About Chino Latino

Serving street food from the hot zones in both small and large portions for sharing, Chino Latino ignites fireworks of flavor in Uptown's most spectacular bar and distinctive dining rooms.

2916 Hennepin Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
West Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 824-7878

Website:
http://www.chinolatino.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available after 5:15pm for $8. (cash only)

Executive Chef:
Dan Miles

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No one refuses an invitation to Chino Latino. Beyond the wildly flavorful menu, daring cocktails and dazzling décor, parties of up to 80 can now enjoy the sexy new private Party Room. The Party Room offers guests a sophisticated private event space right in the heart of Uptown.

Chino Latino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Fun (49)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for Groups (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Hot Spot (38)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Happy Hour (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
People Watching (24)
Family Style (23)
Spicy (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Late-night Find (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (18)
Romantic (16)
Tapas (15)
Authentic (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Got a window seat and we definitely enjo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Got a window seat and we definitely enjoyed people watching all the bar goers. AMAZING mojitos and food!!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very pleasant surprise. We we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a very pleasant surprise. We were five hours from home and just looking for a good meal. We are so glad we found this place! It was very hard to find, we circled the block three times until we found it, but well worth the time. Better signage would help. I was a little taken back by all the younger patrons when we walked in. I felt we were the oldest people in the place, and I think we were. From the time we entered, we could have not been happier with the people at the door, the bartenders, to our waitress. All took the time to explain how everything worked and to make sure we understood all the menu or cocktail selections. A great group of very respectful workers. Next time we roll into town, you can bet we will be coming back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great! Our waitress was very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was great! Our waitress was very good, patient and knowledgeable about the menu. The empanadas de Janeiro were very tasty, I didn't really care for the carnitas tacos, they were dried. I liked the fried plantains!!! The drinks were displayed in fancy glasses and were original. I didn't like that fact that it was too loud and tables were too close to each other.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We initially got there we were seated ri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We initially got there we were seated right away got our water and then it was 25 minutes before anyone came back to see if we wanted something else to drink and order food so we then ordered ate our food and then waited 25 minutes for the bill to come after we said we wanted the bill I appreciate people aren't in a hurry but we had something to do so waiting close to an hour to be seated and for our bill was a little ridiculous

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Painfully hip place, you're paying a lot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Painfully hip place, you're paying a lot to be surfing the super-trendy scene.

Rather loud, but given the context it was fine.

Food was TERRIFIC.

If you're desperately trying to hook up with someone, this would be a great start to the evening. If you're over 36 &/or married &/or not trying to pretend you're younger than you are...maybe not the best choice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Good food, good service, pricey, and fai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food, good service, pricey, and fairly loud. Been here three times though and I would overall say I have had good experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great experience and our server wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great experience and our server was wonderful!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing just wish I wasn't by the window

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing just wish I wasn't by the window

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was dynamite, service not so much f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was dynamite, service not so much for the price. We had to ask for water a few times to get it and our table was not cleared the way you'd expect it to be. Either additional training or staff is needed...not sure but we were bummed with the service. Server was super nice but not super amazing at serving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I have been there in the past and loved ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been there in the past and loved it. However this visit, I did not like the food at all. Very expensive. I will not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The restaurant was very loud. Our table ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant was very loud. Our table was even louder because we were seated next to the restroom, which has the loud noise the Dyson hand dryers and no doors.

There are also very few vegetarian options offered.

