Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About City Winery Barrel Room and Restaurant New York

Join us for a very special Valentine's Day Dinner! 2/13 - 2/15, enjoy a prixe fixe menu and special wine pairings.

The Barrel Room, our elegant restaurant and tasting room at City Winery, provides a relaxing and candlelit ambiance where diners can enjoy wine on tap made just next door. City Winery is the only fully functioning winery in New York City, but we also offer a fine dining menu with options for a full dinner or small plates to accompany a few glasses of our house made wine. In the Barrel Room our wine is poured straight from the barrel into your glass with no added preservatives or extra sulfates, giving it a taste that cannot be replicated. Join us for drinks and cheese, a full romantic dinner, or lunch with friends; whatever your plans The Barrel Room has something to offer. You can even take home a bottle of our wine to enjoy later!

155 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday - 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11:30-3:00

Cross Street:
Vandam Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 608-0555

Website:
http://www.citywinery.com/barrel-room

Public Transit:
E/C subway line to Spring Street stop
1 subway line to Houston Street stop

Executive Chef:
Michael Jeanty

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room or corporate presentations for 20; winery available for parties, dinners or presentations up to 74 guests. The main room has a capacity of 300 seated guests.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Izakowitz: (212) 608-6022

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 9:00PM

City Winery Barrel Room and Restaurant New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Live Music (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Cozy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Cute spot and great wines on tap! Pricing was a bit expensive for the portion sizes. But still was tasty. Cool music venue on the other side. Need to come back here just for that and the wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Poor service. Waiter didn't come over until at least 30
minutes after we sat down. Food order didn't come out until an hour later. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall experience was okay but the food was underwhelming. The flavor profile of the lamb chops, fried chicken was rather bland.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about the huge barrels of wine. They also has enormous factory that looked really cool. The restaurant is small, but the two other city wine rooms where the hold events are great!!! The food was delicious. The beef stew... oh my god so good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Limited menu. Not a lot of offerings in Barrrl room. I noticed more offerings in the theatre as compared to Barrel room.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Nice place. Good wine. Just had apps so don't go by my food rating.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We were very disappointed. We saw the tasting menu online and it took 3 waiters to finally tell us that they don't offer the tasting menu. We got up and left and never ordered. Won't be returning to the New York City location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had the tasting menu with wine pairing along with a girlfriend of mine, and we had no regrets in all random choices. The ravioli was AHMAZING!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was bad but our waitress, Diana Kessell, was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It has become a tradition for my fiancee and I to come to The Barrel Room at City Winery every year on Valentine's Day and this year was no exception. The food is remarkable, the staff is kind, and the wine is some of the best you can find in the city. On Valentine's Day, we tend to come on the earlier side and it is always quiet and feels like a hidden gem. We love that they have both a prix fixe menu and the option to order a la carte. We'll come back as long as they're open.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Barrel Room is a small restaurant attached to the music venue City Winery. It has a nice choice of wine and everyone was very happy with their meal except the person who ordered the hamburger - which, for the price, he felt was just average. Desserts were very tasty - recommendation: the doughnuts. The recorded music is very loud, so conversation [we were a group of 5] was a bit difficult.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful evening had a great meal before we went to the main room at City Winery for a private show

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went after seeing a friends show at the HERE performance space down the block. We arrived at 3:30pm hungry and ready for food but the kitchen was closed and all they could offer us was a cheese plate to split between four of us with three tiny pieces of cheese on it. We stayed until the kitchen opened at 5pm and had their mid level cocktails. The burger was great. The Brussel sprouts were under cooked and pretty bland and took an hour to get out to us. Pretty low to mid level experience. Probably won't go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Interesting meal choices. Service excellent and timed perfectly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was quite slow, despite the fact we were the only table in the place at times. Didn't quite understand that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful experience - food was delicious - wine menu fabulous - can either order from a comprehensive top wine list , or order wines made at the wine making facility within the premises. We were fortunate to have been given a tour of the urban winery there which was very special. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. There was not any music that night but the venue looked great and the list of musicians they've lined up impressive. Definitely worth checking out !!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Private Room, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our experience. This was our second visit, and will be our last. The service was slow and our waiter, who was also the bartender was not attentive at all, we were constantly trying to flag him down. The food (mini tuna tacos, spinach & artichoke dip, mediteranean meatballs, tomato soup, salmon special, fried chicken) were all mediocre at best. Our bill was $250 with wine but no dessert and seemed outrageous at the time. Additionally, a non-food/service related point, there is only 1 restroom available for patrons of the Barrel Room. You are not permitted to use the restrooms for the main room, but those patrons can use the single one available for the restaurant. The result was a consistent 10-15 minute wait on line - very annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Attending the concert at City Winery makes this a convenient place to eat. Have been here several times.. Can't understand why the offerings aren't the same in both venues. Wish they offered a broader selection of food that was priced moderately and have more generous portions... ex..the cheese board looked sparse...The soup was good, albeit cold, which was sent back to be made hot...but it really wasn't hot but didn't want to send back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wine was great but food was disappointing. Oddly spicy spinach and artichoke appetizer and then over cooked scallops and pork belly. Was with a friend, who chose the place, so didn't complain to server. Service was very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I especially like coming here for lunch. Good food, moderate pricing...what's not to like?!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We came for dinner after a Wednesday evening performance at the nearby Soho Playhouse. It was a slow night, and ours was the last order taken. But the service was cordial, cocktails were good (and came quickly), and the food was really very good. The portions, however, were rather small. Though there were still about a dozen people at the bar, the noise level was low, which is a rare treat in New York restaurants. We go to the Soho Playhouse several times a year, and this will be our GO TO place for dinner from now on.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The ambiance is great- quiet and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food! Inflexible waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

