Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About City Kitchen

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Kim Sikkel: (919) 928-8200 ext. 201

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Business Meals (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (9)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (6)
People Watching (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Always enjoy meeting friends here. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Ceased salad too salty. Food pricy and not worth the price

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Ok experience. We had the scallop appetizer, very fresh and delicious. I had the Steak Frites, the steak was cooked perfectly and was very tender but because the steak was put in top of the fries, it made them greasy and limp, they were also under salted. My husband had the short ribs which were very tender but very underseasoned. The sides of brussell sprouts were delicious but the sweet potato purée was too much like baby food. So the dinner was 50% good and 50% ok. Waitress was very pleasant to start but didn't really bother with us after we had ordered.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a Mother's Day Brunch Buffet so we were prepared for disappointment however we were very happily surprised by the choice, presentation and quality of the food. The service was attentive and friendly so combined with our food choices made for an excellent brunch and some very pleased diners. (ages ranging from 3 to 73). Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was there for the Mothers Day brunch, great food selections, very attentive staff (given the number of patrons that day), food was plentiful and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed the Mothers' Day brunch after UNC graduation. The variety, presentation, and taste were all top notch. Something for everyone and we really liked how easy the buffet was to pick and choose a great many things. Our waiter was attentive and extremely upbeat.

It was the perfect ending to our graduation weekend celebration.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we have eaten at City Kitchen numerous times. Always a treat. Great food and service. Excellent mother's day/graduation brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my family here for Mothers Day brunch and we all agreed that is was delicious! I appreciated that there was such a wide variety of foods and not the usual standard breakfast items. The dessert selection was especially wonderful. Everything was prepared and presented well. The service was great. We will definitely return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ate at City Kitchen the night before UNC graduation. The food was very good, but the restaurant was so loud that the three of us could not all hear each other. Also, the tables were pushed close together so that made it a little uncomfortable. So I would go back, but not on a night when I anticipate there would be a large crowd there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome food and awesome service. We had a few people in our party that eat vegan, and the staff were very helpful and could not have been nicer about accommodating their requests! Great night all around!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was an extremely busy night (graduation weekend), so the place was packed. We had a great waiter. Unfortunately, they had to limit the menu because it was such a busy night and that was disappointing. However, my children really enjoyed their meals. And because it took over an hour to get our food, the waiter brought a flourless chocolate dessert -- and it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

City Kitchen provided a pleasant and unrushed atmosphere to host colleagues who seldom have a chance to spend non-professional time together. The menu allowed those with dietary restrictions to have several choices. The food was good, and the $5 wine offering was taken advantage of and enjoyed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very good service; food was fresh, well presented, and to order. Local ingredients made for a wonderful lunch with friends. Dependable, good quality bistro food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious salmon with Bok choy & ice wine vinaigrette .
Creative butternut squash & kale salad was yummy!
Wait staff was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient !
Great evening with friends !

