About Charlie was a sinner.

Charlie was a sinner. is located in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Charlie specializes in tapas-style small plates, served until 1am daily. In addition, Charlie has a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Todd Butler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Vegan (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (56)
Good Vegetarian Options (52)
See All
Tapas (45)
Good for a Date (45)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Healthy (34)
Romantic (27)
Cozy (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Fun (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Organic (9)
Casual (9)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This place has become our go to date spot when we're in town. Our servers were super attentive and the food was great as always. I'd recommend getting six plates between two people, because we got seven and were pretty much falling asleep at our table by the end of the meal. We'll keep coming back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I try and eat here every time I am in Philly. Absolutely obsessed! From the cocktails to the food, there are so many unique and delicious options to try. The crabcake sliders are a must and so is the potato gnocchi!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tapas, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I absolutely loved the restaurant, the food was tasty, and considering I'm a vegetarian, there was plenty to choose from. I thought the restaurant was a little too small and felt cramped, one of my friends felt it was too loud, but overall I liked the atmosphere. The service was really good. I enjoyed it and would go back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Healthy, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a spectacular meal here with original menu. Fun to share all the plates with a group. Cocktails were also varied and delicious. Cozy atmosphere with old movie videos in the background.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious food, creative drinks, attentive waiter, and great crowd. Couldn't have asked for a better evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and delicious drinks! Its pretty small, so its a tight squeeze!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent, as was the service! We are eager to go back. The space is tight, and the noise level made it difficult to hear our server at times. Because you are so close to the next tables, we could hear conversations of those next to us-not the place for quiet discussions. But excellent foods from a variety of cultures. Excellent option for vegetarians and food lovers in general!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Delicious clementine sorbet, also enjoyed potato mushroom confit, butternut squash soup, and ricotta, but Korean tofu was too spicy (for we who like spicy food)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Cocktails were excellent, although pricey for a short pour. Beet salad was very good and the presentation lovely. Buccatini and meatballs was underwhelming.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The location and decor are inspiring and so perfectly Philly for residents and visitors. The menu is inspiring and the food delicious and suitable for vegetarians, vegans and carnivors who want something different. We had a bottle of crisp and dry French Rose that topped off our celebration. We love this place. Check it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was excellent as always but a man walked in on me while in the restroom because the lock had not been fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was excellent. Drinks were very expensive. Table was small and very close to next table.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have been in love since my first visit and have brought everyone I know back with me. My favorite food in a the city, I would eat here everyday if I could. Consistently amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was definitely good but I wasn't blown away. Very cool atmosphere and excellent service. Worth checking out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One of the great all-time meals.

We were surprised and delighted throughout. Dishes we thought we'd love were eclipsed by dishes we were skeptical about. Go in with an open mind and enjoy the ride.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Perfect ambiance for our Anniversary date, would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Vegan fine dining in a prohibition era speakeasy setting. Absolutely incredible.

Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Plates came out way too fast so we ate too fast..a little stressy! Also, some dishes were underseasoned anf some were too expensive for what you get. They need to try a bit harder.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have dined here several times -- the food is always excellent and very creative. Service is friendly and helpful. It is best to order slowly so that food comes out at a good rate --- small tables fill up quite quickly.

About a 10 minute walk to Kimmel and other theaters so this is a good pre-show dinner option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was good, but not quite as good as the last time I dined here. The prices seemed a bit steep for the amount of food we actually got... after spending well over $100, I left here a bit hungry. A portion of this was on drinks (which I will say, were amazing), however I felt like I should be more full for the amount of food I ordered.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Awesome time, and amazing food. You can "drink and eat" all night at Charlie's, and feel great the next day. No one doesn't love vegan Sinning...and most don't even know they are eating & drinking vegan. Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

First timers. Waitress was great! She was happy to answer questions and give recommendations. So helpful and made our first dining experience fantastic. The food was high quality and staff was very attentive. Cocktails were amazing. We had so much fun!! And loved the whole dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was very uneven. Some dishes were great, others a bit boring and there was a part of the dessert that was literally inedible. I'd love to see this restaurant focus more on the food and less on trying to look cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Most fantastic vegan meal of my life! Thought it might be a fluke so we went back the next day and NOPE, truly magical!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My second visit to Charlie Was a Sinner (CWS) and as enjoyable as the first. CWS is cozy restaurant with a vibrant bar scene and very creative, well prepared vegan dishes. The noise level is high because it is filled with folks enjoying the drinks, food and the folks they are with.

