About Charlie was a sinner.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Charlie was a sinner. is located in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Charlie specializes in tapas-style small plates, served until 1am daily. In addition, Charlie has a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Todd Butler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Vegan (75)
Good Vegetarian Options (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
See All
Creative Cuisine (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for a Date (44)
Tapas (42)
Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Healthy (34)
Cozy (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Fun (24)
Happy Hour (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Organic (15)
Authentic (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Spicy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

For a family of three vegans and two omnivores Charlie never fails to satisfy. Hearty, flavorful and satisfying plant-based food.

Tags: Vegan, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyable and my vegan girlfriend was thrilled with the menu. Great custom drink menu.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

everything about Charlie's is excellent. from the service to the drinks to the food

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Tapas, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the food and the evening very much. We were a little nervous as I did not realize when I made the reservation that it was entirely vegan. Our daughter is a vegetarian - not a vegan. Our daughter's boyfriend actually enjoyed the food (despite needing his beef-fix). The service was excellent - loved our waiter and busboy. The busboy heard me drop my utensils and was there with a new set literally in an instant. Would definitely go back. Also loved the small, tapas-style plates. Delicious and creative food.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Im a pretty avid carnivor and wasnt expecting to like the vegan food.... at all.... but i can honestly say that was some of the best food ive ever had in my entire life. The atmosphere is super rad at charlie's and i cant wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding. Food, service, vibe. Rainy day in Philadelphia at 4:30 and the place was happening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I had a late dinner here. Given we were early for our reservation, we went to the bar for a drink while we waited. It was really crowded and the bar area is smack dab between the 2 dining rooms. As we stood there, a gentleman who I'm thinking was the manager walked by and asked us if wanted a drink. He went over to the bar, ordered our drinks and had them added to our dinner tab. It was so great. Dinner was amazing. I'm vegan but my husband isn't. He enjoyed everything. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun, happening spot if you care about seeing and being seen. Food was poor in serving size but packed a punch in taste. I would recommend to vegan friends who want to class it up a bit for a date, but otherwise I just head over to Blackbird and get full.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We usually eat her once a year around the Holidays . We make it a special occasion and Charlie's does not disappoint . The cocktails are handcrafted and delicious but in my opinion a couple dollars overpriced . The food is wonderful and each plate is enough to share with one person so we usually order at least six dishes . Being its totally vegan I feel that some dishes are overpriced being they are just veggies . The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and are quick to recommend a dish or to answer any questions you may have. I would recommend You to give Charlie's a try .

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious but slow to take orders for drinks and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wow! What a truly amazing meal. We are not vegan nor even vegetarian, but this menu is beyond fantastic. Such great combinations in the carrot mousse, and those bao buns filled with eggplant. Each dish was perfectly prepared and plated. The servings are much bigger than we anticipated, but we will remember that on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Vegan menu is diverse. All my food was delicious. Chickpea pasta and avocado toast my favs. I enjoy a black manhattan cocktail, it warmed me & tasted amazing.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food as usual was awesome. We tried almost everything on the menu. The small plates are good in that you get to try different dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was blown away by the food and the great service!!!! Really terrific!! We will definitely be going again :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I am not a vegan not even a vegetarian, but I absolutely love this place. I have friends who are vegan, and they are always impressed by the large selection and incredible flavors of every dish.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Another delicious meal at Charlie was a Sinner. No one in our group of four is a vegan, but we each enjoyed every plate. Nothing but raves. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and I loved the cozy, warm atmosphere.

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I dont normally write reviews, but I'm not normally that impressed with resteraunts. Going out to dinner at Charlie was a sinner was exquiste and I loved the vegan and vegitarian options.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for an anniversary. Glad I made a reservation because we went at 10:15 and it was packed. Had to move through huge crowds to get to the table. Very close to the tables near you, small table for small plates. Loved all the food and drinks we ordered. Extremely loud so I don't think I would recommend for a first date because we could barely hear each other or the waitress. Great drinks and great service but I don't know if I'll visit again on a Saturday night.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed the meal very much. Rather close quarters-fortunately our dining neighbors were lovely and we had a good conversation with them!

Tags: Cozy, Vegan, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My spouse and two close friends tried Charlie Was a Sinner, looking for some good cocktails and vegan food. I don't think we did anything rude or strange, but we felt pretty unwelcome. The food was tasty and the drinks decent (although not very strong), but I don't like it when the staff act like you might not be good enough to be dining at an establishment. I'd recommend this place to fashionable, beautiful people who plan on dropping a huge sum -- just guessing that's what it takes to get welcoming service.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is a great restaurant. It is one of the top 5 vegan restaurants I have experienced. The food is tasty, healthy, and beautifully prepared. Good for dates and special occasions as it's a little pricey.

Very creative .

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was outstanding. Our waitress was so attentive with an allergy concern we had. She did a wonderful job. We were there early in the evening, around 5:30, so the noise was not a problem.

