Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room

A Romantic and Friendly Dining & Entertainment Experience, taste why we were voted Top New Restaurant by Indianapolis Monthly in 2012, Best Romantic Restaurant on Indy's A-List for 2014 & 2015, given an A+ Rating by Avanti, received Diners Choice awards from OpenTable in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 and named the Best Restaurant of 2012 by Nuvo NewsWeekly!



In an environment of Classic Comfort, Chef Joseph's welcomes Indianapolis locals and visitors alike to entertain important clients, enjoy a romantic dinner, gather for private functions, enjoy a Champagne Brunch on Sunday, featuring Live Local music and unforgettable special events, such as our renowned monthly Wine Pairing Dinners.



Chef Joseph's is a locally owned dining establishment that features a World Fusion Cuisine. Joseph Heidenreich utilizes his thirty plus years of international, award-winning culinary experience to provide a seasonally focused menu which changes frequently.

115 East Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 600-3577

Website:
http://www.chefjosephs.com/

Entertainment:
Romantic Supper Club



Our main dining room and lounge are comfortably appointed with all of the elements your special romantic evening requires. We are uniquely positioned to provide a fun and entertaining Supper Club experience. From 7pm to 10pm our featured musician of the evening enhances the comforting atmosphere and sets the mood for romance. Join us for Saturday and Sunday Brunch featuring Live, Local Music, a Bloody Mary Bar, Endless Champagne and an ever changing menu!

Parking Details:
We recommend the Regions Tower Parking Garage at 150 East Ohio Street, directly across the street from Chef Joseph's. Parking is $4.00 after 4pm and on the weekends, making it some of the most affordable parking in Indianapolis.

Public Transit:
One of the main hubs for the IndyGo Bus service is directly across the street from Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room on the corner of Ohio Street and Pennsylvania Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Heidenreich

Private Party Facilities:
Business & Board



This elegant and functional private space will provide you with the tools you need for a successful company meeting, client presentation, or small special event. Features include:
State-of-the-art presentation technology featuring a 60" wall-mounted flat screen with laptop connectivity.
Free wireless Internet access.
Multiple layout options, including a large boardroom-style table that seats up to 26, smaller table configurations seating 34, or theater-style seating accommodating up to 50.
Private entrance and exit, if desired.
Private food and beverage service, separate from the main dining area.
No room charge with a minimum food and drink order. Available for reservation to accommodate your event duration and time of day.

Private Party Contact:
John Mays: (317) 600-3577

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Refined and Elegant Downtown Restaurant for Your Special Event

Chef Joseph's at The Connoisseur Room is a wonderful place for lunch or dinner and is a perfect choice for your private meetings and special events. Our special events are frequent and can be seen at http://www.chefjosephs.com/events/ Whether an exceptional Wine Pairing Dinner or just an evening of fabulous music, it's all here.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chef Joseph's at the Connoisseur Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (48)
Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Authentic (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (10)
Historic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great dinner. The service and atmosphere were everything we were looking for. Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Chef Joseph's is a great little gem nestled between the Circle and Mass Ave. With live music, excellent food and a very charming bar area elevated over the dining room, it is one of our favorite pre-theater spots. The atmosphere is like a club -- warm wood decor and great live music.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The flavor of the food was not equivalent to the price. We likely would have gotten a better meal at cheesecake factory for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was amazing from the time we checked in for our reservation to the time we paid for the bill!
The food was decadent and delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed Mother's Day Champagne Brunch at Chef Joseph's. The food, mimosas, music & outstanding service makes for an enjoyable dining experience. We will definitely dine at this restaurant in the near future. 🌹

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

When the soup arrives a minute after you order it not a good sign. I would have expected the meal quality to be better was disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was excellent, the food was amazing , the atmosphere was so warming and welcoming and very beautiful inside. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was fantastic and the service impeccable! Thank you!!!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was intrigued by the "endless champagne brunch" offered on Sundays. The menu featured creative and excellent options, and was delicious. The live music was a little loud for conversation, the mimosas were a little weak (but maybe that's just me...), and the coffee was slightly more than warm when it came out. But the service was excellent (never had to ask for a coffee or mimosa refill) and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful restaurant for our special occasion celebrating our daughter's MBA graduation. Live music added a special touch to our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were meeting up with some long-time friends and everything was perfect. We enjoyed a jazz pianist, as well as a jazz trio. Excellent food and atmosphere!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a wonderful evening at Chef Joseph's. Food was superb (great price point too) and atmosphere was lovely. I was celebrating my birthday but i would definitely recommend this spot for a nice date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great service and food. Brunch was wonderful. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My favorite place to eat in Indianapolis hands down.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our night started off badly, when we realized we left or tickets for the Murat theatre at home. We told our waiter we needed to be out quickly to go home for the tickets. We had to have the chicken jalapeño meatballs, but then ordered sandwiches instead of a bigger dinner. My husband had the burger, I had the grilled cheese and soup. Everything was wonderful and we were out the door in 30 min.! Can't wait to go back and try more on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wife's pork tenderloin was exceptional! I will be taking her back...

