About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 27 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Mac Nut Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm to 9pm, Friday & Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Patrick Kenyon

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: (859) 261-0300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (64)
Scenic View (64)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Cozy (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always come to Chart House and ask fo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

We always come to Chart House and ask for Rachel. She is fantastic and always takes good care of us.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were both excellent ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were both excellent. Very noisy though-hard to hear your spouse talk!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place for delicious seafood entree ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

great place for delicious seafood entrees and succulent steaks

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for Valentines ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I dined here for Valentines day dinner. We were greeted nicely; our server went over entire menu and daily selections. The salad bar is very good. Scenery is awesome. Only negative was overhead music. We dont believe rock music was appropriate for evening dining. We had filet steaks; which were cooked medium and my wife had a lobster tail which was perfect. We will go back and have anyother wonderful meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything I expected it to be! Went fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything I expected it to be! Went for Valentines Day dinner and it was a great experience for the both of us!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great view, wait staff was su ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, great view, wait staff was superior. Not cheap, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had not been to the Chart House in ye ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We had not been to the Chart House in years.(We kind of forgot it was there). We celebrated a late anniversary dinner/early Valentine's dinner and could not have had a better experience. The food was delicious. I took the server's recommendation and I am so glad I did! Actually, everything we ate, from the appetizer to the dessert was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early valentine day

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Early valentine day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place. It was romantic and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this place. It was romantic and relaxing. It's my new favorite restaurant in Cincinnati.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating and the t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating and the team at Chart House delivered in a big way. I was worried that things may be crazy during the Valentine's season but we had a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back.

I can't say enough about Stephanie. She provided top notch service with great attention to detail. She also made good wine and menu recommendations. They even presented us with a card for the occasion personally signed by the staff.

Great job by this team of professionals in making this a memorable experience for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was just very unremarkable? W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our dinner was just very unremarkable?

We had the beignets for an appetizer and spinach salad, which was tasty, and the swordfish for dinner. The app and the dinner just weren't very tasty? For what we spent I would choose to dine elsewhere. Just not very tasty!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to the Chart House in Newport Sa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went to the Chart House in Newport Saturday evening for a Valentine's dinner. We shared both the crab, avocado, and mango stack as well as their spinach salad. I would highly recommend both. The stack was a great mix of flavors and consistencies. The spinach salad was not unusual in its ingredients but in that it was all finely chopped. It worked well.

My wife enjoyed the salmon while I ordered the mahi chef's special. It had a blend of Brussels sprouts, mushrooms, and tomatoes as a warm topping over the mahi mahi. Both very good. We had the crème brulee for desert which included fresh raspberries. The Chart House has a nice wine selection as well. Our seating was a table for two right at the window with a wonderful view of Cincinnati and the river. The restaurant was comfortable even next to the window but the noise level was very high in the building. They had a large crowd without much to absorb the sound- uncovered windows to feature the view. The service was absolutely spot on with Dennis, our waitress. One step ahead the entire meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The waiter could have been a little more ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waiter could have been a little more attentive. The food was delicious. Had the shrimp cocktail and the prime rib. A large party of 10 came in and were extremely loud and were using profanity. That was a huge turn off since it was allowed. Management should have taken care of it. If that happens next time we go, we will ask for a manager. A $175 dinner should be enjoyed in a peaceful environment. We will go back though. It's our favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely enjoyable dinner. The food w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely enjoyable dinner. The food was delicious, our server was very attentive and the view is lovely.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was nice with views of the city ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ambiance was nice with views of the city. Food was good, but for the price I feel like you could get better at places like Jean Roberts Table, Jeff Ruby's, etc. It was a nice experience, but didn't "wow" me for a $200 dinner. One positive is that rice and veggies come with the meal, whereas at comparable places all of the side dishes are a la carte. However, the menu makes it SEEM a la carte so it was frustrating that we ordered extra sides at $8 each only to find out when our meals came out that they already came with sides. It would have been nice to know this ahead of time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent as always. The clam chowder i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent as always. The clam chowder is second to none, my wife thinks no one can beat the salmon, and I was pleasantly surprised by my lightly blackened trout. And since we know their key lime pie out of this world we took one to go .... recommend it to all our friends! CH is great restaurant that is always our first choice for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent as always! Love th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was excellent as always! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, where do I start. Rachael was Amaz ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wow, where do I start. Rachael was Amazing. She took such good care of us, and is one of the BEST Servers I've had, (not only at the CH, but in Cincinnati. She had such a Great personality, and really listened to what we wanted. We asked if it was possible to have a Scallop appetizer, and she said, let me check with the chef, and see what he could do. She came back and told us, it was no problem, and Patrick created 4 delicious scallops for us, and they were incredible. Both of the Cabernet were great that we had, the Cedar Salmon was perfect as usual. However, I had the BEST Steak, that I have ever eaten at the CH, I tried the Mushroom Truffle Butter on my Rare plus steak, and it was truly to die for. We had such a Perfect pre-Valentine's Day Date. What a GREAT Experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch! One of the best, if not the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Top Notch! One of the best, if not the best Landry's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the rudest, most confrontstional exp ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had the rudest, most confrontstional experience of my life dining out with the totally unfriendly female bartender. She had a horrible attitude . The manager made a good effort to correct it but first impressions ..bad ones...are hard to fix. I doubt if we will ever return and I certainly will not recommend the place to anyone. There are too many friendlier, better places to dine at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We started the night with a bottle of wi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We started the night with a bottle of wine while waiting for the rest of the table to arrive. Our waiter, Ted, was on the ball, friendly and fast. You have to see how the coconut shrimp is served. We got something different but saw it delivered to another table. I had a fish entree with scallops. The scallops were cooked perfectly, melting in my mouth and the glaze on them and the fish was delicious. We were there to celebrate a birthday and they our birthday girl a personalized menu and later a wonderful slice of ice cream cake. I took one bite and waited for it to come back around, but it never did. Too good to pass around a second time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was incredibly informative an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server was incredibly informative and attentive. The food was excellent and the view of the river was very special, making for an all-around excellent date night. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service! The restaurant acc ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Outstanding service! The restaurant accommodated our request for a table by the water because of our out of town guest.

