Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.04mi

About Chino Latino

Serving street food from the hot zones in both small and large portions for sharing, Chino Latino ignites fireworks of flavor in Uptown's most spectacular bar and distinctive dining rooms.

2916 Hennepin Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
West Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 824-7878

Website:
http://www.chinolatino.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available after 5:15pm for $8. (cash only)

Executive Chef:
Dan Miles

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No one refuses an invitation to Chino Latino. Beyond the wildly flavorful menu, daring cocktails and dazzling décor, parties of up to 80 can now enjoy the sexy new private Party Room. The Party Room offers guests a sophisticated private event space right in the heart of Uptown.

Chino Latino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (43)
Fun (43)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Good for a Date (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Hot Spot (25)
Late-night Find (25)
Spicy (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
People Watching (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Authentic (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Tapas (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

We go there all the time but usually for drinks and bar crew is great and always provides super service. Last weekend group of 8 friends went and our server was bit rude. On top of that, they brought food randomly when they really should serve all entrees to the group together. That's the purpose of having dinner together. 2 couples order same dinner items and they arrived to our table 20 mins apart. Doesn't make sense and mgr was not very helpful when we complained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

This place has stood the test of time. The food and service were excellent. The 45 minute wait with reservations was not. Then once seated they had put two of our party at another table. We squished and made it work and did not let that distract from our fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Went to visit my niece for the weekend and decided to try Chino Latino based on friends recommendations. It was packed when we got there for our 8:15 reservation on a Friday night. It was hard to find a place to stand while we waited for our table but we finally made it up to the bar and were able to find a spot and order some drinks. The bartender was very friendly and made some great drinks but it took us over 45 minutes to be seated at our table. This is much longer than I've ever waited at any restaurant when having a reservation. Once seated our server was very helpful. My daughter is vegan and so was our waitress so she told her what she could have on the menu. The atmosphere was very fun and there were lots of parties going on. Definitely a fun place to go for a special occasion. The food was very good but honestly not so over the top that I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I had the most horrible experience here. Our waitress continued to skip over our table while she continuously checked on others. We spoke with THREE managers voicing our concerns. Only one with long blonde hair was very sweet and attentive. The male with the gauges was a horrible manager and didn’t work to diffuse the situation but instead wanted to instigate an argument with us. I hope this was not a race issue however I can’t help but believe it might have been. The way the male manager acted when I was explaining the situation was completely inappropriate. When my white friend explained the situation he made eye contact and leaned in to listen to her concerns. Why does it take a while woman for the manager to suddenly find a heart? I called the restaurant the next day and asked to speak with someone higher up. They alerted me that they have a general manager and she would be giving me a call once she arrives. She never called me back. I will continue to call and call and CALL each day until I speak with someone. No one ever deserves to be disrespected the way I was on my own birthday. No one ever deserves to be treated as invisible. If there’s one positive, this incident reminded me of how important it is to continue to my Education as a law student. I’m sure if they knew the occupations of the people sitting at this table, we would’ve been treated COMPLETELY different. For a restaurant that sells food from a different culture they lack cultural competency and that is absolutely disgraceful to say the least.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Tables upstairs lack ambience. Really wanted a downstairs booth but NOone was seated down there. From was fabulous. It was a 21 bday and was surprised there was no special fanfare.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great vibe and very interesting menu. Looking forward to going back and trying something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a great time, all 6 of us thought the dinner items we shared and the desserts we shared were great, can't wait to go again

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Went here for my 26th birthday with friends. Our waitress was so friendly and made our experience so enjoyable! We live in Uptown, but when you are dining in at Chino Latino, you feel like you are somewhere else. Amazing food and fun drinks! Highly suggest!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great bday dinner
Good service
Fast service
Trendy meals

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is a great place for a birthday gathering. They printed special menus with a birthday message including his name.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have been to Chino Latino many times in the past when visiting Minneapolis. I have always loved the food and ambiance for occasions with groups of friends. This last weekend, I went with a group of friends and were sat downstairs. Our service was so slow and items served awkwardly. My boyfriend and I went to get a drink at the upstairs bar after dinner because the cocktail service was so slow during dinner and the bartender upstairs was so rude to us. My boyfriend asked for an old fashioned sour and she didn't know what it was and instead of asking what it was or trying to figure it out in any way, she made fun of him for asking for this unheard of drink and deciding she would just make him a whiskey sour... It was shocking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service could have been better , service was slow and the food was ok. Only the fried rice was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was great and the food was amazing. Our waitress informed us of the suggested order sizes for 2 people. She suggested 1 small and 1 large plate and it was the perfect amount of food. I thought the 2 person tables could have been spaced further apart for better intimate dining. But other than that, it was an awesome experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing food and beverages. This is my favorite place in Uptown.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Uptown classic

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Cool place that apparently has been around for a long time. Excellent value! Interesting varied eclectic food choices!

