conformed the reservation the day of.
Cocktails were weak, sticking with wine the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The server was amazing and the rest of the wait staff very friendly! It was great to book the reservation online too!

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love the variety of great food that is available here - the Korma is wonderful, as is the Baingan Bartha; the mixed grill is fab and we haven't had anything on the menu that we haven't liked!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had our table ready at our reservation time. Everyone was dressed casually. It was a light hearted and fun environment. Like most restaurants it was a little loud so hearing the waitress was difficult at times. But when asked about "popular" items she was quite helpful.

The food itself was quite delicious. The price was a tad on the high side but nothing to deter from going back.

Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Nice meal with a group of 6. Great vegetarian and vegan options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I've been there several times over the past year and never disappointed. This visit we discovered the "downstairs" old wine cellar. Quiet atmosphere, loved it as much as every other time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food with a good variety of choices on the menu. Service could have been a little speedier. Seafood was very well prepared and tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I've been going to Clay Pit for years and this meal was inconsistent. The mussels were amazing like always and the Naan delicious (we had onion and paneer). My dish, Tandoori Shrimp Cesar, was salty and overdressed. I get this dish every time I come and have never been disappointed until this visit. An entree ordered "medium" heat was bland. Our wait person was not very good. I was shocked at the difference since my last visit. I may try once more before it's off my list since I had years of quality dining but this was a let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Will go back for sure. salmon with curry sauce was fabulous.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

A must each time I'm in Austin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

I am in Austin on business and found the Clay Pit by accident. I'm glad I did! The authentic Indian cuisine is exceptional with plenty of options. I had a Tandoor option and enjoyed it immensely. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As usual, Clay Pit was a great choice for our dinner. Indian food prepared just right, with the level of spice that you select. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Saturday buffet was very mediocre and disappointing. Limited selection and chicken was dry. I would not go back for
Lunch again. Only in the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Eddie was fabulous and knowledgeable of menu items and that enriched our dining experience and made for a memorable birthday celebration ... look forwrd to next time!

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very helpful server. Food was excellent. A little noisy but it was Friday night

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food, drinks, desserts, and service! I recommend this restaurant for everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vegan, Spicy, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Eat here frequently. Disappointed w/wait staff service. Had to request one glass of iced tea three times. Two of us ordered the same dinner, one "hot" and one "medium." The dinners were not placed correctly, so I ended up with the "hot" dish (not knowing it - had never ordered it before), and friend ended up w/the "medium" dish (again, knowing it, but was disappointed that it very hot/spicy). No problems with any previous visit.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent food. The tandoori chicken is fabulous. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was ehh. Service was too slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent food with great services, interesting ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.