Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Cite

For over 45 years, Cité has sat atop the prestigious Lake Point Tower, offering American Contemporary cuisine with a French flair. Since the debut, guests have been captivated by the picturesque 360* panoramic, unparalleled views of Chicago’s breathtaking skyline, lakefront and Navy Pier. Cité’s ultimate fine dining experience features dazzling décor, savory new menu selections and impeccable, first-class service. Cité offers private dining for events, meetings, and special occasions.

505 North Lake Shore Drive (Navy Pier)
Lake Point Towers
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Traditional French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Grand Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-4050

Website:
http://www.citechicago.com/

Entertainment:
Every Wednesday & Saturday Navy Pier hosts fireworks during Summer and we have the birds eye view

Catering:
Private Dining is available for groups of 2-225. Call our Private Dining Manager at (312) 595-4845 or email events@citechicago.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at Lake Point Tower through a third party, based on availability. If you are able to park at Lake Point Tower our Hostess can stamp your valet ticket which validates it for up to 4 hours and is $20 paid to the valet. After 4 hours it goes up to full price which is $40++

Parking is not guaranteed and additional parking garages are located within the area. Please call for any additional parking details.

Public Transit:
Navy Pier Trolley, Grand Avenue Bus 65, State Street 29 Bus

Executive Chef:
Oscar Ornelas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cité offers a unique venue for all types of private events including weddings, social celebrations, and corporate events.

Weekly Summer fireworks on Wednesday and Saturday nights at Navy Pier.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 6:00PM - 8:45PM

Mon - Tue 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Wed 6:00PM - 7:15PM

Thu - Fri 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Sat 6:00PM - 7:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cité can accommodate Corporate or Private affairs for parties of 12-175. From cocktail receptions to four course plated dinners, Cité provides an incredible dining experience with impeccable service and great attention to detail.

Cite Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

77% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Romantic (54)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for a Date (33)
Waterfront (28)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were mediocre, but what was awful was how dirty the windows were. We went there for the view. But the windows were covered with cobwebs, spiders, other bugs trapped in the webs, etc. Clean the windows.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Not my first visit. Returned for beautiful view to celebrate anniversary.....
The food BLEW us away this time. Perhaps the best steak I've ever eaten. Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

From the minute we stepped off the elevator we were unimpressed. The staff was rude to us reminding us of a dress code that I don't remember seeing listed anywhere. Both my husband and I had nice jeans and dress shirts on so I'm not sure what the problem was. The food was sub-par and ambiance was nothing to brag about. Out of all the restaurants in Chicago, they should do a better job of pleasing guests. We have higher food standards than this and will chose somewhere else to dine next time we are in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My birthday was ruined because of a dress code that was not followed, the rude responses I got throughout my dinner, the quality of food that did not meet anyones expectations.

Simply put why have a certain dress code and have people have to present themselves if your restaurant is not going to follow it? It defeats the whole purpose of the dress policies.

Throughout my dinner there were many rude remarks and experiences with the staff. Starting at the beginning of the dinner when I asked if they serve coffee and was met with an appalled waiter who could not believe I asked for coffee. As they were bringing out the main dinner, my appetizer that I was obviously still eating, was pushed aside so the waiter could put the food on the table and continue on with his other errands. The lady bringing the table bread and water was more considerate. The food was ill prepared, One of my sons chicken dinner was beyond dry while the other sons rib eye steak had absolutely no seasoning. Especially at the price point, this restaurant is not recommended.

The restaurant tries to put out an aura of a fancy French restaurant but I have had better service and food at any low class diner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolutely loved Cite it was amazing!! The views are breathtaking, service staff was very kind and entertaining we ordered crab cakes for appetizer and our main course surf and turf it was all delicious. Best surf and turf I've ever had drinks where also very tasty. Cite is definitely a must try restaurant I highly recommend it! We will definitely be back very soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food is lovely, service very attentive, view spectacular

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Very expensive, however, I did order caviar and it was a special occasion. Definitely a splurge. I loved it. The view was amazing.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great views obviously!
Thanks to the maître d' and lovely service waitress
Shame about the waiter's terrible service skills (lack of)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Disappointed. Have been coming here for five years, introduced countless new customers to this restaurant. Unfortunately, every time we visit the experience gets a bit worse.

The service was terribly slow.

The bread that came out was old, warmed up probably in a microwave but within minutes got rock hard.
The filet mignon was ordered medium rare, arrived medium well done.

