Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

A Romantic and Friendly Dining & Entertainment Experience, taste why we were voted Top New Restaurant by Indianapolis Monthly in 2012, Best Romantic Restaurant on Indy's A-List for 2014 & 2015, given an A+ Rating by Avanti, received Diners Choice awards from OpenTable in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 and named the Best Restaurant of 2012 by Nuvo NewsWeekly!



In an environment of Classic Comfort, Chef Joseph's welcomes Indianapolis locals and visitors alike to entertain important clients, enjoy a romantic dinner, gather for private functions, enjoy a Champagne Brunch on Sunday, featuring Live Local music and unforgettable special events, such as our renowned monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.



Chef Joseph's is a locally owned dining establishment that features a World Fusion Cuisine. Joseph Heidenreich utilizes his thirty plus years of international, award-winning culinary experience to provide a seasonally focused menu which changes frequently.

115 East Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 600-3577

Website:
http://www.chefjosephs.com/

Entertainment:
Romantic Supper Club



Our main dining room and lounge are comfortably appointed with all of the elements your special romantic evening requires. We are uniquely positioned to provide a fun and entertaining Supper Club experience. From 7pm to 10pm our featured musician of the evening enhances the comforting atmosphere and sets the mood for romance. Join us for Saturday and Sunday Brunch featuring Live, Local Music, a Bloody Mary Bar, Endless Champagne and an ever changing menu!

Parking Details:
We recommend the Regions Tower Parking Garage at 150 East Ohio Street, directly across the street from Chef Joseph's. Parking is $4.00 after 4pm and on the weekends, making it some of the most affordable parking in Indianapolis.

Public Transit:
One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Heidenreich

Private Party Facilities:
Business & Board



This elegant and functional private space will provide you with the tools you need for a successful company meeting, client presentation, or small special event. Features include:
State-of-the-art presentation technology featuring a 60" wall-mounted flat screen with laptop connectivity.
Free wireless Internet access.
Multiple layout options, including a large boardroom-style table that seats up to 26, smaller table configurations seating 34, or theater-style seating accommodating up to 50.
Private entrance and exit, if desired.
Private food and beverage service, separate from the main dining area.
No room charge with a minimum food and drink order. Available for reservation to accommodate your event duration and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
John Mays: (317) 600-3577

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Refined and Elegant Downtown Restaurant for Your Special Event

Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner and is a perfect choice for your private meetings and special events. Our special events are frequent and can be seen at http://www.chefjosephs.com/events/ Whether an exceptional Wine Pairing Dinner or just an evening of fabulous music, it's all here.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Cozy (14)
Fun (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Chef Joseph’s never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Sarah was so awesome!! I talked to her on the phone and she made sure that we had a wonderful experience for my birthday!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This is our go-to place for any special occasion. Awesome food, music, staff, and ownership!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was a great pre-concert meal. Nice vibe and good food. Great service and we would definitely go again before Pacers games.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Wonderful, not very busy and live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always spectacular! Sarah is the best!
Love the piano music!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent experience except for very loud table next to ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The service was great. The ambiance was very nice with some soft piano and voice accompaniment which still made conversation possible. The food we ordered was very good ...

However, the selection was very ordinary, very limited, very American ... steak, salmon, pork, chicken, leg of lamb, mushroom stuffed ravioli and a seafood special with scallops. That was pretty much it.... whole menu with "appetizers", salads/soups, lunch and dinner was all on one page.

Wife had seafood special and I had the leg of lamb... both were very good. However, I was extremely disappointed in the lack of choice nor any really unique dishes. They have a "small plate menu" for appetizers but again, somewhat limited ... was hoping to find some escargot ...but alas they must have crawled out of the restaurant...

Again food we had was delicious ... would be a four on its on, but combined with the very limited menu - which only deserved a two star rating, gave it a three star as the "average" between the two criteria....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Amazing experience!! First time and we were celebrating my birthday Juan took great care of us. food and mimosas buttonless 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Live Sports, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Bar Seating, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Love it every time!!! Great food, ambience, and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

This restaurant is ok. I had the steak with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. It was ok. The mash needed some help. My wife had the lamb shank with garlic mashed potatoes and haricot verts. The lamb was very tender. It could've used a little more seasoning. This was still a good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We have dined at Chef Joseph's many times and have always found it to be a fun and enjoyable place for a fun evening. Our son is a musician who sings and plays piano during dinner at Chef Joseph's and we always have a good time.

