Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Checkers Bistro

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm -10:00pm

Friday: 4:30pm-11pm

Saturday: 2:30pm-11pm

Sunday: 4:30pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason Black

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Authentic (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is a very sophisticated restaurant in an unlikely location. Our dinner and the service were impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love everyone at Checkers! Thanks for another lovely evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing place. Go there often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, not rushed through the meal, and to top it all off, a very well informed waiter who was able to handle my gluten feee questions. We will drive across the river to dine here again.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Checkers Bistro never disappoints. The service, food and atmosphere are always top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very friendly waiter, attentive and knowledgeable. Great food!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

There are many great restaurants in Lancaster and Checker's Bistro remains at the top of my list of faves. NEVER disappoints! The food, ambience, professional and friendly servers - this dining spot hits all the high notes!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our 22nd anniversary although we didn't tell anyone. Our favorite martinis had to be remade three times before they got them right but then they were finally good. They put way too much olive juice and then just tried to add more vodka instead of remaking it. They usually have the best martinis ever. The duck tacos are always wonderful but a little dry tonight. Our favorite entrée is the tuna frites. That was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have been to Checkers before & enjoyed it.This is probably our fault for either not asking or not looking at the wine list.My wife & I ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio & it was good.Before getting the bill my wife asked me what I thought the wine would cost per glass & I said probably about $10.00/glass. When we received our bill it was $14.00/glass.That seems to be very expensive.In the future if we do return I will ask 1st or just not order any wine.We have eaten at some of the other fine restaurants that I would consider as good as Checkers & the wine was never more than $10.00/glass.If this wine was some award winner I could almost understand the high cost but as we just asked for the house wine the cost was too much.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Hey there. We love Checkers and have been coming since the Mulberry Street location. Food is incredible, love the ambiance. Our waiter this particular night/dinner was incredible-it's like he could read our minds regarding service (is that possible?) and so very personable. Don't ever, ever let him leave.

We are never, ever disappointed and I mean that seriously...the way I feel about eating out is that my time and my money are important and if I'm going to spend them both, it better to be worth it. And with your restaurant, it is. Thank you. (Please feel free to post this on a review site).

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I've gone to Checkers 3x now. Each time I have gone, the staff seems so frenzied. The hostesses seem aloof and uninviting.
The food is decent, although pricey for standard fare.
What is irritating, though, is that you are hurried thru your meal. Everything comes out too fast like it was pre-done.
I've gone at different times as well to see if that would make a difference. No.
Unless they completely do a 360 on menu and staff, I probably won't give it another shot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Had the filet mignon, apple walnut salad and a chocolate tart. All the food was good. Enjoyed the filet, even though the sauce contained coffee flavor and I'm not a coffee drinker. Still was a good choice. Would have enjoyed more nuts in the salad and my dessert. For us the ambiance was a little lacking. Would have liked a candle on the table and real linens for an evening meal. Waitress was a little stiff, but eventually warmed up some.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and service were excellent. We had a very pleasant meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was an excellent dining experience. Craft cocktails, inventive menu, extensive wine list and great ambiance. Caesar and roasted beet salads were very well prepared. Duck tacos were super only to be followed by Tuna Frites and fresh halibut entrées. Both paired with an excellent wine. Sonia, our waitress deserves special mention as well. Knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. We will definitely add Checker's Bistro to our go-to list of Lancaster eateries.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was good but portions are small for price. There was also a very limited menu which was not noted on the website ahead of time. Overall, nice atmosphere, good drinks and food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good service. Been there many time never had a bad meal but for our tastes what's on the seasonal menu is important since the main menu is limited. Recommend checking out the seasonal menu before making reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I requested a nice quiet table online and that is exactly what we experienced. Joseph was a great waiter and our meals were very good (larger portions would have put it over the top). Thank you so much! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent service and very good food