When we spoke to staff about it, manager Amir came to argue (yes, argue) that it actually was medium rare but we couldn't tell because of the lighting (seriously??). This insult ensured we won't be recommending this place anymore.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very romantic dining. Excellent for intimate setting even with friends. Beautiful view if you can get past wanting to stare at the spider webs on the windows

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food and the view is amazing. Quiet atmosphere which was great for our anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Meeting with family from Iceland after more than 3 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Absolutely fantastic view is to die for, we were there for a birthday and they really did accommodate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Outstanding experience! Spectacular view, great service, creative menu. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Scenic View, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Not provided the table we were looking for .. we waited for 30 min and left . I believe table was available but they want to hold it for premium guests .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great place. Great food. Great service. Great location. I enjoyed every bit of it

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was our second time here (first time was just good). This time around everything was GREAT. Spot on service, great table, perfect ending to a wonderful summer day in Chicago. Well done!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

What a view. Best view in the city. The food was very good and it was not outrageous. Servers were very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great service as well as great food. Both the greeters and waiters were awesome! They assisted with any question we had and kept checking up through our time there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Cite was alright. Requested a window seat for my girlfriend and I and we didn't get it. The food was VERY overpriced. Service was just okay, I would have rather gone somewhere else. Not worth the money we paid for dinner. 3 stars.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I should have listened to previous reviews. It was not worth seeing the fireworks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner, it had a great view. Staff was very attentive and food was good. Was a little pricy but good to try and to see the view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2017

You pay for the view not the service or food.
It was not at all busy but the wait staff seemed confused and service was slow. Steaks were okay but greatly overpriced.
Caesar salad was pretty but tasteless. Lobster and crab risotto was bland with little or no seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

First time at Cite for our Anniversary. The Staff was excellent and very accommodating. We started with Tuna Tartare, it was excellent with good ginger flavor. Second was the Butternut Squash Lobster Bisque, the soup was poured tableside and was heaven. My wife had the Corvina and I had the Duck, both were excellent, but I have never had duck before to compare. It was very tender and moist. Lastly we finished with the Bananas Foster flambéed tableside as well.

Service was prompt and they did not rush us in the least.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The view was great but the lamb was over salted and the steak was tough. So don't go if you want to impress someone with the food. The napa valley wine was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Beautiful view. Poor food. Fair service. Did not expect gourmet food at this type of tourist restaurant but the steak was over cooked and tough. The rack of lamb was only fair. Probably our poorest restaurant experience in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was underwhelming for the $85 price tag; it did not live up to the hype. Service was really bad, they did not clear our plates and never offered to freshen our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I just wanted to start off with how beautiful the restaurant is and how well we were treated as customers. I was very pleased with the service. However, the food was not as expected. The lobster Mac and cheese was overcooked and mushy and the duck was dry, but had great flavor. The beef ribeye was under seasoned and was kinda tough and yes, i sliced across the grain, still was tough to chew. All in all I most likely will not be joining you again. Thank you for the visual experience.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service, perfect for a leisurely six course dinner. We tried the Chef's Tasting for a gourmet experience. This venue is noted for its spectacular view of the city skyline and lake front. We found the restaurant too cold. Multiple portable AC units were on full blast making it noisy as well. Much improved when the staff turned off the unit next to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Took my Boyfriend for our anniversary and he absolutely loved it! The view was amazing! And also the food was delicious not as bad as what all the reviews people were giving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service is terrible. Food is pretty good. Better to take a drink here than to dine because you'll be super disappointed when the check comes in and the experience was far beyond the value of the check.

Don't waste your money. Have a drink for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Had a date dinner, great place with amazing view. Food was good, place is quiet and amazing itself, stuff was friendly as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Cite was honestly better then the signature room. It was my lovely girlfriend's birthday, and cite put happy birthday on top of the menu which she loved. The food was better then the signature room by far. Very well cooked, and j have honestly never seen asparagus that big!! Wow!! Will definitely come back!! And recommend to all!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My first time here...view is spectacular, especially for fireworks viewing above Navy Pier.
Food was decent..our table had filet mignon, salmon and Vegetable pasta...all was good..nothing that blew my sock off...furnishings a bit outdated....was very warm up there...but again, the reason to dress up and have a nice dinner is for the view !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our server, Amir was outstanding as was our dinner. We were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary, and the ambiance here is incredible. If you want a dining experience you will always remember, this is the place. We are definitely looking forward to revisiting this fabulous restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We used to go to Cite when Men were required to wear a Jacket. It was a really upscale Restaurant. My Wife and I went to the Restaurant Sat August 5th 2017. The Wait staff was nice so I begrudgingly left a 15% tip lower than my norm because the food couldn't compare to the upscale restaurants in downtown Chicago. My Fillet Mignon tasted old and was lukewarm. My Wife's Lobster tail resembled something from Joe's crab shack. The lobster mac & cheese had spotty pieces of lobster. Nothing like a Capital Grille or Three Forks, very disappointing. The view at Cite is not enough, the food needs to be on par with the Real Restaurants downtown. I can not believe management has allowed Cite to have fallen so far from Grace. It is sad but we have so many grat Restaurants in Chicago, and I will be visiting them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Enjoyed, as usual, our dinner experience at Cite. Great for groups or a romantic meal for two. The seafood entree and steak we each had were excellent. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a beautiful night! Went out to celebrate a birthday and anniversary! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

First the place was supposed to have a dress code but we mostly saw t-shirts and jeans when we were there. The staff was great. Armon made the entire experience worth coming back for. The views are worth going back for alone. Now as for the food. The chicken I ordered was way over cooked. The lobster mac and cheese was the best I ever had. My lady ordered the steak and she enjoyed it. The dessert was ok as well. So in all I would not go for the food but the view

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, great service, and amazing views, on our list of top dinners of all time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.