Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About City Kitchen

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Kim Sikkel: (919) 928-8200 ext. 201

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Romantic (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
People Watching (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
855 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Surprised girlfriend with dinner for bday; all courses were top notch. Our waiter, Shawn (Sean?) was flawless; extremely helpful, punctual, and polite without being overbearing. The halibut was unbelievable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful service.....did not rush us as we were celebrating a birthday . Food is better than we remembered !

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had an 8:00 reservation on a Saturday night and were surprised to see so many empty tables. We soon realized that was probably the work of our server, who must've been trying to win a contest to see how fast he could rush us through a meal. Despite my ordering a dish which he "warned" us would take 20-25 minutes to prepare, we were in and out--including drinks before dinner--by 8:45. Too bad; this was a cool place I'd visit again, but only if I could be sure to have another server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Consistently good food that is well-presented! Servers are always pleasant and knowledgable.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Start with being seated next to a work station at a small table in an almost empty restaurant. Continue with entrees being served halfway through the appetizers. Finish with dirty dishes from appetizer never being cleared until after meal. Too bad because the food was good. Never an apology or even recognition that there was a problem. Symptoms of bad management. First and last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The restaurant was lovely, but the food was so so. The grilled cheese was limp rather than grilled and crunchy. We had to pay extra for toast with our eggs. Tbe best thing was the Greek salad...a combo Greek and French Nicoise. The dessert was a joke. Considering the fact that we told the waiter we wanted a shareable dessert. We all laughed when the cake arrived...it was a bite of cake, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

City Kitchen is a favorite of ours. The food is always fresh and delicious. We would give it top marks if it weren't for the noise level. On a busy Saturday it's more than energetic. It's toxic.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Delicious foods and service. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Lovely staff and atmosphere! We wish we could have eaten the food. Not safe for peanut/legume allergy, sadly. Peanut flour and cross contact noted, but thankfully our server was brutally honest. Kudos to her for keeping us safe. Our food rating was a guess since we did not consume anything. I bet it's great for non-allergic folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We were seated right away. Shelly, our waitress, was awesome. Me and my friends were catching up and she was very patient while we decided on drinks ($5 glass of wine) and appetizers. Dinner was very good with a healthy portion. Definitely recommend for a date; business or hanging at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was excellent and top quality....however at lunch time it was almost too loud
to have a pleasant conversation with my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great salads for lunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I had a rare date night. Our server, Michael did a wonderful job executing a wonderful evening of great service and made some nice suggestions about wines by the glass and dessert options. This restaurant does a nice job of creating ambiance and personality despite being a large space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great! Loved the decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant is large so its easy to find a table even on a weekend. The food is pretty good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent food and good prices. Nice inside ambiance and decor, and nice outside seating too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful and delicious brunch selections. First time for brunch and look forward to next brunch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was ok we were four of us we asked for bread and we got 4 little pieces that was it.
A waitress should always note with couples who is with who and give separate checks instead she said is this all on one?

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Outstanding service and food! Seems to keep getting better each time we come.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Swordfish dinner special was creative and very tasty. Trout was also delicious. Top notch Martini's. Overall experience exceeded expectations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our waitress Liz, was tops and made the entire experience worthwhile. We had great conversations about food choices and she was right on target. Food was good, value okay, but she is the reason we will return

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We came to taste the food as a potential caterer for our daughter's wedding next year. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant. The food was excellent! I was most impressed with the service. Dane, our waiter, was very articulate, personable and professional. In addition, several other servers, cleared dishes, refilled drinks and made themselves available to make our visit very enjoyable. This is not just a restaurant but an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Reasonably priced. It is noisy but a projects a positive, energetic atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Good food, great options. I found the noise to be too loud - it was hard to hear the server and the others at my table. the ambiance was great though.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

City Kitchen was wonderful! Our server, Dane-- "like Great Dane"-- was knowledgeable and very accommodating. It was our first time at City Kitchen and who knew such a gem existed right next to University Mall! The food was delicious and the decor is top top top.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Delicious! Great Sunday brunch. We will definitely be back for lunch and dinner! Great atmosphere too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent service. Nice outdoor seating area. Salads are always fresh and dressed perfectly. Goat cheese and caramelized onion tart is delicious but not available on Sundays.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Pleasant but less than attentive wait staff may have been responsible for the cold food, but the kitchen is likely to blame for the overcooked mussels and salmon. While good company meant that these limitations did not hinder our having a good time, greater attentiveness to the doneness and temperature of the food would have elevated the evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We love city kitchen-- this visit we especially loved our waiter. Great food as well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and didn't think it was too loud. I actually enjoyed the atmosphere very much.

We had the scallop appetizer to start. My husband had the steak frites and I had the BBQ short rib. We enjoyed everything, but weren't blown away by anything, and I do think the entrees were overpriced. $30 for a ribeye and fries? Meh. That's a lot for nothing special.

Also, they serve the bread with olive oil and tomato paste. The tomato paste is super weird. I dunno why anyone would want to spread tomato paste on their bread. All that said, we'll go back to try the sushi! Oh, and their drink specials are fun - I tried the featured wine and really liked it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Hamburger was way undercooked. Up charged for a change on the menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food pleased us all but the noise level inhibited conversation. Even the teenagers were put off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I have eaten at City Kitchen my last three times in Chapel Hill, each with a different group of folks. Everyone, including myself enjoyed a great meal, great service, and a friendly atmosphere. I'll Be Back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Enjoyed meeting my daughter and her roommate for lunch. They graduated from UNC in May and had never been to eat here. Not a single bite was left. Food was delicious and great atmosphere. I had the goat cheese salad which was so good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

As always the food and atmosphere are great! The noise level is always too loud, was hard to hear our server. The CK Hemingway is a great cocktail.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great restaurant but if you have a problem with noise, skip dinner and go at lunch,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Visiting UNC and wanted a great place for dinner after a campus tour. The restaurant doesn't look like much from the street (tucked into a small strip mall) but inside was big and beautiful. Service was excellent. And the scallop appetizer with spaghetti squash was one of the best things I have ever ordered in a restaurant. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Enjoyed a delightful lunch arriving ahead of our reservation but seated immediately. Loved the art work and fabulous music and fascinating light fixtures--very unique. We were very hungry having fasted prior to medical tests so ordered the fried calamari with classic marinara. It arrived hot, crispy and delicious with lots of tentacles. Our waiter explained that there wasn't a soup of the day because the kitchen "forgot" to make it the night before but otherwise everything on the menu was available. I ordered the spinach fettuccine with poached egg and it was creamy and very tasty. My companion ordered the turkey club on sourdough which was served with french fries or a house salad. All portions were very generous including the large thermal pots of coffee that accompanied our meal. Overall, it was a delicious lunch and we look forward to returning to sample selections from the raw bar and pizza oven.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was great, but very noisy so don't go for a quiet meal. You can't hear yourself think!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.