Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Cibo Centre St

4.3
724 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
Located on bustling Centre St North beside Lina’s Italian Market, Cibo opened its doors on June 6th 2018 in a building with a long history of Italian restaurants and is the little sister to their second location on 17th Avenue. Apart of the local Creative Restaurants group which has been operating in Calgary for over 20 years, there is no doubt we know Italian with Bonterra Trattoria, Posto Pizzeria and Bar and Lina’s Italian market in the family.

Our menu is made to share because that’s how we feel food is served best. Out chef combines traditional Italian methods with his own innovation to creative simple, delicious dishes created from the best local ingredients possible.

So come join us! Eat a little, eat a lot, but above all enjoy!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–2:30 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–4:30 pm
Happy Hour
Mon–Sat 2:30 pm–4:30 pm
Dinner
Sat, Sun 4:30 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 276-2030
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Lall
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
22 Avenue N
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 724 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Great salads and selection with good portion size. Chicken Parmesan was good but not outstanding. My husband ordered steak medium rare but was over cooked. Potatoes were just ok. Wine was excellent. I live close by and would return again. Definitely an improvement from the Scopa restaurant that was at this location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

We’ve been to the new location twice since opening last week. Once was a weekday around 4:00 when it wasn’t busy and once during peak dinner rush. The food and drink specials are awesome. Be prepared for slower service. It was understandable for food delay during dinner rush but not sure why the food/table service was so slow when it wasn’t busy.
Overall really good and will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Tonight was pasta night, so the server was a bit slammed. But both her & management acknowledged this & did their best. I am full if good food & good wine, so it all worked out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It was my birthday!!! Great food great service weather sucked wanted to enjoy the patio!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food was lovely. Our server was unprofessional and condescending and acted as though she had somewhere better to be. She dropped off to go boxes before we had finished eating and without being asked for them.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We are regulars and last night was the first time we went since the name change. Somewhat disappointed ! At first glance not much has changed on the menu. Prices are lower for pasta however by the time you add choice of meat it is fairly pricey pasta dish I order seemed previously cooked and not as freshly prepared. The Pizzas were ok and the service was fairly slow. We had a birthday in our party which was noted when the reservation was made. Hopefully things will improve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I would only say that the outdoor space needs a tiny bit more sun shade. The food, beverages and service is fantastic. A much needed space for center street north.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Felt like it was rushed (and it was Tuesday after 8pm). Server never asked us for drinks and we would have ordered more had she been more attentive. Food was good but overall not impressed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I enjoy the food and have eaten at Scopa many times. The one drawback we noticed at dinner on Saturday was the noise level inside the restaurant. Conversation at the table was difficult.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great as always , food was great, our waitress was helpful and friendly. Beautiful night also to be sitting in the sun in the patio

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

This was an excellent meal! The service was great, the food was delicious and perfectly timed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Food was outstanding! Fresh & delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my Mom there for Mother’s Day. We had a terrific meal, lovely service and enjoyed ourselves. My Mom loved everything about our Mother’s Day Dinner at Scopa. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was fantastic as always. Wish our server was a little more attentive with filling water and wine - I would have ordered a second glass if she came back to ask sooner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother’s Day and sat on the patio on such a beautiful Sunday... great service with a smile and great food 👍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful pizza - will be coming back to try the dinner menu

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The environment and food was good. Food was tasty and portions were generous. However, our server had no clue what she was doing. I ordered a ceasar when I first sat down, and it didn't come till 40 mins later. As well, when me and my party was ordering, she mislead us with the portion size saying it wouldn't be enough for 6 girls, so we ordered an extra pizza. We ended up not even touching the third pizza... What was even more bizarre was when we asked for the bill to be split evenly, all of our bills came out with a different total. And her reason for why our bills were all different was because the restaurant's computer system doesn't know how to split the bill properly. Ive never been to a restaurant where the bill cannot be split evenly. Is either someone didnt know how to do their job OR because she is already guaranteed a 18% gratuity so she didnt care much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food & atmosphere for Mother’s Day dinner!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Over-rated and over-priced. There was 6 in our party. We all ordered different dishes, and we all found out meals to be rather bland, and not very big portions. My brother enjoyed his steak, but it was over-cooked. He had requested medium-rare, but the steak was more like medium-well. He ate it anyways, because to have it redone would have taken an even longer time. We waited a long time before the waitress brought us each one slice of the bread. No seconds were offered. We also had to ask to have our water glasses refilled. In most restaurants, that is automatic. Since the entree portion was small, I had room for dessert. Tried the cannoli. It was too heavy, and not very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I was pleasantly surprised by their Thursday night 1/2 litre wine special! Their food is amazing! We stayed and chatted for 4 hours and were not bothered by the servers. Very pleasant experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I have been to Scopa a few times and have been happy each visit. The menu does not overwhelm but has enough options to satisfy most palates. I enjoy the homey atmosphere. Danielle, our server, was very lovely and perfectly attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We received gift card for our 46th wedding anniversary for us to go to dinner at a selection of retaurants.
We elected to go to Scopa because we are fairly familiar with the Lina Italian Grocery which is attac hed to Scopa.
The food was quite good, although the quantiity was greater than anticipated.
The service was OK - but not impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was delicious 😋. Our server was fantastic, thank you! We will def be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Absolutely amazing. Went for a family dinner and old and young were happy. From the moment we entered to leaving, the staff was friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. Can’t wait for our next visit

