Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas

Located at the Tower of the Americas, the landmark symbol of San Antonio since 1968, Chart House is legendary for its top-of-the-catch seafood, succulent steaks & decadent desserts. Enjoy outstanding cuisine, spectacular views and exceptional service as you marvel the city below. Be sure to relax with a cocktail in the sophisticated setting of Bar 601.
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)Take right at Light-Turn right into Tower of the Americas Parking
From Downtown: Driving on Market Street East.Take right at Alamo Street,Take Left at Cesar Chavez,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez).Go through the light at Alamo Street ,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35, 281N),Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez ,Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right Parking

739 East Cesar Chavez Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3pm-10pm; Friday: 3pm -11pm; Saturday: 11am - 11pm; Sunday 11am-10pm; Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11am - 3pm;
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-3101

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Catering:
The chart house also offers off site catering for corporate receptions, product lunches & business lunches.

Parking Details:
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)
Take right at Light & turn right to park
From Downtown:
Driving on Market Street East, Take right at Alamo Street. Take Left at Cesar Chavez Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez) Go through the light at Alamo Street Turn left into Tower Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35)
Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez
Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right

Executive Chef:
Paul Filiberto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Full service, turn key from start to finish featuring incredible food with spectacular views & unparalleled service. Please contact us about your intimate or corporate events hosting up to 3,000. The sky is literally the limit!

Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (254)
Special Occasion (210)
Romantic (202)
See All
Good for a Date (187)
Good for Anniversaries (181)
Good for Birthdays (108)
Worth the Drive (80)
Quiet Conversation (77)
Historic (66)
Fun (62)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Business Meals (56)
Cozy (54)
Happy Hour (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Casual (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Authentic (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
People Watching (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Family Style (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Healthy (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Waterfront (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
6975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit to the Tower restaurant. We absolutely love it. Marcus, our waiter, was extremely nice and attentive! He helped us with the menu and made some awesome suggestions. Thanks Marcus!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

The view was amazing, we were there as it turned dark so experienced the city view and city at night. Food was disappointing. Main course served in the middle of our appetizer, then was like warm. Prime rib was fatty, potatoes cold. $30 too much for this. Coffee was served cold and had to be returned. Table next to us had a young child who watched a video on blast the whole dinner. I felt the wait staff should have addressed that. I would not return for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated our one year anniversary and the restaurant was very nice and made a special menu for us to take home and service was very good. The view is amazing and a must see and the food well let's just say you will not be disappointed and might order more, that's how good it is.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

This has become a birthday tradition for my grandchildren. They love the overall experience, the view, the food, especially the lava cake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

We have a tradition of taking my nieces and nephews here when they graduate from high school. This time for some reason it seemed a little more noisy in the restaurant. Chilean Seabass was fantastic, other dishes ordered did not stand out as much. And though I appreciate the fact that they take your picture, it would be nice if you want asked multiple times if you want to purchase it. Amazing views of downtown San Antonio!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

No one would answer the phone when calling for reservation, nor did anyone return call for requested reservation. Though nothing available online to reserve past 4:15pm, restaurant had much available seating, when leaving. Service was notibly slow.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food did not impress me. Overpriced. The waitress sounded like a mouse and was very hard to hear. She did not check up on us frequently.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was not worth the price. Lacked flavor, and my chicken farfalle was so greasy that i emded up with severe heartburn after our meal. The only part of my meal i enjoyed was the lemony sauce that topped my chicken fritter. My husband ordered the flounder and when served, it was literally the size of a fish fin. Waiter was excellent and attentive, the view was beautiful, the atmosphere was very fancy. We felt very ritzy, Nd enjoyed the atmosphere. We will not eat here again because overall was not worth the money food wise, but would recommend just for the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

The service (Hector) was excellent and the food best in SA. Even the drinks were very fresh with excellent flavor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

