About Cheever's Cafe

2409 N. Hudson
Oklahoma City, OK 73103
View Larger Map

Cheever's Cafe, located just 2 miles from Downtown Oklahoma City, specializes in contemporary comfort food with Southwest influences. Cheever's serves a variety of prime steaks, fresh seafood and wonderful salads, as well as daily and nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday 11AM – 9PM
Friday 11AM – 10:30PM
Saturday 10AM – 10:30PM
Sunday 10AM – 9PM

Cross Street:
NW 23rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 525-7007

Website:
http://www.cheeverscafe.com/

Parking Details:
We have 2 private lots adjacent to the building for parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Hodginkson

Private Party Facilities:
Private room is available for dinner parties; and will accommodate up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Yohn: (405) 525-7007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cheever's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (108)
Special Occasion (95)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
See All
Creative Cuisine (69)
Romantic (66)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Great for Brunch (56)
Great for Lunch (55)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Cozy (53)
Comfort Food (51)
Worth the Drive (50)
Historic (45)
Business Meals (44)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Casual (37)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Authentic (33)
Fun (32)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Bar Seating (19)
People Watching (15)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was great- plain simple great. Them wait staff was outstanding. And after

My wife mentioned our anniversary our waitress told us dessert was on the house.

We came with high hopes and left happy

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent for husband's birthday. Will was the perfect server. So nice and kind and helpful. He was very patient with us. Drinks were okay. Food was delicious and beautifully served. Rolls were fabulous. Loved the fried spinach. Ambience was fabulous for us oldies! We could easily talk and laugh. The dessert Will brought in for hubby's birthday was out of this world. There was enough for all of us to have a bite. All in all, the perfect evening for all of us. Still hearing about how good the steak was!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 7 days ago

The menu hasn't changed for a few years (at least for brunch) but the portion sizes sure have gotten smaller. What a shame.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious, classy, and wonderful place to enjoy a business meeting, date night, or adult family outing. I've never seen children (beyond teens) there and women have been seen in evening gowns, men in business suits - however there is not a dress code. I could see proposals happening at Cheever's and the service is second to none. An inexpensive plate will cost you 12-20 and the steaks are $34 and $38. I had a party of six and the tab was $300 plus tip. This includes waters, 2 appetizers, 2 cocktails, and 4 desserts. I've been here several times and drive an hour to enjoy it. There's a bar if you're dining alone which often has immediate seating. Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Cheever's is our go-to date night place! We've tried other places & always come back here - amazing food, service & atmosphere!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I first went to Cheever's because my lady found it on a list of 10 restaurants in Oklahoma that are difficult to get into. We were working our way through the list. It probably is hard to get into if you walk in, but they take reservations and have always been on time with the table with one. After the first time, we liked it so well, whenever we are in OKC we try our best to visit again. The food is wonderful, the service is top notch, and the atmosphere is quiet and not rushed. The deserts are also good. They don't have a large selections of deserts, and only two of them are made in house, but those two are to die for. If you order the sweet strawberry biscuit with lemon curd, don't be put off when it arrives and looks like two donuts. Once you take a bite all reservations about it will be gone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Never Disappoints. Great place to impress and eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our 2nd visit, first for lunch , this one for dinner. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent service our wait person very knowledgeable about the menu and was not wrong about the excellent chef.

The entres were outstanding and a must try is the strawberry shortcake dessert. Yum.

