About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (96)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Good for Birthdays (80)
See All
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Cozy (63)
Sunday Lunch (61)
Great for Lunch (61)
Casual (56)
Good for Groups (53)
Romantic (51)
Comfort Food (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Worth the Drive (40)
Fun (39)
Authentic (37)
Live Music (30)
Gluten Free Options (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Kid-friendly (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Business Meals (23)
Late-night Find (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Outstanding Value (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Private Room (19)
Healthy (17)
Afternoon Tea (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Family Style (14)
Seasonal (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
People Watching (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Historic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fireplace (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place!! The food is fabulous! They ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place!! The food is fabulous! They're creative in what they serve. The ambience is perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a nice place to go....Sunda ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently a nice place to go....Sunday brunch is pretty hectic though....insane noise level....lots of babies crying....wait staff seemed overwhelmed

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great for Brunch..Outdoor Seating as wel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for Brunch..Outdoor Seating as well..Food comes out quick and was very good

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly wait and host staff, quick and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Friendly wait and host staff, quick and professional service, and (most importantly) delicious food from a diverse menu made for a great brunch. I strongly recommend making reservations for early weekend afternoons, as there was a pretty lengthy wait by the time we walked out. I only make trips down to Austin every once in a while and will definitely be returning to Chez Zee on my next trip.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for a more private table possibl ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

I asked for a more private table possibly in a corner, and I got exactly that!! I felt famous for being taken care of so well. Food was delicious. Love that the rooms are separated by glass to block out extra noise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had weekend brunch with friends. Fried a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Had weekend brunch with friends. Fried avocado Benedict plate was tasty. Service was quick and friendly. Ambiance was cozy and a bit Disneyesque. Overall, enjoyed my experience and will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

ALWAYS a solid choice for any meal! Por ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

ALWAYS a solid choice for any meal! Portions are generous and flavorful. Service was great. We were there for brunch this time. The warm croissants with strawberry butter were delish.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great service. Brandon was friend ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Really great service. Brandon was friendly, made good suggestions, and very respectful. The French toast was exceptional

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty spinach salad with crab cakes adde ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Tasty spinach salad with crab cakes added. Salmon was very tasty as well. The olive oil is to die for - smoke flavor

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent. I think we all had a good ti ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent. I think we all had a good time. Dessert was also excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service and the desser ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, good service and the desserts are sooooo good, you'll want to order a couple to take home.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place to meet girlfriends for lunc ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place to meet girlfriends for lunch. Great entrée salads, soups and gluten free options. Some of the best desserts in Austin.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner is so nice, and everyone else ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The owner is so nice, and everyone else is so welcoming. The jazz and drinks were great! We love this place!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always festive - pleasant jazz trio and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always festive - pleasant jazz trio and tasty food for Valentine's Day. Attentive waiter without being pushy. Main dining room preferred over the gallery which is really an extra event space. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed, but quietly efficient. Good fo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Relaxed, but quietly efficient. Good food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were not served bread - which seemed ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we were not served bread - which seemed unusual - was not told what the spinach salad dressing was - it was tasty and unusual. Overall it was a pleasant experience. we highly recommend the Ahi Tuna.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We go here for numerous special occasion ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We go here for numerous special occasions and have never been disappointed

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were more than pleased with our Valen ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were more than pleased with our Valentines dinner. Both had surf and turf, great value. Great waiter. Eric.. and appreciated that the music started early because our reservations were at 5:15

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place always my go to place fo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love this place always my go to place for friends and family

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Seasonal, , Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee was noisy but that's not uncomm ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chez Zee was noisy but that's not uncommon. The steaks were prepared and seasoned well but tough. Not expected for the price. The waitress was a bit harried and apparently no one ever taught her how to serve a bottle of wine. No tasting or cork offering, just overfilled the glasses straightaway.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Chex Zee is a favorite restaurant for us ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chex Zee is a favorite restaurant for us. Great atmosphere, good food and service. Always enjoyable!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place just feels great. I love the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place just feels great. I love the decor. It's cozy and everyone is friendly. If I ever owned my own restaurant, this is what I would go for. There's a magician there sometimes, which adds to the character. (He's also really good.)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's celebration