View and service was great.10 oz Prime rib was disappointing small and fatty.Luckily I added a lobster tail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Beyond a great view, excellent service and amazing food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for a special 13th birthday. The birthday boy was greeted by our waitress with a happy birthday and given a bday card, the top of the menu had happy 13th birthday language and the dessert plate was so pretty with a birthday message. Wow, so so nice and special!!! Outstanding details I appreciate.
Overalls food was outstanding but I rated it four stars because it was all seafood and my party did not eat any seafood. I wish there was a non-seafood option.
Once the sun went down, it was a little dark in the restaurant BUT if I would have been on a date, I would have loved the lighting.
Great restaurant and will go again next time I'm in San Antonio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was wonderful for our special birthday dinner

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was S.l.ooooo.w! 4:00, no one in the restaurant and took 1 hour to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and went for our anniversary, she loved the crab cake sandwich.
Great place for special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

we set up an online reservation.
upon arrival you are greeted and will have your pic taken in front of an amazing backdrop *you have option of buying picture later *. you are then asked to wait by elevators. it's a nice ride up and the view is amazing. it can be a bit crowed also try to stand on side across from elevator operator if you want the perfect close up view *if not afraid of heights*. when you arrive you are shown to table.
we were lucky to be by window for the view is breath taking. it's a slow rotation and you have markers on window pane to let you know what side of town you are viewing.
the mules hit the spot and the food - just wow. i'm not much of a fish person but that snapper oh that snapper..what an amazing burst of goodness just exploding in your mouth. we ended our meal with the lava molten with strawberry ice cream (extra).
the price ranges from reasonable to ouch so plan well. for two we were at 125-150. well worth it for our occasion. i definitely recommend the snapper as well as the filet mignon.
when finished show your receipt to elevator operator and your taken up to observation deck. stay in or go out just keep in mind going out is not for faint of heart. it's a bit windy. make sure you take plenty of quarters and have your camera ready.
our first time experience at Chart House was truly an occasion we will reminisce about for time to come.

thank you for such an amazing first time experience. thank you for such delicious food. thank you charter house for a memorable anniversary.
m&c

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was wonderful! Food and service was outstanding! View was awesome!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This restaurant has the best view around, high above the city of San Antonio. The food was delicious especially the Key Lime pie. The wait staff were very attentive. Not to be missed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This restaurant is operated by Landry's under its Chart House trademark. The facility offers an excellent view. Nice clean facility.

Regarding the food, you DO NOT get what you pay for at this restaurant. We paid $31 for a single entree of 'stuffed flounder with golden mashed potatoes and asparagus.' The stuffed flounder was the size of 1/2 of a tennis ball. The mashed potatoes were only slightly larger and topped by 2 spears of asparagus... yes, just 2. That was the entire plate, for $31...and the taste was very very marginal. Food was served just barely warmer than room temperature.

I have lived in New Orleans and have dined in many of the finest restaurants from California to Florida to New York, so this is not just sour grapes. My wife had a Caesar salad that could have been prepared at any kitchen table...there was nothing special or exceptional about it. It was essentially a Randall's bag salad for $9.

An appetizer of 'Kim Chee Calamari' for $14+ was possibly the worst seafood I have ever eaten. There was NO calamari taste left after being covered with the flavors of somewhat greasy fried vegetables on a plate piled high with super dry rice noodles.

We understand that this is a 'venue' for tourists. It would be different if the food was at least of good quality, but there was nothing that would lead us to recommend Landry's (operators of the Chart House Restaurant) as a place to take friends or family. Just visit the observation deck above the restaurant for a spectacular view of San Antonio then go to any one of a hundred excellent places to eat in San Antonio. You will be much happier with your experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We wish we had eaten in the bar.
Prime rib was tough and had it medium rare.
Filet of beef, was medium and was very dry and overdone.
Potatoes were not good.
Bread was good.
Salad was ok.
View was great, we weren't sorry we went, the experience of the tower was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The view of San Antonio was great. We arrived for a 6 pm reservation (made same day), which gave us a daytime view, sunset and a little of the nighttime view. I had Macadamia Nut Mahi and it was very good; best green beans ever. Loved the lobster bisque!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very pleasant experience. Waitress was very nice and did her best to be attentive despite how busy it was. And the food had a lot of flavor.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

