Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Char - Jackson

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Moses: (601) 937-3840

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Great for Lunch (31)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Business Meals (25)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Cozy (14)
Casual (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Family Style (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Live Music (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Very noisy table next to us made it difficult for us to talk. It also took almost 30 minutes for our food to arrive at the table. I had the daily special so it should not have taken that long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Hannah was our server and she was very attentive. Enjoyed the meal and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is very good, Char is a neighborhood gem. the staff is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A top go to place for us when we're in Jackson, MS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and great food with a southern twist

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I appreciate and value CHAR great location and neighborhood friendly. It's a nice place just wish it was more spacious and private. I can honestly say the food superb the hospitality great and overall it's nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our waiter, Journey, did an excellent job. He made sure all of our needs were met, and he was enthusiastic about his job which is always a plus. Char is one of my favorite restaurants, because I always receive excellent service for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love the new space. Always enjoy our lunch at char .

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

If I had one word to sum up the experience it would be "awesome." Really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We are seniors and were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary. We had Sunday brunch the day of our wedding and thought the drive from West Monroe to Char for our anniversary celebration was a short distance to travel for what we knew would be a great experience. We were not disappointed, both had steak, so tender and good flavored, and plenty of sides to complete our meal. As we finished, our server, brought out a brownie and ice cream with a lighted candle. I could not have asked more for our day of celebration. By the way, our server, Jessica, was most attentive and her friendliness enhanced our dinning experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Don't come to Char often for lunch but when I do -- no regrets. My mother enjoyed it tremendously.

P.S. The pecan pie is bananas (not really bananas but you know what I mean) Thumbs up!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Over the last few years, Char has become one of our go-to restaurants. At lunch, the menu includes some very affordable options including a "Daily Special" and delicious southern style vegetables. My favorites are the Tuesday short-ribs, Monday's brisket, and the roast beef on Thursday. For dinner, the steaks are really where it's at. The filet and Bone-in "Cowboy" rib-eye are both fantastic. Start those off with the crab cakes (that include a delicious lemon tarragon sauce and pickled green bean salad), bbq shrimp and grits, or a cup of delicious gumbo. And the deserts don't disappoint - The pecan pie and caramel butter crunch are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My first time visit.
Had the best brunch ever!!!
Love the atmosphere,friendly waiter,delicious food along with Homemade Pecan pie.
Will return in a week;)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was always nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Char is always good for lunch or dinner in the North Jackson area. Great food and service, upscale decor and easy access. Very popular for Sunday brunch, which is what I went for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My family and I have dined at Char on several occasions as well recently held a surprise birthday celebration for my mother and over 11 over family-guests. This past Sunday, (23Apr2017) was one such occasion. We frequent Sunday Brunch and this time, much like most before, was delightful and the food impeccable! Our server, I forgot his name, was very attentive, humorous, and quite personable. We never had to ask for refills, he accommodated our every request, and made sure we were well taken care of even though he had several other tables. I highly recommend Char-Jackson to everyone and thank them for remaining in Missisippi's capital city, Jackson, MS!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was great, so were the cocktails. Our server jeff was awesome, best part of the meal

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 20, 2017

1st timer here. The ambiance and service were superb. The food was,ok- good. We'd go back on special occasions just for the atmosphere and excellent wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall great experience, cook times where long but it was Easter and the new tables affected the kitchen. When it did come out food was hot and fresh.....thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday and we had reservations it still took an hour to get our food. And some of the food was cold They did reheat it in the microwave. It was too crowded we won't go back on a day like that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I hope this was an off day for Char. It was d big disappointment for Easter brunch. My complaints surround the food, and its prep. Service was good, as usual.

1) I ordered Crab Cake Benedict. The egg was over cooked (hard yolk). The English muffin was not toasted, at all, indeed, it seemed like it was taken directly out of its packaging and placed directly in the plate.

2) My wife ordered the country fried steak. Flavor was good. The meat was quite tough/chewy, though. In the end, this dish seemed to be mostly batter.