The food was wonderful and beautifully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as usual. The prime rib and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent, as usual. The prime rib and salad bar were delicious. The clam chowder is always the best. Great dinner!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed dinner here for my birthday. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed dinner here for my birthday. The service was wonderful, and the cuisine, very pleasing to the palate. The view can't be beat either. I would return in a minute!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab cake appetizer was the best I h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The crab cake appetizer was the best I have had. Recommend skipping the salad bar and having soup instead. Service was excellent as was the view. Prices are too high. Don't mind paying $34 for entree but if something else was included it would make it a better value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

OMG we had such a great experience. Firs ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

OMG we had such a great experience. First we had cocktails at the bar with a very friendly bartender who made our drinks to perfection then left us alone to talk. When the drinks got low he appeared at just the right time and we had a second. Then we were escorted to our river view table where we ate crab legs and baked potatoes. Delicious. We'll go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time my husband and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was the first time my husband and I have been to the Chart House. We were seated by the window for a beautiful view of the river and downtown Cincy at sunset. Rachel, our server, was absolutely awesome! I am gluten sensitive and she checked with the chef to be sure what I ordered would be fine. When she found out the mushrooms my husband had ordered (she knew we were going to split them between us) was not specifically gluten free, she checked with me to make sure I knew. My fresh salmon was delicious with the Baja on top. My husband loved his steak, I can't remember which one he ordered. Everything was really good. We will definitely be back. We'll ask to be in Rachel's area too. She really was the best server we have had in a long time in any restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent and they are kid f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was excellent and they are kid friendly. Their prices are lower than comparable restaurants

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The King Crab was not fresh, was very ru ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The King Crab was not fresh, was very rubbery. The coconut shrimp is AWESOME

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall, pretty good. Selection isn't t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Overall, pretty good. Selection isn't the best, but the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I liked the atmosphere and the waitress ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I liked the atmosphere and the waitress and the manager were nice....Nice view too

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow! The whole baked Red Snapper was jus ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wow! The whole baked Red Snapper was just outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been there for awhile and forg ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I had not been there for awhile and forgot how great it was. Outstanding view of the city and food was outstanding. I will be going back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyable experience. Food as wel ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really enjoyable experience. Food as well as service was excellent. Great view!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Chart House several ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to the Chart House several times and enjoy the experience. The food is outstanding, the service is excellent. One difficulty is that the lighting is so low that it is hard to read the menu; a little increase would help immensely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I expected it to be both very nice and p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I expected it to be both very nice and pricey, and it definitely met my expectations. The food was excellent (Ihad the filet and lobster tail). The salad bar wasn't so great but I had to have greens with my dinner somehow. Service was very professional but not outstanding. Everything was as expected. High prices for a stunning view and romantic evening. Good food, but slightly overpriced. You pay for the ambiance, everything else is just what comes with it.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Perfect dinner date for NYE. Rylan was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perfect dinner date for NYE. Rylan was our waiter and gave us perfect service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time going and we wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time going and we were impressed! Spectacular food and service. Will definitely go again. Worth every penny. Anna was our waitress an she was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.