About Chimayo

368 Main Street
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Step through our door and you will feel as if you leaped across the border. Start with a signature Chimayo Margarita, a locals favorite, next try the stuffed Avocado Salad, or the not to miss.Arturo’s Tortilla Soup; his grandmother's recipe, and the cult favorite, Crown Roast of Barbecue Spareribs. Chimayo has something for everyone, cozy booths, fireplaces, children's options and great service. After a long day on the mountain Chimayo is not to be missed!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open nightly at 5:00

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 649-6222

Website:
http://www.billwhiterestaurantgroup.com/chimayo.html

Catering:
Contact our Sales and Events Department for specific information. 435-649-7850 or Tracy Lee tlee@billwhiteenterprises.com

Parking Details:
Paid parking on Main Street from 11am-8pm, 7 days a week. Free parking behind Chimayo in the China Bridge Parking Structure four hour limits. Excluding Sundance Festival.

Public Transit:
Free Bus System throughout Park City and a Free Trolley on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Arturo Flores

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chimayo has two private dining spaces. The downstairs room seats up to 65 guests. The upstairs room seats up to 85 guests.

Chimayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Fireplace (15)
Authentic (15)
Romantic (13)
Fun (13)
Cozy (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Casual (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tapas (6)
Spicy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Very crowded reservations a must. We were seated downstairs it was tight and loud. Menu is limited but very creative and the food was very good, highly recommend the chicken and black bean soup!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Dined here on our annual ski trip with friends and it was amazing. So many great restaurants to chose from in Park City, but this was a fantastic choice. The service, the food, the drinks, the ambiance...all pretty near perfect. Definitely one of the best all around dining experiences we've had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointing. Food was just OK and certainly not worth the high prices it was commanding. Nice ambiance and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I will message the GM as this was a very disappointing experience and quite embarrassing for me because I'd been talking up this dinner for months. After coming here for years I'd like to share some feedback because this was one of our favorite restaurants and it was a series of otherwise minor things that can easily be fixed. The cocktails were not drinkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overpriced. A true tourist trap on Main Street. Not authentic. Kobe beef tasted like Arby's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent Southwestern cuisine with a Spanish twist. Excellent Utah trout fajitas and the salads were terrific.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We LOVE Chimayo! Every time we are in Park City it's a must. Ambience is fantastic, food is even better. Had the sugar cane skewered elk appetizer, Kobe beef and prawn fajitas and LaPalomas, all fantastic!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Did not enjoy. Poor kids menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place! We

Loved it and brought our kids this time! They also enjoyed not just the wonderful food but also the ambiance! The service was great - very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very pleasant Valentines dinner. Hostess was very pleasant and helpful when I asked to be seated upstairs (other reviews cautioned against downstairs seating). She placed us next to the fireplace. Our waiter was efficient and attentive. We were able to enjoy our dinner without feeling rushed on a very busy night. Vegetable fajitas were unique and presented well but not as flavorful as expected. The dinner was over-priced but it is located in a resort town. Overall it was a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Chimayo. We had good 3 years ago, and we remembered the food to be very fresh and full of flavor. We were not disappointed. My husband had the elk steak and I had the trout fajita - very good. One recommendation, if you are not hearty eaters and you did not ski earlier in the day, sharing may be a good option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not the best experience. The service took forever this visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a hidden gem- and our server Kate was terrific. We sat by the door which was quite drafty- my only complaint. We would return anyway!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Interesting- the elk was very good- sit upstairs if possible- sitting downstairs is a bit claustrophobic

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Restaurant was a bit disappointing this time. Have been in past and loved it. Seems like they've really jammed more tables in since I had last been there and are more focused on churning those tables than providing a great experience. Staff was friendly but quick. Food was good but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service - loved how they worked in teams. Food was wonderful so much to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We chose this restaurant based on positive reviews. I booked a reservation for 7:30 and upon arrival we found an extremely busy front area near the host desk. We were seated appromatly 20 minutes late. There were other parties expericing the same. Once seated, our server did a good job. Actually, the server was the best part of our experience. The food was more on the caliber of a restaurant that has a 15.00-20.00 dollar price point. I realize this is a resort town and prices are generally higher, but the flavor was not what I would expect to pay 45.00-50.00 for. In my opinion, they have way too many tables for the space. It is extremely loud. We had better dining experiences at lunch on the mountain in cafeteria style places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We waited over an hour for our "reserved" table. It was pouring outside and there were many many people angry and crammed into a small space since there is no bar or waiting area. Very unpleasant situation for diners we were literally hovering over as they ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I made a reservation at Chimayo through Opentable over two weeks in advance for dinner at 7:15 PM on a Friday night. I confirmed the reservation with the restaurant the day we were to dine. It was the last night of a ski vacation for my wife and me. I was l0oking forward to a special event.

We arrived at the restaurant at least five minutes early. The lobby was packed with people that all had reservations. We were told that it would be at least 30 minutes before our table was ready. Everyone else with reservations was in the same boat. It ended up being 45 minutes. By then the evening was practically ruined. I definitely got the impression that this was a nightly occurrence. When I complained to the staff about the wait, they said they didn't know what was going on in the restaurant office that controlled the bookings. They suggested to angry customers that we write reviews online to express our frustrations. That is what I am doing

When we finally did eat, the service was good, the kitchen was slow and the food was ok. When the bill came, I told the waiter we were displeased with our experience. The manager did comp most of our bill which was nice, but I should not have to have asked them to.

