About Clay Pit

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events such as Valentine's Day, New Year's Eve, and others, we require a credit card to confirm your booking.
In the event that you cancel within 24 hours of your reservation time, or do not show up for your reservation, we will charge your card in the amount of $50.00, and issue a Clay Pit gift card in that amount to you.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (39)
Spicy (37)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Authentic (29)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Casual (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
Family Style (18)
Vegan (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Historic (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Private Room (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

This was the restaurant we went on our first date and 12 years later we still look forward to anytime we can dine here. The food is always perfect. Service superb! Can't ask for better Indian food. Parking isn't great but worth the walk.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

AMAAAAAZING indian food. I highly recommend Clay Pit! Our service was great and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 15, 2017

service was mediocre. i believe server seemed tired and/or overwhelmed. many items had to be repeated such as getting initial drinks to refills to condiments. still will be back as we like the restaurant.

Tags: Spicy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I really like Clay Pit but was misinformed as to the buffet for Mother's Day. I called a few weeks previous to ask if we could order from the menu and was told we could. The buffet was mediocre at best. Weird fried bread balls for dessert tasted like fried oil - really bad! I will return for dinner but NEVER the buffet. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day brunch and it was fantastic. The only issue was trying to figure out where to park.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have eaten at Clay Pit a number of times and it never disappoints. I had the Lamb Korma and the sauce is so good you'll want to drink it through a straw. The other diners ordered Lamb Vindaloo and Chicken Mughlai (may be spelled incorrectly) and all were outstanding. The service is attentive and the food came out quickly. It was a Saturday evening and the restaurant was very crowded - reservations are a must! Bring a sweater as their air conditioning system is powerful being that it is in an old building and the configuration is such that the cold air blows through the center of the restaurant. Even crowded and busy, it was chilly. However, that diminishes nothing from the amazing food and friendly, attentive service. It is one of my favorite places to eat when I visit Austin.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

While visiting Austin to pick up our daughter from UT, we all decided that Indian cuisine was the ticket for that evening. After reading several reviews online, we opted for the Clay Pit and were not disappointed. The food was well prepared with seemingly fresh ingredients and without delay. The Mexican Martini (I know, sounds crazy at an Indian restaurant) was outstanding though I got the impression that they do not serve them often as our waiter had no idea what I was talking about though it was clearly on their drink menu. The service is more what you would expect at a casual restaurant and keeps the dining experience a notch or two from "fine dining". We had six entree-like dishes, all quite tasty. Portions were ample. The gulab jamun for dessert was delicious. So far as ambiance, simple off-white stone walls lent to an appealing atmosphere though the noise level was quite high. I would certainly eat there again though not among my top 5 Austin restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is my second time dining at Clay Pit, and it was just as good as I remembered. We came to town for our anniversary and had a great time.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Spicy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The options to dine here and eat healthful gluten-free delicious food were great! The menu allows from mild to spicy Indian herbs and The Clay Pit knows how to mix spices and sauces together. We had shared a platter of various roasted vegetables and a platter of lamb and vegetables and that was after a well created side salad. All was worth the trip from far north Austin. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was wonderful with great suggestions for the menu and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The ambiance is the only reason for a star rating. Wait time 15 mins for getting seated (for reserved table!), wait time for food 45 mins and finally when the food arrives, tastes very mediocre and under cooked. The restaurant came highly recommended but was shocked and sorely disappointed. This was for dinner service on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome experience! Delicious food and great value. Good service and extra points for the server teaching me how to get my curry sauce out of my shirt. (Cold water and soap that's it). can't wait to go back again. Everything was delicious but the mussels are a must - amazing! And I love how you can adjust the spice level for every dish. I never had spicy tikka masala before! Could not have been more pleased. And the bengaltini was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Clay Pit is my favorite place to take special visitors to Austin. The smell when you walk in the door is sensually divine and enhances the actual food from a sensory perspective. The bartender made us cucumber mojitos which are not a regular thing there and they were perfect!
Awesome Austin experience for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Not allergy friendly - I visited Clay Pit recently for my vegan daughters 19th birthday. We have visited before but this time we had our 3 year old with a severe peanut allergy. The server went to the kitchen to ask the chef about a particular dish and came back and reported they could not confirm that it hadn't been in contact with cumin (a spice that can cause a reaction in peanut allergies.) We asked about a second item and he told us he could not go ask the chef about every item and we needed to assume everything had cumin contact. Ironic as at Landry's Rain Forest café recently they brought out the chef and he discussed her peanut allergy with us and prepared and delivered my daughter's food personally. (Nice touch) I was disappointed at the handling of my child's life threatening allergy and she ate Cheerios and bread while we hurried through my oldest daughters birthday dinner. I expected more out of a nice restaurant.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great environment for large group especially with the availability of a private room. We had around 20 people and they were very accommodating. Would recommend reserving it, if that's something you want.

Tags: Private Room, Vegan, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. Would recommend to others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great old building with terrific food, full of flavor. Excellent sauces and varied menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great but service was laughably terrible. The waitress was openly inpatient and rude with us. When clearing our table she came by with a bunch of used sauces and plates from another table and dumped everything together right in front of us. Whaaaat?

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We absolutely adore the Clay Pit . The food is always fantastic and the employees always warm and helpful. Love this place and highly recommend. My only suggestion is PLEASE expand to Round Rock or better yet Georgetown! ! It's a pain to come into Austin.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Clay Pit is one of my go-to restaurants for dining before the theatre, friends' get-togethers, birthday observations, and other occasions. The food is really wonderful, and it's a great value for a special occasion dinner.