Our chef was not quite as attentive in filling our drinks and checking on us throughout the evening as we would have liked. However, we always enjoy Chef Joseph's and the food is always outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Although the décor is formal and elegant I always think of Chef Joseph's as more like "Cheers" because of the friendliness of the host, wait staff and bartender. Creative food (brunch) graciously served, good music and a relaxed atmosphere - one of my favorite places in Indianapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great place. Our favorite for brunch for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a girls brunch. We were seated in a side room per our request which was off the main dining room. The brunch menu is not extensive but it was very good. One person in our party had the French toast which they loved. The avocado toast dish was also a hit. The omelette was cooked perfectly. Would recommend and plan to return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was small and there were a number of tables without clients that were not cleaned off. The piano/singer was a bit too loud, so not a great place to have a conversation if that's what you are looking for. I had the huevos rancheros with the pork. It was good except the pork was really overcooked. A little hard to eat.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a great dinner! Everything was exceptional from our wait staff, drinks, appetizers and meal. Even the live music was great. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I thought the food was supposed to be "foodie quality". The cheese plate consisted of cheddar and provolone you could get at Kroger. It was supposed to be served with flat bread and was served with a cold flour tortilla. My husband's broccolini had A LOT of raw garlic on it and his pork was average. My dish was OK, but drowning in pesto cream and had jar roasted red peppers dumped in the middle. The music was horrible, and we asked to be moved the the back room. Good things: our server tried to accommodate us as best she could, our bottle of wine was good and the dining room was pretty, (for the few minutes we were seated out there).
Sorry, big thumbs down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We love Chef Joseph's! The restaurant is beautifully decorated, lovely greeting as you come in, great staff and good value. The food does not disappoint.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Brunch!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was our first time there. It was my wife and I and our 16 year old son for Sunday Brunch.
Very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. Great staff, attentive and attention to detail. Staff seemed happy to be there with genuine smiles. Chef even stopped at our table...we had a nice chat and talked about our next trip and a wine pairing. Beautiful room nicely designed and comfortable. The make your own Bloody Mary Bar was outstanding...I highly recommend. Overall they exceeded our expectations. The website alone sold me on making a online reservation...but when you finally arrive... this place is so much more! Kudos to Chef Joseph and staff. Can't wait to see you all again soon! - The James Family

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Live Music, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great time! Amazing live music! I felt a little under dressed but was welcomed by the FOH staff. We had a group of 6 with a spacious table/booth perfect for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great food and really great service. The staff is so accommodating and friendly. I wish I could rate them 4 1/2 stars, but the app won't let me. The only ding I had to give them was the sound of the live piano. It was really loud and not conducive for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Overall good. Food was well prepared and presented. Server was a bit abrupt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Indy. Great ambience, great food, service was superb, and the waiter and owner could not have made this a more enjoyable evening. A really nice selection of entrees, and the restaurant itself has a throwback feel- red tapestry, jazz music, and just a special feeling of old, not just your typical new construction.

My wife had the salmon, I had the sea bass special. Both had excellent taste and presentation.

Overall I can't say enough about the wonderful experience my wife and I hade here, and I see us heading there for Sunday brunch or one of the special evening dinners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the food was great, it was a bit pricey for the amount you get. The server was professional, but a little too professional and not personable. The owner made his rounds to tables, but never stopped by our table. The menu selection is all right, but don't go expecting everyday comfort food. I was hoping for the goat cheese appetizer, but it was not on the menu. Drink and bar selection was good.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our first visit for Sunday brunch. Food and service were both excellent. Great atmosphere. We had the opportunity to talk with the owner. Very friendly and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very good atmosphere- wish was closer to my home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is our favorite place when we head out for dinner. Good food. Great atmosphere. Live music. It doesn't get better when you want a true dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was great. Service was slow even though they were not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The sautéed chicken with artichoke, brie, and lemon caper cream sauce was delicious and the service was really great. John and his entire staff do an incredible job. We really enjoyed the live music - Heart2Heart - such a great ambiance. Love Chef Joseph's!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent options for dinner. Wine selection was varied and complimentary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great as always!
Would have preferred to hear more of the music a bit more, but the table close to us was very loud -but having a wonderful time. :-) so it's a great atmosphere for fun, catch up brunches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our entrees were excellent. We were a little disappointed in the appetizers, particularly the calamari. Loved the atmosphere and dinner music. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

AS always a great time was experienced. The owner was there and the atomosphere was great. Reminds you of a place that might be in NYC with a cozy cabaret feel. I love the martinis and the bartender was very neighborly. Food was great and service was wonderful. I would recommend wholeheartedly.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My first time here but it won't be my last! What a hidden gem! Our server was excellent, it was her birthday & she was very happy to be working on it. All of the food was wonderful. Went with a group of friends & we all agreed we want to go back & take our husbands.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

came to support a family member in the band. we had a great time.
ordered calamari and it was the best we've ever had! tender and fresh.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing meal with great service and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great place, intimate setting, execlent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Loved all of it!!! Great ambience, staff phenomenally friendly, we will be back as often as we can fit it in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.