The menu lends itself to sharing as it offers a great variety of smaller to medium dishes, which makes choosing from the many appealing options easier. Plan on at least 3 dishes per person but save some room for their excellent desserts.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Delicious meal and great ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Amazing. Love this place. Will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tapas, Bar Seating, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I somehow missed that Charlie's is a vegan restaurant, but was not disappointed. Delicious cocktails and very tasty bites that allowed us the opportunity to try a number of uniquely done plates. I'd definitely be back.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This evening was amazing. I had high hopes going in and the service, drink options, and especially the food were all phenomenal. I can't wait to go back. Some notable options were the Eggplant buns, mushroom paella, and the potato croquets.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

GREAT cocktails, but the food is ho-hum. We tried 6 tapas, and three were really yummy, and the other three were not good at all. There are plenty of other restaurants in the area with great vegan options, so I will not go back, unless it's to have a cocktail or pink bubbly at the bar during happy hour. Too bad the chefs aren't as good as the bartenders.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent Vegan Food!!!!
Good Drinks.
Good Service.
Great Ambiance.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I really wanted to love this place! Being vegan in Philly since the late 90s, we've certainly come a long way. Drinks were excellent and our waiter was super attentive. There was, however, a distinct pretentiousness I didn't expect from one of Nicole's restaurants. There's a bit of the Vedge holier-than-thou vibe that just doesn't makes sense in a restaurant focused on cruelty-free dining. Unlike Vedge, I would go back to CWaS and give it another go... but no time soon.

The Food
Mediocre at best. Tapas and small plates are great ways to sample. The variety also helped since we weren't stuck with any one item. The deep fried artichokes were quite tasty and the pappardelle was almost delicious, but the gnocchi fell extremely flat. The Brussel sprouts had potential but lacked direction and flavor (aside from the bitterness of a not in season vegetable). We also had wontons that had no clear cuisine origin.

Not that a guest review would ever drive change in a CC restaurant, but pretending for a moment it could: Simplify and focus would sum up my recommendation. Find a sweet spot where the flavors pop solo AND work together on the table. Pseudo-Asian, Italian, and other misc became a mismatch of dishes tried a little too hard, resulting in a forgettable experience at an unworthy price point.

I hope more plant-based, humane options continue to flourish and improve--including Charlie Was a Sinner.

Cheers-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fabulous taste-forward vegetarian food coupled with vibrant and - as advertised - potent cocktails served by attentive staff. A gem for vegetarians who love food!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food, service, and space, though the noise level on the weekend is very loud.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Charlie was a Sinner never disappoints! The restaurant is completely vegan and even if you are a carnivore (which we are), you will have a fantastic meal. Everything from cocktails to plates to desserts is top notch. Incredible!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was recommended to me by a friend as a place close enough to the convention center to walk while I was in town (solo) for a trip. It has a speakeasy feel upon entering - low light, plush upholstery and a bit crowded. Getting to the dining area as a solo diner was great. I should also say I'm not vegan - and I found the food to be incredible. I especially want the recipe for the gnocchi. The staff was extremely helpful, attentive and friendly - and responded well to my questions.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, service and will be back soon. Will recommend to anyone not just vegetarians.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food! Great cocktails and really nice design. However, some of the music (repeating MGMT) took away from the atmosphere. It actually almost contrasted with the aesthetic and design. Music playlists are important for atmosphere and ambiance.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Cozy, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved my ginger blackberry mocktail, the parpadelle and the chocolate pot de creme. I would not order the lumpia or the lemon cake (dry/hard) again. Charlie Was a Sinner was the highlight of my day trip to Philadelphia. I felt like I hadn't had such good food in 2 years, since I lived in California. I would like to go again and try the brussel sprouts and the shepard's pie.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.