No deserts offered or

Listed. 😟

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I came to this restaurant in search of a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I came to this restaurant in search of a hot date night and got what I was looking for. The food was divine and the portions were large so we got leftovers for later. Our waitress was very informative and attentive . The one downside was our table felt a little like we were crammed into the corner and it was drafty next to the windows. Overall, a very pleasant evening that I would very soon do again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We went on a date. The food was not coo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went on a date. The food was not cooked well. Everything very Americanized when it was supposed to be known for their concoction of Asian and Latino food. The atmosphere was very loud and partesque when it's decor is very romantic and intimate. Over priced for actual quality of food. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Good food variety, modern trendy atmosph ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food variety, modern trendy atmosphere. Noise level was a tricky question in the review as it is noisy, they play music and there is a lot of activity, but all in a good way with energy. Don't expect a nice quite and peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, People Watching, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun atmosphere. However, it was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a fun atmosphere. However, it was awfully warm so that took away from a level of comfort. But the food was amazing and the service was great. Ideal outing for a group of friends. We shared some appetizers and a few large plates with each other. A perfect way to enjoy a variety of items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Your service sucked your servers are hor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Your service sucked your servers are horrible lack of communication taking orders not together confusion on orders and not very patient with the large group would not ever let her work anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Awesome! Best food and variety! We love ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome! Best food and variety! We love the atmosphere and people watching. Drinks are creative and delicious. Food is flavorful and never disappoints!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Bar Seating, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service!!! Fast paced with orders ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good service!!! Fast paced with orders, drinks and seating. 4 star only because it was very dark we couldnt reallt see the menu items or what we were eating. Food taste great and love that it is family size portions for sharing!! Drinks are bomb! Waitress is fast and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Phenomenal food, atmosphere, and waitres ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Phenomenal food, atmosphere, and waitress! I also love that they have valet parking available. Pad Thai, queso fundido, and smores....DELISH!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and drinks. The Cuban Po ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and drinks. The Cuban Pork Crisis never disappoints.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was very accommodating, a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The restaurant was very accommodating, at the last minute I had 3 more adds and they squeezed us in! Our waitress was a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat out frequently and We will not co ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We eat out frequently and We will not come back as the food was not worth the $$

The service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Exceptional food, great service, lively ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Exceptional food, great service, lively atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the round tables for talking with e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Love the round tables for talking with everyone.

Great food options for Gluten Free

Great service

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great! We were there celebr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was great! We were there celebrating my friend's birthday and they had forgotten her meal while we all got ours. Nothing had come out at the same time either. We made reservations, but it took almost 45 minutes for our waiter to ask for our drinks and just as long to get our food order.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Loved the combination of food choices pl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loved the combination of food choices pleasantly surprised by the food and prices

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit within a couple ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my second visit within a couple months. The wait staff on both occasions was efficient and friendly. The energy is amazing and just an overall great time and place to catch up with friends over a shared meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great advice from our server on what to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great advice from our server on what to order; thoroughly enjoyed the seafood paella, shortrib dish and decadent chocolate cake dessert...Got a little expensive due to a few fancy cocktails, and it's very loud, but it was a great evening.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service! She made drink recom ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service! She made drink recommendations and we tried them and loved them.

She made great food recommendations and opinions as well. Birthday night out with friends and it was great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Epenadas! Always great food p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loved the Epenadas! Always great food presentation and variety.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The multiple hosts when arriving was odd ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The multiple hosts when arriving was odd.. didn't quite know who I was talking to.

The one gal loved the tower of power tho lol! Our waitress was fantastic!!

See you guys again soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rather unkempt. Satisfactory food - tho ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Rather unkempt. Satisfactory food - though for the price, it needs to be better. And the food is hardly differentiated. Not sure this is as good a restaurant as it is made out to be.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food! But i was very disappointed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food! But i was very disappointed in the seating.. the seating was very tight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was insanely loud. We had a very loud ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was insanely loud. We had a very loud drunk party behind us. But that is what you sign up for when you go to Chino's. Also, the food wasn't that spicy, even though it had a firecracker by it (we got the Thai coconut shrimp).

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was an overall great experience. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was an overall great experience. They customized our menus to say "Happy Birthday, Victoria!" which made it a more personalized experience. Our server was great about getting our food to us as quickly as possible. The food was delicious and portions were just right. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always have a good time at Chino Lati ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We always have a good time at Chino Latino and the food is soooo good! The drinks are really good too!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Although it was a bit pricey, it was a u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Although it was a bit pricey, it was a unique experience. Our server was a little overwhelmed but it was within reason and he was nice about it. (we were comped a dessert)

There was no designated area for waiting for a table and it was quite crowded near the host stand.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It was a great experience! The menu is g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a great experience! The menu is great with a variety of foods! It is nice to share! The service was very good, as well! We were a little disappointed in the beginning, as we were seated right across from a service door to the "dish washing" room or something. It was very busy and no other tables were available. However, the table in back of us became available and we were able to move! This was much better! Thanks for making that change! I would recommend Chino Latino for any occasion! It is a very energetic-festive restaurant!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Was so impressed, went there for my girl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Was so impressed, went there for my girlfriends birthday just being the two of us and the origanl seating that was given to us wasn't in a prefired location. I asked if it was possible to to get a different spot thinking that being a Friday night wouldn't be possible but to my surprise it was!! Great service with great people, will be back!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was really good, the food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was really good, the food was great and the restaurant decor was beautiful. The only thing that wasn't that great was the service. When my date and I were finished eating we waited 30 minutes until being brought the bill.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.