Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About Chino Latino

Serving street food from the hot zones in both small and large portions for sharing, Chino Latino ignites fireworks of flavor in Uptown's most spectacular bar and distinctive dining rooms.

2916 Hennepin Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
West Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 824-7878

Website:
http://www.chinolatino.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available after 5:15pm for $8. (cash only)

Executive Chef:
Dan Miles

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No one refuses an invitation to Chino Latino. Beyond the wildly flavorful menu, daring cocktails and dazzling décor, parties of up to 80 can now enjoy the sexy new private Party Room. The Party Room offers guests a sophisticated private event space right in the heart of Uptown.

Chino Latino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (71)
Good for Groups (62)
Hot Spot (54)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Family Style (33)
Spicy (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
People Watching (32)
Late-night Find (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Casual (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Tasting Menu (18)
Authentic (18)
Romantic (16)
Tapas (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Dancing (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic waitress and the food was pretty good.

My only flaw is, it's a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Noisy and not treated kindly when asked to move to a quieter spot

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We went there to celebrate a birthday. The sparklers and menu with the birthday person's name etc all worked their charm. Food was mostly okay. Our server was great, and overall ambience was amazing (although noisy and difficult to have a conversation). The banana split (buddha sized) was humongous and we ended up wasting more than half of it- but that'll be one of the lessons learned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great for special occasion they treat you well

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Chino is always a wonderful experience. The ambiance is great, always lounge like, and it is a wonderful place to go for a fun experience. It is the kind of place to sit for hours and spend time at. We started off with chicken potstickers, delicious, and a sushi roll. The sushi was pretty decent too. The phuket noodles we had for dinner was excellent, as well as chicken tostadas. By the way- this was the PERFECT amount of food for 4 people. The portions are large

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Alcoholic beverages were a bit over priced and seemed to not contain any alcohol.
Otherwise food was amazing! Also, the service was great and I will definitely be attending again for the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service. However, not the most vegetarian-friendly menu...especially if you do not eat fish (sushi).

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were overwhelmed with the menu and asked the server to pick off the menu for us. We had a vegan and a gluten-free eater in our group. Our server delivered! The food was good and way above our expectations. It was fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always love chino. Food was great, service was good. This time though we were stuck in an area that I didn't know existed. It's back by where the servers enter the kitchen and an uncovered area where they store high chairs and the like. It doesn't look like the rest of chino and feels more like a rural diner than the normal chino I'm used to. So that was disappointing.

I recommend updating that part of the restaurant. It seems more just like a forgotten overflow area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a great meal. The paella was fantastic. The area where we were first seated was VERY noisy, but the hostess accommodated our request to move to a quieter hallway area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Chino Latino is a perfect fit in Uptown and is always a great time! Loud inside, but that is part of the fun inside!! Energetic!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our server was amazing! Sweetest person ever! She was so helpful and had great suggestions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Family Style, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We love the food at Chino Latino and it was as good as always. The service was great too! However, I can only get myself to come here every year or so because the noise level is deafening. It's nearly impossible to carry on a conversation and I leave feeling exhausted, like I've been shouted at for a couple hours. Perhaps there are some décor changes that could be made to soften the sound level? As well, I'm perpetually seated in the room just behind the hostess station, which is really dark - that accounts for why I only give it 3 stars for ambience. The bar lighting is lovely and the other room by the street is nice and bright, but when I'm seated in the other area, it's too dark for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Not really sure when things changed here. I lived in Minneapolis for three years and Chino Lation had been a staple for me, especially when having guest in town to give them a unique experience. I was always happy walking out.

This night was different. Starting with us showing up an hour early to see if we could get seated earlier and not being seated till 15 min after our scheduled reservation time. We killed time by drinking at the bar and even the bartender kept asking why weren't seated yet. The only response/update from the hostess when we asked about our table was "we will tex you when it's ready"

After being seated we were met with slow service from the start. The food was still great and what o remembered but with the price you pay there none of the above should happen.

Friends who still live there have shared similar experiences and even our Uber driver said he had the same issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and energetic atmosphere. Just don't expect to carry on a conversation with someone across the table for very long - lots of constant crowd noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was busy, with lots of large groups Saturday night and our server was very nice, but very hard to find. After we sat down it was 20+ minutes until we saw her again. And then it was very sporadic when shes came back to get us additional drinks and food. It was almost impossible to find her when it came time to pay the bill.

