Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati)

Located right on the Ohio River, Chart House offers magnificent views of the water & the Cincinnati skyline. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 27 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh seafood specialties to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Mac Nut Mahi or slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.

405 Riverboat Row
Newport, KY 41071
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 4:30pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Happy Hour: Every Day: 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 261-0300

Website:
http://www.chart-house.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking complimentary. A public lot is also available.

Public Transit:
Tank Shuttle

Executive Chef:
Patrick Kenyon

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private area is available accommodating up to 70 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Joy Robinson: (859) 261-0300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Chart House Restaurant - Newport (Cincinnati) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (70)
Scenic View (69)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Romantic (50)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Poor resolution to problems like being out of baked potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorite places to dine, always a special treat. Great service, great food and what a view.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our meal this evening was excellent! Both steaks were cooked to perfection, and the service from our waiter Aaron, was impeccable. We sat on the patio, had the best view in the city and enjoyed a beautiful sunset. 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Overall good. I've had better steaks here before and their steaks are what I come for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A series of unfortunate events. I called the day before our reservation to confirm. Yes, they confirmed the reservation and time. We arrived 15min early. Were told our reservation was in 30min, didn't get seated until 45min after we arrived and this was only after a stern conversation w/ the hostess. We ordered the Halibut (they were out of that.) Now I ask you, how can a fine dining restaurant be OUT of something on their menu when it's still early in the evening (7:00 by this time) and on Mothers Day. You KNOW you're going to be busy--just look at the reservation book. Then it took over 45min to get our dinner...so long that the server brought the side dishes that were ready first, b/c he recognized how long we had already waited. The service was AMAZING. The poor guy did EVERYTHING he could to make up for what was lacking in management and in the kitchen. This is very unfortunate b/c the reason we wanted to go to this restaurant is that is was soooo amazing the last time we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall the food and service was great. The only complaint I have was I ordered the shrimp cocktail and the shrimp wasn't cleaned fully. Which was kinda dissatisfying to look at.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Perfect Mothers Day setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of the worst dinning experiences I have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First negative review in a while.
Reservation -20 minutes past scheduled time-no explanation given
Hostess-dressed inappropriately, not friendly
Food:
-starters not available-short staff how can the Chart House not have seafood towers?
-main uneventful: several items not available-no lemonade, no kids chicken, no kids menus
-not offered desert

Tough to see us coming back
on positive note-waiter tried to make the best of a bad situation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day. Took awhile to get our food but luckily we were not in a rush

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was awful and not worth the money. My dish was extremely dry and boring. The menu description did not at all match the actual dish. I would not recommend the restaurant at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our initial contact at the bar for a drink while waited for a table was not so good, almost rude. But things improved at the table. Server was great, so was the food. We each ordered a different seafood entree prepared 3 different ways and they were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Truly enjoyed our visit to the Chart House - great food, excellent service and awesome view! Would love to go more often if prices were more reasonable!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a graduation dinner for a dear friend and were very satisfied with the outstanding service and quality of the food; one of our favorite dining establishments with a great view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent service. Calamari appetizer was very good and a very large portion. The prime rib was excellent and my husband enjoyed his steak. The waterfront views are stunning and we really enjoyed just sitting there watching the current and enjoying the sun. Will definitely be back to explore their seafood options next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A special night was made even more special by the outstanding service and great food. The environment and view were unique. I will recommend this venue for family and friends for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The spinach salad never disappoints in my opinion, while the cedar plank salmon was less than desirable, little to no taste. The view was spectacular however.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was a great and memorable evening for my wife and our kids as we celebrated her birthday. The Chart House is one of favorite resteraunts to eat at, and we do not get very mant opportunities. She was surprised and somewhat apprehensive with our picky 8 yo. Great news was had when our server shared that they did have a kids menu. We were all impressed with the birthday menu that my wife recv'd and the dessert. The food was great, the atmosphere was wonderful, the rivee view was enjoyable, and most importantly the staff was friendly and professional.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Went here for a business meal and the food and service were very well done. Our server, Rachel, was knowledgeable, attentive and very helpful given one person in our group had food allergies. We had the shrimp cocktail and tuna trio appetizer per her suggestion and both were delicious. My colleagues had the halibut and I had the Hemingway Snapper and we all enjoyed our meals. It is a nice spot on the river.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great ambience. The food presentations are very tasteful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

College graduation!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Geaduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The hostess didn't look very happy. She didn't smile until we started joking with her. Seating was quick. The other hostess made sure we were sat at a table with a great view. Ordered the pan-seared shrimp and scallops with the cauliflower mash. Very tasty, but only had 3 or 4 each of the shrimp and scallops on the plate. Good sized helping of caul mash that came with chopped vegs on top. Lava cake was delicious, as well as the Luccio Moscato wine. My date ordered the prime rib and Wow! the size of it! All was very delicious. Pleasant dining experience for our romantic weekend with fantastic views and good music. Our server, Stephanie, was very professional and knowledgeable of the menu. Great job!

