About Churrascos - River Oaks

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Private Room (7)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Tapas (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, Churrasco's was amazing. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, Churrasco's was amazing. The beef empanadas and the ahi tuna ceviche were the closest thing to a perfect appetizer I've ever thought possible. The churrasco medium rare is exceptional, perfect amount of chimmichurri basted on. Drink menu is also amazing. Hands down favorite restaurant for myself and my wife.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drinks !! We will be retu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and drinks !! We will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was OK. Service was lacking as they w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

It was OK. Service was lacking as they were overwhelmed with the Valentine's Day crowd. They ought to be able to handle a full house any day. The booth seating was very uncomfortable as the seats were far too low for the table height that made it feel like the table nearly came up to your chin. Some of the classic items they served in the past such as the family style mixed veggie plate are no longer served. Also, their signature Churasco steak was $40 and the quality didn't merit that price. This used to be one of our favorite restaurants but we are not in a hurry to return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The reservation was fine and we were pro ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The reservation was fine and we were promptly seated upon arrival. The restaurant was freezing cold, all of the guests in our proximity were still wearing their jackets. I had a long sleeve and a sweater on top, and I still had to keep my outside jacket on during the whole meal. It was obscenely cold. After repeated requests there was no change in temperature.

Our server was either swamped or incredibly inattentive. Plantain chips were not replenished until reminding him 3 times over. My water was taken away and not replenished until asking for it 3 times over.

We had to remind him about 20 minutes after being seated that he had not yet taken our order. The food took a long time to come out. I saw it sitting on a tray near the wall so I got up to use the ladies room. It appeared to be what we ordered. I came back to the table and the food was still there. My husband used the men's room and returned and the food was still there. When it was finally served, it was obviously but cold. We sent it back to be warmed up, but I finally asked the manager to help us out. She solved the issue and the rest of dinner was fine, apart from freezing.

Bummer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Steak was over cooked. Although it was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Steak was over cooked. Although it was a thin cut the waiter might have mentioned that when we ordered rare n medium rare. Waiter made us feel rushed at the beginning of the meal then disappeared towards the last half. Overall not the experience we normally have at Churascos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food with great ambiance. The churr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food with great ambiance. The churrasco is a must as is the platter of grilled vegetables.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Isabell made us feel important. She tend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Isabell made us feel important. She tended to all our needs and was very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff was wonderful. The whole exper ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff was wonderful. The whole experience felt amazing. I will definitely come back. They made our Valentine's date the best ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Private Room, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not great for the $$$

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was not great for the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

I came with my elderly parents. The staf ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I came with my elderly parents. The staff was so accomadating and kind towards them. The food was great, huge portions! My only complaint is that it was too dark to read the menus. Otherwise, terrific!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Haven't been in several years but was gl ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Haven't been in several years but was glad to find their quality and service were still excellent. The churrasco steak is their signature meal and did not disappoint.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed it as always. Had empanadas for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed it as always. Had empanadas for an appetizer, the churrasco for entree and brownie in a cup for dessert. Great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and good service!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food and good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Excellent typical food. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service. Excellent typical food. Friendly personnel

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Family Style, , Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic lunch options and specials. Ch ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic lunch options and specials. Churrasco Filet, Brochettes, and Pork Ribs were favorites today. Save room for the Tres Leches. Best in town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best brunch ever. Inventive and imagina ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best brunch ever. Inventive and imaginative, delicious and plentiful food. A bit loud - lots of families. Not the best for dates, in the daytime due to all the infants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just totally fantastic. Great place to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just totally fantastic. Great place to impress the out of town family and guest.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food, mixed drinks and th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food, mixed drinks and the service was exceptional. We will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Julio was great as always and the food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Julio was great as always and the food was superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very tasty and good to the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was very tasty and good to the last bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great plantain chips with salsa and chim ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great plantain chips with salsa and chimichurri. I has the delicious pampas salad for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and staff - wish restaurants ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and staff - wish restaurants would forbid cell phone use for watching shows, videos, playing games with sound on

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was thrilled that we were seated promptl ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Was thrilled that we were seated promptly with our reservation. The food was wonderful and the entire staff was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here on many occasions sin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have dined here on many occasions since it opened, usually we ordered different specials, meats & seafood. This time we stuck to the churrasscos steak, side Caesar salad and tres Leche cake. All was up to the standard

$ 180.00 with two glasses of Malbec for the two of us , In past years the same cost $85 .

Valla con Dios

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

As always the food was exceptional! How ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As always the food was exceptional!

However on this occasion, The server was absolutely brilliant ! Her name was Krystal

She was amazing and will ask for her next time

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server never gave us water but she w ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The server never gave us water but she was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

While we had a pleasurable experience, t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

While we had a pleasurable experience, the food and atmosphere was average. It's located in a regular random strip mall. Nothing special but it was fine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had expected a trip to Churrascos - R ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had expected a trip to Churrascos - River Oaks to be pretty special for entertaining an out of town guest, but unfortunately it was quite a let down. The staff were welcoming and friendly, but the service, like the venue itself, was tired and needs a spruce up if it intends to be regarded as something special again. We all ordered The Churrasco Steak, which was good, but didn't seem worth the high end price tag it goes for. Hopefully the management take note and get things smartened up quick...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The food was exceptional ! My favorites ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was exceptional ! My favorites were the Beef empanadas, the Churrasco, the Brussel sprouts, Très lèches cake and coconut ice cream! All were scrumptious !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best, most unique, menus and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the best, most unique, menus and choices! I used to live in Houston but moved away 8 years ago. I was on a trip back with friends and I insisted we dine there on our last evening. All agreed it was the best meal they had had in years. I just got home from Houston yesterday and immediately, after hearing they had issued a cookbook, ordered four for all of us that had the pleasure of eating there. It was as wonderful as I had remembered!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All fine but the electricity felt at pre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

All fine but the electricity felt at previous times was.missing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food! A little pricey for the ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fabulous food! A little pricey for the average dinner but well worth it. Our waiter, Daniel, was great! Again...EXCELLENT FOOD!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my daughters 23rd birthday celebr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my daughters 23rd birthday celebration. Lots to choose from. Great value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

All in all our experience was just so-so ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All in all our experience was just so-so. It was rather loud; in part due to the table of 15-20 or so that was seated immediately behind us. Bad luck I guess. But that all could have been remedied with good food and good service...it COULD have been. The service was slow and unresponsive. Literally took 20 minutes just to get water and complete drink orders. Not to mention that it took two trips to our table just to complete the drink order and another one altogether to take our food order. The food arrived but was not hot; just warm. The best thing...the mojitos. Delicious. I'd return again but Churrascos will not be on the top of my list.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was excellent. The food was s ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was excellent. The food was superb, as was the service. We sat outside on the patio and the weather was perfect. Surprisingly few people there for a Saturday night. Excellent choice for our anniversary!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food, environment and service. V ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome food, environment and service. Very good place to get with friends, since is a quiet place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second visit when in Houston. Excell ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our second visit when in Houston. Excellent food and service (waiter was Juan).

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've gone here twice and both times I ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I've gone here twice and both times I have greatly enjoyed my dining experience. Plantain chips with two dipping sauces are complementary at the beginning of the meal and the desserts are phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ate, from the plantain chi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything we ate, from the plantain chips to the side orders tasted like it had been doused with salt. With the lone exception of the steak, everything else was barely edible. We will be avoiding Churrasco's as it has been slowly declining in quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.