About Char - Jackson

Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.

4500 Interstate 55 Frontage Road
Jackson, MS 39211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E Northside Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 956-9562

Website:
http://www.charrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar with live music 7 days a week and a jazz brunch on Sundays, 10am - 3pm.

Catering:
Enjoy our fresh, hot meals delivered right to your door! Family-style meals for groups of any size are available for weddings, corporate meetings, pharmaceutical luncheons and more. Call us today to set up your order! 601.942.4999

Executive Chef:
Derek George

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re planning a business meeting or a cocktail reception, Char is your home for private dining functions. Our professional staff will work with you to create an unforgettable event. Customized menu service, wireless internet, and A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. We look forward to working with you!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Moses: (601) 937-3840

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Char - Jackson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Cozy (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Live Music (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Family Style (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
748 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

Service is always top notch along with the food I have never been disappointed & would highly recommend to anyone looking for excellent food and speedy service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I like to do Sunday Brunch. We like the music, familiar with Terry, Bob and Timmy.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Very much worth the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

First time dining at Char. Was not disappointed! Food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Char always delights. My wife and I ate here after striking out in reservations for other places, honestly. However, once we ate at Char, we asked ourselves: Why don't we eat here more often?

The steak was delicious and service was excellent. Check amount was reasonable for the value of the meal.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Char went the extra mile to ensure we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall experience was great as usual. Server did an outstanding job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent steak! Excellent service! Pecan pie was great as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Business dinner at Char. Steak basically perfect. Wine list more average than exceptional but ok. Excellent choice for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What a great place for Valentine's Day. We've made it a tradition to go there and even seen engagement proposals (always exciting)... but mostly it's couples (like us) celebrating many years of being together. Char is one of the classiest restaurants in Jackson and it sets the mood for serious fun. The beverage list is impressive and the regular entrees are superb. Never had a mediocre meal there. Always the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been a Char customer for many years. One of our favorite spots. Great staff and food.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and service!! Location was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My only complaint is that with the jazz band, the noise level is almost unbearable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was just right! Arrived about half an hour before our reservation, giving us time to have a drink and order an appetizer. We were actually seated early, and the waitress was properly attentive to our needs. And about the food; spectacular!! Steaks properly cooked and seasoned, crisp salad and delicious sides. No room for dessert, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Crab Claws were fabulous and plentiful.

Steak and Mahi were amazing as well. All sides were delicious.

Super friendly staff

"Old Fashion" cocktail was one of the better I've had as well

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really loved this restaurant it was as very good. Wait staff was amazing and the food was just as good. Good selection of food and wine . I would highly suggest this restaurant to any one in the Jackson area

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I selected Char to celebrate My wife and mother's birthday (which are a day a part) Char was a great choice, they felt like queens. The waitress was friendly and was a great server. I made the reservation on line the date before so there was hardly no wait. The Meals are an excellence price for that scale of restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 5, 2017

IT WAS AWESOME. MY FAVORITE IS THE SHRIMP AND GRITS

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fun, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is only our second time visiting Char, and honestly, I have no idea why we've never tried it before! We make a reservation for lunch (highly recommend, unless you like waiting), and are always seated promptly. We've had several different menu items and all have been superior. Also, the salted caramel cheesecake (ask for it, chef special) is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Enjoyed the trio while we lunched Took a friend to lunch for his birthday. I enjoyed a brunch item and the guys enjoyed burgers. Thanks for all the options!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

In town visiting our son. Best dinner we have ever enjoyed anywhere. Patty served us and was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great time! At times, too loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always enjoy lunching at Char!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great, attentive, service as always. Sunday brunch has delicious options. My crab Benedict was perfectly prepared as was my husband's meal. The trumpet, bass, and banjo players were great, entertaining musicians who played at just the right level to allow diners to enjoy their music and converse with each other. I continue to highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great restaurant, nice setting and awesome service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent service and food . We went for my mothers birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the meal and service . We will be back for sure .

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our only problem was the kitchen wait staff delivering the wrong food. This seems to happen more often than not.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great staff, have been enjoying restaurant for numerous years..

Family member visiting from

Spain was quite pleased,as well!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Journey was our server, and did an outstanding job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I always enjoy my visits to Char. Everything was exceptional. Jurney was the best waiter I have ever had there. His service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

You get much more value for your money at lunch. Char is great anytime!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I enjoyed myself and I will return again with my son. I wish I could have stayed for the live music, but I came early. I will dine again and I will come when they have live music. My son took me to Char-Jackson on Mother's Day 2015.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best steaks my wife and I have ever had. Tremendous service. Definitely worth another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time! Loved it! The Filet is amazing! The Pecan Crunch dessert was fantastic as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service ,atmosphere. Excelled night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and great service as always. And Bill Clark, the piano artist, was better than ever!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food. Service was great. The blackfish was was tasty and my wife's filet was cooked just right. The butter crunch dessert is awesome!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding brunch. Great service. Decent value considering the for quality. Were going to make this a regular Sunday brunch. The spinach/feta crisp was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Historic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was prepared excellently. The Service we got from a very nice young lady was the best we have had in years. Nice to see a restaurant that hires good people that enjoy their jobs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Matt is a great host. You need to lure Codie back. Give her a great big raise . She is an asset.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Awesome tasting food. Price of food for amount of food received for main course didn't match in my opinion. Basically paying for environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Comfortable, clubby, vibrant atmosphere if a little noisy. Food great as always for brunch. Outstanding desserts. Always a great expeerience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our favorite place to celebrate our wedding anniversary!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good wines, appetizers & entrees. The fish entrees seem to be their specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always wonderful. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great atmosphere. Lively but able to carry on conversations. Food is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The only complaint was the crowd really slowed the service. Otherwise, great as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went for our anniversary. The wait staff was excellent, asked what kind of things we liked and made outstanding recommendations. The food, drink and atmosphere were worth the2 hour drive from our hometown. We will definitely be back!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was good as expected. Service from Patty was exceptional!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.