About Clay Pit

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events such as Valentine's Day, New Year's Eve, and others, we require a credit card to confirm your booking.
In the event that you cancel within 24 hours of your reservation time, or do not show up for your reservation, we will charge your card in the amount of $50.00, and issue a Clay Pit gift card in that amount to you.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Spicy (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
See All
Authentic (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Family Style (13)
Romantic (12)
Vegan (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Business Meals (9)
Historic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Cozy (7)
Private Room (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good ethnic cuisine and drinks. We always visit clay pit whenever we travel to Austin.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Well done getting seated but the place was busy and they could have used more help as the waiters seemed a bit stressed, which caused a level of hurriedness that you could feel. Our guy did a pretty good job of working through it. Wine by glass had that "too much for a cheap wine" quality. If I'm going to pay $10 or more for six ounces I really appreciate a restaurant that doesn't make me feel like I'm being gouged. Indian food at Clay Pit is good but not great. Lots of options and they tracked and delivered on the spice level requested but again, for the price I would have expected more contrast in the flavors. Placed was packed so I suppose my opinion is in the minority. Next time I want Indian fare we'll probably head out to Bombay Bistro.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious! Incredible! Best Indian food I have ever tasted!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is consistently amazing. The service is always is on consistently on par with the food.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our waiter was fantastic. He had a light black beard, swooping hair, and was about 5-10. He waited on a white couple up against the wall with a sleeping baby at adjacent table. We ordered prosecco bottle of wine. That guy is awesome. Give him a raise.

Tags: Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Never disappointing, we have had our special valentines dinner there for years. The food is authentic Indian, and has a large array of choices. We have indoctrinated numerous friends who have never had Indian food at the Clay Pit. If you arrive late, parking can always be a challenge in Austin, but we seem to have never had that much difficulty finding a convenient spot. Don't do a special day if you are in a hurry, but our server took great care of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food here! Espeically the fact you chose the dish and then the spice level. The staff are really great to and will do anything to help.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We got a table downstairs in the cellar and it was much more cozy, quiet, and intimate than upstairs. Would ask to try to be seated down there again for the historical charm and lovely ambiance. Amazing early Valentine's Day dinner!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious. Lamb appetizer is a must! Make a reservation in advance. You don't want to miss out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Indian food. Best in Austin. Consistent high quality and authentic Indian

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had the chicken korma and the boti tandoor. Both were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent, fast and friendly service. Food was superb and arrived surprisingly quickly. Oh and the drinks we had an Indian flair and were delicious. Parking lot is tiny, but a couple of lots nearby work fine

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Price was very reasonable!!

Tags: Dancing, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It's our favorite Indian food in Texas, very delicious. However, we were really disappointed last week because it took a long time to get our food and when it came it was room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything was fantastic!! I'll definitely be back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening there. Food was good. Restaurant was noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food with great service.

We had various curries, soup, and dessert.

Tags: Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second time to eat here and both times it was excellent. Upstairs was buzzing, but we ate downstairs this time and it was nice and quiet. Food and service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always tasty, perfect & true with every return visit!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style, Historic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved our food, the service was just right! We shared an appetizer and (4) entrees for a party of (4)...we could have done with one less entree and still had plenty of food.

No regrets though, it was all delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We tried several different dishes, they were all outstanding. Reasonably priced drinks. The service was OK, we got our main course dishes right after they served the appetizer.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was great! I was surprised by the extensive wine menu. We tried a few new things and loved every dish. This is definitely a great dinner spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best Indian food I've had in forever and the service was impeccable. We were in town for the weekend and restaurant found out about our engagement and gave us dessert and champagne. Adam was the best, amazing knowledge of menu and great recommendations that let us try a lot of great dishes. My new fave Austin place to eat! Thanks for a fabulous night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

By far my favorite place to take a crowd, or even enjoy alone! Favorite food of all time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant is one of our favorites. The food is delicious, the place is vibrant, and happy hour is fun if you arrive early,

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent experience! Will definitely be back. Came with my family and we had a great time. Thanks for changing our table location to accommodate a quieter room (one of guests has hearing issue).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

One of the Best Indian Food Restaurants around! Always delicious!

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent menu, fantasticcurties and flavors. Great bar/cocktail menu as well. Something for every palate.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I loved it - again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had to ask to turn on the heat as I was extremely cold and I noticed everyone was wearing their coats while they were eating. Even the hostess has a jacket on. It was not a comfy warm eating environment until I asked for the heat to be turned up but the food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and Service were good but it always takes so long to get our meal. It was busy, but not as busy as a Saturday night. Still, we waited nearly an hour for our food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent meal and a great attentive waiter (e.g., noticed that our rice dish was empty and brought more before we asked). Terrific naan, papadum, and sauces. I departed from my usual chicken saag and tried the goat saag (described in the menu as meat on the bone); delicious saag and goat, but too many bones; will stick with my usual in the future.

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Clay Pit is somewhere that I forget how good it is. The service is timely and the food is really good. You can dictate mild to heavy spice on most dishes which makes it feel catered to your preference.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food at the Clay Pit is always outstanding, but we can never figure out why service is so slow. Took a long time to be greeted by our server, long time for drinks and a long time for our food to arrive.

Also, the restaurant was freezing cold in December.

We always go back for the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We came here as a group of eight and as first time guests, we enjoyed the restaurant in all aspects. The service was great and the food was outstanding! Although our group was quite big, our orders arrived relatively quick, and our server was very professional and friendly. I will definitely recommend this to a friend. We will return!

Tags: Spicy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food is amazing, the setting looks more cozy in the photo than it is for an evening. Bright fluorescent lighting, fairly chilly inside on a winter night. Great food makes up for it.

Tags: Spicy, Family Style, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Well, it was our 1st time and we where asking questions and the waitress new it was and she didn't help much at all she didn't even ask my Nephew if he wanted anything to drink she just walked off. So our service was terrible she didn't even offer us any refills some other waitress did. I wish the lady with the blue hair with tattoos was our waitress because she was sweet & she didn't have to offer us a refill because that wasn't her job it was our blonde waitress job. I operate my own starbucks I am the store manager & this kind of thing would never happen under my watch.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went here for the first time and really liked it. Excellent food, mine was nice and spicy the way I like it. Nice cocktails and service very good. Would definitely come again but I am leaving Austin soon.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Just around the corner from my daughter's apartment, our second visit for dinner this year did not disappoint. It will likely be a regular stop on our visits to Austin.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.