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We daringly opted to sit outside on Easter but were driven inside by a sudden thunderburst of heavy rain. Our servers took it all in stride and helped carry our food in. They had warned us of an impending storm, but we chose to take our chances. I realized afterward that our risk-taking inconvenienced them, but they continued to be gracious, cheerful, and helpful. Three cheers for Rachel and the young man who, also, was on duty that afternoon.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was very good. Friendly. Recommend not to sit by a door that goes to deck.
Storm was coming up. Door blew open by its self. Food was flying off our table. 3 people coming inside. My husband's food was blowing off of his plate. Across the room. Manager or servers did not come and help us . Finally they came and had to lock the door. All the food was
good. What my husband was able to eat was good. Some had blown on the floor.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was very good and the view of the river was nice. The food was a little pricy but we had a gift card that helped offset that. Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Chart House is one of our favorite places. We hosted several large parties there because of the food, service, and view of Cincinnati. We lived in another city, that is known to be a foodie town. When we returned, it was as good as we remembered and rivaled any of the restaurants we frequented while we were away. If you have not been there yet, make the time to go and enjoy the chopped spinach salad, shrimp cocktail, shrimp biegnets (for Easter brunch they had Goetta beignets), or the snapper. Their Bloody Mary is very good and nice with brunch. Management is always attentive and stops by the table to make sure everything is satisfactory. Don't forget to make reservations because they are generally very busy for brunch or dinner. Believe me, it is worth the drive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We dined at The Chart House restaurant Saturday 4/15/2017 and had a very enjoyable dining experience. It was not crowded, little to no wait, but that may have been due to it being the night before Easter.
Food was very good and service was excellent. Our server Jana was very knowledgeable of the menu selections and the wine list. We will definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food, great service, spectacular view! The Chart House never disappoints.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing meal. Unique specials. Green beans are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It had been awhile since I had eaten at the Charthouse, and I kind of wish I had waited longer. The food was fine, just not what I would have expected for this kind of restaurant. I felt like I had taken a step back in time, and not in a good way. They had a salad bar! The view of the Ohio River and downtown Cincinnati, ultimately the main reason to go there, was great. The molten lava cake dessert was great. Maybe next time I'll just go for coffee and dessert.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went to the Chart House for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. They went to great lengths to make sure we had an unforgettable evening. The waitstaff was very attentive making great recommendations on appetizers (got the stack and it was amazing) and main course options. Glasses stayed full and dishes were immediately removed. Our table with a view of the river was quiet and romantic. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was perfect. Not really a great place to take kids but perfect for adults looking for a comfortable sophisticated evening. We look forward to returning very soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As always the food and service were very good. We celebrated the birthday of a friend in both the bar and main dining room. Great evening was enjoyed by all thanks to the Chart House team.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Fun, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was excellent, atmosphere was romamtic, service was impeccable. Fish was fresh and menu covered surf and turf. Great view of city and river. Recommend Chart House for special date and occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Both of our steaks, different cuts, were VERY well-done despite being requested to be medium-rare. The place was completely empty on a Sunday night so there was no excuse for such a poorly prepared meal. After almost 10 years of using OpenTable, this is actually the first negative review I've ever posted but feel that the meal was an expensive waste that it should be shared. In their defense, we did not request a new meal prepared because it we were not interested in waiting for them to try again. Normally we would not have ordered steak at a seafood restaurant but their advertisements gave us reason to believe that they were worth a shot. There are many places that offer a much better steak for less!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place. Good was very good. Staff was excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We where there for our Anniversary dinner, food, service and view was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I had the shrimp and scallops. The food was good but extremely overpriced at 37.50. I received 3 average size shrimp on top of 3 scallops and a cucumber slice. Others had salmon and steak with prising more inline with the serving size.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have always enjoyed our visits to the Chart House and this was another good time. We went there with friends. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We ordered from the "Early Bird" menu. Very nice selections. The complimentary valet parking was a very nice touch.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.