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's celebration

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, too noisy!!! Could not hear ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, too noisy!!! Could not hear table partners talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Chez Zee has excellent dinner choices an ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Chez Zee has excellent dinner choices and fabulous desserts. This is a great place for a birthday, anniversary, or just a date night out for dinner. We had the New Orleans Pecan Chicken and Pork Tenderloin with Black Cherry sauce this time and both were wonderful! No matter what we order, the food is always presented beautifully and tastes great. If you've never been to Chez Zee for Valentine's Day, you must go! But advanced reservations are a MUST, as it is a very popular place to go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always charming, always delicious! Love ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always charming, always delicious! Love the dessert menu.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a lovely dining experience! We es ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a lovely dining experience! We especially liked the piano player and the fun selection of music he played. The Valentine's decorations were a nice touch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very Austin atmosphere. The menu was o ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A very Austin atmosphere. The menu was outstanding, and everyone in our party loved their selections. It was a little noisy, but it did have a good family vibe. We had grandparents, parents, teens and toddlers and everyone seemed to enjoy the celebration

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for a family celebration w ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were there for a family celebration with our one year old grandson and had a wonderful meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful experience! Celebra ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience! Celebrated my mother's birthday and they made it very special for her! Excellent food! Very creative menu!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Spicy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often, so obviously we like ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We come here often, so obviously we like the place a lot. Food is always good and there are many options on the menu. We were in for an early dinner and were fortunate to sit in a quiet corner, which was delightful as the place can get noisy when busy (which is often), especially if you're seated in a big room. Service was a tad slow this time, possibly as we were a bit out of the way. Overall, a most enjoyable place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Date night. It was great, as always. Pec ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Date night. It was great, as always. Pecan crusted salmon with spinach and mushrooms -perfect. Carrot cake, my sugar bomb for the week, so great!!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chez Zee never disappoints. The ambiance ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Chez Zee never disappoints. The ambiance is great, the menu has alot of variety, the food is terrific and the staff is warm and welcoming...time and time again. Always a 'two-thumbs-up' experience!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible desserts! Great ambiance.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Incredible desserts! Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Like this place a lot for a wide variety ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Like this place a lot for a wide variety of food choices, all good. Not to mention their wonderful bread with olive oil and spices. My only wish is that it were quieter when busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have always enjoyed this place! Wonde ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have always enjoyed this place! Wonderful atmosphere and great food. Brunch on the weekend is the BEST!

Tags: Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really really loud during our lun ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was really really loud during our lunch at Chez Zee. Could hardly hear the conversation. From now on will request outside table. Food was good, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

From making our reservation to finally d ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 30, 2017

From making our reservation to finally dessert, we had a wonderful time! We are 5 women friends that were celebrating a belated Christmas and a birthday. My friends were concerned we'd be disturbing others in the restaurant and I voiced this to the reservationist. She reserved the perfect table and area for us. My friend's birthday was perfect with the thoughtful touches on the table. ..a happy birthday banner with her name on it. ..very nice! The food was delicious! I ordered baked salmon, spinach and mushrooms and ate everything, it was so good! The baked bread and olive oil dipper-yum and the dessert lemon rosemary cake outstanding! The service was perfect. ..our waiter was there when we needed him but not too often. They were very attentive when I had ordered blue cheese dressing for my salad and it was good but didn't taste like blue cheese. They replaced it with a less lemony version of their homemade blue cheese dressing. The place itself is comfortable, beautiful with the special lighting and not too bright. All in all we enjoyed ourselves immensely as all the staff of Chez Zee seemed to care and certainly put their action into it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. The best desserts. Cozy ecle ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. The best desserts. Cozy eclectic atmosphere

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We could have gone anywhere si I searche ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We could have gone anywhere si I searched online menus for good brunch fare and chose Chez Zee, a perfect choice-easy location, great food, etc. We asked to be seated in a quiet section, the staff really worked to find such a table. Conversation was going nonstop before we realized when been there almost 4 hours. The staff didn't rush us and continued to fill our water glasses and freshen our coffee. Perfect in every way!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.