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was okay. I was expecting more since it is such a speciality restaurant. The service was also kinda weird. I don't think the food is worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I miss the seaweed chips! The chick pea ones are good but I would've liked if they were still on the menu. We ordered several items. I forget what exactly they called, but two of the dishes were way too salty, and neither of us could eat them. The rest of the meal was delicious. As always the service was great. I travel from Port Norris NJ to eat here for great Vegan food and I am a loyal customer. Just hope the food is better next time I visit, because this is the first time I ever had a complaint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Charlie was a sinner is my new favorite vegan restaurant in town, rivaled only by it's sister establishment, Bar Bon-Bon. The food was spectacular, as were the cocktails and mocktails. Wonderful service. The whole night felt like a special occasion, even though it was just a basic date night. I can't believe I've waited this long to try it. My next trip will happen soon.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Organic, Authentic, Quick Bite, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The cocktails were exotic and fabulous! The food was incredible. Every dish was better than the next!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quick Bite, Vegan, Tapas, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Unbelievable food. Warm, friendly place with attentive service. Amazing drinks. Very accommodating

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My husband, daughter, future son-in-law and I enjoyed a creative, vegan and vegetarian dinner here in mid-January. The atmosphere is creative, cozy, and a bit dark. But we could still read our menus! Nice if you're looking for a romantic vegan-veg restaurant, too. The tapas style menu gave us many, many delicious items to choose from, and we want to return to try all of the others as well. My biggest concern is the service. Our server seemed harried and avoided eye contact so often when we needed her although she was helpful in choosing items once we did have her attention. It felt as though we were standing at a busy bar attempting to receive service yet being ignored time and time again- a very strange experience for a specialty restaurant. Still the food was delightful and the atmosphere very pleasant such that we will return to give the service aspect another chance.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a wonderful cozy spot - especially in the Winter! The food is really good - I'm not vegan just vegetarian and enjoyed everything! My favorite dishes were the squash soup and avecado toast! The Korean tofu was good but a little too much sauce for my liking and a little too spicy! Will definitely return - love the atmosphere and cocktails too!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went to celebrate my new job. It was a Friday evening, at prime dinner hour, and the room was packed, elbow to elbow. Food and service were amazing - I can still taste the pappardelle! I'm not really big on crowds, so a Monday or Tuesday evening would probably be preferable for me, but the crowd wasn't rowdy or obnoxious. Everyone was very friendly and understanding, and the bar kept everyone pretty lax. Really cute decor and ambience. Loved the whole experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Initially tried to get reservation at Vedge as I had heard great things but was unable. Wanted to go somewhere to celebrate my newly vegan sisters birthday. Charlie was able to accommodate our large group of 7 fairly last minute and was flexible when half the party was late. Food fat exceeded my expectations and even my super picky meat eating mother was satisfied. Will definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great cocktails, and the food was delicious. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

AMAZING!!! Even if you are not a vegan this place is a must try! Great atmosphere and fabulous food!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Stunningly good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, nice variety and friendly service. Gluten free menu needs to be expanded.

Tags: Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I enjoyed my time at Charlie was a sinner. Being small plates, it was good to try a number of options together. I really liked the spring rolls and the pasta with meatballs!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great vegan food and very interesting drinks. I had a drink made with fennel which was awesome and also had celery juice which was good. Food was great. We had 12 different small plates and enjoyed each. It is a little pricey. We spent $160 for 3 people. Also it is very narrow and was crowded. It was very hot because of the crowd, but still would recommend it. We weren't thrilled with Robert, our server. He was not very friendly and a bit rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

LOVE this place. so glad to have such amazing vegan options in philly. definitely get the potato croquettes!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took my wife here for a date night, we are both vegetarian. The food was phenomenal, good service. I would definitely recommend this to any vegetarian or vegan

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I am not vegetarian or vegan and loved this place so much. Great food and ambiance. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Perfect. Potato croquettes are out of this world. All vegan and all excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had five dishes and a cocktail each. We were blown away by two of the dishes but the other three were lacking. The cocktails were out of this world!! Would go back for happy hour in a heart beat but don't think i would pay the price again for a sit down meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The service was flawless, the food delicious. And no one was more impressed than my 83-year-old mother, who was worried about "what she could eat at a Vegan restaurant".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I was reluctant because I'm not Vegan, but the food was OUTSTANDING!

Service was attentive and cocktails were great. Very cozy.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very good but with 4 people small plates were pretty small to share better with couple

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here. Not all the dishes we had were equally good (the Korean tofu was only okay and the potato gnocchi, while tasty, was too salty), but most of the meal was delicious (the eggplant bao was great, the brussels sprouts were quite good, and the pappardelle was very good). Best part of the meal was definitely the cocktails. We had, together, 4 cocktails: black manhattan, vieux mot, new york sour, and women in love and all 4 were excellent.

Also, the couch was comfortable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great all vegetarian that please the most particular foodie.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Amazing cider sangria. Every delicious tapas dish was presented so tastefully & with time between to enjoy each. Chocolate dessert was to die for!

Great atmosphere & staff.

A little pricey., but biggest drawback is parking nearby. Lot parking cost us $22. It's close to impossible to find street parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great place, great food, reasonable prices, great ambiance, very friendly staff, vegan food, just a great place! I just love this place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.