Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Checkers Bistro

The sophisticated and timeless Dining Room offers diners a warm and intimate space to enjoy Chef Daniels inventive seasonal menus. The dining room is divided in to 3 areas, the Wine Salon, the Stage and the Champions Room.

The Wine Salon is an elegantly appointed dining area that faces the glass-enclosed wine cellar.

The Stage is a raised area, longer than it is wide, facing a full-length wall of beautiful old casement windows.

The Champions Room is a private area that can be part of the restaurant flow or cordoned off for privacy.

398 Harrisburg Avenue
Lancaster, PA 17603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
RESTAURANT

Monday - Friday 5 PM - 10 PM
Saturday & Sunday 11 AM - 10 PM

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11 AM - 3 PM

BAR

Monday - Thursday 4:30 PM - 10 PM
Friday 4:30 PM - 11 PM
Saturday 11 AM - 11 PM
Sunday 11 AM - 10 PM

Happy Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Cross Street:
Charlotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 509-1069

Website:
http://www.checkersbistro.com/

Catering:
Many of our guests look to host special events, like birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, or private business functions offsite, at their homes or business. Checkers Bistro provides catering and event management throughout the Lancaster area. Our team will help you locate the perfect location and do everything necessary to create a unique event. Whether entertaining for an intimate gathering of friends, planning a wedding, larger special occasion or a full day business event, we will listen to your needs, assess the challenges and lead you through every step to assure a wonderful experience.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in parking lots in both the front (off Charlotte Street) and the rear (off Harrisburg Avenue), along the street on Charlotte Street and in the Snavely Lumber’s parking lot, just a half a block up Charlotte Street.

Public Transit:
Red Rose Transit Authority buses stop and pickup 1 block from the restaurant.
James Street is the closest public transport bus stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason Black

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Checkers Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Romantic (37)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
814 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We did not feel our waitress was attentive enough. She started off by spilling water from the pitcher all over my new suede heels.(first time wearing them). She did not come back enough to ask how the food was or if we needed anything.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The New York Strip Steak that was ordered was tough and tasteless. I sent it back, and finally chose to try the Flat Iron steak, which was better than the New York Strip. The restaurant kindly sent a complimentary bowl of soup to me while I waited for my entrée. Overall, both my wife and I were somewhat disappointed in the overall selection of entrees, as well as the food quality itself. We felt that we would get better dinners at similar restaurants, such as The Stockyard and The Belvedere Inn. Our server was very good, and was quite attentive to our needs, which made the experience somewhat better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I've only ever had good food and service at Checkers Bistro. Really nice atmosphere, not so dark you can't read your menu and I can always hear the others when speaking at my table, both of which I appreciate very much. The food is always very good but this time my entree was amazing. I had the Diver Scallops with leeks and enjoyed every bit. The other diners joining me enjoyed their dinner selections equally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