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Pad Thai was spicy and salty. They changed it for us but the next Pad Thai was sweet. The service was good, but they charged us $5 for additional bowl of rice - rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good food and service however, this place was LOUD and rowdy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

It's been several years since I visited this restaurant and the bar scene on weekends seems as lively as ever. Our server was attentive and the food arrivals were timely and well-paced. The food quality was so-so and I was disappointed in the limited vegetarian options. Upstairs it's very loud and the crowd was a majority of large groups celebrating events. I can recommend CL's cocktails and it's fun for people-watching but definitely not a foodie outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Every time is a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great server and service! We’re late due to the highway being shutdown and they still fit us in right away. I love that the hosts accommodated our tardiness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

For a long time Chino Latino was my favorite restaurant, but this most recent experience was sub-par. The Korean Bulgolgi Lettuce Wraps were still good, as was the (off-the-menu) fried rice with guacamole. Drinks were good too. But our mushroom quesadilla was disappointing; it had no flavor and we had to put sauce from our other dish on it. Also, I was looking forward to a deep fried Snickers and for some reason they've taken that off the menu.

Prices are still on the high side, but there are more vacant seats than in the past so it's a bit quieter than it used to be.

Tags: Great Beer, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had a great experience. We love the variety of menu options. As a larger group we shared, family style and everyone was satisfied. They made the birthday girl feel special with customized menus and a sparkler in her drink. It was very loud where we were sitting, making it difficult to talk accross the table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Super fun for my 21st birthday with street parking available! The food was great but a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Very fun and excellent food. Would definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have dined at Chino many times. The upstairs has better lighting, which we like. We typically come with a large group, so we make our share of noise, but the restaurant even with a small group is loud. Noise and darkness can be a turnoff. Suggesting upstairs for lighting would be a plus

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food, attentive service and good sized portions

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was great, from the food, to the service & so on. My fiance really enjoyed her birthday. Thank you guys for such a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Celebrated my are daughters 21st birthday. A few people in are party never had been here before Greg are server did a awesome job explaining the menu he made the night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

What a fun and delicious meal! We had a party of seven, so we were able to share lots of family style dishes. The Chinese 5 Spice Spare Ribs were deliciously sweet and tangy. The Dragon Lady's Fried Rice with BBQ Pork was the best I've ever tasted. Chiang Mai Fried Chicken was delicious. Phuket Noodles were super yummy. I found the Senegalese Peanut Curry to be too spicy, but everyone else enjoyed it. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The Screaming Steamed Mussels are amazing! We should have gotten just that. One order is plenty for two people to share for a meal. We also got the naan to go with it, which was necessary to be able to enjoy all of the delicious broth. Also, the drinks are really great and usually quite strong.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was good, service excellent. Very noisy. We couldn't hear each other talk over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Much too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great mojitos. They used actual mint and tasted great. The steamed pork belly buns are a great starter for two. We had the seafood paella as our main course. It had great flavor and spice. It didn't seem like a true paella (e.g. there wasn't a socarrat crust that I could detect) but the flavor and the good amount of seafood more than made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My daughter chose Chino Latino for her 24th birthday dinner and there were 7 of us. I knew right when I walked in I would never be back. The noise level is obnoxious. Thankfully we were seated in a booth in a small room off of the main floor so the new use was reduced and we could carry on a conversation. The food wasn't great but it wasn't bad however it is over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Daughter's 15th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife and I go on a date each Saturday night. Chino is in the list to visit at least couple times a year.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Chino Latino is always a good time! I like how they let you personalize your menus - ex. "Happy Birthday Sarah!" or anything like that. Music is usually good but not overbearing. The vibe is trendy and upbeat. If you're with a couple other people who like sushi, go for the BIG plates of sushi! Not only does the food taste great, it's presented well, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Hadn't been here in a decade & good news--still a fun spot with delicious food! Great for leftovers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Would not recommend it's over rated, very noisy, food wasn't that great either.

The server tried her best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.