Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

About Chez Zee

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (68)
Great for Brunch (68)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Great for Lunch (56)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Casual (46)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Cozy (38)
Romantic (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fun (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Authentic (25)
Business Meals (25)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Healthy (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Live Music (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Seasonal (13)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service! Appreciate that Chez Zee takes reservations for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Old west Austin at it's best! We love brunch there.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I love the croissants and strawberry butter. They should be banned from my table :) JK. The french toast and portebellino Benedict were spot on!! Great side of grits with cheese and jalapeños too. The pianist is stellar, as was his set list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Chez Zee is our go-to place for special occasions as well as when we just want to have a reliably special dining experience. It was a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy our trips here. This one was no different. Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Chez Zee is always a good option for a special occasion. Great food, eclectic ambiance, considerate service, and it's not downtown! Love the Chez!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This is the first time I've been here for lunch. The quiche was not good - I would not order again. And the beef and kale soup was way to salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Wonderful place. Great food and desserts. Friendly staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I'm like a broken record - Chez Zee is one of the best spots in town for a meal, not to mention dessert! A true Austin gem in a town with too many "trendy" spots that quickly fail. Chez Zee has it all figured out!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We went on a holiday Monday night so it seemed a bit empty. Our food was fine. I had the garlic shrimp pasta, which was delicious and my wife had the Jalapeño Stuffed Chicken, which was very good. Our service was fine but not very personal. All in all, it was a good dinner but the atmosphere didn't do a lot for us. They did have a piano player there, which was great, but it still seemed a bit quiet and empty. Perhaps it would be better on a weekend night.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The eggs Benedict with sausage is excellent. This is actually better than a traditional eggs Benedict. Although the eggs benedict at Chez Zee is also very good. My wife loves the shrimp ad grits.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My husband & I visited Chez Zee for my birthday. We told them of the occasion ahead of time and they decorated our table and gave us a free dessert. Brunch was phenomenal . The food, service and atmosphere were on point. This was our first visit and we hadn't even gotten through our meal before we started to plan our next. Will absolutely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Chez Zee consistently provides good food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

It was my parents annerversary and they loved it! It was fun, family friendly, good drinks, games for kids and a magician came by the table as well as the piano player who came by to ask for requests! Super fun

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food is good but the service was poor. Same issue last time so we won't go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was excellent, the service was great. It was for Sunday Brunch, so there were lots of kids and the restaurant was full and thus noisy. I have been there for lunch and dinner and it was not noisy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Still our favorite restaurant for any occasion whatsoever. Always happy with the service and food - and reasonable prices too.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Happy Hour, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 5, 2017

callie our server was so awesome, took care of us really good..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food was delicious usual! We always love coming here. You know that you can always expect a delicious meal, what ever you order. and the staff is very nice and polite. Atmosphere comfortable and relaxing and is place that children are welcome. Will eat here again. Like next week!! Lol!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I have a regular lunch date at Chez Zee with friends. I love that I can make a reservation and be seated without waiting. Service is always good as is the food. On Saturdays, you can always expect it to be crowded with a high noise level that can interfere with conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. We had dinner and it was so good we went back for breakfast and it was just as good. We have already recommended to our friends

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The server was amazing, she was really attentive and checked on us regularly. The food was also great loved the new orleans pecan chicken was great. Thanks for a great experience

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We mentioned the rice didn't taste quite right. The Waitress said thank you for letting her know and didn't try and bring us more rice or a different vegetable?
It was probably an off night. I love this eatery and will still visit until I see this becomes a regular occurrence.
Great desserts!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Chez Zee is always consistent. Food is great. Service is super friendly!! Chocotini is a perfect dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Chez Zee. The atmosphere is fun and feels like a party no matter when you go. Our table was decorated with ribbons and a plaque reading "Happy Birthday from Chez Zee!" It made us feel special and very welcome. The entrees were delicious, but the real star is dessert! The dessert menu is impressive and all are made onsite. We have gone in the past just for dessert. Also the staff are so warm and helpful. Service is always excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, incredible creative food - there s a reason Chez See is an Austin classic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Chez Zee used to be a favorite spot. Sadly, service was abysmal this time. It took half an hour to get our order taken, the server never checked to see if all was ok, and we were stuck in the Sahara as far as water refills were concerned. It was also the Sahara "dessert" 'cause we were never able to get an order in at the end! It took three hours to get in and out -- and it felt like our waitstaff needed to be reported to the missing persons bureau! I literally had to chase her across the restaurant to get the check.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Never disappointed! Always a treat with the best desserts in town!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Nice ambiance, good food, a little pricey and noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love the magician and the piano player!! So much fun!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Chez Zee was very accommodating! I highly recommend them for big group gatherings. It was a little loud, but we could all still hear each other at our table of 8. Food. And out quickly and service was friendly! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Quickly becoming our "Go-To" for any occasion. We love it especially when Rachel is our server. She is everything you'd want and more you didn't realize you needed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Chez Zee is a great place to celebrate any special occasion. Unique and very Austin.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We haven't been to Chez Zee in a while so we thought we'd go for a casual birthday dinner. We were so disappointed. Chicken was rubbery, wait staff was less than well trained and we felt rushed through our entire dinner even though the restaurant was mostly empty on a holiday weekend. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always, always good! Pure Austin in spirit and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food, and great service. Love the waiting area. Piano player is nice touch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I had not been there for several years. I was delightfully surprised at the changes. Particularly because I eat gluten-free. Soooo good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I went for brunch on Saturday. I ordered the Peppa Bloody Mary which was ok but was way overpriced for the size. Wife ordered a Champagne Mimosa that was just ok. I ordered the steak and egg breakfast and the steak was tough and heavily seasoned with rosemary. I like rosemary in light doses but it has no place on a breakfast steak. The menu made no mention of this and if it had I would have ordered something else. The potatoes were overcooked but cold and soggy at the same time. The sliced tomatoes were under ripe and tasteless. My wife ordered the goat cheese, tomato and avocado omelette and the goat cheese was for some reason very salty. This ingredient combination sounded good but it seemed to be missing something. Ordered a side of bacon that was cooked crispy as ordered but was overly salty.
The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Chez Zee is my top choice of restaurants in Austin. There's a large variety of outstanding food, the atmosphere is fun and very pleasant, and the staff is the best I've seen in any local restaurant. Kudos to the staff for all they do to make people like me want to keep going back there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food, wonderful waiter. We celebrated a 77th birthday - our friend always chooses Chez Zee. Thank you, every detail was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.