Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas

Located at the Tower of the Americas, the landmark symbol of San Antonio since 1968, Chart House is legendary for its top-of-the-catch seafood, succulent steaks & decadent desserts. Enjoy outstanding cuisine, spectacular views and exceptional service as you marvel the city below. Be sure to relax with a cocktail in the sophisticated setting of Bar 601.
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)Take right at Light-Turn right into Tower of the Americas Parking
From Downtown: Driving on Market Street East.Take right at Alamo Street,Take Left at Cesar Chavez,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez).Go through the light at Alamo Street ,Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35, 281N),Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez ,Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right Parking

739 East Cesar Chavez Blvd
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 3pm-10pm; Friday: 3pm -11pm; Saturday: 11am - 11pm; Sunday 11am-10pm; Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11am - 2pm;
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-3101

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Catering:
The chart house also offers off site catering for corporate receptions, product lunches & business lunches.

Parking Details:
Driving 281 South (IH 37 South) Exit 140B (Cesar Chavez)
Take right at Light & turn right to park
From Downtown:
Driving on Market Street East, Take right at Alamo Street. Take Left at Cesar Chavez Turn left into Parking
Driving IH 10E Exit 155B (Cesar Chavez) Go through the light at Alamo Street Turn left into Tower Parking
Driving IH 10W Exit 574 (IH37/35)
Exit 140 B Cesar Chavez
Turn Left at light go under over pass and through light ,Turn right

Executive Chef:
Paul Filiberto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Full service, turn key from start to finish featuring incredible food with spectacular views & unparalleled service. Please contact us about your intimate or corporate events hosting up to 3,000. The sky is literally the limit!

Chart House Restaurant - Tower of the Americas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (258)
Special Occasion (200)
Romantic (189)
See All
Good for a Date (182)
Good for Anniversaries (171)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Worth the Drive (98)
Fun (80)
Quiet Conversation (79)
Cozy (62)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Business Meals (47)
Casual (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Great for Lunch (38)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Happy Hour (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Late-night Find (30)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Authentic (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
People Watching (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Seasonal (16)
Comfort Food (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Waterfront (2)
Sort By:
S
7337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

My wife and I just wanted to try it since we were in town. Had an early lunch and it was great. Both Had the filet, cooked perfectly, tender and flavorful. We loved it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Great for a date or special occasion because of the beautiful views. Service wasn’t good, the server didn’t introduce himself by name and his customer service didn’t match where he was working. We were celebrating our 15 year anniversary. The restaurant did get us a great table, memorabilia menus, and the rotating view was fun. I would go at least once while I’m SA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Server was excellent and the food was Devine. Definitely worth going to

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful view from this Tower. Very nice fine dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The value of the food was not great. It was alright and the portions were smalll

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to to the Chart House many times. Each visit tops the previous one! We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary there recently and continued to be amazed at the fantastic food and service! It can be a bit pricey, but the views from the restaurant were breathtaking! Kudos to both the kitchen staff and wait staff!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything from the food to the service was amazing. The lighting in the restaurant is just bright enough for you to enjoy the presentation of your meal, but not so bright as to block the view of the Alamo City. Best enjoyed at sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic! Service was good, but could be improved just a wee bit for an upscale restaurant. Ordered a bottle of wine, but after first poor, we had to poor our own. It was minor, but ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our 13th anniversary at the Chart House. What a perfect end to the perfect day!! The staff members were amazing! The food was perfect in portion, presentation, and price. The view was priceless. We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was delicious. Chocolate lava cake is awesome. Prime rib is awesome

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great service and food. Reservation was on point. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

