Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Char - Jackson

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Moses: (601) 937-3840

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Romantic (30)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Business Meals (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Live Music (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great appetizers, steaks were perfect, drinks were generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great meal !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Gumbo is special

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Just like always the food and service were great, Jessica our waitress was the best!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We have gone to Char for years, both for special occasions or just fine dining, our service and the food are consistently excellent. It's a great place for all occasions!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I was disappointed in the food. There were 3 diners. One had fish (good), one had the roast beef plate lunch (good), I had the (undercooked) roast chicken with the (cold in the middle) dressing and cabbage (good).
I eat there fairly regularly with clients and although it is a nice and convenient venue the food has gotten below par. The service is always great and the staff is always friendly and helpful. All of that factors in but it's a place to eat. I expect a hot lunch to at least be warm and thoroughly cooked.
Can't wait for Bravo to reopen.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

As always, a very delicious meal and very prompt service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great restaurant to eat. Me & my wife eat there once a month every month, great menu & food 🥘!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Char war a great experience all around from food, to atmosphere, to delicious food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Made reservations for a Thursday lunch with my husband and adult daughter. Service was impeccable! Food was great! Char is always a good choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was amazing. The waiter was is Best . It was my husband and I 39th wedding anniversary didn't say a thing but we were treated it like it was a very special time . That a great waiter

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Filet is always cooked to perfection. Shrimp and grits are one of a kind. A little pricey but great for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

New to the city, we were excited to have a "date night" at Char. We were seated quickly, waited on by a good waiter, and ordered a bottle of wine and an appetizer. We then ordered our dinner. App and wine came, and before we had time to finish, our dinner came. The food was average and because everything was served so quickly, the experience was terrible. Obviously, moving tables through quickly is their goal. Won't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Dependable and excellent food. Asked to be seated in one of smaller rooms and noise level was tolerable. Another beautiful and delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fabulous brunch with great jazz! Food was great and waitress was very timely and quick to respond

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best steak anywhere!! I have had every steak Jackson has to offer!! You can't/won't beat Char!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were seated in the middle of the back room with two large tables that had been set for parties of 10 or more. Towards the end of our meal the noise level was too high to enjoy our conversation. Our party of 3 decided to go elsewhere for dessert. Other than that, the food was great and the service attentive. 4/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great professional customer service and delicious ribeye and brownie

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lunch was served shortly after ordering. Good size portions. Tasty.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I can't recommend it because it is simply too loud to be pleasant. I refuse to check the box that calls the decibel level inside the dining room "energetic." It is deafeningly loud to the point you have to yell across the table to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The chicken was too salty and the wAiter did not correct the situation and I dine there all the time to on Friday and Sunday and I know the waiter knew me from last time....We sat in the back in the new section.....

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My first time having a medium well steak... I got the cowboy & it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food and service wonderful. Best crab cakes in the city. Loud, too loud.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We were faced with a screaming child thru most of our visit; very disturbing, but do not blame the restaurant. The screaming was clearly disturbing to others as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Received gift card from a friend. Had never eaten here, but enjoyed cozy atmosphere. The food was good country food. It was my birthday. The pecan pie with vanilla ice cream was wonderful. Coretta ,our server ,was so nice and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food good, not creative but high quality. Noise level extreme. Quality service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

my wife and absolutely loved our Char experience. the service, atmosphere, and food was absolutely great. we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food is excellent and the polite and professional servers complete the experience.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The cleanliness of bathroom is important...could have used a little work.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

So I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a really nice place to eat for our 6 month anniversary of dating so I decided that Char was where we should go. It was a great choice! The food was absolutely fantastic! My ribeye steak was melt in the mouth and was delicious, while my girlfriend said that her scallops were the best she has ever had. The appetizer soups and dessert was also amazing! Our waiter was extremely polite and was always coming by to check that everything was okay. Overall the environment was also great with the fantastic look of the restaurant and the way they set up the inside so that conversation was not noisy between tables. It was very worth the experience and excellent time we had and I know if we are ever in the area again for a special occasion that we will be coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Went to Char for our anniversary. Did not order appetizer, dessert or alcohol and the total with 20% tip was $150. So it is pricey but the steaks are outstanding! I am gluten and corn free and hubby is dairy free so they are very accommodating. They do have a gf cheesecake! FYI! The wait staff is exceptional and the ambiance is perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my second visit to Char and I have had a great experience each time. On my latest visit, our waiter I believe was Logan, who provided us with great service throughout the night. I ordered the NY strip and it was delicious, it was thicker than I've had at other restaurants (not complaining, had to take some home). My only complaint is that you get one side with the NY Strip but other than that my boyfriend and I will be going back to Char for a nice romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Terrific as always!! Seated on time; welcomed warmly with great food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is a great place. This time my steak was over cooked but they gave me a free dessert so all is good.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 3, 2017

All personnel excellent. The waitress did great.

Thanks

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 2, 2017

Roland gave us great service and the food was prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Char has THE best filet in the Jackson area. We thought it would be fun to see if we could top the quality so we have been going to other restaurants recommended by friends and doing our own personal review of the different filets. Char is hands down the most tender and flavorful filet around! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Far too load!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my two Sons out for Fathers Day dinner. We were seated at the time of reservation. The service was great and the food was even better. I will definitely go back the next time I'm in the area.
BradG
Gulf Shores,AL

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.