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere! Really like the vibe of the place and the music was nice. Would want to come back to try brunch

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a repeat visit, the restaurant is always very nice. The vocals were perhaps a bit loud but otherwise once again we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went to Easter brunch here with my parents and partner to celebrate my confirmation. The atmosphere at Chef Joseph's is fancy yet warm, the food is fantastic, and the service is exceptional.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waitress was great. However, during our meal we noticed a large insect crawling across the floor which made the experience less appealing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

50th birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was fabulous and we listen to King Crabb which was outstanding!!! Our waiter was great and very attentive. It was our 38th wedding anniversary and they all made us feel very special!!! I have told everyone I about this fabulous place to dine!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Live Music, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

If you don't want to sit by the music request to sit at the bar area especially on Sundays

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Chef Joseph's has become our favorite pre-show dining experience. The warm, rich decor, live music and top-notch food and beverages are always a hit with our friends and guests. The servers and bartenders are friendly and professional. This place always feels welcoming for a date night. The menu has a good variety from small plates to entrees. Try the Sriracha mac and cheese for a fun splurge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Everyone at Chef Joseph's is kind, professional, and inviting. The food and drinks are consistently delightful. Live music is presented every evening, providing any excellent dining experience each and every time. The monthly Big Broadway Sing-Along is a special treat not to be missed by any fan of musicals (or just pure fun)!

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always amazing! The staff is always inviting ! The food and love music for Sunday brunch is second to none!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

AMAZING , service was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service was extremely SLOW. It took over 10 minutes just for someone to initially come to our table. We had to ask multiple times for different things. It was very busy either. My coffee came AFTER my plate was served and then the coffee was cold. I could've gotten a much BIGGER coffee from Mcdonalds for a quarter more that taste much better. Definitely disappointed after having drove in from Cincinnati to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place! Have celebrated 5 different birthdays here this year! Thought we give brunch a try and it was fabulous! Bloody Mary bar was a bit too. Food delicious!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service is ALWAYS amazing! Sunday brunch menus are great and the Bloody Mary bar is heaven!

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was really good and reasonably priced. The alcohol prices are very high though. The two of us had two mixed drinks a piece. The cocktails were very good and consitant. Just very pricey. That was almost half of our bill. I will definitely go back to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful food and great Bloody Mary bar!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have been to Chef Joseph's a dozen or so times, and have NEVER been disappointed! The food, service, and atmosphere is always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As always, excellent food and outstanding service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This continues to be one of our favorite restaurants downtown. Excellent menu, great service- ask for Juan! We have never been disappointed here.
We dined there with friends on a friday night (5:45 reservation). We had the chicken meatballs as an appetizer-very tasty. My husband and I then split the "special" tuna with couscous and broccolini . The tuna had a very light asian glaze that was delicious. Tuna was done perfectly. Broccolini was cooked well-still slightly crisp. Make sure and ask for the chef's wine list. Limited but had some nice additional wines on the list-the list was handwritten which was perfect for this place (very hands on and personal. like eating at Chef's Joseph 's house with him). Great evening once again at Chef Joseph's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love, love, love this place! Great food and atmosphere! Live piano for happy hour and always lovely music when dining!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The french toast and bottomless mimosas are always great for Sunday brunch with friends! The hangover bowl is perfect for anyone who wants a filling and delicious breakfast.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is the second time we have been to Chef Joseph's and still outstanding! We will be back! 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

No wait but server rushed us through the meal. Very nice music and vocalist, but conversation is discouraged. Not good for business dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic meal at Chef Joseph's Saturday evening, wife had the special I had the pork loin both were cooked perfectly, the wine we selected was great as well. A great place for a quite dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.