the food was good, but not spectacular and for the price I would expect something in the spectacular range. Wine was good...service good. I did it once, probably not again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our waiter Dave was great, his great service made up for the average quality food. The dress code is a little too relaxed. There were a lot of kids and it felt like we were at Chuck e cheese. Will never go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While the overall ambiance was enjoyable due to the fact that it was a tower in the sky, the food was not worth what we paid nor was the service.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waiter was the very best we have ever experienced..."B" , I believe was his name. Made the visit a great one!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was really excited to go to Chart House to celebrate Mother's Day. This was the first time I had been at lunch time on Sunday. Previous experiences were great at dinner, but lunch was disappointing. The food was served cold, after waiting 45 minutes for the food, I didn't want to stay any longer to wait for the food to be warmed up. The manager was nice and offer a dessert and reduced the bill. If you go, I would recommend dinner over lunch time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had an 11:15 am reservation. At 11:40am, I went to the hostess and asked if our table would be waited on. At 11:50am, we finally received water. We placed our order and at 12:20pm, we finally received our appetizer. At 12:40, our salads, finally our entrées at 105pm. My son had to be to work at 2pm, so we hurried through lunch. This was not the Mothers day celebration that we hoped for - very disappointing. Our bill was over $300 - we should not have been treated so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Horrible service on Mother's Day 2017. HORRIBLE WAITER. Food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unique location and great food/service. Enjoyed the Sunday lunch.
Was surprised by the $15 parking fee. Should have been covered for what we paid to eat here.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Thank you for an amazing dinner for my fiance and I. We enjoyed such a relaxing evening! I absolutely loved the service from our waiter, Preston! He reccommended some great choices, such as the yummy oysters as an appetizer, The Real Dill infused drink, and Chilean Sea Bass. AWESOME!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch at the Chart House for the novelty of the location at the top of the Tower of Americas. The service was pretty slow. We waited quite a bit for each needed or ordered item, even in getting the check. The server was nice, but slow. The food was good, but it was SO expensive. It'd be nice if they had at least a couple less expensive choices.
If you have the bucks, it's a nice once in a lifetime meal. But figure you'll be spending around $100 for a meal for two.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wait staff was bad, took order and only return with food and ticket, never checked on us. Crab cake was cold, husband never received salad. Husband's steak was ordered to be rare, arrive very well done and cold. My blacken fish was also cold and no seasonings at all. Very poor, will never return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food itself was very nice, but for the price, the service was not matching. Overall I would still recommend this place when visiting San Antonio.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great as it always is. The only downside was once our food arrived..so did the fruit flies. It was annoying. I mentioned it to the waitress and she stated they are a problem and have been spraying every week. We finished our meal and the next table over received their food and they too began to swat the fruit flies..that needs to be remedied.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Simply THE best experience I've ever had at a restaurant, ever. Hector, our host, was friendly and attentive. The staff even went as far as printing a special birthday card and menu as keepsakes for the occasion. Food was amazing and the view was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The view is unbeatable. They timed the table to be at the sunset perfectly as requested. The server was spot on for timing and just the right amount of table interaction. Higher on price side but reasonable for what you are getting (view, privacy, dinner, atmosphere). I have had better steak other places, but it was in no way bad, very good actually, and served perfectly to the medium temp requested while nailing the mess well for my wife.
Fantastic all the way around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fifth anniversary and we had never been. This restaurant did an amazing job making it a wonderful evening. Easy going conversation with the waiter, the atmosphere was perfect, and we were close to the window. I haven't even mentioned how AWESOME the food was. Delicious!! A bit pricey but the way I see it we are paying for more than just the food here, we paid for wonderful memories with each other and another adventure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Atmosphere there was good and the view is magnificent. The food I ordered crab staffed flounder was great taste. I wanted have more source though. The side, mashed potato was taste great but it was refrigerated without plastic rap, I guess, so the outer side of potato tasted bad because of some smell had transfer to the potato.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The chicken Francese was outstanding as was the hot lava cake to round out the meal. Beautiful vistas as we enjoyed our meal. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.