service was excellent. Menu is similar to city winery next door. Good idea to eat 1st in Barrel room then head nx store. couldn't have been more satisfied. My adult children and wife enjoyed the wine flights with attentive service. Risotto balls were great ordered 2 !!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Loved the whole experience - the meal was great, our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Not a great experience. Soup special arrived barely lukewarm, gloppy (like concentrate out of a can) and not tasting anything remotely like butternut squash. Sent it back, asked for their basic tomato. That too arrived barely lukewarm and the consistency of glue. At that point, just moved on. Then... we went to order dessert and they were out of what we wanted! Our server was great and did all he could, even comped us our coffees, which was very nice of him. But the kitchen and potentially the way the expedite the food clearly needs help. I won't be going back soon.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I was unable to get a ticket to a show at the City Winery that I took my daughter to(she had a ticket already) and the concierge suggested dinner and drinks in the Barrel Room during the show. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. The food and wine was very good. The atmosphere is very comfortable but it is a small room. I would recommend it and will definitely go again, hopefully with a show ticket next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant has very cool decor. However, when my boyfriend and I went for date night, they overbooked the tables. We ended up waiting 45 minutes past our reservation time to get a table. Wine was ok, not great. The food was nothing special. The smores dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been here previously and always had a great experience. This past visit was not enjoyable. The waiter had a party of about 10 people at the table next to us, and as a result we had terrible service. The host took our drink order. The waiter showed up about 10-15 minutes later and took our order. Waited a reasonable amount of time for the food, but NEVER SAW THE WAITER AGAIN. Had to ask the food runner to refill our wine glasses, and the host eventually came over to give us the bill. Not pleased.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service needs a lot of improvement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Second time hear and enjoyed it again. I think the waitress could have studied up on the new menu a bit more, but she was friendly and attentive. The menu is limited, but it's really about tasting the wines made on site with grapes brought in from various high-quality wineries. We enjoyed the meals and the flight of wines. If you take the subway, it's not far from the theater district (20 minutes?), but far from the tourist and high prices!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

What a wonderful surprise to find this really great place on Open Table. The open windows to the winery on premises is fun, and the wine was delicious! I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Disappointing ambiance. Noisy, not what I imagined when I booked the barrel room. Dessert was also disappointing (s'mores with chocolate ice cream just didn't do it for us, and pumpkin doughnuts were over cooked/hard).

At least the service was flawless and good wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Eat bad, drink good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great time! Will definitely be back! Met with friends from out of town before the theatre. Everything was perfect...food, wine and ambiance. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We flew 738 miles to see our daughters and their friends. City Winery set us up in the wine room with good music and an excellent waiter. We enjoyed the majority of what was on the menu and nothing was disappointing. Appreciated the preemptive comps for one incorrect meal and an extended wait for the desserts. Tried three different wines from the tap and all were clean and easy. Definitely a highlight in the weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Super cute spot for happy hour! Good specials and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The server was lovely and the wine was great but my tuna was inedible it was so over cooked and the creme brûlée obviously wasn't fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Did not like it all. We had a saturday 8 pm reservation, they did not seat us right away, we had to wait at the bar. Food was not the greatest either. Service was poor, our waitress was not knowledgeable or friendly.

Overall it was not a good experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went early for some wine and stayed for dinner. Food and wine were great, as was the atmosphere. And the desserts are phenomenal! The s'mores dish was amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.