Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Circa 1886

Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.

149 Wentworth St.
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Smith

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-7828

Website:
http://www.circa1886.com/

Parking Details:
Off-street parking next to restaurant

Executive Chef:
Marc Collins

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The private dining room (Tack Room)with mirroring fireplaces and six windows overlooking our garden can accommodate up to 38 people. Our Garden Room also offers a private dining experience perfect for a party of up to 12. Several different banquet menus are offered for private parties.

Circa 1886 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Romantic (83)
See All
Good for a Date (73)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Quiet Conversation (64)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Historic (61)
Notable Wine List (56)
Cozy (50)
Local Ingredients (38)
Tasting Menu (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Worth the Drive (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Seasonal (15)
Private Room (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Fireplace (6)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Outstanding Value (0)
Sort By:
S
2428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Don't order an appetiser! You get three free. Very noisy when we are there as a private party

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and a stellar dining experience. Looking forward to their summer menu!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and ambiance. Would go back anytime I'm back in Charleston!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

There was not one thing that we tried here that was good. Everything was blah unfortunately and the wait for food was extremely long. I would not recommend this place! Try magnolias or husk for something worth your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

This was one of the top fine dining experiences my husband and I have ever had. The ambience is beautiful, the service and good are impeccable, and the wine selection was great at well. The presentation of the food was unreal, and the taste was even better! Our waiter, Ryan, was very knowledgeable of the setting, the menu, the wine; he didn't rush us through our meal and paced it perfectly. I can't recommend this establishment enough if you're in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Four of us were visiting Charleston for the first time and during our research, Circa 1886 kept popping up as a "must do" and "top ten" restaurant. We were intrigued by the location and the fact that the restaurant is in a converted carriage house. We were NOT disappointed!
The restaurant is lovely and sophisticated but still charming. Our server, Randy, was enthusiastic and he clearly enjoys people. He explained the menu when we had questions and was attentive, even though the restaurant was busy. We had an excellent dining experience!
The food was top-shelf, the ambience was fabulous and it's too bad we don't live in Charleston.
The restaurant is expensive but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Circa 1886 is definitely outstanding. The food is fabulous and presented beautifully. The service is friendly, efficient and impeccable. This is the second time we have dined at the restaurant and look forward again to a visit to Charleston so we can thoroughly enjoy another evening and dinner there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Superb waiter, Ryan; creativity prepared entrees & to-die-for peach soufflé.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food combinations were unique and very delicious. One of the best restaurants my wife and I have ever dined at. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Historic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, decently priced, wish it was I bit more private. It was very load with all the other people in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We celebrated my graduation from college if Charleston sat Circa and it was a truly special evening. Everything was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My wife and I went for a night on the town, this was our second time visiting. They gave us the same charming table we requested from last time the service was outstanding, we did the chef's menu and they accommodated our desire to have 2 meat courses instead of one meat one fish, the food was all outstanding.

Top notch will come back here every time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The carriage house is lovely. Service was exceptional. Dining area is very attractive. We sat in a booth which provide privacy. Our first course was delicious. I had crab and my husband had the 61 degrees farm egg.For our main dish I ordered the lamb chops and found the coating to be too spicy and not what I expected at a restaurant of this type. My husband's main course, duck was great. My flourless chocolate cake and his strawberry shortcake were very good. They had multiple gluten free choices. The drinks were very good.
If my lamb had been less spicy, it would have been a perfect evening!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! We were here to celebrate our anniversary, and everything about the dinner was wonderful! They took the time to print menu's with 'Happy Anniversary' on the top, offered complimentary champagne and were just overall amazing as far as service goes! The food was fantastic as well, and we will definitely be back to celebrate again!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Their pastry chef is too die for! Leave room for dessert. This time we had this peach soufflé, last time it was this dreamy donut creation. That said, the meal from start to finish was sublime. They do not disappoint, from the food to the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everything was great. Beautiful dining room and grounds. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal. We had the chefs 5 course "his choice" meal. Variety of flavors with wine pairing. The service was excellent. I highly recommend this for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