A few friends and I went to Checkers for Lancaster City Restaurant Week. The service was great and the food was excellent. The LCRW deal was a great value, I got the calamari, tuna frites, and lemon chiffon cake for just $30. The portions were more than enough. I would not hesitate to recommend Checkers, whether during LCRW or not!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Ambiance is beautiful! Staff, both hostess and waiters, were incredibly well mannered and very friendly. Food was delicious. Unfortunately, the delivery of our food to our table was VERY slow, especially considering there were only 2 of us.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful dinner but unless you change the situation at the bar we won't be back. We arrived early hoping for a drink before dinner and because all the seats at the bar were full we were not permitted to stand by the bar. The four of us had to sit in a not very comfortable tiny area in the lobby, not the way we hoped to start our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great service. Night atmosphere. Food was good but not anything terribly exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We decided on this restaurant for a special birthday celebration because of the good reviews. I was very disappointed in the service. There were five in our party and four pieces of bread were offered. I ordered the steak frites and the steak was so tough it couldn't be cut with the knife that they had offered. I asked for a steak knife and the waitress said that they don't have any, that the steak is so tender it doesn't need a steak knife. Wrong. When I informed her that I did indeed need a steak knife, she informed me to continue using the same knife and she would come back later. She did come back, but never asked about the steak knife. After that, the service changed and she became very short and curt with us. I won't return again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We are from out of town and have made Checkers one of our "musts" when we visit! The food is delicious and very reasonable. I had their roast chicken and my wife had the coffee-rubbed filet. My chicken was deliciously moist through-out and consisted of two big pieces of chicken. The filet was also cooked perfectly. Service was very attentive and professional. Wish we lived in town so we could visit more often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband & I live an hour and a quarter away but we make an effort to drive to Lancaster a couple of times a year to have dinner at Checkers. We love the atmosphere, food and service we receive. We would eat here much more often if we lived closer.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had out of town guests and choose Checkers based on our past experiences. Again we were not disappointed. Enjoyed some recent changes to the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was perfect, our waitress was sweet and the entire experience was wonderful. Always my go to place for a home run night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Happy to drive from northern Baltimore County, MD once a month for a great martini, duck tacos and dinner.
My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food! It was very crowded the night we went and consequently pretty noisy. The food overcame the minuses.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Checkers Bistro never disappoints. They have an interesting menu with wonderfully prepared options. We had the evening special of halibut with pineapple salsa served over fried yucca... just outstanding!! So many nice choices to dine in Lancaster now, but we'll be back here again soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The menu presented a lot of different options to chose from. I had the grilled chicken which was very tender and juicy and my husband had the coffee infused steak which he loved. The small calamari was perfect for two people. The only thing we didn't get was bread which I wasn't sure if it was based on what we ordered. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Lancaster. Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Checkers Bistro is our favorite Lancaster restaurant. The food, the atmosphere, the attentive wait staff all work together to make it a great dining pleasure. We have never been disappointed with any aspect of dining at Checkers Bistro.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant in downtown Lancaster. Off street parking. Menu is small but everything we've ever had has been excellent. They were crowded so service was a bit slow. Recommend the scallops and the coffee rubbed filet. Also gazpacho and onion soup were superb. Me spouse lives the beet salad. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Everything (food, service, magazines on the table since I was dining alone) was excellent. This is a great place to sit and relax and enjoy a great dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My husband & I had a wonderful dinner here. Service was great, food expertly prepared. Just a tad noisy but worth putting up with noise level to enjoy such a terrific dining experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food, perfectly prepared - excellent and friendly service in a well-designed and attractive setting. We will definitely return on our next visit to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Consistently excellent experience. Wonderful atmosphere, food, service. Outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wife and I went for our anniversary. Had a great time. Server very attentive, food was excellent, will go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Richard, our server was extraordinary, as were the food runners.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very wonderful atmosphere and food. Staff was very kind and knowledgeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was great! We were treated like royalty.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Checkers has a wonderful ambiance and the waitress (and her assistant) took good care of me and my dinner date. The Peking duck tacos were excellent as was my pasta dish. The desert was very good as well. The dinner was such a pleasant experience that my date and I had a cocktail in the Checkers' bar afterwards.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday at this restaurant. Everyone enjoyed their food immensely. The menu was slightly limiting but that's often a good sign of fresh food done well. We'll return for future special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent place to dine for special occasions and for every day. The waiter was professional, attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Normally our favorite place in town. Service was slow even though restaurant was not busy. Meals were a bit disappointing compared to previous experiences. Hoping this was an anomaly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Checkers never disappoints. The service, food, drinks, and atmosphere are top notch.
Their scallops are one of the best foods we have ever had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Made reservations for my wife's birthday and brought our 1 year old along. Everyone was accommodating and polite. The food was excellent and priced fairly. I have reccomeded this place to many people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Enjoyed the food, wine and company. Unfortunately, the acoustics in the dining areas are terrible. While there were empty tables throughout the dinning room, we were sat between two occupied tables, and to boot there was a rather loud table directly across from our table. It was so loud that I couldn't hear what the other person, sitting just 18 inches away from me, was saying.
I will give the staff credit, for when I asked for a different table, they were very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We hadn't been to Checkers Pub for quite a while and after we left decided it won't be long till we go back. There is a great menu, our server was outstanding and cocktails custom prepared. There is a small but nice wine list. The only criticism is that it is a bit noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our server Laura was incredible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very Nice Bastille Day Menu with several course offerings and a nice dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I don't know where to start,
From the minute we walked in, to the after dinner drinks,this was by far the most relaxing, enjoyable, evening we've had in a long time. Food, service, ambiance , are just top notch. I Really can't leave a good enough review. Go experience Checkers you definetly won't be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. Got special attention and as usually excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.