Anyhow, I don't plan to eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Super delicious food!!! The guacamole with crabmeat was amazing! We had the braided elk and scallops! You must try these! We will definitely be coming back here again when we visit Park City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We love Chimayo! We brought a group of friends who were in town visiting and had a great meal as always! The pomegranate margaritas are yummy, the atmosphere is quaint and cozy and the food is fantastic - favorites are the ceviche and fajitas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very tasty gourmet Mexican food. Huge main portions meant most people seem to be sending large amounts back as unable to eat it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and ambiance, but make sure you're seated on the main floor. The downstairs ambiance left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I think we had the worst table in the restaurant. The space for the table was so small that it felt like they just added it to get 2 more people in. We were located right by the kitchen and the restrooms. There were so many people passing by our table constantly it was extremely distracting. The food was excellent and service was very good, but given the fact that I had booked this reservation over a month ago, I felt that this was not a situation we would want to repeat. We have learned that table location has a lot to do with how enjoyable our dining experience is. We were also located in the lower level where the noise level is considerably higher.

If we cannot get a first floor table in the future we will move on. For spending

200.00 for dinner we did not expect to be crammed into a small tiny space with so much noise and congestion. Of all the places we ate in Park City this was by far the

most expensive (for 2 people) and least relaxing or enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, and service. Loved the drinks! Made virgin drinks for the kids. Had the Elk and it was delicious. Make reservations. Great for families and couples.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great tasting authentic SW Mexican with a fashionable twist. The result is some of the best SWMex, but at a very high price. $44 for enchiladas? Well, yes, but they are duck enchiladas

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We eat out 2-3 times a week and I'm an easy 4 or 5 stars almost always. Unfortunately both my experiences at chimayo, 5 years apart, have been terrible. Skipping the 2007 saga, last night we waited 1 hour 15 minutes to get our salads and then another 40 minutes after that got entrees. The only thing saving the night was the manager approached us (without saying anything to them) and was nice as was the server throughout the experience. Friendly staff and management is a huge plus. But from a dining experience perspective (especially when each of our entrees were $50) we have written off this place as there are so many other amazing places to spend an evening in park city. Interesting menu and nice staff - but for us personally we would go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

When I made a reservation, I specifically made it for the end of Sundance because open table did not show there was still a prix fixe menu. When we sat down, there was no other option. I would not have eaten there had I known. Too expensive and way too much food for one person.

We had kids with us and we put their order in first... it took one HOUR for their food to arrive. In addition, it was about 85 degrees in the restaurant.

I was overall very disappointed in our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food super fat and heavy. Not my type of food, but others might like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service, warm and inviting ambiance - cocktails were above average, but the food...well, it's fair/good, but way overpriced (like 2-3x, seriously a salad and fajitas are $70?!). My date and I order two various types of fajitas, which were bland, accompanied with Sysco tortillas and guac/salsa which tasted like it came from cans. Despite the friendly service and nice dining environment, won't be back for food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food but too much! Price fixed dinner included 3 courses. Large portions amounted to too much food for one dinner.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Sundance prefixe menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The tortilla soup was to die for. Lets just start there. The beet salad wasn't my favorite, but maybe you can't really do that much to a beath salad. The salmon was amazing and I am going to try and figure out how that made the mango sauce. It was a little bit like heaven. I have prefered to sit upstairs, but my family liked the downstairs better. I will make this a must stop every time I am in Park City. Winter or Summer.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great Birthday Dinner! Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food at Chimayo is delicious -- incredibly well cooked scallops for being in a land-locked state. The staff is attentive and accommodating. Great restaurant for a fun get together.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Really wonderful original spins on classic recipes! Must go again and try everything on the menu! Highly recommend the Tiera Mar fajitas! Delicious and cooked to perfection as was the duck enchiladas! Really high quality ingredients! Nice staff! Will absolutely go back! Make a reservation to ensure a table! This place is always packed!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our server , Francisco was terrific. Very knowledgeable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Outstanding food followed by outstanding service. Waiter and Manager went out of there way tomato sure we had a fabulous dining experience. We had the Crown Spare Ribs and Crab Avocado dish. They were awesome. Very friendly atmosphere and the space was beautifully renovated. Definitely worth a stop when in park City

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Bday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food , really tasty ...top restraurant in park city

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was delicious and the staff was very polished. They made us feel welcomed and special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Simply our favorite restaurant in Park City., the service, the food is just a pleasure to eat at this restaurant., try the Lamb Shank, the ceviche, cheese fondue., Everything is just amazing!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had heard great things, but found it to be loud, overpriced, and only so-so for food quality. For the $200 we spent for two people (only 1 drink each), we had hoped to be wow'd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The waiter was either not experienced or didn't care. We have ordered guac for kids specifically asking whether it is spicy and he said they don't even have spicy guac, so then he brought it our youngest tried and started crying, we checked and it was really spicy. So we called the waiter, he said it is weird, then came back and said it is what it is and they only have spicy.

Although food was good we would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Teníamos reservación a las 9:15 pm nos dieron mesa a 9:30, nos tomaron la orden de inmediato dieron las 10:45 pm y no nos servían , pregunté que pasa y me dijeron que todavía faltaban 6 mesas antes de nosotros, pedí mi cuenta por las bebidas, llego el gerente a preguntar por qué nos íbamos , fue a checar y nos contestó lo mismo que faltaba un rato más para que nos traigan la comida y nos fuimos.

Que lastima que un lugar así que se considera 5 estrellas traten a su clientela de esa manera

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Took over an hour to get our entrees. Had to order everything at once to "speed up process". We did receive appetizers in timely fashion but as stated too over an hour from that time to get entrees. I believe my scallops were undercooked and led to a night/day of pure sickness. All the rest of my family's meals were good, but my husband wasn't high on the elk. My son loved his salmon! Waitress attentive and nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We waited an hour for our one entree that we shared.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Completely overpriced very average food. Found the price offensive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was mediocre and over priced. Over priced even compared to other high end restaurants on main street in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.