Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

NightingaleNightingale
(904)
$$$$
Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 130 times today
Miku RestaurantMiku Restaurant
(2247)
$$$$
Japanese | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 156 times today
BotanistBotanist
(85)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 51 times today
The Raw Bar at Lobby LoungeThe Raw Bar at Lobby Lounge
(11)
$$$$
Sushi | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 2 times today
GlowbalGlowbal
(688)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Stadium District, Vancouver
Booked 51 times today
Blue Water CafeBlue Water Cafe
(3421)
$$$$
Seafood | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 116 times today
Hawksworth RestaurantHawksworth Restaurant
(2076)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 77 times today
Minami RestaurantMinami Restaurant
(982)
$$$$
Japanese | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 63 times today
Black & Blue SteakhouseBlack & Blue Steakhouse
(1872)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 28 times today
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop HouseJoe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
(3338)
$$$$
Seafood | West End, Vancouver
Booked 128 times today
Tableau Bar BistroTableau Bar Bistro
(1225)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 17 times today
Osteria Savio VolpeOsteria Savio Volpe
(685)
$$$$
Italian | Mount Pleasant, Vancouver
Booked 64 times today
COAST RestaurantCOAST Restaurant
(2162)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 38 times today
YEW seafood + bar - Four Seasons Hotel - VancouverYEW seafood + bar - Four Seasons Hotel - Vancouver
(1743)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 25 times today
Top of Vancouver Revolving RestaurantTop of Vancouver Revolving Restaurant
(2089)
$$$$
International | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 89 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Chewies Steam & Oyster Bar - Coal Harbour

Chewies Steam & Oyster Bar Coal Harbour in Vancouver, British Columbia is an exciting and fun place to visit with a vibrant atmosphere that promises a good time. The eatery has inspiration from New Orleans with the food offered. It certainly has Cajun and Creole tastes.

Chewies Steam & Oyster Bar Coal Harbour has some great items on the menu including appetizers. Some you might want to try include the classic oysters Rockefeller, pork belly cracklin�, boudin sausage and pan seared scallops. You will have plenty of other options at Chewies Steam & Oyster Bar Coal Harbour as well, such as Southern chowder, crocodile sauce piquante, grilled salmon and beef short ribs.

#110, 1055 West Hastings St
Vancouver, BC V6E 2E9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Soul food, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday: 11:30am - Late
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - Late

Cross Street:
Between Burrard & Thurlow

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 620-7634

Website:
http://www.chewies.ca/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking through out west Hastings st and Cordova st

Executive Chef:
Greg Edwards

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2015

I chose this restaurant because it had decent reviews on Yelp and open table, and left so disappointed. First of all, the food was completely mediocre. Our party ordered the bouillabaisse, shrimp and grits, and fried oysters. All were poor quality and lack of flavor. Second, the server was incredibly rude and inattentive. He was very unprofessional and even sat down and socialized at the table next to us and put his elbow on our table. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2015

It was a great place for our girls night out. Funny staff and great service. Most of the girls had their own dinner and I shared oysters and appetizer with someone. I must say the choice we made for appetizers were all fried food and I wish our server would have told us (like are you sure you want all fried food?) as we didn't realized it was all like that. Great food but couldn't eat everything as very heavy. Love the place though and the 80s music was a plus for me. I recommend this restaurant for a fun night out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Awesome food and service. Would recommend and go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 13, 2015

Service was great. Waiters were attentive. Food was good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Going by the pictures on their Instagram and website I was expecting spectacular oysters and an interesting menu. We ordered quite a few different things to try and nothing was more than mediocre. The oysters were also not the best I've had. Had high hopes for chewies, left quite dissapointed. Also, although it is a casual oyster bar it was much too loud for a comfortable dinner for an occasion (I was there for my birthday dinner). May just be a place meant for a few drinks and oysters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2015

They have a great happy hour, typically before the crowds head down from the offices. The oysters were fresh and plentiful. Later in the evening it gets a bit too loud for great conversation, but it's a vibrant fun place to go.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2015

It was very enjoyable and pleasant experience. Would very much like to check out happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2015

As always, it's a great place to go when you are with visitors!:-)
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2015

Went with three female friends and we were promptly seated. The waiter was straight over to take a drink order and was very engaging. There were a few groups and due to the cavernous ceilings and open plan lay out, it was quite noisy and we had to shout and repeat ourselves.

The food however was fabulous. The chef special was cooked to perfection and a great sized portion. The wait staff were so so friendly and made us feel really welcome

Great food, great atmosphere, marvellous staff... Definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2015

Our party of 4 had a great dinner at Chewies last night. BC oysters weren't in stock quite yet but they had a great assortment of East Coast varieties. We love our oysters and they passed the test!! Very unique Creole / Southern twist on the menu but still a lot of West Coast favorites. We will be back to try another dish. Servers were all very pleasant and entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 11, 2015

Our food and our server were outstanding. Or server was funny, entertaining and great suggestions for our entre platter. Soo great,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 30, 2015

The staff at Chewies are always very friendly and willing to help out with menu suggestions. This was my second time at this location and once again the food was very good. My tablemates had the chicken and waffles and enjoyed every bite, I had shrimp and grits with poached eggs which was very tasty and our other tablemate had their mussels with frites, a dish I've had before and know first hand is very good.