AWESOME OVER ALL, DINNER SIDES AND PORTIONS COULD OF BEEN BETTER.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very cool place! The 360 Degree rotating view of San Antonio is awesome. However, we were a little disappointed in the food, my steak came out under cooked for my liking and my wifes rice and vegetable sides came out cold. Our server, Michael, was fantastic however, overall I would recommend as I assume the food "miss" was an outlier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My date and I were blown away at how beautiful it was up there. Service and food were really good especially the chocolate cake. That thing is amazing. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Best of best. We love going several times a year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Ordered an alcoholic beverage never received it. Rice was flavorless. Crab was out of a can. Parmesean crust on fish was saturated with butter, otherwise fish was unseasoned.
Saw server a total of four times. Had to flag him two of those times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It would be nice to have access to a lunch menu on the weekends as well as the weekdays. We went to the restaurant expecting to access the lunch menu, but were disappointed to find out that the lunch menu was not offered on Saturday at the time we were there.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our last meal before leaving San Antonio, a city of great food options. A wonderful meal - great sticky rice! - lovely wine list. Stunning views, of course. Great historic area in a historic city.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food is excellent, the staff is great and the view of the city is breathtaking. I need to go back more often!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Chart House has a great view of the city of San Antonia which is enhanced at night by the lights that demonstrate how far the city stretches. However, the best part of our meal was the witty nature, and jovial conversation with our waiter Eli. I will recommend the Kim Chi Calamari and the Chilean Sea bass. My friends both had the Snapper which was quite bland and had a rubbery texture, neither of them liked it. However, the chocolate cake that takes 30 minutes to prepare was divine and a must have if you dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

View and wait staff were outstanding. we had a party of five and ate steak, fish and chicken. Nothing spectacular about the food. The food was good but not great. The food was priced to be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It took 3 attempts to get a medium rare ribeye right - first 2 were well done. 3rd one was correct. Overall average food. Great service and ambience. Professionally, they did write off the ribeye....

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Overpriced for view would have been better off going just to bar. When we only ordered salads our server never came. Ack. Fishy smell was annoying but view interesting

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We had not been to the tower in years. Since we live in san antonio now, we thought it was time to go back.
The service was great. The food was really good. We were impressed. Appetizers were recommended and they were perfect. Entrees complimented the experience and the view. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

I must say the food was great i enjoyed every bit of it, my partner had stake and i had salmon and it was so juicy and mouth watering.......

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

If the view from the top of the tower isn't a great reason to go, then the food is. Best Crab Cake we have had! Everything was amazing including the view!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Waitress was very efficient and knowledgable. Food was... Who Cares? The real pull was the 360 View of San Antonio!!! Went at lunch so can't speak to evenings when it have different, traffic, service, and noise levels. But our experience was a very good one.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We were celebrating my 27th bday, tthe staff welcomed at the entrance very nicely, every1 mentioned "happy birthday", our server Eli was amazing from beginning to end, even our menus had my name a birthday wish typed on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Dined here while visiting family in San Antonio. It was a unique scenic experience, excellent food. The crab tower and kimchi calamari were excellent. Enjoyed the evening immensely.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Of course great view. Window ledges need to be cleaned better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Don't bother making a reservation. We arrived 15 minutes early and did not get seated for 45 minutes. Great view, mediocre food, tourist trap. Skip the over priced food and go to the lounge for a few cocktails and take in the sights of SATX.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Everything on my plate was cool. The prime rib was tough and lobster over cooked and cool. My wife's steak was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Above and beyond service! Every member of our party said the food was spectacular and very well presented.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We've been to the Chart House Tower of the Americas quite a few times now. The food is consistently good in keeping with Chart House tradition although pricing is on the steep side. I was quite underwhelmed by the slow / lack of service this visit: Water glasses were not refilled but once. Our waiter seemed to disappear for long stretches once even requiring us to hunt down service. One entree did not show up until the rest of our table was nearly finished - and then they arrived with two entrees.

The view, of course is outstanding, and that is really the only reason to come. Be prepared to pay $11 to park, wait 5-10 minutes for the elevators up or down and if you visit the observation deck know that it's quite plain and can be mobbed with tourists.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Magnificent views, great food. They even had a note typed on the menu for my wife's Birthday! Loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant several times and have always enjoyed it, but this time was very disappointing. Both the meat and vegetable were very tough and were hard to cut even with a steak knife. Needless to say this hampered a special occasion that we were celebrating and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Chart House was a great place to go for a special date, out of the ordinary and the food was delicious. The scenic views of San Antonio were fun to take in while eating. The service was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

GREAT FOOD. GREAT VIEW ENJOYED THAT WE SAW THE WHOLE CITY.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

45 mins for salad walked out before meal other ppl that came after us got there food before us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.