This visit, the food was delicious as usual. The service was slower than normal, even though the restaurant wasn't full. Our server forgot several requests, and I suspect our dinner wasn't brought out as soon as it was ready (it wasn't really hot). And the restaurant was really freezing cold -- cold enough that we needed jackets.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Clay Pit is a fine Indian restaurant and perfect for a change of dining options. Our service was outstanding and the food was scrumptious. We started with chicken Tandoori bites with a tasty sauce. Goan shrimp curry was mild with spicy seasoning served on the side, and lamb jeera saag was wonderfully spicy. The naan was hot and a perfect accompaniment. Overall, the quiet atmosphere and food made this a wonderful experience. Our server, Ally, was charming and attentive.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was terrific and the portions ample enough to share among the four of us. Our waiter spoke so fast we had trouble understanding him, that was the only possible downside I can think of.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic food...as is the norm at this charming restaurant. Our server graciously navigated menus for unfamiliar guests and made recommendations that made the dining experience good for all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I always stop by when I'm in Austin. My favorite Indian restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The Good: Everything here was delicious. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

The Bad: Service was really the only issue I had this time around. Server was extremely inattentive and kind of ruined the night. We had to remind her to get our drink orders twice as apps came out before drinks and our second drink order took about 30 minutes, but were apparently sitting at the bar for awhile. I think she could tell we were a bit annoyed and her joke comparing me to an 8 year old because I 'made a mess' while eating fell flat. I'll probably be back, but there a few other places I've been meaning to check out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The Clay Pit has been a long standing staple in the Austin dining scene. We generally make it in at least once a year or so. Again the food did not disappoint, but the service I thought was not as good as in previous visits. It was adequate, but not exceptional. It just seemed to be a little lackluster and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food, great service, cool vibe. They had a fairly priced wine list that did not disappoint. Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was delicious from the naan to the mango drink. The waiter was nice and informative on what dishes to try. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went to Clay Pit for an early dinner on a Saturday, it was busy but the staff was very attentive. We had 5:45pm reservations, but arrived a bit early and were seated right away. The server was very attentive, and very nice. We ordered the curried mussels(must try!!!!) and a couple of types of naan it was great. For entrees my daughter's decided to order if of the appetizer menu( hummus+ naan and calimari) my husband ordered chicken tikka masala, and I ordered goat saag. The food was soooooo good! They brought out 1 tray of rice with the entrees but let us know more was available upon request. It looked like there were all type of parties: dates, friends, families. I would totally go back, and recommend you give this place a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Spicy, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Always a great spot to enjoy authentic Indian cuisine. Our waitress was superbly attentive without being intrusive. We have never had a bad meal at the Clay Pit and always enjoy the experience. I would highly recommend this to all food lovers.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As USA TODAY's First Road Warrior of the Year, I travel a lot. And though The Clay Pit is one of my favorite restaurants in Austin, I had not been there in a long while. Too long. My husband and I started with the luscious mussels, which we shared then each ordered our own dinner. The sauce with the mussels was so good we asked for an extra order of Naan to enjoy it, and took the rest home. I ordered the Vegetable Korma (mild) and my husband ordered the Lamb Kebobs. Our server Francisco did an excellent job, in spite of serving a number of other parties at the same time. The food was wonderful---as usual---and we even took some home for dinner the next night. I never liked Indian food (too spicy), until I was convinced to try this restaurant. In fact, I was miserable, when I went to India, because they don't know what "not spicy" means. But at The Clay Pit, you can really "have it your way": Mild, Medium, Spicy, or Super Spicy. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a superior and reasonably priced lunch or dinner. It won't be so long until I am there again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Just an overall great experience! Fourth time here and will likely visit more often. Our waitress was the bomb; just unfortunate about the timing of food and beverage delivery - lagged a little more than normal for a late night seating. FYI...the Goat Saag, Curried Mussels, and Chicken/Veggie Samosas were pretty amazing; be sure to order extra Garlic & Basil Naan to soak up all that awesome sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was a great find in Austin. We had the mussel appetizers and the sauce was sooo good. Also the oother dishes, steak and chicken were just wonderful. We ordered the dishes not too spicey and it came out just right. Couldn't have been better

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I brought someone new to Clay Pit and they loved it. We all (5 of us) really enjoyed our food, everything was so good as usual, and our waitress was just terrific. She was cheery, accommodating, and knew a lot about the menu, her suggestions were spot on and she made our experience so wonderful. The food at Clay Pit is so authentic and scrump-deli-icioius! I am vegan and the options are amazing and so varied. And the space itself has a lot of history and ambience. I Highly recommend Clay Pit if you are into Indian food and all the wonderful flavors and spices therein.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place for trying authentic Indian food for the first time. Love the history of the Bertram building and the ambiance of the restaurant. Great service. If you are in Austin, I recommend you stop in for a bite.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Historic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We haven't been to Clay Pit in years - mostly because we didn't know what to order. This time, we were very fortunate, our server was very helpful. He described the dishes very well. He made suggestions that we all loved. The only part we were disappointed with was the spicy part of the food. We were expecting very hot, but it was very mild. The flavor of the food was wonderful, we just like to have it with a little heat. Our friend who doesn't like heat, thought the 'hot' was mild. There is a reason the Clay Pit stays competitive after all these years, the quality of the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was not authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely delicious meal in the neat basement area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiter was awesome. Had great wine recommendations and explained the Clay Pit experience since it was our first time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our meals were tasty but not heated enough. We didn't see the need to send them back, but all the sauces over the chicken and lamb dishes were not hot.

What's disappointing about making a reservation on line, even 4 days ahead of the dinner event, is that we wanted 7 or 7:30 pm. Open Table indicated that the only times available were before 6:15 or after 8:45. We arrived at 6:15 and left by 7:30. There were ample empty tables that had no guests during our dinner, so we could have eaten at a later time. Not sure if I will make a reservation next time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.