Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

About Chez Zee

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We're open Father's Day for Brunch 9 AM - 3 PM, Dinner till 10 PM. Serving all Dad's favorites, including our famous Prime Rib! Reserve now!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (96)
Special Occasion (88)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
See All
Good for Birthdays (78)
Good for a Date (75)
Great for Lunch (72)
Sunday Lunch (63)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Casual (53)
Good for Groups (53)
Fun (49)
Cozy (48)
Romantic (44)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Comfort Food (42)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Authentic (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Kid-friendly (27)
Business Meals (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Live Music (21)
Healthy (19)
Afternoon Coffee (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Afternoon Tea (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Family Style (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Private Room (14)
Seasonal (12)
Modern Decor (11)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Historic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I joined my wife and two adult daughters for brunch on Sunday. We have visited this restaurant hundreds of times over the years since Sharon Watkins bought it. It just gets better ! The brunch is suitable for New Orleans finest. Many poached eggs combos (Eggs Sardou-- on spinach and artichoke base, Poached Eggs on Crab Cakes, Eggs Benedict, omelettes, waffle combinations, a bowl of bacon (9 pieces ), Bellini's , Bloody Mary, all the drink choices. The best brunch I have ever enjoyed !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent service, checked back numerous times and kept refilling the coffee and water.

Food was excellent - party of four and all were very happy with their meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I came here with a group of girls for my bachelorette dinner and the server was awesome! I would go back just for the service but the food is also delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A wonderful experience - waitstaff, food, and charm of Chez Zee has won us over!
The ahi was cooked as requested and was delicious - as was the chicken fried steak.
We also shared a cup of corn/shrimp soup which is still haunting us with it's wonderful flavor!
WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Two longtime couples...older. Everyone enjoyed his dinner, all different selections, very well prepared. Prices remain very reasonable. Our waiter couldn't have been more accommodating. Always great evening for us. Thank you....

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was our second time here and we won't be back. Very disappointed in the food. Surprised it's rated so high. The people are nice, but that doesn't make up for barely average food. Ordered biscuits and gravy and the biscuits were hard and dry. Sent it back, but we were still charged for it. Anyway, there are much better places to have brunch/breakfast in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lovely experience...delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing 12oz steak! Wow! So tender and flavorful! Awesome fried pickles! Fun atmosphere! Best dessert: chocolate gooey something with vanilla ice cream--wow!!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great and the service was excellent. I would recommend tomy friends to go there for any type of occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent food, very good service, and a fun atmosphere. It doesn't get better. If you're with a group, be sure to try the fried dill pickles. They're wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was wonderful. Love the decor.
Service excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another great meal at Chez Zee!! After many years of great Mother's Day brunches we ventured there to enjoy a nice dinner with friends. Just fantastic service, great food, every entree was exceptionally prepared -- all to perfection -- and outstanding service! Chez Zee is a must for anyone seeking an exceptional meal -- brunch, lunch, dinner -- great entertainment for a night out and outstanding service from professionals who know the meaning of service! Just outstanding!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went there for Mother's Day. It took a while for us to be greeted once we sat down. We had a reservation for 1:15 and were seated immediately upon arrival. The restaurant is super loud, hard to hear even the person across from me. Food, overall was good. Had to send a ham omelette back because of the overwhelming taste of sweetness! Everything else was delicious, including the bloody Mary's. Will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place. Fantastic food and great staff. We had a few special acomadtion request durn a busy holiday rush and they met every one of them were met.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch for five. We expected it to be chaotic but it was very organized. Having been a frequent diner for over 20 years, we were left a little disappointed though. Valet was overwhelmed. Waitress was sweet and attentive, but lacked detail. She messed up a couple of the orders, but quickly fixed, and comped us a few smaller items. We were seated fast. Food was a step below what we are used to. Some new dishes were added to the menu which we look forward to trying upon our return. A solid "B" effort on a hectic day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They open your meal with croissants, butter and strawberry cream cheese, I could have taken the basket and just had those for brunch, great way to start a meal. The service was outstanding even with the restaurant at full capacity. The food was great and the selection was great for the price. The food arrived hot and we all shared our 1st bites (tradition), not a bad meal in the bunch. Surf and turf eggs benedict, breakfast in bed (Stuffed french toast) made our day. I would heartily recommend this for casual to dressy, any time of day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great menu variety that pleased my foodie mom and country fried loving hubby. Tough combo to please.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We come all the time. They did well on the reservation but we sat at table for 30 min before anybody made eye contact. Served ourselves coffee water and tea. Super busy but...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chez Zee is a favorite neighborhood restaurant of ours. Food is always delicious. Atmosphere is pretty and whimsical. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We got engaged on our 3rd anniversary dating, here, tonight. Thanks. 💍💖

