About Charlie was a sinner.

Charlie was a sinner. is located in beautiful Midtown Village Philadelphia. Charlie specializes in tapas-style small plates, served until 1am daily. In addition, Charlie has a collective list of strong craft cocktails.

131 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 4pm - 2am


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 12am


Happy Hour: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm, Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
13th Street between Sansom and Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 758-5372

Website:
http://charliewasasinner.com/

Executive Chef:
Todd Butler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Charlie was a sinner. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Vegan (77)
Good Vegetarian Options (63)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
See All
Creative Cuisine (49)
Tapas (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (39)
Special Occasion (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Organic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Cozy (23)
Fun (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Casual (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Seasonal (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down one of the best restaurants I have been to! A must for all not just vegans!

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect wonderful outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I adore this place. It's a great date spot. Strong yet tasty cocktails. The service is knowledgeable and friendly and we never had to flag someone down to get anything for us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing! And the best part, no animals had to suffer for us to eat a delightful & delicious meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always delightful and delicious. Celebrating an anniversary as our special occasion and we have to pick from several "go to" menu items. They are consistently very good with their food preparation and presentation. We tried a different "special" mixed drink and while it was good for us to experiment it was not for our taste; that's not a knock on how it was prepared. We like to eat earlier in the evening, before 6pm, because it can get loud in the intimate dining area. We'll be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Pretty much everything about this restaurant is cool.
The restaurant has an inviting vibe and is intentionally dim.
The drinks menu is very good.
The dishes are all vegan, but very tasty. Both of us eat meat most meals, but were impressed and came away very impressed.
However, the items added up very quickly and we ended up paying a lot for the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I've been there a few times... I'm never disappointed... :)

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The hand-crafted drinks were amazing! We went for my son's birthday and found it to be incredible. The service was superb and we wish we lived in Philly so we could eat there every week. Definitely will
Be our go to restaurant when visiting our son.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

I was told about how cool the ambiance was. I had a date and it went really well. Service was superb. The food was exquisite. This is my new favorite fancy vegan restaurant

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Overall, excellent experience. Food was amazing, service was spot on, all at extremely good price. I am not veg although my date was, both of us were very happy with the food and stuffed when we left (even skipped desert). Food comes out tapas style with portions on the smaller size which I think is perfect for ordering a bunch of dishes and sharing everything. Next time I'm in philly, I'll be stopping here again for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My hesitation about vegan was really pleasantly addressed with some very tasty plates. This bao buns with eggplant -- WOW!

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My husband and I travelled from north Jersey to go here for my birthday dinner and we were absolutely delighted by the ambiance, service and amazing food. Our waiter was awesome. The drink and food menu was unique and full of so many delicious options. Wonderful experience. Highly recommended for vegans and non-vegans alike.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Cozy tapas and bar. Try to get a seat on the long sofa, super comfy. Servers attentive, food delish, a handful of gluten free options and kosher too!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I've been vegetarian 25 years. This place is creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food. The zucchini slider and Korean tofu were exceptional. Gnocchi was delicious. It's a little dark but was quiet with great service when we ate there. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As a vegan its hard to find places where i can enjoy the food led alone bringing someone out to dinner who isnt vegan. .. So this place is my absolute favorite. Anyone i bring they always LOVE it. I highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

it's vegan lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service was attentive, the food was wonderful, and the prices are very reasonable. A very cute place. Will go back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Me and my wife went to charlie was a sinner for dinner on a a quick weekend getaway to Philly; we were extremely impressed by the quality and inventiveness of the menu. I was even more impressed with the cocktail service; again it was inventive, unique, and delicious. Prices were reasonable; dinner for two plus cocktails and tip, I was out of there for under $150. I have recommended this place to friends already and look forward to returning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great service!! Excellent food. Great way to celebrate our vegan kid's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing service, ambiance, drinks and food! Took my meat loving dad and brother here and they loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Vegan, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great service, especially considering it was busy. A little loud, but food is delicious and great for sharing. Good wine selection too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Seasonal, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server was outstanding!! Very Knowledgeable and professional

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server Fernando was incredible. The food and punch was amazing. The price was great! The seating comfortable. Even the bathroom was pleasant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

had a lovely girlfriend date here.
amazing cocktails.
small / dark atmosphere -I could not tell you what the food actually looked like. tasted wonderful though.
order many plates. like 3 to a person or more. note this place is expensive.
our server was mad helpful - talked to us like kindergarters (but in positive helpful way, we needed her).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent tapas style, portions on the small side, good flavor but not necessarily value

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Loved all of the items we ordered. Ramen was especially good. Cocktails are potent! Desserts ++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always great service and the food is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We drove all the way from Scranton for a date night. We intended on going to Vedge but the reservation available was 9:30 and we were getting hangry. We decided to try Charlie was a sinner and it was amaze-balls. The food was the best vegan food I've ever had (this includes New York and Boston) and also the most creative old fashion style drinks. The smoked a piece of hickory in my glass before making the drink...wow, delicious. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent service. The waitress knew her stuff from the drinks to the food! Food was so delicious, we kept talking about how good it was the next day!! Our non vegan friends couldn't believe how good the food was !

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was the first visit to this restaurant and I took a chance when I made the reservation because this was for my daughter's birthday and her and my wife are very picky. To my relief we found a class vegan restaurant with delicious food and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service and the food were great. The noise level is insanely high. I could literally not hear my server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

All vegan small plates menu with continental influences. So delicious and I'm not even vegan. This place will make you forget that you're not eating meat or cheese.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious. So was my cocktail. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was excited to go to this restaurant as the ambiance and menu looked wonderful. The ambiance and the menu, and cocktail list, is wonderful but the food was among the worst food I've had in a long time.
The waiter was very pretentious but service was okay.
The food was really terrible.
Sesame Crusted carrots are basically raw with a dollop of babaganoush - not even grilled or seasoned well.
The grilled salad with fennel croutons was mediocre and the croutons were too hard to eat.
My husband ordered the silken tofu ramen and it was horrible. He didn't eat it.
The gnocchi was good. Not great.
Did not deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Found the mixed drinks to be creative and delicious. The food was great, flavorful, bursting with herbs and subtle sauces. Dynamite vegan tapas.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Tapas, Vegan, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This place was amazing!!! The food is memorable and delicious! I highly recommend this place for people who love seeing a variety on their menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Vegan, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great place. Will return. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service, food, and ambiance were top notch. All vegan bar restaurant tapas style plates a must visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I love the atmosphere at this restaurant. The seating was a tad bit tight but I was still able to hear my significant other. As someone who has never been to a vegan restaurant before I was amazed at how filling ever course was and will happily be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.