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Checkers has become our new favorite place for a date night! Amazing food, professional service and extremely friendly. You are treated like royalty. We've been purchasing gift certificates for friends and special guests. You will love it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was our first visit to Checkers, and will certainly not be the last! We were pleasantly surprised by the warm ambience, and found ourselves continually impressed, as our evening progressed. The staff was very inviting, and attentive, without hovering. We appreciated dining at our leisure, and not being rushed. Everything from the appetizers, through desert was delicious! And, the French pressed coffee, at our table, was a welcome surprise! In all honesty, we had never tried this lovely establishment, because of the name, which we didn't think suited the venue, and the exterior... which didn't give any indication as to the inviting interior. We are eagerly looking forward to our visit, and will enjoy the fabulous bar, next time, which looked incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The service was very good. Food was nicely prepared, presented and was delicious. Wine was a bit pricey.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The ambiance and food wee amazing! The coffee cured filet is to die for!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Checkers used to be a favorite. We didn't like the new abbreviated menu. Calamari was soggy

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I both had the roasted chicken. Hard to say how many times in our lives we have eaten chicken, but we agreed that is was the best chicken we have ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great service, great food, beautiful restaurant! Although delicious, the scallops were only sitting on a truffle-leek base - a starch or vegetable to accompany it would make them worth the price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and service. Highly recommend the Coffee Filet and the salt crushed calamari

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I was dining with someone who is particular about her meal and cocktails. She often makes substitutions and will send back food. I am happy to say that she had high praise for the meal and drinks. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It is a very pretty restaurant. The tables are spaced far enough apart that you don't feel like you're sitting on top of someone. It is elegant and pretty upscale for a relatively small town. The service was very good. The hostesses were not incredibly friendly upon arrival, but the server was very knowledgeable, friendly, and prompt.

The food portions were small. I had a piece of halibut fish and it was about two inches wide. It looked about the size of a dessert. I found it to be very Bland although it tasted fresh. It would have been most helpful to have salt and pepper on the table. It may have also been better if I had been given some lemon or drawn butter. My friend ordered the crab cake. It was only one crab cake and the half lemon she got with it was bigger than the crab cake. These were more like lunch size servings. Both of my friends had to order dessert because they were still hungry after eating their entrees.

It was crowded as we were there around 8 p.m. on a Saturday night. It was very loud in the restaurant and I felt like I had to talk very loudly for my friend at the end of the table to hear me. I was impressed when I got there, but the flavor and quantity of the food did not live up to the hype. I probably wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were celebrating a 60th Birthday . Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with very nice ambience. Our server was terrific with a very cool tie👍😉. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I had a great meal, as I got the Tuna frites and my wife got the chicken. We loved both meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

this was our go to restaurant for special occasions, something has happened to the food and service.....we took friends raving about this place and we and they were very disappointed

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always, Checkers is consistent in their delivery of excellent service and inventive food. I have yet to have a negative experience here. You can tell they pay attention to the details. And the space is beautiful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent dinner, service, atmosphere. Only 1 minor complaint was larger group next to us took the volume level up a bit, making it a bit difficult for our party of 4 to talk. . But still excellent all the way around!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food is fantastic. Restaurant a little noisy and a little crowded. Servers were good but were covering a lot of tables. Portion sizes are small. The food is makes it worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Dinner after a show at The Fulton Theatre. Saw reviews on line and decided to give it a try. Who would have thought a great dining experience could be found in a strip mall? It's a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food! May be our new favorite spot in Lancaster.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Lovely evening to catch-up with friends! We were not rushed and ate great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place for an elegant celebration lunch or dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was my and my husband's favorite restaurant before. They moved to a better location and bigger space, and we like the decor and atmosphere. However, their menu was getting smaller and smaller, and prices higher and higher. I wouldn't even mind that, but the food quality is a hit and miss now. I did not like their French onion soup, and the salad I got was just OK. My husband ordered his steak medium, and it came at least medium- well, if not well done. Our server was nice, but we did not see him much (short-staffed?) All together- we were disappointed... I hope it will improve, will wait a while until we go back there again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I visited Checkers for dinner while in Lancaster for business. It was a last minute decision and we were able to get reservations on a Friday night with only a half hour wait from the time I made the reservations. We were very very pleased with our meals, from the crispy Caesar salads & Irish soda bread, to the scallops and coffee crusted filet....absolutely delicious. Dessert was a lovely chocolate tart and everything was beautifully presented! Our server, Adam, was very attentive and accommodating with a few special requests.
We are very much looking forward to visiting again....we live an hour away but it will be well worth the trip!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.