Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Circa 1886

Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.

149 Wentworth St.
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Smith

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-7828

Website:
http://www.circa1886.com/

Parking Details:
Off-street parking next to restaurant

Executive Chef:
Marc Collins

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The private dining room (Tack Room)with mirroring fireplaces and six windows overlooking our garden can accommodate up to 38 people. Our Garden Room also offers a private dining experience perfect for a party of up to 12. Several different banquet menus are offered for private parties.

Circa 1886 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (115)
Romantic (113)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
See All
Good for a Date (95)
Quiet Conversation (84)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Notable Wine List (73)
Cozy (49)
Local Ingredients (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Tasting Menu (37)
Authentic (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Seasonal (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Organic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever had. Our server Caitlin was amazing. The tasting menu was fabulous. I will always eat here when visiting Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

A little too gourmet and limited menu...Ran out of trout at 8:30 pm.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant excels in all areas. Superb service, excellent ambiance and the food was perfectly prepared. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Total 5 star experience. Flawless service, memorable & creative food, comfortable dining - tables not crowded together. Less expensive than many fine dining destinations we enjoy in Chicago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best meals we have ever had. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We really loved our meal. It was awesome to get little surprised from the kitchen and all the servers were very attentive. We felt special and the good was just amazing. If I can ever get a reservation here again I'd absolutely love the chance to dine again!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was excellent. It was creative without being over the top. The portion sizes were just right and everything was delicious. I would eat there again without question.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our group was rather disappointed. Food was fine but not as great as we thought. Had better meals in Charleston
Sorry but the outside of carriage house was lovely

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The steak was tender and very tasty. The strawberry shortcake was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've been to in Charleston. The antelope was delicious and the desserts are to die for. Great service in a historic environment. Will definitely plan a repeat dinner here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Circa offers fine dining at its best. Our server Sarah was wonderful & the Chefs offerings were beyond expectations.

Delightful evening in a warm & friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We went for our Anniversary Dinner during Restaurant Week. Great food great service
Very quiet Would recommend this superb restaurant to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

circa is by far the best Resturant in Charleston we eat there about once aonth we have always had excellent food and service we love locals month in August and Resturant week but we come other times also .no question Circa is the best

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Perfection always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is the second time we came to Circa to celebrate a birthday. Both times they absolutely did a phenomenal job with the food and ambience for the evening. Mark, our server, made excellent recommendations and will request him in the future!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Awesome service. Chef was THE BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fantastic meal in a historic atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent as always. Sarah would be my choice as server anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Circa 1886 is one of our favorite "go to" nice restaurants in downtown Charleston . The food is reliably delicious , the service gracious and efficient, and the atmosphere perfect. Unlike so many other popular restaurants, one can carry on a conversation with one's dinner partners. Highly recommended.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Beautiful setting, delicious food, and great service. It doesn't get any better than Circa 1886.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Excellent Meal a fine dining experience and great beginning of the Charleston not NOLA but great in its own right I was very pleased and so was the Mrs. We had the Chef Tasting paired with wine it was excellent! Highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Outstanding food, wine, service, and ambiance. Their attention to every detail is noteworthy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It's just an over-hipped and over-marked place and we fell for it. We had a really disappointing experience. The food was definitely not the best we had and quite average.

We tried foe grass appetizer which was ok, but I wouldn't want to ever eat it it again. For our main courses we choose: antelope and the beef. We didn't like the antelope at all, and they were nice to offer us a replacement dish. We piked lamb instead and it was actually the only dish that I liked, but my husband thought it was too salty.

For the desert we tried peach souffle which was nice but very-very sweet and I wish we would of piked another desert from the menu.

The food was not bad, but nothing memorable that we would want to comeback or recommend this place to others. And when you pay $200 for your dinner, in my opinion, the food and service has to be outstanding and not just average.

We tried other restaurants in DC, Miami, New York, Europe were even price was high, you have amazing memories and you can say that food was amazing so it was totally worth it. I unfortunately can't say it about Circa 1886. It actually makes me really mad that we had our special day here.

The bartender thou did a much better job with the drinks. I asked him to mix something that was not on the menu and he created a very nice drink for me!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2017

If you are ever in Charleston, you have to include dinner at Circa 1886. The chef creates dishes that look beautiful while tasting amazing. Chef likes to try different things and sends small portions to each table for tasting. The service was the best we've had in Charleston. Desserts are fabulous, the peach soufflé is not to be missed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Circa 1886 rates in our top five restaurants we have enjoyed in 50 years of dining worldwide. Chef Collins' menu is creative and his presentation is elegant. Hats off to Austin, the best waiter ever (I'm 71) and to the excellent professional restaurant staff. Your excellence makes dining memories!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It is a beautiful restaurant with impeccable service but portions are small. The food was good but not good enough to entice me to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Chef prepared foods with wonderful and creative combinations that changes the menu monthly. We were delighted with our meals and beverages. The service was impeccable and spot on . Highly recommend it and we will come back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food so-so. Pepper very heavy on one-fourth of the duck. No pepper on the other three-fourths. Very very poor service. Tried to get attention to order wine - no luck. Finally got to the wine half way thru the starter. After being ignored for the first hour, we were then quickly presented with the check with the coffee and given the rush out the door. Clearly falling behind the other top restaurants in Charleston. The worst of the six we visited in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Do not hurry...a dining experience!

LA

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A reasonably priced restaurant with good service and eclectic food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

What a wonderful place. Beautiful location, wonderful ambiance, attentive staff, outstanding food. I found this place a while back when booking a vacation in Mt. Pleasant, and booked it based on the fact that it was one of Travel and Leisure's top 16 of 2016. As well it should be. My wife is dairy intolerant and the chef prepared a special dessert (off menu) for her. Both of our dishes (she had flounder - I had antelope) were prepared perfectly and presented beautifully. One of the top 3 meals I've ever had in a restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Kaitlyn was the star of the evening. The ambiance a close second. The food and everything else just followed. Kudos. Thank you to the staff and our wonderful server for making our last formal evening in Charleston so memorable! See you in a couple months when we return to town.

Greg and Bryan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Restaurant entrance is not actually on Wentworth despite the address

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything about Circa 1886 is exceptional... the food, the service (Randy was very attentive). WI'll highly recommend and will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved this place. Charles is an awesome server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Both the food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The service started a bit slowly, but picked up as the evening progressed. The food is good, small portions, though. A bit overpriced for the quantity and quality of the food. The restaurant is a bit hard to find and not well marked.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great option to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was excellent, the food awesome and the desserts incredible. One of the best meals I've had and tops in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Circa 1886, located in a renovated carriage house on the grounds of the Wentworth Mansion, is
an elegant and welcoming dining experience. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive, with excellent knowledge of the menu items. The creative selection of dishes will appeal to everyone's taste. The food is plated beautifully and is delicious. In between courses the chef, Mark Collins, sent out complimentary tasting items. Mark Collins is a 5 star chef, who also walked the dining room to converse with guests. We selected the Blue Crab Salad appetizer, Duck and Antelope were our entrees, and for dessert we had the Peach Souffle which was fabulous.
The restaurant truly made our anniversary special!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.