An absolutely fabulous dining experience. Wait staff is well trained and very engaging without being obtrusive. Creativity of the kitchen combined with the quality of the ingredients utilized left a lasting impression on the palate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Incredible meal. Waiter so knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Cool Historic location, but environment and atmosphere are not desirable for young to middle age people. 90% of the people in the restaurant were above 70 years old when we dined there. I have nothing against the elderly, but when I'm out for a fun date I'd prefer a little more lively, young, energetic crowd. Could be a good option if you'd like to entertain your grandparents.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Phenomenal food and excellent service. Pricey but worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Austin was our server and he was outstanding! His food knowledge and descriptions were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Truly a special place to dine in Charleston. The food, service and ambience is something you have to be apart of.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were visiting Charleston and I had seen this on a list of 50 top restaurants; one from each state. This was South Carolina's and the list was right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our waiter, David, was exceptional and so helpful in explaining each dish and the accompanying wine. In our party of 6, five of us chose to get the tasting menu. Every course was superb and delicious. David graciously didn't mind when we wanted to photograph each bottle of wine we sampled and although the restaurant is costly, it was worth the cost. Highly recommended for the quality of the food and the wonderful service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

One of the nicest restaurants I have ever been to. Wonderful staff, fabulous food and a romantic environment. Although my wife and I were completely satiated and declined desert, our waitress brought us scrumptious strawberry shortcake anyway as we were celebrating my birthday. So Nice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Phenomenal. Got tasting menu with my significant other, one with the wine pairings and the other without. Absolutely fantastic across the board, woth excellent service to boot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Dining at Circa 1886 was an amazing experience! Everything was top notch, from the service to the food to the dining room. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food presentation was beautiful! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed great service in a beautiful setting. Our dinner was fantastic.
We tried the antelope and it was great!! Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was a great meal! The food, ambience and service were fantastic! Kaitlyn was our main server and she was superb--friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The food was presented beautifully and was delicious. I had the 5 course tasting menu and my husband had the chimichurra beef. The 5 course tasting menu was fantastic beautiful and delicious and I still had room for dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great spot in CHS. One of the top 5 restaurants on the penninsula.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great food and service and a first rate room. Was a little noisy however the beautiful facility more than made up for that

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Another fabulous meal at Circa 1886 ! The menu is consistently fresh and inventive, and everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. Thanks Chef Mark and team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was spectacular and the ambiance is romantic. The restaurant is beautiful. Fireplace with candles is a great opportunity for a picture. Fine dining at its best. The menu is unique and it was wonderful trying foods that we typically wouldn't eat. Portion sizes were adequate. Our service was top notch

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Gorgeous location; worth the walk from King Street. The staff here is amazing, they remember their guests by name and preferences seemingly after one visit! You really feel pampered. The duck au poivre is one of the best meat/fowl dishes ever, you could practically cut it with a fork. Sea bass is also wonderful. John at the Bar, Charles in the restaurant - the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent in all ways. You need to book your reservation well in advance. We were seated exactly on time. Austin our lead server was knowledgeable, friendly, appropriately attentive and fun. The food is outstanding. Very very nice wines and cocktails. We had Grouper, Beef tenderloin, crab cake and then wow the dessert..apple tort and sweet potato donuts! A treat. Highly recommend for a very nice meal in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazing anniversary dinner. The restaurant is gorgeous and the service was beyond my expectations. The duck entree was by far the best dish of the night. The wine list had a great selection and our server was very helpful in picking out the perfect bottle of wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We got the "funny" waiter. If I wanted a funny waiter, I'd go to a diner. Also, I heard other waiters give a more in depth description of the available entrees, while ours gave us little to none. The food was good, but not $30 worth. Also, one of our plates of food were lukewarm and the Brussels undercooked. Yeah cocktail on the other hand was GREAT. The free goat cheese sample and peanut pineapple soup was also a major plus. Ambiance was meh.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was truly an experience to go to Circa 1886. The ambience of the restaurant was soothing and the service, impeccable. I had no idea what to expect and I was surprised and it was truly an honor to experience it. The food was perfect; Just perfect. Our server was extremely knowledgeable with the menu, chef's choices, wines and other beverages and the best combinations. In the special request options I asked for a booth and daisys or roses on my lady's plate; to my pleasant surprise I was was ushered to a booth where 2 roses were on her plate. It was positively wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My wife and I could not be happier as we celebrated our 25th anniversary here. Our waiter was very personable and responsive. The food was out standing. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.