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Organic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Will never return. We have been to City Kitchen many times and only had one good experience and that was at lunch time. How does this place stay in business! We did give it a chance but failure is always the outcome. The food is way over priced for what is delivered. Under seasoned over cooked very small portions and tasteless meals...or sooo salty it's not eatable. The wait staff is horrendous and poorly trained if trained at all. Saw the manager walking around and he had a sour look and bad attitude as well. So as they say...comes from the top I suppose. Don't waste your time or money even if it is close to the theater it's not an option for dinner. ..ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Love your restaurant - and would change nothing; but had a bad experience, it was pouring down rain when we arrived, I left my brand new handsome black umbrella (actually my husband had just bought it) and someone stole it - don't know how to remedy this. I should have taken it to the table, never, ever had this happen any time in my life.
Not good!!!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, great servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was great and atmosphere lively, but the staff was surly and we felt rushed to leave our table. I have dined there several times and not had that experience so maybe it was an off night.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch buffet was amazing! Huge selection of food, nice patio, friendly service, priced right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. Large food selection, some good, some okay. Desserts were unimpressive. Table staff was friendly and attentive. Very crowded, they added extra folding tables along the back wall. Tough to get in an out of with the legs. Because of crowds the buffet area was not kept very tidy, and the floor was very sticky. We were visiting relatives in the area, so maybe next time we might try it on a non-holiday.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have always found that City Kitchen is the one place I can go to for the whole package; great food, great service and great surroundings. For me, I can go in, have lunch or dinner and think, "life is good!" Never more so than at their Easter Brunch buffet. They have the usuals, scrambled eggs, bacon, mashed potatoes etc., but it's the Greek foods that I go for. A huge variety of dishes including lamb, salmon, roasted vegetables and many,many more dishes that I couldn't name. Nothing boring. The service was excellent as well. Attentive, but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good, the experience was smooth, and the staff was polite.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Server was great , food very mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We had dinner as a family group in anticipation of the Tar Heel win of the Final Four.
Usually pretty noisy, this was a quieter night. Service was excellent and so was
the food. Their pizzas are great, and my lemon linguini with shrimp was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a great experience at City Kitchen. Food is always outstanding. The lamp chops were cooked perfectly, the sushi was well made, and the service was wonderful. Loved the blueberry mojito for Autism Awareness!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food getting pricey for portion size. Used to get much larger portions.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was COLD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We often take clients to City Kitchen because the menu offers choices for everyone, they are reasonably priced, the food is delicious and the service is spectacular.
I ordered the chicken Cobb but with shrimp instead of chicken and goat cheese rather than bleu cheese - they honored my request without batting an eye. The staff is always prompt and friendly!
Will be back for more business and personal meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The menu is interesting and the food doesn't disappoint. Service is often very good. The atmosphere is pleasant, although it can be a little noisy sometimes.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I had been to the City Kitchen twice in the past for business lunches and I was impressed. Therefore I thought I would take my Wife there for her birthday and we were all disappointed in the food . There was 5 of us. (2) had Flounder, (2) had Short Rib and (1) had Trout. It was tasteless and bland. The price was also too High . We also had a Rib appetizer which was over cooked and dry. It really was a let down especially with it being my Wife's special night. (4) glasses of wine on special for $5.00 a glass and (2) beers. The bill was $196.00 less tip. It is tough to spend that kind of money and no one was satisfied with their meal.

We usually never complain but you asked I am just being honest. The best part was the Service which was very good. Wade was our Waiter.

Hopefully this was just a bad night and this will improve.

LarryH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good food, friendly service. Nice wine list

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The Greek salad was very good; the flatbreads were ok. They had a strong smokey flavor that didn't appeal to me. The service was attentive enough, not very warm. Overall a less satisfying experience than I have had on previous occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Caveats - it was Saturday night and 7:30. So, please understand why it's rated as such. Good food overall. VERY loud so I laugh at the term "energetic", hence the 2-star ambiance rating. Server was at least double if not triple sat so, although she was nice, service was very slow. Mushroom pasta a hit. Cheeseburger was good. Wine list ok but nothing stellar. Enjoyed it, but not the best for a quiet date.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We always enjoy eating at City Kitchen. Good location and ample parking. A favorite is the Hanger Steak Salad.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I ordered a Cesar Salad (which was a bit bland) and the Frenched Chicken. The chicken was excellent. Instead of the carrot puree I asked for a low carb alternate and they gave me roasted Brussels Sprouts. Although I'm not generally a fan of Brussels Sprouts, theirs were delicious. My friend ordered the Calamari (lovely - not too greasy and not a lot of breading ) which was tender and yummy. I didn't try her Hangar Steak salad but it was huge and looked delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious food prepared creatively and in a healthful way. Server was very nice, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great brunch! The shrimp and grits were perfect southern comfort food. My husbands eggs florentine were also quite tasty and my friends omelette the same. My son had the chocolate chip pancakes and was a very happy camper. The coffee was also quite good!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a 5 pm Rez before the UNC- Duke game. With such a large group we hoped we could get quick service. We really did and it was delicious. A great choice!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner by having salads and appetizers. The food as fresh , well presented and delicious. The Calamari was really good, as were the mussels. We each had a Greek Salad and wine and every bit of it was great. It is noisy and the high ceilings, loft-like decor and cement floors echo noise a lot. The bar area was so loud that you couldn't understand anything without shouting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had 3 adults and 5 kids, and everything was great. The kids' menu had several offerings (pasta with meat sauce turned out to be the biggest hit). Special short rib quesadilla was wonderful and the chicken skewer is always excellent. Server Shelley was terrific, especially with the kids. They devoured their ice cream!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.