Altogether it was a very pleasant experience and I will be returning again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Went to Chewies and enjoyed a delicious meal. They really hit it out of the park.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 10, 2015

I made a reservation with Chewies for a friend and myself post work. The hostess sat us on the patio. After 40 minutes we had not been greated or acknowledged by any staff working on the patio (which was not even full). We had not ordered a drink or food, my pay parking was basically up and I truly considered up and leaving for another restaraunt. We had to flag down a staff member to order a drink and his response "um, sure ...." The food was good but not amazing enough for such poor service. Absolutely the worst service I have ever experienced and would NEVER return to this restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2015

We usually frequent Chewies in Kits but thought we would try Coal Harbour and I think we may have a new favourite! We found street parking easily (it was a Sunday)! The food, as always, was fantastic...I had the fried chicken and waffles...which is not easy to find in Vancouver, especially quality wise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2015

Our experience was generally very positive at Chewies, our waiter was great and friendly, the food delicious and the surroundings stylish and pleasant. But it was so loud that the people at our table couldn't even speak to each other when shouting at the top of our lungs. Our waiter couldn't even take our order without putting his ear to our mouths, it was absolutely ridiculous. If the music levels were reduced to a reasonable level it would be a great overall place, but we won't return for this reason. If I go out for a meal that costs what it does at Chewies, I want to be able to speak to the people I'm with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 31, 2015

Fantastic menu and a relaxed and fun place to be. Consistently good cooking.
Reasonably priced too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2015

Very friendly staff, but the food overall was average. Good for a quick lunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 21, 2015

the food was fantastic, the restaurant setting was nice and open, the service was slow, we had to grab our own wine glass and side plates, but when the bill was dropped off, the service changed 160 %???

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 21, 2015

I've been to Chewie's many times so I thought this would be a great place to take some clients out for a fun and delicious lunch but I have to say it wasn't their best day.

Most of our dishes were way too salty and some were too spicy to finish and these were sandwhiches that my lunch companions had tried before.

I was also not impressed that our server brought the bill without asking if anyone wanted dessert or coffee/tea. I won't be in a hurry to dine there anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2015

V slow service. Drinks took ages to come. Initially server advised GF allergery could be accommodated. Food arrived and not gf. Server then eventually advised could not accommodate GF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2015

I only got to try the crab cakes and I had a taste of someone's jambolaya or similar to that. Spicy but good. I must go back to try out other things!!
I thought it was hoot the way the servers pour the wine right up to the top of the glass. You have to slurp it off!!
The only negative is the construction outside the building. You need a bigger sign for Chewies. People couldn't find the restaurant!

Joanie

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2015

We ordered 18 delicious oysters and a bottle of an Argentina Malbec red wine. The staff was very knowledgeable, fun to interact with and were very prompt with their service. We sat on the patio and it was overall, a very nice and enjoyable evening. I would recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2015

Had the Boulliabaisse. Was just ok. Portion was very small. Had to eat something else when I got home. My friend's jambalaya seemed more filling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 5, 2015

Great food, always consistent with their menu. Perfect for oyster lovers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2015

Chewie's is one of my favorite places in coal harbor to come an unwind after work. I have been there many times and always have had a great experience. With a wide variety of Oysters, cold drinks, and awesome barbecue, Chewie's really hits the spot.

There lunch Chicken and Waffles is a great meal any day of the week, but the appy menu and buck a shuck happy hour is amazing.

Thanks again for another great visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2015

Great Happy Hour spot in Waterfront! Can't beat their buck-a-shuck!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2015

It is very quiet at lunch but later in the afternoon and evening it gets busier and comes to life. All the staff are great, very friendly and casual. Great beer menu and the patio is very nice it is out of the sun though you do get some reflections from the buildings surrounding it. But very nice quiet and private patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2015

If you're looking for the perfectly battered, perfectly fried, homestyle fried chicken, look no further than Chewies! The whole menu rocks but the Po' B'oy Sandwich knocked my socks off!

The staff is super friendly as well:)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2015

I was happy to finally got to try Chewies after been told by friends about their brunch - fried chicken waffles & their oyster happy hours deal. "Joyce" was the $1 beach oyster on the day we went. Loved the creamy texture! The size of oysters on the first bucket was good and quite even, however the 2nd bucket we got was literally half sized of the first ones. 3rd bucket was somewhat in between. It is just a wooh! -and then oh... Kinda thing. Overall I will definitely go back again for the oyster deal. The service was a neh tho. We needed to ask the winters several times for waters and/or order more food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2015

Good oysters, $1 a shuck during happy hour ($2 for premium ones). Very fresh and delicious. Service, on the other hand, lacks. Considering the floor was only 30% full, our server was really hard to flag down, whether it's refilling water, getting the bill, even PAYING for the bill. I think the servers should be more attentive to the customers. I've been here a couple times for lunch and last night for happy hour, each time it takes awhile before my server notices. Not impressed. PS - their chicken waffles are spectacular!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2015

The food was cold and underwhelming, was pretty disappointed. Great happy hour drink list though. Service wasn't that great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 16, 2015

The oysters were good but the bouillabaisse could have had more seafood and flavor. I had to get another server to get my check for me when I was ready to go. I would give this restaurant a second try if i am in the area again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Excellent food, great service! The quality of food is always consistent. As well, awesome choice for seafood lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 12, 2015

I was a bit disappointed, shrimp & grits had a lot of corn not so much shrimp. Maybe if I had paid more attention to what I was ordering...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2015

Food was good and server knowledgeable although occasionally somewhat absent

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 5, 2015

Great place to eat. Brunch is amazing. Unique fun environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2015

From the time we found the door (past a bit of construction) until we left, we were well taken care of by prompt and professional staff. A great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2015

Shrimp & grits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Our server was very accomodating and cheerful . Great food ! Will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.