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Service was a much slower than usual, but the food was awesome!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Service was very slow and then one of the mains they brought wasn’t what we ordered. We kept it because we didn’t have time for a replacement. It turned out to be very tough wild boar ribs and the other main was just ok. They did not charge for the wrong main course, took 10% off and offered a free dessert, so they did genuinely try to make it right. Last time we dined at Scopa they served us the wrong pizzas, so I am not sure we will be back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Excelent service and food. Will go back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great local restaurant! The food never disappoints, the staff are friendly & attentive. Today we had brunch, second time. It was delicious & food came out quickly (kids food came out first) which is essential with 2 little ones. We will be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Such a great lunch. They were able to accommodate our group of nine and made us feel very welcomed. The food was great; I would definitely go back and recommend to my friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Such amazing food and friendly staff. Always take my family here when they’re visiting!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We went to Scopa for dinner with our ended soon who was in town visiting. He likes Italian and we decided to try Scopa. We ordered the Chef's four- course menu. We all liked and enjoyed the meal and would recommend Scopa. Jus remember to pace yourself!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great place. Highly recommend you go try this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Always love eating at Scopa. Great pastas, daily specials, pizzas, mains, burger, and gelato. The prices are a bit steep so it's best to try to get one of the wine night deals or late night eats.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food quality was not worth the price paid Pasta was cold and under cooked. Menus has been changed since our last visit. Old Favorites have been deleted

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great place for our monthly dinner group of 8. Great service. Great Italian. Reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

First time here for my friends and I and we were all pleasantly surprised. Half priced bottles of wine on Tuesday was a nice surprise. Food was very tasty. Great job! We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Usually the service/food at scopa is great. This particular day I can’t say it was. The food was served lukewarm and the service was lukewarm as well. We had to ask several times for refills on our water and eventually went up to the bar. We were offered pepper that never came. The restaurant was not busy nor did it seemed understaffed. It was quite a let down for a birthday dinner. I’ve been there serveral times with way better service, it’s a shame but that is how th dinner went.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I have been a client of Scopa for a few years now and there have been some decent meals - not spectacular but OK. However, in the last few times I have been there has been a marked deterioration in the quality of the quality of the food. Today was the final confirmation that it is time to stop visiting.

My dinner partner and I had decided that we would look at a starter and then would share a bacon carbonara. The carbonara was a disaster with a strong and over-bearing flavour of lemon and over-cooked egg. The menu made no mention of lemon, which is not a classic carbonara ingredient, being included. We discussed it with the waitress who apologized and was very gracious when we chose not to finish it and send it back. We specifically discussed that the dish should not have lemon but if this was a decision the chef made then it should be clearly listed on the menu. We felt that it was important that the chef be aware of this. No problem, we were calm but just sent it back... that should have been it with an attempt by the kitchen to resolve the issue... unfortunately it wasn't.

Scopa has an open kitchen and when the waitress went to the kitchen we could plainly hear the chef yelling at her with he and his assistants looking at us with disdain and talking clearly and plainly about us. In a few words this was simply unacceptable. It reached a point where my partner rightfully felt she had to discuss the fact with the manager that our waitress did not deserve to be treated with such disrespect. The manager gratiously refunded all of our food order but the sour and bitter taste of a poorly done carbonara and the "lemon" bitter attitude of a chef out of his element will remain with us - never to be experienced again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

One of our favorites, such good food, service and ambiance. Depending on how busy they are the service can be a bit slow but no complaints because we are never in a hurry to leave.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by Cibo Centre St