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love brunch here with my young grandchildren. They always ask to go.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The folks at Chez Zee welcomed us so warmly at our anniversary dinner. There were ribbons and a "Happy Anniversary" sign on the table when we arrived. They placed us in a cozy corner. The service was EXCELLENT. The staff were very attentive and our food came quickly (which was especially impressive for a Friday night at 7pm!). I had the jalapeno gorgonzola pasta and my fiance had the jalapeno cornbread stuffed chicken and both were delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I took my wife there on the evening of her birthday. We had reservations so we were seated right on time without a wait.

The table was decorated simply but very nice in honor of my wife's day. We were able to relax, over drinks before we ordered.

The presentation was great, as was the food. There was live, soft, Piano music in the background which added to the enjoyment.

We have often been there Brunch, and it is also a great experience

My wife and I have always been pleased with Cez Zee.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Our lunch was excellent as was the service.
Open table made the reservation easy and the staff knew were coming and darted us right away. Quiche was good, especially with a fruit portion on the side. Dessert was tasty but a little too sweet. Parking is a problem unless you're there early. The complimentary valet service is a good solution. Both of us agreed that it is our favorite place on the west edge of Austin.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Definitely a hidden gem for Austin. Atmosphere is unique and interesting. Noise level was quite high however all else was very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sunday brunch. Ordered the chips and salsa. Came out hot although they were a little greasy.
The eggs benedict was the best I have had in years

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fried pickles are really good...a #1 choice! And, they give a ton for only $4.95 (or less during happy hour). Homemade tortilla chips are good too. Had a Chix Fried Steak for dinner - very bland, no seasoning in the meat or breading. The appear to be depending on the gravy to flavor everything. The potatoes and vegetables were good.

Server was short and not real receptive, gave incorrect pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I love this place. We have business lunches here on occasion. It is right down the street from our office. It gets crowded so I would recommend booking a table online. The parking is crowded but they have complimentary valet parking. The food is wonderful, your wait staff is knowledgeable about their menu and their service is excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our server was exceptional!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

There were 3 of us celebrating my boyfriend's MBA graduation. It was lovely. All the dishes were fantastic. Dessert was amazing. The wine choice was lovely. The waiter was professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Went back to Chez Zee for a birthday dinner. Love the space, our server was really great and they accommodated for the birthday with a nice sign and free slice of cake.
Biggest problem was the pecan coated chicken I had was burnt, but not totally inedible.

Anyway, still love this place for brunch. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Chez Zee is without a doubt my favorite restaurant for lunch and special occasions. Not only is the food outstanding both in variety and taste, the service is amazing, and the atmosphere is upbeat and fun. I also love the Valet Parking,

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our 8-person party arrived late for lunch (called the restaurant to let them know), and the restaurant handled graciously. Only quibble - our waiter began loudly carpet-sweeping the floor around our table while we were enjoying dessert for my sister's birthday celebration. Moving furniture and so on. It detracted. Also, the way-back table was right next to a large air conditioning unit that was blowing (loudly) on us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Service was really slow being that the restaurant wasn't very busy. (Our lunch took 1.5 hours.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love coming to CZ for brunch and dinner; especially to bring friends/family who are visiting. Usually, the service and food are satisfactory, if not above, but my latest experience fell a bit short.

Service was lacking; kept having to ask for simple things like syrup and butter for our waffles. Multiple people got waffles but he only gave us 1 butter and 1 syrup to share. When we asked for straws he only gave us 3, which wasn't enough for the whole table, and never returned with additional straws so everyone could have one. I ordered the crab cakes and when they were brought to me, they were lukewarm at best.

Im someone who likes good service at a restaurant and these things tend to annoy me slightly. For others, they wouldnt think anything of it. All-in-all I give this latest experience a C. Typically I would give them a B+/A-.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I was pleased to see that the napkins were not covered in white lint or white bugs this time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Don't sit too close to the piano if you want to talk to folks at your table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Got to restaurant at 6, 4 adults and 2 children, and not much noise. Had a variety of items for both adults and kids, so everyone had a few items to choice from. As restaurant got busier, noise increased. Everyone enjoyed their dinner and the dessert selections. Well worth a visit.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chez Zee has been a favorite of mine for many years. The food and service are excellent and always meet my expectations.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fabulous! The food is delectable. Service has always been top notch. Quirky place with a great atmosphere

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.