The restaurant seemed as if they maybe didnt have enough wait staff there or overloaded certain servers with too many large groups without the support to handle it.

Overall still a great experience. But perhaps they should have had more servers working or redistributed the groups.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and location. Customer service wasn't the greatest.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Despite a 10 year hiatus, the food and service were as great as I remembered. Quick service, and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Most meals are family style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Expensive food, but sooo worth it! Food is served family style. This place has a chill atmosphere and excellent service. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Unique menu ~ fun atmosphere ~ great service! A little loud, but vibrant!

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were celebrating a completion of yet another semester. Caught a flick around the corner, and walked over for amazing food and great way to end the night! We will definitely be attending here again with friends, and for other date nights as well!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 17, 2017

One of the most creative restaurants in the Twin Cities area. Great food and amazing energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We liked the presentation of the food and the variety.

It is our first time and will definitely come back!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My family came to Chino Latino to celebrate my brother's and my birthday on a Saturday evening. We loved the food, our server was wonderful, and with our reservation we were seated right away. The menu was full of options, it's a great place to try new things while still being able to order a favorite or two you can be sure of. The only thing that dampened our evening a little was how loud the dining area was. The ambience is perfect for a high-energy party kind of vibe, but we were looking for somewhere we could chat a little more, and the noise made it a bit hard to do anything other than pass the food. That's such a small complaint, though, I would definitely recommend Chino Latino to friends (and strangers)!

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I'm always blown away by how loud Chino Latino is--regardless of when you go or how busy the restaurant appears. We were there for an early Friday evening dinner and the tables around us certainly were not all full and my date and I had to lean in over the table to participate in normal conversation. The food is always good--nothing extraordinary and always feels incredibly overpriced. I forget people go there and are willing to pay extra for the atmosphere--I'm just never so 'wowed' by it that I feel it's worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went here on a date and everything was wonderful. If I had any complaint, it would be the noise level inside, but it wasn't bothersome.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Chino always helps go over the top for birthday celebrations!! My wife loves this place!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Birthday dinner with my family

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, servers are great. Only complaint is we had a reservation for 7:30 and kept getting told 10 minutes but did not get seated till 8 despite several empty tables.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Spicy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I brought several newbies with me who were all awed by their dining experience. we were celebrating a birthday and so did Saki bombs. The noise level is high but almost adds to the ambiance and didn't get in the way of our conversation or fun.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Overall I would rate Chino Latino a 3.5. It was a fun environment but the waitress wasn't very intentive. The food was brought out at different times, the apps were ordered at the same time. 1 of the 3 didn't come out at all. The food was good quality, but spendy. They don't offer a free birthday drink or desert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Only negative about Chino Latino is high noise level. I enjoy the service and food. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Nice looking restaurant! Especially the back part of the restaurant. The front part and the entrance look a bit cheap. Had good tapas there!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Dancing, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The place is dark and old. Food and service is good. Not a place I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our server was very helpful in choosing something delicious from the menu. We loved the variety of contemporary decor throughout the restaurant. The host and hostesses were very accommodating and shared the history and mission of the restaurant. The only down side were the drinks....very sour, flavorless Margaritas....quite the opposite from the food. We would come again to try some more of the tasty unusual cuisine but pass on the mixed drinks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food lots of flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Horrible experience! Worst service I've ever had at a restaurant. Reservation was at 7:30, didn't get seated till after 8. Kitchen lost one order from our table and the waitress never noticed they didn't have food, everyone's food came out at different times, over the span of a hour! The waitress was clearly annoyed by our request for get our food and our bill. Asked three times to get our bill before we asked another waitress for our bill. Then our checks took 25 minutes to pay and get our cards returned. At the end of dinner the waitress yelled at the bride (it was a bachelorette party).

The food was great! But I will not be going back here after being treated with no respect for the entire two and a half hours that we were there. Very disappointed, as we were celebrating a bride-to-be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very loud so difficult to visit. Food was good but not awesome.
Chips and cheese dip were the best we ordered.
Drinks were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fun event with my staff - great time, great food and brilliant cocktails!

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.