3) My mother ordered the Croque Madame. The country ham on this dish was quite a disappointment. It was two very thin slices along the lines of a cold cut. The "griddle bread" was excessively large in relation to the small amount of ham. And, inexplicably, the cheese was on the plate, below the lower piece of bread (bottom to top: cheese, thick slice of bread, two very thin slices of "country" ham, a second very thick slice of bread, egg. This dish could've been great. As executed, it's a big disappointment.

4) My daughter had the best dish: chicken and waffles. No complaints on this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They obviously overbooked for Easter. Not enough help serving and kitchen help. Very long waiting times for both. Poor food quality not there usual holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great menu choices. I had gumbo and a house salad. Both were even better than usual. My guest had the tilapia and a half wedge. He was from out of town and raved about how good his was. Noisy but not in a bad way. Undergoing renovations but it'll be really neat when it's all complete. Oh, the service will spoil you. It was great...as usual.
I do wish there was a more reasonable and smaller lunch steak and/or a baked potato.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Char is a great choice time after time. Consistently great food and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Thanks to our waitress she was so nice. I really enjoyed my meal.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food & server were excellent. The noise was appalling - even for a lunch crowd - my friend and I had to lean across the table and nearly touch mouth to ear in order to speak & be heard. We were one table up from the kitchen with the door open, which added to the noise and gave me a "lovely" view of the inside of the kitchen during the meal. It has been better for lunch before, and perhaps there were some parties in progress. But at this point I am not recommending it for anything. I will try one more time, and if it is no better, I may still stop in mid-afternoon for a glass of wine occasionally, but I'll do lunches - business or otherwise - elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My lady and I were very pleased from state to finished with our visit to Char. Defiantly worth every cent. We will visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Second time here. Very nice restaurant. Nothing exciting, yet always a solid presentation. Would absolutely return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service was off the chart. Food is always good but Open Table booking was the best. Made the reservation 1 1/2 hours before and walked right in with a full lobby! Nice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 26, 2017

CHAR never disappoints! It's always had impeccable service and delicious food! The hostess and staff are attentive and very aware of the arriving patron's needs. We needed a table so my 87 yr. old dad could maneuver getting up and down from the table, so the hostess made a seamless change, almost undetected, by having the host staff-person seat us at a table instead of a booth. Very classy.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Took my wife out for our 27th anniversary. She was very pleased. It was all that I expected, great food, awesome drinks, nice atmospher, will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great Chicago style steakhouse...professional attentive staff like the upper end restaurants in New Orleans...lots of history here....famous folks images on the walls...first class thru and thru, even CLOTH towels in the restrooms....and the food....the image of my filet on Facebook attracted friends from Los Angeles...need I say more?

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Not the normal experience. I eat here often and this experience was not the best but not the worst by any means. So crowded and loud. Pecan pie was great to end the meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Char is consistently an excellent place to dine. The food is delicious and the servers are top notch. We love the ambience as well. Plus, if you buy their gift card, you get a 20% bonus and the card can be used in other select restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Char has been our go to spot for Sunday lunch after church. Great salads, gumbo as well as fish dishes. Seating in table tops in lounge often allows you to be seated more quickly and service there is always good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great time. Great food and service. The only complaint would be the seating and having to sit to a very large group during an evening out with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My experience at Char for the second time was awesome. It was my senior prom, and my friends I came to enjoy this wonderful restaurants food and scene. Our waiter was respectful, bubbly, and helpful. I love that we received bread before our dinner because I love bread! All of our food was delicious and it left me feeling good when we left. Thank you for letting us pre-prom with you guys.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place for business discussion. Excellent service and traditional Southern food. Get the pecan pie with a scoop of ice cream - yum!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I took my husband out on a date night and we loved everything about this restaurant. Our waiter was so great, we even let her pick our dessert. This will be one of our go to spots.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This particular outing was my wife's birthday. We enjoy everything. The food was excellent and the service was marvelous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.