Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About Churrascos - River Oaks

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Private Room (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The experience was okay overall, but I have had better food, service, and just a more enjoyable experience at other Churrasco's locations. I would much rather go to those instead of coming back to this location.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic as always...great food, great service, great atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here for Mother's Day brunch. The food was very good and the service was adequate if not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful food. Great for special occasions. Delightful people form the first you meet to the busboy and everyone in between. Don't miss an opportunity to dine here.

Tags: Vegan, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I used to go to Churrascos years ago when it was in its prime, always a nice mixture of elegance and sophistication. Times certainly have changed. A gourmet meal served on a white linen tablecloth has been replaced by small food portions consumed in a booth reminiscent of Denny's . Classy and detailed service has now been overtaken by a wait staff simultaneously sweeping the floor, setting up Sunday morning's buffet tables and dust mopping in full view. It becamely painfully obvious why the dining areas were so sparsely populated on a Saturday night. Very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and good service. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have enjoyed Churrascos (River Oaks) several times before. In fact, I had my retirement celebration and ordination dinners there. The food quality remains as good as we remember it. But the ambiance has become more casual. The prices have gone the other way. For a dinner for two we spent at least 1/3 more than was anticipated for a less than 5-star event. When we take a cruise, the dinner experience is more 5-star than we experienced at this celebration meal we had.
Would I return and enjoy the food? Certainly! But will I make plans to go and pay for another meal? Most likely not.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Enjoyed this place very much. Great food and great service. Went there for lunch and the noise level was perfect. We could carry a conversation accross the table without having to scream to each other.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The quality of the meat seems to have taken a turn for the worse. Other than that, everything else was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had the Wednesday night steak special and it was well worth it. Each steak was cooked as requested and an excellent value. We have been here several times and the meal is always very good

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love their Sunday brunch food, my husband enjoy variety of meats that they had, dessert were delicious, Bloody Mary were good.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love churrascos Brunch!!! Easter brunch was superb delicius food tasty a big variaty excellent to spend sunday here great customer service always in top with our drinks water mimosas everything .. i always go to churrascos but it was a 1st for two new friends they loved it!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch. Our reservation was at 11AM and I was pleasantly surprised that, although some of our party was late and we had to wait to get seated until everyone was there...the minute we were complete, they seated us right away and treated us as if we were their number one customer the whole time. And well, the food as always was amazing!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Used to be very good but over the last couple of years steadily has gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This place used to be excellent, but it's just mediocre these days. Disappointing for a place that used to be our go to place for special occasions. Don't know if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was a 9:00 reservation and they notified us that they would close within an hour. The salad bar was huge but a bit stale due to the hour. Their menu on Open Table looked like you could order alla carte, because Fogo de Chow type food isn't my favorite as I was in the mood for a big steak. The music was horrible and very expensive for the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Love Churrascos! I've been dining there since I moved to Houston in 2003. Consistently, a great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you have not been for Sunday brunch, you are missing out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Not crowded, but still very slow service. Happy hour menu is a good value, but the regular menu is overpriced. Also everytime we find items we like they redo the menu and they disappear. I have never seen a menu change so often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We love Churrasco's! Their food is so yummy. The plantain chips and salsa & chimichurri are so good. The Pollo Encamisado is our favorite - it's always tender and tasty - their plantain crusted chicken breast is served over a black bean sauce that makes the dish.
However, something that really bothered me and upset me are the non-alcoholic drink prices - $3.50 for a soda or child's lemonade and $4.50 for a child's milk - that's ridiculous!! It's shameful that restaurants charge more for a little 8-10oz child's cup of milk than what it costs to buy a gallon at the grocery store!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My Mom's favorite brunch spot so we celebrated her 79th b-day here on Sunday. She just loves it. Great buffet but not over top with too many choices. And not crowded at all for a 12:30 reservation. It was another great experience at Churrascos.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I always have amazing experience when dining at Churrascos. Good and attentive service and amazing food. Love the chimichurris sauce.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Can't go wrong with this place for date night. Food was perfect and service was on point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, Churrasco's was amazing. The beef empanadas and the ahi tuna ceviche were the closest thing to a perfect appetizer I've ever thought possible. The churrasco medium rare is exceptional, perfect amount of chimmichurri basted on. Drink menu is also amazing. Hands down favorite restaurant for myself and my wife.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and drinks !! We will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was OK. Service was lacking as they were overwhelmed with the Valentine's Day crowd. They ought to be able to handle a full house any day. The booth seating was very uncomfortable as the seats were far too low for the table height that made it feel like the table nearly came up to your chin. Some of the classic items they served in the past such as the family style mixed veggie plate are no longer served. Also, their signature Churasco steak was $40 and the quality didn't merit that price. This used to be one of our favorite restaurants but we are not in a hurry to return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The reservation was fine and we were promptly seated upon arrival. The restaurant was freezing cold, all of the guests in our proximity were still wearing their jackets. I had a long sleeve and a sweater on top, and I still had to keep my outside jacket on during the whole meal. It was obscenely cold. After repeated requests there was no change in temperature.
Our server was either swamped or incredibly inattentive. Plantain chips were not replenished until reminding him 3 times over. My water was taken away and not replenished until asking for it 3 times over.
We had to remind him about 20 minutes after being seated that he had not yet taken our order. The food took a long time to come out. I saw it sitting on a tray near the wall so I got up to use the ladies room. It appeared to be what we ordered. I came back to the table and the food was still there. My husband used the men's room and returned and the food was still there. When it was finally served, it was obviously but cold. We sent it back to be warmed up, but I finally asked the manager to help us out. She solved the issue and the rest of dinner was fine, apart from freezing.
Bummer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steak was over cooked. Although it was a thin cut the waiter might have mentioned that when we ordered rare n medium rare. Waiter made us feel rushed at the beginning of the meal then disappeared towards the last half. Overall not the experience we normally have at Churascos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food with great ambiance. The churrasco is a must as is the platter of grilled vegetables.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Isabell made us feel important. She tended to all our needs and was very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff was wonderful. The whole experience felt amazing. I will definitely come back. They made our Valentine's date the best ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Private Room, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was not great for the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waiter was very attentive, food was amazing! I absolutely loved it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I came with my elderly parents. The staff was so accomadating and kind towards them. The food was great, huge portions! My only complaint is that it was too dark to read the menus. Otherwise, terrific!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Haven't been in several years but was glad to find their quality and service were still excellent. The churrasco steak is their signature meal and did not disappoint.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed it as always. Had empanadas for an appetizer, the churrasco for entree and brownie in a cup for dessert. Great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food and good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service. Excellent typical food. Friendly personnel

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic lunch options and specials. Churrasco Filet, Brochettes, and Pork Ribs were favorites today. Save room for the Tres Leches. Best in town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best brunch ever. Inventive and imaginative, delicious and plentiful food. A bit loud - lots of families. Not the best for dates, in the daytime due to all the infants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.