Pass on the house margarita it was way too strong not a good taste.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Been wanting to eat there for years, and we finally made it. Was worth the wait. Recommend making reservations to ensure your seat. Food was great and atmosphere was awesome. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We joined some friends at Cheever's for a Valentine's dinner. As usual, the food was excellent, as was the service. We waited around 10 minutes for our table, which was not excessive for a busy, busy night. With the restaurant being so busy, it was moderately noisy, but the four of us had no problem carrying on our conversations. Cheever's continues to be one of my go to restaurants as they never disappoint and have a selection of things I like. Three of the four of us had salads, and each of us said that they were exceptional. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is typically 4/5 but it was probably 2/5 this time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service,thank you for the rose.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome! Great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent. Service was OK. Had a glass of wine...it was good but, they charged $12 for, I estimate, a 3 ounce pour. Next time I will bring a measuring cup.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went to Cheevers for a Valentines lunch with my wife and our 2 young boys. Our server, Skip, was great. The food was really good as well - we hadn't been there in years but the food was as good as we remembered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Both our service and food was great. I got a beer and my wife got a glass of wine - we both enjoyed our choices. We only had dessert as far as food goes, but we had a huge piece of carrot cake which was super good. The restaurant is a great environment and was a great date spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The table we were sat at was very narrow and broad, and was sat in the middle of the bar area. Loud, poor lighting, mediocre meal at best. Absolutely not worth the money and I will not go back. There are hundreds of differnt and better options in Oklahoma City and this restaurant must do better to compete at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Oklahoma City. We always come here for special occasions. Didn't make our Valentine's reservations early enough, so we came on the 13th instead. Always a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We celebrated Valentine's Day on Monday evening due to scheduling issues for us. We have been to Cheever's before and we always love our experience. Great service, true concern from the top on down to be sure your meal is right, you are comfortable and you have everything you need to enjoy yourself. We will definitely be back again. This is one of our favorite place!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Salmon salad was not very good. Overdressed and only a small portion of cooked-to-death salmon. Fruit was finely diced and very bland. Was nice and quiet sitting by the window;conversing was easy so high marks for that. Service was good at first but dwindled at the end of our meal. Suggested cabernet of the day was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cheevers is our go-to place for special lunches or dinners. The food is excellent as is the service. The ice cream ball with toasted pecans is awesome. Portions are about right size. A little pricey for lunch but ok. I like the atmosphere. Small tables close together. Lovely bar.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great Valentines dinner spot. Nice atmosphere with great food. Especially the chicken friend steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Awesome food, great service and on point setting. We always love our celebrations at Cheevers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The wait staff was good. The food was Mediocre at best. The meat in the breakfast skillet was stringy. The enchiladas had no flavor. Nor did the rice they came with. Very pricey. I recommend going somewhere else if you want a good meal. Disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the chicken fried steak with jalapeno cream gravy and mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We don't eat out often however we really need to come here more. Very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We decided to try Cheevers's to celebrate my husband's birthday after reading the excellent reviews. And we weren't disappointed. We loved the creative selections-my son raved about his seafood tamales, I ate every bit of my halibut and my husband said his steak was one of the best he's ever had--and his birthday ice cream ball was unique and delicious! We can't wait to celebrate there again!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was incredible! The service was awesome! It's the kind of food that I was raised on (southern, grandmas cooking)! The occasion was an early Valentine's Day dinner/movie date and Cheevers was an excellent choice; both her and I were very, very pleased! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a very busy night, with the Thunder basketball game playing that evening. Even with all the tables full, we had very good service and enjoyed our delicious meal very much.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had excellent service. We ordered a variety of menu items and everyone enjoyed what they got. Order the chocolate cake- there's enough for a table to share and it is wonderful!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great restaurant with great food. I will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have been to Cheever's many times and always enjoy it. This visit we were celebrating my mother's birthday. We went early in the evening, when the restaurant is a little quieter. The food was delicious, the service first-rate, and the delicious carrot cake was on the house! If you like a pleasant restaurant with delicious food, Cheever's is a great choice!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Cheever's is a go to place for our extended monthly family brunch. As always it was great. But if you want a close to noon reservation or to make sure you are able to get the menu special, make sure to make your reservations several days in advance. I would recommend by Wednesday for a Sunday brunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Could only give a food review of "fair" this time. Was disappointed that trout I ordered was very dry. Others in party thought short ribs were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was good. We didn't like where we were sitting because it was close to the door and felt the cold wind frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wife's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Sadly, unlike all of their sister restaurants, Cheever's did not recognize our special occasion that was written in our reservation. Food and service were really good. We liked the ambiance they were going for, however it was so dark we had no idea if our food was even cooked the right way.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and service! Cheevers has been a favorite of mine for decades!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great as always. Good food good service. Hard to beat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was excellent...loved our server

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was so good. There were 4 of use and could not stop talking about how good it was. The quail appetizer was very good. I loved the atmosphere very relaxing. Will be back for sure

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I ordered the chicken salad with grapes which is always enjoyable. One of my fellow diners ordered the chicken fried steak and raved about it. The other fellow diner ordered the fried chicken salad which was also really enjoyed. Cheevers is one of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I have been to Cheevers many times and have never been disappointed. I would recommend a reservation (very easy to get ahead of time) because it can get quite busy during the lunch and dinner hour.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Another great lunch at Cheevers. the quality and service never seems to change.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My wife loves this place. Food is one of the best in OKC. Plan to go for Valentines Day.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We keep coming back to Cheevers and we are never disappointed. The food and the service are consistently very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We ate dinner at 5:30 because we were going to the Philharmonic. What a delightful experience! The chop salad was outstanding. The chicken tortilla soup was delicious. The collard greens were yummy. But, the highlight for our table were the best cheese grits I've ever tasted! We had the strawberry donut for dessert. Wonderful! One of our party had the pecan crusted ice cream ball with chocolate and caramel. Perfect combination of sweet, salty, smooth and crunchy!!! Wonderful evening. We will be back soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the history and ambience of Cheevers. The service was excellent (they read my mind - "can I take your hat sir?") The food was very good and I'll take my wife back, BUT, unfortunately I ordered the Chicken Fried Steak with jalapeño gravy(4.5 stars) and it was delicious and this is the problem: I compared it to a Chicken Fried Steak with Jalapeño

Gravy in Canyon Texas. That one dish just doesn't make it to the level I esteem Green Chilly Willies Chicken Fry w/Jalapeno gravy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is the place to go for comfortfood and great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.